The following is a statement issued by the MD of Barbados Light & Power a few minutes ago. Prime Minister Mia Mottley has demanded a meeting with the Chairman of EMERA this evening.

Several stories have been floating about social media in the last 24 hours, BU will stay with the official positions issued by the BL&P for the moment.

Roger Blackman, Managing Director of BLPC
The Barbados Light & Power Company Limited (BLPC) wishes to update Barbadians on the electricity outages that have occurred this week. We recognise that this affects our nation’s productivity and ability to serve your own customers and clients. For this, we sincerely apologise and wish to assure you that we are taking this very seriously. Our teams are assiduously working to bring full restoration back to our island.
BLPC uses Heavy Fuel Oil to produce electricity to meet the needs of our customers. At present, we are experiencing a Heavy Fuel Oil quality issue, which has been plaguing us for an extended period. The presence of contaminants detected in the Heavy Fuel Oil is the main cause of the challenges we are experiencing.
The outage events which occurred this week are extraordinary events originating with a switch failure in one of our Spring Garden substations, and during that restoration process, a second event occurred on Tuesday morning with a fault on one of our generating units. In both cases system protection response is being investigated.
Over the past few months, to compound the restoration and supply issues, we have been investigating oil quality issues which are prematurely damaging equipment used to feed oil to our generating units. At present, generating units that we would normally rely on to supply electricity demand have periodically been shutting down due to the fuel issues and this has slowed the pace of restoration.
We are working with our fuel supplier and other stakeholders to hone in upon the specific cause and source of potential contamination from their suppliers, which is ongoing. We have been staying ahead of these issues while we completed other maintenance and repairs to the remainder of our generating fleet, however, this week highlighted the challenge we have been working through to prevent such an event from occurring.
We wish to thank you for your patience, support and encouraging words as we work through this period. We are meeting with the Prime Minister, other Government officials and the Barbados Water Authority this evening to give a comprehensive update and to provide an update on our status and plans going forward to resolve our challenges. We will of course keep you updated of any significant changes as things evolve.
The Chairman of our Board Rick Janega from Emera is on island and will be a part of the meeting with government.

256 responses to “Barbados Gone Dark”

1. Over the past few months, to compound the restoration and supply issues, we have been investigating oil quality issues which are prematurely damaging equipment used to feed oil to our generating units. At present, generating units that we would normally rely on to supply electricity demand have periodically been shutting down due to the fuel issues and this has slowed the pace of restoration
    ———”””””
    David do u understand what that means

I gave the analogy of pumping low grade gas into a car that calls for higher grade

It Therfore begs the question why were bl&p using oil that compromise their generators

2. @ Mariposa

Hush yuh mout.

You is DLP.

You ain’t suppose to ask so many questions.

3. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@a statement issued by the MD of Barbados Light & Power “We wish to thank you for your patience, support and encouraging words as we work through this period.”

Don’t thank us as we are NOT patient, supportive, nor encouraging. We simply want our electricity back. No lotta long talk. In addition once the electricity fails, the water fails, so I am still without running water, and will run out of my “hurricane” supply of stored water by noon on Wednesday. I am old, and like most Bajans i don’t own a car nor a generator, nor a monster sized water tank, because I can’t afford such, I have no idea where the nearest standpipe is, so what am I supposed to do while Light and Power talks? And tobesides I don’t owe Light and Power a single cent.

4. Does the FTC have an opinion on this?

Is the FTC planning to seek an independent report on the reasons behind the dismal performance of the BLP?

After all no fish seller ever say their fish was stale yet!

5. THE BIBLE SAYS THAT DURING THE CRUCIFIXION THAT THERE WAS DARKNESS OVER ALL THE LAND

NOW THAT MIA MUGABE MAO MOCKLEY CRUCIFYING BARBADOS THERE IS DARKNESS OVER ALL THE LAND OF BARBADOS

6. … and then there is the issue of water!!

All the electricity in the world with no water is another symptom of our malaise.

7. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

I doubt that this has anything to do with Jesus or his crucifixion, or the Bible or anything so.

8. Great opportunity to pressure BL&P & Govt to go with clean energy

9. Why do we continue to use dirty fuels like Bunker C Oil?

Why Hemp Biodiesel?

Biodiesel is the only alternative fuel that runs in any conventional, unmodified diesel engine.
    It can be stored anywhere that petroleum diesel fuel is stored. Biodiesel is safe to handle and transport because it is as biodegradable as sugar, 10 times less toxic than table salt, and has a high flashpoint of about 300 F compared to petroleum diesel fuel, which has a flash point of 125 F.
    Biodiesel can be made from domestically produced, renewable oilseed crops such as hemp.
    Biodiesel is a proven fuel with over 30 million successful US road miles, and over 20 years of use in Europe.
    When burned in a diesel engine, biodiesel replaces the exhaust odor of petroleum diesel with the pleasant smell of hemp, popcorn or french fries.
    Biodiesel is the only alternative fuel in the US to complete EPA Tier I Health Effects Testing under section 211(b) of the Clean Air Act, which provide the thorough inventory of environmental and human health effects attributes that current technology will allow.
    Biodiesel is 11% oxygen by weight and contains no sulfur.
    The use of biodiesel can extend the life of diesel engines because it is more lubricating than petroleum diesel fuel, while fuel consumption, auto ignition, power output, and engine torque are relatively unaffected by biodiesel.
    The Congressional Budget Office, Department of Defense, US Department of Agriculture, and others have determined that biodiesel is the low cost alternative fuel option for fleets to meet requirements of the Energy Policy Act.

10. Water back on … had a shower …. return to civilization!!

Will figure out a simple fix to get around no electricity and no water and still get a shower, do laundry and have all sanitary needs net.

Might go the whole hog and rely on rainfall and sunshine if situation continues which it sounds as though it might.

Got a simple idea that should work that involves gravity and is cheap.

The Supplier is 100% reliable.

… and here comes a little rain to give me a nudge.

Bliss!!

11. RE THE BIBLE SAYS THAT DURING THE CRUCIFIXION THAT THERE WAS DARKNESS OVER ALL THE LAND

NOW THAT MIA MUGABE MAO MOCKLEY CRUCIFYING BARBADOS THERE IS DARKNESS OVER ALL THE LAND OF BARBADOS

I doubt that this has anything to do with Jesus or his crucifixion, or the Bible or anything so.

THIS IS CALLED AN ANALOGY DUMMY!
    YOU MUST ALWAYS PICK WILTS!

12. When burned in a diesel engine, biodiesel replaces the exhaust odor of petroleum diesel with the pleasant smell of hemp, popcorn or french fries.

Might not need a referendum.

13. @ John A November 19, 2019 10:06 PM
    “Does the FTC have an opinion on this?
    Is the FTC planning to seek an independent report on the reasons behind the dismal performance of the BLP?
    After all no fish seller ever say their fish was stale yet!”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The hard game being played is called pulling the balls of the FTC in its ‘delaying’ need to grant an Emera-determined increase in electricity rates in a consumer market which is not growing but still operating in a contracting [but] still high-cost economy.

The state of play is simply one of:
    No Emera parent company approval of the major Capex now needed to replace those cranky old turbines which have long past their ‘useful’ economic lives or, as euphemistically stated, “long past their retirement age”.

Emera would not be investing in any ‘new’ dirty old fossil fuel dependent power-generating technology unless there is a significantly satisfactory increase in rates big enough to recoup its investment over a much reduced time horizon in light of the expanding alternative energy (AE) competition along with the climate change (CC) political agenda and a stagnant economy.

14. Who heard the Prime Minister made a veil reference to the fact renewal of license is currently been negotiated between government and BL&P? The other notable mention is that she instructed Minister Caddle who is meeting with the IADB to request technical expertise to provide support on the best power generation design for Barbados.

15. Still no water over 24 hours later in some areas, the heights included..

who is to blame for that..

both BLP and Emera knew for over a decades that their old tired low speed diesel p lant wanted changing, their intent is to make Bajans pay for it…KICK THEM OFF THE ISLAND…nationalize the plant and not to any minority thieves and crooks either..

stop allowing greedy foreign companies to hold the island and people to ransom, get them out.

16. CORRECTION..

both BL&P and Emera knew for well over a decade that their DECREPIT low speed diesel generators needed throwing in the dump…

don’t want to blame BLP innocently, it was a mistake, before the fowls jump out.

17. To whom it may concern.
    This is a wonderful opportunity for Barbardians to provide for themselves. If you go on the Chinese website Alibaba you can purchase a complete 4KW (adequate for a family of 4)photovoltaic solar system that will allow you not to pay a single cent to an energy provider. The costs vary but you can purchase a system for as little as £3000.
    You will have to reduce your electricity demand but you will not be supporting a foreign energy provided.
    There is so much information out there. Simple Simon if you do your research you will be surprised.

18. I like Roger a lot , but he should never allow LYING EMERA to use him like that.

19. There is enough blame to go around here but the least of it lies with the Mottley administration and the contaminated fuel. The most of it lies with EMERA which is contracted to provide a reliable flow of electricity.

If they knew that the Cahill project was not going to provide electricity they should have ignored the damned corrupt government and planned as though their words were hot air.

They advised the government that such a project had never worked ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD and then proceeded to plan their business activities as though it had.

Mia hit the nail on the head. How on earth could all their thirty year life span engines be at the end of their life at the same time???? The Cahill fiasco was just a few years ago and so this was a problem existing before that time. Did not the FTC keep track of these things???????

This signs were there for a long time. I hope Barbados has learnt a lesson. Problems seldom, if ever, fix themselves.

I believe that we will come out of this experience better prepared.

20. “They advised the government that such a project had never worked ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD and then proceeded to plan their business activities as though it had”

they should know that lie will only fly with yardfowls..

Should be coming out of this mess…on FULL SOLAR POWER…no more wicked foreign companies with their ulterior motives of robbing everybody and giving the island bad service to please their investors and shareholders…the goddamn nerve of Emera..

21. Miller,

When Emera purchased the BL & P they would have known the state of play. They knew that we were heading towards renewable energy. They knew the plant and equipment would need to be replaced. It is indeed obvious that they want to make us pay for it up front. I say we have been tricked before. Let us see the equipment first! Let us see the improved service first!

22. If the situation was not so dire, it would be laughable as one watches the blame-game evolve. In any manufacturing enterprise, be it the production of electricity or the manufacture of hams, one is taught that the implementation of a preventative quality control program is a prerequisite for successful production. The control program can be the hazard analysis critical control point (HACCP) or programs such as the ISO 9000.
    When ordering supplies under HACCP, the buyer instructs the supplier of the product specifications required and outlines the conditions under which acceptance or rejection of the supplies will occur. An in-house sampling acceptance program must be initiated by the buyer On receipt of the raw material, the quality control in-plant officer, checks the documentation which accompanies the raw material to ensure that product specifications are met.To ensure product specifications have been met ,the buyer either utilizes his in-house laboratory to ascertain that the specification have been met, or if there are.no in-house facilities, out sourcing is done. This is standard operating procedure(SOP). It is at this stage that the buyer’s quality control officer is in a position to accept or reject outright. In other words, if HACCP or ISO 9000 conditions are enforced, there will be no need to play the blame-game, since adulterated raw materials are excluded from the production line. Let me repeat, under HACCP/ISO 9000 conditions, the onus is on the buyer/producer to ensure that there is no adulterated products entering the plant.
    Then there is also least-cost formulation.This is done in all manufacturing enterprises: the name tells it all. An expensive input is replaced by a cheaper one and reformulation done so as to mimic the product which contained the more expensive input. Blending varying amounts of the replacement (inferior product) into the formulation is done, until a stage is reached ,where the new formulation appears to be similar to the original product. In such cases, there may occur a reduction in the quality of the product which can cause problems..

23. Ah guess Caswell has his own take on things too…and he is right, trying to remember if i heard this, sell happy Mia did this. These clowns who have low intellect SELL EVERYTHING..they sell out the people constantly…Bajans have to watch out that they themselves are not only sold out as is the norm…BUT SOLD TOO…when these fools are overly desperate for money…

If Mia does not nationalize the company…it will get even worse, you sold ya shares dumbass ….YOU HAVE NO SAY…nationalize and bid Emera… adieu….

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/11/20/franklin-blame-govts-light-power-sale/?fbclid=IwAR2Jy95ZIjIU7SAjej_11Qd1l80MuyFbicV1TwcK4tgG_gEqH4H0zgr35ts

“An outspoken legislator has blamed Government for selling its shares in Emera, the Canadian-based parent of the Barbados Light & Power Company Limited (BL&P), saying Barbadians are now paying the price with a rash of power cuts.

As the outages severely disrupt life and productivity across the island, Opposition Senator Caswell Franklyn said the Mia Mottley administration made a big mistake when it sold its shares in the BL&P.

He told Barbados TODAY this afternoon: “Emera is about itself and profit, it doesn’t care about the people of Barbados.

“They refused to invest in upgrading the [local] company and now they blaming aging equipment for contributing to the power outages.

“They also went and bought the cheapest fuel they could find on the market…even the contaminated one and blaming that too.”

24. “The control program can be the hazard analysis critical control point (HACCP) or programs such as the ISO 9000.”

the then BL&P company has been ISO compliant for over a decade…if they bought substandard fuel is because they NEVER DID THEIR DUE DILIGENCE and testing …a VIOLATION of their ISO standing and they should LOSE IT.

25. She now has no choice..

“He said: “In the same way [Government] bought out Mrs Ram’s [Asha Mirchandani] Liquidation Centre, the Government now needs to rethink its Emera interest.

“It needs to look at ways to repatriate Emera and put back the BL&P in the hands of the people of Barbados.”

26. If you go on the Chinese website Alibaba you can purchase a complete 4KW (adequate for a family of 4)photovoltaic solar system that will allow you not to pay a single cent to an energy provider. The costs vary but you can purchase a system for as little as £3000.

“Should be coming out of this mess…on FULL SOLAR POWER…”

Not wanting to rain on the parade, but:

Solar Panels Produce Tons Of Toxic Waste—Literally

Beyond the inefficient use of these resources to begin with (in the process of making crystalline silicon from silicon, as much as 80 percent of the raw silicon is lost), there are numerous human health concerns directly related to the manufacture and disposal of solar panels.

According to cancer biologist David H. Nguyen, PhD, toxic chemicals in solar panels include cadmium telluride, copper indium selenide, cadmium gallium (di)selenide, copper indium gallium (di)selenide, hexafluoroethane, lead, and polyvinyl fluoride. Silicon tetrachloride, a byproduct of producing crystalline silicon, is also highly toxic.

snip

In one 2003 study, researchers drew attention to the fact that cadmium is the benefactor of special environmental treatment, which allows solar energy to be more economically efficient (as far as that word quite applies to solar energy even in the current state of subsidization). They wrote:

If they were classified as “hazardous” according to Federal or State criteria, then special requirements for material handling, disposal, record keeping, and reporting would escalate the cost of decommissioning.

This mirrors an answer given by Cara Libby, Senior Technical Leader of Solar Energy at the Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI), who admits that there is no lucrative amount of salvageable parts on any type of solar panel.

In Europe, we’ve seen that when it’s mandated, it gets done. Either it becomes economical or it gets mandated. But I’ve heard that it will have to be mandated because it won’t ever be economical.

She adds:

In Europe, we’ve seen that when it’s mandated, it gets done. Either it becomes economical or it gets mandated. But I’ve heard that it will have to be mandated because it won’t ever be economical.

It is no wonder that Chinese factories, when confronted with the exorbitant costs (both financial and environmental) of decomposing solar panel chemicals properly, prefer to release them into the environment rather than dispose of them in an environmentally safe manner.

https://www.naturalblaze.com/2019/11/solar-panels-produce-tons-of-toxic-waste-literally.html

Humans always pinning their hopes on the next “free” technological lunch. Could you imagine a Barbados filled with rooftop solar cells hit by a natural disaster which destroys large numbers of these solar cells all at once? There is a strong likelihood (or more likely inevitability) that nuff, nuff broken solar panels would end up in the local garbage dump, not to mention the gullies and the ditches of our back roads and cart tracks to leak out their chemical poisons into the aquifer for the Lord only knows how long. And never mind a natural disaster, what provision are being made right now to handle the normal decommissioning of the growing numbers of toxic solar cells at the end of their natural 20 year life span – other than dropping them into the hole in the ground up by Mount Stinekeroo, or applying our typical Bajan, “don’t-give-a-sh1t, drop-um-in-a-gully-if-um-brek” disposal handling often applied to used appliances, mattresses, broken furniture etc?

27. Of recent barbadians were not complaining about the high energy bills
    Many were saying that the bills were not increasing as previous years
    The evident for these bills now lies in the fact that Emera was relying on low grade fuel and aged equipment to keep the bills lower
    Barbadians want to have their bottle and spoon and not pay for either which will not happen in the world of commerce
    When a business spend to improve for quality
    The customer will share with the quality as well with the monetary cost for the improvement
    Emera statement yesterday and the terrible melt down. bodes well to say that Emera would now be forced to improve the quality of their service and barbadians would have to foot the bill

28. @Donna

Before the topic is derailed let us focus on your comment which is critical to understanding the level of thinking/planning by BL&P supported by government. Given the nascent technology of plasma gasification, the quality of the CAHILL agreement, the elapse time since the agreement fell through based on the collapse of the plant with a similar design in the UK – also the litigation surrounding the biomass plant planned for Andrews location, have we heard about alternative plans to support the point Dr. Lucas is also made above. Where is the redundancy planning? There is the old saying if the head bad then you are bound to have a problem.

29. What the conference showed last night is that the FTC is a waste of time.

30. Barbadian leaders are not visionaries
    Also one would find that a mindset held among barbadians says if it is not broken leave it that is until a problem occurs and then hell breaks loose
    When the idea of plasma gastification plant was thrown into the political circle all hell broke loose by present govt
    Now the old tired way of doing things raised its ugly head and the ole goats and lip service knee jerk thinkers have nothing else planned to correct a problem that will continue until Emera finds a feasible solution
    What does govt have in mind as an alternative
    Absolutely nothing
    This is the same govt who knew how plasma gastufication would destroy barbados but did not have the knowledge or understanding that an aging plant could not withstand cheap fuel and provide good service to a country long term
    Now David u can pout all u want
    Where there is no vision the people would perish

31. @ Green Monkey,
    This is the price that we pay for living in a technological advanced world. One solution would be to reduce the amount of energy that we consume and living as our grandparents would have. The first time I went to Barbados I remember well my grandparents using candles. It is down to the individual to make that choice.

32. @ David
    I have a post above that, from a purely technical aspects explains what is what. Only one person(WURA-WAR-on-U) seems to understand the import of it. Doesn’t say much for this country.

33. Correction ” technical aspect explains…..

34. Enough blame to go around but doesnt govt have measures or rules out in place which will guarantee that when products enter the country they meet a specific standard
    Or is it left up to the business owner to test and supply the quality for the country
    I take note that in other countries such a procedure of govt having an hands on approach to quality standards which would be of service to the consumer is standard procedure
    One would think that a service provider like BL&P would be under the watchful eye of govt to protect the country from catastrophic melt downs

35. https://r.search.yahoo.com/_ylt=A0geK.PjI9VdaKwALxhXNyoA;_ylu=X3oDMTBybGY3bmpvBGNvbG8DYmYxBHBvcwMyBHZ0aWQDBHNlYwNzcg–/RV=2/RE=1574278244/RO=10/RU=https%3a%2f%2fnews.energysage.com%2fsolar-panels-hail-hurricanes%2f/RK=2/RS=KffivOiJxqlsopMDFFmS4Ku0VPY-

Normally when people design these inventions…they do so with the INTENT to UPGRADE…to MEET specifications and NEEDS…so am saying that to say this, those who create these designs ALWAYS LOOK TO PERFECT THEM…..

now if ya had to depend on Caribbean governments to upgrade or perfect a product i would be very, very worried indeed, but since these clowns cannot even create anything or do their jobs without consultants holding their hands and telling them what to do…i defintely would never worry about solar panels and their ablilty to withstand hurricanes….or the best way to get rid of old panels..after 30 YEARS…

“Weather patterns have always been considered when determining solar system lifetimes and performance. Safety is also considered when establishing installation guidelines and product standards. The recent intensity of natural disasters across the country—a direct result of climate change—brings the adequacy of safety and performance standards into question. Are solar installations prepared for the increased frequency and intensity of extreme weather events of the future?

For the most part, it seems like we’re faring OK. When bad weather hits, there are more solar success stories than major failures. Rooftop arrays are surviving multiple hurricane hits and panels barely feel hailstorms. But that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t be concerned as natural disasters get worse.

Global safety and testing organization UL is paying attention. A good baseline for product standards today may need to be adjusted in the future. UL factors the full lifespan of a project, including any potential climate changes in year 20 or 35, into how arrays should perform.”

AND IF YA READ THE MANUFACTURER’S MANUAL…YA CAN’T GO WRONG..

36. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@robert lucas
    I’m not making excuses for BL&P, but a lot of the blame for the fuel quality lies with BNOCL. The national oil company is the ONLY body licensed to purchase and import fuel oil. Furthermore, the routine tests that they had been doing, eg. for particulates and sulfur, had no way of detecting this new problem with ketones and aldehydes.

The PM deserves credit for cajoling ESSO to make their extra storage tanks available so that BL&P can shift the 1.3 million gallons of the bad fuel offsite so that they can replace it with a new shipment of better fuel.

37. @Peter

What you say is probably true, it does not remove the bigger issue, lack of good planning with BL&P being a key stakeholder in the process.

38. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Overall I have to confess grudging respect for the way the PM has forced BL&P to bring forward it’s replacement fossil fuel generator plans from two years to two weeks. I am not a fan of her often dictatorial and showboating style of leadership, but it seems as though this is what Bajans want— if only wash the do nothing taste of the previous administration’s style out their mouth.

39. cannot understand how a govt will allow a service provider that is critical and crucial to its social and economic environment to do their own testing without an independent overview to verify that the specification required are up to govt standards
    My belief is that govt took at face value testing from the provider of the fuel and BL&P might have run testing only sufficient and enough to show that the fuel was compatible to servicing their generators without problem

Btw govt needs to release a report on how this catastrophic meltdown has impacted the Sewer system

40. She had to CLAMP DOWN on Emera …PLT..

it is quite obvious that they have ulterior motives that do not bode wel for the people nor island and they are TESTING TO SEE HOW MUCH THEY CAN GET AWAY WITH, HOW FAR THEY CAN PUSH…

but i would push their asses right off the island..

.. am sure this is not the first time they were supplied substandard fuel, they should have in their possession better testing procedures/equipment for the unexpected..

41. Hasnt BNOCl servicing bl&p for years
    The truth lies within the importing of oil coming from another source
    Cant be only a problem to be lay at BNOCL feet
    Get real

42. Hope Mia did not do any back door deal with Jamaica and ended up with contaminated oil/fuel as people are saying, hope it’s just a rumor, if not, this is NOT ending any time soon..

43. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

The strengths and weaknesses of PM Mottley’s leadership are exemplified by her response to the BL&P catastrophe this week. This leadership style is a direct descendant of the plantation culture— but it’s not the role of the plantocrat in the big house, it is the persona of the head Ranger on the plantation: an enslaved person put in charge of organizing and motivating all the other enslaved people on the plantation. Our hero Bussa was head Ranger at Bayley’s Plantation. EWB also exhibited this often engaging but fundamentally autocratic style.

Her strength is the bias toward action; she likes to get shit done. She is always well briefed on the nitty gritty details and is smart enough to listen to experts.

The weakness is that not a f*cking thing gets done unless she is there on the ground barking orders. This is compounded in the long term by the effect it has on sabotaging succession planning. In such a leadership culture no new leaders are cultivated.

44. David
    – Did BL&P apply some years ago for permission to build a generation plant in St. Lucy and was that permission denied?

Did the BL and P reapply to the “new” Mia Mottley admission for permission to build the generation plant but was told that it had to be a renewable energy based plant which is not only more costly but takes longer to build than a fossil fueled plant?

-Did the DLP administration insist that BL&P buy fuel ONLY from BNOC even though BNOC’s quality control was suspect?

45. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

BNOCL has been servicing BL&P for ever, but they had to change their source of supply when the Trinidadians shut down their refinery. One new source is the Petrojam refinery in Jamaica, but that organization is plagued by a dysfunctional company culture (the gasoline they provided to Jamaicans a couple of years ago destroyed car engines); google Petrojam corruption for illustrative details.

46. @ David

The FTC was only ever set up to make consumers feel they have a voice. It was a political toy put there to buy favour with the public that’s all.

As for this issue with the Power we need to stop rambling all over the place and stay on point. Emera is a dismal failure here as a supply company and I say so based on facts and not fiction.

They knew the age of their assets when they acquired them and the reliable market life of the product. Had they felt the equipment was old and in need of replacing their offer price per share should have taken the replacement cost into consideration. If they didn’t they are not only a poor power supply company but piss poor business people.

Basically they have no excuse for their situAtion. To blame it on fuel means you have no quality control unit that works either.

The point is they bought the assets of the old light and Power based on the written down book value of those generators. They therefore are not out of pocket so don’t let their whining fool you! They then got more years out of them than they should have and are now here looking for sympathy based on nothing financial.

As the bajans say ” carry wunna tail do”.

Madam PM I am the first to criticise when you do wrong but I support you leaning hard on them 103% today!

47. As i said not sure if this srticle where Jamaica is sipplying fuel to Barnados is the same thing but people are saying that is where the contaminated oil came from.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/latestnews/Jamaica_supplies_Barbados_with_oil?profile=1228&template=MobileArticle

48. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Ping Pong
    “-Did the BL and P reapply to the “new” Mia Mottley admission for permission to build the generation plant but was told that it had to be a renewable energy based plant which is not only more costly but takes longer to build than a fossil fueled plant?”
    No, the renewable energy based plant in St. Lucy was planned and built before Mottley came to power.