Heard the arrogance coming through today on Brasstacks between Maloney and Ellis. Maloney says he can take his plant and his water and sow it any part of the world. White capitalist class attitude thumbing his nose and finger at a 95% black population. Well Maloney tek ur filthy lucre and haul allyuh azz from bout hey. Yuh chopsutter, gaul bline yuh yuh red effing leg. Fkg JA swine. Wunna so can manipulate azzoles like Stuart and make him lose all 30 seats. Mottley got more sense than that and Gabby mekking sure all yuh don’t get away with this nasty attitude wunna got that Sparrow sang bout “all is mine,all is mine” and I add,”black man whine”

Gabriel

The blogmaster also listened to the arrogance dripping from the words of Mark Maloney yesterday. He referred to an ‘underground’ segment of the Barbados society that in his opinion delight in resisting the effort of businessmen like himself.

While listening to Maloney rubbish the constitutional right of Barbadians to agitate and advocate in the democracy we live the blogmaster recalled an observation by the then leader of the opposition Prime Minister Mia Mottley.

One man cannot get a $24 million contract at Valerie, $28 million housing contract at Grotto; a $42 million molasses storage tank, 20-year contract in the Barbados Bridgetown Harbour… Coverley which is over 1,100 houses at which the government is only receiving less than $2.50 a square foot on the land there; 2,300 lots at Bushy Park that have been committed to in an MOU [Memorandum of Understanding] but mercifully the contract has not been signed [by] the National Housing Commission to give them the lots.

Mia Mottley (2017)

Mark Maloney is this a case of you condemning the prime minister of Barbados because in a past life she also railed against the unreasonableness of one contractor receiving over 1 billion dollars in investment? Have you included her in the ‘underground’ group railing protesting your projects? What has the ‘investment’ in the GROTTO done for Barbadians?  If the blogmaster was not acutely aware we live under a democracy you would be advised to shut your Rh mouth.

Mottley went on to observe at the Barbados Chamber of Commerce (BCCI) lunchtime discussion in 2017.

…the Hyatt Hotel, the land at the Port where the cement plant has gone and there is a Town Planning dispute. Bushy Park Racing Circuit itself, the plot to sign businesses on the highway and I can go on and on. One person cannot get more than a billion dollars in contracts at the very time that Barbados has a smaller economy at the end of the decade than it started with at the beginning.

Mia Mottley (2017)

Mark Maloney you continue to be the beneficiary of concessions on many if not all of the government projects you were awarded. Do you know who is underwriting the concessions? Barbadians have a Rh right to protest how potential government revenues are being forgone if they are inclined. It is our Rh money.

Barbadians have been described as passive and ignorant by people of your ilk. Do not think the blogmaster is not aware. Here is a free bit of advice. If you have a problem with the right of Barbadians on the rock to protest take your own advice and go to Rh long.

128 responses to “Mark Maloney Take Your Advice, GuhLong”

1. Do ya ting !! Dem cyan touch yuh.

The recumbent Bajan sheeple will only grumble but won’t lift a finger against you. In fact, the B’s will continue the D’s mission to enrich you and make you an untouchable mogul.

Maybe more illegal buildings should be erected and flout more planning laws flouted to show Mugabe and the sheeple who is really running tings bout hey.

Maybe involvement in the death of another child and having the supine and corrupt local courts to intimidate and charge the mother could help too.

Why don’t you and your crew including, Crow, Dizzy and Jerkman up the stakes and try to own everything? You deserve it. You have worked hard and shown remarkable skill and business acumen. You have brought many innovations to the island.

2. Poorpeacefulandpolite Avatar
    Poorpeacefulandpolite

Hit a red brick wall, will we? Are threats the best way to get past it?

3. William Skinner Avatar

Is the the Hyatt still getting build and is Hard Rock still down by the Harbour. Are the medical school students at Coverly in Maloney’s houses???
    Is the Blue Horizon project still going to go on with or without the Accra piece?’
    Just asking.

4. This serial rapist of the treasury should be behind bars not being enabled by the present administration. It is as though the country is a monarchy and not a democracy. How could this man still be behaving as though he still owns Barbados. Did we not get the memo?

5. This upstart thinks that every time he is confronted by regulations and citizens trying to protect their own land, he can threaten to take his investment elsewhere. Well please feel free to do so! Barbados has grown from independence without you and it will continue to do so. You clearly have shown you have no respect for law, as is evident with your cement bond which you continued to construct even after Town Planning issued a cease order. Then again you had sinkler in your hip pocket so you could do as you liked then0 I suppose.

Have you not yet realised how the public feel about you? If so let me give you an example. Bushy Park when owned by Bizzy would see thousands at a race meet. When you took it over with your arrogance it fell to hundreds. You can’t treat Barbadians like trash and then expect them to support you in your hour of need. Your arrogance and way of doing business has now basically caught up with you as a result. Do you think we forgot how the Mercedes you drive slipped in here on election eve duty free?

Barbadians will therefore ensure that not a brick is ever laid on that piece of beach front land at Accra. Any government that goes against this type of groundswell movement knows the price to pay will be high. Based on the mouthing of the PM about you on the political platform, she would now be a hypocrite to go against Barbadians to support you.

Your proverbial goose is therefore well cooked on this issue! Of course when it remains a public car park feel free to use it anytime. Lol

6. (Quote):
    Barbadians have been described as passive and ignorant by people of your ilk. Do not think the blogmaster is not aware. Here is a free bit of advice. If you have a problem with the right of Barbadians on the rock to protest take your own advice and go to Rh long. (Unquote).
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The Mal-Money fella is just bluffing the government and the people of Barbados with the threat of pulling out his imaginary investment projects.

If he has plans of ‘upping sticks’ and taking his lucre (investing) in more welcoming territories, where would he go that is willing to accept Bajan Mickey mouse dollars unless the man is sitting on a billion or more in some foreign currency account unknown to the Central Bank authorities?

Is this his way of backing off the Hyatt erection now that the scam has been exposed?

He damn well know that the Hyatt project would require a rather large sum of foreign exchange injection to pay for at least 80% of the CAPEX from the imported rock-hard cement to the finishings adorning the members’ only club gaming room.

Is he going to finance the building of the Hyatt hotel from his own pot of foreign reserves?

If he considers himself to be some guru in the world of investment and business acumen why can’t he take over LIAT and run it to prove he is capable of rehabilitating the terminally ill?

7. He reminds me of the little boy who brought the bat to a cricket game and when he couldn’t bat first threatened to take his bat and go home.

Let us therefore see him for what he is and deal with this issue to suit.

8. William Skinner Avatar

You all should know why this movement will perhaps succeed . Use your eyes. This however it turns out will be a victory for “them”. Why the same people don’t stop the poor black man from St James whose property is flooded because of a wall built by a white ex patriot?
    Stop being pawns. The PM has no choice other than to stop the the Accra from being desecrated.
    Look at the audience and see who controlling the microphone.
    Why are the medical students at Coverly and not in some area where small black businesses could benefit?

9. @ William

All colours and ages use that car park at Accra. It is therefore a very visual issue. What I think has enraged most, is the underhanded way the sale went through. In other words we were told of the sale of a land side hotel and not the loss of a heavily used public access to the most popular beach on the island. We were also never told why an offer of $11m was refused and one of $5m accepted.

I think the reason this issue has enraged bajans to the extent it has, is that it brings home the underhanded way our family silver was sold off so that ” those involved” could benefit. It’s a case of this type of dealings that we all heard of, now being presented in a manner that all can now see. It is by far the clearest example of how by slide of hand one property was said to have been sold, while the lost of the other more substantial one was kept quiet.

I guess this, one could say was the final straw that broke the public’s back.

10. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

These crooks got nerve though, they have not even PAID for Blue Horizon yet, and no doubt have this elaborate ruse to ROB the treasury and pension fund to pay for it because that is what they have been ALLOWED to do for decades.

Not so easy this time though.

11. William your third eye is very observant
    All this noise is generated by self interest
    As u rightly observed look across the audience and take look at the voices who are hollering the hardest
    All this noise has nothing to do with opened windows but what would catspraddle their self interst

As for Mottley she being the great pretender knows how to serve up koolaid to the delight of fools
    Coverly was built for low income workers and Mottley sold it to Maloney

12. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“Stop being pawns. The PM has no choice other than to stop the the Accra from being desecrated.”

She got caught trying to slip this one pass taxpayers and the electorate, she has been too hot and heavy lately with Maloney, this is the BLOWBACK..

The intelligent thing to do was let taxpayers and maloney know that the blue horizon had not yet been sold…but she kept that piece of info hush, hush..lol

Then this trash pops out commanding and disrespecting….because they are all ready to rip off the little Bajans got left…

…..it was pure gold watching them get SLAPPED DOWN…maybe now they will know their criminal places…and GET LOST..

13. At this point the PM must remove the beach front lot from the pending sale and offer only the land side property. If that does not suit the potential buyer then they can walk away. Once that is done she needs to then take the matter to parliament and have the beach front lot vested to the NCC. That way it can be attached to the existing state land currently under the supervision known ad Accra Beach.

Matter closed let’s all go to the beach.

14. @ John A July 20, 2019 8:35 AM
    “You can’t treat Barbadians like trash and then expect them to support you in your hour of need. Your arrogance and way of doing business has now basically caught up with you as a result. Do you think we forgot how the Mercedes you drive slipped in here on election eve duty free?”

Excellent observation, there “John A”!

Since he plans to pull the plug on the Hyatt erection is he also prepared to pay the appropriate duties and taxes which were waived on the same Maloney-driven Mercedes and intended for a Sales Director who does not exist or would ever exist?

But we must not blame the Mal-money man for this egregious deprivation of the Treasury’s just due.

This is a matter for the current MoF who is fully seized of the facts surrounding this daylight robbery of the Treasury.

Why are poor Bajans living in St. Lucy being forced to pay on monthly basis a sewerage tax with some of them being deprived of their long overdue tax refunds while a redneck johnny drives around in a duty-free luxury vehicle threatening to abandon the building of a ghost hotel?

15. My question to Town Planning is HOW DARE YOU…even consider an application for the likes of maloney when they have yet to PAY for blue horizon….what kinda nasty corruption and crimes against taxpayers is that…..

“Comissiong wants answers from town planning
    Article by
    Colville Mounsey Published on
    July 20, 2019
    This country’s Town and Country Planning Department has come in for scathing criticism from social activist and Barbados’ Ambassador to CARICOM David Comissiong who is charging that the integrity of that organisation is in question.

According to Comissiong, the manner in which the Town and Country Planning Department handled the permission process for the proposed Hyatt Hotel project in Bay Street and more recently the Blue Horizon Project in Worthing, Christ Church, shows glaring discrepancies that the organisation should be made to explain.”

16. @M

I also have to ask this government when they were in opposition was the sale of this property not brought before the house? Did they not peruse the deal and see that a public access that had existed for decades would now be lost? Why was the public not made aware of this at the time?

There is enough blame in this issue for all to hold some. What this has showed though is the public will not be pushed around or deprived further of what is theirs.

I as a Barbadian am proud to see us now taking a stand and speaking out on issues like this. It shows even the most complacent have a breaking point.

17. @ John A

Our president does not like details. She finds it boring. She s not as good a policy maker as her fan base would have us believe. My question s: why do intelligent men and women in her 26-strong Cabinet tolerate his terrible leadership? (By the way, the UK with a population of 65m and a parliament of 360, has a Cabinet of 23).
    We get the political leaders we deserve.

18. BARBADOS ENTREPRENEURS/DEVELOPERS…THERE HASN’T BEEN A DEMOCRACY THAT HAS NOT COMMITTED SUICIDE…

We hold Democracy in high regard, we have a Constitution that Guarantees it, we have a Right to Protest. We All make Mistakes in our own lives, so do Countries make mistakes, for example… Venezuela Choose Chavez and Socialism. The Bread Basket of the Caribbean, Guyana, Choose Forbes Burnham. Jamaica, Choose Norman Manley, all these Leaders were Greeted with Fan Fare and all the Countries named have Suffered Greatly.

Guyana has more Guyanese outside than in. Venezuela is being Emptied as we Speak. Jamaicans are all over the world. The Type of Rhetoric that we see coming from this group of people that are advocating Economic Suicide is amazing. We may Choose but we have to live with the Consequences as those Countries did. Guyana by the Grace of God may yet have a Good Future. Are we willing to say NO MORE DEVELOPMENT IN BARBADOS BECAUSE THE SAME PEOPLE WHO ARE THE DEVELOPERS, THE NAYSAYERS OBJECT TO? If we do not move forward and stand still we will Sink into the Sand like how a Four wheel Drive when driving on the East Coast Beach will Sink if it not moving Forward Quickly.

Do you hear any Government Criticism of Maloney Now after he Brought the Medical University to Barbados? What was Politically Expedient in the Past to ‘SAY to Win the Government’ is just that, TALK!

IF WE ARE TO CHOOSE WE SHOULD CHOOSE LIFE NOT DEATH!

Why it is that Every Investment by a Local Entrepreneur or an Oversees Entrepreneur meets so much Resistance? Are we not Tired of Austerity? Aren’t we Tired of having so little money that we cannot Buy what we need? Aren’t of Tired hearing, the Next Six Months will be better than the Past Six Months? Aren’t we Tired of D Talk and No Action? Aren’t we tired of the Nay Sayers who at Every Turn would Stop Investment? THIS DESIRE TO COMMIT ECONOMIC SUICIDE IN BARBADOS IS GROWING. I can understand the Objection of a Restaurant on the small open lot but I am in Favour of all the investment on the land Side.

What it comes down to, is that people here want to Commit Economic Suicide and want All Bajans to go along with it because they believe it is better to ‘REIGN IN HELL THAN TO SERVE IN HEAVEN!’ THESE NAYSAYERS ARE TRYING TO MAKE BARBADOS A HELL HOLE!

https://quotes.thefamouspeople.com/images/quotes/john-adams-97748.jpg

19. When all of this long talk comes to an end, the question that remains unanswered is “What is THIS government doing about all the corruption that they preached about, up and down the length and breadth of this island during the last election period?” Waiting until the eve of the next election and promising that if reelected what and what you are going to do to bring the scoundrels to justice WILL NOT CUT IT. Your assess will pay the price. Thirty goddam seats and not even one pathetic attempt at prosecuting those molesters of our island heritage.

20. Govt hands are tied.In as much as govt has George Payne whose name is being bandied around social media as corrupt and not a piping sound has been ushered out of Mottley mouth to adress the issue
    Then pray tell how can one expect govt to open mouth when the fall out might have govt caught up on a ground swell of corruption when tongues start to wag
    Barbados is a failed state.

21. William Skinner Avatar

@ John A
    You are really not seeing the issue. Do you really believe that they ( the government) only found out that the beach land was involved yesterday?
    WARU is correct. This project was going through until the big shots got involved. All you too shame to admit that things on this island only get support when the green light is given by the rich people.
    All of this is smoke and mirrors. And those fraudsters now cussing Maloney ain’t had a word to say after he showed that he in bed with the Dees and Bees. All the hullabaloo about Hayatt came to nothing and then the taxpayers money would be used to acquire land to enhance Maloney’s ambitions.
    Answer this: Why were the medical students not put in an area where they could mingle with small businesses and rent rooms from ordinary citizens? Millions were put in Maloney’s hands after they cuss he all through the campaign.
    Even Heather Cole now realizing it is six and half dozen. All of her long articles about corruption ain’t change anything.

The Duopoly Rules

22. I am visiting Barbados for a short while and am shocked by how dilapidated and run down the island looks, with all the unkept buildings in Bridgetown and Christ Church. These businessmen are Bajans irregardless of their color and are attempting to inject life in the weak Bajan economy. This land is not protected as an historical site, the Queen’s Lane is not being sold as in some other parts of the Caribbean, so let them build. I am sure it can be done while preserving the windows to the sea.

23. @William

If Coverly has remained a ghost village how would it have affected taxpayers?

24. Mr Maloney needs to carry out the instructions of the town and country planning dept and remove the building at Bushy Park which is on the train line.He also needs to explain how he and his family were able to get several duty free cars into Barbados under the previous administration.

25. William Skinner Avatar

All I am saying is that the medical students could be paying rent and living in an area where the money they spent would be in circulation among a wider net of people who need to get a piece of the pie.
    I have made this point about four times on BU.

26. The issue here is whether Maloney colluded with government to win deals. If Coverly had remained vacant the taxpayers read Barbadians lose anyway.

27. @Verona M:

You know nothing about us or our island. Mind your own business and behave as a guest in our country.

28. These characters are not patriotic Barbadians.
    They are in it for themselves.
    They should all be audited by BRA for tax evasion & should not be driving duty free cars.
    Always the same c&$ts ? Cahill?
    Are these the only developers on the island?
    If so may God help us all.

29. @William

Not at all surprised, but am posing the question to the BLP when they were in opposition and asking when this matter came before the house did any object to the inclusion of the beach front lot? If any did object then it should have been recorded in Hansard. If none objected then they are as much to blame as sinkler and his band of treasury robbers.

I am therefore giving them the opportunity to publically come and say they knew and objected, before I drop the political guillotine on all them both D and B!

If they knew and did not object to the inclusion of the lot as Hansard would show, then we are truly a failed state as Hal likes to say.

If they did not object then we are indeed living in a duopoly as you and Pacha say. So Madam PM the floor is yours, what did the BLP do when this property was debated for sale?

I shall await a response but not hold my breath for one.

30. “These businessmen are Bajans irregardless of their color and are attempting to inject life in the weak Bajan economy.”

stop talking shite, those thieves ya calling businessmen should all be in prison and stop leeching off the treasury and pension fund….or FIND THEIR OWN MONEY…to pour into thier scam projects..

where were they BEFORE the island became dilapidated…i will tell ya…TIEFING FROM THE TAXPAYERS AND PENSIONERS…that is why the island BECAME DILAPIDATED.

31. @ Verona M

Is an obvious alias for Maloney and his white boys stool pigeons.

32. Mr. Skinner

Any suggestions in which area the Ross medical students could have been located “where they could mingle with small businesses and rent rooms from ordinary citizens?”

David BU

To be fair, I have to agree with you. Coverley would have remained a “ghost town” if it was not used to house those medical students. I don’t believe the students are “confined to camp,” so they are plenty of opportunities for them to mingle with small businesses and ordinary citizens.

I remember a few years ago, I think it was some time in 2012, while listening to “brass tacks,” I heard Maloney telling the moderator that 95% of the Coverley homes were sold. The resident yard-fowl suggested Coverley was intended for low-income workers. Any bet she would have us believe similarly about the NHC’s Grotto houses.

33. Any stool pigeon or yardfowl better come armed with facts or they will be slaughtered on this blog today.

The public is fed up with both parties over this matter. So the ones in power better start bringing answers to the table and quickly.

34. @ Hal

Yes I have noticed our president tends to make broad non substantiated statements void of detail. I will never forget the first one that caught my attention which was ” we will create a sandbox for digital currencies to play in.” Of course they were several since that one, like the hotel corridor from hither to thither, which I guess will feed off our average occupancy summer rate that barely scrapes 50% at present.

35. @ William

Am I right in thinking that Sir Hilary Beckles was planning to go in to property by developing a hotel for overseas students? Whatever happened to the idea?

36. Again William Skinner. You are correct

37. Barbados interest is one built on pure unadulterated self interest
    Unfortunately the poor man remains out of the loop blinded by the fact that no one cares about their interest

38. You held such a view when Maloney was being awarded all the contracts despite a promise by your party that 40% would have been given to the small man? One of these days you will get it.

39. “Barbados interest is one built on pure unadulterated self interest. Unfortunately the poor man remains out of the loop blinded by the fact that no one cares about their interest.”

Mariposa

Spot on. You are correct.

This is the case under both BLP and DLP administrations.

Essentially, you’re also agreeing with Mr. Skinner’s sentiments that “The Duopoly Rules.”

40. !0 storey building in a residential area.

Months of noise especially if they have to use a pile foundation.

41. What about people crossing an already busy street. Was a traffic assessment study done?

42. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@”says he can take his plant and his water and sow it any part of the world. ”

is this the same Maloney who said that after he left school in Canada he was stirring concrete there? Stupssseee!!!! i hate to channell Donald Trump, but why doesn’t mark go back to where he came from, and to doing what he was doing there?

I would bet you a billion dollars that he can’t get any billion dollar contracts in Canada his adopted country.

Stupssseee!!!

43. @ David,

They can build a flyover. lol

44. @ William

Plse clarify for me. Maloney is involved in Hyatt, Blue Horizon, Coverley, the cement factory and what else?

45. @Hal Austin July 20, 2019 10:24 AM “By the way, the UK with a population of 65m and a parliament of 360, has a Cabinet of 23.

While this is true, the U,K also has significant numbers of local government officials, and significant numbers in the European Parliament.

46. What did I learn from the extraordinary Blue Horizon Town Hall Meeting? Many things. However, it is evident to me that Mia should step aside as Prime Minister and allow her cousin – Commissiong – to take over the reins of Prime Minister. His performance was electric and unlike Mia he is not a controversial figure and is regarded as someone who has “les mains propres”.

Maloney needs to be brought to account. No individual is bigger than our government or more important than our citizens; irrespective of what information he may or may not have on certain individuals. Some will argue that Maloney is good for Barbados but there are many who believe that he is symbolic of all that is bad in Barbados.

Commissiong is a man of integrity who if given access to the keys of power could rid Barbados of the toxic and cancerous individuals who have polluted our country.

47. @S

The point is?

48. up here many times you have to have a performance bond guaranteeing trades will be paid and job completed not a cheap prospect. More often than not the ones who don’t get the job cannot be or cant afford the bonding. That’s why the same names seem to on a lot of govt jobs

49. David G. Brooks Avatar
    David G. Brooks

To ‘m’ … “unless the man is sitting on a billion or more in some foreign currency account unknown to the Central Bank authorities?”

That is a VERY good question.

50. He obviously is bold enough to more than hint he has access to resources outside Barbados.