The following is a statement issued by the MD of Barbados Light & Power a few minutes ago. Prime Minister Mia Mottley has demanded a meeting with the Chairman of EMERA this evening.

Several stories have been floating about social media in the last 24 hours, BU will stay with the official positions issued by the BL&P for the moment.

Roger Blackman, Managing Director of BLPC
The Barbados Light & Power Company Limited (BLPC) wishes to update Barbadians on the electricity outages that have occurred this week. We recognise that this affects our nation’s productivity and ability to serve your own customers and clients. For this, we sincerely apologise and wish to assure you that we are taking this very seriously. Our teams are assiduously working to bring full restoration back to our island.
BLPC uses Heavy Fuel Oil to produce electricity to meet the needs of our customers. At present, we are experiencing a Heavy Fuel Oil quality issue, which has been plaguing us for an extended period. The presence of contaminants detected in the Heavy Fuel Oil is the main cause of the challenges we are experiencing.
The outage events which occurred this week are extraordinary events originating with a switch failure in one of our Spring Garden substations, and during that restoration process, a second event occurred on Tuesday morning with a fault on one of our generating units. In both cases system protection response is being investigated.
Over the past few months, to compound the restoration and supply issues, we have been investigating oil quality issues which are prematurely damaging equipment used to feed oil to our generating units. At present, generating units that we would normally rely on to supply electricity demand have periodically been shutting down due to the fuel issues and this has slowed the pace of restoration.
We are working with our fuel supplier and other stakeholders to hone in upon the specific cause and source of potential contamination from their suppliers, which is ongoing. We have been staying ahead of these issues while we completed other maintenance and repairs to the remainder of our generating fleet, however, this week highlighted the challenge we have been working through to prevent such an event from occurring.
We wish to thank you for your patience, support and encouraging words as we work through this period. We are meeting with the Prime Minister, other Government officials and the Barbados Water Authority this evening to give a comprehensive update and to provide an update on our status and plans going forward to resolve our challenges. We will of course keep you updated of any significant changes as things evolve.
The Chairman of our Board Rick Janega from Emera is on island and will be a part of the meeting with government.

256 responses to “Barbados Gone Dark”

1. So wait help me here.

If we buying oil for our generators from Jamaica and the same company supplying the power company there with the same fuel, how come their generators not breaking down every 5 minutes then?

Wunna feel I now crawl out from under a rock ? LOL

2. Alex MacDonald again…anyhoo, he claimed he negotiated an even BETTER PRICE……yep, so in essence he got what he paid for….ya just cannot make it up…then, he actually said they had options to choose from around the world….lol

“Jamaica supplies Barbados with oil

Tuesday, July 09, 2019

KINGSTON, Jamaica — Petrojam Limited is now supplying the Barbados National Terminal Company Limited (BNTCL) with oil, following the closure last November of the state-owned PETROTRIN oil refinery in Trinidad and Tobago.

BNTCL chairman, Alex McDonald said the deal is far more competitive than the previous with PETROTRIN.

McDonald said that the contract with Petrojam has been in existence over the last six months and that while BNTCL had received numerous offers worldwide, the island’s relationship with Jamaica was a decisive factor in awarding the contract to Petrojam.

“Through our competitive tendering process that went through about six months ago, we received a lot of quotations from all over the world and Jamaica had the best price for us and as a result, we went and we renegotiated an even better deal based on our relationships with them and our future plans. So that’s where we get our oil from right now,” McDonald said.

The Trinidad and Tobago Government shut down the refinery after complaining of billions of dollars (one TT dollar=US$0.16 cents) in losses annually. It has since established Heritage Petroleum Company and Paria Fuel Trading Company that are undertaking exploration as well as handling fuel logistics and the energy trading aspect of the business respectively.

Port of Spain said that Heritage Petroleum Company stands on the platform of expertise from the 100 years of oil and gas experience, while Paria Fuel Trading Company has access to strategic linkages and high-level market intelligence”

3. So since none of us were born last night….the next question is…HOW MANY MILLIONS WERE SKIMMED OFF…..that they ended up with shite oil that shut down already aged generators that should have been replaced over a decade ago……lol

4. And of that fact EMERA would have been aware. Would they not have advised the government? What testing of the fuel was done before use?

And, If they were denied permission to build the new plant why did they not speak of such at the briefing? Why speak only of Cahill and Andrews?

Are you really trying to tell me that the monopoly provider of power to Barbados has no power?????

Nobody in government listening to them?

Steupse! Just greedy capitalists at it again. Look at what’s happening in California! They try to wring the last dollar out of their infrastructure. Today’s capitalist cares nothing for the customer or the worker. It’s all about the shareholder.

The whole world has come to realize that. That is why the whole world except docile Barbadians are taking to the streets and demanding change.

5. Before talk about throwing Emera off the island
    Question to be asked is what does govt have in mind for alternative energy to service the entire country
    BL&P at its current state would not receive a fair market value one would understand that this catastrophe has a negative impact on its value in the market and a potential buyer would not want to invest in junk
    Therefore barbadians along with govt will have to pick up whatever losses impacted on from the meltdown when Emera starts the rebuilding process
    It is times like these that many reflect and think what if
    What if govt was not so inclined to stay put on a political self serving soap box
    My mind now reflects on a gasification plant which would have been helpful in taking some of the workload off an aging BL&P plant

6. BL&P need to give every customer an automatic refund for the time they didn’t get no electricity. That needs to be separate and apart from any compensation they pay out to customers who suffered loss because of a lack of electricity.

7. Look the reality is this whether we like it or not. The FTC is a waste of time. Emera have a monopoly here. The producers of solar energy have their prduction limited by the government and the said Emera.

Emera tried to squeeze every last cent out of old generators and it has now come back to bite them in their tail. All the above are undeniable facts.

My question to the PM is ” so what we doing bout it?”

8. There is provision under the Consumer Act for compensation if the consumer submits a claim.

9. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Donna
    “What testing of the fuel was done before use?”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++
    The national oil company is the ONLY body licensed to purchase and import fuel oil. BL&P has no choice but to source their supply through them. The routine tests that they had been doing, eg. for particulates and sulfur, had no way of detecting this new problem with ketones and aldehydes.

10. @Peter

The GM of BNOC all but admit it is their fault regarding the contamination. Because it is a liability issue read the BL&P will be slapping a claim in BNOC a couching of language was used. Look for a shake up at BNOCL.

11. @John A

EMERA is the subject matter expert in the transaction, if governments strategic plan was flawed there are mechanisms to vent the matter. Why go along with a plan to generate power based with flawed assumptions.

12. “My mind now reflects on a gasification plant which would have been helpful in taking some of the workload off an aging BL&P plant,”

what kind of STUPID are you playing at now…which part of a gasification PLANT IS DANGEROUS FOR SUCH A SMALL ISLAND DON’T YOU UNDERSTAND….

if it CAN’T WORK IN UK…how would yall have gotten ya CROOK/THIEF FRIEND Clare the Cow FROM CANADA TO MAKE IT WORK IN BARBADOS..

no one wants any of the LYING, backward and ignorant DLP ministers/politicians anywhere near the parliament….EVER AGAIN…they tief too much.

13. Exactly, John A! Exactly! As I said, EMERA knew the state of play, got everything they could for their dollar. Provided poor service for a long time. Took a chance and their luck ran out.

I hope Mottley brings the hammer down on them and keeps pounding.

They could fool the fools but having battled with them repeatedly over their piss poor service, they cannot fool me.

“Day does run until night catch it!”

An appropriate and timely Barbadian saying.

14. What is most annoying to me when it comes to Enema(Yes I calling them enema) and the BWA is this.

Why do the BWA not have standby generators on their major pumping stations? How is the BWA different say to COST U LESS ? Are they not all selling a product? If you are a business selling water and you can’t sell what you can’t supply, would not the installation of generators secure your revenue? Of course that is assuming we looking at the BWA as a business!

Yesterday I dropped home an old lady who lives in Porey Springs St Thomas, she has not had water for 4 days! When I was coming through the area they were young guys and women lugging water from the spring up the hill in containers. You mean to tell me this is how we must live in 2019!

15. Purchasing generators to make sure the public is never inconvenienced would take away from the skimming from the top factor……they too love to TIEF, BY THE MILLIONS…the easiest way is to set up the scam and double or triple invoice..

can’t do that if they purchase generators…it would be less money for them..

you should know the low crawling mentalities coming from that parliament by now.

16. This is what is killing me, am doubled over…lol

“Through our competitive tendering process that went through about six months ago, we received a lot of quotations from all over the world and Jamaica had the best price for us and as a result, we went and we renegotiated an even better deal based on our relationships with them and our future plans. So that’s where we get our oil from right now,” McDonald said.”

17. If your critique of Mia is correct than she could as well make her cabinet redundant. Eighteen months into her government and its very likely that things will continue to deteriorate.
    Are you sure you made the right decision to return to your homeland. What is unfolding in Barbados is a real tragedy.

18. PLT,

Again I say – does the monopoly supplier of power in Barbados have no power? Are we saying that nobody in government listens to them?

Please! I saw their faces and their attitude last night when Mia asked about the simultaneous aging out of ALL the engines. They have been caught red-handed! The contaminated fuel brought the issue of their aging plant to a head.

That was clear.

PS. If you could google and find out the suspect nature of fuel from that source do you think Emera was unaware? Show me the documented objections they made when consulted by government! Didn’t hear any of that at the time or even last night. And should they not have insisted on more than “routine testing”?

The main issue is the bloody old equipment. That is what I gleaned from what I heard from Emera over the past few days. That is what Mia forced them to accept last night. The fuel made the problem worse. That is all.

19. Sent to PLT

20. @Piece

What’s your take on Mugabe’s apparent direct input into this fuel purchase from Jamacia. How is SOL and new Canadian purchaser of SOL involved ?

21. Emera

The BL&P did not upgrade their equipment recently. Due to their contract expiring soon and the GO Green project schedules by 2030.
    As a result the O rings are becoming hard more quickly with less fuel due to a phenol reaction from these new suppliers which we had to get as there was a shortage from the old suppliers.
    Therefore we have no back up measures.
    That being said they did not purchase the new equipment with their contract not renewed with certainty.
    Now. Yesterday morning the Titanium pipe channel on spring garden blew which caused a fault and overloaded the other circuits which all tripped. They used a second Titanium pipe to do the job and had everyone up by last night. Unfortunately this AM Pipe number 2 also blew and luckily no one died as it exploded.
    They can’t repair pipe one. They now trying to repair pipe 2 which blew this am.
    They don’t have a back up due to poor provision and they laid off half their staff in cuts last year. So they are actually in “shit” right now.

22. The proverbial bad penny! No matter how you toss him up he lands on heads and it’s tails we lose! Heads he wins tails we lose!

23. @ Waru,
    You continue to be correct in your judgment. People prefer to own their homes rather than renting. Should it not be the same when it comes to having ownership over domestic energy within your home especially in a country which is blessed with plenty of sun light.

24. Ya that SOL and Canadian purchaser of SOL…Simpson can pretend as much he wants, but not all Bajans are blind..KARMA is in town.

25. “Should it not be the same when it comes to having ownership over domestic energy within your home especially in a country which is blessed with plenty of sun light.”

I have been saying for years…THE SUN IS FREE…

it’s these empty suits in parliament ALWAYS running around everywhere searching for CROOKS AND THIEVES to SELL THEM THE SUN…

26. @ John A
    Thank you for mentioning the water because everybody talking about the current and forgetting the water. I know some people who come in for a funeral, staying in St George and they haven’t had water for 4 days. Barbados cannot continue like this. 2019 and you got no electricity and no water.

27. @David

Yes I agree with you on poor planning and even poorer excuses. If you have a shop and their is “rumour” of another shop setting up in your area, do you stop buying items for your store?

Every excuse they use is more pathetic than the previous one. So I now ask how much will the FTC be fining enema for every hour they can’t provide power to our island? Also should businesses file their bills for lost of revenue with the FTC or directly with enema?

You see I am moving past the obvious RH that has occurred and asking where is the consumer protection and what penalty will enema pay for their negligence under our system?

Answer = NONE and NONE

28. Was reminded of those big staff cuts on Monday. With old ass equipment how would that have been justified?

Too many issues! Can’t talk about all!

You can fool some of the people some of the time but not all of the people all of the time!

29. The blame game in full effect, everyone pointing fingers but if the problem stems from contaminated fuel and the fuel is supposed to be tested by BNOCL and BNOCL is a Gov’t entity- yah see where this is going?

Emera is the last man standing and most of the fingers pointed at them but as the man said “never let a serious crisis go to waste” , the PM (no fool she) seized the opportunity to hold Emera in a hammerlock and they are tapping the canvas in submission.

BTW while addressing this problem we heard about the Sewage crisis, reservoirs, the lost decade even the Prison (Glendairy) got a mention.

Repeat “Never let a serious crisis go to waste”.

30. Steupse! Just greedy capitalists at it again. Look at what’s happening in California!

California is run by Socialists … Democrats.

The Power outages there are to prevent the starting and spreading of wildfires because all the regulations imposed by the Socialists/Democrats have preventing the removal of kindling.

One of the consequences is that all the electric cars which the Socialists/Democrats have encouraged people to buy to save the environment can’t work … nowhere to charge!!

So people up in the forests on the hills can’t get out with these vehicles.

… so what’s the difference between the SS California and SS Titanic?

Titanic had its lights on when it sunk.

California was blacked out and sunk by a U boat.

31. @TLSN @Waru
    You are both so right bout incorporating power generation into houses. I have a couple of friends of mine in Jamaica who use wind turbines to generate power for their own homes and harvest and purify rain water for their domestic needs. The technology to solve these problems is available but they can’t get implemented coz the system is set up to line certain people pockets. This is the real underlying cause of the situation we in. We need to change it.

32. @TeeWhite

Yes we can blame enema for the electricity issue but the piss poor planning by the BWA must fall squarely on their shoulders.

I left home yesterday morning with no electricity and no water and went to a large wholesale outlet who were fully functioning with AC blowing nice and cold by their generators. If the board of the BWA were business people who realised that to sell water they first needed to supply it, you don’t think every major pumping station should have a auto on generator?

You see it is not only enema that has proven a dismal failure but also the BWA. Instead of being dependant on enema the BWA should be independent of them. Of course again i say that would mean running the BWA as a business and God forbid that should ever happen!

33. And how would they expect their contract to be renewed with PISS POOR service? Seems like a good reason to kick their asses off and bring in somebody else. Besides, the equipment should have been purchased ages ago when their contract had several years still to go.

Lying excuses!

Now I am not the lone voice crying in the wilderness! No more middle of the night calls for me. Take that, Mr. Customer Disservice Rep!

34. Yesterday I dropped home an old lady who lives in Porey Springs St Thomas, she has not had water for 4 days! When I was coming through the area they were young guys and women lugging water from the spring up the hill in containers. You mean to tell me this is how we must live in 2019!

Did you know there was a Quaker Meeting called the Spring?

15 acres of land!!

Burying ground.

I see a lot of houses building so I am wondering how the ownership of the land changed!!

Wonder how many remains of Quakers and Slaves they are turning up?

35. Now if Mia had locked up those responsible for all this, no solar houses, no this, no that, financial problems up the wazoo….because the people and island were ROBBED….she would have more people in her corner, but keep up the brazen…it’s working out so well.

36. Steupse, John. I will not be distracted by your nonsense.

Sargeant,

The fuel was only part of the problem. Even Emera has admitted that. That is why Mottley was able to pin them to the mat.

And long may she keep them there!

37. @John.

Nope didn’t know that. Can tell you though all the living up there dying to see little water run through their taps again!

38. How does a company refund a customer for metered service if the customer is not receiving the service Steupse

In eighteen months under present govt.
    We have Emera gate
    Ram Gate
    WaterGate
    Peeps dont expect the list to get better
    Barbadians are being served by a clueless bunch handing them empty promises

39. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@TLSNNovember 20, 2019 9:23 AM
    “If your critique of Mia is correct than she could as well make her cabinet redundant.”
    ++++++++++++++++++
    What is your evidence that the rest of her cabinet is not redundant? 😉

40. Anyhow I still waiting for the FTC to tell me if I should bring my bill for damages to them or carry it straight to Enema. So far I billing for the following.

Lost of sleep as old fan went off $500.

Meat in freezer the dog had for dinner $200- dog guts full=$180

Lost of personal hygiene = $200

Anguish and mental suffering=$5000

Laundry bill at the laundry down the hill $200

Miscellaneous $ 2000

Now stop laughing and let’s be serious. If the FTC was worth anything and each bajan affected could submit a claim like this via them, do you honestly think either enema or the BWA would risk the nonesence they are doing?

Dem got enough blame for all to hold some and still got nuff left over!

41. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@DonnaNovember 20, 2019 9:52 AM
    “Seems like a good reason to kick their asses off and bring in somebody else.”
    Any other private sector replacement for Emera is going to behave exactly as badly as they have. That’s how capitalism works. If you want a different outcome you have to change the structure of the utility. If a public utility is privately owned then the private profitability will always trump the public interest.

42. Barbados WAS being run by a clueless bunch handing them empty promises! There is no Ram Gate. The Water Gate was when the DLP government built the new building to administer no water service instead of upgrading the actual water delivering infrastructure. And Emera was not properly regulated under the DLP otherwise they would have bought equipment. The last of the equipment was purchased in 2005 around the same time that the last buses were purchased when the BLP formed the government.

#thelostdecade

Have you no shame, woman??????!!!!!!

43. Is Barbados a failed state?

44. peterlawrencethompson
    November 20, 2019 10:16 AM

@DonnaNovember 20, 2019 9:52 AM
    “Seems like a good reason to kick their asses off and bring in somebody else.”
    Any other private sector replacement for Emera is going to behave exactly as badly as they have. That’s how capitalism works. If you want a different outcome you have to change the structure of the utility. If a public utility is privately owned then the private profitability will always trump the public interest.

I know, why don’t we nationalize it and let Government (once it is constitutional) run it!!

45. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@JohnNovember 20, 2019 10:21 AM
    “I know, why don’t we nationalize it and let Government (once it is constitutional) run it!!”
    Great idea!! Then it will be just as efficient and effective as our beloved BWA!

46. @ Hal

You right to get up there after a nice shower and electricity and laugh at me down here in my banana republic! My friend if it wasn’t so frustrating it would be laughable.

47. John A

Who’s laughing? (I am, though. If you don’t laugh you would cry. It’s tragicomedy)

About the BWA having generators. I wonder if it would not be better to PROPERLY monitor the BL & P to ensure reliable service. The BWA is their biggest customer. Would it be profitable for them to operate minus their biggest customer? If the generators are just used for back up wouldn’t that be too much money lying idle that could have been better used? Scarce resources and all.

Just asking!

48. John
    November 20, 2019 9:53 AM

Yesterday I dropped home an old lady who lives in Porey Springs St Thomas, she has not had water for 4 days! When I was coming through the area they were young guys and women lugging water from the spring up the hill in containers. You mean to tell me this is how we must live in 2019!
    Did you know there was a Quaker Meeting called the Spring?
    15 acres of land!!
    Burying ground.
    I see a lot of houses building so I am wondering how the ownership of the land changed!!
    Wonder how many remains of Quakers and Slaves they are turning up?

Quaker burying grounds are all over in St. Thomas where you will find both Quakers and slaves side by side.

Another is around the vault of General Williams in Vault Road next to Welchman Hall Gully.

My guess is the vault is a marker and all around the vault are buried other Quakers, because General Williams was a Quaker, and of course slaves.

It follows if my logic is correct that if you were to come upon remains around the General’s vault or in Porey Spring they could be either Quaker or slave!!

Same principle I believe at Newton.

If you wanted to differentiate you would need to do DNA testing.

… but at the time, differentiation was not considered when burying the dead.

… then there is another at Sturges, and at Ayshford and at Strong Hope and at Cane Garden and at Lears …. etc etc etc.

Once the earth hasn’t been moved to please you could find remains all over in St. Thomas … and St. Lucy and Christ Church etc etc etc!!

49. peterlawrencethompson
    November 20, 2019 10:26 AM

@JohnNovember 20, 2019 10:21 AM
    “I know, why don’t we nationalize it and let Government (once it is constitutional) run it!!”
    Great idea!! Then it will be just as efficient and effective as our beloved BWA!

++++++++++++++++++++++

All in the public interest!!

50. @John A

The stakeholders that is government, EMERA, private sector actors, NGOs are all aware of the state of play in the energy sector. We have a crisis of governance. The next problem germinating is NIS.

Leave a Reply to TheOGazertsCancel reply