Today’s debate in the Senate piqued the interest of the blogmaster when that chamber debated the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (Amendment) Act 2019. As a side note Senator Caswell Franklyn must be commended for almost single-handedly keeping the dissenting voice alive in a democracy under stress given the result of the general election  of May 2019.

Of interest to the blogmaster was Senator Franklyn’s point the newly created Executive Chairman’s position was not advertised to create the opportunity for the best candidate to be selected. The BU family may recall the former government took a similar position by appointing Arnie Walters at the BWU, it failed. We learned recently that Juliette Bynoe-Sutherland, the wife of Minister Dwight Sutherland was appointed to the role as Executive Chairman of the QEH. An incensed BLP Senator Rudy Grant sought to deflect Franklyn’s point by promoting the qualifications of Juliette Bynoe-Sutherland. After relieving himself, he failed miserably to make contact with Senator Franklyn’s principled concern. Listen to the debate at 48 minutes into the following video.

Senator Rudy Grant took the opportunity to update the Upper House about the status of the garbage trucks due to be delivered in November. After listening to his explanation one must conclude the Board of the Sanitation Service Authority (SSA) under HIS chairmanship did not have a plan in the SHORT TERM to move garbage from the streets of Barbados. Correction: there was a plan to procure second hand garbage trucks, however, a team sent to Europe was recalled by Prime Minister Mottley in August 2018 for reasons this blogmaster is to properly understand.

Driving around Barbados on a daily basis there is deep sadness and embarrassment at the piles of garbage to be seen deposited at every street.  For many households garbage pickup is once every four or five weeks.  This blogmaster has sympathy for the inherited position of the government. A fleet of garbage trucks not properly maintained or added to in a decade. However if the problem was known before taking office a commonsense position shouts that a temporary plan should have been implemented. For example the government immediately selected default on debt on winning the government, no hesitation – there was a plan? Almost two years in office and there is no discernable plan for picking up garbage. More embarrassing is the fact we should be discussing waste to energy.

After the BU blog post – QEH on Death’s Bed  we are knocked for six at today’s revelation by Leader of Government business Senator Jerome Walcott. Te naked corruption, misappreciation of taxpayers money and level of mismanagement. This is not new at the primary care institution. Politicians continue to laugh at we all the way to the bank.

Please note: Senator Crystal N Drakes touch on the matter of the external debt agreement for those interested in her view on the matter.

259 responses to “Senators Caswell Franklyn and Rudy Grant Clash Over the Appointment of Minister’s Wife to Executive Chairman @QEH – GARBAGE”

1. What she should really be saying is if there were no millions left in the treasury to hire consultants, she would be singing a completely different tune, with real tears…..so heavily dependent on people to tell her what to do at taxpayer’s expense…is she…

2. Listen to the chairpersons of the Boards including Juliette Bynoe-Sutherland, she comes up first.

https://youtu.be/LXMnxrAKmYM

3. Piece i see you and your conspiracy partner out the blocks early.I wonder if you heard Ms Mottley explain why your saviour Rev Atherley left the BLP.Simply put BECAUSE HE DID NOT GET A MINISTRY as we all know not because of any call to duty. Therefore what does Atherley do jump ship to opposition leader to earn big bucks.However, he and Senator Franklyn and the others will enjoy the five minutes of fame since NONE of them will win a seat come 2023 not one damn seat put that in ya pipe and smoke it Mr predictor Piece. On a side note loved how Ms Mottley described Ms Depeiza as a POLITICAL NIGHTWATCHMAN holding on for the main batsmen love it.Imagine in 2023 god spare life a setting of Ms Mottley vrs Rev Atherley Vrs Ms Depeiza in my view donkeys in a horse race as Bush Tea would say oh ma shirt!

4. Yall are going to cry REAL TEARS when all that shite talk gets BROKEN UP INTO A COALITION…with yall at 30 +consultants =ZERO.

5. @ WURA-WAR-on-U October 27, 2019 4:18 AM

What a load of partisan political hogwash!

How else would her administration be functioning today if the man in the dog collar had not performed the role of Judas to underwrite her ascendancy to the throne?

The Constitution requires that there be a “Leader of Her Majesty’s Opposition” to facilitate the process of good governance.

With a ’30-to-zero’ red-washing somebody from the winning side had to ‘man-up’ and be that ‘false Judas’.

The poor politically-dispensable ‘old’ man was the ‘chosen’ fall guy and, for compensation, he was given lucre of $150,000 p/a plus ‘benefits” with the understanding he would function as the wingless fly in the ointment of pseudo “Opposition’ for the next 5 years.

The Queen of the Bees, therefore, was faced with Hobson’s choice of the ‘Red” variety:
    Either randomly pick a potentially rotten lightweight apple from among the four at the bottom of the dispensable barrel or do what our own BU Johnny suggested from the outset; that is; go back to the polls and rigged the outcome to meet the controversially-vague Constitutional requirements.

To blame or criticize Uncle Joe Judas for fulfilling the role of the LoO at its most ineffective nadir is somewhat disingenuous.

Why not blame Freundel & Co for the electoral wipeout only PUDRYR had the prophetic insight to notice?

6. “How else would her administration be functioning today if the man in the dog collar had not performed the role of Judas to underwrite her ascendancy to the throne?”

Exactly….the CONSTITUTION mandates and DICTATES that there be an OPPOSITION to even have a functioning government…DLP was still sore and REFUSED to participate..

Grenville is a nonstarter..

.hence an opposition was FORMED FROM WIHIN BLP…now she thinks she can DAZZLE US WITH BULLSHIT…that Joe is after the 300,000…wuh every opposition including her made full use of that money…she should tell about the 9 million in pensioners money from NIS that was scammed using the 4 Seasons ponzi..,that it is said she benefitted from as Counsel Rests for the THIEVES.

7. The First Act of the Prime minister could not be to Change the Constitution to Operate without an Opposition, so she Created an Opposition! Who better to put in the Opposition than one of your own! Atherley did not jump Ship he is STILL ON BOARD! He was Appointed and getting Much More $$$$$ Too! There is no HAPPEN-CHANCE in Politics, this was well Orchestrated by the “Old Boys” in the Party. The Question becomes, Now that he has attempted to Destroy the ONLY REAL CREDIBLE OPPOSITION GP11, by SUCKING Some Candidates from Solutions Barbados and Stealing their Party Colours.

EVERYONE KNOWS THAT THE DLP IS DEAD! So from the beginning they Planned to get Rid of Solutions Barbados, because Grenville Phillips 11 offered Solutions and they being Expert Politicians know that it is NOT ABOUT SOLUTIONS ITS ABOUT POWER!!

AS GP11 SAID , “YOU ARE ALWAYS BEING TRICKED”! WHEN WILL WE AWAKEN! ITS NOT ABOUT COUNTRY, IT’S NOT ABOUT PEOPLE IT IS ALWAYS ABOUT POWER AND GAIN!!

https://www.ldsdaily.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/10/benson-quote-4-1024×1024.png

8. WHEN ACTING UNDER THE INFLUENCE!

GOOD COUNCIL FROM THE LEARNED • GP October 16, 2019 10:06 AM @ GP 2

“AS YOU WELL KNOW YOU ARE ENJOINED IN HEBREWS 12 TO RUN WITH PATIENCE OR ENDURANCE THE RACE THAT IS SET BEFORE YOU CONTINUE TO DO SO AS BEST YOU CAN DESPITE ATTACKS AND ASSAULTS…BUT EXPECT TO BE ASSAULTED AND ATTACKED BY THOSE OF LESSER MERIT AND LOWER STANDING”

Freedom Crier October 18, 2019 10:26 AM

“FREEDOM IS HAPPY TO SEE YOU HAVE HAD A CHANGE OF HEART! HOPE IT WILL PERSIST…YOU ARE BETTER WHEN NOT UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF PTL!”

WELL THAT WAS SHORT LIVED AS TO BE EXPECTED WHEN ONE IS UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF A LEGION!

GP October 26, 2019 9:08 PM

“THE REAL ISSUE IS THAT YOU WILL NEVER GET THE CHANCE TO LEAD THE COUNTRY AND FILL ANY BOARD OR MANAGEMENT POSTS WITH ANY OF YOUR PARTY SUPPORTERS………..CAUSE YOU HAVE NO PARTY SUPPORTERS

WELL ACTUALLY, GP11 GOT OVER 4000 VOTES PLUS EACH ONE OF HIS CANDIDATES GOT VOTES INCLUSIVELY…THAT WAS A CREDIBLE SHOWING FOR A FIRST TIME PARTY! GP asked the question . “uh lie?”…Ya don’t have LIE GP!

GP YOU ARE ACTING AGAINST YOUR BEST INTEREST. YOU ARE ALSO DOING WHAT THE LEFTIES DO. YOU HAVE NOT ADDRESSED THE ISSUE GP11 was referring to “The real issue is that we keep being diverted away from a dangerous legislative agenda. The main question is why?” nextparty246 October 26, 2019 7:27 PM .

YOU ARE ATTACKING THE MESSENGER AND NOT THE MESSAGE… YET YOU HAVE SAID TO GP 11 “BUT EXPECT TO BE ASSAULTED AND ATTACKED BY THOSE OF LESSER MERIT AND LOWER STANDING”…WHAT DO YOUR OWN WORDS SPEAK OF YOU GP? YOU HAVE A GREAT OPPORTUNITY HERE WITH THE TASK YOU HAVE BEEN GIVEN…BE THE EXAMPLE IN THOUGHT, WORD AND DEED!

Freedom Crier October 18, 2019 10:26 AM FREEDOMS ASKED “REMEMBER THIS GP?”

Revelation 12:10 …And I heard a loud voice saying in heaven, Now is come salvation, and strength, and the kingdom of our God, and the power of his Christ: for the ACCUSER of our brethren is cast down, WHICH ACCUSED THEM BEFORE OUR GOD DAY AND NIGHT.

https://i.imgur.com/YM2OChb.jpg

9. Peter et al

About 4hrs into the video Mia explains the reason for Juliette Bynoe-Sutherland’s selection.

10. RE YOU ARE ATTACKING THE MESSENGER AND NOT THE MESSAGE…

I LEARNED THAT FROM YOU. LOL LOL

RE YET YOU HAVE SAID TO GP 11 “BUT EXPECT TO BE ASSAULTED AND ATTACKED BY THOSE OF LESSER MERIT AND LOWER STANDING”…

YOU ARE DOING A SHIFTY SHIFT THERE
    I HAVE SAID NO SUCH THING! LOL LOL

RE YOU HAVE A GREAT OPPORTUNITY HERE WITH THE TASK YOU HAVE BEEN GIVEN…BE THE EXAMPLE IN THOUGHT, WORD AND DEED!

I DID NOT KNOW THAT I WAS GIVEN A TASK TO AGREE WITH GRENVILLE……..THAT IS YOUR TASK LOL LOL

11. A blogger ( now an aspiring politician ) wrote this years ago.

O S A PRIME MINISTER FOR LIFE AND FATHER OF FIRST WORLD BARBADOS.

Did he get the first 3 letters wrong ?

12. Steupse!

It is easy enough to find Google answers for something as simple as a cyst. The salient question is – was the Googled information correct? Seeing that I was the patient who actually experienced the problem, consulted an expert, got the diagnosis, applied an alternative treatment and got immediate results I was in a prime position to judge whether the Googled information was correct.

Everything fit.

The fact remains that you mocked me for thinking that a cyst could be treated successfully with the method I reported. You said a cyst needed to be treated by aspiration etc. I found articles some written by doctors and some reviewed by doctors that said that many cysts clear up on their own. My nurse friend said that in her experience the treatment she recommended worked. It did. After months of being there the cyst disappeared in just a few days. Quite obviously and logically the warm Epson salts foot baths and gentle massages cleared the blockage allowing the backed up fluid to flow. I kept out of traffic shielding my foot from excessive clutch use. Problem solved.

This executive chairperson question is far more complex. I am self-aware enough, self-confident enough and comfortable enough in my own skin to acknowledge that I am incapable of answering that question. It is clear that you and PLT are better able to do so. So why not have at it?

You know, I was willing to move on but you just don’t know when to leave things alone.

PS. I am considering buying a rocking chair so I can join you in rocking and mocking. In this case I have earned the right.

You mocked me. You were wrong. It is written in black and white. Whether or not the old boys’ elitist club members want to acknowledge that that happened, I know that they know. And I know that you know. Whether or not you learn your lesson in humility is entirely up to you.

I’m starting a pool and betting against it.

13. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Piece the LegendOctober 27, 2019 6:12 AM “biter out of clitorises”

You know as well as I do that the Bajan vernacular for cunnilingus is to “bite”

And it has nothing to do with causing injury.

A “biter” is a person who gives cunnilingus to another.

Why wunna don’t stop misleading the public?

Cunnilingus is an oral sex act performed by a person on the female genitalia (the clitoris, other parts of the vulva or the vagina). The clitoris is the most sexually sensitive part of the human female genitalia, and its stimulation may result in female sexual arousal or orgasm. Wikipedia

14. Miller
    October 27, 2019 7:37 AM

“Why not blame Freundel & Co for the electoral wipeout only PUDRYR had the prophetic insight to notice?”

Miller,
    If my memory isn’t failing me, the Nation Newspaper awarded17 persons a prize for correctly predicting the 30-0 outcome of the 2018 elections in Barbados.

Just trying to state the facts.

15. GP…WHILE SUFFERING A CONVENIENCE LAPS IN MEMORY…

GP October 27, 2019 9:00 AM … RE YET YOU HAVE SAID TO GP 11 “BUT EXPECT TO BE ASSAULTED AND ATTACKED BY THOSE OF LESSER MERIT AND LOWER STANDING”…
    “I HAVE SAID NO SUCH THING! LOL LOL”

• GP October 16, 2019 10:06 AM @ GP 2 … YOUR WORDS NOT MINE!
    https://barbadosunderground.net/2019/10/15/gathering-to-remember-or-forget/

“AS YOU WELL KNOW YOU ARE ENJOINED IN HEBREWS 12 TO RUN WITH PATIENCE OR ENDURANCE THE RACE THAT IS SET BEFORE YOU CONTINUE TO DO SO AS BEST YOU CAN DESPITE ATTACKS AND ASSAULTS…BUT EXPECT TO BE ASSAULTED AND ATTACKED BY THOSE OF LESSER MERIT AND LOWER STANDING”

https://www.brainyquote.com/photos_tr/en/u/unknown/159550/unknown1-2x.jpg

16. @ SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife October 27, 2019 9:54 AM
    “Cunnilingus is an oral sex act performed by a person on the female genitalia (the clitoris, other parts of the vulva or the vagina). The clitoris is the most sexually sensitive part of the human female genitalia, and its stimulation may result in female sexual arousal or orgasm. Wikipedia”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

So what is the lesson you hater of men and roving castrator of young boys want the men (and boys) like whiteHill (and GP) to take away from you guidebook to female pleasure?

That real men must learn to be sucking biters of pure pleasure of ecstasy instead of rammers of rods of painful iron?

In other words, they must be taught by wo(e)men how to prepare the ‘sticky’ wicket through oral pleasure of sweet sounding words of woe before bringing on that serpent for a rigid fast bowler trying to rise to the occasion of sinful temptation like the Biblical snake in the grass.

17. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Just quoting Wikipedia. You know I ain’t know neffen ’bout neffen.

18. @Miller

You can do better in the debate, this we know.

19. @ David October 27, 2019 10:45 AM

I will as long as the Simple Simon stop blaming men for all the wrongs under the sun.
    Men are human too, you know. They come from women and as the saying goes: “the apple does not fall far from the tree” (of good and evil).

20. A reminder of the Michelle Obama reference is timely- “they they go low we go high”.

21. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Piece the LegendOctober 27, 2019 6:12 AM “biter out of clitorises”

David you need to reprimand your favourite guru, Piece, who wrote the words I have quoted above.

I am not to blame for anything.

I just like to correct grievous errors. That’s all.

22. David,

Alright, alright, alright! I will not buy that rocking chair.

23. @Simple Simon

You are so easily led down a garden path? Do you have a brain to be able to fashion your message based on YOUR thoughts and experience?

The blogmasdter takes this opportunity tp message some here that criticize for the sake of it. It as as useless as the target of those being criticized. Some of you post so much crap here and on Facebook that no sensible person will ever buy into anyway. So what is the point? Note also this blogmaster will defend BU’s postings, commenters may be called on to do same.

24. @ Simple Simon,

If the story is true she/he/they could have been attempting to perform a mandible-maxilla Clitorodectamy.

doan get tie up….unless you are into that sort of thing. lol

25. @ David,

What is the Executive director of the QEH doing on the stage at the BLP conference ? Listen to what she says before you answer,

” “Ladies and gentlemen, I say to you, we the Barbados Labour Party, the Government, has a lot of goodwill within the QEH and together we will do it and prove the naysayers wrong,” Bynoe-Sutherland maintained.”

I hope she is successful because I still have family and friends living in Barbados most of whom cannot afford to fly to Miami or New York for medical treatment.

26. @Hants

All Chairmen of statutory boards are political appointees.

27. @ David,

Firstly let me correct my mistake. She is the EXECUTIVE CHAIRMAN of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH),

It is standard practice for the ruling party to put their party members in positions of power.

Another woman rising.

“Senator Kay McConney is the Barbados Labour Party’s (BLP) new chairman.”

28. So, the PM explained that the DLP is not likely to go anywhere with former PM Stuart advising Verla.

The PM also explained how Joe betrayed the BLP. However, Atherley and his senators consistently vote for the BLP’s dangerous legislative agenda, to keep Barbadians living hand-to-mouth and afraid to speak truth to power. Therefore, the only rational explanation is that Atherley was picked by the BLP to be the leader of the opposition. It is still 30-0.

The PM then went after Solutions Barbados. Her main criticism was that we were advancing better management with the ISO 9001 quality management standard. It seems that she did not listen to Lisa Cummins, who had earlier stated that the Bridgetown Port, along with 6 other agencies, were pursuing the ISO 9001 quality management system.

29. David BU

Yes, “All Chairmen of statutory boards are political appointees.”

Seems as though some of us have “convenient memories.”

Political appointees attending and addressing the annual conferences of their respective political parties isn’t anything new.

Even directors of statutory corporations are political appointees. Why express shock at Sutherland “on the stage at the BLP conference,” when, for example, former director of UDC, Derek Alleyne, was “on stage” at the DLP’s Astor B. Watts lunch time lectures; DLP annual conferences; and at political meetings during the 2013 and 2018 election campaigns, canvassing and trying to convince people to vote for the DLP?

Wasn’t former Transport Board general manager, Sandra Forde, a treasurer of the DLP? Didn’t the media highlighted her in a photo on the front page of a newspaper, attending a DLP picnic, wearing the party’s “T” shirt…….. hugging and kissing Ronald Jones?

We also seem to have forgotten when former Minister of Housing, Denis Kellman, (and the same DLP supporters that are NOW criticizing Sutherland’s appointment), DEFENDED the appointment of his relative’s wife as Human Resources Director at NHC, ahead of the lady who acted in that position for almost two years……….which also caused NHC employees to walk off the job in protest.

There was a similar occurrence of employees walking off the job in protest, when former Transport Minister Michael Lashley attempted to “smuggle” his relative through the back door for a job at the Transport Board.

On the other hand, what we’re seeing is a situation where those were critical of those DLP appointments are NOW defending Sutherland’s appointment.

As Mr. Skinner always reminds us, the BLP and DLP are the “duopoly.”

But, as I see it, there aren’t any fundamental political, ideological or philosophical differences between the BLP and DLP.

30. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    I learnt my lesson back in the mid-seventies when I was very active in a trade union. Errol Barrow and the Dems legislated salaries. Tom Adams , was the opposition leader. Tom went after Barrow and said on the floor of the house that the collective bargaining process should have never been abandoned. Tom and the BLP won the government in 1976 and Tom also legislated salaries and abandoned the collective bargaining process.
    You see when the Dems were running the Unions they went along with Barrow and when the Bees were running the Unions they went along with Tom.
    So when you see me on BU taking positions , I do so from my experiences and objective views of these two parties. That is why I see the cool aid drinkers from both sides as comedians.
    Nothing that happens or is happening now surprises me.
    This is Democratic Labour Party and Barbados Labour Party country at present. And until we are rid of them this obnoxious circus would continue.
    It is going to suck every bit of life out of our country and the pathetic theatrics will continue.

The Duopoly Rules

31. NorthernObserver Avatar

Amusement of the day, it’s early still….in introducing Mr Gooding Edgehill to speak on the TB, I am guessing he is the Chair of the TB, the MC asked the audience to restrict any questions to the TB, We know the same gentleman is Chair if the NIS.

32. NorthernObserver Avatar

@nextparty246
    Your ISO observation was also duly noted.
    The subtle difference is the bodies implementing are not touting it as a cure-all across all public sectors.

33. Walter Blackman Avatar

Miller
    October 27, 2019 7:37 AM

“..the man in the dog collar… performed the role of Judas to underwrite her ascendancy to the throne..
    The poor politically-dispensable ‘old’ man was the ‘chosen’ fall guy and, for compensation, he was given lucre of $150,000…
    …. the wingless fly in the ointment of pseudo “Opposition’ for the next 5 years.
    …a potentially rotten lightweight apple from among the four at the bottom of the dispensable barrel
    ..Uncle Joe Judas…..”

Miller,
    Is that the leader of the PdP you are writing about?

I will say it ad nauseum. When it comes to the exhibition of attitudes, BU is a microcosm of the wider Barbadian society.
    The Barbadian voter is an extremely wily and discernible individual. He/she is very adept at walking a particular politician up the proverbial garden path, and abandoning them there, whilst they go into the polling both and place an “X” for someone else.

I said bluntly that, because Piece uh De Cock Yeah Right is involved with the PdP, it will never get my vote. Simple Simon, for a different reason, said the PdP will never get her vote.

However, when it came to you, you chose to “soup” up Piece uh De Cock by making him believe that he is truly a modern day version of Nostra-Dumb-Ass (oops! Another Freudian slip of Nostradamus) and his prediction of the PdP winning 18 seats in 2023 might be right on the money.

Now, a few days later, you are roaring with laughter behind Piece’s back and telling us that the leader of the PdP is only a useless wingless fly in the political ointment, waiting to be scornfully removed and flung into the dustbin of history after feasting on some crystals of “sucre” which were reserved for him for 5 years.

Cruel, Miller, cruel.

PS:
    It is you that tricked, misled, and laughed at Piece Uh De Cock. It is me that will get cussed.

34. Northern:

Clearly they cannot promote the ISO 9001 standard as we did, since almost all BLP candidates ridiculed the standard, as do the irresponsible pdp candidates who comment here on BU. Lisa was brave to mention it.

Walter:

The core of the pdp consists of some wicked persons. They are welcome to challenge that fact.

35. Mia blasts contenders

Article by
    Barbados Today
    Published on
    October 26, 2019

“Reverend Joseph Atherley, Verla Depeiza and Grenville Phillips II are simply not up to scratch to lead Barbados, Prime Minister Mia Mottley says.

In fact, the Prime Minister told hundreds of party faithful at Saturday’s BLP Annual Convention at Queen’s Park that only the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) leadership was capable of taking the country back “to the promise land”.

In a scathing criticism of the People’s Development Party (PDP) leader Rev Atherley; Depeiza, the leader of the Democratic Labour Party and Phillips who leads Solutions Barbados, Mottley said none of them was capable of leading the country.

The Prime Minister said Phillips II was no serious contender to the throne as no one could remember how many votes he won in the last election, despite his belief that he had the best plan for the country.

“The electorate said it all last time, I don’t need to speak on Grenville. I can’t even remember which constituency Grenville ran in…anyone remembers how many votes he got?” Mottley asked to much laughter.”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/10/26/mia-blasts-contenders/?fbclid=IwAR3tUfjYEESokXOKSgMzs2MJgnts7tmjLuRI-5CUGEasyiyvvw6fBEG9tws

PM Queen B Called Running Barbados a Throne, Portraying how she see her Role and she is the Queen B…She said none was Capable of leading the Country and capable of taking the country back “to the promise land”.

So is it all about Power and Ego for this Queen B! Seem so Evidently!!

SO IS IT ALL ABOUT POWER AND EGO FOR THIS BEE! SEEM SO EVIDENTLY!! THIS PM QUEEN B, NEEDS TO “BE” AWARE OF PRIDE!

https://memeshappen.com/media/created/2019/05/-Dont-mess-with-the-queen-bee.jpg

36. “The core of the pdp consists of some wicked persons. They are welcome to challenge that fact.”

nextparty246

A very interesting observation, especially when one takes into consideration former SB members “accused Mr. Phillips II of behaving like a dictator.”

Shortly after the May 24, 2018 general elections, it was reported in the media about “a major splintering that occurred within Solutions Barbados, with at least a dozen of the 28 candidates who contested (the May 24) poll under the party’s banner left the party and were in the process of putting together their own political group.”

“The bitter break up stems from the refusal of several former Solutions candidates to give in to their leader’s demand that they sign contracts binding them to severe financial penalties in the amount of US$1M if they opt to leave Solutions Barbados to join another political party.”

On January 19, 2019, Atherley presented to the public, a team that would speak on national issues on behalf of his “People’s Party for Democracy and Development,” which included former Solutions Barbados candidates Allan Springer, Irvine Belgrave, Paul Gibson, Rev. John Carter, Scott Weatherhead and Rosaline Corbin.

Ironically, Springer, Gibson, Weatherhead and Belgrave were at the helm of disputes within SB.

Additionally, I remember reading Atherley’s choice of colour for his political party was the same as SB……. green……. a decision Mr. Phillips II described as one meant to deceive the public and “unethical behaviour” for a party its leader claimed to be “of God.”

According to Mr. Phillips II: “Solutions Barbados do not think that Atherley and PPfDD have done anything illegal. They have a right to select any colour they wish, including red and blue. However, while their action may be legal, it is highly unethical. It is also highly deceptive since their action can only confuse the public when they are trying to identify candidates.”

“But they claim to be a party of God, with several pastors among them who know that doing what is ethical, is more important that satisfying a legal standard.”

Under these circumstances, I believe it’s fair and reasonable to ask Mr. Phillips II who are these “wicked persons” in the PPfDD and state the reasons why he described them as “wicked?”

37. Can’t stand politician..never could, never will..

Soon ya will hear the lies bragging and boasting but never telling the truth or recognizing reality…that it is the SUFFERING OF THE PEOPLE AND THEIR MONEY causing the turn around on the island, they will act like they have done the people and country a huge favor, but the PEOPLE have to keep their eyes OPENED and watch muh for the next WAVE OF MASSIVE THEFTS of their tax money, vat money, NIS pension money, money in their bank accounts, their estates and other properties in the usual massive rip of their beneficiaries and future generations.

“During the Barbados Labour Party’s (BLP) 81st Annual Conference in Queen’s Park on Saturday, Mottley described Opposition Leader Bishop Joseph Atherley, De Peiza and Solutions Barbados’ leader Grenville Phillips as “Eenie, Meenie and Miney” who were poor alternatives to the BLP Government.”

38. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@ArtaxerxesOctober 28, 2019 3:26 AM “their leader’s demand that they sign contracts binding them to severe financial penalties in the amount of US$1M if they opt to leave Solutions Barbados to join another political party.”

In any event any such “contract” would have been unconstitutional, since it would have breached the freedom of association provision of Barbados’ Constitution.”

39. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Statement ONE: ArtaxerxesOctober 28, 2019 3:26 AM quoting Grenville “The core of the pdp consists of some wicked persons. They are welcome to challenge that fact.”

Statememt TWO: ArtaxerxesOctober 28, 2019 3:26 AM “former SB members “accused Mr. Phillips II of behaving like a dictator.”

In my simple mind it seems to me that both statements can be true.

40. Artax:

They have already publicly revealed themselves. There is no need for me to do so.

Simple:

You need to read the constitution before making conclusive and incorrect statements about what it contains.

The financial penalty was for receiving bribes. It was $250,000 (the amount that US politicians were bribed) for most Solutions Barbados candidates, and US$1M for candidates who had proved themselves untrustworthy, and needed a stronger restraint to protect the public from them.

41. This is the nastiness and nepotism that has passed for governance in the last 60 years….the only reason that there is only a SMALL POOL OF university trained “talented” people on the island is because of the oppression, disenfranchisement and VICTIMIZATION of a cross section of the populi because of yardfowls and party affiliation PHYLOSOPHIES……those who refuse to conform to the slaveminded wickedness created by both political parites in DIRECT CONTRADICTION TO THE CONSTITUTIOIN…were prevented from accessing any progress by the backward, black faced scum who have entered that parliament in the last 60 years…so all we get is nepotism and corruption…NO FORWARD THINKING PROGRESS….

“Down at the hospital Juliette, I want you to know that you shall now walk alone. You didn’t pick yourself, you don’t report to your husband…Let’s get real, in small societies there is a limited talent pool and if we were to start saying that people who were related to each other should not work, then half of the Government of Barbados would be in trouble.”

42. @David (BU)

Is it possible to get a copy of the legislation governing the government’s subvention to political parties in Barbados? Prime minister Mottley and opposition leader Atherley seem to have differing interpretations of it.

The following excerpts taken from Barbados Today does not help in trying to determine who is right, even after making the correction of replacing “cabinet” with “candidates”, as the per the youtube recording, in Mottley’s statement:

“But I go further, that there would be no PDP if there was not the belief on some people’s part in the precincts of Parliament that they could go and share in a subvention for political parties. And I want you to know and the rest of the country that when that subvention was first formulated, the rule for access to the subvention was that you must have had run in the last general election and fielded at least one third of the Cabinet in Parliament, so Joe, luck buss, and you got to wait and win some seats next time around,” Mottley said.

However, Atherley told Barbados TODAY that he knew there were some within the Prime Minister’s party that disagreed with that view.

Maybe Senator Franklyn can assist you with the legislation.

43. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Bajan in New York

De ole man was jes about to comment on that on the No Man ….Excluding Mia…should have 2 Masters ( or is that including heheheheh)

If you get a chance and got there de ole man will expand on this important subject matter

44. @Bajan in NY

Check the Parliament (Administrative Act. Do not have the time to search for an online version at this time.

45. DavidOctober 29, 2019 5:04 AM

@Bajan in NY

Check the Parliament (Administrative Act. Do not have the time to search for an online version at this time.

Thank you.

46. Atherley is talking pure nonsense. If he believed that as a senior member of the team, he was viewed so negatively by Mottley, why did he want to be on her ticket.
    How did he know that Mia would not want him in her cabinet?
    How come he was so certain that he would not get a pick that he told his campaign workers don’t expect him to be in the cabinet?
    I think the PM is more credible on this issue.

47. Looney Tunes,

“I alone can fix it!’ Complete with nicknames for all challengers. Has the Queen Bee taken a course in Trumpology?

Has not he who would be KING instructed his attorneys to make court arguments that he is beyond the reach of the law even if he shoots some peasant on Fifth Avenue?

Do you drink only one flavour of red Kool Aid? Strawberry but not Bajan cherry?

48. William…they are playing the FRENEMIES game…that is what low crawling politicians do, don’t get sucked in, leave that for their dumb fowls..

49. William Skinner Avatar

WURA

You are correct. It’s all a game to them and the cool aid drinkers.