Submitted by Caleb Pilgrim

I read with interest Kemar Stuart’s (Young Democrats) recent intervention on Barbadian foreign policy – Foreign Policy in Barbados and CARICOM [Link inserted by the Blogmaster]. It helps if it causes us to re-think and re-examine our foreign policy, as necessary. Who was it that said that the unexamined life is not worth living?

Let me confess an interest at the outset. I was once, decades ago, a Temporary Foreign Service Officer II in the Barbados Ministry of Foreign Affairs. At some point, I was posted abroad to the Barbados High Commission (U.K), as a Temporary Foreign Service Officer II, subject to dismissal on one (1) day’s notice. Shortly thereafter, I left the Foreign Service. Beyond that, I know little or nothing about Barbados’s foreign and international policy.

I know this, however. Back in 1976, the then newly elected BLP Adams’ Administration, per its electoral Manifesto, had expressed concerns that Barbados, in terms of cost/benefit analysis, gained little from its OAS membership. (Read the Manifesto and its section on External Affairs. Even now, it makes interesting reading). It thus fell to some one of us, Temporary Foreign Service Officer II, to undertake such a c/b analysis.

This leads to the crux of my argument, which is, that limited resources must always reasonably compel proper management of a state’s foreign policy.

Developing countries cannot afford to treat diplomacy, and diplomatic postings/representatives abroad as a mere “sinecure”. This approach is foolishly ignorant, if not downright dangerous, especially in the international context. It is like the proverbial monkey playing with a loaded revolver/glock

As I see it, in a highly inter-dependent world, and in international fora, the Barbados representative should not therefore be a simple minded buffoon, a jester who crawls the cocktail circuit, posturing and pretending, eating excellent “horses douvers”, drinking the finest liqueurs, attending Ascot and Wimbledon, and/or selling booze on the side sufficient to retire the national debt or a significant part thereof. Or, as a late colleague once related, unwise delegate(s) at a Women’s Conference (probably in Copenhagen), dispensing fabulous fishcakes as delicious Bajan delicacies, while Palestinian women activists and other women delegates were fighting energetically for their particular cause or debating unimportant issues such as Women and Development, Women and Health Care, Women and Education.

Note that fortunately there have been exceptions such as a former Barbados Ambassador to the USA and the OAS, excellent, knowledgeable, serious and incisive. Yet again, Sir Henry Forde, a wise, diligent and highly intelligent Foreign Minister, who among other things invariably pushed for training for Barbadians as well as jobs for Barbadians in international organizations. Again, I still recall meeting a Timorese official at The Hague Academy of Public International Law, by sheer serendipity. He had been present when Dr. Don Blackman delivered his maiden speech at the UNGA and was highly impressed. In a nutshell, his position was that Dr. Blackman “did Barbados proud”.

Even today the threat to Barbadians who remain “illegal” aliens in the USA remains an important issue, as it was per the BLP 1976 Manifesto. Is there not a consular duty, under Public International Law to legally protect one’s nationals, or do we simply throw any such less fortunate to the wolves?

As I see it, therefore, in an Age of Development Diplomacy, based on the Estimates and stringent financial requirements, the Barbados representative must produce in actual, substantive, measurable terms; what are the metrics? How many scholarships did s/he negotiate with universities and colleges in the host country; how much technology transfer(s); on what specific terms; how many preferential loans; trade agreements; what technical assistance; what assistance re agriculture and infrastructure, etc, etc?

How much aid, for example, did Barbados ever get from Austria, Switzerland etc, over the years, assuming we have diplomatic relations with such states?

Some will have decried Mr. Barrow’s allegedly robust treatment of the late Ronald Reagan in an encounter decades ago. However, one should also remember Reagan’s call to Nixon, circa 1971, wherein he described African diplomats at the UN as “monkeys”. (I once did a Master’s thesis essay on African States and the UN. Any one of my erstwhile African fellow students was intellectually far superior to “Great Communicator”. Ditto Trump and his abuse of “s-hole” African and black countries). It remains a dangerous world.

225 responses to “An Age of Development Diplomacy”

1. In the Name of Common Sense Avatar
    In the Name of Common Sense

As usual, whenever I read the comments on BU, I am confronted with the brilliant miseducation campaign of the few loud voices whose main aspiration is to pollute the atmosphere with their drivel.

As usual, Mariposa is a champion of this campaign with the unenlightened views on the Ross and Dominica situation. The whole issue surrounding Ross is a matter of settled debate. All persons who want to find the truth know that Ross approached the Barbados Gov’t about relocating due to the obvious problems with the devastation in Dominica. There was absolutely nothing untoward about the involvement of the Barbados Gov’t in that incident.

Secondly, I find it remarkably peculiar that Mariposa would portray re-elected Skerritt as though he is likely to face massive challenges and unpopularity in Dominica over this term. We seem to forget he just won an increased majority, in an election that the Opposition sought to meddle in and acted illegally on the day and beforehand, in terms of voter intimidation and the like. To suggest then that a man who won a near landslide victory four terms in, is going to face wholesale crises of public support is the height of absurdity.

Also, there is a legitimate question to be asked as to the origin of the hate-filled venom and vitriol which she constantly spews at the PM and the Gov’t. That would be an interesting field of inquiry.

Anyhow, I haven’t been here in a while, so I fully expect the vitriol from Mariposa and those like her against me to begin. When you have nothing but lies and conjecture to fight with, I guess you have to talk about “thugs and scamps”. Sad!

2. Some people belive they own the market on detail
    Anyhow

David i read where Abraham state that govt going to save 20million from the innotech new agreement
    The part of this new agreement which caught my attention is this

Detailing the previous arrangement between Innotech and the BWA, Minister Abrahams revealed that the new arrangements and benefits include the BWA having immediate and outright ownership of a variety of critical equipment such as portable desalination units, personal tanks, community tanks, water tanker trucks and functioning smart meters.

Which brought to wonder how will BWA handled such a mammoth task of maintenance when they hands are full trying to maintain water supply to homes in barbados
    IMHO it will acquire additional staff having the technical knowledge to replace what the technicians of Innotech did in the area of maintenance and other areas as stated by Abrahams
    Like the bad fuel problem one can expect similar failures coming from the 20million dollar saving

3. And don’t forget the nasy set ups, they have a set up for everything and DO NOT CARE who they set up….there is a set up for every occasion.

These islands and AFRICA have to be careful of these scamps in Barbados…they say one thing, mean something else, will smile and rob you, cut your throat, SET YOU UP and then claim they are your greatest ally..

many paid DEARLY to learn that.

4. @ TheOGazerts

A shout out to you as well. Your submissions are always well balanced and informative. All the best to you and yours for the season and 2020.

5. @ Low Orbit Earth:

My question “who was it that said the unexamined life is not worth living”, was purely rhetorical. We knew the answer. Never ask a question unless you know the answer. (Wellman, “The Art of Cross-Examination”, 1903).

Far more central, do you agree with the main proposition that Barbados’ foreign policy ought to reflect and be closely keyed to its domestic, fundamental needs and national interests? And that the Barbados diplomat ought to be guided by his or her Government’s National Development Plan(s)? And that, in return, one should expect certain reasonable, objective benefits/results from one’s diplomatic missions, just as one would expect precise and quantifiable benefits pursuant to any audit and/ or set of estimates?

As I said to PTL, even a blind man on a trotting horse could see the wisdom of such a c/b approach with absolute clarity, especially in times of austerity. One should therefore act accordingly.

6. @ TheOGazerts,

All the best to you and yours for Christmas and the New Year.

7. @Caleb

Your last comment cannot be refuted. If our foreign policy is not anchored to national imperatives, what is the point .

8. Pure laughter on this blog! Too many are grasping. I keep telling BU that Hal the former journalist is always uninformed and misinformed. When shown to be wrong he seeks to divert. I, however, agree with him on there being Caricom consulates. But is he saying that Bdos should be absent from these spaces and await the CARICOM office? The duopoly narrator is out to sea as usual. The comment about the Minister of FA not being upfront in his ministry is further proof of being misinformed. If we pay attention to the PM’s travel the FA is always there or have made a previous trip to lay the groundwork. Another 40 months to go, hold tight becausen all yuh gine get de belly. I see 12 new garbage trucks land are being readied for the road early next?🤣🤣

9. The garbage taken from the road will be a plus. Fixing Hampton another. We hope the cleanup of Barbados goes well and the temporary fix to the sewage plant moved ahead. All in all the needle is moving in the right direction post 2018. Does not mean there is not a lot of work to be done.

10. David
    Naff, naff work.

11. @ David
    I have not heard any reasonable person suggest that the current administration is not trying to move the country forward. I have already on this blog given support to the efforts to take a new approach to education and I have supported the renewed interest in ties with Africa. You know full well that as a regionalist , I will support refocused efforts with CARICOM. I think that most objective people have been giving the government support where they deem it necessary. It is most unfortunate that basically ignorant people believe that any opposing idea or objective criticism should be met with a backward hostility.
    Please note that I certainly don’t consider you ignorant or backward. It is senseless to ask all citizens to be in a national effort mode and then become pathetically hostile when they question or suggest alternatives.
    This is why the Duopoly escapes .It survives because of an almost impregnable fortress of idiots.
    Allow me to take this opportunity to wish you and your loved ones the very best for the holiday season. I also express my sincere appreciation of your efforts in keeping BU going.

12. Twelve new garbage trucks in logistics what does that mean to a country littered with rat 🐀 infestation and gullies over ran with ole cars stove and refrigerators
    Also for every parish is govt trying to send a message of hope that every parish would be privilege to have access to garbage being pick up by one of these new garbage trucks
    I am looking forward with earnest to seeing barbados looking lilly white clean come 2020
    In 2013 past govt bought new garbage trucks about the same amount and the success rate of what had become a Herculean effort to keep barbados clean brought forth minimal success

13. @ Hal & Mariposa

Two of wunna cooking with gas.

Keep their feet to the fire and don’t waiver because of politically blinded attacks to discredit your opinions.

14. Baje i understand the game in other words this is what they have in mind for those who oppose
    If u can shoot them kill them with offensive and disparaging language sooner or later they will disappear
    How wrong have these idiots been.
    What they seem to forget that in a democracy every word mention has an impact
    Hence there is where i draw my resolve

15. I have run around the block stood face to face on Bu with them and with all the firing power meted towards me
    Now after ten years in the wilderness the blp supporters once again have usage of their big mouths to boast about 12 garbage trucks
    Yes i am all ears meanwhile awaiting to see the huge impact these twelve garbage trucks have on the island
    Also bearing in mind that barbados land filled is filled to the capacity of usage makes for wonder where all the additional garbage would be buried .

16. My question to govt now that a proposed 40 garbage trucks are schedule for the cleaning up of barbados
    With all this garbage collected daily
    Given that the cells at the landfilled is running out of space because of not having sufficient capacity
    What plans does govt have of disposing the extra bulk of garbage which comes along with regular and faster garbage collection

17. Poor Mariposa you are criticizing the arrival of ten trucks when the Dems bought not ONE in ten years causing the problems we have today? You and them should be ashamed of yourselves
    .The joker Austin thinking Ms Mottley had set up the embassy in Brazil proven wrong once again and instead of apologizing seeks to as usual shift the argument.How many falsehoods have you presenyed here and lost and you claim you were a journalist?Start by checking your facts.Lastly Mr Skinner the Dem apologist the first thing you could deduce from the blogmaster was the critism of Ms McClean why does this matter to you if you are neutral?It shows your true colours as i know but try to hide i gone. Merry xmas to all even the naysayers.

18. @ All Patriots that love Barbados AND ARE DOING SOMETHING ABOUT IT,

De ole man hails wunna up big time

To my Commander Theophillus Gazerts of the Norther Command I bid you greetings

To My Fellow Myope and Apostate Dr. GP i bid you Christ’s Promise and that you Run the Race til you see Hus Face

To the Sage Annunaki may you find Elightenment in the Multiple Path towards The Causeless Cause

To Artaxerxes the Superlative Archiver blessing of the season and continued growth in your unshaking constancy to writing without bias

To Pachamama even though you are not as prolific as before I know that your heart STILL IS DEVOTED TO REMOVING THIS FLEETING FALLACY AND DUOPOLY which the dichotomy of sentience brings to the initiated

To Mr. Hal Austin, Hal, persevere on, and even though I doubt any change will come in the Bajan Condition, someone in the future may be kind to say, Hal was here

Mr. William Skinner gentle warrior greetings AND MY HOPE THAT CHANGE TO THIS DUOPOLY COMES but de ole man falters…

To Mr Vincent Codrington, another man whose ability to converse with no colourful language but leave jewels in Desiderata-style I bid you seasons greetings.

To my brother Hants who has, among several arts, mastered the ability to find (incriminating) links while remaking “quiet” like a champion who boxes while keeping his hands at his sides.

My friend DpD PEACE BE UNTO YOU

To Norther observer, Baje and Talking Loud Saying Nothing, Dullard, Kammie Holder and many others dat de ole man cannot remember right now Blessings and Peace

To my dearest SSS and your babe I send my thoughts of care for you both (and for the young man too) and pray all you Health.

To WARU, keep up the faith and the fight

To Donna, i pray your love and care for your country underscored by you care and instruction to your teenaged son WILL BEAR FRUIT OF WHICH YOU WILL BE PROUD.

To simple Simon President for life aka Silly-one at times you shine and show that you are not so silly after all. But a pragmatic mother who, in youth might have done “things” but LIKE EACH OF US, try to live better lives

I bid each of you Absolute Peace from Deity whatever Name you wish to use though Mine is But One Name.

And I pray you all GOOD Health in 2020 and greater clarity so that, WHEN THE FALSEHOOD IS EXPOSED, each of us WILL DO THE RIGHT THING

19. All the best to you and your William. What connects most of us is that we love and want the best for Barbados.

20. @ Piece
    I extend to you and yours the best for the holidays and all the best for 2020.
    Your advice to Atherley to abandon the leadership of the PdP was by far the most brilliant piece of advice given to a political leader in 2019. I don’t think it will be surpassed in the remaining period of this year.
    When read carefully, you produce many a master piece for those who enjoy creativity of thought.
    Keep up the excellent work.

21. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

Barbados is too ”rich” to get ODA ( overseas development assisstance) aid. Therefore, lobbying for aid from Austria or Switzerland is a waste of time. The world bank classified us, along with T&T, Antigua, St Kitts, and The Bahamas has high-income (> US$12,600 per capita) countries in Caricom.

Outside of the IMF loan, we are also considered too wealthy to qualify for concessionary loans from other sources.

22. @William Skinner December 22, 2019 4:31 AM
    “When read carefully, you produce many a master piece for those who enjoy creativity of thought.
    Keep up the excellent work.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Excellent contribution, from you too William!

The legendary “Piece”, is now a full Master and ought to be considered the BU ‘Man of the Year’; at least in my ‘assessment’ book of political contributions.

He is quite prescient in his practical advice to Rev. Joe. His, sometimes, downright ‘colourful deliveries’ are deliberately crafted for easy comprehension by both the intellectual high-flyers (like yourself) and the lowly man (woman) walking along both sides of the street for political yard-fowls.

The PPdd has NO electoral future under his stopgap leadership of personal financial gain and Constitutional convenience for the current BLP administration.

He is going to be viewed (albeit misguidedly and unfairly) by the superficial-thinking electorate as nothing more than a turncoat but still ‘red’ Joe.

How else could he be in receipt of a ministerial-linked salary and pension without carrying the burden of the responsibilities and expectations of a ‘real’ minister of the Crown in one of the most politically challenging and trying economic period for Barbados?

Poor Rev. Joe has played his part as the small piece of ‘fat’ which had to be kept out of the already obese Cabinet of political welfare recipients in order to maintain a Constitution-made façade of Westminster governance.

23. Piece the Legend

Thanks for your greetings and well wishes.

I extend the blessing of the season to you and yours as well. Hope you have a healthy, prosperous 2020.

24. Piece,

I have never seen such beautifully crafted personalized good wishes. I’m afraid I am not able to reciprocate in equal eloquence.

But…. may you succeed in jolting Barbadians out of their mental and physical lethargy!

And may you also be blessed this season with whatever else you need.

25. Lorenzo where did i criticize the buying of trucks
    As a matter of factual record govt had no other choice but to buy garbage trucks to collect garbage
    Also a continuing “big lie” told by the blp govt “past govt did not buy trucks” which is a deceitful untruth coming from govt foot soldiers and koolaid drinkers
    A check 2013 would show that past govt did buy garbage trucks
    However be that as it may past govt saw a garbage problem much bigger to tackle that having garbage trucks and hence an alternative solution was put into place
    Moving forward with all the applause of garbage trucks govt needlessly and within a shorten time span have to find space to bury the growing tons of garbage coming from business and households
    Note worthy is that of finding landspace to bury the garbage
    A massive problem which must be address no matter how many garbage trucks govt buys

26. Lovely piece of footwork by Mariposa…

As they were celebrating the arrival of trucks, Mariposa says “dump full, where you gun put de tons of new trash”

I am here waiting on their reply and trying to figure out how and where MP can move this new goalpost.

Her memory might be failing, but her game has improved
    2019 Grade A+

27. @ Piece

A Merry Xmas to you and yours and to all BU, too.

28. Mariposa, you never cease to amaze me.

You criticized the government for not addressing the garbage problem and not purchasing garbage trucks.

Now, you’re criticizing them for addressing the garbage problem and purchasing garbage trucks.

However, could you please explain to BU how the purchase of 12 or even 40 garbage trucks would result in a bulk increase of garbage?

It’s tantamount to saying the Transport Board needs 180 buses per day to provide an adequate and efficient service. Current availability is 100 per day, which results in infrequent service to several routes. If TB purchases an additional 80 buses, the Fairchild Street and Princess Alice terminals have to be rebuilt to accommodate a huge increase in passengers.

29. https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/243216/tour-buses-route

Embarrassment should have kept you from taking tourists on those roads. So busy trying to make a dollar and at the same time showing off the backwardness of the island.

30. Lol…Theo do you see now, we could never make all of this up. Both governments owe the people of Barbados a huge apology AND RESTITUTION for giving away million dollar contracts to the island’s biggest thieves for 40 years so they can leave the roads in deplorable conditions.

31. Artexeres why u insist and always quick to twist my comments
    Point me to where i crticize govt for not buying garbage trucks
    Over the months i have been critical of govt allowing the garbage to get out of control
    I also have criticize govt for not seeking the opportunity of not paying SSA workers overtime on weekends to pick up garbage
    I also made mention of health concerns associated with not having garbage collected in a timely fashion
    Artexeres while u are twisting my comments may i ask did i also get my statement wrong relating to the bold faced lie which blp supporters have been telling stating past govt did not buy one garbage truck
    Can u please confirm or state whether such bold statement by blp foot soldiers was a truth or untruth

32. Saw a story about a Caswell incident. I do not see i repeated anywhere so i doubt its veracity.

However, you all have to be careful when promoting Caswell.
    Too much promotion and he will get attention and you will here trying to figure out if it was a
    robbery/warning
    mu…/as….
    Going and take my meds..

Have a great day Barbados

33. They will definitely need to buy more and or bigger trucks to collect the HUGE amount of garbage you spew on BU daily. Everytime the government catspraddles its critics on BU, they engage in ‘shift the argument’. Egofowlism abounds here on BU.🤣🤣🤣

34. Enuff the govt buys trucks in your mind that should close the debate on garbage collection except that garbage collection does not end with a one stop solution of buying trucks
    Hence along with buying trucks govt also have to find a solution for the disposal of the garbage
    Prescod in Jan says the land fill is reaching its capacity and by saying so it therefore means and should be of major concern to all and sundry that the collection of garbage going forward would include how govt find a solution within haste for immediate disposal via landfill or waste to energy
    Shooting the messenger is not the answer

35. So whose money did government buy the garbage trucks with Fowl, you are acting as though they took yours or their money to buy them…..THEY ARE SUPPOSED TO BUY GARBAGE TRUCKS….they work for the people whose money make all the purchases…so where are they doing anyone any favors..

AND what about the buses..

alyuh 5 dollar hoes come too cheap.

36. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Dear Bu Household

The piece chosen for the Annual Contest for village choirs in Queens Park when I was an infant went like this:
    Love came down at Xmas
    Love ,O love, O love Divine
    Love came down at Xmas
    Love,O love , O love Divine.

Despite all that you have read from the BU resident theologians ,Love still rains/ reigns at Xmas.
    I wish all of you, brothers and sisters, lots of love from God who loves you unconditionally.
    It was a most enjoyable year. I also wish all commenters perfect 20/20 vision in BCE 2020 .

@ Piece the Legend

You are indeed Legendary!

37. Lorenzo

Mariposa is correct. In November 2013, the previous DLP administration invested $4.5M in purchasing 9 new vehicles to improve the SSA’s service to householders, which, at that time, brought the complement to 23.

During a press briefing held at SSA’s Southern Depot at Vaucluse, St. Thomas, on November 12, 2013, former environmental minister, Denis Lowe, acknowledged the fact SSA had been having challenges, which did not result “from a lack of commitment on the part of the Authority, or a lack of dedication on the part of the workers, but more challenges that are equipment specific and that we have been trying to address in a consistent and aggressive way.”

Lowe also said “ideally the SSA should have at least 45 trucks on the road daily, including those for recyclables to adequately service the entire island.”

38. Mariposa and Abigail
    Wunna can’t win. Have a wonderful and blessed Christmas.

39. Mari

That landfill reached its capacity a few time since the 90s. Remember greenland was to replace it?
    Stop pushing the DEM, now failed, WTE.
    The public rejected it and them, just like they rejected Owen Bs and Greenland.

40. Artax
    You sure them 9 trucks did new? Just asking.🤔

41. John i think we are in the 20′ s years long past and since climate change and all environmental concerns have reached high pitches
    Maybe i am slow or have come to a greater understanding that the older models or ways of getting by are no longer acceptable or recommendable
    I suggest you do a read on why landfills are a dying recommendation or alternative to garbage disposal

42. Mariposa, it’s clear you don’t know the meaning of twisting (one’s) comments.”

But, if, in your view, “saying” you criticized government for not purchasing garbage trucks and now criticizing them for purchasing 12, is twisting your comments, then….. knock yourself out.

You’re now on about corrupt African countries. I’m sure you’ll conveniently forget when your former DLP administration, through the environment ministry, linked with a company whose international contact was in Maputo, Mozambique.

https://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2014/01/ssawtebarbados_page_1.png

This is the same Denis Lowe who wants to “run” in the next general elections.

43. Air Pollution
    About two-thirds of landfill waste contains biodegradable organic matter from households, business and industry. As this material decomposes, it releases methane gas. As a potent greenhouse gas, methane traps up to 20 times more heat in the atmosphere compared with carbon dioxide the EPA states

44. You cannot be always serious…

🙂 If marriage is doing time then Christmas is doing hard time. In my home, there is no honey-do-list , I will just hear a voice coming from any direction with a task for me to do. Once, I heard a voice coming from above, but I was at the bottom of the stairs 🙂

To all the married men out there, Take your BP medicine and enjoy the season.
    To all the single men out there… Before you propose do a BP check and then decide… Keep in mind that a few old men still think it was the best decision that they ever made

Have a great day Barbados……

45. Enuff, even if duh did new or not, de point is, duh buy 9 garbage trucks.

46. Artexeres i asked u where or when did i made mention of govt not buying trucks
    Further more why go off in another twisted tangent to dismiss a growning concern by both govts that the landfill has all but reached maximum capacity
    If Lowe tried to address the landfill issue more power to him
    Albeit you can infused reference of a African connection as to exemplified past govt dealing with a corrupt african business of which u have to bring proof
    My input as to the concern that govt purchased of garbage trucks is only a small part of barbados garbage problem has with all seriousness brought out the ignorance in blp footsoldiers

47. Artax
    You sure them buy trucks? I just asking ya know.

48. “EnuffDecember 22, 2019 9:36 AM

Mariposa and Abigail
    Wunna can’t win. ”

Don’t know about Mariposa, but i won already, look how famous alyuh are, facebook superstars, being watched by this one that one and the next….now that is winning…lol

49. Artexeres at least u have set the record straight on past govt purchased of garbage trucks
    However during that period govt pickup was slow even with new garbage trucks and in doing might have also helped to slow down the fast pace in which the landfill would have reached full capacity of bulk garbage( not saying that as an excuse for slow and tardy pickups)
    However to bring into clear focus or to reiterate that barbados problem of increased volume of garbage must be adressed in long term solution as to disposable along with enviromental concern.

50. Mari
    The understanding you need to come to is

THE BAJAN PUBLIC AINT WANT NO WTE