Submitted by Caleb Pilgrim

I read with interest Kemar Stuart’s (Young Democrats) recent intervention on Barbadian foreign policy – Foreign Policy in Barbados and CARICOM [Link inserted by the Blogmaster]. It helps if it causes us to re-think and re-examine our foreign policy, as necessary. Who was it that said that the unexamined life is not worth living?

Let me confess an interest at the outset. I was once, decades ago, a Temporary Foreign Service Officer II in the Barbados Ministry of Foreign Affairs. At some point, I was posted abroad to the Barbados High Commission (U.K), as a Temporary Foreign Service Officer II, subject to dismissal on one (1) day’s notice. Shortly thereafter, I left the Foreign Service. Beyond that, I know little or nothing about Barbados’s foreign and international policy.

I know this, however. Back in 1976, the then newly elected BLP Adams’ Administration, per its electoral Manifesto, had expressed concerns that Barbados, in terms of cost/benefit analysis, gained little from its OAS membership. (Read the Manifesto and its section on External Affairs. Even now, it makes interesting reading). It thus fell to some one of us, Temporary Foreign Service Officer II, to undertake such a c/b analysis.

This leads to the crux of my argument, which is, that limited resources must always reasonably compel proper management of a state’s foreign policy.

Developing countries cannot afford to treat diplomacy, and diplomatic postings/representatives abroad as a mere “sinecure”. This approach is foolishly ignorant, if not downright dangerous, especially in the international context. It is like the proverbial monkey playing with a loaded revolver/glock

As I see it, in a highly inter-dependent world, and in international fora, the Barbados representative should not therefore be a simple minded buffoon, a jester who crawls the cocktail circuit, posturing and pretending, eating excellent “horses douvers”, drinking the finest liqueurs, attending Ascot and Wimbledon, and/or selling booze on the side sufficient to retire the national debt or a significant part thereof. Or, as a late colleague once related, unwise delegate(s) at a Women’s Conference (probably in Copenhagen), dispensing fabulous fishcakes as delicious Bajan delicacies, while Palestinian women activists and other women delegates were fighting energetically for their particular cause or debating unimportant issues such as Women and Development, Women and Health Care, Women and Education.

Note that fortunately there have been exceptions such as a former Barbados Ambassador to the USA and the OAS, excellent, knowledgeable, serious and incisive. Yet again, Sir Henry Forde, a wise, diligent and highly intelligent Foreign Minister, who among other things invariably pushed for training for Barbadians as well as jobs for Barbadians in international organizations. Again, I still recall meeting a Timorese official at The Hague Academy of Public International Law, by sheer serendipity. He had been present when Dr. Don Blackman delivered his maiden speech at the UNGA and was highly impressed. In a nutshell, his position was that Dr. Blackman “did Barbados proud”.

Even today the threat to Barbadians who remain “illegal” aliens in the USA remains an important issue, as it was per the BLP 1976 Manifesto. Is there not a consular duty, under Public International Law to legally protect one’s nationals, or do we simply throw any such less fortunate to the wolves?

As I see it, therefore, in an Age of Development Diplomacy, based on the Estimates and stringent financial requirements, the Barbados representative must produce in actual, substantive, measurable terms; what are the metrics? How many scholarships did s/he negotiate with universities and colleges in the host country; how much technology transfer(s); on what specific terms; how many preferential loans; trade agreements; what technical assistance; what assistance re agriculture and infrastructure, etc, etc?

How much aid, for example, did Barbados ever get from Austria, Switzerland etc, over the years, assuming we have diplomatic relations with such states?

Some will have decried Mr. Barrow’s allegedly robust treatment of the late Ronald Reagan in an encounter decades ago. However, one should also remember Reagan’s call to Nixon, circa 1971, wherein he described African diplomats at the UN as “monkeys”. (I once did a Master’s thesis essay on African States and the UN. Any one of my erstwhile African fellow students was intellectually far superior to “Great Communicator”. Ditto Trump and his abuse of “s-hole” African and black countries). It remains a dangerous world.

225 responses to “An Age of Development Diplomacy”

1. @ William

Your wisdom is a great loss to Barbados. Why can you see the flaws in our society, especially among our politicians, and others on BU cannot?
    If we cannot get the economy right, then how can we lay down the moral anchor for a decent society? Society is like a fish, it rots from the top. We have an angry and materialistic society because this is what comes down from the top. Look at the lawyers.
    Here is a little bit of news: a local authority statistician in Surrey has just ben convicted of fraud for cooking the books. The prosecution argued that by publishing false statistics she misled the local community. Would it not be nice to have a law like this in Barbados?

2. Mr. Skinner

Perhaps it should also be applied to the other political parties. After all, many of the so called “third parties” were formed by disgruntled members of the BLP and DLP.

Opposition Leader Joseph Atherley basically admitted to crossing the floor because he believed he should have been included in Mottley’s Cabinet, since he was a Minister in Owen Arthur’s. That party also consists of Caswell Franklyn, who is a disgruntled BEE, and other disgruntled members of Solutions Barbados.

And this is the problem I have with Atherley’s People’s Party for Democracy and Development.

The UPP also consisted of disgruntled BLP members, whose loyalty, it seems, was more to Owen Arthur, rather than the people of Barbados, because they seem to have “shut shop” after last year’s general elections. Even their website is inactive. One can only assume their role, as disgruntled BEES, was to “cut votes.”

What annoys me with the other “third parties,” especially, Barbados Integrity Movement, PDC and Bajan Free Party, was the fact that, during the election campaign, the myriad of problems facing Barbados under the previous administration, gave them an opportunity to articulate their policies for the social and economic development of the island. Instead, they focused their attention more so on attacking Mottley.

It’s good to know Solutions Barbados has “stayed the course” after the May 24, 2018 general elections. Unfortunately, the only voice we hear coming from that party is that of its leader, Grenville Phillips II, who takes it upon himself to speak on ALL issues. Where are the other members of SB and why can’t they give their take on issues as well? It begs the question whether or not SB is a functioning political party.

Verla Depeiza’s “luke warm” approach hasn’t done anything to enhance the DLP. It’s approaching 2 years and they still seem to be feeling the effects of their 30-0 drubbing.

However, with the exception of SB, none of the other “third parties” have been advancing any of their policy initiatives.

Also, I’m not impressed with Mottley’s leadership style. I must give credit to Stuart for allowing his ministers to function in the ministries to which they were appointed. Mottley, on the other hand, seems to be of the mistaken belief ONLY she can get things done.

Another problem I have with her, is appointing so many ministers, some of whom have “half day jobs.” For example, there’s a Ministry of Information, Broadcasting and Public Affairs, with Minister, PS and staff to oversee CBC, GIS and Government Printing Department.

How about the Ministry of Innovation, Science & Smart Technology, which also as a Minister, PS and staff to oversee 3 government entities, Data Processing Department, Office of Public Sector Reform and Communications Unit. These, especially Public Sector Reform, are well suited for the Civil Service Ministry.

There’s a similar occurrence within the Ministry of Maritime Affairs and the Blue Economy, under whose portfolio are Port Authority, Fisheries Division and the Coastal Zone Management Unit. The Fisheries Division could be in the Ministry of Agriculture and the CZMU would be ideal within the Environment Ministry.

Why separate Home Affairs and the Office of the Attorney General?

Mr. Skinner, it’s time for the “tit for tat” between political parties and their yard-fowls must come to an end. We need a NEW breed of innovative and creative politicians that would FOCUS MORE on articulating policies rather than criticising…….get into the communities to talk and interact with the people and get their vibes; formulate NEW long-term community based and national policy initiatives. Men and women that would take Barbados forward….. not afraid to enforce laws in favour of votes…. prevent situations from occurring such as squatting and illegal construction of stalls where people are allowed to sell food and beverages without the required health certificates and liquor licenses…… to deal with PSV operators… etc.

3. I like to be fair. Continuing confine what Mottley said to ONLY: “by 2030 our children will be speaking Mandarin and be able to swim,” as the only thing she mentioned in her so called vision for Barbados…….is a gross misrepresentation of what she actually said.

4. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Skinner, very well stated at 10:18 n 10:23 above!…. The key question then is WHY?

Why have we regressed and reverted to a status which leaders had previously identified as non-sustainable or not-desired to be sustained?

And on the point of political criticism from syncophants: no one begrudges the resident DLP critic his/her opinion when well reasoned. What galls (my eyes anyhow) is to read inane critical remarks which fly in the face of the abject nonsense and self servicing actions of his/her DLP administration.

Any admin that allowed the garbage and sewerage issues to reach that utter non–performing state which so badly affected the health and the economy of the nation should be silent (utterly silent) on that issue. What else could have led them to that state other than greed (trying to determine how best to hide the graft of truck purchases or some such), indifference and or incompetence.

To echo @Skinner, how do we go from managing our garbage services with effective 2 day pickup of my youth; the foresight to update the sewerage system (that evidenced very severe disruption in my young adult years) to what the DlP admin oversaw! HOW does that come about!

And a DLP syncophant comes here to make critical remarks about ANY new admins efforts in that area…nonsense!

Talk about things you didn’t screw up not those you royally and inexplicably harmed!

5. @ Mariposa December 23, 2019 10:18 AM
    “To All
    So what so wrong with having an opinion that supports a WTE plant
    Why cant mariposa as an individual have an opinion that is not tied to past govt policies…”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

How about finding out how what sums of money were disbursed by the previous owners/principals of the Cahill WTE business venture to local entities; whether ‘technical’ consultants or well-placed politically exposed persons?

You might just be electrifyingly shocked to find out that there was more than a WTE nuclear plant in the project pipeline but also a darn good laundering machine in place to convert the consultants and finders fees to lily and holy white as the money you place in the collection plate every Sunday.

BTW, why don’t you ask who would be making up the ‘private practicing’ legal team to advise and support the government in its case defending the Cahill breach of contract?

Clearly it cannot be thinking about engaging the services of Hal G. & Mike Y. as the last administration did while putting millions in the long pockets of only two loyal lawyer-friends.

6. Mari

I want to hear your opinion on who is going to fund the WTE plant so that in the next 10 years we wouldn’t be caught behind.

Remember that you are against FX borrowing because it has to be paid back and wil be further burden
    Also the tax payers are over taxed and barely getting by
    Finally if you increase business taxes you will increase prices to the consumers.

So now you have this brilliant idea for WTE how about the financing ?

7. Miller…you know that lawsuit from tiefing Clare Cahill is a well thought out plan to rob the country billions of dollars right…and all the crooks in the photo with her including the fraud PM who claimed he did not sign the Cahill scam contract while knowing he had signed it 2 YEARS BEFORE…could not even explain that lie back then….but they are robbing the island big time now…they are all involved…no government could be that dumb and incompetent..it’s all corruption..

… now this government and the crook lawyers see a way to GET THEIR CUT TOO….

8. Mariposa needs to find something constructive to do…that useless DLP governemnt will not be returned to commit more crimes…her yardfowl days are done….she is just wasting oxygen that she will need later…

9. @ Artax
    I find no problems with your analysis. You would note that I have refrained from calling the prime minister names etc. I quite frankly do not expect her style of leadership to break out of the mold to which we have become accustomed. Don’t forget that it was once said that “all roads lead to Barrow”.Mottley is a great admirer of Barrow. So was Arthur. At this stage Mottley seems impregnable but so were : Grantley Adams, Errol Barrow and not so long ago we were “ going with Owen” .
    As far as Mariposa is concerned, I can’t fault her in this forum because for a few years we had to endure a similar approach from others, who were then in opposition. Fair is fair.
    As @ Hal says, we have to basically ignore those who are just supporting their party for any reason.
    As far the third parties, I suggest that they want to win a government by the fault. It’s a fact that the Duopoly is already determining who they want back in the house. You and others will see some sacrificial lambs in the next election. In other words the Duopoly will keep some and then engage in internal cannibalism to eat others.
    As for Mr. Atherley, he found a winning political lotto ticket and he cashed it in.
    If I were asked who had the greatest potential to transform the country I would always say Bree St John. I have never heard any leader so clinically analyse Fisheries , Tourism and Trade like him.. I have seen him mop the floor of parliament with all of them during debates.He was not about verbosity and daily front pages.
    @ de pedantic Dribbler
    Once we admit that these two parties have done equally well and equally badly, we can move on. They have governed the country since independence . All the problems we have remained unsolved by both. All the successes can be claimed by both. Trying to win arguments by promoting slim differences failures or successes as anything more than just business as usual is an excercise in futility.
    As @ Hal continues to state , the country appears to have been better managed during the colonial period. I do not necessarily agree with that in its entirety but it can be successfully defended in some areas when it comes to the delivery of services. Transportation garbage collection and St one services to the poor stand as evidence of this position.

10. That should read: some services to the poor. Apologies.

11. All roads lead to…….

“Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley, along with other Cabinet ministers, Government officials and members of the private sector, surveyed the damaged area and promised action.

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/243227/pot-house-road-repair

12. Yesterday i made other comments in reference other issues. happening in barbados and no response
    Hence when i made comments attributed to barbados landfill is in capacity range the knives came out
    But listen up !the landfill rather one like my comments or not will reach its expiration days and all the cussing done to me will not change
    The advantage that i would have when that expiration date comes due is the ability to say i told. u so
    Then what?

13. @ Piece the Legend,

Merry Christmas and a healthy happy and prosperous New Year.

14. Here is another story that deserves a “what moment”
    Squatters in Rock Hall cam own land at 10cent pre sq. Foot and govt covers the rest of cost
    Now if that does not deserve a year worth of scrutiny
    Then any which way govt pass or rolled out legislation absence of transparency should be acceptable

15. Ambassador RiRi

16. Blogmaster:

First, Blessed Christmas and may you never weary in your continued well doing. May your efforts to enlighten us be crowned with success.

Second: To return to the issue of a better functioning, more relevant, more needs-based Barbadian foreign policy.

Briefly, modern diplomacy is not ancient voodoo. It is not some mere random exercise, with some possessed voodoo high priest or witch doctor muttering mumbo-jumbo, (e.g “Friends of all and satellites of none”; in analytical terms, a destitute, decrepit, pig philosophy, if ever there was. Jesus, The Christ himself never referred to the Pharisees as his “friends”, but as “a brood of vipers”. And, the Priest then doling out a trinket or two to any mindless sycophant, zombie follower.

Nor, as realists, need we embrace the gloriously imprecise, feel-good nonsense about Barbados “punching above its weight”. What weight does Barbados specifically punch at? Is such a cliche a useful organizing concept or recipe for any constructive action?

Rather, as you well know, International Organizations (IOs) and their conferences invariably take place in the full glare of international publicity.

It is also elemental that Poverty usually means being defined by others as what we are not.

Our participation in these IOs, and the IOS themselves can therefore seriously affect the national brand of any small island economy, such as Barbados.

Third, as a specific practical matter/example, no one can truthfully deny the ravages caused by diabetes in Barbados.

Recently, one official stated that 43% of the patients at the QEH were there because of diabetes or diabetic complications. Even without benefit of QEH morbidity tables, mortality charts, and relevant information, it remains commonplace that Barbados has an excessively high rate of amputations.

Consider therefore: There are at least 740 artificial limb (prosthetics) limb manufacturers in the USA (see Manta. com). There are also copious other such manufacturers in the U.K., Canada, China, India, and elsewhere.

Beyond posturing, should not your Ministers of Health, Finance, International Business, Social Welfare, your foreign policy and legal persona, etc, etc, have already engaged, negotiating new business, licensing, franchising opportunities, making such prosthetic devices available to poor at-risk Barbadians? How to explain such apparent apathy?

I hasten to say that I do not know whether the UNDP, PAHO, the European Development Fund (EDF) and other donors could reasonably contribute in realizing such an initiative?

Finally, as a micro-state with limited resources (like Malta & the Law of the Sea), Barbados has no nuclear weapons or nuclear weapon ambitions, despite a bizarre abstention on a LA resolution some years ago. In this regard, another contributor thus wisely commented on the issue of international morality, as a necessary foundation for our foreign policy. I fully concur. Such wisdom is infinitely preferable to any declining status on the Corruption Perception Index (CPI) of Transparency International, or European accusations of money laundering and corruption, and the need to defend against.

17. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Mr. William Skinner
    @ Mr. Hal Austin and particularly
    @ Artaxerxes

If your comments, particularly the extremely expansive ones of Artaxerxes hold for 2020, IT WILL BE A SERIOUS YEAR FOR DISCOURSE AND HOPEFULLY ACTION above all the long talk.

Artaxerxes, I will focus on what you said, NOT BECAUSE Mr Skinner nor Hal said anything less important BUT BECAUSE OF HIS DETAILS.

Issue #1

Constancy of Message.

I am going to be “biased” here because, OF ALL THE THIRD PARTIES, I believe that The People’s Party for Democracy and Development IS THE ONLY ONE THAT HAS A CHANCE.

And I will explain why.

I have another article that I propose to submit to the Honourable Blogmaster WHICH HE IS NOT GOING TO PUBLISH

It is titled ” To Kill the PDP, KILL CASWELL FRANKLYN”

One accepts your condensation of the collective history of all the potential Third Party Candidates Artaxerxes

These are indisputable facts BUT THE COUNTER INDISPUTABLE FACT IS THAT both of the established parties ARE VOMIT and only a dog returneth to his own vomit!

Issue # 2. The word Disgruntled.

I find it strange that, with your usual lack of bias Artaxerxes you use this word “…disgruntled Definition of disgruntled : unhappy and annoyed e.g a disgruntled employee or political candidate…”

Given the known megalomania of Grenville Phillips aka Bedroom Policeman aka Iso TALIBAN I find it disturbing that you, with your usual lack of bias, would seek to write an entire article AND ATTRIBUTE THE RIGHT TO SELF DETERMINATION OF ANY CONSCIENTIOUS OBJECTOR to such a word!

Further, why would the successful CEO OF UNITY WORKERS UNION, be a disgruntled person regarding the BLP that HE WAS NOT A PART OF when offered his Senatorship.

If you were to say that he, and Jeff Cumberbatch were offered roles by the Mugabe Regime to silence their voices on Barbados Underground THEN I COULD JOIN YOU, bit I am concerned by your use of this word when someone openly objects to a position AS IS THEIR RIGHT TO DO!

Fact #3 THIRTY MINISTERS!

I accept and agree with your point that she has nuff ministers whom I rounded off at 30!

But I woul also make the point that MUGABE HAS NO CHOICE BUT TO DO THIS, OR HER PERFECT BLP Party that is the epitome of Harmony will implode.

And this is why Mugabe, flying ALL OVER THE PLACE, like a chicken with its head cut off, trying to find projects, CAUSE SHE IS SURROUNDED BY THE SIMPLETONS WE ELECTED.

They were not imported AFTER A CONSTITUTION CHANGE AND MADE MINISTERS Artaxerxes were they?

18. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here for Mr William Skinner and Mr. Hal Austin and Artaxerxes

19. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ MR Caleb Pilgrim

How come that you are allowed this latitude?

“… And, the Priest then doling out a trinket or two to any mindless sycophant, zombie follower…” WHO I CALL SHEEPLE

AND

“…Nor, as realists, need we embrace the gloriously imprecise, feel-good nonsense about Barbados “punching above its weight”…” OR the segment of few thinking bajans remaining, some of whom are drinking the coolaid, WHOM I CALL PEOPLE

How you get way with calling them realists and zombies and not a fellow ent say a pang?

You see why I say the Blogmaster genuflects?

20. Piece the Legend Avatar

Several months ago de ole man was here speaking about the UWI outreach with the University of Sound Nova Scota and the illiterate Business Development manager Sonia ???

De ole man will NOT SPEAK OF 4 PROJECTS THAT *** FOR THE UWI

I also spoke to Barbados making outreaches to RE firms to using the country as a test bed for ***

And here you are saying AND I QUOTE

“…Consider therefore: There are at least 740 artificial limb (prosthetics) limb manufacturers in the USA (see Manta. com).

There are also copious other such manufacturers in the U.K., Canada, China, India, and elsewhere…”

De ole man will watch and see if, as with things bajan, “whom de dog like he lick, and who he ent like HE BITE!”

21. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Caleb Pilgrim

“…Beyond posturing, should not your Ministers of Health, Finance, International Business, Social Welfare, your foreign policy and legal persona, etc, etc, have already engaged, negotiating new business, licensing, franchising opportunities, making such prosthetic devices available to poor at-risk Barbadians?…”

Let me explain something to you THAT YOU SEEM EITHER UNWILLING OR INCAPABLE OF COMPREHENDING!

For there to be an iota of understanding between amputations and the manufacture of prosthetic limbs THERE HAS TO BE A SPARK IN THE BRAIN!

Have you ever see that insurance advertisement with the emu and the mirror?

“Meet LiMu Emu and Doug, Liberty Mutual’s new dynamic duo with one mission: to help people customize their insurance so they only pay for what they need. LiMu isn’t the most well-trained spokes-animal on the block.

He’s actually nothing more than a wild bird in a perfectly starched yellow uniform and sunglasses.”

MR Pilgrim, you are talking about a leap of connectivity by a nation that is beseiged by leaders ONE STEP AWAY FROM DEBTORS PRISON AND BAILIFFS

Do you understand the intellectual deficit that represents in that cycle between innovation and Creativity?

22. Bash! Humbug! Piece. The blogmaster is a man of scrupulous integrity and high intelligence. He genuflect to no man. Would that others did the same.

Focus on the substantive argument(s), given its obvious merit, (the Estimates & The Budget, with relevant appropriations and items will soon be upon us), and in your advocacy brook absolutely no contradiction from nay sayers and do-nothings who would distract you with ludicrous chatter and “long talk”.

23. Correction. “Baa” or “Baah” not Bash”. Perhaps a Dickensian situation then as now, emerging in Barbados.

The blogmaster is entirely correct in wisely exercising his patriotic duty in getting Bajans at a minimum to seriously consider important issues.

In another place, we once had an old teacher whose mantra was “despite my age, I fear no man, you attack and I shall defend”. And so it is with the blogmaster.

24. Piece the Legend Avatar

“…Baaaa! Humbug! Piece. The blogmaster is a man of scrupulous integrity and high intelligence…”

I wonder if they see in your Dickenson references the subtlety of your comments

You must continue on, AS IT IS ONLY WITH CONSTANCY THAT ONE CAN EVALUATE WHERE YOU ARE COMING FROM.

One swallow, does not a summer make!

Notice that your “hero” has yet to post 2 other comments I made

25. Hope there is no planned default, this is a lot of borrowing with a Cahill scam lawsuit in the mix. Last time was a 3S flyover scam lawsuit to rip off the people too.

https://www.facebook.com/100005986451739/posts/1203474403195430/?sfnsn=scwspmo&extid=931e5T6sjLzF0OK7

26. Some good news, people are trying to bring real media reporting to the Caribbean and not the joke pretend media pimping for government and secrecy that is called journalism in some islands…

“THE CARIBBEAN has a culture of secrecy that can make investigative journalism challenging. It’s not that reporters from the region are incapable of the kind of in-depth, analytical, exploratory journalism that audiences have come to expect from the world’s top news agencies but as small islands with small communities where everyone knows everyone else, there’s a real risk of victimisation that has led to a pervasive element of self-censorship among newsrooms in the Caribbean to hold back from the complete and true telling of what is happening in their countries.

The Caribbean Investigative Journalism Network (CIJN) wants to change that. Launched December 5 as an initiative of the Media Institute of the Caribbean (MIC), the CIJN is a digital platform that allows for long-form investigative narratives told using a multimedia format. It’s free, so other news agencies in the region and the world can access and republish thoroughly researched and executed stories from the Caribbean, they just have to credit CIJN and ensure that if the story is edited, that version is cleared with the organisation to ensure clarity and context is maintained and damage to credibility avoided.”

27. Piece

Merry Xmas and a healthy happy and peaceful New Year

28. Why is this even news..

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/243237/salt-bread-thief-await-fate.

…where is the news about those who stole 1 billions dollars in VAT from the people and the governments encouraged and protected them in their thefts..

… where is the news about those who ripped off hundreds of millions in TAXES and the government wrote it off, just like the stolen VAT,…

…where is the news about the hundreds of millions stolen from the treasury for bad road contracts given to minority thieves for 40 years..

… where is the news about the hundreds of millions STOLEN from the pension fund to build Apes Hll and luxury buildings in St. James all enabled and encourged by governments and their wicked little thieves put in position just to do that..

…why is someone stealing food news…because Barbados has a petty, pretend SHITE MEDIA…

29. Merry Christmas and a happy and prosperous new year to ALL BU BLOGGERS.

30. https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/12/24/man-could-spend-year-in-jail-for-stealing-salt-bread/

Don’t know what to say. There, but for the Grace of God

31. A man who stole a single salt bread could find himself spending as long as one year behind bars.

This morning, Arleigh Arthur Patrick Todd, 58, of Upper Collymore Rock, St Michael, pleaded guilty to entering the dwelling house of Kim Smith and stealing the bread, valued at 65 cents, on December 9. The offence put him in breach of a one-year bond to keep the peace and be of good behaviour, which carried a one-year prison term.
    According to the facts of the case, Smith was at home when she heard a noise in a bedroom. She armed herself with a walking stick and when she went to investigate, she saw Todd with the bread in hand. He retreated to the bedroom and escaped through a window.
    When asked by Magistrate Douglas Frederick to account for his actions, Todd, who is well known to the court, claimed that the complainant had short paid him for a job he had done.
    “She told me that she had taken money out for lunch that she gave me, but I told her that was not the agreement and I get vex and say ‘well, if that is the case, this salt bread is mine’,” he said.
    However, Magistrate Frederick pointed out to Todd that with his antecedents, he had no business going into anyone’s house. He informed him that he could spend some time behind bars because he had breached a bond which was due to expire on January 9, 2020.

“You are looking at a lot of time for a salt bread, I could see the headline now: Man gets a year in prison for stealing salt bread,” the magistrate said.
    Todd responded by arguing that such a move would be a travesty of justice.
    “If I go to jail you know that the Government has to pay $100 per day to keep me for a 65-cent bread. Where is the justice in that?” he questioned.
    The accused was eventually remanded to prison until January 20, 2020, but his appearance before the magistrate had one more dramatic twist. Shortly after exiting the dock, Todd collapsed, forcing the court to go into recess. Prison officers struggled for at least 15 minutes to remove him from the court.(Quote)

This represents the savagery of Barbadian society – and at Xmas, the season of goodwill. A society that criminalises hunger is a society on its way to Hell.
    Where are the spokespeople for the poor? Where is the appropriate minister? Where is the DLP? Where is the church? For a 65cents bread a poor and destitute man now risks being sent to prison. Ignore the nonsense of breaching the peace, that should not carry a custodial sentence.
    Let us look at the economics: for 65cents; for that he was charged and appeared in court, what was the total costs of that? Then he was remanded in prison until January 20, what is the total costs of that? Now he is threatened with a further sentence. What for? What is the total cot of punishing a poor man for a 65 cents offence?
    The test of a society is how you treat the poor and destitute and from this evidence Barbados is the most unchristian of nations.

32. “Mottley suggested that even past administrations which led the country in boom times found difficulty getting to the bottom of the social reasons for poverty.

She said: “We did well, but we were not able to go into the bowels of our society and remove the social constraints that are reflecting on why people are not moving out of the bowels of poverty.”

Now do you see the outright INSULT and in your face DISRESPECT displayed by these LIARS and THIEVES..to the people who pay their salaries…if you STEAL billions of dollars decade after decade from the same vulnerable population..it causes POVERTY…

If you continually steal…ESTATES, LAND AND BANK ACCOUNTS from a vulnerable people decade after decade who CANNOT FIGHT BACK………IT WILL CAUSE POVERTY…that can never be removed until the TIEFING STOPS, and there she is pretending she does not know that CHRONIC THEFT BY LAWYERS, GOVERNMENT MINISTERS AND THEIR BRIBERS…is what caused the chronic poverty in Barbados…insulting.and disrespectful…

33. Theo…that is what these small island thieves in position of power do, make a big song and dance in the media about some poor vulnerable person and a stolen salt bread or stolen nail clip all costing pennies and covered by insurance while the lawyers and governemnt ministers collude to rob the people and island billions of dollars and none of them go to prison and not one mention in the government pimp shite media……these wicked criminals have been doing this for decades…

34. It will never occur to these corrupt thieves that stealing from the people over decades …you are stealing their means of survival…that is why people have to ultimately steal to eat….

..with all their uppitiness and fake titles they believe none of what they do to their own people is criminal or wrong…the wicked toxic mind of the house negro..

35. Todd, who is well known to the court, claimed that the complainant had short paid him for a job he had done.
    “She told me that she had taken money out for lunch that she gave me, but I told her that was not the agreement and I get vex and say ‘well, if that is the case, this salt bread is mine’,” he said.

Who is the greater thief? The one who stole the bread or the one who stole the labor?

Imagine being down and out on your luck.
    You get a little pick that will ease up on your circumstances.
    Your crafty employer gives you a sardine between two biscuits and then charge you for lunch.
    She knows she has the RBPF and the self-righteous behind her.
    She will do what the hell she wants and you must take it…
    Just taking advantage,

The worst thing that could happen to you in Barbados is to be poor, hungry, steal to feed your hunger and then get caught. Judges/magistrates seem to resort to old slave laws.

36. You EVIL NEGROS…WHEN you continue stealing from deceased estate owners, bank account owners, land owners…you ROB generations of their BENEFICIARIES…and reduce them TO POVERTY…you dirty SCUM.

https://www.facebook.com/jackie.stewart.965/videos/1203812553161615/?t=56.

37. “The worst thing that could happen to you in Barbados is to be poor, hungry, steal to feed your hunger and then get caught. Judges/magistrates seem to resort to old slave laws.”

it’s a filthy, racist, apartheid slave society filled with thieves at the top and those negro judges and lawyers always feel superior when using archaic slave laws on their people…that is why the thieving leaders refuse to remove them from the statue books…all of them should be in prison and eventually many of them will be dragged the hell off the island for the multibillion dollar THIEVES THAT THEY ARE…

38. “Give a dog a bad name and hang him.”

She told me that she had taken money out for lunch that she gave me, but I told her that was not the agreement and I get vex and say ‘well, if that is the case, this salt bread is mine’,” he said.

The wicked employer probably knows the full story of the man.

This embolden her to hire him and cheat him. Most dociles would have accepted the wrong and walked away. But this ‘idiot’ refused to put his tail between his legs and slink away.

Now our justice system will beat docility into him.

Has nothing to do with bond; we have numerous stories where the down and out got hammered by the law. So don’t tell me about a bond.

39. https://www.barbadospocketguide.com/our-island-barbados/local-clubs-and-organisations/charitable-organizations.html

Few have a website and just a local number
    The Salvation Army has a donate now button that does not work.

40. It’s all an attempt to project their criminality on to the poor and powerless while they steal
    billions…..that is what they do it is a pattern…..or they create a set up to entrap the unaware black person just to cover up their own crimes…

a very good example which i do not speak a lot about for very good reasons is the set up of John Scantlebury and Sean Gaskin using the DEA….in the Christopher Hawkesworth, deceased, matter….

these evil bitches for lawyers and government minsters KNEW that these two men were innocent, two black people like themselves they SACRIFICED and actually railroaded the DEA into extraditing these innocent men just to steal 67 acres of land in St. Lucy because they had a scam going to build Arawak cement plant…

…as though that was not Enuff…they also colluded with their tiefing lawyer relative in the bank to steal his million dollar bank account using a power of attorney the man knew nothing about..because he was so busy fighting a bogus drug charge to extradite him to US….and they stole the whole account out of the bank.

…All of this no one knew about until 2012…if these men did not fight to be free…they could have easily served decades in a prison in the US…….all orchestrated by these evil MFs in the parliament, bar association and supreme court..

these are some very evil and dangerous house negros..

as we all know Hawkesworth ended up with a bullet to the head.

41. All of this no one knew about until 2012…if these men did not fight to be free…they could have easily served decades in a prison in the US…….all orchestrated by these evil MFs in the parliament, bar association, DPPs office.. and supreme court..

nearly forgot the corrupt dirty, stink dead DPP Leacock…

42. Do you now understand the dangerous negro creatures you are dealing with in the parliament, bar association, DPPs office, and supreme court now….those are the monsters on taxpayer’s payroll doing as they like because they have never been stopped dead in their tracks..

They are all thieves, liars, crooks and COUSINS, all dangerous and deadly…and now in their delusions after they have stolen so many billions of dollars and hundreds of millions in estates, they believe they control the world.

43. Do you see why these stink negro monsters with titles and taxpayer paid…are parading a poor man who they set up into stealing a salt bread, parading him in the media to make themselves look good,…these are the monsters you apply le guillotine to…these are the negro monsters you NEVER LET GET AWAY…

44. (Quote):
    The test of a society is how you treat the poor and destitute and from this evidence Barbados is the most unchristian of nations. (Unquote).

Couldn’t agree more with that assessment of the Bajan slave society! The land of perfect hypocrisy!

A man with strong political connections can drive around Barbados in a luxury vehicle pretending to be the sales director of an imaginary hotel after depriving the Treasury of thousands of dollars which could have been transferred to agencies tasked with the responsibility of alleviating the ravages of stark poverty in Barbados.

It would be good to see the same law enforcement agencies exercising similar enthusiasm in removing those potential killers on the roads riding those dangerous uninsured motor bikes in their unbridled acts of sheer stupidity.

45. @WURA-WAR-on-U December 24, 2019 3:28 AM

“Mottley suggested that even past administrations which led the country in boom times found difficulty getting to the bottom of the social reasons for poverty.

She said: “We did well, but we were not able to go into the bowels of our society and remove the social constraints that are reflecting on why people are not moving out of the bowels of poverty.”

Note the language above : “ We” “administrations” Here we have an admission of failure to “ remove the social constraints of poverty”.
    “Past administrations” even in “ boom times “
    Anybody with a basic understanding will see in this statement an admission of failure and then the remarkable defense : “ we did well”.
    I warned you all that the Duopoly defends each other while we drink the cool aid. What really stopped them/ “we” from going into the “ bowels” of the society?
    After fifty three years of independence even in boom times the Duopoly could not get it right! An amazing admission of failure and an almost unbelievable defense of such failure: “ we did well”

The Duopoly Rules

46. “Note the language above : “ We” “administrations” Here we have an admission of failure to “ remove the social constraints of poverty”.
    “Past administrations” even in “ boom times “

And that is what really pissed me off this morning…because SHE KNOWS…both governments have STOLEN BILLIONS from the people in Barbados over decades and are hiding it offshore from Switzerland to Malata, to Panama, Caynman Islands and everywhere inbetween…, them and their tiefing briber friends, rendering generations of past, present and future Black Bajans as paupers struggling to survive and facing every day poverty…and she would still sit and LIE TO OUR FACES…trying to put the blame for poverty on the poor when these stink dirty negros are the ones robbed them and generations of their offspring, stole their estates, their land and properties and bank accounts, they have stolen their futures…and STILL they have plans in place to STEAL EVEN MORE…from the people..

she got a goddamn nerve on her…

47. @ William

Don’t fall for the bogus language. No Barbados government since 1966 has talked about social justice and inequality. It is not part of their political vocabulary.
    If we want to remove absolute poverty we would not jail a destitute man for stealing a 65 cents bread; if we want to remove absolute poverty we would not priortise a development plan that does not deal with the terrible housing shortage the country is experiencing. If we want to remove absolute poverty we would not priortise squatters above families who cannot make ends meet.
    After nearly 20 months we still hear nonsense about previous administrations, but nothing about a blue print for change. There is no real desire for change, it is rhetoric. All there is is a desire to make bold speeches and grab photo opportunities. Poverty eradication is about the application of policy, the minutiae of policy-making, not just flamboyance.
    If you want to eradicate poverty you do not make the poorest and least financially secure redundant, then take months to pay them, while giving tax breaks and waivers to the wealthy. You cannot talk poor while transferring taxpayers’ money to the wealthy and well-connected. Vision is not about teaching school children to speak Mandarin or to swim.
    Relative poverty will always be with us, as long as we envy our neighbours possessions. But absolute poverty can be eradicated. Let us make that a promise for 2030.
    By the way, those who pick and mix from Singapore may be aware that Lee Kuan Yew believed in eugenics. Maybe we should sterilise the poor.
    Happy Xmas.

48. Pure evil, rob the people then BLAME THEM for being victimized into POVERTY…while KNOWING that they are helpless and unable to fight back…..that is why this other toxic half of the Duoploy must be made an even BIGGER example of and the people they are now looking to further victimize and victim blame for the poverty both governemnts maliciously created to ENRICH THEMSELVES AND THEIR BRIBERS…are to be THROWN BODILY OUT OF THE PARLIAMENT…like the snakes and treacherous rats they are…they are TRAITORS..

49. @ Hal
    Well said. Like I said: hocus pocus economics and hop scotch planning. “ poverty eradication “ was the buzz word now for twenty years. This admission of failure would have been expected by those who stay away from the cool aid.
    A Happy Xmas to you and yours as well. All the best in 2020.