There is a conversation that has emerged in Barbados concerning the ‘visible’ leadership style of Prime Minister Mia Mottley. A style that is accentuated if compared to the unobtrusive approach by her predecessor. Some feel justified levelling the criticism because Mottley presides over the largest Cabinet in the history of Barbados, probably the world if measured on a per mille basis.

What justification can there be for a prime minister to be at every ‘dog fight’ if the large Cabinet is unable to give wings to Mottley’s mantra – many hands make light work?

The blogmaster recalls during An Interview with Prime Minister Mottley  conducted by David Ellis soon after the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) was elected to office – Mottley explained her reason for the large Cabinet. She asked Barbadians to be patient and to judge her government by results. After 15 months in office, it is fair to suggest several of the ministers are struggling to find their feet and undeserving of a minister’s salary during  a time of austerity.

In the pseudo Westminster parliamentary system of government practice in Barbados all roads lead to the prime minister. It is not uncommon to hear the reference “primus inter pares.” Our culture is one where there is an expectation the prime minister must solve all problems. Have a read of this blog through the years, there was an unrelenting attack on former prime minister Freundel Stuart because he appeared to be uncomfortable in the leadership role and was rejected at the polls in unprecedented fashion.

A key characteristic of a good leaders is that they recruit the right people to do the job. This is why the quality of persons offering themselves for political office is important.  Are we confident members of parliament elected on the 24 May 2018 possess the requisite skill set to get the job done?

The blogmaster is on the side of the side of the leadership style that works. The fact Mottley is always out front may reflect on the quality of her team. If this is the case who is to blame?

Our governance system needs reform. There was talk from the minister early in her term about devolving authority from the office of prime minister. Update anyone?

252 responses to “Mottley’s Dominant Leadership Style”

1. You should have thought about that when Sinckler was printing 50 million dollars a month for years.

Not even Houdini can pull Barbados from the economic mess we find ourselves.

Here we are having to legalize an error because for years we ignored the Auditor General and other that reported on the matter. Next we want that MP pension fund to be restructured modified.

Yardfowls will kill us all.

2. Amazing how some fell for this obvious political public relations effort to feel out the BU followers and contributors. These apologists for the Duopoly are skilled in the art of political skullduggery and mass deception.
    As I said over and over, you cannot plant okra and reap corn. By now we should know what products are made in George and Roebuck Streets. As consumers, it is high time we examine the product and not the package.

The Duopoly Rules

3. The Bahamian people would be helped there cries would be heard organizations world wide would step up and give helping hands in all forms shape and fashions
    Mia as usual wants to take the spotlight there are many organizations in barbados who are helping yet to see all of them seek as much publicity as Mia is doing
    One can also say the same for other govt organizations who have already given and little is being heard of them
    So far Mia continues to bathe in her publicty seeking journey in the aftermath of a devastating hurricane called Dorian
    Miabe gone pleasseeeee

4. William you are a stucked record and it is injuring your credibility. The woman has lead responsibility for CSME matters for godsakes.

5. We know Stuart would not have been in such a positionas Mia because he vacated the role of being a lead for Barbados not only at home but on the regional scene. All of Bahamas was not destroyed, obviously decisionmakers have to meet in Nassau to strategize the recovery effort. Again it is good she is doing this and at the same time generating goodwill for Barbados in the event our turn comes.

6. @ William

This is a disaster and at least in the early stages the professionals should take priority, not a politician looking for cheap PR. IT IS COMMON SENSE.
    But we must admit our chairman is not the cleverest person on the blog and, consistently, is always on the wrong side of history. Nonsense about lead person for CARICOM is political illiteracy.
    We have a prime minister who thinks me, me, me at every opportunity. She is badly in need political morality. In the meantime, the nation suffers.

7. Piece the Legend Avatar

Mr William Skinner IS NOT SPEAKING ABOUT MUGABE ‘s photo op session notwithstanding her CSME role.

He is talking about thd purpose of this article.

Look IF I WERE MUGABE…

I would give you an article just like this one to post for me TO GUAGE MY CONSTITUENT RATINGS!!

I know that it will attract the usual bloggers I.e. the Salemites etc., but then i would watch who else comes and lingers and continues to read.

Those statistics you have Honourable Blogmaster AND THST IS WHAT MUGABE WOULD WANT FROM YOU!

And that is what Mr. William Skinner and Mr Vincent Codrington clearly enunciated here.

Thd Real Putpose of this Article

8. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Talking Loud Saying Nothing

De ole man notes that you mentioned that the other Mugabe IS DEAD!!!

He is as dead as the Sesame Street named Recover programme called Bert that our own Mugabe gave us.

Look at it here below

http://imgur.com/FTR7JMN

The BBC’S article in referencing him say and I quote

“…Mugabe’s legacy is complicated.

In the eyes of many he turned from a liberation icon, likened to Nelson Mandela, into a despot who helped destroy Zimbabwe’s economy…”

And that is no different than the Political Eulogy the old man predicts for Mugabe Mottley

“In the eyes of her coolaid drinkers, she is seen as an economic champion BUT IN THE EYES OF DISCERNING BAJANS WHO have seen her School Meals syrup, and Crab Hill police station award to Jose and Jose and Edutech and her Constitutional Changes and her brekking the law and mekking a Canadian a Senator and mekking she fadder a knight in 3 months AND HER 26 PERSON OVERWEIGHT PARLIAMENT, yes to us who see that MOTTLEY IS A DESPOT TOO!

9. You always know everything,the motive of the blogmaster. You must be clairvoyant and omnipotent rolled into one. Make your points and leave the blogmaster out of it. BU’s body of work is there to be critique. What is good here is that if anyone disagrees this blogmaster has permitted othger viewed to be posted. Stop acting to our reputation as Black people that we are crabs in a barrel. If you disagree feel to comment on the Nation or BT online. Use the space constructively. If you feel happy criticizing for the sake of it, all the best to you as a member of the cabal.

Like everyone note, the blogmaster will post his opinion and anybody not liking it can kiss the blogmaster’s where the sun don’t shine.

To be honest some of you need to find a project.

10. Generating what goodwill. This is not the first natural disaster that barbados govt and people have (with )earnest given help
    However this is the first of all first that a PM has hogged the spotlight under political and pretentious earnings
    Dont forget that when Stuart was PM Haiti endured a devastating natural disaster and barbados and other Caricom nations helped
    However can not remember seeing Stuart daily cover to cover sucking up the spotlight for political gainsake

11. @ David

My post had nothing to do with the PM and her trip to Bahamas. I was making direct reference to the leadership debate. I think you should apologise to me for totally misrepresenting me. You assumed incorrectly that I was perhaps referring to those or joining them in their views about the PM’s trip.
    Everybody here know that I am a Regionalist. The PM’s visit is in keeping with us showing solidarity and compassion for our brothers and sisters.
    It is you who want to drag me into your stupidity. Maybe expecting an apology is too much. In simple words: I meant that your article was nothing more than an attempt to feel out the BU followers and contributors on the leadership issue. I am appalled at your inability to have missed such a simple observation. From the outset I labeled the article as “ funny”. It is you who are flying political kites. I don’t expect you to apologize but you running things.
    Keep your panties on , Sir.

12. It is a bit early to be on the defense.
    Relax and let others of the MDF (Mugabe Defense Force) come on duty and take up the battle.

13. Apologize what, how many of you come on here daily including you and ascribe all kinds of baseless motives to this blogmaster?

If you d not like it lump it. Ask Sandiford what that means.

14. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Mr Blogmaster

Mia is doing the right thing in going to the Bahamas. She is demonstrating leadership as you said. Perhaps you can help me understand this demonstration of leadership in the following situation. Remember Alden Blackman. Can you help me to understand why Mia did not drive to wear Alden Blackman was living and showed her leadership for this native son who was asking her to look into his situation? I am just trying to understand Mia’s ”leadership style.”

15. @ William

I too believe in regional unity as I have said on numerous occasions on this blog. The point is that in the middle of a great disaster, when the dead bodies have not even been fully accounted for, a political leader with nothing to contribute apart from the illusion of showing solidarity, should not be getting in the way of the professionals. Nothing at all to do with regional unity.
    Her visit is untimely and has nothing at all to do with regional unity or CARICOM responsibility, as I have said. It is PR.

16. @ Piece
    Thank you.
    Like I said : “you running things.”

17. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

‘morning piece: your nemesis Mugabe has died.

18. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

19. https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/09/04/over-500000-owed/
    Excerpts from the story..
    *1) “She said one of the members, who she drives around with as she goes to collect money, owed her $60,000 ”
    *2) “I was paying in $2,000 a week, and one week in May I was short by $240, and she sent several nasty texts and messages to my phone because of that. I mustered up the funds and paid her, but then when my turn was due in July, I was owed $10,000″
    *3) “The following week I had a $5,000 turn, so I let her deduct my weekly from it so she could just give me the balance”

Trying to follow the numbers but it appears the meeting became complicated and one person was running too many meetings at the same time.

This was one way of generating financing if banks were not making loans. However, the sums stated makes me wonder if the meeting became too big and some people got smart. Living the stereotype

This is one of the reasons why we find it difficult to pool our monies one person has a good idea and a next fellow get a ‘smart’ idea”… Everybody mad.. Working together and helping each other out is now finished… Living the stereotype..

20. Unfortunately leaders gravitate to making decisions that will have greatest impact as Richard Branson will tell you. It is not right and this is a situation several ministers Duguid, Symmonds et al should have resolved.

21. I cant remember how many leaders turned up post hurricane Dominica just last year, am sure some did and yes, solidarity was and is needed in the face of such destruction.. But was Mia one.

Bahamas do not need any carrion birds picking at corpses. That’s for sure.

22. Leaders demonstrate empathy. Something you will never understand. Do you know what it means for the PM of Bahamas to see other leaders around him to give support?

https://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2019/09/bahamas.png

#empathy

23. @ Hal
    I am always and remain reluctant to use national disasters for my political positions .Any Caribbean PM visiting a member country after a natural disaster should be seen as extending compassion for our brothers and sisters. I seldom reference America but you will note that Presidents visit disaster areas. My vision of the new Caribbean Nation is that we know when to rise above philosophical and ideological prospectives when our brothers and sisters are devastated by such violent acts of nature. I therefore see the PM’s visit to the Bahamas as one leader going to demonstrate that all Barbadians are profoundly shaken by the horrendous damage done by Dorian.

24. “Leaders demonstrate empathy.

Oh definitely…but START WITH YA OWN PEOPLE…whom ya are deliberately STARVING and SUFFERING.

25. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Mr Blogmaster

You have set up your self for an attack. Never before had the SSS any reason to question you on anything, until your writing style change and your support for a particular party made you blind to their shite. Of course, you wrote a few articles condemning the actions of the BLP, but you do not pipe a single word of harsh criticism at Mottley as you did to that nitwit call Freundel Stuart. Mottley so far is right in everything she has decided upon, in your eyes. Like I have said before, there is nothing wrong with you supporting Mia Rogue Works Mottley. The problem I have with you is your propensity at the moment to condone and justify her shite when it is so gawed darn obvious that she has made some wrong decisions. Other than that, take note that the SSS would not criticise Mottley’s position on visiting the Bahamas. It is the right decision in the context that every single island in the Caribbean has a named hurricane A-marked for them someday. Barbados will have their turn and what she has done should not be criticised in the manner that some here are doing. PR stunt or no PR Stunt, when Barbados’ turn comes for destruction, let none on here say that none of the heads of states came to visit us in our time of utter destruction and turmoil. I am sure we would want them to come to lend some assurance that help from them is just around the corner. When the Rogue is correct in action, the SSS will say that she is. She is right to go to the Bahamas. However, tell her to visit Alden Blackman upon her return.

26. Here it is thousands of people are reportedly missing in the Bahamas and what it is that is a priority for some of you?

You may have the last word.

27. @ William
    @SSS

We can extend compassion, empathy, support, and should, but there is no need for the PRIME MINISTER to visit. Go back to Haiti when the Clintons and their daughter visited Port au Prince and when CARICOM leaders wanted to visit they had to concoct a meeting in Jamaica.
    Emergency services, yes, the prime minster, no. It is a PR stunt. They are not one and the same.

28. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Sunshine Sunny ShineSeptember 6, 2019 12:34 AM

Then you should talk about lack of integrity,and NOT lack of experience.

29. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

This cannot be David. The heading of this article is Mottley’s ”Dominant Leadership Style.” This is not about any relief efforts for the Bahamas. Unlike you who have digressed from the subject at hand, the SSS like to stick to the topic. You can easily open up another post on Bahamas Relief efforts for discussion. I am sticking to the topic, but you obviously do not like what is being said about your beloved. Might as well close the comments section as you tend to do often. You may have the last word 😉

30. Piece the Legend Avatar

I expected that response from you.

This one of you is so predictable.

That is why I suggested yesterday THAT THE BLOG NOT BE COMMINGLED WITH THE NATURSL DISASTER because, unlike you, I KNOW WHAT WAS GOING TO HAPPEN because I DO KNOW MANY THINGS, including the motive of 2 of the 3 blogmasters oc the BORG!

And if only to show you what thd perception oc some of us is, look at what Mr Skinner says

“…It is you who want to drag me into your stupidity.

Maybe expecting an apology is too much.

In simple words: I meant that your article was nothing more than an attempt to feel out the BU followers and contributors on the leadership issue…”

DAVID PAUSE ONE SECOND!

I am speaking to the REAL DAVID KING!

People are entitled to feel that thd purpose of your article was to guage Mottley’s public opinion ratings.

You now conveniently choosing to flood ghe article with her public relations photo sessions in The Bahamas BECAUSE YOU HSVE BEEN CAUGHT OUT!

I just stating what this looks like to me AND MR WILLIAM SKINNER confirmed that my assessment was correct!

All wunna does get vex when de old man call wunna dominoes in wunna hand out, dats all.

Shift de goalpost Honourable Blogmaster IT IS WUNNA TING!!!

31. @ SSS
    The polarization effectively spawned by the Duopoly for over five decades should not be taken lightly. Our country is deeply polarized and it’s costing us on a daily basis. Whether in or out of Parliament, the Duopoly rules our country with an iron fists. It has collectively destroyed : teachers, civil servants, law enforcement professionals, journalists and anybody who it thinks has seen through its duplicity and ruthlessness.
    There are those who are even more dangerous than the political hooligans inside and outside of parliament. They even turn on their own when they think it necessary.
    I know from personal experience that Education ministers from the collective Duopoly have hand picked head teachers. I know of Barbadians, who had to literally run from the land of their birth because they bluntly refuse to sell their conscience to the auctioneers in George and Roebuck Streets. The Duopoly is a vicious assembly designed as WARU frequently states to defend the status quo it has created. Barrow’s 1974 Public Order Act is their collective road map. The jokers who come here on BU should be ignored when they engage in the “ pot calling the kettle black.”
    I can tell you this without reservation: Within forty eight hours after the NDP was defeated in 1991, the Duopoly was on the phone begging for defeated NDP candidates to join them. They never sleep. More on that in the fulness of time.

The Duopoly Rules

32. Piece the Legend Avatar

And as per the usual, you can pause my comment so that I have to ask to have it released into thd blog.

@ Dearest SSS

That is precisely what I said

33. Let me repeat it again, too many on the blog speak with little to no knowledge of the subject matter, including “souse in clothes”. Read this extract from Barbados Today and then analyse the Former Senior Editor’s comment about Mottley’s visit to The Bahamas.
    “The Bureau, a sub-committee of the Conference of Heads of Government, is made up of the incoming, incumbent and outgoing members of the community’s rotating chairmanship. Mottley, who is to take up the chairmanship of CARICOM in January, was joined on the tour this morning by the current chairman, St Lucia’s Prime Minister Allen Chastanet, CARICOM Secretary-General Irwin LaRocque, Caribbean Development Bank president Dr William Smith and Executive Director of the Caribbean Disaster Emergency Management Agency (CDEMA), Ronald Jackson.”
    Stop being impressed by the former Senior Editor on matters he thinks he knows, living overseas does not make one an expert in everything.

34. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Sir SimpleSimon

Girl, you and I have not had any reason to conflict on matters on this blog. Let us not start now. I just want you to tell me if it was experience or inexperience that brought Barbados to this predicament. I also ask you tell me what experience they need but you sidestep those questions to drop an integrity bomb. Girl, if it is an issue of integrity, then they do not need experience. Start the campaign rolling for integrity and experience politicians?

35. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here for you

Furthermore let me show how you continue to move the goalposts selectively

IN THE ARTICLE, WHICH YOU PURPORT TO HAVE WRITTEN, but which doe not have your characteristic style you said and I quote

“…A key characteristic of a good leaders is that they recruit the right people to do the job. This is why the quality of persons offering themselves for political office is important.

Are we confident members of parliament elected on the 24 May 2018 possess the requisite skill set to get the job done?…”

These were your words and now you sent off an S.O.S. to the Rented jackass to come and help you quell thd dissent that has arisen AND WHICH IS DROWNING YOU?

36. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Hal Austin

I beg to differ. The picture I see of Mottley is different than the picture you are painting of her. If she is looking to score political points, she has received her points. It is what many politicians do, is it not? Let us not stoop to criticising every on dotted I and none cross T to the point that we no longer see bigger pictures. We live in a hemisphere that is dangerous between the months of June going all the way now into January. Hurricanes are powerful and seems like they can extend strengths into uncharted territory at a possible Category 6. I would think that her actions in the Bahamas are justified. We have every right and reason to support and lend financial aid to others in their time of need. A Prime Minister going to ravage damage island is neither hither or thither. Let it rest, rather right or wrong.

37. @Enuff

What is the point you are making? My point is that at this stage in the disaster, when all the bodies sadly have not yet been accounted for, a visit from the prime minister of Barbados is unnecessary. Priority must be given to the emergency services, the experts.
    A visit from useless politicians is simply disaster porn, they do not add value. What value they eventually add is by offering assistance – goods, manpower, services, medicines and cash – and there is no need for a physical visit to do this.
    Barbados should be sending out a party of doctors, nurses, first aiders, carpenters, electricians, plumbers, etc, not a useless self-flagellating prime minster.
    A much better contribution from CARICOM will be for heads of government to establish an emergency task force (ie RSS) to move in within 24 hours to offer assistance in such disasters.

38. Hal
    In attempting to obfuscate and vacillate i.e. save face, you are for the umpteenth time displaying your igrunce. Your response makes no sense and further confirms my point that you, a former Senior Editor (who one would assume understands the importance of research) speaks without knowledge of the subject. PRIOR TO/BEFORE the hurricane hit Bahamas CDEMA sent two rapid needs assessment teams to The Bahamas. Those teams and the RSS are already in The Bahamas do I don’t know what you’re trying to portray. In addition to the technocrats, does it not make sense for government officials representing Caricom to be there from the outset? I guess Mia and company getting in dem way according to you. The igruncest comment of the month.

39. The local media spotlight should focus mkre attention on the generosity of the average citizens giving a helping hand and not Mia political theatrics super-imposing herself as a God send for the bahamian people
    If one looks closely at every photo op one can clearly see the photos were positioned to focus attention on Mia in the most gross up in the face political stunt

40. @Enuff

The politicians should stay out of the way and et the experts in. Full stop. Leave the expert to get on with their work. Where is the obfuscation?
    Cut out the disaster porn, the PR stunt. The illusion of caring. The government of the Bahamas is describing the disaster as unimaginable.
    The US emergency services, UK navy, NGOs, and others are on the ground. What s a visit from Mottley going to add, apart from the illusion that we are all in this together.
    Public opinion can be manipulated, even in the face of tragedy, what on theorist called a socially necessary illusion. A false belief. I say again, Mottley’s visit to the Bahamas was a PR stunt.

41. It will certainly be a defining moment for MIa…being up close and personal with that level of human suffering…let’s hope she LEARNS something from her journey into Bahamas…and don’t return to Barbados with the same small minded, STAGNATING mentality toward her own people…..and face the reality that every island in the Caribbean…including Barbados is just one hurricane away from that horror…

…even Sidney Poitier is looking for 23 of his missing relatives, appears many hundreds, maybe thousands are still unaccounted for…let’s hope all this is not forgotten until June next year when the THREAT appears again…some leaders need to change the way they look at those who elected them and who pay their salaries..

“The Bahamas is facing a “staggering” death toll from Hurricane Dorian with “hundreds, up to thousands” of people still missing, the country’s leaders revealed today.

The confirmed fatalities from the monster storm, standing this morning at 30, will be dwarfed by the true number of lives lost, health minister Duane Sands said.

“Make no bones about it, it is going to be significantly higher than that. The public needs to prepare for unimaginable information about the death toll and the human suffering,” he said.

“Let me say that I believe the number will be staggering. I have never lived through anything like this and I don’t want to live through anything like this again.”

42. Am sure she bit off more than she could chew going to Bahamas…hopefully she is allowed to see ALL THE UGLY since she is incoming Caricom chair…we don’t want to hear anymore of her bullshit lies and slick tricks when she returns…

in the meantime…look at BAD LEADERSHIP from useless garden gnome Pain, tiefing lawyer…..only good for STEALING ESTATES from old people and selling out black people ………look at the condition of St. Andrew after a little rainfall….can you imagine a Cat 5..4..3.. in that region..

https://www.facebook.com/sheri.veronica/videos/2280756482021744/?t=12

43. And let’s not talk about that empty clown Garner who represented up there for years, sat on her wide backside collecting salary after salary, and on the blogs making fun at who could not fight back and left it in that condition, but had the NERVE to go up there and CUSS the people for kicking her lazy ass out, she just wanted to continue collecting a FREE SALARY for doing little to nothing…

ugly leadership from both useless governments..

44. Yet after listening to the koolaid drinkers one would be lead to belive that Mia actions for preparedness would have been barbados saving grace from Dorian

45. What Mia ought to do is get her backside in parliament and write legalisation which would be supportive of returees getting their invalidity checks

46. @ David September 6, 2019 6:56 AM

Our Most Honorable Prime Minister knows how to express her empathy and is also very well dressed. The beige safari jacket on the white shirt is stylish.

Many men here criticise Our Most Honorable Prime Minister mainly because she is an unmarried, emancipated woman and leader. They are used to having illegitimate children, not paying afterwards and leaving the women alone with them. The same applies to crime statistics. Barbados is contaminated by male violence. They are the real problem of society.

What a stark difference to Mia “Armour” Mottley. Historians will call her the Elizabeth I of Barbados in the distant future. Dear Mia, stay strong and don’t let the male hordes intimidate you. We need you.

47. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU.

It is time to close this Blog. A number of issues have surfaced . You have enough to keep this blog going for the next six weeks.

If I may be so bold to summarize: “Leaders need to do the right things; and to do things right.”

48. Is it possible that the PM is such a good leader that she does have the time to go and give the PM of the Bahamas a hug?

Also….. maybe her Ministers are doing such a good job that she only needs to use her exceptional oratory skills to be the spokesperson in chief.

Buh doan mine me. I hey watching F1 practice after which I will watch the Arturo Tappin performance on You Tube.

Thanks Barbados Today page 14.

” Mandee performing with Arturo Tappin and Band @ pizza express live 31.08.19 ”

@ Piece the Legend,

Doan come wid nuh who is who cousin and who sponsor an promote what.

49. “We need you”

speak for thyself brainless fool and tell that to those who cannot eat a meal today although NO HURRICANE STRUCK BARBADOS…they can’t eat because Mia LIED…and refuse to release their money…

50. “NO HURRICANE STRUCK BARBADOS”

You mean the last government? In fact, Chris and Donville raged worse than three 5-star hurricanes combined. Thank them.

Before the DLP came to power in 2008, Barbados was a thriving country, now it’s a pile of rubble.

With your attitude you prepare the ground for a new DLP reign of terror. The DLP grandees remind me of the breed of the Skeksis in the film “The Dark Crystal”. They suck the natives’ blood aka money from the bones until they drop dead. Then they set off for Canada because they love their white fellows so idolatrously. In any case, I know many DLP bureaucrats who only feel comfortable among whites in Canada or the USA.