It has been reported the Trinidad and Tobago government through National Security Minister, Stuart Young has again refused to receive 33 CITIZENS stranded in Barbados since the week of March 23, 2020 back into the country.

The Barbados government attempted to piggyback on an arrangement with the European Union who sent a plane this week to collect Europeans stranded in the Caribbean. Barbados was the hub for the operation with the plane scheduled to pickup passengers in Tobago. It was an opportunity for the 33 stranded Trinidadians to bum a ride to Tobago which is a hop skip and a jump from Trinidad.

We are the only nationals in the world who are denied entry into our country. He said his countrymen who were mainly people over 65 all broke down in tears –Nationnews.com

What is the reason for the Trinidad government exercising this level of intransigence towards its citizens? There is no logical explanation if the consideration was taken that the stranded Trinidadians have been in quarantine in Barbados since April 8, 2020. It also puzzles why the Trinidad government would have sent COVID 19 test kits to Barbados this week costing USD2500.00 after the group was quarantined with the expectation existing protocol in Trinidad requires the group enter quarantine again IF they eventually are allowed to return to the land of birth. All rather strange.

The blogmaster is of the view the Rowley government is ‘pissed’ at the group for engaging in non essential travel. Rowley should expect to see this issue when he checks the rear view mirror come general election time.

The Trinidad government owns a regional airline for crissakes.

173 responses to “Trinidad Slams Door Shut on Trinis Stranded in Barbados”

1. This shows the poor leadership by the Trinidad government especially when you consider that the time has been extended due to no fault of the citizens who accepted the initial decision outlined by the government it can only be considered HEARTLESS to leave these citizens in Barbados and other countries Suriname Venezuela especially when the government can request confirmation by a test that these citizens are no or at worst low risk should they return HOME here again sense has failed in the view that science is the sense, not individual flawed emotions as continued to be expressed by the Trinidad government which is unacceptable. Imagine the US sent a plane for their citizens recently and the Government allowed the VP Venezuela to land to discuss COVID 19 which could have been accomplished by ZOOM what poor decision by a supposed to be caring administration. STICK BREAK-IN THEIR EARD what a shame.

2. @Robert Amari

The last part of you comment is interesting because it may yet prove a good constitutional case. On what basis was the Venezuelan diplomat allowed entry that would have overridden same consideration for the stranded Trinidadians.

These people will probably file a class action when they eventually are allowed back in.

3. @ Mariposa

The last part of you comment is interesting because it may yet prove a good constitutional case…(Quote)

You seem to be winning the argument. Of course, few will accept that you have a powerful argument.

4. This is not the point ac has been making and you know it. You are one Rh dishonest man

5. This shows the good leadership of Trinidad. They were definitely not responsible. They were fully aware of the COVID-19 .They will never repeat the same behavior. The welfare of the majority come first .I would not be surprised if the Trinidadian government is not going fund their expenses. There is the situation in Barbados where the authorities are seeking to discover the where about of those who entered Barbados between 15-22 March. The failure of mandatory quarantine resulted in the current condition. A case of bad leadership. which is going to result in community spread of the virus.

6. Correction: I would not be surprised if the Trinidadian government is going to fund.

7. Citizens based on this opportunity provided during the COVID 19 Pandemic and with the recent win by the people to either force or cause the recent private security company use to be cancelled must start to understand the role they play for the country and government that can be realized, NOW, the people’s power can return once action is taken during this god-given time this is the new ARAB SPRING

8. Cheez on bread
    David why u got to response in such a disgusting manner to Hal dam show respect for the elderly
    Fuh Chris sake
    Every body is entitled to an open opinion
    The Constitution is at the heart of this matter
    The problem began with govts setting a precedent
    Maybe it is a case where govt did not want to spend the legal fees because of the economic strangle hold Corona had placed govt
    Trinidad took advantage and held fast on a policy of the health and security of the country over the constituional rights of the people
    I said that barbados taking a route of humanity would return to bite govt in the a.sss

9. @ robert amar

An important point. Many social justice advocates have been hoping for a disruptor to appear in our region to move things along,. Let us hope we have reached the point where citizens understand the shared responsibility in government to make it work for the best bearing in mind there will never be perfection.

10. Here is what National Security Minster Yong was quoted on March 26, 2020.

Young said that the 33 people now in Barbados, if after their quarantine period “and they make their way to Trinidad they will be put into quarantine by the state”.

“We need to protect all of you who are within our borders here in Trinidad and Tobago. Understand it cannot be a loophole that we accept that persons make their way from wherever they are in the world on few remaining international flights to any CARICOM country, including Barbados and then think that is a jumping point to break the barrier that we have put to protect the population of Trinidad and Tobago and the people within our borders.

https://thedailybreakingnews.com/the-americas/the-caribbean/barbados/regional-trinis-stranded-in-barbados-to-be-placed-in-quarantine-in-trinidad/

If this is the case and one can understand if passengers have to step on a plane and pass through airports why send test kits to Barbados?

11. No good deed goes unpunished.

The Barbados Gov’t knew that the Trinidad Gov’t wasn’t going to accept their citizens, yet it allowed them to land instead of returning them to Britain in order for the T&T Gov’t to make arrangements with that Gov’t for their return.

Over to you Mr. AG; could you elaborate further on “humanitarian gestures”.

12. Trinidad is holding the cards in effect that barbados did not test the Trinidadian which is part of the rules and regulations for entering the country reason why Trinidad refused the offer of letting them returned on the charter flight
    Mind u if they are tested and the results are positive it now becomes a barbados problem to provide medical help for them since they became ill on barbados soil making the problem more complex
    Barbados govt mistakes on this issue would be magnified because barbados bypass certain rules standards and regulations when allowing the 33 into the country
    Now Trinidad is using a medical technicality of not allowing them back into the country

13. @Sargeant

You do not believe in the right of a human being to engage in humanitarian behaviour? To be kind is not predicated on what other parties are expected to do.

14. I mentioned in previous contributions of agreeing with Mariposa that the TT government may have infringed the Trinis’ constitutional rights by denying them entry to TT.

According to TT’s Immigration Act, 4. (1) A citizen of Trinidad and Tobago (by virtue of the Constitution or the Citizenship of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago Act) has the right to be admitted into Trinidad and Tobago.

Mariposa has been ‘saying’ Barbados should have used the constitution to ‘fight’ TT for the return of the Trinis.

All contributors have been asking was for Mariposa to EXPLAIN if Barbados’ government could make a unilateral decision to use the TT constitution as a basis to file a case against the TT government on BEHALF of the stranded Trinis……….

……….. or if it’s left up to them to ‘fight’ either individually or collectively on their own volition, because they have a constitutional basis to do so?

These are, in my opinion, two simple questions.

Unfortunately, her responses, so far, to these questions, are vague, generalized comments. And, when asked for further explanations, she becomes evasive and aggressive, thereby giving any individual of reasonable thought ‘she is making up things as she goes,’ for the sake of criticizing.

15. Artax and to all
    Dont bother asking me for any explanations on my comments
    Mariposa did not create the problem
    Mariposa comments are constructed on a basis of human rights and how i would have pursued resolving the problem
    Dont pay me no mind i went to stan pipe school and graduated at Hard knocks University
    Can u belive that Trinidad has played hard ball with Barbados and the foot soldiers are after me
    Govt owes a country an explanation
    Mariposa owes no one anything
    What de hell
    Stay focus barbados govt is the problem not Mariposa

16. @ Mariposa

Trinidad took advantage and held fast on a policy of the health and security of the country over the constituional rights of the people(Quote

You have won the moral case outright. Good on you. The constitutional one will be decided in a court of law, but you have proved there is a prima facie case to answer.
    You are not a lawyer, that is why people hire legally qualified people to defend them or provide advice. If people want answers on constitutional law, tell them to go to lawyers.
    I am not a lawyer, nor indeed an expert on the TnT constitution, but I know their final appeal court is the Privy Council. Under the PC, there is nothing called class action. We have a procedure called a test case, based on individual rights.
    By the way, as to courtesy, if someone comes from the sewer he behaves like a rat. Why do you think obscenities are routine on BU? It is the language of the cowboy in chief.

17. You continue to demonstrate that hignorance has no limits. ac has said all along that the Barbados government has a case to bring against Trinodad based on the *BARBADOS* Constitution, others have replied this is nonsense. You even went as far to agree with another commenter that if it were Jamaica ,Trinidad would have responded differently. You are a dishonest person, one lacking integrity on the blog. The blogmaster will call you out every time.You should be ashamed to call yourself a former journalist.

18. The Barbados Gov’t knew that the Trinidad Gov’t wasn’t going to accept their citizens, yet it allowed them to land instead of returning them to Britain in order for the T&T Gov’t to make arrangements with that Gov’t for their return…(Quote)

It was a decision by the Barbados authorities based on gross incompetence and one made by Trinidad based on undemocratic reasoning. What is sad is that some people on BU, out of loyalty rather than understanding, have jumped out to defend this nonsense.
    As @Mariposa has said repeatedly, basic human rights tell you something is wrong when a person’s own country denies them re-entry. Is there a conflict of laws: public health versus human rights? This is a challenge for our legal theorists.

19. David there u go again
    Hal opinion is just as valid to a response as anyones right or wrong responses
    Jesus u need to chill
    Cant see how a constitutional right written into the constitution can caused for so much anger by the blp foot soldiers against me
    Jesus

20. David April 9, 2020 6:59 AM

@Sargeant

You do not believe in the right of a human being to engage in humanitarian behaviour? To be kind is not predicated on what other parties are expected to do
    xxccccccccvvvvvv
    Ahhh. Good goverance requires all dots be crossed t’s crossed before jumping in the water head first

21. You continue to demonstrate that hignorance has no limits. ac has said all along that the Barbados government has a case to bring against Trinodad based on the BARBADOS Constitution, others have replied this is nonsense. You even went as far to agree with another commenter that if it were Jamaica ,Trinidad would have responded differently……(Quote)

Agree????Where have I said anything about Jamaica? I know you have a problem with the English language, but this is going over the top. Let me explain it in plain English: because you agree with a point someone makes does not mean you agree with everything they say. This is the sad outcome of learning by rote.
    It is not nice calling anyone a liar, but plse cut and past this wonderful recall for accuracy. Or is it just another manufactured lie to make a political point?
    Dig it out, or get one of your minions, to prove me a liar and fabricator. People often wonder why I am so hostile to you, it is because you lie and use aggression to hide your ignorance. Remember your claim that I said a well known. Stop lying, you are the chairman, you should set an example of honesty.
    For clarity to the blog:

I could not care less about the Trinidad constitution or the bad behaviour of its government. My concern is about the public health of Barbadians. If Trinidadians arrived in Barbados intransit to Trinidad, the local authorities should have known that from the manifest and should have made sure they would be travelling on.
    If, for whatever reason, the Trinidad authorities refused to allow them to travel on, then they should have been returned to their original port without disembarking. There is no nonsense about humanitarian considerations.
    There are two other minor factors: CARICOM and the rights of the individuals. Trinidad has clearly ignored, yet again, it obligations under the principles of CARICOM. And, all the individuals have a right under human rights legislation to take action against their government.
    It is petty and illiterate to try and pin down @Mariposa about which art of the Barbados constitution the Barbados government could take action. It is a non argument in any civilised state, but on BU it is major.
    @Mariposa has won the moral argument and the legal battle is as outlined above: citizen v the state; human rights v public health..

22. David i never said Barbados Constitution i clearly remember stating that Trinidad Constitution gives citizens a right to free movement a law which all democracies holds fast
    Therefore barbados could have legally use Trinidad own human rights law stating as a breech of a right given to the its people

23. @ David April 9, 2020 6:05 AM
    “These people will probably file a class action when they eventually are allowed back in.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

And to what outcome in that oil-money corrupt banana republic?

The primary directive of any State through ‘a democratically-elected’ government is to protect its citizens, whether at home or abroad; unless the persons involved are charged and convicted of sedition.

You can bet that if any of those involved- in this clear case of blatant violations of those citizens’ constitutional and human rights by way of patent bullying tactics- were well connected, whether through business, familial or political ties, the GoTT would have made ‘special’ arrangements to get their citizens back home both safe and sound.

This is the mere exercise of State power in the most abusive manner.

It would have been interesting to witness a scenario where 25 rich white and well-connected Americans were stranded in the jurisdiction of T&T and the current black r*wley government tried to denied access to the US Department of State to use the T&T airspace and port to land a military carrier in order to airlift those citizens from that ShI**T Hole rowdy country.

24. @AG/ PM/ Assorted Consultants

This is what pretending to punch above your weight looks like. Now shut up, sit down and wait until the Trinis are ready for you.

25. @Dullard

What is the point you are trying to make? It is the Trinis who have to sit down and wait while they pay a St. Peter hotel for their upkeep.

26. @Miller

What is mind boggling is that the Trini government allowed a Venezuelan government representative to land in country to attend a meeting and zoom back out, pun intended on zoom.

27. WITH RESPECT TO THE SNARKY SARCASTIC REMARKS MADE TOWARDS HAL AUSTIN AND MARIPOSA AND MYSELF BY THE BLOGMASTER, ONE MUST ASK WHAT HAPPENED TO WHAT HE SAID TWO DAYS AGO WHEN I STARTED TO TEACH THE FORUM THE NEEDFUL FACTS ABOUT WHY HYDROQHCLORQUINONE OUGHT TO BE USED FOR COVID EVEN THOUGH TRUMP APPROVES ITS USE WHEN HE WROTE, AND I QUOTE

This is an opinion blog, people will share opinion some right, some wrong.

IS HAL AUSTIN AND MARIPOSA AND I ALLOWED THIS PRIVILIGE TOO ?

28. Does the blogmaster allow your Sunday sermons? Does the blogmastwr allow comments from the people you mentioned? If you do not have anything of value to add go back and eat your greasy chicken wings and fish cakes.

#steuspe

29. What is the point you are trying to make?

The point is simple. Don’t in one breath rush out and pretend to be a beacon of humanitarian outreach on one hand and on the other complain when the “humanitarian act” has to go on for longer than planned. From a risk perspective it was foolhardy to accept them.

It is the Trinis who have to sit down and wait while they pay a St. Peter hotel for their upkeep.
    I’m sure, again from a risk perspective. that the Trinis would take that deal all day long.

PS: I am not saying that what the Trinis are doing, have done, to their citizens is acceptable.

30. The Trinis landed in Bdos at a time when our borders were open and could not have had onward tickets to Tdad because that country was and remains closed. As Caricom citizens them ain’t entitled to an automatic 6-month stay in Bdos? They were quarantined in accommodation at no expense to the GoB and remain here at their own expense. Why the outrage with government? They are not British citizens and therefore could not be sent back to GB. Why all yuh don’t stay outta Trinidad politics? This is not simply about being stranded, this is pure electioneering. PM Rowley daughter still in NYC?

31. Is it the government complaining or the Trinidadians. All the Barbados government has done is to facilitate travel for the Trinis on CONDOR. Where is the government complaining?

32. RE Does the blogmaster allow your Sunday sermons? Does the blogmastwr allow comments from the people you mentioned? If you do not have anything of value to add go back and eat your greasy chicken wings and fish cakes.
    #steuspe

THAT IS NOT THE POINT
    I THINK YOU SHOULD REFRAIN FROM SAYING SOME OF THE THINGS YOU SAY AND CONTRADICTING YOURSELF THAT IS ALL

LET ME ADD IF YOU PUT YOUR FISH CAKE BATTER IN CUP CAKE PANS AND PUT THEM IN THE OVEN THEY ARE NOT GREASY. DID YOU KNOW THAT? BUT THEY DONT TASTE AS GOOD

LET ME ADD ALSO THAT IT HAS BEEN SHOWN THAT SOME “GREASE” IS RECQUIRED IN THE DIET TO PROMOTE CHOLESTEROL SYNTHESIS IN THE BODY

IN CASE YOU DIDNT KNOW CHOLESTEROL IS NEEDED AS THE PRECURSOR OF CO ENZYME Q, THE SALT SEX AND OTHER STEROID HORMONES, BILE SALTS AND CELL MEMBRANES

SO YOUR greasy chicken wings and fish cakes. IS BASICALLY BOVINE EXCREMENT

33. The final court of appeal for Trinidad is the Privy Council. There is no class action under our law. We have what we call test cases, that is an individual takes action and if the facts are similar all cases in the pipeline similar to that are treated in the same way.
    When someone enters you country on a tourist visa, there is always a return ticket with a named destination. An intransit passenger also has an ongoing ticket for the net destination.
    Is this matter going to be raised at CARICOM? The final point is that we are a failed state: politically, administratively, and in terms of our justice system.
    What concerns me more is that Cuba gratefully sent 100 nurses (I was under the impression there were doctors and nurses) to Barbados. They were given a health check at the airport.
    But the group descended en masse at the Cubana monument where they did not obey and social distancing rules at all, and not a single whimper from the Barbados public.
    Further, our CARICOM ambassador made a speech, the purpose of which was not clear to me. What did the arrival of the nurses have to do with CARICOM?
    We either have a rules-based system, or we make it up as we go along. Humanitarian acts involve personal moral judgements. It may be immoral to me using obscenities and to some people it is just everyday speech.

34. @ GP

Do you notice how to have a different opinion is marked by some as the ultimate insult. How dare you have different opinions from me? It is rum shop culture. No matter how well formally educated, rum shop nonsense remains nonsense. Aggression often hides ignorance and embarrassment.

35. You mean like:

#buffoon
    #appallinglyignorant
    #idiot

36. You eat what rocks your boat.

37. @King David,

I could be wrong, but I don’t think you really mean April 8?

38. It is most unfortunate for these Trinidadian nationals and down right disgusting the hard line stance taken by their government not to repatriate them. As pointed out, a chartered craft was used by another nation where stops were made in Barbados and Trinidad. They were quarantined in Barbados and if necessary and out of an abundance of caution upon their arrival home as well. This to my mind is the spiteful petty shit we have come to expect from our own governments since independence. It is not dissimilar to that attitude of Caricom governments spitefully allowing those who supported the losing party to languish economically because of their affiliation; no state contracts or jobs of any kind. . As for calling a person a liar, what’s not so nice about that? If you’re a liar, then you’re a god damn RH liar. Same goes for a dishonest or a thieving person. Why white wash or sugar coat? Nothing to gain, time has proven that.

39. The problem with the blp foot soldiers is exercised and exposed in their ingoing comments and attacks to lash out towards those with opposing opinions
    So far govt seems to be guided more on a rule of feelings than laws which exhibits good governance
    How is it that going by an act of humanity barbados govt feet are being held to a fire by Trinidad govt whose has blatantly disregard their own constitution

40. @F.M.Luder

Thanks, an error.

41. re You eat what rocks your boat. I DO AND I WILL……EVERYONE DOES

every Bajan enjoys a good fish cake occasionally……that one does this ought not to be hurled as an insult or a barb as this is a cultural thing, and is not as harmful say as consuming large quantities of alcohol, even though the acetylCoA derived from alcoholic is the source of acetylCoA for their energy needs via the citric acid cycle, and is used also in the synthesis of their cholesterol for use in the indications I have described in my last post.

turkey legs, being primarily muscle tissue is actually a good source of protein!
    they are nothing to scoff at
    they have little fat actually

hope you learned something today Sir

42. As Caricom citizens them ain’t entitled to an automatic 6-month stay in Bdos?

In norm times yes. In times of crises, no. In times of crisis sovereign nations typically reserve the right to control their borders. See EU nations’ actions over the past few weeks. And they are more of a true federation than our Caricom talk shop islands. Or am I missing something?

43. @ Enuff April 9, 2020 8:48 AM
    “They were quarantined in accommodation at no expense to the GoB and remain here at their own expense. Why the outrage with government….”

Who then was footing the bill for the costs incurred during the period of quarantine? The Rowley administration or Massy in Barbados?

How do you know that the cost of quarantining was not incurred by the GoB even if treated as a potential recovery from some other party?

Remember you are the one who is always denying your inner sanctum connections with the current administration by distancing yourself from any ‘special’ knowledge of things in the decision-making loop.

Then, you ought to take a leaf out of your own book or moral guidance which you find pleasure in reading to the likes of Waru the Salemite.

‘Those who live in political glass houses should not throw stones made of mud instead of ironclad facts.’

BTW Enuff, don’t you think its high time that your preferred administration seek to collect the outstanding debt of taxes and duties on that luxury vehicle imported for the use of an invisible (like Covid) viral Sales Director contracted by an empty cell made of powdery concrete called the Hyatt hotel?

In these trying times of fiscal stress that money would go a long way in helping cover the high cost of testing and quarantining caused by Covid; or should we say the curse of Malmoney?

Should Barbados go ahead with the financing of the Bay Street erection with the NIS money and rename it “The Pandemic Hotel” for quarantining visitors to Bim?

The evil that [some] do ‘lives’ after them but their financial contributions to political party campaigning are soon forgotten.

44. Dullard

The EU states have CLOSED their borders. Stop comparing apples and dunce. The Trinis entered Bdos with our borders open. They are not a burden to the state. They are Bajans and other Trinis stranded in other countries. I don’t see the need for the hysterics and if I were a BLP foot soldier as some often imply, I would be cussing the Tdad government.

45. Both sides take equal blame
    Haven’t read on BU anyone stating that Trinidad was right
    That issues has been mowed over with all agreeing that Trinidad should have allowed their citizens back into their homeland
    Anyhow what is begining to transpire is an issue which barbados described as a humanitarian cause has now placed barbados into having to feel the political fire of Trinidad wheels based on a technicality that barbados failed to abide by rules and health guidelines as instituted by WHO
    A well grounded argument by Trinidad for returning nationals who have visited hot spots

####stanpipeintellectual

46. GPApril 9, 2020 9:32 AM

re You eat what rocks your boat. I DO AND I WILL……EVERYONE DOES

every Bajan enjoys a good fish cake occasionally……that one does this ought not to be hurled as an insult or a barb as this is a cultural thing, and is not as harmful say as consuming large quantities of alcohol, even though the acetylCoA derived from alcoholic is the source of acetylCoA for their energy needs via the citric acid cycle, and is used also in the synthesis of their cholesterol for use in the indications I have described in my last post.

turkey legs, being primarily muscle tissue is actually a good source of protein!
    they are nothing to scoff at
    they have little fat actually

My understanding is that it is all about balance and that is why it is called “A BALANCED DIET”. Lack of understanding of dietary requirements seems to be the problem. It is now fashionable to label some foods “bad” when it is simply a matter of consuming what your body and daily activities require.

Too much or too little are both problems as far as I can tell.

You, GP can tell me if I am wrong but I never simply fall in line with what is fashionable abandoning what I learnt in Biology class. For example, I actually think that children need more exercise and not necessarily less sugary drinks provided that they rinse their mouths afterwards to protect their teeth. The children nowadays are sedentary. That is not good for their physical development. That is what is making them fat, although I must say I don’t see as many fat children as I am being told there are in Barbados. Overweight adults aplenty. Children, not so much. I’ve been looking. I’ve been looking in the bus terminals, mini bus stands, at the bus stops, Chefette, a couple of schools. I see maybe one in fifty overweight children.

47. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster, u guys are at it early o’clock today🤣! Tell me as you alluded to tho if a fella posts his or her remarks freely…that is an opinion right…and if you don’t outright stop de posts dem then the opinions flowing sweetly, not so….and we does disagree with each other pun here real, real regular and rough too… and that does happen in every (almost said freaking) sphere of life world over, right.

So it must be just a human trait, one would surmise, right!

Like the folks in the hallowed House of Commons do often… John Major then PM calling Tony Blair *”a dimwit”. Yep.

Or an MP describing his Tory opponent as “living proof that a pig’s bladder on the end of a stick can be elected to Parliament”. Sweet, sweet but In simple Bajan he called him a RH, yes! 🤣 ..

But David …and this is vitally important …you cannot call another MP a liar in the chamber otherwise you are ejected… soooo maybe you should eject from our chamber’s for a morning or evening session all who call others “liars”.

Afterall, a Labour MP was rejected from that chamber and apparently did not speak to PM Thatcher afterwards for 17 years for calling her bluntly “… a bounder, a liar, a deceiver, a cheat and a crook.”

Oh BTW, hypocrites you should eject period!🤣🤣

Relax…we get way to uptight …life is stressful now but still!

48. Right now I don’t see what Barbadians are howling about. This craziness with the Trinis can be sorted out afterwards. The citizens should sue their government. Meanwhile Barbados has done wonders to improve the relationship between Trinis and Bajans. Apparently they mean more to us than they do to their own government. I am sure that has sunk in with them.

I have more to worry about than thirty-three Trinis who are being well taken care of whether or not it is at our expense. Good deeds have a habit of returning good deeds. Probably multiplied. Eventually even if not in the short term. We may not see them but they will be there.