Budget day: Wednesday, March 20. Prime Minister Mia Mottley will deliver her first Budget on March 20, 2019.

Without doubt the 2019 Budget will be interesting not only for the pundits, for the masses as well,  who for the first time are witnessing a Barbados in the grip of economic and social turmoil NEVER experienced in our history. The political partisans as if trapped in a time loop will forever be debating -who to blame, B or D. The blogmaster and sensible others respectfully suggest we need to take a long hard look at the image in the mirror.

We have allowed a burgeoning political class to hold a people and country to ransom while we stood by and applauded. The lack of people participation in government in the last 25 years has given birth to the current state of things. A dysfunctional system will never generate the desired result.

There has been a heavy focus and expectation by Barbadians that monetary and fiscal policies of  government represent a panacea to the many challenges which confront us.  If youth employment is 24% how does one justify an allocation of 3 millions dollars to the BLOCK program being promoted by Minister of Youth and Community Empowerment, Adrian Forde? The young people on the BLOCK is one of the symptoms how the society is failing the people.  Our inability to create opportunities for our people. Our inability to repair, fix and grow and build

Barbados is navigating uncharted waters. The budget will be debated this week with token opposition. Another dysfunction we are grappling. We have a people still hoping for the usual Budget handouts from government notwithstanding the deep economic hole we continue to find ourselves.

One of the greatest disappointments in the post 24 May 2018 period is that we have not been able to reach a national consensus on a way forward. A view from the idealist perhaps.

If we read the political leaves of the 30-0 result the electorate almost to a man determined the DLP was an incompetent government. We have the BLP incumbent and although commonsense suggest the government needs more time, we have spotted a legacy behaviour by the political class which serves to stoke the apathy latent in many of us.

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me {us} all the days of my {our} life: and I {we} will dwell in the house of the LORD for ever- Psalm 23:6

As vivid as the imagination of a child the blogmaster – try as he might- is unable to see the flicker of light at the end of the proverbial tunnel. Bear in mind the cracking of the economic juggernaut requires a parallel effort in the social sphere. There is corruption, rising crime, an irrelevant justice system, a scant regard for the environment etc.

Our strategies must be holistic.

Participation must come from all of civil society.

We must commit to re-engineering our thoughts, words and deeds.

The mantra now and in the future must be sacrifice from everyone for the good of ALL.

If Barbados is to rise, we have to park the noisy adversarial ethos political talking heads and partisan supporters revel and earn pennies from. The final say – in theory – rest with WE the people. Let us power up our collective intelligence to wrest our country from the political class. The hopes and dreams of our children and their children depend on it.

Democracy is the government of the people, by the people, for the people –

-Abraham Lincoln

397 responses to “2019 Budget -A Time for ALL Good Citizens to Pause”

1. David

The PM said that the transaction was done during the tenure of the past governor and MOF.

2. @Prodigal Son

Clevy is the Governor in the chair, he will have to explain.

@Pacha

There is the political consideration to lending Clico. Bear in mind the Central Bank has been reporting losses.

3. Sorry for the double post…was distracted.

4. Well, there are always considerations of politics in high level transastions but that alone does not suggest, where the transaction is otherwise viable, to in and of itself make a denial.

Similarly for the losses either CLICO and/or the CB itself might be making. Remember, that this would have been a paper manufacturing transaction, essentially.

5. Bus fare at $3.50 is reasonable. No one complains about fast food increases or snack increases daily. In Grenada you pay as much as $30EC or more daily depending on distance for catching 4 privates. Eat less Chefette and KFC or cut out the sweet drinks daily.

6. Not sure how raising bus fare will transform the TB to an efficient SOE.

7. Times hard
    The country under stress
    The country under duress
    People asked to share the load
    We gave them a lot
    But they decide – they want a free ride

They want this
    They want that
    They don’t want to pay tax
    They don’t want to pay vat
    Mottley tell the no – it can’t happen so
    They have to pay or they have to go

8. They were here long
    But never came around
    Except when the country was down
    They ground it to the ground
    Say they are the saviour
    So they piling on the pressure

They want this
    They want that

Times hard
    The country under stress
    The country under duress
    We gave them a lot

They want this
    They want that

9. Raising the price of bus tickets from 2 BBD to 3.50 BBD can only be the first step. International financial capitalism demands more sacrifices. I very much hope that over the next few years prices will rise to at least 4.00 BBD for short haul and 6.00 BBD for long haul.

But honestly, I fear that even this level is much too low to buy new buses. The old models look as if Barrow had bought them from Tanzania in the 1970s. I wouldn’t be surprised. These buses are a national disgrace and symbolize the backwardness of those parts of the population who still sleep in the social hammock.

Free travel for children, the elderly and social scroungers must also be abolished. Children should only pay up to 6 years of age nothing, then up to 14 years 50% of the regular price, then full. Pensioners do not deserve any discount at all, as many of them voted for the DLP in 2008 and 2013 and are therefore responsible for the decline of Barbados. It would be more than appropriate for these freeloaders to apologise to international financial investors for their misconduct at the ballot box.

The Prime Minister must not now show any weakness and must continue to “optimize” the welfare state. Next, for example, the retirement age for civil servants should be raised to at least 70 years and pensions reduced to a tolerable level. We do not need a social consensus, but a strong leader who ignites the explosive device at the base of the welfare state building.

The welfare state means poverty.

Social dismantling means prosperity.

Low pensions mean a better future for young people. Hope.

10. They were here long
    But never came around
    Except when the country was down
    They ground it to the ground
    Say they are the saviour
    So they piling on the pressure

They want this
    They want that
    Mottley tell them no – it can’t happen so

Times hard
    The country under stress
    The country under duress
    We gave them a lot

They want this
    They want that
    Mottley tell them no – it can’t happen so

We grateful – that is no lie
    You caught us on the drop
    And we paid the price
    But have mercy man
    We have our pride
    That little help don’t mean you could ride us for life

You want this
    You want that
    You don’t want to pay tax
    You don’t want to pay vat
    No – it can’t happen so
    You have to pay or you have to go

11. One more word on the budget speech: We do indeed need a radical educational reform in Barbados. It cannot be that, as in the past, the worst and most incompetent pupils start to study at the taxpayer’s expense and then govern the country as DLP ministers. Chris Sinckler should be a warning to everyone. It is time for Chris Sinkler to apologize to the people for his economic crimes when he still has the rest of decency.

We therefore need a restriction on the admission of the UWI. All known US universities and Oxbridge don’t just take all Smurfs as students, but work with elaborate entrance tests (interview, IQ test, written exam and the like). It is time to sift out the students at the UWI, too, so that a disaster like Chris Sinckler’s does not repeat itself.

So there won’t be any misunderstanding: I am still in favour of free studies for intelligent children from poor families. But Barbados will not survive a second Chris Sinckler.

12. What i still have difficulty understanding is why is it that the business of Barbados is being broadcast and streamed from the HeadQuarters of the Barbados Labour Party

Using the URL https://www.facebook.com/BarbadosLabourParty/videos/ 370064183584748/

You mean to tell me dat CBC nor GIS ent got dis capacity yet?

Who de badword is being paid for this service

Why is it, ONE EFFING YEAR LATER that it is still being done?

And Why is it that the Leader of the Opposition the Bishop Reverend Pastor Joseph Atherley does not say one chvunt bout dis and other RH tricks dat happening wid de tax payers $$?

13. Piece,

This is part of the government’s privatization strategy. More and more officials are becoming superfluous, and we can send them with Hurrah to the banana plantations in Costa Rica or to the bauxite mines in Jamaica. We should also bear in mind that the Prime Minister is also the party leader. She can therefore publish her statements both here and there.

The big fat welfare state means poverty.
    Social dismantling and slim state mean prosperity.

And please don’t take literally everything I write here. I’m really not that naive.
    Let cynicism guide our lives. Better Nietzsche than Marx.

14. Well murder # 19 !

Darwin Dottin still remains on the job !

Let’s stop the ROTTIN

Fire DOTTIN !

15. I wouldn’t be surprised if former government members with possible contacts to organized crime sparked the war among drug gangs to destabilize the new government.

Our Prime Minister must not trust the parts of the security authorities that are loyal only to the DLP and not to the nation. I smell betrayal.

We have to ask ourselves: Were hiding places for weapons set up before the last election if there was a change of government?

16. @Tron,

Barbados has inherited a poor system of government and administration from Britain. (Quote)

Plse explain the poor system of government and administration. Give specifics of the failure of the inherited system.

17. @Tron
    “We have to ask ourselves: Were hiding places for weapons set up before the last election if there was a change of government?”

You need to stop.
    Alarmist and fanciful nonsense.

In your Barbados, a family with four people (mom, dad, and two kids over 14) who have a ‘long haul’ to work and school could spend over $1,000 a month just on bus fare. You may be worse than Sinckler.

18. *over=around

19. The day after a very important Budget and still no discussion on BU.

20. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Ah don’t think anyone with half a brain was even remotely impressed with the Mia show…

https://www.facebook.com/jackie.stewart.965/videos/994286940780845/?t=0

21. This budget should be titled “Waging War on the local economy”

22. “The day after a very important Budget and still no discussion on BU.”

What does that tell you?🤫

23. It was a decent explanation of what government is attempting to do. We will never get 100% buy in. It will be about execution going down the road. Let us see if Barbadians respond so that revenue targets have to be met. The blogmaster is concerned about transport board and the appetite for real change.

24. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Jackie Stewart
    I am on your side but how are you going to get their assets seized? Mia Mottley has no intentions of looking into any crookery from the past. How are you going to get cow and others off your land when George Payne holds legal documents sanctioned by a court of law? This thing is far bigger and far more intertwined then your video posts. I am hearing your frustration but while you are venting they are building. They have confidence because they have backing. They are not even paying you any mind.

25. Obviously, the Transport Board has to be restructured.

I was impressed upon hearing TB promised to outsource more bus maintenance and repairs to UCAL, and they have provided space at the Mangrove and Speightstown depots to accommodate UCAL’s mechanics, which is a “good start.”

I also understand within the past few months, UCAL has been able to repair more buses than the 11 Trinidadians that were loafing at Mangrove at the expense of taxpayers.

A review should be conducted on what the Trinidad consultant was able to achieve during his tenure with a salary of $22,000 per month.

26. The TTC( Toronto ) raised bus fares by 10 cents starting April 1st.

Barbados raising bus fares by $ 1.50 to $3.50

Low income workers will now pay an extra $15. per week for transportation.

27. The local business economy must find ways to incentive in respect to encouraging people to spend
    Govt policies would not be giving local business any economic ease that is favourable to people having the appetite for spending
    Out of these policies which tantamounts to a harassment and bombardment of poor peoples pocket would be a guaranteed depressed economy as the spending power of people shy further away from inflated prices

28. There is nothing obvious about it. Successive governments have promised and promised many things and decades later nothing. To repeat, it will settle in the execution.

Leave you Sir Lloyds lament -how did we get back here-?

29. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Artax

””A review should be conducted on what the Trinidad consultant was able to achieve during his tenure with a salary of $22,000 per month.””

The entire fiasco under the Trinidian mechanic-contractural-arrangement should be investigated forensically. A review of what magnitude? The last administration intent was never to fix or fashioned the transport board towards one of efficiency. Therefore, the amount of wastage under them with nothing to show deserves a thorough investigation but Rogue-Works has no plans of looking into any of their dark night doings.

30. @SSS

Sensible people know that to talk about locking up people is just that talk. You cannot waltz into other countries and seize monies. The government will find it difficult to do it in Barbados.

31. SOEs are used and will continue to be used to pad the popularity of incumbent political parties. It is an animal that must be fed. Mia will look for more covert ways to achieve it. The challenge to ensure there is enough tension on transparency to protect public assets as is practical.

32. SEVEN YEARS

“The future of Barbados is bright and over the next seven years we will work to make it happen. That is why I tell you let us as a country stay the course. We got it, and we can do it,” she asserted.”

33. ” There is a possibility that the Jamaica-based Sandals Resorts International (SRI) could pull the plug on its highly publicized US$400 million Beaches project which has started at the old Almond property in St Peter.”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/03/21/sandals-demands-rejected/

34. The increase in bus fares was warranted
    However the most vulnerable would pay the price when one factor that many households have not had a liveable wage increase to meet the high demand of inflated prices and in addition to high level of increased commercial fees by banks and other financial obligations

35. Six more years of fiscal medicine are what Barbadians can expect before the economy can recover fully, the Prime Minister has warned, less than six months into an International Monetary Fund austerity programme.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/03/21/economic-austerity-until-2025/

Listen to doctor MIA and tek de antibiotics.

Funny as puck.lol lol

36. @Hants MIT is not funny. Barbados is in a mess and it will take some work to climb from the economic pit.

37. On review of this budget i am thinking how much more suffering can households take without moving the goal post closer to drastic change
    A govt that promised better looks like a govt that kept the worst secret hidden snuggly away from the eyes of the people
    Word on the ground that constituents having been demanding better from their ministers
    Word on the ground that Ministers are not as active in their communities as before
    Wonder why

38. Any of you remember the “slogan” created by RoyalRumble “OSA father of first world Barbados and Prime Minister for life.?

Do we have another Prime Minister for life or guaranteed minimum 2 term PM as evidenced by the six and seven year projections for the economy of Barbados.

39. @ David,

I found doctor MIA analogies funny,

I am well aware of the deep sheet Barbados is in. That is why you need 3 Ministers and a Cunsultant to hold a ladder and screw in a light bulb. ( good analogy ? )

40. @Hants

On the other side the replies from the mottley opposition parties (excluding Atherley who will hear today) including your dear loving party were woeful. They will need to step up their game.

41. @TheOGazerts

“Don’t have a cow man” (Bart Simpson), “Tron” is a satirist the like of which we haven’t seen on BU, if folks take his submissions seriously, we are in more trouble than we think.

42. One of the more revealing analysis of the last six years has been the tracking of our foreign reserves- a good indicator of level of foreign inflows when borrowing or private inflows via investment.

2012 – 18.1
    2013 – 14.6
    2014 – 13.7
    2015 – 12.4
    2016 – 8.5
    2018e – 13.5

43. Dumbfounding would be the operative word to explain yesterday budget
    A budget which found the PM excruciating answer as to why a bloated govt at tremendous cost to the taxpayers was necessary to solve barbados debt problem
    As if to add insult to the injured bajan household her pathetic answers did nothing to remove the pain and suffering which she further inflicted on bajans
    The increased of water rates on businesses is further guarantee for increase cost to the consumer on locally produce food
    Somebody got to pick up the slack and once again it all goes back to the bajan household

44. The real feeling in the ground is that there is a heavy resignation tough measures have to be taken. Nobody wants it but there is a reality to be confronted. One senses the government is still battling with some messy issues and we will have to wait to see how the country hit IMF revenue targets.

What the country needs is for a relevant and coherent dissenting voice. Not the same old nonsense.

45. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

There is no talk about locking up here. There is only talk about investigating and then making a determination on the findings of that investigation. Barbados is just corrupt.

46. @David
    On the other side the replies from the mottley opposition parties (excluding Atherley who will hear today) including your dear loving party were woeful.
    Don’t be disingenuous, where did you hear replies from Opposition parties? Are you presupposing that any comments they may make to the Press isn’t worth what “patty shot at’? I don’t really include his Grace in his sham ‘opposition’ stance as an opposition party.

47. What the country needs is for a relevant and coherent dissenting voice. Not the same old nonsense.

Waiiiit!

De ole David like e back yuh…

48. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Not even going to bother to respond to this but to say: Sensible people are at the helm of governing too and idiots continue to accept their behaviours as part of the norm of politics. So we throw our hands in the air and wave them like we just do not care because at the end of the day we are powerless do anything and too misdirected to believe that nothing can ever be done. So let us continue to the talk shop. By the way, are you, David

49. The end game is about locking up people. This was a campaign hint as it has been every general election in the last 39 years.