It was recently announced, by the Government Information Service, that the Protective Service Commission has approved the appointment of Mr. Oral Williams on promotion to the post of Deputy Commissioner of Police in the Royal Barbados Police Force, with effect from May 1, 2020.

I really don’t know if I should congratulate or offer commiserations to Mr. Williams. This has nothing to do with his fitness for the post. I do not know of his work or performance as a senior police officer and cannot speak to his fitness. My concern is that he has been appointed to a non-existent post, since someone is already substantively appointed Deputy Commissioner.

The Police Act, Chapter 167 of the Laws of Barbados, states at section 6:

The Force shall consist of a Commissioner, a Deputy Commissioner and such number of Assistant Commissioners, Superintendents, Inspectors, subordinate police officers and constables respectively as does not exceed the number provided by any order made under section 2 of the Civil Establishments Act: but the members of the Force at 16th October 1961, shall continue to be members of the Force and shall be subject to this Act.

The number of persons appointed to the post of Commissioner and Deputy Commissioner is subject to primary legislation, in this case the Police Act, and can only be changed by an amendment to that Act done in Parliament. On the other hand, the Police Act goes on to give the Minister responsible for Civil Establishments the power, by subsidiary legislation, to determine the number of Assistant Commissioners, Superintendents, Inspectors, subordinate police officers and constables.

For completeness, the Civil Establishments Act was repealed and replaced by the Public Service Act on December 31, 2007. The power to determine the number of posts in the Public Service is now found at section 13.(1) of the Public Service Act.

The power to make appointments to public offices and to remove and to exercise disciplinary control over persons holding or acting in the Public Service is vested in the Governor-General, acting in accordance with the advice of service commissions, in this case the Protective Service Commission. That service commission, like all others in Barbados, can only recommend the appointment of persons to post that are available. There is only one post of Deputy Commissioner available and that is already filled.

Who is responsible for this cock-up? Is this yet another example of this Government not getting anything right the first?

1,036 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Speaks – Mock Police”

1. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Kream Kockroach Wala Wala

In the matter of

Here is what is said of what Teets Marshall said

“…Attorney General Dale Marshall says he has no intention of engaging in a tit-for-tat with outspoken Opposition Senator Caswell Franklyn about a decision which has led to Barbados having two deputy commissioners of police…”

Go and read up pun what Teets said Wala Wala and you will see just what is one of the many despotic acts of the Dictator Mugabe Mottley

Brekking the law cause de electorate cant do shy$e for 5 years!!

And for that precise reason, when the PdP introducesTHE POWER OF RECALL, Senator Caswell Franklyn is going to sleep wunna poocklickers from the halls of parliament

2. Khaleel Kothdiwala 2 Avatar
    Khaleel Kothdiwala 2

@ Piece

That’s hilarious. I don’t think the PdP really wants to advocate for the right to recall MPs. Just a thought.

3. You are new here Kream Coloured Kockroach otherwise you would know which of the Rented Jackasses has sense and which is truly a mule to be kicked as the jackass he is.

there is a quote de ole man borrows from Mussolini:

“…The crowd doesn’t have to know, all they have to do is believe and submit to being shaped?…”

The issue here you feller is that you are very unaware of how you are going to be used in this exchange between de ole man and now Prophet and you a cream coloure cockroach that i will dump on.

One of two things will happen!

You will cease and exit from the fray, beaten to a pulp OR ***** and de ole man will tell you *** soon

heheheheheheheh

http://imgur.com/glKTOep

4. @ Khaleel Kothdiwala 2May 8, 2020 5:16 PM
    “Thirdly, what the FBI can do and what the RBPF can do is clearly going to be different as seen”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The FBI has neither skin in the local incestuous game nor a horse in the politically corrupt race.

That’s the difference, grasshopper!

The evidence is stored in a red valise just awaiting the key from Pandora.

The only missing piece from the local investigative puzzle is a complainant as ‘clarified’ by the top cop.

Why don’t you be the champion of the defrauded taxpayers and become the citizens’ advocate adopting the Bajan title: ‘Mr. Smith the Muslim lad goes to Kensington’?

On the other hand you can take up a cause with a more altruistically appealing purpose in the service of Allah.

We are sure there are more pressing homemade and in-house cultural issues demanding your vigorous attention like freeing your women folk from modern-day bondage and male domination.

Here is a poetic piece for a peace offering you can make to your blind mentor Piece [of] the legend with the BU motto:

“Not to understand a man’s purpose does not make him confused.” ~ By the Blind Sage.

5. Piece, you’re really just a legend now. The Young Red Knight has totally defeated you. It’s time for you to retire. If you couldn’t even rhetorically stand up to a youth, how could you even stand up to a titan like our beloved leader Mia Mottley?

You were quite useful to our leader in the 2018 campaign. Now she doesn’t need you anymore. Charles “Bat” Jong has now taken over your job.

6. Khaleel Kothdiwala 2 Avatar
    Khaleel Kothdiwala 2

@Miller
    “We are sure there are more pressing homemade and in-house cultural issues demanding your vigorous attention like freeing your women folk from modern-day bondage and male domination.”
    ———————————————————————
    While the comment is intentionally derisive and just slightly sensationalist, I do agree with you. Far too many Muslims across the world act in complete contravention of my religion on a number of fronts including rights of women. Just look here in Barbados where the major mosques disallow Muslim females from entering to pray. Imagine the gall of persons saying to you you can’t pray here. And in a supposed house of God to besides. Absolutely absurd. That is why I attend a mosque where Muslim women can attend. Indeed my father before me has spent his 69 years of life fighting the system into which he was born. It is time in my view that people stop judging persons who follow my religion faithfully such as myself, by those ISIS vagabonds (people who actively violate the basic principles of Islam) and the potpourri of hard line traditionalists across the world who cast a negative light on my religion, it annoys me to no end. So we are at one on that point. I will continue to work as my father has to ensure that women have the rights that they are entitled to as human beings, predominantly freedom of worship.

7. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ the decliningly Honourable Blogmaster heheheheh

Dat is 5 comments you holding now

8. Khaleel Kothdiwala 2 Avatar
    Khaleel Kothdiwala 2

@Miller
    “The only missing piece from the local investigative puzzle is a complainant as ‘clarified’ by the top cop.”
    ————————————————————-
    And this problem of people being reluctant to come forward despite extensive efforts by the PM and AG to assure them of no repercussions, how do you propose she solve it? Again, Mottley the dictator according to you lot should just pull a random person out of a hat to be a complainant in a case to get her political opponents imprisoned. So I hear from you lot that I have a great deal to learn, so let me try.

Mia is a terrible despot who does all sorts of unconscionable things in her endless lust for power and according to you all one of her greatest sins is that she hasn’t violated the norms of democracy by trespassing on the province of the CoP and DPP in order to imprison her political opponents. Makes sense. Good lesson. Many thanks!

9. @ Khaleel

What is your real name?

De ole man did not know that was your real name I thought it was a mek up one.

so, out of a deference to faith and respect for such, IF IT IS YOUR REAL NAME, I will not call you Wala Wala.

Right now de ole man fighting against 10 combatants pun dis blog

You, a misguided Muslim, who unwittingly supporting a Despot, the pair of rented Jackasses Hee Hee and He Haw, Robert the Rapist of Employees, Charles “THE WUHAN BAT” Jong (so called by Tron) aka Charles Me Love You Jong Time and the 5 BU personalities!

As you can see de ole man is beloved by all the other admirers and al i gots to do is support a cause here pun Barbados Underground and dem gets orders to come to BU and attach an octogenarian.

Why is dat?

Cause de ole man supports de Third Party Movement and thinks that the BLP and DLP parties are outdated and have lost their way?

Cause de ole man thinks that the PdP will, with its current membership oust the Dictator Mugabe?

Or because dem fear de ole man power to amass 50,000 views for my what you call fliers or something! I going admit I really dont read you after 4 paragraphs!

So when dem hate de ole man for pointing out the Corruption and does block all de ole man submissions here heheheheheheheheh

If i was posting shy$e dem would post it LIKE HOW DEM POSTING YOUR JOBBY but I is not posting faeces

10. Police state in the making
    They will be more of these appointments
    Crisis always brings out the Rottweiler in govts especially govts who takes upon itself to barrell its way through the Constitution when no one is looking

11. @ TinFoil, Piece the Legion

De youngster got your Caswell Franklyn poochlicking ass pun de run. He is polite and cordial in bringing he own opinions, explaining them and backing them up wid facts.

And wuh you doing?

Yuh calling people poochlickers, when the same Franklyn was a David Simmons poochlicker.

Yuh getting hostile, hot under de collar and yuh resorting to personal attacks pun de youngster. That is what you new found colleague does call de Bajan Condition.

But hear wuh de youngster say bout it: your resort to ad hominem attack is so predictable and tired. Get a new strategy. {Quote}

Shame pun uh old man like you. Yuh waste foop!!

12. what sort of rambling reasoning is that Khaleel?

Dat is what Mugabe teaching you? to transpose all that is said with shyte?

Here is what The Sage Annunaki said in plain english

“…that legislation amended the Emergency Management Act by re-enacting certain provisions that already existed at section 28 of the same act; also at sections 2 and 3 of the 1939 Emergency Powers Act; and at section 25 of the Constitution. The amendment also went on to give powers to the Chief Medical Officer that he already had since 1969.”

Mugabe is who responsible for this sort of dissembling

“…Senator Franklyn’s point the newly created Executive Chairman’s position was not advertised to create the opportunity for the best candidate to be selected….”

or this sort of Corruption

“…Resolution to approve the borrowing by the Government from Republic Bank (Barbados) Ltd. of the sum up to BBD 26.3 million to repay existing overdraft facilities held by the Barbados Transport Board, the National Housing Corporation and the Queen Elizabeth Hospital…”

Speak to the facts and stop rambling bout shy$e or get of the FVUCKING TOPSY!!

13. Why de Honourable Blogmaster filtering my responses den Rented Jackass number 2?

If de boy holding he own why he need the technological backstopping by THE HONOURABLE BLOGMASTER?

hehehehehehehehheheheh

Yah poochlicker!!!

Dat does get wunna real vex nuh

http://imgur.com//0ZqbsNm

14. Wait, the DLP attack dog and foot soldier now realise um is a police state in the making?

Wuh wrong wid you is dat you does let the mealy mout Hal Austin encourage you in taking shyte

Um did a police state in the making when wunnuh appoint uh DLP candidate Guyson Mayers as Chairman uh de Police Services Commission, so dat wunnuh cudda get rid uh Dottin and apint Bertie Hinds, who is a big DEM, as Commissioner. When Bertie retire, wunnuh apint Ty Pee, who is another DEM, as acting Commissioner. Den wunnuh did paying two Commissioners of Police.

Wunnuh DLP people, Adriel Braffit and Guyson Mayers eff up de police force.

Dat is the same ting wunnuh do when wunnuh suspend de woman dat was de Supervisor of Insurance, when she call de police fun wunnuh man. Leroy Parris. And um is de same ting wunnuh do when wunnuh send home de Commissioner of Inland Revenue, to apint a DEM, Margaret Sivers, as Revenue Commissioner of the BRA.

And yuh know, back in dem days, wunnuh did paying a Supervisor of Insurance who din wukking, a Commissioner of Inland Revenue and a Revenue Commissioner, and 2 Commissioners of Police.

Come to tink bout it, I din hear de outspoken man talk bout dem tings.

Wuh got me is dat Mottley gone and bring back one Chris Sinckler.

15. Khaleel Kothdiwala Avatar
    Khaleel Kothdiwala

@ Piece

With reference to the creation of the post of the Executive Chairman, you ought to know that the Cabinet resolved to bring to Parliament a Bill to amend the relevant Act to allow for the creation of said position, which had not been done previously when a similar thing was done for BWA. The Minister spoke to the fact that the reason for the expeditious handling was the fact that they did not have the “luxury of time”.

I refer you to yesterday’s editorial in the normally adversarial Barbados Todaym
    “ Opposition Senator Caswell Franklyn, who normally gets his pronouncements very correct and whose input on the legislative functioning of government is always required listening, was among those who criticized the appointment. At the time he said Government was finding jobs for family, friends and party hacks. Bynoe-Sutherland’s only ‘sin’ it seemed was that she was the wife of a sitting government minister. No one debated her qualifications or aptitude for the job with respect to meeting required criteria.

In the midst of accusations of government encouraging nepotism, the affable Barbadian administrator publicly responded to the naysayers with the simple plea: “Just give me a chance.” As the first anniversary of her appointment approaches, indications and Bynoe-Sutherland’s report card suggest that she is far from being a political hack and that hers was indeed an inspired, even if political appointment. Unsolicited reports emanating from the Queen Elizabeth Hospital are that the executive chairman is very much a hands-on leader who encourages and get results without meddling in the actual provision of medical care to patients. It has been reported that she is an excellent communicator, accessible and approachable by staff at both ends of the professional ladder.”

I need add nothing more

16. WURA-War-on-U Avatar
    WURA-War-on-U

Miller…Piece…wuhloss, all these black face scum for leaders in Barbados have ever done to their own people on the island is mete out INJUSTICE in the CORRUPT SUPREME COURT..as Barrow said AND which cannot exist without taxpayers…

……now look who is talking about “even the mighty have to abide by rules of natural justice”, these goddamn thieves who rob their own people, the elderly, dead, dying, disabled, sick, the unborn, for and to promote and enrich the DESCENDENTS of UKs REJECTS…..AND THEMSELVES…

…as long as they are black like them they get SOLD OUT AND ROBBED…., they have no shame at all …..but listen to TEETS act like he is still in control…

“Barbados Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs Dale Marshall, in condemning the EU action, said it amounted to “a little more than a conviction without a trial.

“We have been given no details of this, and in fact the first time we are hearing of it is through the overseas press.

“Even the mighty must abide by the rules of natural justice and give us an opportunity to be heard. We do not have a seat at their table when our standing is being discussed, and if you say that we are a non-cooperative jurisdiction, then tell us in which areas you consider that we are not cooperating,” Marshall said, adding that “this approach of the EU is exactly the approach that was taken against us last year in relation to what they deemed to be harmful tax practices.”

17. WURA-War-on-U Avatar
    WURA-War-on-U

The sellout negros are taking OFFENSE…and WANT JUSTICE and to be heard.

…..THEY NEVER THINK THAT THEIR OWN PEOPLE who elect them and PAY THEIR SALARIES, WANT THE SAME THINGS…..because they are ENTITLED TO HAVE THEIR HUMAN RIGHTS OBSERVED and RESPECTED…AND NOT HAVE THEIR MONEY AND OPPORTUNITITES STOLEN generationally …by those they elected and who sell them out without fail..

none of that ever enters their selfish minds until they have to be called out, then they make it all about themselves….let’s see which nuisance fools who condone money laundering are going to pick up fire rage for these corrupt thieves..

18. @ Khaleel Kothdiwala 2 May 8, 2020 6:55 PM

No Grasshopper No.2!

We want you to be that political lamb of sacrifice and put yourself forward as that missing complainant to solve the local part of the Donvillegate equation.

But here is a rather simple task you need to perform before you leave home to enrol in the political class on your journey to maturity.

Now that the old man called tourism has taken to his very sick bed because of Covid why don’t you ask Doctor Maloney to show you his stethoscope full of 200 million greenbacks to act as the Viagra to the Bajan economy by causing the erection of Hyatt to rise to the occasion during the country’s most needed time of capital expenditure projects to stimulate the deteriorating body.

The façade of demolition of ‘condemned old buildings and paid from the BTII piggybank will not be cutting the mustard in this period of Covid-contained fiscal stringency.

If the erection of Hyatt lighthouse is to deferred until the passing of the angel of tourism death called Covid what is going to happen to the duty- and tax-free luxury vehicle acquired over two years ago for the work-related use by a Hyatt ghost of a Sales Director who has not yet arrived on the Island because of Covid.

The Treasury can certainly do at this time of economic depression with a stimulus from the Malmoney charity to help meet the cost of the social wreckage caused by Covid.

19. Worth repeating a police state in the making
    Even got police harassing children playing on their front porch
    Throwing people who aint got job 3000 thousand dollars for curfew and in a
    excess of fifty thousand dollars for not following protocols or jail time
    Imagine if AG Braithwaite had implement such laws the blp foot soldiers would have a fit
    Cant wait to see the next shoe drop as govt barrells its way down the highway called humans rights and the Constitution

20. WURA-War-on-U Avatar
    WURA-War-on-U

“Even the mighty must abide by the rules of natural justice and give us an opportunity to be heard. We do not have a seat at their table when our standing is being discussed.”

In case some believe it’s a typo or don’t believe their eyes, these common class thieves who rob any and everyone who cannot fight back are talking about others must abide by rules, that they THEMSELVES NEVER ABIDE BY…they break EVERY RULE OR LAW that could aid in the development, wealth creation and progress of their own people, because they only want to enrich themselves and whomever is just as filthy, lowcrawling and bottomfeeding just like them and would help them achieve those criminal actions against their own…

they NEVER OBSERVE any of the international human right laws and conventions to which they are signatory, some they sign on to and NEVER RATIFY…because they want to continue robbig their own people and violating the most basic of their human rights…..all to enrich themselves at the expense of and lord it over the same people who elected them..

21. Khaleel Kothdiwala Avatar
    Khaleel Kothdiwala

@ Mariposa

The utter nonsense that I read on this blog. I have addressed this ridiculous notion of “locking up poor black people” already. The people hauled before the courts haven’t been people out trying to cut someone’s lawn for a little $10 or trying to sell some vegetables etc. As I evidenced by newspaper reports, for the most part these people are recklessly endangering life and society. It’s not like you don’t know that you shouldn’t have been out. Only everyone in the whole country was aware of the regulations. A very effective Awareness campaign was done in that regard. If you leave your house, driving without a license in an uninsured car don’t tell me about poor black people. If you leave home to go threaten somebody, don’t tell me about poor black people. You can see my above post for a full elucidation of that. But that really is sickening. Yes some people find themselves in odd positions sometimes because of circumstance etc. But too many people are just acting recklessly and they fully deserve to feel the full weight of the law. They endanger our society and our lives and the longer we have to stay under restriction because people aren’t adhering they are also attacking our economic system. No Mariposa and company, it has nothing to do with poor lack people. It is about people doing the right thing and if you don’t in a catastrophic crisis such as this then you have to feel the consequences.

22. Ahhhh…. but the ting is, Braffit din had no virus or nutten so to deal wif, so we wud never know what he wud have done.

But seeing how when the press ask he bout the squatters in Rock Hall and he tell dem dat he know bout dum and he got friends living there, and he en do nutten bout it, he probably wun uh do nutten anyway.

Wuh you should do is tell we FIVE tings Adriel Braffit do when he was AG.

23. Not against putting measures in place to address curfew laws when broken
    However these measures are borderline authoritarian and senseless which does not address the issue of joblessness if the accused cannot pay the fine
    However would rather use the authoritarian style of fear to demonstrate authority at its highest level
    Why cant govt find better use of making the curfew law breakers perform community service
    Why would a caring govt implement such measures which would include jail time
    Is the sentencing worth the crime
    Is govt prepared to deal with the psychological ramifications from a home which would have separated a child from a parent
    The separation of parent from child for a year might seem insignificant but at some time or place society might have to bear that cost
    My protest is one of saying down with these draconian sentencing and put laws in place which can address a rationale of finding a solution with a punishment that can make the accused give back some thing tangible and worthwhile to the community

24. Piece, You Former legend!

He who cries out is in the wrong.

Finally throw yourself into the dust before Mia Mottley and become one with the party. You and Mia Mottley together could rule the entire Caribbean. Mia Mottley as leader, Piece as media manager and high minister of propaganda.

You could bring peace, freedom, justice, and security to your new empire.

25. Piece the Legend Avatar

Dear Honourable Blogmaster why you refusing to publish de ole man posts?

Heheheheheheheheheheheheh

You is a referee in this fight who holding de ole man hands and telling me got to my corner while the underweight boxer, he manager, he trainer, he father and mother, he publicist rather he Rapist, that would be Roger, and he media man that is Tron, jumping in de ring and throwing punches at de 80+ old man!

You is a unfair referee doah

26. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

All one can feel is contempt form your no good leaders….

“Hemp didn’t start with colonial America. The value of hemp dates as far back as 10,000 years. It was only introduced to North America in 1606.

Alvaro Rubim de Pinho’s “Social and Medical Aspects of the Use of Cannabis in Brazil” detailed that slaves in 1549, largely from Angola, brought cannabis seeds to the northeast Brazilian sugar plantations at which they were enslaved. Slave owners encouraged slaves to plant marijuana in the sugar cane fields so that during their downtime, they would tend to their personal crop. The belief was this would contribute to the productivity of the workers by reducing their periods of inactivity, then believed to promote “laziness.”

Indentured servitude in the Caribbean by the British Empire functioned similarly. According to Professor Warf,

British authorities brought 1.5 million “surplus” laborers from India to labor-short islands in the Caribbean. Indentured Indian workers brought ganja with them to Barbados and Jamaica after the abolition of slavery there in 1834, and it was tolerated so long as sugar production did not suffer. Ganja’s use was closely wrapped up with that of rum, so that the two drugs became intertwined in the cycle of work, debt, and poverty that characterized [indentured] life on the sugar plantation.

The history of cannabis is messy. Its earliest origins are in Mongolia and southern Siberia. From there, starting in the upper-Paleolithic period (roughly 40,000 years ago), cannabis began its slow spread across the globe. Nearly every major ancient civilization shows evidence of cannabis and hemp use for fabric, religious significance, recreational psychoactivity, or medicinal purposes. Alarmingly, European slave owners encouraged weed smoking as a method of control.

The English were introduced to cannabis through the colonization of India, and there were a number of channels wherein Europeans brought the plant to the Americas. This introduction encouraged smoking cannabis, rather than chewing hash, for its “mind-altering effects.” As the centuries progressed, use of marijuana became codified and scorned. As it spread into the areas around the Amazon, mainly “to fishing villages,” it “became known as the ‘opium of the poor’” among mestizos.

Eventually, its proliferation made cannabis a cash crop. The British used hemp for fibers and in order “to reduce their reliance on Russian supplies,” (hemp remained an important cash crop into the Soviet Union). According to Barney Warf’s Historical Geography of Cannabis, “Queen Elizabeth decreed that landowners throughout the empire with sixty or more acres must [grow] hemp or face a fine.”

See my video on the first cannabis slavery reparations:https://www.facebook.com/AShearCutUp/videos/3795258737158265/

27. If this is where you prefer to take the discussion the blogmaster will have to act.

28. Khsleel and Robert you all got the the crazy old man aka Fra.nklyn poochlicker good. He rambling and cussing thst is all he good for.I wonder where his partner Franklyn is? I notice he two sidekicks Wsru tslking she usual shite and Mariposa who suddenly cares about poor people since May 2018 and encouraging poor black people to break a curfew come to his assistance.Keep the pressure on him because the only sests Rev Atherley and Mr Franklyn will win in 2023 in my view are tiolet seats.

29. Piece the Legend Avatar

Here is the thing Honourable Blogmaster

The truth hurts.

You are withholding some of my posts.

Yet, you delight in the comments of your team of people sent to quiet the ole man.

For example let me show you how you operate.

I honestly did not know the guy Kahleel had that real last name.

I thought it was a moniker and placed his entire submissions as being those of another of your Rented Jackasses.

It is a blog with loyalties.

Yours are obvious and require no explanation, mine lie in country over sucking a concept that is hard for you to understand.

The Sage Annunaki came and shared this fact and, even though Kahleel rambles, he converses unlike you and the other idiots here.

When one encounters sheeple you carry BA Feed with people you discuss ideas.

He, Kahleel has a faith THAT DOES NOT BOW TO MEN, and de ole man can converse with that.

I cannot nor will not talk to you because you have linear thoughts and cant shift to discuss abstract concepts.

But then again your job is a clear one 50,000 views for a campaign that is pro the PdP AND AGAINST MUGABE has to be shut down.

Like you shut down the 1750 Caswell Franklyn blog.

Mia Mottley must not be returned to the House of Assembly because she IS NOT A PATRIOT she is only interested in herself! FACT!

And these 2 years of her Rule show that! FACT!

caswell Franklyn’s periodic blogs have shown that she will break any any all laws to subjugate this country to her Dictator for Life.

All I do is highlight these facts with simple images.

They will vex you because you see the “hits” of the viewers/readers and once you start to lose control of the narrative in the minds of bajans, you know that you will lose the vote.

So I understand that too as a wise man who can play the part of a fool, while a fool cant do the converse.

It is you website (sort of) and you have a job to deliver to your Boss Mugabe DO WHAT YOU MUST!

In years to come, none will remember the times when AND MEN LIKE YOU were to take a stand & FOLDED!

Spineless Scum

30. Piece,

We can all see that you are on the verge of a nervous breakdown. You’re obviously suffering from your inner demons. Why don’t you take some time off? It’s time for you to negotiate about a royal pardon, for which you must of course pay a price. Just hand in the following declaration of oath at Bay Street:

“I, Piece, the rock, the legend, the prophet, the heretic,

Hereby pledge myself never again to insult our beloved Prime Minister or spread untrue facts about her. As a guarantee, I agree to install on my computer a surveillance software designed by Charles Jong, so that the Special Security Office will understand me better. In the future, I will only criticize the diabolical opposition and expose them. If I break my promises, I have to sit next to Chris Sinckler on the COVID council for 99 hours, teach him decimals and stop him from eating.”

Piece, year 2 MR.”

(MR stands for Mottley´s reign)

31. #BTEditorial – A reminder Mr Marshall, you’re the people’s servant

Barbadians have been privy to free and fair elections since their Independence but the actions of the current democratically elected administration are calling into question whether this country is contributing to the global decline in democratic practices. Recent occurrences suggest that the Mia Mottley-led Government has few qualms with respect to ignoring Barbados’ laws. Indeed, some might argue that the 30-0 mandate bestowed upon the Barbados Labour Party in 2018 has emboldened the Government into believing that it can do as it pleases. But the overwhelming vote of confidence given to the current administration was not intended to be the precursor to autocratic rule. This is the reality that Government must appreciate and which its chief legal advisor, Attorney General Dale Marshall, ought to respect. Indeed, if he does not acknowledge that not only is he a servant of the people but one of the country’s principal protectors of its laws, then Prime Minister Mottley should remove him from office with great dispatch. But, he is a part of a wider decision-making Cabinet.

Opposition Senator Caswell Franklyn recently did the Royal Barbados Police Force and the country as a whole a significant favour by pointing out to all and sundry that Government had contravened the law of the land by its appointment of a second Deputy Commissioner of Police. Mr Franklyn correctly stated that section 6 of the Police Act, Chapter 167 of the Laws of Barbados spoke specifically to the appointment of one Commissioner of Police and one Deputy Commissioner. “The Force shall consist of a Commissioner, a Deputy Commissioner and such number of Assistant Commissioners, Superintendents, Inspectors, subordinate police officers and constables respectively as does not exceed the number provided by any order made under section 2 of the Civil Establishments Act: but the members of the Force at 16th October 1961, shall continue to be members of the Force and shall be subject to this Act,” Mr Franklyn quoted from the relevant legislation. This was not a political stunt or grandstanding, this was simply a very erudite servant of Barbados pointing out to Government that it had breached the country’s laws. But worse was to follow.

Attorney General Marshall was this week asked to explain and clarify this development. But in a manner that mimics what would perhaps occur in an autocratic state, he refused to address the situation and stated he would not be getting into a tit-for-tat with Mr Franklyn. But this was not about the goodly senator, this was a case where Mr Marshall, in what we hope is still a thriving democracy, was under an obligation to address whether his Government had breached the law and if it had, what would be done about it. But the Attorney General took the low road and failed to deal with the query. To the best of our knowledge, there has been no debate or amendment in Parliament to section 6 of the Police Act, Chapter 167. The high road ought to have been taken where Government could have admitted its error while indicating its intention to make the necessary legislative adjustments to facilitate two appointed deputy commissioners for the first time in the 185-year history of the Royal Barbados Police Force.

The irony of this situation is that while Mr Marshall did not want to get into a “tit-for-tat” with Senator Franklyn, he had no reservations recently getting into a “tit-for-tat” with Magistrate Graveney Bannister – a public officer – with respect to statements of legal interpretation made in court by Mr Bannister, and to which he was entitled. If the Attorney General had an issue with Magistrate Bannister’s sentiments he should have taken them up with the Chief Justice as proper protocol dictates. Instead, Mr Marshall chose to get in a public “tit-for-tat” with a judicial officer but now wants to dodge the question of Government’s questionable actions. We would hope that Mr Marshall addresses the matter and dismisses notions being circulated that this appointment serves only to facilitate a higher retirement pension for the newly appointed Deputy Commissioner of Police. Taxpayers should be pondering that if the law makes no provisions for two Deputy Commissioners, why should they be paying an increased salary and a later higher pension for a position that does not exist according to the current Laws of Barbados.

No, Mr Marshall, this is not just about yourself, Senator Franklyn or the new Deputy Commissioner, this is about the office of the Attorney General as well as Government by extension adhering to the same laws our Parliament creates and ensuring that autocracy does not creep through the backdoor into Barbados’ democracy.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/05/09/bteditorial-a-reminder-mr-marshall-youre-the-peoples-servant/

32. @ Maridummy

You does write bare foolishness, yuh.

Tell me something, breaking the curfew is a crime, so too is robbing somebody or breaking in their house to steal. Alright, a man that en working and got a child, robbing people. get ketch and sentenced to 2 years in jail. Another man break the curfew and was found loitering on somebody premises looking to teef.

You trying to tell we dat the only body home dat gine got psychological ramifications is de man that break the curfew?

So, de man dat did robbing people ain’t get separated from he child too?

You did here on BU talking bout people coming into Barbados to spread the virus. Last week bout 6 Guyanese get hold for breaking the curfew and attending a COVID-19 fete. Supposed one uh dem had the virus and it spread at the fete and through the communities where they living?

Government should let these irresponsible people, according to you, give back something tangible and worthwhile to the community?

The problem with you is dat you simplifying and politicizing the curfew issue, to mek it look as though poor black people getting unfair.

And wuh mek me laff is dat you got convenient times to show concern for poor people. They got poor people who en got no where to live and no money to buy house and land. Now, I en saying that it is right, but some of these poor people squatting on land at places like Rock Hall in St. Philip.

I remember you was one of the head people pun BU calling for the government to remove them squatters and don’t give them no financial help. You did not care bout separating them from their children and psychological ramifications or nutten so. You said they should get punished for squatting.

You always talking bout community spread of a virus that you could catch easy and that does spread easy, but now playing you concern bout people dat breaking the curfew and doing shyte.

You is the worst DLP yard fowl I ever come across.

33. Here is a govt when in opposition walk the length and breadth of barbados talking about past govt decimating the people livelihood
    However now as present govt takes hold of power in the most confounding manner to trample on the laws of the land in the most harsh and illogical reasoning whereby to impose laws which cannot be fair and binding but to create power to an institution which was under the Constitution was there to protect and serve the people
    When all is said and done this govt in one year has shown that their can abuse or withhold any guarantee right for the people that they see as a right whereby a police state can be created which in their mind can be for the national interest of the people
    History has shown that in times of crisis tin horn dictators can ride the wave of fear to make their presence known to the people in unsettling manner as goodwill
    This govt will pursue in this crisis every avenue breaking rules and guidelines (put in place) before the breaking of dawn while the people mids are fast asleep

#####peoplewakeup

34. Robert why is a person most likely jobless or even homeless asked to pay 3000 dollars as a fine for breaking curfew law while on the other hand a person caught breaking drug laws are not judge in a manner by our law courts even as a symbol to show that a wrong was committed
    Yes every since this crisis started govt has pushed iron clad measures that are harsh and unreasonable when poor people are caught breaking laws govt have put in place
    Also Robert as a talking point which might be of interest
    This govt did not close its window shades during the swearing in ceremony in parliament but left the windows wide opened for all to gazed on their friends or associate who are alleged to have ties or connections to illegal activities
    Question why havent govt round up such vermin all in the national interest and safety of people and country
    Does these types get a exemption under a law of privilege
    Why are these people given a spotlight as guest in Parliament while curfew law breakers are taken before a judge

35. Why are these people given a spotlight as guest in Parliament while curfew law breakers are taken before a judge. {Quote}

@ Mari

Yuh got a point bout inviting dem fellows to parliament. That was not good at all, at all, at all.

But, pay close attention to what you said: friends or associate who are ALLEGED to have ties or connections to illegal activities {Quote}. ALLEGED is an important word.

I did not know it was government’s job to round up these people you call vermin, I always thought that was the police job?
    Did the police caught the people that were invited to Parliament committing an illegal activity? Can the police round up people based on allegations?

Some of these same people that you now calling vermin were not friends and associates of Michael Lashley and a few other DEMS? Since the men jump ship and don’t finance Lashley, you now calling them vermin?

36. WURA-War-on-U Avatar
    WURA-War-on-U

Ah notice fowls only have talk for bloggers but they have NONE FOR EU…lol

interesting days ahead, got the wine and party favors ready, it will be a hell of a show, front row seat only…..soon come…

37. Robert there u go again spinning you tail down the rabbit hole
    Duh if people know of the alleged accusations against such vermin
    It would not be a stretch beyond logic to assumed that police who are hired by the govt knows that such allegations abound and are attached to these people
    However have u heard or have any reason to belive that police have pursued with diligence to apprehend any one of them (maybe such information would be categorised as privilege and be withhold from the people) lol
    Hell No in no manner or way or even with a statement to satisfy the people questioning has something be said as a govt response as to why the vermin was invited to parliament
    Yet the curfew law breakers are treated with shame and disgust as ministers and other govt officials response with profound statements to point out that the curfew laws are meant to be obeyed

38. @ Mari

Why you duz believe that if people look at things different from you it means they spinning something?

That is a very narrow out look you have.

I understand and agree with your point bout the men that get invite to parliament.

But I think you putting your political spin on this curfew breaking thing. You making it look as though people getting locked here, there and everywhere for breaking the curfew. What I think you should do is go back and read the reasons why some people get charged and see that some people get off with a warning. The police even warning people, but it are those who have no reasonable excuses that find themselves before the Court.

What you think bout the man’s excuse for breaking the curfew was that he was walking from Martindale’s Road all the way to St. George to get pain killers from his girl friend’s house?

Or the man from Deacons Farm that admitted he was selling drugs during the curfew? What about them 6 Guyanese that get hold at a party during the curfew hours? I read bout a fellow that was caught driving without a license.

And you know just yesterday the Guyanese police caught 22 people, including Venezuelan women, for breaking the curfew to celebrate at a birthday? You know that under Guyana’s COVID-19 emergency measures, a person can face a fine or up to six months in prison for breaching the restrictions?

Everyday you does be on BU telling we bout how dangerous covid 19 is. They have a curfew and people should obey it. I won’t like somebody I know to break the curfew, catch the virus and I get it from them. You won’t like that to happen to you either.

The people say stop home if you ain’t got nothing important to do, and that is what I does do. Stop home

39. @ WURA-War-on-U May 9, 2020 6:37 AM

You notice too? The once garrulous yard bird is now like an African barkless dog whose long political red tail has been embarrassingly bobbed.

No cussing of the EU or trying to blame it for the paper tiger of a regulatory framework in Bim.

What is Bim going to do to fix this obvious problem? Beg the EU for a grant to rectify the local regulatory inefficiencies?

We keeping telling the fool that the problem in Bim is not the lack of laws and regulations but their enforcement to bring about an acceptable level of effectiveness in the judicial system.

Throwing money/resources behind a corrupted system does not get rid of inefficiencies but only feeds the amoebae spawning more inefficiency and corruption.

If he thinks that the handling of the Donvillegate affair by the local law enforcement players was not exceedingly instrumental in fashioning the EU’s position then he has to be foolish “Enuff” to believe he was born of a virgin.

40. Worth repeating
    “The problem in Bim is not the lack of laws and regulations but their enforcement to bring about an acceptable level of effectiveness in the judicial system.

Throwing money/resources behind a corrupted system does not get rid of inefficiencies but only feeds the amoebae spawning more inefficiency and corruption.”

The statement does not have a political/ party label …

41. @Miller

You can do better when it comes to the EU moving the goal posts as it impacts offshore jurisdictions like Barbados.

42. Well I’ll be damned! The same people that walk about talking about global conspiracies and vaccination conspiracies and all the like; that walk about talking about the evil world political elite; can somehow justify the actions of the EU, for which I can find many adjectives to describe in the English Language, but none which encapsulate the fullness of its action, as wutlnessness, pure and simple.

AG said, absolutely correctly, that it was a “conviction without a trial”. How can you have a body pass judgement on you without ever hearing your side? That simply breaches a most fundamental principle of natural justice, long predating modernity. Indeed as far as I know, audi alteram partem is a principle that goes back to Ancient Greece (obviously known a difference, and Greek name). The EU in this regard seemingly has sought to ride roughshod over millenia of common-sense justice as only large powers can do over small nations. It is indefensible and seeking to use “Donvillegate” isn’t just stupid it’s quite confusing! “Donvillegate” I suppose is the lack of criminal prosecution here against him. Never mind that quite clearly, a solid case hasn’t been built against him (maybe not yet I don’t know), but that was instrumental in their decision. I’m sure the European Court of Justice and the EU Human Rights people (who are unfortunately silent when they abuse us) would gladly whitelist us and indeed exalt us if the political representatives were to insert themselves into the judicial process in order to lock up political opponents. Again good lesson. Many thanks!

43. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ KK at 9 :27 AM

I think it is clear to most commenters on this blog that the purpose of the listings and de-listings is to repatriate the loss of jobs ,income and tax revenues to the EU countries.

However it is worth asking : Were the shortcomings of the Barbados management of the Money Laundering processes communicated to the ML authorities? Were measures put in place to remedy them?
    It is worth knowing the syllabus so that we may make a decision to take the exam or not.

Is it not time to seek an alternative replacement for this sector?

44. Let me first state “I only wish the very best for Barbados”.
    For me it always the “bread and butter” issues I leave the higher and more subtle issues to the great thinkers.

When I see the word injustice, my mind runs to the man who is jailed for stealling a loaf of bread, a sweet drink or nail clippers. They cannot imagine the horror of being lost in jail for 12 months. Far worse than a “conviction without a trial” is “sham trials” where sentences are meted out with the intention of frightening the poor.

Those who shout ‘injustice without a trial suffer from presbyopia. They can see to the shores of Europe, but cannot see the viciousness and savagery occuring in their homeland. They cannot see a justice system that is geared towards keeping the masses in fear whilst a select few walk without fear.

45. “I think it is clear to most commenters on this blog that the purpose of the listings and de-listings is to repatriate the loss of jobs ,income and tax revenues to the EU countries.”

Agree.

We are is new and strange times and home drums will beat first. These countries are just as concern with the aftermath of this virus as Barbados is.

I do not run after conspiracy theories, but as I listen to ‘ordinary’ radio I hear statements that are quite frightening. There is an underlying fear that very bleak times can be ahead. I am talking about in the US….

(A departure from bread and butter issues)

46. I mentioned a list of contributors and another post. and I forgot to mention a few people.

A shoutout to lyallsmall. I think your posting of the numbers took the the wind out of the critics and left them unable to produce hot air.

A shoutout to the POPO of Barbados.

This time last year we were agonizing over the number of murders in Barbados. I know an immediate response will be that the curfew is the main cause for the reduction. I suspect that the criminals were still active during the crisis.

We will wait and see what happens when this crisis past, but whatever you (POPO) are doing appears to be working.

47. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Senator Caswell Franklyn

Thank you.

Thank you for your yeoman service and your unstilting perseverance to stand up to the litany of despotic actions that line the journey of the Dictator Mugabe Mottley from May 24th 2018.

Indeed, while many look at this little article of close to 200 comments which the Honourable Blogmaster threatened to close down a few hours ago, many writing and reading this blog fail to see the real purpose behind his threats AND THE REASON FOR THE ENLISTMENT OF KAHLEEL (of Honourable Faith disturbingly misguided by Mia Mottley)

De ole man said earlier that I would share the science which I employ on non-combatants like Khaleel.

His 9 goaders emboldened him to come to engage de ole man with what the Honourable Blogmaster calls my inflated internet ego.

Whatever that is, heheheheh

But suddenly it starts to dawn on everyone here that this article is feeding the airwaves, and like Covid it has migrated into the local community via Barbados Today as a Op Ed!

And just so wunna eyes open! And you understand why the Honourable Blogmaster and his colleagues are here, in this digital space.

THIS ARTICLE WITH PERIODIC APPEARANCES BY SENATOR CASWELL FRANKLYN must be killed!

The disease that is Senator Caswell Franklyn IS SPREADING and de ole man, who first called them poochlickers and waste foops, now is being called same

Heheheheh, watch and learn

48. @ David May 9, 2020 8:29 AM

A post-Brexit EU is telling countries like Barbados that home drums beat first when it comes to handling offshore money in need of a laundry.

Barbados ought to look into its smudged mirror and see the plank of white-collar crime in its eye of law enforcement and stop calling it a speck.

What moving of goal posts! Why is there any need to move the goal posts when there is no goalkeeper between the bars?

Even one of the Bajan linesmen Guy Fawkes Mayers lit a piece of dynamite under Barbados when he exposed the weakness of the Bajan ML legislation which cannot even trap a dirty rat like the Don of Pornville who enjoyed rummaging through dirty money even if of small denominations.

It would be interesting to find out if the Don still has a portfolio of offshore business entities under his IBC control even if vicariously through a spousal arrangement.

We will not even bother to mention the other small fry con artists Greenverbs & Co. who were also under the EU radar.

BTW, it’s almost 2 years since the grandiose promise of ITAL and FOI.
    Who are you going to blame for this delay? The EU or Covid?

49. @Miller

According to local pundits we have to jettison tourism and add offshore to the list. It makes you wonder doesn’t it. Regarding ITAL and FOI, there is the the vigil.

50. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“BTW, it’s almost 2 years since the grandiose promise of ITAL and FOI.
    Who are you going to blame for this delay? The EU or Covid?”

you are telling yourself these proven clowns are above blaming both for they refusing to legislate FOIA or transparency because it does not fit into their usual scams and ya done know their dumb fowls and followers will believe every word..

“Those who shout ‘injustice without a trial suffer from presbyopia. They can see to the shores of Europe, but cannot see the viciousness and savagery occuring in their homeland. They cannot see a justice system that is geared towards keeping the masses in fear whilst a select few walk without fear.”

the nerve of those hypocrites and frauds and the dumbest people would listen to Marshall talking pure, self serving shite and won’t call him out, but they got talk for BU bloggers…

….at least we get to enjoy the fact that their fowls only have mouth for bloggers, they don’t dare open their rear ends at EU..

“AG said, absolutely correctly, that it was a “conviction without a trial”. How can you have a body pass judgement on you without ever hearing your side?

That simply breaches a most fundamental principle of natural justice, long predating modernity.”

the young fowl they are grooming need look no further than Barbados’ corrupt court system…to see WHO HAS BEEN BREECHING THE MAJORITY POPULATION’S BASIC HUMAN RIGHTS AT EVERY TURN…

.and not only does the young fowl in training need a hell of a lot more experience but a hell of a lot more INFORMATION to prevent himself from looking like the usual BU uninformed fowl….ya just born yesterday and they sure as hell will not tell you what they have done to their own people generationally for over 60 years AND STILL ARE…but your parents should have if they are not too marinated in the system and can see nothing wrong with ..crimes being committed against the majority population by the lowlife lawyers/leaders who believe they are entitled to

…so stay in ya corner and LEARN…although a couple spankings will also teach ya a thing or two…

Marshall cannot tell EU one shite, he knows who he is and what he has done and so DOES EVERYONE ELSE….he cannot throw stones without having his glass house completely shattered…