The average Black West Indian should be aware of the The Middle Passage. As a youngster the blogmaster recalls his effort to visualize Africans shackled and crammed into boat to be transported from Africa to the West Indies and sold into bondage.  It case we forget there was a dark period in the history of the world Blacks were legally regarded as ‘chattel’, no better than a mule or donkey.

The lineage of Black people living in the Caribbean means there will always be an inextricable connection between the West Indies and Africa. It is unfortunate our people have allowed North American and Eurocentric influences to permeate our psyche to wreak havoc to our identity.

It was reported last week that 54 African countries signed a letter asking the United Nations Human Rights Council to schedule a debate on police brutality against Black people around the world. It is a matter of record the killing of George Floyd in the USA has triggered a Black Lives Movement reminiscent of the 50s and 60s when MLK, Malcolm X, Marcus Garvey and others were at the forefront of the fight for civil and political rights of our people.

…In a letter written on behalf of 54 African countries, Burkina Faso’s ambassador to the UN in Geneva asked the UN’s top rights body for an “urgent debate” on “racially inspired human rights violations, police brutality against people of African descent and the violence against the peaceful protests that call for these injustices to stop…

As a proud Black man the blogmaster must share his disappointment at the lack of a strident response to the killing of George Floyd by CARICOM. All reasonable people agree it is a manifestation of institutionalized  racism in the USA and global citizens have been galvanized to protest the need for urgent reform.

A scan of the official website of  Caricom.org reveals no adequate communications posted to capture the prevailing sentiment of the people living in the region. Our Caricom leaders under the current chairmanship of Mia Mottley have failed us at a pivotal moment in the history of the world. Our nexus to Africa created the opportunity to add our voice to those of the 54 African countries who represent the Mother Country. How are we expected to forge and improve relations with African countries but are miles apart on how to correctly react to the matter of the Black Lives Movement? This has nothing to do with jumping on any bandwagon. Again the idea of cognitive dissonance keeps recurring. What message are our leaders sending to the masses?

It is no wonder we have to tolerate individuals who lack the understanding of the moment by insisting we should let the USA fight this matter alone. Why are White people protesting around the globe? Some of us have family residing in the USA. Some of us have relatives studying in the USA. Some of us may have reason to travel to the USA. Most of us are Black. Most important, a strike against humanity is simply that and should evoke the same response in humans everywhere.

Even the Germans are protesting for crissakes!

The poor response by Caricom to describe it mildly is a disappointment and although the perfect scenario is to strike when hot, it is not too late to offer redress. Now is not the time to be apolitical. Now is not the time to engage in racial distancing.

210 responses to “Caricom Engaged in Racial Distancing”

1. (Quote):
    the Parliament Buildings and the Wharf were around during slavery and played a part in it, asking if those too should be thrown away. He said the Nelson statue should be utilised to the advantage of Barbados while not disadvantaging anyone. (Unquote).
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

So too are the bones of the black slaves and their Amerindian predecessors!

Johhny ma boy, you ought to revisit your own lyrics etched for eternity in that very long calypso titled “Family Ties” aka ‘Mudda Cuntry’.

‘Only diamonds and stones are the blood and bones of de stinking mudda country’.

Did you support the removal of the statue of the colonialist’ Cecil Rhodes from the University of Cape Town in a post apartheid South Africa?

Since the love of riches is what caused the West African to be enslaved in the ‘West Indies’ then why not put an offer of sale of the famous Nelson ‘bronze’ statue on the art market in Barbados’s “Mudda Cuntry” in the same way that the black slaves were put on the auction block when they arrived on the death camps called slave ships like the ‘Good Jesus’ from their own Mother Country feeling like ‘motherless children’?

The proceeds of which could be used to reduce the size of that massively large millstone of debts which your administration recently renegotiated through the medici White Oak.

Yes, massive debts loads of financial white powder which will be like economic chokeholds and financial manacles on the young and future enslaved generations of Bimshire with nothing to show as corresponding assets of social ‘upliftment’ to justify the long-term loan-shark form of indebtedness other than graveyards full of metallic objects once driven as luxury steel donkeys bought from Germans and Japanese automakers with the same ‘borrowed’ forex.

Now King Johnny, go and put that in ya calypso pipe and smoke it before de crapau’ does it for you!

2. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ PLT

Is dpD your alternate pseudonym?
    I certainly have not addressed any of your submissions on John King’s expression of his views on Nelson’s Statue. I will continue in that vein.

Your logic and definition of History are seriously flawed. There is no common ground on which we can even start a debate.

3. Correction – it is the root cause

4. @Hal

“Minister King has a aright to his opinion and, like him, I am not yet convinced about moving the Nelson statue no more than I am about Codrington College should become Bussa College or Harrison College should become the Barrow Academy”

is there a movement to rename CC or HC?

we have had this discussion before. so when Nelson was commissioned, wasnt there a mob movement to place a statue of him for his perceived good deed to the system at the time? why cant the same mob type mentality remove him as a symbol of this time. wouldnt we be making history now?

5. That’s the problem with the broke ass new negros when given a title and salary by the people, they do not hesitate toinsult, disrespect degrade their own people including their own ancestors to promote others..

.THE MAJORITY BLACK POPULATION…are supposed to be the DOMINANT group on the island..they are the majority…i never heard you complain once about all the evil VICIOUS crimes the thieving minorities have been committing for decades against the majority population, never heard you one complain about all the theft of labor etc all the racism and oppression practiced against the black majority…why is that Vincent…but removing a racist shite statue got you and the.. Johnnie up in arms…and you think someone should believe your sudden bout of morality…steupppsss…

the hypocrisy of both of you is appalling…even worse when the Johnnie went and sang about some plantation, i remember that song….am sure he is another stupid negro trying to get a plantation now he is in the parliament and thinking he will get it at his own people’s expense., just like all the others….since he has seen the possibilities and thinks he will be given the opportunities…

6. Seems like he is singing for his supper now just as he was then. But now he is singing for a different audience. No longer does he identify with Mother Africa.

Now we have voted him in he now identified with those whose allegiance is to the Muddah Cuntry. Like the Hoad girl who tried to reprimand me for turning my back on the queen in 1976. “Very disrespectful!” she said.

I would remind the Johnnie that their votes alone can’t win any seat.

The higher dis monkey climb de more he expose he tail.

7. All of this stems from the fact that Black people don’t always understand how racists think…the idiots in parliament don’t care, they are only interested in kissing ass and selling out….it is all they know…but they will all come to realize that once the symbols of racism and slavery are REMOVED from the eyes of arrogant, ignorant racists, they will NO LONGER HAVE THEIR PROP…to keep them PUMPED UP ON BULLSHIT superiority…

yes…all the stone symbols of racism and slavery scattered over the earth are PROPS..remove them and you literally REMOVE the FOOT that racists continue to keep on the necks of the African descended…..

there are actually symbols with the foot of white savages on the necks of black people, that is what keeps them strong and dominant, remove that and their shit will crumble……but the shitehounds in parliament won’t care about nor understand any of that…

8. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Vincent Codrington June 18, 2020 10:52 AM
    I did not imagine that you would flee from civil discourse in fear…

I responded, of course, because what de pedantic Dribbler wrote at 9:03 AM contained two paragraphs about John King’s expression of his views on Nelson’s Statue which were quotations of what I had written an expression of his agreement with my analysis.

Let us then start with a dictionary definition of History.
    “a continuous, systematic narrative of past events as relating to a particular people, country, period, person, etc….”

9. @ Peterlawrencethompson June 18, 2020 10:33 AM

“@Vincent CodringtonJune 18, 2020 10:18 AM
    “History is a record of what actually took place.”
    This is complete bullshit Vincent. History is a composition by the victors in a historical conflict. Period. The people in Barbados who led the effort to erect a monument to Nelson were enslavers and merchants who were grateful to Nelson for defending their property and profits. They were the victors so they wrote their version of history in Bronze.
    Time has passed since then. Racist enslavers are no longer victors to the extent they were in 1813. So now Barbadians are faced with the decision of how they wish to write their history at this point in time. Do we simply want to reinscribe what the enslavers and merchants wrote in 1813, or do we wish a different composition?”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Well argued, PLT! Expect to get the usual blowback from the ‘usual suspects’.

Yes, the usual suspects who kept their mouths open in awe in support the removal of the graven images erected in ‘honour’ of Stalin, Saddam Hussein and Muammar Gaddafi with the total backing of the West.

Where are the vestiges of the Amerindian presence other than in the museum?

Why not see ‘today’ as the time to apply similar treatment to the remnants of those practitioners of chattel slavery and racism along with their hagiography?

Why don’t these modern Bajan ‘black’ lovers of the word of Yahweh follow their God’s instructions and do like what Moses did to the ‘golden’ idol of the ‘bull’ made in the image of the god worshipped by the Egyptian enslavers of the Israelites ?

10. @ Greene

If a ‘mob’ called for a statue of Nelson then a ‘mob’ has every right to remove it. In a democratic society Barbadians have a right to decide their own fat e. And if removing Nelson is part of that so be it.
    What I said was that I AM NOT CONVINCED by the argument. If it is logical to remove Nelson’s statue because of its connections with a slaver, then it follows that removing the names of ALL supporters of slavery is also logical. As far as I know there is no explicit movement. I would go further: how about removing the names of all philanthropic capitalists who benefitted from colonialism?
    We have this recurring argument every few years. We can go back to the Forde Commission, which is still gathering dust on some shelf in Bay Street. We cannot rewrite our history. We can, and should, interrogate it and redefine it and debate it.
    What is more urgent and important is the issue of police brutality in contemporary Barbados, one that this government, led by a former attorney general and minister of culture, and the vast majority of Barbadians seemingly want to ignore. Get officer Gittens before a jury.
    I think a better discussion is one about our cultural policy, explaining who we really are.
    By the way, Mr King also referenced the Red Legs. Some of the most racist people in the Western world are Red legs and t hey too benefitted from the racism in Barbados.
    I remember one of the BU regulars coming and telling us his dad told him about young black boys working on the shop floors of some Broad Street stores. It was a total misunderstanding of the real story – that black boy s could not get jobs. You had to be brown-skinned or white (Red Leg) to get those jobs.
    That happened in my life time and as a young boys I wanted one of those jobs during the school holiday and did not even get an interview; one of my play mates, also from the Ivy, got one because he was mixed race.
    Barbados has enormous social problems, and a statue of a long-dead man it is not. What we get from the statue is what it reflects back to us.
    To my mind that junk store in Broad Street that functions like an Arab emporium is more a reflection of the bad old days than a brass statue.

11. The Statue was put up to commemorate Lord Nelson and his service to British Empire of Colonialism and Slavery that built Global Capitalism (as in the inequality of systemic institutional white supremacy racism that justified their robbery and exploitation).

Reparations are part of the financial recompense in the same way that capital for Slave Trade was raised by the first share trading in coffee shops of King William Street etc and slavery funded UK’s Global industry in banking shipping insurance import and export and made City of London a hub to trade transport and business and enabled the Industrial Revolution

Purpose of forgiveness is to release and free emotions you have stored inside you which can be achieved by following meditation

Are Bajans still like the Slaves or Prisoners who are too scared to be free from their masters in control of their own destiny out deh

12. Don’t know if yall can zoom on this image, but these are official symbols of stepping on the necks of the African descended that pump up racists and keep them energized to commit crimes against black people….this one will always be around but the stone imagines HAVE TO GO…no matter what the 2 slave school graduates, the Johnnie and Vincent says…

https://scontent.fbgi3-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.15752-9/104326478_3462648410429258_3250238342603545789_n.jpg?_nc_cat=102&_nc_sid=b96e70&_nc_ohc=GlIGH25l5Z8AX_SNIAb&_nc_ht=scontent.fbgi3-1.fna&oh=a3e10a12e00d0b9e4001a4ff91904d72&oe=5F11DF85

13. ya can zoom in better if you take a cellphone photo…

take away the props of evil racists, watch their every move, observe them and that is all that’s need to understand how to neurtalize them…am sure the two Johnnies will tell you that protecting yourself from rape, hatred, genocide, thefts and apartheid is hatred too..

14. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Vincent, re “@ PLT…Is dpD your alternate pseudonym?[…] I certainly have not addressed any of your submissions on John King’s expression ..” 🙂 … LOL…that was truly funny, I thought… Surely you recognized that as PLT said “[He] responded, of course, because what de pedantic Dribbler wrote at 9:03 AM contained two paragraphs […] of what [PLT] had written…”… so in short, you were more responding to his original views and merely my agreement of same !…Anyhow, all good.

Suffice to say we had this difference of opinion yesterday so I’m not going to rehash that… just two other comments…1) It’s incredulous that folks continue to suggest that moving the statue is an attempt to ‘change’ or ‘rewrite’ history… that’s what the logicians would call a (absurd) fallacy.

Some years ago Texas revamped their school curricula and completely updated their history pedagogy ..they TECHNICALLY rewrote the history taught but they still could NOT REWRITE history…because that’s IMPOSSIBLE in every sense…same here! The fact is that changing a narrative/removing a statue can offer a totally different perspective of events that will inform the thinking of generations of people … THAT is ENTIRELY the issue at hand….so please let’s stop the inane posts about ‘rewriting history’.

And that leads to 2).. Today, I absolutely do not accept the perspectives which informed Lord Nelson’s benefactors to place his bronzed image in ‘Trafalgar Sq’ in the 1800s .. neither can I understand how ANY of those motivations and perspectives are in harmony with our 50 year old nation today. The statue no longer belongs in that LOCATION…now called Heros Sq… the Admiral remains a hero BUT NOT to MODERN BARBADOS… that is simple and obvious .. As the Blogmaster said, ‘Enough’ already…
    ‘His-story’ can never be removed but surely the bronze replica of him can be … and placed in the museum!

And as @Austin so succinctly noted “What worries me about Minister King is that he is the minister of culture and seems not to be able to articulate a proper position on Nelson, or any other statue from the colonial days, and what they represent.”

Thus his statement was exactly as @PLT said “embarrassingly and utterly wrong […] ludicrous and profoundly insulting.”

Nothing to do with free speech folks…he is our Min. of Culture NOT Johnny Ma Boy or aka John King the Calapyso maestro… you cannot be making insanely illogical PERSONAL remarks in your official capacity… that’s just too stupidly and ridiculously Trumpian…are all our politicians so afflicted now: say whatever makes YOU feel empowered sans respect and protocols for the position you hold and the people/nation you represent!

15. So what are the consequences of Nelson’s victory at Trafalgar? If he had lost perhaps Barbados would be know as le petit France instead of Little England and our place names would reflect the French countryside. Nelson’s victory didn’t mean the end of slavery it continued for many years after and the people who commissioned the statue were slave owners who were grateful for his victory because it ensured a continuance of their profit making endeavours.

How come those same folks who were gung ho about erecting a statue of Nelson were not equally as “progressive” in erecting a statue of Wilberforce?

16. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Let me take a break let someone else tell the Johnnies about their hypocrite selves…i deserve a break …because this one here, none of you would ever grow the balls to talk back to…

https://youtu.be/i6SoutaZcgw?t=267

17. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

For those who might try to twist some of those words into their own dumb shit…

Oh Israel, being refrenced, is the orginal 12 Black Tribes of Israel…..AGAIN…Black Tribes..

there is no white israel with any tribes..

18. John King’s speech is unambiguous and is a clear reminder to Barbadians and foreigners that Barbados is open to all. When Mia made her election boast that she would like to see a tripling of the population, many of us raised our eyebrows. We now have to review those remarks very seriously.

The Minister of Culture, in a carefully crafted speech, has asked the majority population to put aside the struggles of their ancestors whose blood is etched in the soil of the country and to adapt to a multi-layered, racially diverse country with a history that is not “…RELEGATED solely to Barbadians of Afro descent….”

Such a statement explains why Mia and Caricom have remained mute in their response to the slaying of George Floyd. And serves as a further reminder that Caribbean leaders have no empathy with their black majority populations whom they view with disdain and as being surplus to requirements. How very sad.

19. @TLSN

Spot on.

20. On a more positive note. I was the first to forecast that last Saturday’s rally was going to take place with or without Mia’s consent. George Floyd’s assassination has thrown a spanner in the works as it may have given rise to a latent Afro-Bajan awakening. The door has been prised open ever so slightly.

The government’s front bench are worried about the fallout surrounding George Floyd’s death. Hence we had the sermon from The Minister of Culture. Whose use of words is similar to Robert Lucas when he stated “…..but on a personal note – and I know what I am about to say is going to upset a lot of people –”

21. @TLSN

I am not so sure of the awakening. We still have not had a proper statement on Black Lives Matter from a president who loves making speeches. It is a disgrace, in a country with a majority black population. It sends a clear message, it is not a minor matter.
    But I am not surprised. It is part of a politics of bobbing and weaving, of waffle and duplicity, of a deliberate lack of clarity on important issues. It is the devious behaviour of a lawyer.
    CoVid and the economic crises have exposed the flaws in the popular narrative about our clever leader. She is not.

22. Our leader Mia Mottley is a cosmopolitan and globalist who has long since freed herself in spirit from outdated binary thinking. A spiritual emancipation, so to speak. Like Obama, she is neither black nor white, but a leader for all people in the Caribbean, natives, expats, tourists and investors. Isn’t she addressing us with the word “friend”?

Commentators should understand that our leader, as supreme leader of CARICOM and president for life in our hearts, has her hands full at the moment with the elections in Guyana, coordinating the reopening of the airports, protecting Barbadians abroad and the kick start for the dead economy. She cannot therefore deal with internal US problems at the same time.

23. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

TLSN…if you know how awful that looks in other forums, people are like, what they hell game are these negros playing, because they obviously believe this is some game or scam or something, but elections is now less than 3 years away….ah want to see how many minorities they got to vote them back in, cause right now they are acting as though the racists put them in the parliament and they got 200,000, corrupt racists to re-elect them, this will be even more interesting than the last election….let’s see if they can birth and grow to adulthood 200,000 racists in less than 3 years…

…they are a disgrace to not only the human race.. but insultingly and disrespectfully so to all African descended people and they actually believe they are impressing someone outside of the slaveminded…..

I will tell them again for the last time, the Black majority on the island owe the racist minority, apartheid practicing wannabe whites NOTHING, they certainly owe the Syrian Cartel of criminals NOTHING, they have all always been THIEVES, the descendants of rejects have always BELONGED TO UK, Syrian Cartel belongs to Trinidad or middle east…and UK needs to come pick up their REJECTED BASURA…they have sucked on the Black population and robbed them their futures, bank accounts, labor, estates and everything else for far too long…decades….a long bloodline of thieves that was forced on the descendants of slaves, and while they are at it, take their black half human creations in the parliament with them too…

In saying that, we can now clearly see why the jokers for Caricom leaders can never move forward with progress for the black majority populations in the Caribbean or get anything right, EIGHTY YEARS LATER…still the same stupidity and they swear they are educated…. now it is being said China is in the region robbing all of them the people’s tangible assets too.,..because they are greedy and stupid and should not be hired to even scoop up dog shit…..cause they may get that wrong too.

24. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Vincent CodringtonJune 18, 2020 10:18 AM “History is a record of what actually took place.”

Surely Vincent and all BU bloggers know better.

A long time ago i wanted to be a foster parent. Did the child care authority permit me to be the sole source of my history?

No of course not. They are/wee much wiser than that.

I might have told them that I am a very loving a billionaire who can also walk on water.

They insisted [correctly I think] on hearing from my physician, my employer, my banker, 2 neighbors, my pastor [if i was a church goer] and then they insisted on separately interviewing every member of my household, including the little children in the household, they also checked with the teachers at the schools which the older children attended.

That process garnered a more accurate history of me, that just listening to me alone.

I mean what if my blood pressure was 200/150. but i told them 115/70. Nah! They had to get the right numbers, the correct history from my doctor, not some fairy story that I made up.

It is the same with a Nation’s history. Barbados’ history around the time of Nelson was written solely by WHITE MEN.

How on earth can any sensible person believe that what those WHITE MEN thought, what they wrote, what they believed, what they did, was the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth?

I am capable of lies. I am capable of being an idiot.

The WHITE MEN of that era were also capable of lies, were also capable of being complete idiots.

25. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Tron with ya usual shit…Guyana told the corrupt Caricom leaders to butt out of their business

Mia has barely two weeks left as Caricom chair…

the airports reopening some say will be her undoing…although she is already undone, others are saying…

and Bajans in the Diaspora who have any sense, dont trust her…

and this is not a US problem…this is an African descended problem that somehow she believes will blow over so she can jumpstart the racist, apartheid, slave society to fill all their pockets and leave her own people in generational poverty, being oppressed and victims of labor theft and racism….

… we know why she is hesitant to call out racism…but this time, she will LEARN the difference BETWEEN A TREND AND A REVOLUTION…

26. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@David June 18, 2020 7:33 AM “…he was careful to state he was sharing a personal opinion.”

Minister’s ought not to be sharing personal opinions unless they are in their own living rooms.

When Minister’s speak I expect that they are speaking for the people of Barbados. That’s why we pay them so well. To speak for us.

27. Relax, keyboard warrior.

Barbados is the prime example that dark-skinned people or people of African descent can successfully build a civilization. Barbados has done far better in this epic crisis than 90% of all the countries of the North. There is a reason for us to be submissive, bitter or envious. Barbados is a paradise and we should enjoy living there every day.

28. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Tron June 18, 2020 2:12 AM ‘Once again, it is telling how the emigrants on BU are upset about problems that have no meaning for Barbados. What do we in the Caribbean care about racism in the USA.

We care because “those people” in the USA are fully human just as we are.

And we care because “those people” in the USA are our blood relatives, sometimes our own sons born out of our wombs, or born out of the wombs of our sister, daughters, nieces etc.

“Those people” are not strangers. They are us.

Sometimes literally it is us when we walk down a street in the USA. Do you think that when I walk down a street in the USA the racists care that I was born in Barbados? Did they care that Botham Jean was born in St. Lucia?

You Tron idiot.

29. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@WURA-War-on-U June 18, 2020 2:13 AM “…sitting her fat ass…”

Well maybe not so fat.

Maybe some weight was lost during the lock down?

I lost one pound during the lock down, maybe other people lost weight too?

30. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@peterlawrencethompson June 18, 2020 6:16 AM ”
    Minister of Culture John King is embarrassingly and utterly wrong when he implies that removing the Nelson monument from Heroes Square is “… trying to do to others what we say has been done to us.” What was done to us was a genocide which cost tens of millions of Black lives. What was done to us was torture. What was done to us was lifelong theft of our labour. What was done to us was …”

RAPE.

During the period of slavery many young black women were likely first introduced to sex through rape.

31. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

To tell the truth, when I heard John King speaking n the radio this morning, I stupsed my mouth and turned off the radio,

That’s the truth.

32. @Simple Simon

Once again it turns out that you are a privileged member of the local elite who have no money worries. Of course the USA has serious problems, especially with racism, because the USA is a developing country. I do not deny that.

However, where are the billions that “our” relatives transfer from the USA to Barbados? They don’t exist. The so-called relatives don’t give a damn about the Caribbean and Barbados in particular. Just look at Obama who has already ensured that Barbados and other CARICOM members have been blacklisted as tax havens. Should we still be grateful to Obama for wanting to destroy our financial industry?

So stop with your rhetoric. Our government must first and foremost think of the at least 40 percent unemployed on OUR island. We cannot afford to upset the US because this could have drastic consequences, especially for the next IMF credit facility. We have our own problems, which go far beyond US Democratic narratives and “gender and diversity”.

I therefore strongly support the course of our government, which is acting with best judgement during the Corona catastrophe, a government thinking day and night how to make Barbados better.

33. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@John A June 18, 2020 7:57 AM “… play the race card and watch the distraction occur from what we need to focus on, hence I will say this.”

I am sure that the people of BU, just like you, just like me, are capable f focusing on more than one thing…can as the Americans say, can walk and chew gum.

34. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@WURA-War-on-U June 18, 2020 7:58 AM “…still trying to remember if it was King Johnnie Fool or Adonijah sang about the two Barbadoses.”

it was Adonijah.

35. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“Barbados is the prime example that dark-skinned people or people of African descent can successfully build a civilization. ”

yeah, ya run down dilapadated buildings and shit running in the streets really look like a civilization no one else has ever seen before… in the last 12-13 years.

Cuddear…glad you reminded me..i saw a video clip some time back of a room in the UN i beleive it was, there were tons of world leaders there, you don’t find many people in that room, only a chosen few. Obama was one of the leaders there and in that clip was a huge mural on the wall depicting all kinds of world situations and this and that and at the right hand bottom corner of the mural was a black man, only black person in that mural and there were others standing on him…those types of symbols can be found all around the world…so for the ignoramus, slaveminded in the parliament…you too are enabling and inviting racists to keep their foot firmly planted on the Black majority population’s neck generation after generation…but …not for much longer.

36. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

We already know Tron is not too bright and covers it up with folly, but even he should know that once there are no racists, thieves and oppressors around, the African descended are known for their creativity and ingenuity in building temples, pyramids and structures that the exploiters and genocidal thieves still can’t figure out how it’s done….but as long as they are continually being led by black sell outs and thieves, it will continue to come crumbing down with no progress in sight…..and the good thing is, it all reflects badly on no good leaders..

37. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Donna June 18, 2020 9:19 AM “No doubt this Johnnie still wants a plantation at ANY cost and is sucking up to those who can give him one!”

We know that none of the traditional plantation class will give our Johnnie a plantation.

Like me he might just have to buy a piece of over priced rab land.

38. What is happening in the USA is disturbing and terrible. But these events are nothing compared to the famine in Africa, where millions of people are threatened with death. As a globalist, I feel connected first and foremost to these people. Most people in Africa, unlike Americans of any skin color, have not the privilege to consume two liters of Coca-Cola and a kilogram of hamburger every day.

Every human life is worth as much as any other life. We should stop lamenting only the few dead in the USA, Europe and China after some riots or terrorist attacks when the real mass death takes place in Africa. But nobody wants to hear that. Everyone looks away. Even 99% of Barbadians.

39. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Hal Austin June 18, 2020 10:42 AM “I am terrified of mobs. I know Barbados has not got a history of mob violence, but in the UK during the football season we get it every Saturday. It is horrifying..”

True.

I remember the first time i went to England, 1978. Walking down the street one evening i encountered this screaming, horrendous mob, escorted by police with German Shepherds.

Wondering what was going on I asked my friend who by then had lived in England for 3 years. He told me that the mob’s team had lost the football match and that the police had to escort them from the stadium to the train station, for fear otherwise that the mob would smash everything on the high street.

I had studied English history to A’Level, but nowhere in my history books had these English mobs been mentioned.

What we read in the history books is seldom the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth.

I know that hal is fond of referring to Bajans as mobs. But 42 years and dozens of countries later i have never encountered anything like that English mob.

It makes me wonder how people like that mob would treat enslaved people?

40. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

They are actually wild hooligans who don’t know how to behave, they have no manners and have been BANNED across Europe because they don’t know how to sit in a stand, enjoy the game without calling people monkeys and then leave the area without smashing everything in sight, overturning cars and burning stores…they are the true definition of UK savages….but to hear them tell it, they are civilized, lol..

when you get drought in Africa, you get famine, when you get locusts in Africa, eating all the food, you get famine, all naturally occuring and have for thousands of years, people still manage to survive, there is 1.2 billion people across Africa and the population just keeps on growing…..

now corruption is a whole nother matter…you see what happened generationally on the island with corrupt leaders, well it’s just as much a curse in the lives of the people in Africa as it is in the lives of the people in Barbados…it robs them.

41. @ Greene June 18, 2020 10:31 AM
    “that makes little sense. in that removing Nelson is not removing history. the history that is written about Nelson is still.
    if removing Nelson is changing history, isnt knocking down buildings etc the same?”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

An excellent observation!

Wasn’t the recently demolished ‘old’ NIS building part of the Bajan history?

That building was officially opened by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth on her visit to Barbados in 1975.

What has happened to the plaque displaying such an auspicious occasion?
    Has it been ‘gifted’ to the local museum?

If that building, with royal connection, could be knocked down using the guise of it being a hazard to the physical health of the black population so too can the Nelson statue be royally ‘secreted’ in the museum for the mental healing of the same brainwashed blacks.

Are there no kickbacks to be had in removing idols of racism, slavery and embarrassment to the majority black population?

Where in Barbados is there any ‘physical recognition’ of the sacrificial work done by Wilberforce et al in getting that curse of black chattel slavery removed from the ‘Statute’ books in Britain and her West Indian colonies?

Why doesn’t the Union Jack fly in Barbados? Is it no longer an integral part of the history of Barbados and an enduring symbol of liberation from the French?

42. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Tron June 18, 2020 3:32 PM “@Simple Simon. Once again it turns out that you are a privileged member of the local elite who have no money worries.”

You envious because i am a billionaire?

43. I know that hal is fond of referring to Bajans as mobs……(Quote)

????????

44. Rice and Race + Pancakes and Syrup
    Uncle Ben and Aunt Jemima are dropping their brand names
    as racial stereotyping of blacks is becoming out of style
    since murder of blacks lives by kkk police protests matters and is front page breaking news worldwide

45. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Even better…Thomas Jefferson decendant want his statues taken down….but the ignornant and slaveminded want to see nelson’s useless statute in people’s face….slavemasters should not be honored as Jefferson’s Black grandson X a few times removed says…and in my opinon, racists should not be honored either….

https://thegrio.com/2020/06/18/president-thomas-jefferson-descendant-statue/

“A descendant of President Thomas Jefferson wants his statues taken down as monuments to problematic figures have been removed, defaced and vandalized in recent weeks.”

46. Atishoo Athishoo and it all falls down
    Maybe Caricom has practised the internal art of doing less to achieve more to find it’s way home like kung fu panda and 氣 qi (chi)
    When you check it out every black person in Caricom region is an african slave descendant even the wannabe coconuts
    Listen to Alice Smith All Runs Out from the Black Lightning Soundtrack

47. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

As those of us who have eyes to see have said over and over.

“LaNier continued that these statues were only erected to remind people of color of their “degraded” place in society below that of powerful white men. He also felt it was a form of manipulation and another hurt inflicted after slavery formally ended in 1863.”

48. @ WURA-War-on-U June 18, 2020 4:55 PM

Thomas Jefferson was an American by vis-et-armis. And like most white men he had a ‘weakness’ for the warmth of a black bed wench.

It is left to the Indigenous people of North America to make that judgement call.

Horatio Nelson was not a Barbadian; neither by birth nor love for the land.

49. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

555…now they know why i had so many colorful names for Johnnie King Fool…so now the WHOLE PARLIAMENT LOOK LIKE ASSES..and some really, really dumb ones too, at least the fowls stayed away….

…they cannot understand and am sure NEVER WILL…that all these slavemasters and racists HAVE BLACK DESCENDANTS dangling off their PRIZED family trees and full of melanated blood too……ask the cousins in the Palace…if ya think am joking…

50. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Miller…that is why is shitty stone symbol of racism should not be blighting the damn place, i said back in 2004 that piece of shit needed throwing in the careenage to help the fish….but if they can get some money selling it or making the tourists pay to see it in a museum, who cares..when they come out wih their chests all puffed with racist shit, they can then see a statue of the oppressed, murdered, raped, robbed etc.

there is some kinda irony in there somewhere..