Submitted by PUDRYR

“…As long as this blatant system of injustice continues and bajans openly tell you that prison in Barbados is for Black people, we can put forward all the ideas we want to solve the problem but we will make no headway…”

The Average man and woman in Barbados going listening to you, cause, like Barbados Underground Whistleblower says, the Royal Bay Gone Police Force, is leading the corruption, the drug dealing AND abusing de court processes.

Let me brek it down fuh wuhnah people

Some of wuhnah too privilege to even contemplate the reality of poverty and being hungry.

For wuhnah it is an abstract concept, wuh, after all we got free schools and free horspital care so everyting alright.

Few uh wuh nah ever been hungry till you guts grumbling and you only talking loud among de fellers, cause “you don’t want dem to hear your guts grumbling

When you at primary school, you can’t focus cause you ass hungry and focusing pun de blackboard hard as ass.

Lord help you if you ent got school books, pencils and school clothes, cause de teacher and de students gine mek you see hell.

And if you need glasses? as many of these poor children do, well your four eyed defective self will be at a worse disadvantage for your entire school life.

In wuhnah day, there was an unofficial community mechanism that wuhnah could use, But this is my reality!

wuhnah forget all dis when you lef de ghetto for de heights. IF YOU WAS EVER HERE!

Reality Check! my mudda got to raise 4 fatherless kids, as a single female headed household pun $250 a week or less if she wukking at Furniture Limited IN 2019!!

I gots a serious anger problem and wunna antiquated school system, especially secondary level education, CANNOT COPE WITH MY DYSFUNCTIONAL ASS.

Den, toss me into de minibus subculture, for 10 years (primary and secondary school) wid de ZR menses erratic behavior, driving erratically through traffic, just to pay de coolie who own de ZR van, $1000 a week, and you got a next level of anarchy in my ass.

Den, add de “blackies”, and my spliffs I smoking every day.

Man, don’t even add my maladjusted concept of wealth, a concept I developed seeing the drug dealers in my district.

You ONLY got “a shooting waiting to happen”

And unnerstan dis, when a policeman stop a van in in, fuh ovahloading, wuhnah sight how I does be de most vociferous in “representing” my dog? de drivah? de conductor?

See how I does represent a man who I ent know from bull foot?

Wunna feeling me yet?

So when my effed up donkey hear dat my man Stevie, my “family”, a next effed up thug like me, get kill, my black ass gots to go “represent” he!

But all wuh nah people who trying to solve dis crime problem, ent got one effing clue…

Plussing dat wuh nah RH got menses like Michael Carry Way a Ton uh money, 250 large ones and de Prime Minister Fumbles tel he, it alright

AND DE NEW PRIME MINISTER, Mugabe Mottley, inviting 5 of my drug dealer “family” my heroes, to Parliament.

AND WUNNA SCUNT TELLING ME BOUT “wun nah got a Block program fuh me???”

Man get de F out my face befo’ I GLOCK YOUR ASS

this article is accredited to Tee White and a comment he made here on Barbados Underground

Here is the accompanying video.

253 responses to “Leh Me Tell Wuhnah Like it is – Real Talk from De Block”

1. Who ever wrote the above is hiding behind a smoke screen. There are many persons who experienced abject poverty who did not resort to crime. However, let me hasten to say that I have no confidence in the Barbadian judiciary and the local legal fraternity. Corruption is rife in this country.

2. I was born between de Prison …District A …and Bush Hall Yard Gap and don’t know what brekking de law feel like … Plus I was born with aa rusty spoon in mah mout …

3. @Dr. Lucas

Can the experience of individuals be justly transferred to others? Even if poverty is a common variable are there other factors that will trouble the outcome of a life’s journey?

4. So old man this concept that you are a product of your social environment is pure hogwash … the reality is you involve yourself in criminality because of a dysfunction conscience …

5. If environment influences behaviour as you are suggesting …then why is it that in a family siblings who are raised in the same manner take opposite paths in life?

Ted Bundy, was raised in a Christian house with two well adjusted parents, and as he puts it … got addicted to pornography which led to his murderous spree of young women… Now I cognizant of the exception to the general rule but we see this same thing played out day after day…

Jeffrey Dahmer, on the other hand was raised in a verbally abusive household, but one has to wonder how does this concatenated with his homosexuality and cannibalism which led muderous to his spree of young homosexual men?

6. Jeffrey Dahmer’s case is a psychotherapist nightmare … how did the propensity for killing and dissecting animals in the back woods as a teenager led to killing, dissecting and eating human beings because he wanted them to be a part of him … Was this somehow associated with his abandonment issues? Because his parents separated early because of all the verbal abused…

7. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

”Who ever wrote the above is hiding behind a smoke screen. There are many persons who experienced abject poverty who did not resort to crime. ”

I do not recall a Barbados were the vast majority was not below the poverty line. It was also so, and even now it is still so. Many Barbadians understand what it means to be poor, but many also understood what politeness and decency was all about. Many families who lived in abject poverty that did not turn to crime more than likely had a strong basis for understanding wrong and right. They knew what it meant to live within means and taught their children the values and morals of life, particularly education as a way out of sorts. In other words, the key here is that they had parents whose intent was to raise them correctly at every turning point in their poor lives. What you have stated in the above is a dying trend and those numbers in the last decade have certainly dwindled as values and morals are replaced with something more sinister and perverted. Poverty is not necessarily a ticket towards crime and violence but in the new reality that is Barbados, it certainly is becoming an attractive alternative for the socially depressed and weak minded. Gone seem to be the days when poverty produced positive effects and not necessarily was the precursor towards a troubled beginning. Most who have succeeded from their impoverish experiences will tell you that they learnt survivor skills, how to do without, how to live within in their means, and how they were pushed towards seeing education as an opportunity towards betterment. Their lives were guided by parents who understood what needed to be done. In other words, to achieve that mindset the environment must be set towards fostering and nurturing, not one of antisocial experiences and extreme circumstances from parents who operate more like enemies rather than with love and care. Right now the environment of crooked politics, double standards, lies, pampering criminal activity with lavish titles and continuing to perpetuate the notion that you can be subjected to one of two existing perceptions concerning the rule law, has provided much fuel to rev up the anger and indifference existing now in Barbados. There are so many double standards available that you do not have to go digging for it, perfect examples, numerous to count, are available amongst parties B and D. So my sweet piece ain’t putting up any smokescreen, he is trying to get the blinkers that blinding a lot of bajans off. Barbados is corrupt, deceitful, and double standard in practice. The perfect ingredients for failure and we are failing at the present moment.

8. I know growing in Barbados during the 70s and 80s before I thought of victimizing someone which I never did …I got a bucket and washed somebody car … I got my box-cart and pushed down Roebuck St to buy gas for the neighbors … Or I would go to the shop for the police and kept the change … I made sure I mek my little money so I could buy my stonewashed jeans and clarks …to wear to Globe, Empire, Plaza, and the Rockie as a teen on weekends…

So the thought of Victimizing another never crossed my mind, and when I reached 18 I got me a job at Hill Super Market, Speedway, Home Center Lumited, and before I left for the States I worked for my mounted friend whose brother owned Uncle Wilbert Chicken Factory in St. Thomas which gave me an opportunity to associated with the country people from all over Barbados.

9. But I missed the country people of old …which their unmatched colours …and funny accents … and the fact that they knew that they had to be on their best behaviour when in town … Because it was licks like peas to catch the last bus … It was a sight to see the country people running to catch the last bus … after the cinema…

10. Is this the same Dr. lucas who has submitted so many intellectually and thought provoking submissions on BU? I expect that ” smoke screen” bull shit from Lexicon, Christ, not you. Anyway, as the day breaks and others come awake, I’m sure they will come here to echo your sentiments an attack the writer of this piece lol. Continue imitating the Ostrich, the chickens have come home.

11. An era gone by of about 60 or seventy years ago when the social enviromentnt was not embedded with influences of social media widespread entertaiment of all kind might have given reason as to why people of that era who were poor did not resort to the kind of violence that is world wide today.
    In today society influences of all kind are easy to source
    children grow up in an enviroment where they can see and hear things that are counterproductive to their physical as well as their physchological well being
    Added to the fact that single family households have become disjointed and dysfunctional
    Society today has evolved into a state of confusion because of many factors one being a moral disconnect between what is right and what is wrong and for that reasons their is sufficient blame to go around.
    If we want to look back at the past do so by taking into considetation the many factors and influences that are available now that were absence back then which made a difference in that era in how people respect and value each other and life in general

Lexicon Jeffrey Damher and Ted Bundy had mental issues

12. @ Lexicon

Did you beat the country people?

13. @David
    Sunshine Sunny Shine’s comments made at 4.41 am, answers your query. A very insightful reply by SSS.

14. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

…..So old man this concept that you are a product of your social environment is pure hogwash … the reality is you involve yourself in criminality because of a dysfunction conscience ……

Really, LExicon? I thought better of you when it comes to reasoning and understanding, but when you can write this piece of shite here, I have to think differently. You really think that environment does not play a part in social outcomes when it is obvious that we have some environments in Barbados that spitting out idiots by the dozens. If that is not environment what the hell is responsible for their life style choice?

15. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

And just to spice things up, the Bitt scam..

Hands up, anyone who is surprised that a little-known crypto exchange that apparently had the largest bitcoin trading volume on CoinMarketCap has been exposed as a wash trading scam platform. In the world of crypto where apparently everyone made it to Lamboland during the 2017 bull run, and absolutely everybody knew when to sell, no one will admit that they have been played. Since Bitwise published its investigation two days ago showing that at least 95 percent of all bitcoin trading volume is faked on unregulated exchanges, the standard refrain has been “Everyone already knew that.”

To admit otherwise would be to admit that one is a “noob” and possibly a “bagholder,” but the fact that platforms like CoinBene continue to exist and perpetrate what should be a transparent scam is indicative of a deeper problem within crypto. For whatever reason, otherwise sensible and rational investors seem to have internalized the idea that crypto “does not operate on conventional rules” and as such, it is OK to ignore what their experience or good sense tells them.”

16. @Sss
    You have highlighted some of the reasons for the degradation of this island. Undisciplined, disrespectful, rude parents raising children is what ills this island.

17. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Jean

Do not forget the political atmosphere and the promises that will improve lives. Look at where all the improvements are. We take our money and build a lot of shite buildings, but not a cent towards improving the ghettos and cess pools. When we do seek to improve its big spending but the quality is poor. Someone’s lives get improve but it is not towards the masses. The treasury is now a lending agency with a no payback policy, and this is acceptable under both parties. How the heck you expect people not to be angry and fed up. These mothers know where all the crime lives, who are responsible for the activities and yet it continues with a lot of talk and more promises. Why should one not believe that those who govern are either the criminals or aiding and abetting them? That is why I believe my sweet piece is on to something, but our loyal party asses won’t allow us to see the truth for what it is. Barbados just has under 300,000 people yet the behaviour of the politics would have us believe that that is a vast number to manage so we need a big ass cabinet and two ministers to run one ministry when one was doing it before. We are intelligent towards stupid, and stupid onto ignorant because a little dollar behind a house and car makes us proudlings.

18. An important factor is the decline in the support which came from the school. One gets the impression teachers of today are not as committed to compare with those of yesteryear.

19. Also an important factor is family separation moving across different countries where standards and cultures are change with an acceptance to different values
    If the by gone era of which is being touted as a time of respect and moral values was placed into todays enviroment i would bet that what all witnessed back then would be totally different today
    A society is constructed and built according to what it is feed

20. David, I couldnt agree with you more. My teachers’ focus was on me as a student.not just the paycheck. They.invested their time and their talents not only to make me the best student but the best person I can be. I cant thank them enough for their dedication. I am a proud alumna of St. Leonard’s Girls school and remember quite often my dedicated teachers like Mrs. Birkett, Mr. Burke, Mr. Belle to name a few. I am deeply and forever indebted to them for my education.

21. Sss,
    “We are intelligent towards stupid, and stupid onto ignorant because a little dollar behind a house and car makes us proudlings.”

I am going to borrow your statement above.. thank you. Words so true, but sad.

22. Georgie Porgie Avatar

talk talk talk on the DAILY DRIVEL
    tallk talk talk IN THE BU RUM SHOP
    WUNNAH BRIMBLE BARK AND BRAY
    SO NOW LET GP HAVE HIS SAY

This know also, that in the last days perilous times shall come.

2 For men shall be lovers of their own selves, covetous, boasters, proud, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy,

3 Without natural affection, trucebreakers, false accusers, incontinent, fierce, despisers of those that are good,

4 Traitors, heady, highminded, lovers of pleasures more than lovers of God;

5 Having a form of godliness, but denying the power thereof: from such turn away.

7 Ever learning, and never able to come to the knowledge of the truth
    2 TIMOTHY 3:1-6 &7
    SOUND DOCTRINE THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED

NOW HAVING TALKED AND TALKED AS WUNNAH ALWAYS DO
    AS THE JAMAICANS SAY WUH YOU AH DO?

23. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

David, or whoever you are

The ministry of education is filled with shite posers. Making decisions in the name of favours or influences. Have you not notice in Barbados that the shirkers get more respect than those who are committed to doing right? Why do you think that is so, David, or whoever you are? At every turning point in Barbados, there is talk about frustration with this, frustration with that. Those who do not do one shite moving ahead of those who are doing. If you are not a lackey, do not expect to be promoted. If you speak out against the shites operating vengefully, do not expect to get anywhere. Do you think after years of doing this that we would not be where we are today? Artax said that if you want anything to be speeded up in government, you have to be willing to pay extra for it. Where in all of that we can see forward moves. Where in all of that we can see quality service coupled with good workable standards? All I see is double standards, and double standards do not work in favour of progress.

24. Georgie Porgie Avatar

SSS

THIS IS BECAUSE THE OFFICIALS ARE
    lovers of their own selves, AND covetous, AND unthankful,AND unholy, NOT SO ?

THIS IS BECAUSE THE OFFICIALS ARE despisers of those that are good,NOT SO ? I EXPERIENCED IT

THIS IS BECAUSE THE OFFICIALS ARE Traitors, heady, highminded, lovers of pleasures more than lovers of God;

SOUND DOCTRINE THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED

NOW HAVING TALKED AND TALKED AS WUNNAH ALWAYS DO
    AS THE JAMAICANS SAY WUH YOU AH DO?

25. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Teaching is destroyed on the basis that the focus is now on academic qualifications with little to no focus on character content and behavioural assessment. Not a boy in the public sector does feel the weight of dismissal for contravening the general orders or Public Service Act. All the things that could keep teachers and public servants in check towards good productivity and working standards are tossed by the wayside when the politician or his lackey intervene and say, give them a break, let them continue. Bare shite here. I have said enough, until tomorrow, I got a plane to catch.

26. William Skinner Avatar

“An important factor is the decline in the support which came from the school. One gets the impression teachers of today are not as committed to compare with those of yesteryear.”

Pray tell us how you arrived this “impression”.

27. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ My Dearest SSS,

YOU ARE FEELING ME!!!

I have copied every single one of your comments here because you see every single sinew of this message that the “doctor”, not my friend and fellow myope, with all his learning and sophistry CANNOT!

I really don’t know how to say this.

These people are totally disconnected from this problem, THEY ARE CLUELESS, SSS!!!

They are stuck in and age where they might have been poor but the societal linkages between them, their family their extended family, their community, the church, blessed schoolteachers, leaders? All of this socialized us BECAUSE WE HAD CLEAR OPTIONS

WE HAD HOPE!!

Not all of us had a dual parent home but we had nurturing environments!

The TV, and internet and WhatsApp and Messenger and Facebook and YouTube and R. Kelly and Snoop Doggy Dogg are these dysfunctional kids parents, family, community, teachers and leaders.

Look at the microcosm of comments here.

You have a scholar who just dont fvcking get it leading off the volley

Then there was Lexicunt who, well he just is a chvunt. He made sure to talk bout himself and being mounted by a police at district A and a whole set of crap.

The there is “the new Honourable Blogmaster ” who when yo go back to the 2007 articles you see that the new Blogmaster is the “old Blogmaster on Steroids”. He really talking from his heart and 1 of the remaining 2 is slowly coming along.

I dont read ManyPussy she says alot of nothing.

And then My Fellow Myope who does cuff me in my stomach when he tells me of the spiritual battle we are in, I know what he says is true but I cant give up, call that stupid, so be it…but I will let my master judge me.

But then a mystery.

Enter the very people that you so eloquently identified in your breakdown of This Tales of Two Cities dat Lucas with all of his book learning CANNOT SEE.

And for a moment, a nova in this darkness of space, that commentator shines and the light cascades beyond the dufus Lucas, and Leximoron and ManyPussy

Here is her luminescence

“…My teachers’ focus was on me as a student.not just the paycheck. They.invested their time and their talents not only to make me the best student but the best person I can be. I cant thank them enough for their dedication. I am a proud alumna of St. Leonard’s Girls school and remember quite often my dedicated teachers like Mrs. Birkett, Mr. Burke, Mr. Belle to name a few. I am deeply and forever indebted to them for my education…”

And with those few words Jean give me hope that all I am doing is not in vain

That there are those among us who unlike you and I, who know Mugabe, understand what this space that the Honourable Blogmaster has made is for.

She alone has sounded out a trumpet that speaks to the real issue here.

The poverty of yesteryear is not tainted by the poverty of today where we have dysfunctional idjots.

Even though we seeing shytes like Lexicunt and ManyPussy here whose comprehension skills are limited, the two of them are still good people.

Not so with this generation of vipers, not so at all!!

Look how we few, we brave are fighting?

THE Honourable Blogmaster has given us a virtual milieu it is true but look at the dimensions of our war.

Spiritual turpitude, entrenched corruption, pandemic idiocy, prolific mental poverty, impoverished comprehension skills…I could go on but have to pause and go do some tasks…

Have a safe trip Dearest…

28. After reading the above and the comments, I will reluctantly agree with Hal Austin: Barbados is a failed state.

29. William Skinner Avatar

@Jean
    “@ David, I couldnt agree with you more. My teachers’ focus was on me as a student.not just the paycheck. They.invested their time and their talents not only to make me the best student but the best person I can be. I cant thank them enough for their dedication. I am a proud alumna of St. Leonard’s Girls school and remember quite often my dedicated teachers like Mrs. Birkett, Mr. Burke, Mr. Belle to name a few. I am deeply and forever indebted to them for my education.”

There are many teachers who continue to do all of the above without fanfare.
    For forty years the BLPDLP has beaten up the profession and used it as a scapegoat for all the societal problems we now face. Neither you nor David has been exposed to the negative political influence,that goes on at the ministry. If the BUT were to expose what goes on , you would be ashamed.

30. Mariposa

Ted Bundy and Jeffrey Dahmer were both psychopaths … so your point is taken…

31. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Piece “And if you need glasses? as many of these poor children do, well your four eyed defective self will be at a worse disadvantage for your entire school life.”

In fact if a pupil needs glasses, the school issues a letter and the child is examined and if necessary glasses prescribed at little or no cost o the parents at the Winston Scott polyclinic. This has been so for decades. One of my siblings who is now nearly 70, wore government “polish tins” as they were called back then. The frames were perfectly round and brown. One of my kids wore government glasses too. They are not high fashion brand name glasses but they do the job. So they got teased a little!!! Or a lot. Tough. Both people have made a success of their lives. We can’t always wrap our children in cotton wool.

Keeping it real from a real-real person who was raised in a rural village, dirt floor, multiple siblings in a bed, no running water, no shoes, no electricity, no Reddifusion. Nothing except two loving parents and enough food.

Sometimes we deceive the youth that our youth was easy and wonderful. No wonder that they then feel deprived. No wonder they feel entitled to enjoy the same upper middle class youth that they see on northern social media.

It was never so for most of us.

Once we got shoes when we went to secondary school, we were damn lucky if a sibling did not pee in our shoe in the middle of the night, mistaking it for the topsy.

32. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Piece “Den, toss me into de minibus subculture, for 10 years (primary and secondary school) wid de ZR”

Have taken the ZR’s for more than 20 years, so yes my children too, one from 5 years old to the end of BCC. And that was not in the old days. The youngest is still younger than 25.

One does not have to behave badly because one rides on a ZR van. Whatever became of poor, peaceful and polite?

33. SirSimplesimon

I am sorry …what year are you talking about? I remember my madda telling me that back in the 40s in St. Andrew she used to used cooking for lotion before lapped tar Tah school …

34. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Piece “Den, add de “blackies”, and my spliffs I smoking every day.”

I was first offered marijuana when I was 24, that is more than 40 years ago. About 10 years I found a full sized marijuana tree growing on my property. I said “NO” to that too.

I still say “no’ now.

Just last week re the “Momo Challenge” I was teaching the grans the power of “NO”

Teaching them that it is ok to say “no.” Teaching them that ofttimes ‘no” is the only appropriate answer.

And that it is always better to say “no” THE FIRST TIME somebody asks you to do sh!te!!

35. @William

Some of us live in Barbados. Attend the schools for various reasons.Have conversations with teachers and retirees. Many teachers are leaving the service, a growing number do it for the paycheck. We know of what we speak.

36. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Mr. William Skinner

I have much respect for you sir.

You are one of the dying breed of educators out there.

You ARE NOT A TEACHER, you are an educator and you know the nuance thereof.

“…Neither you nor David has been exposed to the negative political influence, that goes on at the ministry.

If the BUT were to expose what goes on , you would be ashamed…”

William, I am part of a 2 man team, me and my legendary grandson.

In 3 years of campaigning we have over 600,000 views.

There are 46,812 students and about 3,500 teachers in Barbados spread between primary and secondary schools

I respectfully put it to you that ANY PROBLEM WHICH IS NOW A SECRET BETWEEN THE BUT SND SUCCESSIVE GOVERNMENTS is so because the BUT is weak and does not understand the power of social media to level playing fields

And if they wish to remain silent it is because they are supposed to suffer and thus is appropriate punishment.

You need to open your mouths and be heard else you will be raped in silence and Mugabe will bring you the grease AS SHE DID WITH EDUTECH at the tune of over US$200 million

37. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Lexicon March 25, 2019 12:25 PM “SirSimplesimon. I am sorry …what year are you talking about? ”

My siblings and I were all born between 1936 and 1959.

No school meals service back then either. At 4 years old walked a mile to school, a mile back home for lunch, bakes and lemonade, or if lucky and the fowls had laid, then scrambled eggs and bakes and lemonade for lunch. walked a mile back to school, then a mile back home in the evenings. Went to school single every day. Rain or shine. Did not own a raincoat or umbrella until secondary school either. Had to get the homework done before sunset too, or do it by an oil lamp.

Walked 4 miles a day as 4 year old.

38. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Lexicon March 25, 2019 12:25 PM “SirSimplesimon I am sorry…what year are you talking about? I remember my madda telling me that back in the 40s in St. Andrew she used to used cooking [oil] for lotion.

Everybody used cooking oil as a hand and body lotion, or otherwise brown vaseline.

39. Pdyr u can cuss me till the cows jump over the moon
    Not going to finacially or politically invest in your turd party taking on a high risk attributed to a nameless and faceless bunch
    You get here on BU and becomes an advocate for a turd party
    However afraid to attach your face to that turd party like Granville did upon launching Solutions
    Go ahead cuss me all u want would not be a party to deception
    Post yuh face first

40. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Peice wants to cuss us, call us RH’s, pooch lickers, chvnts etc. and then expect us to give his third party money and votes?

It ain’t goin’ happen. The DLP bloggers on here, cussed us too and we washed their sorry @sses in licks last May.

Lolll!!

Wunna political operatives got to learn some manners.’ first, then come back once you have learned.

I am sorry that my grandparents and parents are dead, otherwise they could teach all ‘o wunna some manners AND some common sense, including…

DON’T ever bite the hand which you expect to feed you.

41. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

And we will be very happy to do the same to the BLP too if they fail to learn manners, and if they fail to use common sense.

Because we voted for them it does not mean that we are in love with them.

We hired them to do a job. If they don’t, we will be more than happy to fire them.

42. William Skinner Avatar

You need to stop the useless red herring about who lives where. My association with the teaching profession goes back over four decades. I can tell you for a fact that the profession has been demonized by both BLP and DLP.
    I know of education ministers demanding that their party people be put in certain posts and schools as heads. This did not start yesterday.
    Your attempts to blame teachers are nothing new. You are merely guessing.
    If you had any real connection to the profession, you would know that any teacher who is only working for a Cheque can be identified very quickly.
    Stop apologizing for the collective failures of the decadent political class
    The majority of teachers work very hard and those who do not involve themselves in the political skullduggery ; go in the classroom , in a sometimes hostile environment nurtured by the corrupt political class, that has no progressive plans for the educational
    sector.
    I will say no more at the moment but from your limited position ; I can understand the nonsense you have posited.

43. @William

You are entitled to your opinion. The blogmaster will repeat, teachers today are not as committed as those of the past. You should ask Karen Best a former BUT president like Ronald Jones the criteria used to select senior teachers in the last 10 years. Will stop there for now.

What is a fact is that there has been and continues to be an early exodus of the old guard from the teaching service.

If you do not like what the blogmaster is posting you can lump it. Some of you are married to certain views which have to basis in the reality.

44. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Pieces , as ur other writers noted poverty is absolutely not a valid reason for a life of indifferent, anti social or criminal behaviour .

I wonder aloud tho if we are not romanticizing in some ways the anti social behaviours of our fore-parents !

Most assuredly things were different den …but one can argue that a main takeaway of difference were that the pockets of crookedness and corruption were kept secretive and there was a deference to those considered highly educated or all powerful.

Today none of dat.

Everyone feels empowered to usurp the powerful, curse the educated and herald reality ‘actors’ as models of acceptable behaviour.

This has nothing to do with an impoverished upbringing.

Nowadays a woman who champions her profession as a madam is elected to parliament in Italy but so too our Bajan madam was heralded in our folklore as a person of much importance and of course we had Nathalee in the forefront of our social/political activism just recently…so what really has changed if not principally the attitudes of the average person who no longer deign/acquiese to a normative lifestyle of restrictive social class and the perceived hypocrisy that goes with that supposed BS privilege.

45. Georgie Porgie Avatar

WILLIAM
    RE I know of education ministers demanding that their party people be put in certain posts and schools as heads. This did not start yesterday.
    THIS IS VERY TRUE
    RE I will say no more at the moment
    PLEASE TELL US MORE. DONT HOLD BACK
    THERE ARE TOO MANY INFERIOR SUPERIORS IN BARBADOS
    AND TOO MANY WOMEN GET UP BY LYING DOWN
    THERE IS NOT MUCH OF A MERITOCRACY

46. Are we not discussing the current state of play in Barbados? Everybody knows both parties have politicized the service. How will romanizing the issues and remembering a bygone era help?

The last ten years have not helped and those before. Some of us are painfully reminded of it when we have to observe and interact with the system on a daily basis.

47. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Georgie Porgie March 25, 2019 3:25 PM “AND TOO MANY WOMEN GET UP BY LYING DOWN.”

Stupssseee!!!

By the time a man gets in a position where he might be even slightly useful, he has become a pot bellied, rum drinking, impotent old man.

How or why would any woman lie down with him?

Stupssseee!!!

48. Would u be committed to a profession or a job if your demands were higher than your paycheck
    Yes in the by gone era when barbados lived in almost isolation unaware that govts took full advantage of their kind deeds all step up and did their job out of a duty to patriotism
    Bro those days are over. People are aware of the ignorance and the corrupt mismagement of govts who tries to appeal to their better side while govt skim the best off the economic pie for themselves and friends and associate
    Furthermore teachers today do not get the necessary support from
    govt as well as family members
    It is amazing how some would bad mouth teachers but( themselves )having to be part of a profession where wages are below standard pay grade while absent of govt and parents support most would not dare venture

49. Georgie Porgie Avatar

re @Georgie Porgie March 25, 2019 3:25 PM “AND TOO MANY WOMEN GET UP BY LYING DOWN.”

Stupssseee!!!

By the time a man gets in a position where he might be even slightly useful, he has become a pot bellied, rum drinking, impotent old man.

How or why would any woman lie down with him?

Stupssseee!!!

DONT TRY TO FOOL US
    YOU KNOW WELL
    THEY DO SO TO GET HIS MONEY, OR GET PROMOTED AT THEIR JOB ETC
    THIS IS VERY COMMON

SOME MEN MAKE THEIR FIRST MILLION LEGITIMATELY LONG BEFORE TheY HAVE become a pot bellied, rum drinking, impotent old man.

THE WOMEN LIE DOWN AT ALL AGES AS YOU WELL KNOW

50. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/03/24/mottley-points-to-importance-of-people-at-founders-day-service/

yeah…”the importance of more people”…to rob, victimize and hide all the stolen land and money offshore…

…….but ticktock..