This submission is timely with the Coronavirus in China. Nine million Chines in one region have been asked to evacuate. How worried should Barbados be about the virus? The blogmaster exercised license by inserting ‘Coronavirus’ in the title.
David, blogmaster

Submitted from and email addressee ‘is time to wake up’.

Today I listen to BBC and its report on the horrific conditions of Muslims in China who in large numbers are kidnapped , tortured and having their human rights violated.  I did an online investigation and talked to the few Chinese I know, to see if it is true. All reports independent of the oppressive government indicate that the government run Nazi type totalitarian concentration camps are true.  The Chinese in Barbados refuse to talk publically for fear of retribution but some outside of Barbados are talking up.  The current government of China does not want a society that is inclusive and have independent thought. Caribbean governments and people who benefit financially from the Chinese government turn a blind eye to the violation of human rights.

China’s Communist party is intensifying religious persecution as Christianity’s popularity grows. A new state translation of the Bible will establish a ‘correct understanding’ of the text. While China hasn’t established concentration camps for Christians as it has done for Muslims, it has harassed Christian congregations, closed and destroyed churches.

A previous Guyanese Ambassador to China secretly held Christian services in his embassy in Beijing. Do your own investigation in Guyana!  The Barbados previous ambassador to China in Beijing, had issue with the lack of rights to worship in the Christian faith as well as the smog in Beijing but he strongly coerced (ordered) by the Chinese to be the Barbadian Ambassador.  He did not want to be there.  Is Barbados a “Satellite of none” as Right Honorable Errol Barrow said  or  just willing to turn the blind eye to atrocities and doing anything for handouts. Do your own investigation in Barbados!

149 responses to “Coronavirus Outbreak – Is Barbados Becoming a Satellite of China?”

1. Piece the Legend Avatar

The oppression of Christians by various regimes is noted and notable globally!

China’s involvement in and oppression of Christians and other ethnicities is also noted AND NOTABLE.

If, under the Coronavirus chapeau, one can hide a genocidal attack against all the enemies of THE STATE, and craft a narrative that is accepted by the world to rid yourself of the undesirable WHICH GOVERNMENT CAN

1.say that you are effecting a modern day Auswicht

2.monitor said vector interventions and eradication

3.hold you accountable for said Mein Kampf

But, what is more ominous than all this is the way that China is regaled in 55 African Union States

Now IF de ole man’s rants and ramblings are to be taken AS SERIOUSLY AS YOUR OWN UNCONFIRMED COMMENTS ABOUT the Guyanese Ambassador to China holding Christian Services there, de ole man’s question is this

WHAT CAN PEOPLE DO ABOUT THE MOST POPULOUS COUNTRY IN THE WORLD???

2. First problem. Never trust a word you hear on the BBC. It’s a source of endless lies and propaganda. Instead of crying crocodile tears about Muslims in China, why doesn’t it focus on the devastation of the lives of millions of Muslims in Iraq, Libya and Syria that the British government has caused and for which the BBC carried out massive propaganda. It would be good if Barbados was genuinely independent and not a satellite of any country but that’s never been the case since 1627. The last time people in Barbados lived independently was during the time that the indigenous people lived on the island.

3. They are always with the bullshit talk to fool the most stupid, they know well Enuff they remain a satellite of UK and always will because of their own decades of self-hatred…but would never, ever tell the people that, too busy enriching themselves and eating living flesh in their forever quest to pretend they are born from money..

4. Some one representing the Ministry of Health admitted that the island hasn’t got the capability to detect the virus. I am not surprised by the statement. There is little room in this country for the research microbiologist.. I will say one thing, if the virus spreads to Barbados, there will be persons locally begging the same countries which have been vilify on this post, to come to their aid. The BBC is bias towards left-wing liberals, no doubt about that: one only has to tune-in to a program called “Week End.” It is true that the British have caused a lot of strife all over the world: even the Foreign Minister for the Tony Blair’s government(Jack Straw) admitted that all the problems in todays world have their aegis in the actions of Imperial Britain.
    As to whether Barbados is a satellite of China, that remains to be seen. As for the way the Chinese treat their Muslim minority it is their internal problem and having viewed the problems in the west, they have all rights to prevent the same. In Muslim majority countries, non-Muslim get treated very badly and there is very little hue and cry about the matter world-wide.

5. @ Robert

Why does the once great Advocate newspaper act as a mouth piece for the Chinese? Everyday they carry a page of free Chinese propaganda. Disgraceful.
    By the way, the BBC is not a liberal organisation at all. It is a racist, right-wing organisation staffed by unproductive Oxbridge types. I should know, I worked there for a time.

6. @Dr. Lucas

Please clarify what you mean about detection the virus. Do you mean the lab facility? The news report suggests should the need arises the samples would have to be sent to CDC or Canada.

7. @ Hal January 23, 2020 4:11 PM

“The Advocate” maybe carrying “a page of free Chinese propaganda” for the following reason. I have gotten it from very well informed sources that, the island-wide power outage damaged “The Advocate’s” printing plant. “The Advocate” is being printed at the “Nation ‘ newspaper. Sometime last month I was in the Library having a perusal of the papers ( I wasn’t aware at the time of the problem) and couldn’t help wondering at the paucity in size of the ” The Advocate.” The owner of the paper prior to Thompson’s tenure was very pro-BLP: within a few days of the Thompson’s regime coming to power, there he was on the front page kissing Thompson’s backside. There was then a remarkably shift in the stance of the paper, which published editorials on the front pages in support of the Dems. I used to be able to get my articles published in “The Advocate” presenting scientific facts dealing with all and sundry without favor. Since then, it appears that I have been banned ,can’t get anything published by it. I doubt the present government sends business its way.
    As for the BBC being right -wing I beg to differ. There is the feed-back e-mail: “over to you” I have sent numerous comments requesting a more equitable distribution of views. Just listen to “Week End” and you will see what I mean. All of the members on the panels are distinctly liberal left-wingers. There is never an opposing view. It might have been so when you were there. These days I only listen to its science programs.

8. @ David January 23, 2020 4:54 PM
    Yes lab facilities. There would have to use negative pressure lab at level 3 and above. The negative pressure ensures that the virus can’t spread to the out side environment. The same would have been done in the case of Ebola ( sending over seas to isolate and confirm the genotype of the suspected organism. Dealing with these things aren’t for the faint hearted. One slip and the researcher is dead. Forms part of the adrenaline rush one gets, knowing that one is fooling around with lethal pathogens.

9. @Robert

The Advocate is a 24-page paper of terrible journalism, but then again the same can be said of CBC, the Nation and Barbados Today. Read the issues of the Advocate after Donville was convicted.
    I am not suggesting the Chines may be passing money to them for their propaganda, but they have done so in the past.
    About the BBC, you may listen to the World Service, but the organisation employs about 25000 people, mainly working in what used to be called the Home Service. I worked there for about three years and am not prepared to debate the politics of the BBC. Ask any black person in the UK what they think.

10. @ Hal January 23, 2020 4:54 PM

Have no problem with your position.

11. @David “Nine million Chines in one region have been asked to evacuate”

They have not been asked to evacuate, which means to move.

Rather the opposite is true. They have been asked to stay put. To not move from the affected cities.

WHO and every government in the world is on the alert.

I still remember the 1957 flu. The only time in my life when the whole family were all sick all at once, even my parents Super Dad and Super Mum

12. @Piece the Legend January 23, 2020 6:15 AM “WHAT CAN PEOPLE DO ABOUT THE MOST POPULOUS COUNTRY IN THE WORLD???”

I don’t know of any country that wants to pick fight with China.

Do you?

13. @Piece the Legend January 23, 2020 6:15 AM “If, under the Coronavirus chapeau, one can hide a genocidal attack against all the enemies of THE STATE, and craft a narrative that is accepted by the world to rid yourself of the undesirable.”

“Spanish” ‘flu, 1918-1920
    Even now scientists still argue about where this ‘flu originated, France? United States? China? Spain? Austria? but there is no doubt that the First European War helped it to spread around the globe.

Hypotheses about the source

The major troop staging and hospital camp in Étaples, France, was identified by researchers as being at the center of the Spanish flu. The research was published in 1999 by a British team, led by virologist John Oxford.[20] In late 1917, military pathologists reported the onset of a new disease with high mortality that they later recognized as the flu. The overcrowded camp and hospital was an ideal site for the spreading of a respiratory virus. The hospital treated thousands of victims of chemical attacks, and other casualties of war. 100,000 soldiers were in transit through the camp every day. It also was home to a live piggery, and poultry was regularly brought in for food supplies from surrounding villages. Oxford and his team postulated that a significant precursor virus, harbored in birds, mutated and then migrated to pigs kept near the front.[21][22]

There have been claims that the epidemic originated in the United States. Historian Alfred W. Crosby claimed that the flu originated in Kansas,[23] and popular author John Barry described Haskell County, Kansas, as the point of origin.[15] It has also been claimed that, by late 1917, there had already been a first wave of the epidemic in at least 14 US military camps.[24]

Earlier hypotheses put forward varying points of origin for the epidemic. Some hypothesized that the flu originated in East Asia, a common area for transmission of disease from animals to humans because of dense living conditions.[25] Claude Hannoun, the leading expert on the 1918 flu for the Pasteur Institute, asserted the former virus was likely to have come from China. It then mutated in the United States near Boston and from there spread to Brest, France, Europe’s battlefields, Europe, and the world with Allied soldiers and sailors as the main disseminators.[26] He considered several other hypotheses of origin, such as Spain, Kansas and Brest, as being possible, but not likely.

Political scientist Andrew Price-Smith published data from the Austrian archives suggesting the influenza had earlier origins, beginning in Austria in early 1917.[27]

In 2014, historian Mark Humphries argued that the mobilization of 96,000 Chinese laborers to work behind the British and French lines might have been the source of the pandemic. Humphries, of the Memorial University of Newfoundland in St. John’s, based his conclusions on newly unearthed records. He found archival evidence that a respiratory illness that struck northern China in November 1917 was identified a year later by Chinese health officials as identical to the Spanish flu.[28][29] A report published in 2016 in the Journal of the Chinese Medical Association found no evidence that the 1918 virus was imported to Europe via Chinese and Southeast Asian soldiers and workers. It found evidence that the virus had been circulating in the European armies for months and possibly years before the 1918 pandemic.[30]
    Wikipedia

14. @David January 23, 2020 4:54 PM “Please clarify what you mean about detection the virus. Do you mean the lab facility? The news report suggests should the need arises the samples would have to be sent to CDC or Canada.”

The virus was only detected 3 or 4 weeks ago, and the DNA sequenced since then. So “no” Barbados does not have the facilities to test for the specific virus, but remember that if a person comes down with a disease of this nature treatment typically begins, MUST BEGIN before confirmation by the lab. There is as yet no vaccine nor specific medicine for the virus anywhere in the world. Treatment is supportive.

15. Two sisters and a sister in law were front line nurses during the SARS outbreak in Toronto. A very scary time. One worked in public health with very vulnerable populations, scarier still.

16. @is time to wake up “A previous Guyanese Ambassador to China secretly held Christian services in his embassy in Beijing. Do your own investigation in Guyana! The Barbados previous ambassador to China in Beijing, had issue with the lack of rights to worship in the Christian faith as well as the smog in Beijing>”

So is there a problem with the Ambassador holding services in the embassy? Don’t embassies have diplomatic immunity and are therefore not bound by the laws of the country in which they were located?

So our ambassador had issues with the smog? If the ambassador has discovered any way in which to keep more than 1 billion people fed, warm and housed without creating smog I am sure that the Chinese would be happy to know, and there will be a Nobel Science Prize waiting for the ambassador.

Beijing has smog. Everybody knows that. If you can’t stand smog, don’t go there.

China is a communist country. Communists don’t believe in God and don’t practice the religion thingy. Anybody who goes to China expecting to find a Christian church or a mosque or a synagogue right around the corner is bound to be disappointed.

17. Silly Woman
    January 23, 2020 10:46 PM

@Piece the Legend January 23, 2020 6:15 AM “WHAT CAN PEOPLE DO ABOUT THE MOST POPULOUS COUNTRY IN THE WORLD???”

++++++++++++++++++++++

Wait for it to become the second most populous country!!

18. Silly Woman
    January 23, 2020 11:29 PM

So our ambassador had issues with the smog? If the ambassador has discovered any way in which to keep more than 1 billion people fed, warm and housed without creating smog I am sure that the Chinese would be happy to know, and there will be a Nobel Science Prize waiting for the ambassador.
    Beijing has smog. Everybody knows that. If you can’t stand smog, don’t go there.

That is just because Greta Thunberg hasn’t reached there yet, and she probably won’t even though her biggest bugbears are China and India!!

19. Silly Woman
    January 23, 2020 11:01 PM

Never knew of the Chinese connection to Spanish Flu.

Interesting.

Thanks.

https://www.jstor.org/stable/3401475?seq=1

Not absolute proof but certainly the plausibility is explored in this paper.

Should have guessed it given the numerous times various strains of flue arising in Asia were in the news.

20. @Simple Simon

Thanks for he correction, lockdown was the word omitted.

21. @nineofnine January 23, 2020 7:17 PM

How many on this blog do you expect to follow the molecular biology/biotechnology in the link provided by you? Molecular biology isn’t law, economics or political science.

22. @ Silly Woman January 23, 2020 10:43 PM

“I still remember the 1957 flu”

I had it. Indeed most of Prep two at Combermere came down with it. There was a lot of sneezing and deep green snot coming from one’s nostrils. It was a very uncomfortable time. No one thought about the gravity of the situation.at the time. Locally, there wasn’t as far as I can remember any mention of the 1918 flu. There was the Hong Kong flu in 1968 ;at the time I was first year student of agriculture and I came down with it. Another uncomfortable time (lots of sneezing and green snot from the nose again).

23. @ Robert

I do not remember the 1957 flue, which means neither I nor those close to me did not suffer from it. Were lucky. The UK Cobra committee, the top security commit, is meeting this afternoon to discuss the coronavirus. What is happening in Barbados?

24. Any reaction from our medical authorities yet?

25. What is the latest from our world class medical authorities, punching above their weight? What if the virus mutates?

26. @Hal January 24, 2020 3:05 PM
    That everything is under control. What do you expect them to say?

27. @ Robert

Every time I think I have an idea of the level of incompetence of our technocrats and politicians they sink even further. Maybe the world is wrong, we are punching above our weight. I feel sorry for ordinary Barbadians.

28. The prime minster has ben elected to serve the people of Barbados, not rule them. She has to reassure the nation that they do not face a threat from the coronavirus, or that they have in place to deal with an outbreak. So far she is failing at her job.

29. Are you in Barbados to hear the public service announcements from the minister of health, the chief medical officer et al and other public service announcements

30. Minister of Health and Wellness, Lt. Col. Jeffrey Bostic, told a press briefing today that the virus posed no direct threat to Barbados at the moment, but the Ministry remained alert because of the potential threat.(Quote)

31. China is building a 1000-bed hospital in ten days to cope with projected demand from the coronavirus; nations are stockpiling medicines; entire provinces in China are being quarantined – and Barbados is staying calm and continuing to punch above its weight as a world class nation. Wow! What incompetence.

32. Meanwhile, Barbados remains calm (or apathetic)

WASHINGTON – Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) Director Dr Carissa Etienne today urged the entire Americas to be prepared to detect early, isolate and care for receiving stricken travellers from countries where there is ongoing transmission of the mystery virus.

As she briefed ambassadors to the 35-nation Organisation of American States (OAS), the Dominican health expert said: “Health services need to be prepared because they will most likely be the entry point where cases of the new coronavirus will be detected, as has already happened with previous epidemics.
    “PAHO stands ready to support them because detecting cases early can prevent the spread of the disease.”
    So far, some 846 confirmed cases of infection by Novel Coronavirus (2019-nCov) have been reported globally, including 830 cases from China. Of these, 177 cases were severe and 25 died. Of the confirmed cases, eight out of ten were over the age of 40 and the majority – 64 per cent – were men.
    Other cases have been reported in Thailand (4), Japan (2); Hong Kong (2), the Republic of Korea (2), Macau (2) and Singapore (1). In the Americas, the United States has confirmed two cases of travellers from China.
    In Wuhan, China, health workers were one of the affected groups, which has put health services under pressure. Dr Etienne stressed the importance of the awareness and training of the region’s health personnel and promoting the use of infection prevention equipment to protect them from disease.

The PAHO chief said the organization has activated its incident management system, and that since the beginning of January it has shared information with ministries of health through the International Health Regulations channel and through its country representatives. She said PAHO will continue to update information on what countries can do to effectively respond to this new virus, about which there is still uncertainty.
    WHO Director-General Dr Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus this week convened the Emergency Committee to advise him on whether the outbreak in China constitutes a public health emergency of international concern (PHEIC). The WHO Director decided not to declare a public health emergency at this time. But he said it is an emergency in China, and that the outbreak poses a high risk at the regional and global levels.
    “The fact that WHO has not declared an emergency does not mean that we are not facing a major public health challenge,” said PAHO Assistant Director Dr Jarbas Barbosa. “With globalization and international travel, it’s not unexpected that countries in the region can receive people with the virus,” he said. “Having an imported case is not the same as having local or sustained transmission in a country,” he added.
    The Director of PAHO’s Health Emergencies Department, Dr Ciro Ugarte, stressed that epidemiological surveillance for early detection of cases, as well as the management of patients with proper infection prevention and control measures to limit person-to-person transmission, can reduce secondary cases and prevent a spread of the disease.
    “The nature of 2019-nCoV is very similar to influenza, and the symptoms are similar to those of SARS (Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome): fever, cough, shortness of breath and pneumonia,” Dr Ugarte said. He added that there is no specific treatment and no vaccine for the new coronavirus.

33. @Hal Austin January 25, 2020 5:57 AM

Meanwhile, Barbados remains calm (or apathetic)

“The nature of 2019-nCoV is very similar to influenza, and the symptoms are similar to those of SARS (Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome): fever, cough, shortness of breath and pneumonia,” Dr Ugarte said. He added that there is no specific treatment and no vaccine for the new coronavirus.

What is it that you want Mia and the health authorities in Bim to say or do, close the air and sea ports?

34. A 62-year-old Chinese doctor in Wuhan ‘at the front line’ of the coronavirus outbreak has died after treating patients

Chinese state media confirmed that 62-year-old doctor in Wuhan died after treating patients infected with the deadly coronavirus that has killed 41 people and infected nearly 1,300.

Liang Wudong was an ENT specialist at Hubei Xinhau Hospital in Wuhan, China who retired in March 2019, and “had been at the front line” of the coronavirus outbreak, China Global Television Network reports.

Local medical staff in Wuhan have been overburdened by coronavirus patients, with some doctors wearing adult diapers because they don’t have time to go to the bathroom.

Another doctor, 51-year-old Jiang Jijun, died of a heart attack while treating coronavirus patients.

Visit Insider’s homepage for more stories.

A Chinese doctor in Wuhan, the epicenter of the deadly coronavirus outbreak, died after treating patients. China Global Television Network reports that Liang Wudong, 62, was an ENT specialist “at the front line” of the outbreak.

The Wuhan coronavirus has killed 41 people so far and infected nearly 1,300, causing the Chinese government to quarantine at least 12 cities, and at least 33 million people. The virus is believed to have originated at a wet market, where livestock and poultry are sold alongside animals like dogs, hares, and civets.

Doctors in Wuhan have been overwhelmed with the number of coronavirus patients, and some are wearing adult diapers because they don’t have time to go to the restroom. Wudong worked at Hubei Xinhau Hospital, which says he retired in March 2019. He died early Saturday.

https://www.yahoo.com/news/62-old-chinese-doctor-wuhan-145524036.html

35. Get frontline airport workers to wear gloves and masks; instruct the public that if they have suspected symptoms what to do; and quarantine all passengers from China for the two-week gestation period. Not panicking is not the same as staying calm.

36. @Hal AustinJanuary 25, 2020 1:18 PM

Get frontline airport workers to wear gloves and masks; instruct the public that if they have suspected symptoms what to do; and quarantine all passengers from China for the two-week gestation period.

Okay…that sounds reasonable and sensible.

37. @ Bajan in New York

You have not called me sensible since at school in the 1950s. Thanks. I still remember your long hops.

38. @Hal AustinJanuary 25, 2020 2:27 PM

@ Bajan in New York

You have not called me sensible since at school in the 1950s. Thanks. I still remember your long hops.

I remember and tell my friends of your amazing ability to flawlessly read whatever the teachers called upon you to read while we were in first form at Combermere, so I know you are no fool.

39. @ Bajan in New York

I appreciate that. Will get you to talk to the grand kids. They think I was born big, as we say in Barbados.

40. @Bajan in NY

Are you suggesting there is an imposter on the blog?

41. @David January 25, 2020 2:59 PM

@Bajan in NY

Are you suggesting there is an imposter on the blog?

lol…no comment. One of New Year resolutions was to take Comrade Skinner’s advice and stop attacking Hal.

42. @Bajan in NY

Stifle your conscience if you must.

43. Though I disagree with and would never refer to Hal by the phrase ‘Bser in the Ivy’, for me it had lost the sting and was funny.

I must confess that I have also called him outside of his name

We all knew the Ivy guy has a good brain. He may be one of the few Bajans w ho punches above their weight.

44. @Hants January 25, 2020 4:48 PM

The best we can do is hope and pray we dodge the bullet, since one case would catspraddle the tourism industry for a period of time. It has evaded the detection barriers of countries with greater resources than Bim.

45. Look out!

” Ontario health officials have announced that a “presumptive” case of coronavirus has been confirmed at Toronto’s Sunnybrook hospital, marking the first such case in Canada.”

46. I have a niece working at Sunnybrook.