Law Association of Trinidad (LATT) Calls for Attorney General to Resign

Barbadians join many others following the serious matter of allegations made against the Attorney General of Trinidad and Tobago Anand Ramlogan. Is it all of a sudden the region appear to be grip in a daily course of controversy?  We note the strong call by the Law Association of Trinidad (LATT), the Barbados Bar Association (BBA) equivalent for Ramlogan to resign as Attorney General.

Parallels anyone?

Read LATT’s Statement…

LATT

48 comments

• David

The administration of justice in Trinidad and Tobago, especially dealing with misbehaviour in public office is by far more advanced than the banana republic nonsense that is practiced in Barbados. Do you recall that our AG claimed to have witnessed crime on election day, and can you recall what happened after? Did he report the crime to police? If he did not wouldn’t that be cause for concern? Imagine the AG not reporting crime, admitting it on television and remaining in his post. Welcome to the Banana Republic of Barbados.

Liked by 1 person

• BREAKING: PM Kamla Persad-Bissessar will make a statement at 4 pm on Monday, February 2, 2015, at the Office of the Prime Minister

• pieceuhderockyeahright

@ Mr. Franklyn

You see why so many people are saying that Fumbles and these rest uh idiots so foolish?

How dem cud do dese tings in public and expose demselves so?

Leh we say dat we once AG, now PM. did see de election corruption, whu bout it?

RIchard Sealy de Minister of Tourism does see spirits, and nobody doan do he nuffin?

De man cud say whu he like Franklyn!!

But hold on a second doah.

Is not de new Evidence Act dat Lashes recently rely pun with dat Omar fellow, enough for our Director of Public Prosecution dat Guyanese fellow Leacock to go, tek de video from “CBC Reporting Lies” Archives, and start investigations pun dese investigations and bring a case, lock up a few people for perjury, if dem deny saying what dey did say pun de electronic evidence and if dem identify the culprits lock up de rest fuh bribery and peverting de election regulations?

So you mean to tell me dat not only de PM guilty (as charged here on BU) but de DPP and the Electoral Boundaries Commissioner guilty of derelection of duties (and maybe even the Commissioner of de Police guilty fuh not doing he job?)

Man at de rate I going pretty soon everybody lock up!!

An nex old fellow at de Mens Fellowship say dat DEM isnt so stupid doah, dat it is we, who being shovelled this excrement, eating it, so it is we who is really de JAs

Two hours and twenty eight minutes to de Insulin Injection

• John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

The AG of TNT can come to Barbados and be head of the BAR or AG in good standing loloo . like the rest of the Crooks liars and scumbags walking around Barbados , he may even get QC or Sir like the rest of the crooks,

• Back in the 60’s Sparrow sang a song in which he said Trinidad was too damn democratic.I think the song was Solomon.What we can say is unlike Barbados,the Trinidad media is permitted by law to go after anyone and any information that’s available.They relentlessly corner and question the PM,AG,DPP.President any body in the public domain.For all its crime and corrupt politicians,anytime they make a mistake they pay the ultimate price,compliments of the Press.Even Panday face a jail in ‘e tail.
    Btw,there is a hue and cry in the UK with the news that Qatar Airways bought 10%
    interest in BA.Plenty talk about selling the family silver to a country which supports Hamas,Al Qaida,ISIS etc.Money talks.

• David
    Great comparison.I think Anand going down this time.His hand get trap in the cookie jar this time around.

• Kamla has called a press conference on Monday and we know she doesn’t play unlike you know who.

• David

Kamla has balls; you know who doesn’t.

• @Caswell

To be fair the PM has no political space to wiggle therefore his is forced to distill all issues through a political lens and that of a lawyer for his government to survive.

And his team knows it!

• The PM still has the upper hand; he qualified for his pension after one day on the job as PM. Most of his colleagues will qualify in 2016. If his men do not behave, he can collapse his administration and left them without pensions. His problem is that he loves being PM too much and collapsing his administration would be unthinkable. He would go back to being nobody and he fears that.

• If I wuz de AG I would jump before I am pushed.

• @David January 31, 2015 at 9:00 PM “Kamla has called a press conference on Monday and we know she doesn’t play unlike you know who.”

Yeah. Kamla has [metaphorical] balls,

Leah we big up de woman PM then.

• @David January 31, 2015 at 9:22 PM “And his team knows it!”

What team what? Bunch of cynical opportunists more like.

• Things bacchanal in T&T boi! Extracted from Trinidad Express:

‘Griffith a bonafide witness in the case’
    THE WITNESS tampering allegation against Attorney General Anand Ramlogan has taken a new and interesting twist. Senior legal and police sources confirmed to the Express late yesterday evening that Minister of National Security Gary Griffith has been identified as a key witness in the statement given by Police Complaints Authority (PCA) head David West to Acting Commissioner of Police Stephen Williams concerning the allegation that the AG asked West to withdraw his witness statement in the defamation lawsuit filed by the AG against Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley in exchange for the job of PCA Director. Sources confirmed that Griffith is a bonafide witness in the case. The Express contacted West who said, “I stand by my statement,” but he was unwilling to state anything further on the statement he gave to Williams. When Griffith was questioned about him being a witness for West, he stated, “I will tell the truth about what transpired between Mr West and Mr Ramlogan. I will not shift the goal post for anyone just as I did for the LifeSport investigation”. Cabinet sources told the Express that the matter was discussed in caucus and several members asked Griffith to change his stance and “forget about it”. However, sources said, Griffith did not budge and indicated if he did so it would be tantamount to perverting the course of justice. Sources say the AG walked out of the meeting minutes later. When questioned by the Express about what transpired, Griffith said he was not at liberty to discuss internal Cabinet matters. Another Government minister when contacted and asked about the contents of the Cabinet meeting would only say “you are on the right track. But that’s all I can say.”

• Kamla is a fraud…what balls what!! This is Ramlogan’s umpteenth infraction and if not for Minister Griffith’s defiance Kamla would not have even considered firing Ramlogan. The “fired” ministers were all small fries, in contrast Jack Warner was not fired but he resigned.

• Of course and was the sacrificial lamb for the entire Cabinet especially a certain AG. Go through the list of fired ministers and tell me who wasn’t a small fry.

• Kamla getting ready!

Kamla may reshuffle Cabinet

…after witness-tampering allegations

By By ANIKA GUMBS CCN Senior Multimedia Investigative Journalist

Story Created: Jan 31, 2015 at 8:48 PM ECT

Story Updated: Jan 31, 2015 at 9:00 PM ECT

Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar was up to yesterday said to be considering a Cabinet reshuffle in light of the witness-tampering allegations involving Attorney General Anand Ramlogan.

Ramlogan is under criminal investigation following allegations of an attempt to pervert the course of justice.

Persad-Bissessar will make a statement on the matter tomorrow at 4 p.m. at the Office of the Prime Minister, St Clair.

The Cabinet last underwent a reshuffle on September 4, 2013, which saw Jamal Mohammed and Christlyn Moore being relieved of their ministerial portfolios.

There is a provision for 31 senators, all to be appointed by the President: 16 on the advice of the Prime Minister, six on the advice of the Leader of the Opposition and nine at the discretion of the President.

At present all 16 positions to be selected by the Prime Minister are filled.

However, the Prime Minister has the authority to revoke the senatorial appointments as she sees fit.

Yesterday, an unconfirmed, anonymous e-mail was circulated to the media purporting to be names tipped for senatorial appointments.

The e-mail read that attorney Larry Lalla was tipped to head to the Ministry of Legal Affairs. Last week Lalla’s named surfaced as the replacement for Ramlogan.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Kamla-may-reshuffle-Cabinet-290442061.html

• Kamla has postponed her press conference until 7:30PM.

• Is it the water?

CABINET WAR

Bharath, Griffith in row over AG-West issue

By Denyse Renne and Ria Taitt

Story Created: Feb 1, 2015 at 9:48 PM ECT

Story Updated: Feb 1, 2015 at 9:56 PM ECT

A war of words has broken out between National Security Minister Gary Griffith and Communications Minister Vasant Bharath a mere 24 hours before the Prime Minister’s eagerly-awaited statement to the nation this afternoon.

Yesterday, a defiant Gary Griffith accused his Cabinet colleague, Bharath, of hypocrisy and of desperately looking for a “red herring” in order to create a basis for his (Griffith’s) removal from the Cabinet.

He was responding to statements made by Bharath.

Griffith, who holds the important National Security portfolio, is alleged to be a critical witness in the witness-tampering allegations levelled against Attorney General Anand Ramlogan by Police Complaints Authority (PCA) director David West, which is currently the subject of a criminal investigation by the police.

Griffith’s acerbic response was triggered by a release issued yesterday by Bharath, in which he denied the Cabinet ever pressured Griffith in any way on the witness-tampering issue and accused Griffith of making statements to that effect.

Bharath claimed Griffith’s actions had compromised the integrity of the Cabinet.

Responding to Bharath’s criticisms, Griffith denied ever making the statement that the Cabinet was pressuring him.

“I find it very hypocritical that the Minister of Communications has issued a release without communicating with the line minister to even verify if those statements made were ever said by me,” Griffith told the Express.

“That is what is mind-boggling. (It is) a desperate attempt to find a red herring to see if I could be removed (as minister), to try to see if I would reveal information what went on in the Cabinet,” he added.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Looking-for-red-herring-290488171.html

• This news conference affirms what I said earlier–a fraud.

• @enuff

Kamla does not play boi!

• David, you fell for that smoke and mirrors? lol

• @enuff

Did she boot only small fry?

• Elections aroud the corner, she had no choice. But firing Gary Griffith and trying to implicate West and Rowley tells says a lot.

• Note Stacy Roopnarine was relieved of her portfolio too. Do a quick search on her and her allegations of corruption against the Minister.

• Did she fire Griffith or he resigedn…lol.

On 3 February 2015 at 00:18, Barbados Underground wrote:

• PM Persad-Bissessar removed Ramlogan and appointed Garvin Nicholas as the new AG of T’nT.Gary Griffith says he was fired and his replacement is retired Brigadier Carl Alphonso as Minister of National Security.The PM is calling for the resignation of David West as Director of the Police Complaints Authority

• Well he didn’t resign…lol and Timoth Hamel-Smith now former President of the Senate. All Kamla did was deflect and appointed candidates for the upcoming election.

• @Gabriel

Isn’t West an independent appointee? How Kamla could do that?

On 3 February 2015 at 00:23, Barbados Underground wrote:

• Why not a word on the Speaker? smoke and mirrors

• The tweet says she is calling for his resignation because the three stories she got don’t add up.It’s not her call to fire him but she sending a message.Clearly she punishing him for being the lightning rod that got rid of the corrupt and nefarious Ramlogan,an aggressive ratbag of a politician who plays dirty politics and who is holding some secrets for Kamla.
    Wade Mark is next.He won’t get away.Recall he is also a shady character who claimed he got an MBA from UWI and that caused UWI to look doubtful because the story was that Mark missed classes and missed an examination paper.
    His days are numbered.

• And there are calls for the recall of the designation SC,which is thought to be undeserved from day one.Ramlogan made a lot of enemies going up the ladder.He will begin meeting them coming down from tonight.

• Rowley quoted from an e-mail from anan@gmail.com, sent to kamlapb1@gmail.com on the subject “Monies Owed” which stated: “I scoff that it’s too much. We are the ones taking the risk. At the end of this, I want a helipad on my roof top. There is no price for freedom. They know this”.
    Rowley said he wanted the Attorney General to say “who is it whose freedom is being bought and what was meant by “no price for freedom”.
    He said in another e-mail “kamlapb1 tells anan@gmail: “I am worried AG, I do not want this to blow up in our faces. Tone down the request and focus elsewhere for now”.

• Rowley said the e-mails also indicated that there was an attempt to plant a bug in the DPP’s office. He quoted from an e-mail from anan@gmail.com to garygriffith@hotmail.com sent on Monday, September 10, 2012 at 1.33 a.m.: “We have a problem. Things are getting heated. Need access to taps in DPP office. I want to know what his next move is. How soon can you arrange?”

• Has the PM escaped the heat and the AG and National Security minister paying the cost?

• No, this is unbelievable.

• David I rest my case.

• Trinidad Express Newspapers and Rickford Burke shared a link.

NEW AG UNDER QUERY

Forty-eight hours after Garvin Nicholas was appointed this country’s new Attorney General, a matter has been referred to the Law Association of Trinidad and Tobago (LATT) for investigation, involving him.

• The problem is Trinidadians are handling sharp edged tools while carnival is going on. we all know they can’t multitask while carnival is heating up.

It is nuff comedy. Rowley takes concocted emails to parliament and then made claims on a public platform on the issue. He is hussled to court yet again on defamation charges by Ramlogan. Ramlogan apparently approaches David West to withdraw his statement in the defamation case against Rowley for the PCA post, because the statement speaks to the deportation of two individuals who Rowley criticized about. Ramlogan it seems asked Griffith to also contact West about withdrawing the statement. Ramlogan has a press conference some time later stating he has won the defamation case against Rowley while trying to secure an apology. Rowley’s defence team was never informed when they would have to submit a defence after they had asked for an extension in the matter. West tells the world what Ramlogan did with regards to his appointment. Kamla removes Ramlogan and Griffith, and state Rowley should have informed her that West was a witness in his defamation case. The info was forwarded to the president in case West could be removed also but Jack says the constitution doesn’t support his removal in this matter. Ramlogan’s replacement in hot water and Kamla might have to soon hold another press conference to also remove him.

ps. Elections around the corner.

I am not concocting this.

• So Oziboy how will it all translate for Trinidad and Tobago?

• who knows David

• Politics in T&T may appear to be pure bacchanal ! But unlike politics in Barbados, people in T&T strive constantly to make their politicians do the right thing,recognizing that they won’t be perfect. They appear to be succeeding to a greater extent than other Caribbean islands. Integrity, transparency, accountability and freedom of information appear to be alive in “The Land of Bobol”.

Join in the discussion, you never know how expressing your view may make a difference.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s