It was recently announced, by the Government Information Service, that the Protective Service Commission has approved the appointment of Mr. Oral Williams on promotion to the post of Deputy Commissioner of Police in the Royal Barbados Police Force, with effect from May 1, 2020.

I really don’t know if I should congratulate or offer commiserations to Mr. Williams. This has nothing to do with his fitness for the post. I do not know of his work or performance as a senior police officer and cannot speak to his fitness. My concern is that he has been appointed to a non-existent post, since someone is already substantively appointed Deputy Commissioner.

The Police Act, Chapter 167 of the Laws of Barbados, states at section 6:

The Force shall consist of a Commissioner, a Deputy Commissioner and such number of Assistant Commissioners, Superintendents, Inspectors, subordinate police officers and constables respectively as does not exceed the number provided by any order made under section 2 of the Civil Establishments Act: but the members of the Force at 16th October 1961, shall continue to be members of the Force and shall be subject to this Act.

The number of persons appointed to the post of Commissioner and Deputy Commissioner is subject to primary legislation, in this case the Police Act, and can only be changed by an amendment to that Act done in Parliament. On the other hand, the Police Act goes on to give the Minister responsible for Civil Establishments the power, by subsidiary legislation, to determine the number of Assistant Commissioners, Superintendents, Inspectors, subordinate police officers and constables.

For completeness, the Civil Establishments Act was repealed and replaced by the Public Service Act on December 31, 2007. The power to determine the number of posts in the Public Service is now found at section 13.(1) of the Public Service Act.

The power to make appointments to public offices and to remove and to exercise disciplinary control over persons holding or acting in the Public Service is vested in the Governor-General, acting in accordance with the advice of service commissions, in this case the Protective Service Commission. That service commission, like all others in Barbados, can only recommend the appointment of persons to post that are available. There is only one post of Deputy Commissioner available and that is already filled.

Who is responsible for this cock-up? Is this yet another example of this Government not getting anything right the first?

1,036 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Speaks – Mock Police”

1. @ Tron May 5, 2020 10:27 AM
    “Your COP said everything is OK with Donville Inniss. No complaint, no prosecution. Your COP has exposed Barbados as a banana republic to ridicule.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

OMG! Don’t do that to the poor political partisan Greenie.

His chickens of portraying the local coppers as angels of justice have certainly come home to lay the addled eggs of competence.

All he has to do is to pull his rabbit called Donville of Porngate from the hole of yardfowlism to turn into a castrated rooster that laid the golden egg of political incest.

2. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Greene

You posed an interesting 2 part question when you asked and de ole man quotes

“…i would still like to know what it is that Dottin consults on? what are the results?…”

With all due respect to former Commissioner Dottin, he shifted the modus of Royal Baygon Police Force of Barbados from Insecticide Led Interrogations to Intelligence Led Investigations

Although his Intelligence led Information Gathering was directed by the then Deputy and used against the then Leader of the country.

Maybe the now Prime Minister has need of his services in this regard heheheheheh

By the way, Intelligence Gathering exercises require a level of analysis of the data that not all policemens possess.

The brutish beasts, 70 percent of the current Police Force, cannot provide that level of analysis.

And the remaining 30% are not as confidential as Dottin.

Nor were they trained using the software ***.

Heheheheh doan ask how de ole man know dese tings

3. WHEN AN EGG IS ROTTEN AND STINKS DO WE INHALE IT AND CALL IT SWEET SMELLING PERFUME?

SIMILAR TO MIA MOTTLEY AND HER 29 GOONS WHO GIVES OFF A SKUNK LIKE ODOUR WHY DO SOME INHALE AND CALL IT SWEET SMELLING COLOGNE?

4. I am always in wonderment at the ability of persons on this blog to take relatively innocuous occurrences and bestow on them the greatest import for our future political development, and in fact, life on earth itself.

Sen. Franklyn’s submission, for once, appears reasonable. I will nonetheless have to investigate for myself but based on what he has said, it is quite a cock-up, that quite likely should have been stopped from happening by the civil servants. Of course in our system, it is civil servants’ responsibility to shield their Minister from these types of cock-ups, which could occur because either the Minister doesn’t know or a whole host of reasons. In return, when the foul-up does happen, the Minister must take responsibility, and I hope to hear in due course from the AG on the matter. More than likely, there is quite a simple explanation.

So today, I can accept the good Senator’s position, and for once, unusually for me, thank him, for in this regard he has acted patriotically to bring this to light, even if I dislike how he has taken the facts and given his interpretation of it.

But what I absolutely cannot countenance is the utter piffle of layabouts such as Piece who do nothing more than exercise their license in vulgarity to seek to prove absolutely baseless falsehoods. I wonder to myself in which previous life did Mia Mottley murder your families and rain hell down upon you that many of you experience such a visceral hatred in your hearts for the woman. Such hatred is often unhealthy and I would advise you to perhaps get an examination done. Only you Piece in your unique mind could believe that the AG is solely and fully responsible for the activities of OCGs. Many of you so despise Mottley and her Cabinet and despise what you see as her powergrabs, yet you bestow on them more power than anyone else. Mia Mottley and a few other according to you all have no end to their power. They orchestrate murders here, they single-handedly dupe an entire nation into submission because your fellow citizens are so foolish, indeed they do so many things and are capable of so much they cause the sun to rise from the east and set in the west. Give me a break!

PS “locking up poor black people for breaking curfew” – Really?!!!! There is no limit to what some of you are capable of manufacturing in your minds. The government of Barbados in an attempt (and a highly successful one so far, we’ll see what happens from here) to stop the spread of COVID acts in a manner as is being done across the globe and somehow as always Mottley, the great devil, and her “goons” are always devising new and cruel and unusual ways to satisfy their warped sado-masochist tendencies. What utter and complete unadulterated nonsense! Some of you would much rather thousands die of COVID so that you can have an excuse to bash the government. Of course you never need a legitimate excuse. You all can just make it up. As I said earlier, I seriously recommend evaluation.

Once again, quite rarely and eating a slice of humble pie based on my previous comments, thank you Sen Franklyn for this information. I hope it is resolved.

5. I would like to add to the list of things this govt has been accused
    Unilaterally using the tax revenue which should have been collected from corporate entities and waiving those millions in vats as a free all
    Never once tabling a bill to even go as far as to mention names of the giveaways
    Or even a bill close enough and formidable enough for making these culprits pay a fine
    Yet u spin your long diatribe to say that people who break the curfew makes govt all well in their right to make them pay fines or go to jail because the health of the nation becomes at risk
    How about the health of the economy that becomes an economic wreck because of measures put in place to protect unconscionable greedy corporations

6. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

A blast from everyone’s past, Jamaicans have always owned the ska/reggae genre…in London and everywhere else..

https://nationwideradiojm.com/jamaican-my-boy-lollipop-singer-millie-small-dies-aged-73/?fbclid=IwAR3iMhi1iIs00fcTrAIaXmrvDdCE4VC7DP1VvkdiZ0cnM8xY0ogJlmuLeQM

https://youtu.be/91OU4RhkrVM?t=10

7. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ the Newest of the Amnesiac Poochlickers to join the Barbados Underground blog

“…Mia Mottley and a few other according to you all have no end to their power.

They orchestrate murders here, they single-handedly dupe an entire nation into submission because your fellow citizens are so foolish, indeed they do so many things…”

De ole man DOES NOT expect you to last long here on Barbados Underground

Why?

It is not only because you have your lips applied so firmly to the fat, overweight pooch of Mugabe!

Nor that you seem to think that you have automatically acquired the Gravitas of Senator Caswell Franklyn by making 1 comment on the blog about you, an insignificant blogger, coming to this blog and after 1 week, saying that you have to double check Caswell Franklyn’s statement!

Nor the fact that Senator Caswell Franklyn’s bonafides have been here for close to 5 years.

No Poochlicker, it is the fact that you tink dat you can psychoanalyze de ole man!

Heheheheheheheheheheheheh

You know who I is?

I is a nobody Newest Poochlicker, an insignificant member of the Public who comments about Mugabe THE DICTATOR and all citizens WHO THE BAJAN PEOPLE ELECTED!

And who are robbing and raping the electorate

http://imgur.com/qYNltuP

Who you? Heheheheh

8. @ Khaleel Kothdiwala May 6, 2020 9:21 AM

It should now be obvious to everyone, especially our Most Honourable Prime Minister, what insiders have long known: There’s only one neutral, fair and balanced voice on BU, and that’s Tron.

Even BLP-related circles, who have defended Sinckler’s appointment to the COVID19 Council ab initio, are now stabbing our Prime Minister in the back.

The Senator’s assertions are not acceptable at all, but are fundamentally wrong in content and politically disastrous. Therefore I repeat my position here, so that our Most Honourable Prime Minister is aware who is fair and balanced and who is not. On the legal side, the appointment of the Deputy is absolutely legitimate from all points of view. It was also politically necessary after the COP in the Donville Inniss case took a very clear stand on the side of injustice (“complaint”). Mr Inniss was convicted in the USA of the most serious crimes. The head of the local police authority has from the outset rejected investigations against the declared will of the Attorney General. These are facts, not political allegations.

9. Khaleel Kothdiwala is a Barbadian teenager and a BLP stalwart in training.

10. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Senator Caswell Franklyn

There is something that you said that de ole man MUST REPEAT!!!

“… Caswell Franklyn May 4, 2020 10:54 AM

I don’t think that anyone has noticed the obvious constitutional irregularity in the first paragraph of this article.

The Protective Services Commission cannot approve the appointment of any public officer.

They can only recommend to Her Excellency the Governor-General, who would make the appointment…”

Dere used to be a movie called “in the Heat of the Night” with a white Cop player by the man who played Archie Bunker pun TV years ago.

The plot was a riveting one and featured the racist US ironically both then and now.

But the name lingers with de ole man because of its applicability here.

In the Heat of the Night seems to be the purposed pattern of the Mugabe Mottley regime and while some graciously accept it as accidental acts Senator, ed ole man puts it to you that it is on purpose.

You, and your Party alone, seem to be the only entity in all of Barbados that is noticing these irregularities AND MORE IMPORTANTLY, having noticed them, SPEAKING OUT ABOUT THEM!!

If a poll was done for the 280,000 Bajans about that procedural issue de ole man will tell you that only 10 BAJANS ISLAND WIDE would have spotted that Dictatorship move in that procedural oversight

Ironically you also saw the issue of the illegal appointment of Jong the Lurker whose record de ole man provides below

http://imgur.com/QO0CKdU

Your party needs to get its message out there by a professional like *****

11. @ Hants May 6, 2020 12:02 PM

Especially party candidates should internalize the motto “our honour is called loyalty”. We cannot simply accept unchecked senatorial opinions when it comes to limiting the power of the COP.

We must not get stuck with petty letters of the law, but must see the greater picture against the background of the common good. The appointment of the new police officers is nothing more than the totally legitimate attempt by our honourable government to limit the powers of the COP. Our honourable Attorney General is not at all happy about this person in the Inniss case. And why is that? Our honourable Attorney General has been trying since 2018 to get the government and the administration back on the track of righteousness. The behavior of some public servants in the Inniss case was a disgrace to the nation and sabotaged the efforts of the Attorney General.

I therefore also understand very well why we have no new anti-corruption legislation so far. Our leader, Mia Mottley, and the honourable Attorney General know very well that any new legislation must fail if key law enforcement positions are filled by people who obviously do not apply the law in the way that good governance requires.

12. The appointment of the new officers was an act of national emergency to protect the people and the state.

There is an old saying: necessity knows no law. The previous acts as well as the constitution do not provide a solution for the case that a senior official takes a public stand against the Attorney General in a case of corruption, although a foreign court assesses the situation in a subsequent case (money laundering) in the same way as the Attorney General. There is a gap in the system of Barbadian rules which the government must fill courageously and boldly since government cannot fire said senior official yet.

The sole standard here is the common good. Our government has once again done absolutely the right thing and will hopefully continue to do so.

13. @Hants

Are you saying that he is a new and improved Royal Rumble?

How long do we have to wait to read about a Prime Minister of “First World Barbados”

14. @ Khaleel Kothdiwala May 6, 2020 9:21 AM
    “But what I absolutely cannot countenance is the utter piffle of layabouts such as Piece who do nothing more than exercise their license in vulgarity to seek to prove absolutely baseless falsehoods. I wonder to myself in which previous life did Mia Mottley murder your families and rain hell down upon you that many of you experience such a visceral hatred in your hearts for the woman. Such hatred is often unhealthy and I would advise you to perhaps get an examination done. Only you Piece in your unique mind could believe that the AG is solely and fully responsible for the activities of OCGs.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++=

We just hope that Piece de legend does not respond to this wet-behind-the-ears political whippersnapper.

Haven’t you heard of Qisas, or in this case, divine retribution?

How do you know that the mere “Piece” is not just a medium for the voice of Abijah Holder calling out for Justice under your kind of Sharia Law?

What would your prophet Muhammad (PBUH) recommend to rectify this Dhanb?

“The ink of the scholar is more sacred than the blood of the martyr.”

“On the Day of Judgment, those who were most honest in their words, steadfast in their promises and kindest in their manners, will be the closest ones to me.”

15. WURA-War-on-U Avatar
    WURA-War-on-U

More vindication about how corrupt both governments have always been.

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/245398/barbados-us-watch-list-intellectual-property-violations

16. @ WURA-War-on-U May 6, 2020 4:19 PM

Wura, the ongoing EU blacklisting war against the Bajan offshore business sector could have been intensified by the outcome of the Donvillegate affair.

Buybadus met all the criteria and ticked the right boxes except one. The integrity and effectiveness of its local regulatory framework and justice system both civil and criminal.

Not even the Brexit GB, its former colonial master, can argue a case on behalf of its ‘belittled’ England in the tropics.

If the local law enforcement authorities continue to refuse to deal with a two-bit petty fraudster and his corporate sidekicks because of the political incest that exists in the small town society called Bim how on earth would they be expected to regulate a tax haven controlled by international white collar criminals well certified in business law, IT-based accounting and reporting and international finance?

Now who is going be the complainant against the EU for this major forex-earning crime against the Bajan economy? Chris Sinliar in association with Innes & Tasky?

As the old-time Bajans used to say: ‘Yuh [now] big enough to carry yuh own (financial) ship to sea.’

17. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ the Sage Annunaki

You are one of the most widely read persons on this blog!

You shift effortlessly across multiple religions and can quote from all of them easily!

“…What would your prophet Muhammad (PBUH) recommend to rectify this Dhanb?

“The ink of the scholar is more sacred than the blood of the martyr.”

“On the Day of Judgment, those who were most honest in their words, steadfast in their promises and kindest in their manners, will be the closest ones to me…”

Such is an indication of scholarly competency, thou Sage!

De young boy get an assignment to come to Barbados Underground and join with the other adipose visitors to honour Mugabe!

Probably is unemployed right now but seeking brownie points with Mugabe

I got he covered!

Peace be Unto You!

18. @ Sargeant,

Loyalty can be very rewarding unless your ” Prime Minister for life ” becomes professorial.lol

Let us see if the youngster becomes a politician when he grows up.

For ow we should give him room to grow.

19. Piece the Legend Avatar

The point that you are making about this breaking of the law IS A REPETITIVE PATTERN.

And you being a gentleman, are kind enough to say that it’s not Mugabe Mottley that is the despot.

But it’s the bad advice of her friends and illiterate ministers and permanent secretaries!

But de ole man again is saying to you that she’s despotic like this

It ain’t have nothing to do with her support being inefficient

It it was like that she would retract the action or recant the statement.

No sir!

MUGABE AMIN MOTTLEY IS A DICTATOR AND THIS IS HER PLAN

You forget how she place 2 ministers in each ministry?

I going help you remember

http://imgur.com/U8U0S7z

20. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Piece

The Prime Minister is overpowering, that is a nice way of saying, “bully”, but I am sure that she would have gone to Parliament to amend the Police Act, had she been told. I don’t believe that she knew of that requirement. It is my belief that she expressed a desire to increase the number of deputy commissioners to two, for whatever reason, and those around her just move to implement her wish, without doing adequate or any research.

The person who caused the Government this embarrassment should suffer the consequences of her incompetence.

21. @ Caswell Franklyn May 6, 2020 7:41 PM

At least it’s a “Her” whom you are recommending to carry the can of sheer incompetence for this unprecedented politically-determined event.

Well, even a standpipe lawyer like the late Edwy Talma or Gearbox would have spotted that you cannot have two post holders in one position.

Who would act for the big boss sheriff when he has to be away to do a shag or a sha**te? Deputy No.1 or No 2 or both?

Where is the precedence in the English-speaking Commonwealth for this case of two contenders for the champion’s title in light of the Covid-induced need to cut the bureaucratic fat especially, as you have recommended, from the cabinet of largesse?

22. Khaleel Kothdiwala aka LITTLE SILLY BOY BLINDED BY THE RED LIKE A BULL IN A CHINA SHOP

YOU HAVE STARTED YOUR CAREER AS A BLP YARDFOWL FULLY A BLINDED MOUSE.

I DID SEE YOU RUSH TO DEFEND MIA MOTTLEY BUT NOT OF HER LIES AND DECEIT PULLED FROM HER RED BAG ON THE 2018 POLITICAL PLATFORM CLAIMING MASSIVE MASSIVE MULTI MILLION $$$ CORRUPTION AND PROSECUTION OF MARK MALONE AND CHRIS SINCLAIR HER BOSOM BUDDIES NOW SHE IS ON THE OTHER SIDE PROMISES OF PROSECUTIONS INCLUDING MANSLAUGHTER FOR THAT YOUNG INNOCENT 12 YEAR OLD BLACK BOY WHICH HAS ALL DISAPPEARED LIKE A PUFF OF SMOKE.

NOW THE POOR BLACK MOTHER OF THE INNOCENT PRETEEN BOY IS IN CRIMINAL COURT LEFT WITH MIA’S EMPTY RED BAG ON HER OWN. HER SON’S DEATH CAUSED BY AN ILLEGAL CONSTRUCTION ON THE HIGHWAY SANCTIONED BY MARK MALONEY..

WHAT ABOUT THE PROMISED INTEGRITY LEGISLATION AND TRANSPARENCY?

WHAT ABOUT THE ILLEGAL NO BID MULTIMILLION DOLLAR CONTRACTS BY THIS CURRENT GOVERNMENT WHO CASTIGATED THE DLP FOR DOING SO AND PROMISED TO BE 100% DIFFERENT ONCE ELECTED AGAIN ANOTHER PROMISE GONE UP IN SMOKE?

SHOW ME ONE CASE IN THE US/CANADA OR UK WHERE PEOPLE HAVE BEEN LOCKED UP FOR 6 MONTHS OR IN CARICOM FOR BREAKING A CORONAVIRUS CURFEW.

HOWEVER MIA MOTTLEY IS LOCKING UP THE POOREST BLACKS IN A SOCIETY THAT LOOK LIKE HER. I GUESS THIS IS PART OF MIA “CARE”.

YOU HAVE STARTED WAY TOO YOUNG BY BEING ENGULFED IN A CESSPOOL OF DECEIT AND CORRUPTION WHILST LOOKING THE OTHER WAY.

ALL OF US ARE NOT BLINDED MICE.

WHEN YOU START WRONG WILL ALWAYS END WRONG.

NO ONE HAS A PERSONAL AGENDA AGAINST MIA MOTTLEY THE PROBLEM IS ALL THE LIES AND DECEPTIONS TO FOOL PEOPLE FOR VOTES AND BEHAVING WORSE THAN THE OTHER SIDE DLP SHE PROMISED TO PROSECUTE ON THE BEHALF OF BAJAN TAXPAYERS AND SHOWING HER TRUE TRUE COLOURS.

23. Piece the Legend Avatar

I think you may have hit the nail on the head with this one!

She has to change the Police Act to sort this one out!

For short of killing Deputy Commissioner of Police, she would be engaging in a visible illegal act.

But here is what I am wondering.

When is Commissioner T Griffith due to resign?

If it is soon then one sees clearly what her objective is!

The woman is a Dictator SEEKING TO BE PRIME MINISTER FOR LIFE!!!

All these key positions are being filled by her lackeys.

24. I can understand the argument about the need to amend the Police Act to formalise the second post of Deputy Commissioner; but would be foolish to agree that the post does not exists and the man is a mock Deputy CoP. Firstly, since last year the substantive CoP was in the newspaper making clear that such a post was created and as pointed out by Artax, the Williams gentleman was acting in the post for some time. Furthermore, I don’t see how this appointment can be interpreted as dictatorial as some are quick to attempt to float. How come no one called Thompson a dictator for the BWA Executive Chair?

I do, however, sense some semantics at play here in regard to the use of the word “appointment”. My observation about Senator Franklyn is that he is often too literal in his interpretation. The Senator stated that:

“The Protective Services Commission cannot approve the appointment of any public officer. They can only recommend to Her Excellency the Governor-General, who would make the appointment.”

But can the GG refuse to act on this Commission’s (or any of the others) recommendation? Check the Constitution, Police Act and Public Service Act, in referring to the authority of the GG to appoint these words are ever present “acting in accordance with the advice of”. Unless my understanding of the meaning of accordance is wrong, it seems to me that appointments are a fait accompli by the time one is “appointed” by the GG. I ask BU to trawl the newspapers and find any announcement saying the GG has appointed a public servant. Let’s look at Ministers. According to the Constitution, “Ministers shall be appointed by the Governor-General, acting in accordance with the advice of the Prime
    Minister….” Who on BU tells the GG the Cabinet is too big? And for Opposition Senators “…Senators shall be appointed by the Governor-General, acting in accordance with the advice of the Leader of the Opposition..” Don’t I always hear that Bishop Atherley appointed Senator Franklyn?🤣🤣

25. @ Enuff May 6, 2020 9:54 PM

Exactly, exactly!

And why does the opposition ride this formalistic, completely unworldly course? Because they want to divert attention from the magnificence of our Most Honourable Prime Minister. Let me just mention a few milestones of the last two years:

The total victory over the Wuhan plague, for which the China-friendly DLP is ultimately responsible (you all know my chain of evidence).

The restoration of pride and honour of Barbados.

The stabilisation of public finances.

The restoration of the wonderful infrastructure, for example the sewers on the south coast.

And so much more that I almost forgot about it.

p.s.
    “How come no one called Thompson a dictator for the BWA Executive Chair?”

NOT TRUE! Tron calls him a populist blue autocrat who, because of his poor social background (father a runaway from London), had no idea about finance and had an obsession with tax increases (so typical for the DLP). Thompson was Sinckler’s spiritual father.

26. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Hee Hee the first of the Rented jackasses

I thought you was did quit did job for your big up position at the hand of Mugabe Mottley???

You get recall?

You very good at “recalling” things!

See if you recall this

http://imgur.com/XQet77H

27. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster please help an ole man with an item here thank you

28. @ Piece the Legend May 6, 2020 9:39 PM

“When is Commissioner T Griffith due to resign?”

Hopefully VERY SOON. The man has dragged Barbados through the mud for miles with his sympathy for Donville Inniss. All I’m saying is “complaint.”

29. WURA-War-on-U Avatar
    WURA-War-on-U

Goddamn frauds robbing the treasury as usual, that is all they are good for…

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/245412/ag-tit-tat-franklyn

30. AG not for tit-for-tat with Franklyn
    ATTORNEY GENERAL DALE MARSHALL says he has no intention of engaging in a tit-fortat with outspoken Opposition Senator Caswell Franklyn about a decision which has led to Barbados having two deputy commissioners of police.
    Last week, in a statement to the media, the Protective Service Commission said Assistant Commissioner of Police Oral Williams had been appointed Deputy Commissioner.
    Erwin Boyce has been serving as the Deputy to Commissioner of Police Tyrone Griffith. The promotion of Williams saw a swift response from Franklyn, who described it as ultra vires.
    But Marshall, Government’s chief legal advisor, isn’t about to challenge Franklyn.
    “I do not propose to respond to that,” the Attorney General said when contacted by the DAILY NATION.
    According to Franklyn, the post of deputy commissioner has already been taken up by Boyce. “I really don’t know if I should congratulate or offer commiserations to Mr Williams. This has nothing to do with his fitness for the post.
    “I do not know of his work or performance as a senior police officer and cannot speak to his fitness. My concern is that he has been appointed to a nonexistent post since someone is already substantively appointed deputy commissioner.”
    Law says
    He added that the Police Act, CAP 167 stated at Section 6 that the police force shall consist of a commissioner, a deputy commissioner and such number of assistant commissioners, superintendents, inspectors, subordinate police officers and constables, respectively, as does not exceed the number provided by any order made under Section 2 of the Civil Establishments Act.
    “The number of persons appointed to the post of commissioner and deputy commissioner is subject to primary legislation, in this case the Police Act, and can only be changed by an amendment to that act done in Parliament.
    “On the other hand, the Police Act goes on to give the minister responsible for Civil Establishments the power, by subsidiary legislation, to determine the number of assistant commissioners, superintendents, inspectors, subordinate police officers and constables.”
    Franklyn, a trade unionist, said that the power to make appointments to public offices, and to remove and to exercise disciplinary control over people holding or acting in the Public Service, was vested in the Governor General, acting following the advice of service commissions, in this case the Protective Service Commission.
    One post
    “That service commission, like all others in Barbados, can only recommend the appointment of persons to posts that are available. There is only one post
    of deputy commissioner available and that is already filled. Who is responsible for this cock-up? Is this yet another example of this Government not getting anything right the first time?”
    President of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) Verla De Peiza also queried Williams’ appointment.
    “In May of 2018, Erwin Boyce was appointed Deputy Commissioner of Police. There has been no announcement of his retirement from the Royal Barbados Police Force. How then could there be an announcement of the appointment of Oral Williams to that same post?” the attorney asked.
    “What has become of Boyce? Has he been shunted aside? Or out? Or is this just one more position from which this administration must back pedal or worse, use their majority in Parliament to bully their way through?”
    She said the DLP was concerned this was yet one more step in Barbados’ march towards authoritarian rule.
    “This is definitely a time to do more than just watch,” De Peiza added. (BA)

Nation newspaper 7/05/2020

31. Up until a few years ago, the police headquarters (two of them) were made up of one commissioner, one deputy, three assistants, four senior superintendents, seven superintendents, 15 assistant superintendents, 43 inspectors, seven station sergeants, seven sergeants, one constable, 4 medical officers, one accountant, two assistant accountants, one secretary, one senior clerk, one foreman mechanic, five clerk/typists, 25 clerical officers, 10 stenographers/typists, three grooms, 12 telephone operators, two driver/messengers, three mechanics and two general workers.
    Most of these positions can be got rid of. Why do we need 15 assistant superintendents? Why do we need 43 inspectors? Why do you need seven station sergeants at HQ and a further 58 in the community? How many stations do we have and times that by three (shifts) and holidays and sick leave, we are over the top. Why do we need five clerk/typists and 10 stenographers/typists? Why do we need 12 telephone operators? Or 25 clerical officers?
    Even before the nonsense of two deputies, the reality is that there is enormous room for efficiency gains at the HQ alone, and that does not include the muscle-bound men (they are usually men) hanging around the bottom of Roebuck Street in their baseball caps and overall and whistling at every woman that passes by.
    These savings alone can give us a number of uniformed officers, who should be walking the beat and talking to residents in an old-fashioned community policing way.
    Further, we have 56 people in the police band.

32. Piece the Legend Avatar

Just to show all of you how R***hole Dishonest the Honourable Blogmaster is

The Stoopid Cartoons on this page are 40 thousand views.

40,000!

If you click on one it carries you to the Imgur website to the actual picture.

But not only has the RH Blogmaster hidden the actual count of the pictures HE CHANGED THE LINK SO THAT THE PICTURES DONT GO TO THE IMAGE!

Dem hate de ole man clicks so much that they are changing the actual count for each picture

AND CHANGING THE LINKS!

That alone should show wunna that IF THE CLAIMS ABOUT HIM NOT SELLING OUT WAS NOT TRUE, HE WOULD NOT HAVE TO CHANGE 40,000 VIEWS!!!

They fear de ole man real R***hole bad!!!

33. Steuspe

34. Why you don’t stop blocking TinFoil’s posts and cartoons? Murdaaaaa!

35. @Baje May 6, 2020 9:00 PM
    SHOW ME ONE CASE IN THE US/CANADA OR UK WHERE PEOPLE HAVE BEEN LOCKED UP FOR 6 MONTHS OR IN CARICOM FOR BREAKING A CORONAVIRUS CURFEW.

HOWEVER MIA MOTTLEY IS LOCKING UP THE POOREST BLACKS IN A SOCIETY THAT LOOK LIKE HER. I GUESS THIS IS PART OF MIA “CARE”.

You wrote a great deal of piffle, but I shall focus upon this because it is the most strident example of the kind of “twilight zone” feeling I get whenever reading some of these comments.

I don’t know why I would have to provide justification from nations that so many of your comrades are so quick to label as “colonisers” and accuse them of being involved in global conspiracy. That confounds me. More so, why must we follow the example of two nations that failed in their initial responses to this crisis, one of which has subsequently sought to right that. But for your own edification because clearly you are in need of such, a simple Google search of “breaches of coronavirus lockdown/curfew imprisonment/incarceration” will yield results from Australia, New Zealand, the Isle of Man in the UK among a host of other nations.

Now why has the government set a maximum fine of 6 months, which quite a few magistrates have used sometimes and others have opted for lesser punishments available to them? Is it because Mottley, staying true to her sadism wishes to make life difficult for ordinary people and just lock them up or is it because we are facing a public health crisis of an infectious disease unparalleled in Barbados’ recent history.

The point about some offenders being given the maximum and not others is important. Because it’s very nice sounding rhetoric to say that poor black people are being locked up. But why are they breaching curfew? Is it because they are “trying a thing” and going out there in order to “earn a dollar”, as you will see is happening in Indonesia. The NATION has reported on mostly all of the curfew breakers and that’s not what we’re seeing.

Go and look at it for yourself.

Quite a few have been found breaking curfew in pursuance of another crime. Such as a young man carried in yesterday’s paper who is accused of using threatening language.
    What about those folks who held the curfew party?
    What about the young man who was breaching curfew while driving an uninsured car without a licence (who wasn’t incarcerated but was given his own curfew).
    What about the gentleman released from jail and two weeks later, breaching curfew again, with 21 previous convictions (not given 6 months, he was given 3).
    What about the two gentlemen caught by police near the Careenage who they allege were in possession of a gun which they were subsequently unable to find after it was allegedly thrown into the water (given a fine, no jail time).
    Another fellow who went outside to cut sticks, while at the same time being in possession of cannabis.
    What about the serial offender who was caught on his way to his girlfriend’s house for purposes which you can fill in for yourself (he was fined not imprisoned)

I have given you 7 cases and I only went back to last Thursday’s newspaper. 7 examples of recklessness and conduct harmful to society. In situations such as these if you don’t play by the rules, if you recklessly endanger your life and the lives of others, if you actively work against society’s collective interest, there ought to be a punishment. And as I’ve pointed out in very few cases has that been the maximum sentence.

But you and those like you are infected with that disgusting Barbadian disease called the”cuh dear” mentality. These are not poor black people who are just living their lives and the state goes out of their way to oppress them. These are people who for whatever reason have decided that they do not wish to abide by rules for the safety of you and of me.

Look man you can do better than that. So wheel and come again Baje.

36. Piece the Legend Avatar

Let de ole man be very RH clear with this statement.

The Punishment for treason under English Laws used to be drawing (by horses) playing, quartering and latterly beheading!

The scum that bestride the hallways of the House of Assembly under the guise of government as the Democratic Labour Party and the current government of the Barbados Labour Party ARE the Faeces of the Earth.

They are supported by a cabal of poochlickers who like them are treasonous waste of the guts.

And, much of the current membership of the Blogmaster is such scum.

They hate Barbados and love this man woman Mugabe more than they love themselves.

And therefore it becomes their norm, like the multiple person scum called ManyPussy, aka Mariposa aka AC aka Legion, to come to Barbados Underground and espouse their brand of Patriotism that kills the country as they suck us dry.

So this is why you see the scumbag Mugabe Mottley inviting the other scumbag Stinkliar back to the vomit.

SENATOR CASWELL FRANKLYN IS FEARED and while they cant be seen NOT TO SUPPORT his submissions, anything or anyone supporting him WILL BE UNDERMINED!

37. @Piece the LegendMay 7, 2020 12:46 PM

Piece You Legend!

After Padawan Khaleel has entered the Beasts’ arena, I will retire soon. I’m very fortunate to have found a neutral and righteous companion. However, our young friend still has a lot to learn, as you can see from the fact that the Great Enuff had to correct him on the issue of alleged unconstitutionality.

I predict that K. will soon sit in parliament and preside as minister – by 2028 at the latest, when our beloved leader has expanded the parliament to 90 seats and the government to 75 ministers and 15 special ambassadors. As the saying goes: “Many hands make light work.”

38. @ Tron

Plse, plse, write some comedy for the stage. You are brilliant. You make me laugh out loud and people think I am going crazy. Many hands do in fact make light work. That is brilliant. Why only 15 special ambassadors?

39. @Khaleel Kothdiwala May 7, 2020 10:42 AM “What about the serial offender who was caught on his way to his girlfriend’s house for purposes which you can fill in for yourself (he was fined not imprisoned)…But you and those like you are infected with that disgusting Barbadian disease called the”cuh dear” mentality.”

@Khaleel Kothdiwala May 7, 2020 10:42 AM “What about the serial offender who was caught on his way to his girlfriend’s house for purposes which you can fill in for yourself (he was fined not imprisoned)”

Let me begin by acknowledging that I am one of those Bajan “infected with that disgusting Barbadian disease called the”cuh dear” mentality.”

This disgusting Barbadian disease called the”cuh dear” mentality” has led me for the past many decades, long before you were born, to be a long time blood donor, because I first donated to my own mother, then I said to myself “cuh dear” what about other people’s mothers? Cuh dear they need a donation too. So i have continued to go to the blood bank, maybe for your mother, or your grandmother or maybe for you. So young man let me tell you that “cuh dear” is an EXCELLENT, EXXCELLENT cultural trait. I intend to be a ‘cuh dear” Bajan, a compassionate human being as long as i shall live. Did you know that mostMost major religions, Judaism, Christianity, Islam, Rastafari, honors.

Did you know that our government has started an “Adopt a Family fund” Guess what has persuaded me to donate to that fund. Yup. That same disgusting Barbadian disease called the”cuh dear” mentality.”

Young man you have a lot to learn about what motivates good human behavior.

@Khaleel Kothdiwala May 7, 2020 10:42 AM “What about the serial offender who was caught on his way to his girlfriend’s house for purposes which you can fill in for yourself (he was fined not imprisoned)”

So the man broke the curfew. He was according to the police on his way to have sex with his girlfriend [although he TESTIFIED UNDER OATH that he was on his way to pick up medicine from her home] Virtually ALL adult humans have sex. So he was on his way to do what your parents have done, and mine. What your grandparents have done, and mine. What i have done, and which you have done or will sooner or later do. Consensual sex between adult human beings is PERFECTLY NORMAL HUMAN BEHAVIOUR.

The Barbados government ought to have acknowledged the cultural reality that many Bajans are not in a formal marriage as defined by the state and as defined by religions born in the Middle East. Some people for valid cultural reasons never have those religions. I think that the Barbados government oght to have acknowledged this reality and to have made provision for people who are in stable visiting unions permission to visit the people whom they love. For example I am a farmer, among other things [also perhaps spent to much time studying sociology at an elite university] the government has granted me permission t go to my farm which is several miles from y hoome so that i can grow food for myself and others, perhaps for you too, but yet I cannot visit my partner whom i have know and loved for more that 25 years?

Why not?

Except Eurocentric legal bias, and misogynistic Middle Eastern religious bias against people who are not in a sexual union approved by the prevailing Eurocentric laws and the prevailing Middle Eastern religious biases. Let me make it clear, when I speak of misogynistic Middle Eastern religions I include Judaism, Christianity, Islam and Rastafari.

Legal and religious people tend to write the laws which seek to invalidate the everyday cultural traditions of those people who are not lawmakers. Such people believe that visiting unions are inherently promiscuous, although there is no evidence that such unions are any more promiscuous that the unions of “respectable” married people, including those people who have married multiple partners either serially or concurrently.

If a woman or a man has had 3 state and religion approved marriages is he or she any different from the person who has had 3 visiting unions not approved by the state or by religion?

40. Piece the Legend Avatar

So before you, agents of the Mugabe regime, aka Mugabe poochlickers, get sidetracked and hijack this blog, let de ole man get back to the substantive topic.

Senator Caswell Franklyn said and I quote

“…My concern is that he has been appointed to a non-existent post, since someone is already substantively appointed Deputy Commissioner…”

This article should chill the average bajan.

BUT IT WON’T because we are a nation with a majority of Sheeple.

The treason that the Honourable Blogmaster is uncharacteristically supporting should be a major concern.

The first obvious reason being that he, on in this case, they, as the last bastion of Just Causes, CANNOT BE PARTISAN!

The second reason is more fundamental than that.

It deals with one’s love for country and that such love will permit no breach by any traitor to that nation.

And these daily actions by Mugabe Amin Mottley are traitrous and treasonous AND HIS LOVE FOR COUNTRY SHOULD OVERRIDE HIS LIKE OF MIA MOTTLEY

This is a simple issue

41. @ Silly Woman May 7, 2020 3:11 PM

I really am confounded in relation to your submission with respect to the institution of marriage and the status of visiting unions. My comment passed no judgement whatsoer about that. That is completely unrelated, and perhaps a useful diversion. At a time a few weeks ago when persons were confined to the curtilage of their home, only allowed to leave to go to the supermarket to purchase food to eat, the pharmacy to get medication or work in one of the listed services, such as farms as you mentioned. In these circumstances, where essential really meant the absolute basic things needed to sustain human life, one can see why the growing of food for domestic consumption (i.e. farms) is a listed essential service while the fulfillment of sexual desire is not. Contrary to popular opinion, it is quite possible to live an entire lifetime without sexual fulfillment, far less five weeks. See:
    An op-ed in the Guardian: Life without Sex – It’s Better than you Think (https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2014/jun/09/sex-celibacy-friendships-women)
    Another op-ed in the Telegraph: No Sex Please – the Joys of a Celibate Life (https://www.telegraph.co.uk/women/sex/8168531/No-sex-please-the-joys-of-a-celibate-life.html)

If the gentleman really was so incapable of independently practicing abstinence, there is always onanism as well as certain exercises which Buddhist monks have been doing for centuries.

So Silly Woman, there is no valid excuse for his being out of his house as he was. More to the point just look to the UK where a senior scientist has had to resign due to his girlfriend breaking curfew to visit him. At the time it was absolutely essential that persons stayed inside their homes to prevent spread. After acknowledging that you could make one or two exceptions for the bare minimum of human existence. We defeat the purpose of the iniatial lockdown if the list of exceptions is too expansive.

Essentially no point there.

To the first matter your addressed, my dear lady, I really must believe you misunderstood what I said and couldn’t possibly either be so dense or so malignant as to divert in the manner in which you did. I hope that I do not have to explain the difference which exists between compassion and enabling. Your good deeds which you are very eager to mention are commendable and compassionate and I have no doubt you might’ve said to yourself “cuh dear” when doing them. That isn’t at all the same thing as the concept of enablement or the “cuh dear” mentality (simply saying cuh dear doesn’t qualify as being a victim of the enabling cuh dear disease). When you say however, cuh dear the poor fella was just stepping out fuh piece to paraphrase your submission about the above, it is enabling illegal behaviour and behaviour which is counter to society’s best interest. When you are in a store and the attendant is quite rude to you and you politely convey to her that you don’t appreciate (I would recommend patience in this scenario anyhow), and persons say “well cuh dear you didn’t gaw tell she so”, it is enabling poor customer service. The despicable cuh dear illness enables criminal behaviour, it enables rudeness, it enables affront to authority, it enables recklessness, and it ought to be exorcised from the Barbadian consciousness.

Dear lady, by all means exercise compassion and care for your fellow man, but do not use and disgrace the same compassion as a shield to disguise enablement.

42. Oh dear, the youngster throwing some lashes in Simple Simon’s backside.

43. WURA-War-on-U Avatar
    WURA-War-on-U

Let’s hope Barbados useless leaders are paying attention, racism is now being legislated as a public heath crisis Pittsburg….still condoning and enabling that curse in a majority black country just to get YOUR CUT, by black face leaders…,should very soon fall under international human rights violations and crimes against humanity….

some states in US are fighting that blight with legislation, that is a first step in the right direction..

https://www.facebook.com/100005986451739/posts/1318130688396467/

44. @ Piece May 7, 2020 3:51 PM

BUT IT WON’T because we are a nation with a majority of Sheeple.

In argument, there exists something called the causal link. Essentially, the development of your point should be logically sequenced and interrelated in order to effectively prove your central thesis.

Your contributions have never heard of a causal link. To use your phrase, a little assistance please. How do you go from what is at worst an administrative cock-up (if indeed it is a cock-up) to a smoking gun example of Mottley’s treachery? Even your patron saint, St Caswell of Bridgetown, is unwilling to go so far as evidenced in his earlier comment attributing the “mistake” to a functionary, and that in his words “I am sure that she would have gone to Parliament to amend the Police Act, had she been told. I don’t believe that she knew of that requirement.” So on this point you are alone Piece. You have accomplished a remarkable feat: being out on a limb at the same time as being up the creek without a paddle. Your marvels do not cease.

More importantly however, you and your comrades delight in decrying Barbadians’ “sheeple” nature. Donna once accused me baseless of condescension. I thus believe that the Lord our God has revealed unto you and your comrades the true nature of things and that you possess knowledge eluding all of we lowly, ignorant souls. Piece I realise now that you have been called to the prophethood to open the eyes of all who cannot see. We must bow down in gratitude to you Piece for your yeoman service to this country. I do believe the Catholic Church shall now have to replace the Hail Marys with Hail Piece, Saviour of Barbados. Muslims shall now have to say “Piece is Great”. You have successfully engineered a complete overhaul of organised religion Piece. You truly are worthy of your special place in the arrangement of the heavens and the earth. Who will join Piece on his noble and lofty mission to save the world?

45. The battle in words between the Ancient Legend called “PIECE” and our BLP aspirant reminds me of the battle of the Titans, between Perseus and Kronos. Much better than the former battle between PIECE and the ISO-Taliban. If you both want to underpin your dispute with music, we’ll be happy to upload you to the “Epic Rap Battles in History” section on YouTube.

Hopefully Khaleel will now remain in position to give me some relief. I can’t be the only one here besides Enuff and Lorenzo to seriously defend our Most Honourable Prime Minister. Now the discussion is reasonably balanced.

Thank you, Khalell. You have just to learn to punch the Senator and to spin some stories, for example the link between the DLP and the Wuhan Plague.

46. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I have resisted the temptation to respond to disparaging remarks made about me by Khaleel Kothdiwala. I will continue to do so, even though some have asked me to respond but I will only say:
    Aquila non capit muscas.

47. Piece the Legend Avatar

You right to send he to he death Tron heheheheh

Young feller

Watch muh now

http://imgur.com/rK1nVwt

Talk bout dat

48. @ Senator Franklyn May 7, 2020 5:08 PM

I take exception to that. Nothing which I have said, save one previous comment under another post last week I believe, could be construed as disparaging to you personally. Where your name was invoked, it was used in reference to individuals such as Piece and not personal to you. So it is quite impossible for you to resist a temptation to respond to remarks never made. For the avoidance of doubt, I don’t intend to disparage anyone. Where I do such as Piece and others it is simply a case of giving as good you get. So in this instance I take grave exception.

While Tron and Enuff make many a good point, I’m not here to defend anyone or battle on anyone’s behalf. I invoke St. Francis of Assisi on my purpose.

49. Piece the Legend Avatar

Senator Caswell Franklyn

De ole man was trained by the vey best.

So I will entertain the whippersnapper and use this downtime in these years at 80 little to teach Tron ye older Sexton some fine points.

And teach dis young feller about “causal links” and “goads”

De ole man ent know if you had a WC outside you house but, in my day, we had one.

And on a bright day, when you lef de door open and angle a mirror in de pit tillet you could see cream coloured centipedes and big ass cream cockroaches.

This fellow wid did pretend name is now Kream Kockroach.

And in the same way de ole man used to try to aim at the cockroaches with my excrement all dem years ago, when de ole man feel like a good dump, I may take aim at his Mugabe poochlicking lips and dump.

You are a gentleman Senator Franklyn!

Keep steadfast to your task to set Barbados right.

Lef these flies and kream wala wala Kockroaches for de ole man to practice pun.

Dem really hates you 1700 comment articles though!

As soon as you post, all de rest uh articles does get abandon

50. Piece the Legend Avatar

Senator Caswell Franklyn

You said and de ole man quotes again

“…The number of persons appointed to the post of Commissioner and Deputy Commissioner is subject to primary legislation, in this case the Police Act, and can only be changed by an amendment to that Act done in Parliament…”

De ole man has a few queries

1.In the 24 months dat Mia Mottley has been Prime Minister how many amendments have been to the Constitution?

2.if you were to place them in order of “the most serious”, which one would that be? AND WHY?