Acting Prime Minister Santia Bradshaw just declared in a national address that 45 positive cases have been identified infected with COVID 19.

407 responses to “Barbados NOW on LOCKDOWN”

1. How come she didn’t extend the curfew from 6 am to 6pm?

2. John
    April 1, 2020 3:09 PM

https://www.msn.com/en-us/health/health-news/georgia-mayor-cancels-social-distancing-order-amid-coronavirus-pandemic/ar-BB121Vo7?ocid=spartandhp
    https://www.thehawkeye.com/news/20200331/iowa-gov-reynolds-i-cant-lock-state-down-over-coronavirus-concerns

I suspect churches in America will be open and full for Easter.

Maybe not in every state but some will be open.

3. @ David

I said so in the post of my strolls today From last week I was saying something had to be done about the supermarkets.

4. @John

You are peaking on the boring index now.

5. The situation is now totally out of control or just the way we always wanted it to be. It’s a brilliant move, our Prime Minister now sending others to do the dirty work.

Not only do we need a total lockdown, but we also need martial law. That includes suspending the ordinary courts and installing military tribunals.

The government must finally crack down on the DLP grandees who signed the visa agreement with the Chinese communists in 2014. It is obvious that the plague is coming from China. Furthermore, we now need a cleansing of the state apparatus of all DLP members as potential traitors.

6. @Dr. Lucas

A few ignorant Bajans operating under the view God is a Bajan and it cannot happen here. Truth be told we have witnessed similar behavipur across the Caribbean.

7. @Tron

This is serious, try to pause your shit.

8. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ John A

What useful purpose would your suggested extension serve? That is a total lock down. It can be increased according to the response of the populace.
    The number of identified cases has increased to 45. It appears that the new cases are persons who did not travel within the last two months. Obviously this may be the tip of the iceberg.It may be indicative of a much larger number of unidentified cases.

9. I AM VERY SKEPTICAL THEY HAVE BEEN NO DEATHS.

SOMETHING FISHY ABOUT THIS BARBADOSTODAY STORY:

Close the caskets for now

Acting Chief Medical Officer Dr. Anton Best is recommending funeral homes end open casket services, out of an abundance of caution, as the COVID-19 cases in Barbados rise to 33 today.

Speaking on a radio call-in programme on Sunday, Dr. Best said there was much that the medical community knew about the new coronavirus (COVID-19) but there was “much that we do not know”.

He was responding to a question from a funeral home operator about the handling of people who have died from the disease.

According to the senior medical officer who is among the team leading the fight against the illness in Barbados, there was still some uncertainty about transmission of COVID-19 from the bodies of persons who died from the illness.

As such, Dr. Best cautioned funeral home operators that after families had viewed their loved ones, the caskets should be closed.

Moreover, he urged them to heighten the use of protective wear when handling these bodies. He stressed that closed casket funerals are his personal recommendation, noting that the World Health Organisation (WHO) had not issued such an urging as yet.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/03/30/close-the-caskets-for-now/

10. @ David April 1, 2020 7:37 PM

The problem as I stated else where on the Blog, is the number of persons the infected person interacted with. For example person X is an asymptomatic carrier. X lands in Barbados and mingle with family. That is no problem. Family can easily be screened. X goes to the supermarket and mingles with y + z persons. Y equal known persons. Z the unknown. It is the latter that is causing the problem. A lock down and rigorous restriction of movement are called for is testing of all Barbadians cannot be done for financial reasons. In the former case each Z results in a hot spots which can be isolated and contained.

11. @ David April 1, 2020 7:38 PM

I see the obvious. All the hoaxes on the social media. For many days. Intensifying.

https://www.loopnewsbarbados.com/content/april-fools-jokes-pranks-around-covid-19-are-malicious-punishable

Someone or some party is trying to destabilize the government. What people are profiting from this? Not the government that’s doing everything possible.

We have to act. Now.

12. Vincent Codrington Avatar

The good news is that no death has been recorded so far. The symptoms are mild and are being managed successfully up to this point. The strategy is still containment and the reducing the risks of spreading the disease. We still got this.

13. no deaths yet but an elderly person is in QEH not doing well at all or so i have been made to understand. hope the person recovers

14. Dishonest Bajans Avatar
    Dishonest Bajans

The good news is that no death has been recorded so far.

xxxxxxxx

Have been reported.

15. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Vincent, if you don’t win the NIFCA Award for understatement with Obviously this may be the tip of the iceberg.It may be indicative of a much larger number of unidentified cases then something real wrong !

Yah think!

When the HMS Trident Barbados passes over that iceberg it will be ripped asunder one time… I can only pray there are more than enough life boats set in place by the ship captains who are incompetently running full steam towards the iceberg!

This is madness!

16. David why yuh sounding suh frustrated wuh them only 46
    That not even the tip of the iceberg
    Cant wait to see wuh yuh do when it hit 1000
    But God is a bajan how come yuh dont know that
    Sh.it man.sh..it

17. @ robert lucas April 1, 2020 7:36 PM

You will now have to put an immediate stop to your overly risky perambulations or find yourself receiving free accommodation and victuals at HM’s expense.

Even though you are over three score and ten it might not be too late to lose your boyhood cherry while bending down to pick up a bar of soap to avoid a young Covid standing right behind you.

18. @VC
    I suspect that those who are ‘sheltering’ with you are wondering how you remain so calm/cool/dispassionate.
    I can hear them saying “i am glad level-headed VC is here but he is no fun”
    Stay safe.

19. In theory, 9 months from now the population should start increasing.

20. Seen numbers in countries rise from one to thousand in space of a week
    Recently heard of a family member who unknowingly infected the entire family including an 80 year old woman
    The one thing that these infected countries have in coming are open borders
    Today Dr. Fauci warned that there is a possibility countries can be hit hard with Corona next flu season
    Now all the measures in the world cannot stop the spread no matter how many curfews are put in place
    The right methods if done comprehensively and simultaneously would have stop the spread and the loss of much needed revenue from the public purse

21. Seen numbers in countries rise from one to thousand in space of a week
    Recently heard of a family member who unknowingly infected the entire family including an 80 year old woman
    The one thing that these infected countries have in coming are open borders
    Today Dr. Fauci warned that there is a possibility countries can be hit hard with Corona next flu season
    Now all the measures in the world cannot stop the spread no matter how many curfews are put in place
    The right methods if done comprehensively and simultaneously would have stop the spread and the loss of much needed revenue from the public purse

22. @ Mariposa April 1, 2020 8:07 PM

Stop gloating. This no time for recriminations, What has happened has happened. The action to leave borders open ,is a result of failure to diversify.. When this thing is over some heads should roll.

23. @ Vincent

If you going to cut back the hours of business then also increase the curfew period. Why leave so much time between the close of business and start of the curfew? The problem is that many think the curfew is a joke, so extend the curfew time and let the police pick up and fine some offenders. Send a serious message.

You mean to tell me that in all of Bim the best the police could do is find 1 Jamaican woman breaking the curfew in 11 parishes? Until we hold and clap a few $50,000 fines on a handful of these clowns no one will take it serious. Extend the curfew and make use of the legislation and stop with the kit glove approach.

24. have @ Miller April 1, 2020 8:09 PM

I am going to find it very difficult staying put. I am always active and moving around, The only time there was danger was entering the supermarkets or the liquor shops. I discounted the danger due to the fact that people who shopped at the supermarket mentioned were less likely to visited over seas. Most of them are too poor .Same with the fellows with the drink. I figured that the highbrow Barbadians who shopped at the Malls were more likely to be problematic. Time will tell. We all have to go some time.

25. David
    April 1, 2020 7:36 PM

You are peaking on the boring index now.

I’ve shown that relying on what has happened in FLORIDA is misleading on its own.

There are other states that have operated differently, IOWA and GEORGIA.

There is also a whole country, SWEDEN that has acted differently.

The only way FLORIDA is relevant to Barbados is if a lot of students here attended Spring Break there and have returned.

In which case deal with those separately.

The video below was posted on 18th March.

Fourteen days later is NOW!!!

In that respect, FLORIDA is relevant to us especially if there are a lot of Z’s … see rl’s post.

But you would expect the GOB to treat us as adults and tell us the facts.

Trump doesn’t sugar coat anything at his press briefings.

26. @Dr. Lucas

You should still be able to go on walks, just say you are going to the supermarket or hospital :-). You do not want to disappoint your fans by halting your perambulations.

27. Dishonest Bajans Avatar
    Dishonest Bajans

@Dr. Lucas

You should still be able to go on walks, just say you are going to the supermarket or hospital :-). You do not want to disappoint your fans by halting your perambulations.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

You’re asking this man to be dishonest to satisfy your agenda?

28. @Baje April 1, 2020 7:51 PM “Close the caskets for now. Acting Chief Medical Officer Dr. Anton Best is recommending funeral homes end open casket services, out of an abundance of caution.”

Excellent idea. I don’t understand this obsession with staaring at dead bodies, feeling them up and kissing them..

My old mother used to say that she didn’t want anybody peeping into her face when she was dead. That if you loved her that you should visit when she was alive and able to enjoy your company. I’ve told my children the same. No looking. No photos.

29. America has had 3 waves of infection.

Chinese New Year – New York, California

Pre Lenten Celebrations – New Orleans

Spring Break – All over.

I can understand the fear Spring Break engenders and that we have to be vigilant for the next two weeks.

However, we don’t have to be treated like children to avoid treating a few children like adults.

30. In New York in the first wave, the numbers involved in the celebrations were way above anything that might have occurred during third wave, Spring Break.

Even if the third wave, Spring Break causes an increase in infections, it won’t be the same as having 500K plus bodies in close proximity on the streets of New York.

31. The curfew should have been extended from 6:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. You have a lot of deviant Barbadians out there.

32. Luxtrev!!1April 1, 2020 8:58 PM

The curfew should have been extended from 6:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. You have a lot of deviant Barbadians out there.

So what difference the virus has no defining day or night time line
    The curfew is a joke and furthermore more people mingle at day than night especially the elderly who has to do their daytime chores

33. robert lucasApril 1, 2020 8:22 PM

@ Mariposa April 1, 2020 8:07 PM

Stop gloating. This no time for recriminations, What has happened has happened. The action to leave borders open ,is a result of failure to diversify.. When this thing is over some heads should roll.

Cvvvvvcvcvvvvvvvv
    Me gloating watching this virus wreck havoc in the big international countries not a joke
    However one cant help but think of how in the past 10 years present govt gloat about the trials of barbados openly and without shame and now a worsen fate has got hold of them

Me not gloating but to keenly observed

34. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“I AM VERY SKEPTICAL THEY HAVE BEEN NO DEATHS..”

Baje…the disease follows a pattern, they cannot hide the deaths, there are a couple processes first before first death….and then….and then..

don’t mind all the long talk, all of this is on them, we said repeatedly that the place should have been closed weeks ago..when the BU fools wanted to fight…..any deaths can be attributed to this government and their…”we have to leave the ports open for tourism, go staycation at the hotels, go bathe in the sea”…stueppps..

don’t mind all the shite talk, they are looking for someone else to blame for the upcoming unfortunate deaths …THAT THEY CAUSED..

am not letting not one of them suck my energy, let them explain why they allowed the island to be infected….it took weeks and weeks for Germany to have a high infection rate……these are well on their way, let them explain that too…

35. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@john. Why are trying to hijack this topic now bro ? You did a decent job on a previous one. I have never seen you so hyped up before. Let it go bro, you are not convincing most here with your volatile postings, which ran the gamut from indenial to crazy confirmation bias stories.

36. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

MariposaApril 1, 2020 9:09 PM
    “… especially the elderly who has to do their daytime chores…”
    +++++++++++++++
    Do the elderly need to do their daytime chores in groups out on the streets?? Why can they not stay at home? I’m well past 3 score years, but my chores never seem to be big social occasions; what am I missing?

37. The military must finally close the gated communities and guard the inhabitants there and provide them with food. We must hermetically seal off the top-performers of society, because we will need them after the plague.

We also need much larger camps here, for at least 50,000 people. Whoever has a cold or coughs slightly, must stay there for a month in special care. We must show the people that the government cares.

38. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

What they should be educating the people about if they were following how this disease functions….is that it’s ONLY GOAL…is to survive…that means adapting to any environment and any changes…it is determined TO SURVIVE…no matter how many hosts…PEOPLE… it has to jump or how many it has to kill…maybe people will understand that better…

If the leaders were paying attention and not flitting around like dummies bringing destruction to the people…they would have observed that as others have….that is what happens when all ya have on your mind is goddamn paper…

39. Donks, Gripe and Josh Avatar
    Donks, Gripe and Josh

Shut the borders except for critical goods (and services) was the call for weeks by several concerned voices regretfully those calls went unheeded for whatever reason. At this time its nearly too late.

Asking people to self quarantine maybe humane certainly not wise .

Authorities said 199 persons were asked to self quarantine . Who ensured the volunteerism?

Newspaper interviews with self quarantined travelers were of little comfort to discerning readers.

The updated numbers are very scary thankfully all are alive.

An underreported quote from CMO that people who spent mandatory 2 weeks in quarantine when re-tested still had symptoms was ominous to say the least.

Reading between the lines no quarantined persons have been released weeks since restrictions started. There hasn’t been risk reduction even by the count of one.

How much can hastily set up infrastructure and gutsy human resources in the trenches at the front battling germ warfare stand? Its beginning to sound like a “never so few…..” moment in time.

We are obliged to stand together to reverse this dangerous pandemic. Government must lead, the entire country for survival must be on the same page.

The order for every arrival to enter mandatory not voluntary quarantine is a step in right direction. Closing borders would be the right thing to do also.

40. @mariposa

You trying to tell me they have more old people on the streets after dark than younger ones?

You ever drove around after dark and seen what age liming on the street corners and gas stations etc? Old folks move early and like to be home before dark. Few of them even drive at night.

Also it’s not about age it’s about obeying the law of the curfew. The state has set a time for ALL to be off the road full stop! The law does not differentiate perpetrators by age, sex or race.

If businesses are going to close at 2 pm or 3 pm, why would one have a curfew starting as late as 8pm? 6 am to 6 pm should have been included in the new measures today. We also have to enforce the law or it will be no different to how we deal with the ZRs or motorcycle riders, who break every traffic law on the books every Sunday.

41. 382 tests 45 positive.

That is a rate of infection of 11.5%

To me a layman that is high. Hope Bajans are persuaded to follow the directives.

42. I told you a month ago that we have to detain Charles Jong. Even Mariposa laughed about it. Yes, Mariposa. Now we’re in trouble.

I admit that I underestimated the Wuhan flu a bit. I therefore propose the following measures to compensate for this:

Closing the external borders is not enough anymore. I´m sorry. We need to seal off every Parish and the gated communities. We also need a 24-hour curfew, seven days a week, for three months. People are only allowed to go to the supermarket one last time before this lockdown and then have to stay at home for three months. The military must monitor the curfew and punish all lawbreakers immediately. The airport will be closed for one year. No one will be allowed to enter.

We must also think about the economic consequences. The fifth IMF programme from next summer will, of course, be very tough. I propose that the population must hand over all their gold jewellery, cash and credit cards to the central bank. All citizens will also have to transfer to the central bank their foreign currency stocks in domestic and foreign accounts. Anyone who refuses to do so will be placed in coercive detention. Informers receive a reward of USD 1000 for every million USD discovered.

In order to prevent citizens from refusing to comply with these sanctions, citizens will no longer be allowed to leave the island for an indefinite period of time. Exceptions are made for a bail of 1 million USD.

43. “Authorities said 199 persons were asked to self quarantine . Who ensured the volunteerism?”

as i said before, people were given a form at the airport…they were supposed to check on/monitor these people DAILY…i had even made an error and said every 5 days…but they never turned up to monitor those people who flew in from infected countries….this is also on them….now they are trying to spin it…they did not take it seriously so neither did the population……now they themselves are panicking ..like John…

44. THIS SHOULD HELP WITH CORONAVIRUS BLUES.

WHOEVER SAID BLACK WAS NOT BEAUTIFUL.

YUMMY

45. “I propose that the population must hand over all their gold jewellery, cash and credit cards to the central bank. All citizens will also have to transfer to the central bank their foreign currency stocks in domestic and foreign accounts. Anyone who refuses to do so will be placed in coercive detention. Informers receive a reward of USD 1000 for every million USD discovered.”

of course all the known thieves will be out in droves…no joke…suited and booted to rob the population, but all of you are on ya way to prison so enjoy ya last free days……ticktock..

46. I was thinking today about these new measures and for many of us that was life in the 60s daily. Here goes.

Black and white tv with Zorro and Dark Shadows starting at 5pm on channel 8.

We had one TV channel only.

Black rotary phones with 5 digits were the only phones we had.

Business hours were 8 to 4 and half day on Saturdays with no Sunday shopping.

There was no WhatsApp, texting, internet or personal computers.

No Sheraton Mall, Dome Mall or any Mall.

No Chefette or Kentucky. Fast food was a sandwich made in a hurry.

Yet we survived and were happy with what we had. To many of us what was put forward today was just a trip down memory lane. To you younger ones, pick up the phone and call a friend instead of whatsapping them. Go old school you might actually enjoy it!

47. peterlawrencethompsonApril 1, 2020 9:25 PM

MariposaApril 1, 2020 9:09 PM
    “… especially the elderly who has to do their daytime chores…”
    +++++++++++++++
    Do the elderly need to do their daytime chores in groups out on the streets?? Why can they not stay at home? I’m well past 3 score years, but my chores never seem to be big social occasions; what am I missing

Xxccccccccccccccccc

Glad to know u are well organised which includes good transportation orderly and.efficient times at doctors appointments which includes collecting medicine from reliable pharmacies and all other daily chores in impeccable order
    Glad to hear glad to know
    But let me ask u a question do u live in barbados
    If the question is yes
    Wuh part of barbados is that
    If the answer is no then u get my drift

48. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

Now that capitalism has grind to a halt, it is times like these that my old school belief of zero debt and living off the land comes in handy. I can ride this stuff out for the long-run. How many can say the same?