Truth be told the blogmaster thought he had witnessed it all – Greenland, GEMS, Golden shower, police station at Crab Hill to name a few. Today’s Nation newspaper front page has knocked the blogmaster for six.

For the last two years of the DLP’s ‘lost decade’ period and the first two of the BLP, a building estimated to cost 28 million dollars, constructed with tax payers Rh dollars has been labelled a sick building with not one Rh person or stick of furniture having graced the doors of the new Sanitation Service Authority HQ.

#WTF

SSA Sick Building

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/244191/usd28m-ssa-building-sick

124 responses to “28 Million Taxpayers Dollars …”

1. This govt was in opposition for ten years and as opposition rightfully had several choices of opposing govt ideas or projects which they did not believe satisfy the public and country overall interest
    Now it behooves that this govt can be playing political games of putting the cart before the horse when in fact it was their job when in opposition to be forth right and diligent on the behest of the people
    If all the eyes were dotted a a t ‘s crossed their would have been no need to be asking any questions in regards to newly built buildings deemed sick
    This govt has perfected the role of having people run down the rabbit hole without first tell the truthfulness of all the facts

2. @ Greene
    @John A
    @ Vincent

What is a ‘sick’ building and what causes it?

3. “We the public are not looking for persons to blame. We expect proper management of our affairs. We want each tax dollar to be properly spent and public assets to be properly maintained and used.”

@ Mr. Codrington

Well written……

…………. I agree with you wholeheartedly.

And, I’m seeking your permission to offer the above comments to Mariposa for her consideration, so that as the ‘discussion’ continues, she would respond a bit more rationally and without the usual political rhetoric.

I believe there should be some sort of legislation in place to prevent politicians from making decisions on public assets as if they were their own. I don’t believe Mottley or any other PM, should have the authority to make unilateral decisions to destroy public assets, WITHOUT CONSULTING the public and use taxpayers’ money to build unnecessary things such as parks, just to fulfill their personal ambitions and leave a legacy.

What bothers me also is the fact that the ONLY voice Mottley seems to hear is HER OWN.

4. @ Hal

Here Is my definition of a sick building.

A. A building where nuff people sick and tired working there.

B. A building the politicians want to demolish to build a park

C. A building that we too lazy to properly maintain.

D. A building a previous party build dat that the other party don’t want.

E. Any combination of A to D but not limited to any of the above.

What more can we do but laugh at the blatant inneficiency of governments. I really wish that we as the taxpayers could see a published definition for what a sick building is by international standards. Also please tell us the international standards for the condemnation and destruction of a building based say on the British and American EPA standards.

Wunna hold you breath and wait for it..

5. What is a sick building and how does on determine when a building is sick?

6. Here it is:

https://www.epa.gov/sites/production/files/2014-08/documents/sick_building_factsheet.pdf
    The term “sick building syndrome” (SBS) is used to describe situations in which building occupants experience acute health and comfort effects that appear to be linked to time spent in a building, but no specific illness or cause can be identified. The complaints may be localized in a particular room or zone, or may be widespread throughout the building. In contrast, the term “building related illness” (BRI) is used when symptoms of diagnosable illness are identified and can be attributed directly to airborne building contaminants. A 1984 World Health Organization Committee report suggested that up to 30 percent of new and remodeled buildings worldwide may be the subject of excessive complaints related to indoor air quality (IAQ).

7. @ john A
    How old is Government House? How old is Ilaro Court? How old is the Museum? How old is Cave Shepherd? Do w gt sick building syndrome in th private sector? How old is Sandy Lane? I can go on.

8. Or this

https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/sick-building-syndrome/

Sick building syndrome

Sick building syndrome is the name for symptoms you only get while in a particular building, usually an office.
    Check if you have sick building syndrome

Symptoms of sick building syndrome get worse the longer you’re in a particular building and get better after you leave.

Other people in the building may also have symptoms.

Possible symptoms include:

headaches
    blocked or runny nose
    dry, itchy skin
    dry, sore eyes
    rashes
    tiredness and difficulty concentrating

Information:

These symptoms are common and can be caused by lots of things. They’re unlikely to be sick building syndrome if you have them all the time or in lots of places.

9. Madam,

RE: “”Artax where did i make mention of an environmental”IMPACT” assessment in my comments?”

I simply ASKED you re: “Do you know what is actually meant by conducting an environmental impact assessment?”

Where in that question does it SUGGEST or IMPLY you mentioned anything about an environmental impact assessment in your comments?

RE: “Seems in your rush to defend govt actions a govt who now looks clownish when in opposition did not challenge or ask then govt to do an scientific assessment of the soil.”

And, in your rush to criticize the government, you’re wrote some nonsense about the then Opposition should have challenged or asked the former DLP administration for “a scientific assessment of the soil,” merely to imply it’s the BLP’s fault the old NIS building remained closed since 2011 until it demolition in 2020. Sheer dishonesty.

But, I must remind you of the words of your colleagues, whenever the then Opposition asked questions re: “we ent want to hear nuffin from wunnuh, wunnuh had 14 years, it is we turn now.” I suspect asking for a “scientific assessment of the soil” would have drawn that response and ‘fallen of deaf ears.’

However, I could similarly ask you, when the then BLP administration closed Louis Lynch Secondary in 2005, why did the DLP Opposition not asked for a “scientific assessment of the soil” as well.

And, this brings me back to two points you made previously, which, based on your comments, probably went way over your head.

(1). “Most likely when that building or project was being proposed NO ONE CARED about the ENVIRONMENTAL QUESTION or IMPACT on the building.”

(2). “It must be a curse which has fallen upon the Barbadian people to have POLITICIANS whose only CONCERN are THEIR POLITICAL MOORINGS.”

By those comments, which are EQUALLY applicable to both BLP & DLP, you have essentially endorsed Mr. Skinner’s description of the “duopoly.”

10. @ Simple Simon

Since Mariposa is asking for a “scientific assessment of the soil,” does it mention anywhere, the symptoms you mentioned above, could be caused by “things” in the soil seeping through the buildings’ walls and into the offices to affect the people?

Wuhloss…. murduh.

11. @john2 March 6, 2020 9:41 AM “THE FLU VIRUS IS MORE DEADLY THEN THE CORONA.”

Not true. But your views are a common misconception. The flu kills about 1 in 1,000. Corona is killing about 20 or 30 in every thousand. So corona may be twenty or thirty times as deadly as the flu. And that is why WHO and every Ministry of health of ALL countries are worried.

“During the 2018-19 season, about one out of every 1,000 people who got the flu died. However, breaking down the numbers by age range reveals a more complex story. Among children, there was about one death in every 10,000 cases. In adults between 50 and 64, about six out of every 10,000 people who got the flu died.”
    More here:
    https://www.businessinsider.com/coronavirus-compared-to-flu-mortality-rates-2020-3

12. The term sick building can be attributed to the lack of maintenance. Off-hand, I would say that the causative factors are as follows : 10 excessive concentration of radon gas in the building, 2).A high incidence of particulate matter in the atmosphere and 3). high levels of humidity which result in what is known as the water activity being conducive to fungal growth a nd the dispersion of fungal spores.
    Radon is a radioactive gas which forms part of the natural radioactive back ground on earth. The concentration of radon varies since it is dependent upon the type of rocks present in the affected area. If buildings are sited in areas where there is rapid break down of rocks high in residual radon, then radon build up increases in buildings sited thereon. The inhabitants of such buildings are taken ill. One has to determine the radon concentration in the building by subtracting the normal background level of radon.

The high incidence of particulate matter in Barbados is not a surprise-one only has to experienced the foul black smoke emitted by buses and trucks on the roadways. these exhaust are filled with particulate carbon, dioxins and other harmful gases. On inspection, the diesel injectors should be checked. The injectors locally do not seem to be check at all.

High humidity in enclosed spaces leads to high humidity and a proliferation of microbial growth. Microbial growth can be impeded by the use of dehumidifiers as simple as that. The lack of installation of dehumidifiers is amazing.

13. It appears as if Barbadians are doing all thy can to prove @Tron right. Here are a people, lucky to have a moderately paid jobs, no savings to talk about, yet they appear to hate work. They walk out at the slightest thing, encouraged by rabble-rousing trade unions keen to intimidate weak governments.
    Good employers would call their bluff. Keep them on strike for weeks and months and make them suffer. When they give in and return to work, cut their salaries and impose stricter conditions on them. They must wake up and smell the coffee.
    It is 7pm in London now, go in to the City and you will find people at their desks who arrived at work at 9am; when they leave the building they will have mobile phones to keep in touch, and will be reading work-related emails.

14. @ Silly Woman March 6, 2020 2:59 PM

You seem to be very well read on the virus. It is a pity you did not do science; you would have made a pretty good scientist.

15. Correction : has to experienced should be ” has to experience

16. @ Robert

It is OK. You do not have to correct your typos on BU.

17. @ Hal March 6, 2020 3:08 PM

Barbadians do not seem to realize that else where people are paid next -to-nothing and work long hours. It amazes the amount of work stoppages there are locally. There are strikes and walk outs over very silly issues. It is no wonder that the owners prefer to set up businesses else where. There was a lot of gnashing of teeth over the way those tourist oriented businesses were shut with no notice to the workers. Barbadians need to awake up call that the world is a very tough place. This country, since the end of the subsidy to sugar, is at sea about what to do and how to do..

18. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    Here we go again. DLP builds building and it remains unoccupied for two years.
    Government changes to BLP same building remains unoccupied for two more years
    Result: Taxpayers money wasted for four years.
    So once again the cool aid drinkers and apologists and cool aid drinkers score their childish political party points.
    Meanwhile 30 million dollars in our money just sitting there as another expensive Duopoly political football.

Same old nonsense .
    The Duopoly Rules

19. @Greene

Interesting comment, a sub plot to this story is who from government leaked the story to the Nation newspaper.

20. @Vincent

Yours is a reasonable expectation from a taxpayer. Then the reality sets in.

21. @ Hal

Your point is well accepted for sure. Think of the plantation houses on the island many of which are over 200 years old.

Look specifically at Warrens Great House, a building in excess of 100 years old that now houses major corporate interest. I was in there last month and it’s fully airconditioned and spotless. How about the old Mutual building at the bottom of Broadstreet, another 100 year old building still in good shape.

We care for nothing and then instead of firing those responsible for maintenance, we probably promote them.

22. ” SICK BUILDINGS ” in Barbados exist because successive governments have failed to do ROUTINE inspections and maintenance.

23. @John A and Hants

There is an observation that the style of building in recent years changes to enclosed totally dependent on AC compared to allowing for ventilation.

24. “To develop and maintain all government buildings, bridges, jetties and wharves and similar structures and other public assets.”

https://www.gov.bb/Ministries/transport-works

25. @ David,

If you are not going to turn on the Air conditioning, open the windows. lol

As an aside, Barbados has competent professionals who can develop Inspection and maintenance programs.

26. No windows to open Hants. These newer buildings are not designed to welcome natural flow of fresh air. Add carpet, poor filing etc to the mix and ….

27. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal
    Just looking for balance to expose rampant hypocrisy. Where was all this anti-worker sentiment in the past when we were marching and protesting every day. Where was the anti-worker sentiment when employers were encouraging workers to strike.
    This is pure Duopoly hogwash. Where is the proof of all these fantastic wages workers are getting? We have a vast number of workers who don’t earn much more than 300 per week.
    All of these opportunistic party hacks trying to prop up the Duopoly by unleashing nauseating attacks on the working class.
    When it suits their interest they call for free education. Then the same people turn around and declare free education is the culprit. Every day on BU they spit up in the air and it drops down in their cool aid faces.
    Pro and anti work sentiment on BU is solely about party political expediency at the time.
    I hope they all burn in the political hell. All they do is change their mouths and pens to defend either the DLP or BLP. Imagine these miscreants who the working class nurtured to where they are in their fancy houses and cars now without shame write the most horrifying things and descriptions of the same poor black working classes from which they ungrateful selves have barely escaped.
    The Duopoly Rules

28. Artax if u knew anything on soil contamination and its effect
    Just maybe you might have sounded the alarm to both govts

29. First there was the Chinese Corona Virus now I have to endure this Chinese Water Torture I.e. the dribs and drabs that is slowly being released about the infelicities of the previous Gov’t – The Minister even said they may be “felonies”. Does that mean the Gov’t has engaged the services of the RBPF? Thankfully “David” pointed out that a previous Gov’t was prone to the same behavior and it is an affliction that affects all Bajan Gov’ts it is known as “Squandermania”

Here Boys and Girls is your word of the week “Squandermania”

30. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Well it’s the truth, did they not make laws to lock up people for lying, there are palace pimps everywhere, why is NOTHING ever working in favor of the population FOR THE LAST 80 YEARS, they always lose out and the leaders who always pledge allegiance to the cousins in the palace are the ones who continue to perpetrate these crimes to benefit themselves.

These house negros’ only goals in life are to create the delusional appearance of being wealthy but it is always at their own people’s expense.

“The owners of this building are charging the SSA bds$450,000.00 a month to rent it. The rental contract between SSA and the Edghill owners is for 30 years. $450,000.00 x 12 x 30 = bds$162 MILLION DOLLARS.”

This is extreme greed and standard operating procedure against the people and island by these WELL KNOW CROOKS AND THEIR HOUSE NEGRO PARTNERS IN THE PARLIAMENT.

“It is amazing the amounts of multi-million dollar deals that seem to be done and can can be questioned. This building, the overpriced port scanners, White Oaks, the procurement of garbage trucks, the Cahill deal….”

SOP will remain as is as long as this toxic, greedy and treacherous government is in place, the electorate must remove them or it will never end.

31. @ Willkiam

There is no anti-worker sentiment; what there is is anti-irresponsibility. People walking out because they sneeze or a cough is ridiculous. There is an orderly procedure: if the building is suspect, then call in experts to look at it and find a cause, if any. If there is a genuine problem, then we may have to look at the materials and methods of building large-scale buildings. I cannot see any evidence of any of this.
    Walking out because the building is ‘sick’ is nonsense. What is the real complaint?
    Poor representation from the trade unions is another matter. These are the very unions that conspire with governments on the so-called Social Partnership
    Remember the nonsense at Alexandra and later at Combermere? Trade unions have no God given right. I remember trade unionists marching in support of Enoch Powell, and voting for Brexit because “too many black people were coming in to Britain”.
    Workers must put in a fair day’s work for a fair day’s pay. Is that too much to ask? I will give you an example of what I mean: a few years ago I went to the Government Printery to buy some documents. When I was about to leave one of the clerks asked for a lift in to town.
    It was about 2.30-3pm and I said to him he would be fired for leaving work early. He said no man, I will call in the union. Something is wrong with the nation.

32. @ David.

Warrens Great House has been serving as fully enclosed and airconditioned corporate offices for more years than the old NIS building was actually in use for. So has been the case with the old Mutual Building, going back to the days of The Bridgetown Club when it was housed there.

There is no excuse for piss poor maintenance regrettably.

33. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Plots, schemes and scams against the African descended by the cousins in UK MUST ALWAYS BE EXPOSED by the media, by civil servants who once kept their mouths shut about the Windrush crimes against the African descended from the Caribbean…….just like this 8 pound an hour farming/slave labor scam in UK to ENSLAVE BLACK BAJANS that the treacherous PM volunteered to perpetrate..

https://www.facebook.com/groups/sohee/permalink/2781460478613174/

34. @ Hal Austin March 6, 2020 3:08 PM

Hal is my man! I agree that the syndrome is a combination of government neglect of public buildings and excuses of local public servants waiting for an opportunity to stroll and sleep at home instead of working for the taxpayer.

But there is also a third factor: the local mentality of imitating everything the whites in the north do. Therefore, many public buildings in Barbados are unsuitable for the tropics. Instead of providing good ventilation from the sea breeze and shielding the sun, the buildings are fitted with large glass surfaces and hermetically sealed. At natural room temperature, officials would have to do without their suits and ties. No sensible person in the tropics dresses like the whites in the north.

We finally need the self-confidence to go to work in short trousers, short-sleeved shirts and tropical hats. Even a safari costume or a tropical suit like Indiana Jones’ would help.

35. Let me give you an example of clothing that is appropriate in public buildings in the Caribbean according to my private opinion:

brown shoes, beige socks, beige trousers half-length, tropical shirt half-length sleeves, grey hunting vest with storage space for survival gear and cartridges, white tropical helmet French style (no Pith helmet, since we do not want to intimidate the native masses), dust goggles on the helmet, black sunglasses with maximum sun protection factor in the face.

36. NorthernObserver Avatar

@MTA
    Read JQ at 11.41
    You always wish to know about funding behind Hyatt. Wasn’t the said Edgehill folks the ones who sold the US Embassy to the Americans for untold millions. Now you know the source.

37. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Tron
    You ought to open your own fashion line.

38. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal
    All I ask for is balance. I read plenty of attacks on the working class by some on this blog. I don’t include you in that group. I particularly addressed you on this topic because I realized that those who have spent four or five years lambasting you are now suddenly finding your positions viable. I am saying to you that some of the most vile comments have been directed at the working class because they want to defend the shortcomings of their Duopoly. I don’t consider you a part of this group.
    I am no authority on sick buildings but if the people who work in them feel they are making them sick, they should demonstrate their feelings.
    Teachers at the Louis Lynch School were complaining and falling sick. Corrective action was tardy. Some died. We must be balanced.

39. @ William

I was not attacking a class of people, but those who, for no obvious reason, usually find a reason to go slow at work, strike, walk out, etc, without attempting to find solutions.
    I am like you, building may make normally healthy people sick, but we have a right to ask in what way does it affect them and can it be resolved.
    To remove any doubt, my entire life has been committed to ordinary working black people.

40. @Tron

Bermudans used to wear exactly what you say, so did a certain class in Barbados. I remember a Mr Sealy, a brown skinned agricultural officer, who also dressed like that so did some plantation employees.
    In Australia, in the old days, they also used to wear short trousers (Bermuda shorts), long socks and tie-less short-sleeved shirts. I dislike short sleeve shirts.

41. @Artax March 6, 2020 2:50 PM @ Simple Simon “Since Mariposa is asking for a “scientific assessment of the soil,” does it mention anywhere, the symptoms you mentioned above, could be caused by “things” in the soil seeping through the buildings’ walls and into the offices to affect the people?”

Not unlessshe is thinking about something like the Love Canal, in New York

Love Canal was a neighborhood in Niagara Falls, New York. The neighborhood is infamous as the location of a 70-acre (28 ha; 0.11 sq mi; 0.28 km2) landfill which became the site of a massive environmental disaster in the 1970s, harming the health of hundreds of residents and culminating in an extensive Superfund cleanup operation.

More here:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Love_Canal

42. @robert lucas March 6, 2020 3:11 PM @ Silly Woman March 6, 2020 2:59 PM “You seem to be very well read on the virus. It is a pity you did not do science; you would have made a pretty good scientist.”

At secondary school I hated my science teacher and she hated me. So there went my career as a scientist. However i did manage to study Biology to 5th form, but that was about 50 years ago. LOL! So i have no training in science beyond 5th form, but i do read a lot. Also surrounded by a family many of whom are nurses, doctors, lab technicians, hospital administrators etc.

Even as a non scientist i noticed that once I enclosed a cellar space it became very damp. Metal objects stored there began to rust. So I got a cousin who is a mason [we ALL have cousins who are excellent tradesmen] to cut some ventilation holes in the outer walls and to install about a dozen “ventilation blocks” the red clay ones, they are light, but strong. My screen guy installed some screen netting over the block work to stop rats, mice, frogs, mosquitoes etc from climbing in. Ventilation improved. Dampness gone. Vermin cannot get in. In the interim I also bought a charcoal (I think, it was a while ago) dehumidifier to suck up some of the moisture. Cellar is now completely dry.

I have taught my children not to obsess about “problems” but always, always to search for solutions.

43. @Hal Austin March 6, 2020 3:08 PM “It is 7pm in London now, go in to the City and you will find people at their desks who arrived at work at 9am>”

What? They arrive at work as late as 9 am? lazy buggers

In my heyday i arrived promptly at 7:30 a.m.

And they are only working 10 hours per day? Unbelieveable!

In my heyday I put in at least 14 hours most days

44. @ Mariposa

Okay, then. Since you seem to be suggesting I don’t “know anything on soil contamination and its effects,”…….. and apparently you do, perhaps YOU should have “sounded the alarm to both governments.”

45. Not such a thing for mariposa to sound the alarm
    The goverance of barbados has two wings for balance the ruling govt and the opposition party
    The opposition giving a right to hold govt feet to the fire in a reasonable passionate and deliberate manner which underscore accountability and transparency both of which by all means necessary and which should be absent of political influence or seizure of political opportunity or grandstanding
    It therefore goes without a shadow of doubt that the opposition who are payed by taxpayers money to look out for country and peoples best interest failed miserably in their duty to exercise due dilligence in having an overall enviromental assesement on lands where these buildings would be erected
    What is amazing that present govt now wants to point fingers but fails to understand that if their duty as opposition was taken as a duty to people and country the NIS or treasury bldg would not have been built without proper evaluation tantamount to important enviromental issues
    Yes there are two sides to good goverance and being in opposition does not sheild a party from having to face or be blamed for some of the failures resulting from poor goverance of the country

46. Sick building syndrome. Here in Ottawa the federal government has been trying to get rid of chinks in three of their office towers. The fumigators go in and spray and think the job is done. Then the nits (eggs) hatch and they have a second wave. It has been a recurring problem since last year. They don’t realize that they have to scald the eggs to stop the infestation. In the 50’s/60’s when most all Barbadians had chinks we used to burn the beds (khus khus) take the bedsteads outside and wash them down with boiling water while someone inside did the bedroom walls. In those days the partitions were tongue and groove and the chinks always found a way in the crevices. Then out came the flit can and DDT to catch any missing creatures. Job done not a chink in sight up to today.

47. Mari

You hooked up!!!
    both Bridgetown and the south coast

48. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Barbados’ well known dishonest, crooked employers who hate to pay their employees salaries let alone benefits.

“Published on
    March 7, 2020
    Concern is increasing among former workers of bankrupt construction firm, Black Bess Quarry Limited, who claim that over two months after being sent home, they have not received vacation monies, payment in lieu of notice or bonus payments owed to them.

But the company’s Chief Executive Officer Wayne Manning is adamant that all liability now rests with the trustee appointed to liquidate the company’s assets and pay its debts. He also firmly refuted suggestions from some ex-workers that the previous owners are now offering the same services as the company’s predecessor under a new name.

A former employee this week told Barbados TODAY that workers were growing uneasy about the seemingly dormant situation and some who desperately need employment have been settling for less favourable contracts with the company’s previous owners.

“Nobody is telling us anything. The last meeting with management was last month when Manning said he would send out a letter stating how much he owed and when he could pay but we haven’t seen him,” the axed employee revealed while adding that his empty-handed colleagues were now looking to the National Insurance Scheme (NIS) for their severance.

Manning, however, after discussions with the Supervisor of Insolvency, is holding out hope that the workers’ compensation will be the first priority when a trustee is installed next week.”

49. All the bells and whistles, but things don’t work the way they are supposed to.
    It’s the toy train syndrome

50. “John2 March 6, 2020 11:35 PM #: Mari.. You hooked up!!! both Bridgetown and the south coast.”

@ John2

And, sewage of shiite and rhetorical political diatribe OVERFLOWING on BU’s streets, too.

But, perhaps you may want to ask her HOW DOES she KNOW whether or not the “Opposition who are payed (PAID) by taxpayers money to look out for country and peoples best interest, failed miserably in their duty to exercise due diligence in having an overall environmental assessment on lands where these buildings would be erected?”

Did a George Street colleague told her; did she READ the OFFICIAL RECORD of DEBATES in parliament to VERIFY or did she read about it somewhere?

If she was NOT TOLD, or, she DID NOT READ ‘Hansard,’ or read about it somewhere, then, she’s ONLY making WILD, UNSUBSTANTIATED political ASSUMPTIONS, which is tantamount to POLITICAL GRANDSTANDING.

Or, perhaps she may want to present to BU, the evidence upon which she’s making the claim.

Ohhhh, BTW, on one hand, Mari is essentially blaming the Opposition by ‘saying’ they allowed government to construct buildings in the absence of “an overall environmental assessment on lands where these building would be erected”……..

………. and on the other, she harshly criticised them “in their duty to exercise due diligence when they asked the former government for an overall environmental assessment on lands where the Hyatt hotel would have been erected.”

Yuh know, yuh just can’t please Mari.