The following comment was posted by local microbiologist Dr. Robert Lucas to another blog – Bajans Jettison Social Distancing for Cheek by Jowl. The blogmaster regards it as one of the most important points shared on Barbados Underground since the status of COVID 19 was elevated by Prime Minister Mia Mottley.

David, Barbados Underground

Let me repeat what I have stated elsewhere on the Blog.

The curfew has to rigorously enforced. Once this is done, there is no need for contact tracing. I will explain.

Those who manifest symptoms are easily managed. It is person Z who comes into contact with a person (asymptomatic or beginning to show signs) and is unaware of the fact, who poses the immediate threat. By having the curfew and rigidly enforcing it, means that person Z is localized to a fixed area.

There will be more than one person who qualifies for the nomenclature Z. Since the curfew is rigidly enforced when the Zs become ill and use the hotline, hot spots are known. There will be a number of these hot spots. There should be isolated and all persons in the vicinity of the Z’ screened and placed into mandatory quarantine. No crap about voluntary quarantine.

For this method to work, it means that very tough enforcement it needed. None of this crap about human rights and individual liberty. Human rights and so on can be dealt with after the situation is under control…

Elsewhere on the Blog, I said that a twenty-eight day curfew was needed. I explain my reasoning as follows: there would be different viral incubation times for different individuals. Twenty-eight days would appear to be time for all individuals to show manifestations of the infection.

688 responses to “Local Microbiologist Calls for Curfew to be Extended to 28 Days”

1. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

In the absence of widespread testing, this approach makes sense from a public health standpoint.

For whatever reason, the public health authorities in Barbados either do not wish to institute widespread testing of the population, or are unable to institute widespread testing of the population. They are testing only symptomatic individuals or those identified as at risk through contact tracing. However, widespread testing in Iceland, Singapore and elsewhere has established that up to 50% of those who are infected show no symptoms while they go around infecting others.

Unless you pursue a widespread testing regimen to identify and isolate these asymptomatic individuals, you will need to isolate everyone as Dr. Lucas suggests.

2. Mr Lucas logic is flawed. The curfew doesn’t address persons entering the country from hot spots- USA/ Europe.
    If the government had stopped all travel (local, regional & international) Barbados would have zero cases.

It is time to close the borders.

https://youtu.be/2NZsL3idid0

3. The Prime Minister has said anyone entering the country must enter a 14 day quarantine.

4. The govt says closing the borders would financially negatively impact many households
    I believe govt might be of the same thinking that a long extended shutdown would do the same to households

5. Freedom Crier Avatar

BEGGING YA PARDON DR.LUCAS FOR A BRIEF MOMENT…

FREEDOM FINDS IT STRANGE THAT THE PRICE ON THE WORLD MARKET HAS GONE DOWN TO 20 # A BARREL FOR OIL AND EVEN THE PRIME MINISTER WANTED TO BUY FUTURES OF OIL AT THIS PRICE. GASOLINE IS AT ITS LOWEST PRICE IN DECADES IN AMERICA PRESENTLY. GASOLINE WAS RECENTLY SELLING IN FLORIDA INCLUDING ALL THE TAXES FOR 99 CENTS PER GALLON…I GALLON = 3.78 LITERS. AND IN KEEPING WITH GOVERNMENTS STATED POLICY OF MAINTAINING PARITY WITH THE INTERNATIONAL PRICE OF OIL, OUR PRICES WOULD FOLLOW…HEY, HEY PRICES DROP TO THE LOWEST LEVEL IN TWO DECADES AND BARBADOS GASOLINE AND DIESEL PRICES ESCALATING…HEY, HEY SOMEBODY TELLING FIBS…

Changes in petroleum prices

Barbados Today
    Published on
    April 5, 2020

Effective midnight Sunday, April 5, the retail prices of gasoline and diesel will increase, while kerosene will decrease.

Gasoline will be adjusted from $3.45 per litre to $3.57 per litre, which represents an increase of 12 cents.

The price of diesel will increase by five cents, from $2.84 per litre to $2.89 per litre.

Kerosene will go from $1.35 per litre to $1.01 per litre, a reduction of 34 cents.

These price adjustments are in keeping with Government’s policy of allowing retail prices to be reflective of those on the international market. (BGIS)

https://barbadostoday.bb/wp-content/uploads/2019/03/Fuel-1-1-730×456.jpg

6. The social distancing policy makes sense only if the virus can be passed by asymptomatic persons. How come the front line workers at the QEH who cannot practise social distancing and still take care of patients, are not tested, nor are they permitted to test the patients admitted whom they cannot be socially distanced from on a day to day basis.
    ERW

7. @ David .
    Suppose 3000 people enter Barbados in a day .
    Barbados doesn’t have the capacity to deal with this volume of visitors.
    If cases in Barbados skyrocket the health care system will collapse.

LIVE: White House coronavirus task force gives updates as US approaches 10,000 deaths…..

The health care systems in USA & Europe are overwhelmed by the covid-19 pandemic.

Did patient X ( the patient who died from complications of covid-19) go into quarantine?

8. The borders are effectively closed, this is a non point.

9. DavidApril 5, 2020 8:21 PM

The borders are effectively closed, this is a non point

They are not until govt makes an official statement
    Now go bag your head
    Trinidad and Jamaica govt made officials statements of closures
    You are a liar and a deceptive one too
    Go bag yuh head

10. DavidApril 5, 2020 7:58 PM

The Prime Minister has said anyone entering the country must enter a 14 day quarantine.
    Xcccccvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvbb

Yuh ought to read yuh comments before and after before posting lies

11. If Barbados close down the airport and seaport how will food, health equipment enter the country?

12. Finish with you and this now.

Coronavirus

Cases of coronavirus (COVID-19) have been confirmed in Barbados. The Barbados authorities have introduced a number of measures to limit the spread of the virus.

All persons arriving in Barbados will be placed in a Barbadian government quarantine facility for 14 days.

A daily curfew operates from 8pm to 6am local. In addition, a 24 hour curfew will be imposed starting on Friday 3 April at 8pm. During these times, only essential workers or those in need of medical assistance are allowed out of their homes.

Also on Friday 3 April at 5pm, all supermarkets and mini-marts will close until further notice. Village shops will remain open but they are subjected to strict operating measures.

The restrictions on social movements has meant that all non-essential business are now closed and no person may host or attend a private party, sporting event, or attend a public gathering.

Visits by members of the public to all public and private geriatric institutions have been suspended until further notice.

Beginning the 3 April, more restrictive measures will be imposed. These include the closures of beaches and parks, the sale of alcohol will be prohibited, movement will only be allowed to purchase food or medicine, to seek medical or dental treatment or to work in an essential service.

https://www.gov.uk/foreign-travel-advice/barbados/coronavirus

13. Good about time
    You are suffering from a condition called irreparable ignorance
    Go figure

14. there are delta flight going to jamacia from atlanta. also st lucia

15. I know they are bring back but I am not sure they are taking passengers to the two islands

16. M&M have her hands tied ,she’s damn if she do ,an she’s damn if she don’t ,this is a tough one for her I feel her pain .

17. @David
    Let me clarify, stop travel not trade.
    Allow cargo , but stop people entering Barbados.

Quote: ” If Barbados close down the airport and seaport how will food, health equipment enter the country? ”

(TORONTO) — Prime Minister Justin Trudeau said Saturday that Canada won’t bring retaliatory or punitive measures against the United States after the Trump administration announced it would prevent the export of N95 protective masks….

During a press conference at Ilaro Court, Bostic revealed that the ventilators donated to the Barbados Government as an act of philanthropy were barred from exportation.

“They were seized in the United States. Paid for, but seized, so we are trying to see exactly what is going to transpire there,” Minister Bostic disclosed.

The US has been accused of redirecting 200,000 Germany-bound masks for its own use, in a move condemned as “modern piracy”.

The local government in Berlin said the shipment of US-made masks was “confiscated” in Bangkok.

The FFP2 masks, which were ordered by Berlin’s police force, did not reach their destination, it said.

Andreas Geisel, Berlin’s interior minister, said the masks were presumably diverted to the US.

The US company that makes the masks, 3M, has been prohibited from exporting its medical products to other countries under a Korean-War-era law invoked by President Donald Trump. Saw

18. Do you have comprehension skills?

If all other countries have closed their ports or restricted outbound traffic what is your issue? Why do you think LIAT cancelled flying the region and laid off staff except for charters?

19. Really no human rights and all that Really
    Now peoples constitutional rights are called crap
    Really
    I bet u one of those people who agree with Trinidad not taking in the 35
    Really boy uh tell uh Corona has brought out the tin horn dictators out the woodwork

20. David once again if govt did not officially closed the borders they remain open
    Dont care how many pieces of sliced or dice arguments you lay on the table

21. They remain opened bot no tourist are coming don’t mind how much you think you know or chose to lie / dice it

22. David,

Spot on! lol

23. DavidApril 5, 2020 9:44 PM

Do you have comprehension skills?

If all other countries have closed their ports or restricted outbound traffic what is your issue? Why do you think LIAT cancelled flying the region and laid off staff except for charters?

Xxxxcxcccxxcxccccccccccccc
    Mia international is still open
    American is flying out of there into barbados

24. go to aa.com and try to buy a ticket from mia to bgi! plain and simple.

yuh hear drop it!

25. @John2

You beat the blogmaster to it. Better is to enter the flight number and read the result.

https://www.aa.com/travelInformation/flights/status

The woman’s head is like moon rock.

26. No .i just call a booking agency and can bookna flight to barbados as late as april 25

27. mari

Nothing wrong with admitting you wrong and backing off!

ur own advice you cant take?

whatch for the switcharoo

28. What is the name of the booking agency?

29. U guys are so intent to defend the indefensible that although with eyes open to see that the airport is open u insist it is closed

30. No .i just call a booking agency and can bookna flight to barbados as late as april 25

xxxxxxx

Explain that some more?

are you saying you can book a flight from Miami to Barbados next sunday or any time until apr 25th?

or are you saying you CANNOT book a flight before april 25 th?

31. David

Justfly.com

32. The blogmaster spent some time on this tonight to expose ac in another lie. She is a pathological liar on the blog.

Here is a link to search for flights to Barbados.

https://www.skyscanner.net/transport/flights/bgi/bb/200407/200417/?adultsv2=1&childrenv2=&cabinclass=economy&rtn=1&preferdirects=false&outboundaltsenabled=false&inboundaltsenabled=false .

33. what is the number for the book agency?

34. Using your link to book a flight on Tuesday from MIA to BGI this week it threw back an error message.

Also if you click on the custom service link under country advisories, read what it says.

https://www.iatatravelcentre.com/international-travel-document-news/1580226297.htm

35. 11pm and you can get through to a booking agency when all over the would them losing money or aint working for one reason or another because of virus and flights grounded etc???

you really think people foolish

36. david

you can try it for NY also

You can also try JetBlue

same thing over and over

you cant buy any ticket until maybe may.

I did get through in may but I don’t know from when it start back

37. Earlier tonight you called the blogmaster a liar for stating all incoming passengers must be quarantined for 14 days. Now that you see it confirmed in black and white please tell us who will travel to Barbados to on vacation to first be subjected to 14 day quarantine.

38. Also if you click on the custom service link under country advisories, read wha

XXXXXXXX

I done do all of that.
    I was just letting her hang herself with her lies

Boy the length people would go to score political points? and thing is I don’t event think she is a politician trying to get an advantage.

39. Donks, Gripe and Josh Avatar
    Donks, Gripe and Josh

Is E.R.Walrond ERW posit April 5, 2020 8:11 PM from esteemed Professor /Dean of UWI medical school?

Speaks volumes of BU quality or lack of when blog mechanic and sleep inducing regulars Peter Thompson, John et al fail to notice much less comment on world rated doctor’s entry.

Keen bloggers relish inputs by acclaimed professors as distinct from off the wall hot air of a Thompson, Lucas (sorry scientist) and John(nies)

To overlook Walrond’s message indicts blog mechanic and BU drones for intoxication on their own verbal moonshine.

Dr. Walrond’s input educates readers eager to expand horizons in a sea of guess work and humpty dumpty egos.

40. David in called justfly i can book a flight on April 25 leaving at 6.55 and arriving. 1.45 as a connecting flight
    I made my point
    The airport is open for anyone who wants to travel to barbados as long as the city of departure airport is not closed

Btw i never said that you were in lying about the 14day quarantine
    My comment was in reference as to why govt would have a 14dsy quarantine if as u stated the airport was closed

41. According to the Daily Mail Boris Johnson has been admitted to hospital

“Donald Trump has wished Boris Johnson well in his ‘personal fight’ with coronavirus as the Prime Minister spent the night in hospital after struggling to shake off symptoms. Downing Street stressed that the Prime Minister was admitted to undergo tests merely as a precaution, on the advice of his doctor. His overnight stay at a London NHS hospital, believed to be St Thomas’ in Westminster, comes 10 days after he first tested positive for the infection and began self-isolating in his Number 11 flat In a Twitter video on Friday, an exhausted-looking Mr Johnson revealed he was still suffering from a high temperature. But he has continued to spearhead the government’s response to the health crisis, which yesterday sadly saw deaths climb by 621 to 4,934 and cases rise by 5,903 to 47,806. Foreign Secretary Dominic Raab will chair today’s 9am coronavirus meeting of ministers and officials in the PM’s absence, although Number 10 assured MailOnline that Mr Johnson is still in charge. Well-wishers from across the political spectrum offered the PM their support, including in Washington where the US President hailed Mr Johnson’s grit, which he claimed would see him beat back the infection. ”

Source: Daily Mail Online

42. “The Prime Minister of Sweden has issued a stark warning to his citizens, telling them to prepare for innumerable deaths following the country’s laid back attitude to Covid-19. Stefan Löfven’s grim message came after some 2,300 doctors and academics hurled criticism at Sweden for not taking the pandemic seriously – barely tightening up preventative methods. Social Democrat Löfven warned citizens to prepare for thousands of deaths. To the amazement of many European countries, who have for the most part enforced lockdowns and social distancing measures, life in Sweden has been permitted to go on with relative normality. Many bars, eateries, schools and office buildings have remained open, attracting hordes of drinkers. People have also been free to gather in large groups.”

43. booking a ticket on the 25 april does not prove that passengers/tourist are coming into the island today.

44. no one said the airport is closed. david said it is effectively closed ( to incoming passengers).
    if he was saying it was closed how could he then point out that flights were coming in to remove ross and other stranded passengers????

45. CHINA HAVE BEEN IN LOCKED DOWN SINCE MIDDLE JANUARY STILL

China sees rises in new coronavirus cases, asymptomatic patients
    By Lusha Zhang and Tony Munroe
    ReutersApril 5, 2020, 6:15 PM PDT

BEIJING (Reuters) – Mainland China reported 39 new coronavirus cases as of Sunday, up from 30 a day earlier, and the number of asymptomatic cases also surged, as Beijing continued to struggle to extinguish the outbreak despite drastic containment efforts.

The National Health Commission said in a statement on Monday that 78 new asymptomatic cases had been identified as of the end of the day on Sunday, compared with 47 the day before.

Imported cases and asymptomatic patients, who have the virus and can give it to others but show no symptoms, have become China’s chief concern in recent weeks after draconian containment measures succeeded in slashing the infection rate.

Of the new cases showing symptoms, 38 were people who had entered China from abroad, compared with 25 a day earlier. One new locally transmitted infection was reported, in the southern province of Guangdong, down from five a day earlier in the same province.

The new locally transmitted case, in the city of Shenzhen, was a person who had travelled from Hubei province, the original epicentre of the outbreak, Guangdong provincial authorities said.

The Guangdong health commission raised the risk level for a total of four districts in the cities of Guangzhou, Shenzhen and Jieyang from low to medium late on Sunday.

Mainland China has now reported a total of 81,708 cases, with 3,331 deaths.

Daily infections have fallen dramatically from the peak of the epidemic in February, when hundreds were reported daily, but new infections continue to appear daily.

The country has closed off its borders to foreigners as the virus spreads globally, though most imported cases involve Chinese nationals returning from overseas.

The central government also has pushed local authorities to identify and isolate the asymptomatic patients.

https://www.yahoo.com/news/china-reports-increase-coronavirus-cases-011557445.html

46. David u owe me an apolgy
    Calling me a liar because i insist that barbados airport is open for the flying public speaks more about your yardfowl politics than my insisting on telling the truth
    I bet if u called justfly and confirm what i said u would not have the decency to say i was telling the truth
    As a person who portrays journalistic abilty u ought to rely on doing your own research instead of listening to the lying govt voices that whisper in your ears
    I show u the link to Grantly Adams airport flight info and u disregard the information for whatever reason ( which in my mind ) is political driven
    Then i told u i called justfly rather than pursue what i told by calling the agency for confirmation u call me a liar
    Not Good David Not Good

47. @”A retired senior judge and uncle to Downing Street political strategist Dominic Cummings has died with coronavirus.
    Sir John Laws, 74, died Sunday at Chelsea and Westminster hospital in London following a three-week illness.
    Laws first tested negative for Covid-19 when admitted to hospital suffering with sepsis and other health problems.
    He subsequently contracted the virus and died on an isolated ward, according to the Guardian. ”