Submitted by Observing

This week “select” statistics from the BSSEE exam were released. As expected private schools seem to have dominated the top scores. This phenomena has become the norm, leaving room for heated debate on the effectiveness and productivity of our public schools vs. private ones. Also ripe for debate is the fact that Common Entrance still exists and will continue again next year despite bold political proclamations that “it has to go” and “transformation must occur.”

At a tour of schools recently we learned that Dr. Denny, former head of the Education Reform Unit (which clearly achieved all of its goals and ushered in a glorious age of reform) has been appointed head of a new Innovation Unit while another official has been appointed head of Change Management. What they were reported to have said amounted to a lot of hot air that doesn’t tell parents and grandparents how are we going to help the 46% and 22% that fail Mathematics and English every year, with nothing put in place for them when they move to secondary school. Or, the approximately 200 that leave secondary school EVERY year with no certificates, no direction and no guidance.

Backward lesson for the day: If the first attempt didn’t work, keep doing it and add similar attempts on top of it while talking about how much progress is being made “out of sight”

It has been said in other spaces that the thoughts, ideas and sometimes shallow thinking that caused Edutech to fail, currently exists in abundance in Constitution Road.

It has also been said that despite the potential of Barbados and its masses that political agendas and prioritising PR and optics over common sense and “what’s right” continue unabated.

Despite all the technology in the world and the repeated TED style press conferences, we still can’t gather, analyse and use data in a way that brings real results to the problems we face and tangible solutions to those who need them most.

Education is a symptom of a wider issue in our public service. Frustrated workers, sick buildings, low morale along with a deep distrust of authority and trade unions are the order of the day. Add to that poor and/or blatantly political management choices along with policies rooted mainly in pie in the sky ideas rather than reality. Now top it off with a celebration and promotion of mediocrity coupled with a rampant lack of accountability especially among Ministers. My oh my what a perilous slope we sit on.

A slope upon which sits a generally middle class paid by the public purse that is struggling to keep up with cost of living and inflation while being told to have more children and be more productive. Good luck with that.

I could be wrong, but it seems that Barrow’s army of occupation may have found themselves in a field of malaise, apathy and growing despondency.

Common Entrance never was the problem. But it sure does shine a light on many many others.

60 responses to “A Slippery Slope – Education and Public Sector “Reform””

1. Education reform ‘still in works’

ALTHOUGH THE PUBLIC has not heard a lot about Government’s education transformation agenda in recent weeks, the Ministry of Education is still working “feverishly” to accomplish its goals.

Director of the ministry’s Change Management Unit Dr Paul Murphy gave that assurance yesterday as he announced they will soon be on the search for consultants to assist with the regulatory and legislative process.

Tender soon

“We are going to be going out to tender very soon for consultancies to assist with the review and revision of our Education Act, the establishment of an external quality assurance body for the education system. You’ve heard numerous times about the establishment of the Teacher Service Commission, and we’re also going to be looking at the Leadership Institute as well for school leaders. So a number of things are planned for education transformation,” Murphy said.

He was speaking at Daryll Jordan Secondary School in Trents, St Lucy, after an impromptu visit with Chief Education Officer Dr Ramona Archer-Bradshaw and director of education reform Dr Idamay Denny and other ministry officials.

Murphy said although they had not spoken about the transformation agenda, it was still in the works.

“I know some of you may be saying that we haven’t heard much from the ministry of late with respect to education transformation, but it doesn’t mean that we haven’t been working. We’ve been feverishly working to get the proposal out for our curriculum review and revision. We are also going to be doing a consultancy to look at the development of an inclusive education policy and strategy,” he added.

Murphy gave an update on some of their plans, including the Modern School Infrastructure Design Competition, teacher training and other projects.

“We recently concluded our Modern School Infrastructure Design Competition, and we hope to announce the winners . . . very early in July. We received some exciting, very creative and innovative designs from our local architects.

“As part of the education transformation initiative as well, professional development of our teachers, our school leaders, offices of the Ministry of Education and even our parents is very high on our agenda. That’s why we are going to be focusing all summer long on the professional development programme for teachers, school leaders and the general education stakeholders.”

School workshop

He added: “We have a communitydesigned school improvement workshop happening at the Caribbean Development Bank. Principals, deputy principals, heads of department, parents, students and ancillary staff are at that workshop all gathered to look at their plans for their schools for the next academic year.”

Denny said that if the ministry intends to do a good job in implementing education transformation, the process has to be supported by relevant policies.

“For example, in the Budget Speech, the Prime Minister made reference to the fact that people who offer special education and education for the gifted are going to get rebates – a 50 per cent rebate in the case of education for the gifted and a 75 per cent rebate in the case of education for special needs. We are already working on the policies that are going to be used to determine who qualifies for those rebates,” Denny added.

The ministry officials visited several schools yesterday morning. They started at Beyond the Box, a private school in St Joseph, before heading to St Lucy Primary and Daryll Jordan. (TG)

2. The government continues with its promise of reform to the Common Entrance Exam, reform to this, reform to that and we cannot seem to manage the physical plants. It seems management of the education system needs reform, meaning all stakeholders including the nunions.

3. I went to a public primary school over 60 years ago. I pass “de screaming test” and get into Harrison College.

I await the opinions of the BU intelligentia with regards to Education reform.

4. William Skinner Avatar

Whenever the question of education comes up on BU, we end up asking the same question in the most eloquent and sophisticated ways : what the hell is going on ?
    Not too long ago excuses were made for the most outstanding failure we have had in that ministry but our memories are very short.
    So this morning we ask once more : will somebody tell the public , that is asked to protest every day , what is going on. Do we need to march up and down Bridgetown ?
    Perhaps we should contact the Ministers of Education in the OECS and ask them how they addressed the problem. We don’t need consultants just thinkers, who are not considered the best orators worldwide.
    The ministry of education should be renamed , the Ministry Of Cacophony.
    But the cacophony is everywhere, including George Street ; Ralph Thorn defends the bogus exam.
    We read this morning that the current administration was hampered or delayed some policies because on coming into government it had to concentrate on removing garbage and getting buses to run.
    We ask once more : what the hell is going on ?
    We often warned on BU , that reforming education is not the same as : road repairs, buying garbage trucks or buses.
    With the over sight of a proper Department of Education, the Minister would have long been thanked for her service, and given any benefits, with the understanding that we were going in a new direction……….and the same would have been done to her predecessor. The one before that one too. He actually defended the bogus exam.
    Clowns !!

5. Decision makers at the MOE have been accused of not having the intellectual capacity to do justice to relevant reform.

The greatest irony.

6. Hot topic on Brasstacks right now.

7. We’ve had this question for over a century.

Pacha locates it, we think properly, within a lost collective imagination.

All Bajans, and there are no exceptions at all, except the minorities, continue to reject who they are, where they came from, and as a result shall remain in a desert wandering for an eternity.

All talk about education has, and will continue to be, about how the present system could be made more efficient at its miseducation.

Indeed, that the so-called leader of an opposition could harken back to his school days, both Sunday and from Monday to Friday, and could find such indoctrination processes enlightening, morally based, worthy of strengthening, prevented from its pending collapse, tells us all we need to know.

And on the other side, how in Ra’s name could a prime minister, who on the one hand, and ignoring the proper education which should have been Haiti, it’s revolution of global consequence, joins with the continuing imperial forces to extend White domination of Haiti, could pretend to tell us about educación reform in Barbados.

Even, like her erthwhile colleague and joint darling of empire, Ruto from Kenya, insist on being the ultimate pawns of empire. Where is the evidence of enlightenment here to reform anything.

Education in Barbados has had several reforms and they have made no differences. It’s time for a radical transformation or stop talking this lotta shiiite.

Better yet, the people should submit an order for that much loved antiquarian device which comes with an iron clad guarantee for solving these two problems.

8. BUT: Time to change rhetoric

THE BARBADOS UNION OF TEACHERS (BUT) says it welcomes the willingness of the Minister of Education and other officials from the Ministry of Education to work with it.

However, says president Rudy Lovell, the actions of the ministry are not necessarily coinciding with the utterances made by education officials on numerous occasions.

He was responding to comments by Minister of Education Kay McConney at Monday’s media conference to announce the results of the Barbados Secondary Schools’ Entrance Examination.

She called for unions to act in good faith as ministry officials queried the timeline of events at Wesley Hall Junior School where four days after meeting to discuss events, they received notice that teachers were sick.

“It is reasonable, where matters are raised, to give those who have to follow up adequate time to be able to respond appropriately. It is unfortunate the report, which finally came to our permanent secretary, according to our information, had been sent by the safety committee to the principal since March but all the issues were not raised in June,” McConney said.

Lovell said yesterday members continued to face a plethora of issues which were communicated verbally and in writing, and also gave recommendations on how matters could be addressed.

Issues

“It is disconcerting to the BUT that the minister and officials charged with overseeing education in this country often seem unaware of what is happening in schools,” he said in a statement.

He pointed to issues at St John Primary School, The Ann Hill School, Luther Thorne Memorial Primary School, Lawrence T. Gay Memorial Primary School, Wesley Hall, Wilkie Cumberbatch Primary School, St Giles Primary School, Frederick Smith Secondary School, Springer Memorial Secondary School, St George Primary School and The Lester Vaughan School, among others.

“It’s time to change that rhetoric and deal with the issues affecting education,” the president said.

“Despite the BUT’s role in sharing the concerns and challenges faced by our members, we believe it is incumbent on the ministry to stay informed through regular checks with school principals. This includes having maintenance schedules and evaluating the impact of challenges facing each school to both teachers and students.

“We hope the absence of large numbers of teachers across the school system is not seen through the narrow lens of an affront to you and your ministry, but rather as a desperate appeal for these matters to be resolved post haste. The window for ‘in a timely fashion’ has long closed,” Lovell concluded. (SAT)

9. BAAA! BAAA! BAAAAAAAA!

Good news! We will soon be going out to tender for a consultancy on the way forward!

A fix is on the way!

BAAAAAAAA!

10. The ONLY thing actually worse than the Ministry of Education is BUT / BSTU.

If what we see from these organizations reflect the level of maturity and organization of the TEACHERS of our children, then ‘dog yam we suppa’…

So our children have…
    No leadership
    No mentorship
    No guidance
    No inspiration
    No HOPE for ownership – (only menial jobs working for Massy and Massa)
    No spiritual / moral / even social guidance…

Just a lotta shiite ‘exams’ asking questions than can EASILY be answered by google…

Who then, can blame our children for looking and behaving like hopeless, orphans? – the boys with their asses on display, while sitting around for hours getting their hair braided – when not liming on the block…. or engaged by drug lords..

What a place!!

If Bushie was in charge of this mess, …he would be as ASHAMED AS SHIITE!!!!

11. Heard a former teacher of Wesley Hall telling Ellis yesterday that school is nearly 100 years old and has not had any significant repairs done to its physical infrastructure. Why should teachers be blamed? Who to blame? What does it say? It confirms government is poor at maintaining its plant. We can discuss why for 5 marks.

12. If not TEACHERS, then who would YOU blame Boss?

You REALLY think that teachers should go to work EVERY DAMN DAY in a shiite school that has been in a state of dilapidation for YEARS and just collect their salary?

Are THEY not there 8 hours EVERY day ….for DECADES?
    Students come and go
    Parents come and go
    Politicians come and talk shiite – and take too long to go

If not teachers setting standards – then WHO? – the students? …shiite parents? MoE?

Even WORSE than the infrastructure -he should have admitted that the damn curricula continues to be ‘1980 cutting edge’ …well into 2024..!

Who should be LEADING the REQUIRED change? if not the COLLECTIVE teachers?
    …parents? – LOL – this is THE pool of Bajan brass bowls…
    …politicians? – led by the bulling IDB / WHO / UNESCO racists demons?

Boss…
    If TEACHERS will not become a SIGNIFICANT FORCE in mapping the future of education, apart from salaries and working conditions, then it is no wonder that the schoolboys now generally look like a bunch of stray animals with their unkempt hair styles and matching attitudes.

Common sense dictates that the PROFESSIONALS among us should be best placed to lead in tho respective areas.
    Problem is that our ‘professionals’ are mostly BB jokers.

13. @ bushie

So wait , u want the young boys to have an albino centric hair style if not they look like stray animals? Well well

14. @Bush Tea

You are acutely aware the role of the teacher has changed over the years. It has become more syllabus centric and the extra services traditionally provided have faded as our society has changed I.e. the relationship between school and community.

15. This is our problem right there, many of our children wearing plaited and hair long often times looking untidy are identifying with a rude boy culture. We have to make some very hard decisions that are non political. Politicians focking up everything.

16. “TEACHERS” ON THE 2X3 ISLAND ARE BEING PAID JUST TO SHOW UP.

HOW CAN ANYONE GO TO SCHOOL FROM THE AGES OF 4 OR 5 AND AT 10 OR 11 CAN GET A ZERO/0 FOR MATHS.

YET THE ISLAND IS PUNCHING ABOVE ITS WEIGHT.

WELL WELL WELL.

17. It can happen if children are not being supervised at home, if the system is dysfunctional dealing with at risk children etc. there is enough blame to go around.

18. @DAvid
    “We have to make some very hard decisions that are non political. ”
    Not gonna happen as long as these people running things.

“Politicians focking up everything.
    TRUTH!

@Donna
    “We will soon be going out to tender for a consultancy

Wish I had a dollar for each time I heard the words “soon” and “consultancy”

19. William Skinner Avatar

We are amazingly clueless as to how that profession has been treated for the last fifty plus years. And the current administration, as the one before it, systematically turned the public and the parents into anti-teacher believers during the 70s.
    Without a vibrant and fearless collective leadership of the Barbados Union of Teachers , the profession would have been completely sacrificed on the altar of politics.
    No teacher or headmaster can order anybody to fix a school , such instructions come from the relevant department in the Ministry of Education. We can attest to several complaints being forwarded and sometimes not even treated to a response. Are we aware that teachers lost their lives from illnesses teaching at at least one Government Comprehensive School ? Are we aware that on several occasions , teachers complained and were told that the same school was fit for work ?
    Are we aware that very young teachers used to suffer all kinds of ailments because they literally feared Gestapo styled Education Officers , coming to their schools and professionally harassing them in the past?
    Are we acquainted with the Education Act that was used as a sledge hammer that drove the fear into teachers when it came to discipline their charges ?
    Are we aware of politicians winning seats and the very next day as Ministers of Education putting pressure and demands on senior public servants as to whom they want in senior positions and headmasterships?
    We should borrow some call in program tapes from VOB going back to the 70s and 80s and hear the public vitriol against the profession.
    We have found the patience of the BUT over the last twenty years to be quite honorable and while we are not going to be dishonest and state that the profession does not have those whose professionalism has been below standards , this represents an extremely miniscule amount.
    This attempt by a complete failure as Minister Of Education playing that she can chide the BUT is pure stupidity. There are at least four major issues in her ministry that she has yet to fully explain to teachers, students, parents and the public. The only strong statement she has ever made is that she will not resign.
    Since she can’t remain in the Cabinet without the blessings of the PM. That statement really means that the PM will not or cannot fire her.
    How many teachers dress our children before they leave home ? Do we really expect teachers to chase students out their classroom because of a hair style or pants below their waists ? We would be hauled before the law courts.
    The BUT has been more than responsible but in our society if the hospital is not functioning properly blame the nurses; if we cannot counter crime blame the police and that is how it has always been .
    Unfortunately, we prefer to comfort ourselves by refusing to accept that nothing that is happening now has happened overnight.
    Just this morning we read the Minister of Culture trying to imply that nothing was destroyed in the Archives fire. All the documents were apparently saved. Pure rubbish.
    The cacophony continues.

20. A reasonable commentary William.

21. A solution,
    The problem of 0 for mathematics and or English can easily be solved. Credits for attending, name, date and subject and that problem disappears.

22. @ Sir William
    “Just this morning we read the Minister of Culture trying to imply that nothing was destroyed in the Archives fire. All the documents were apparently saved. ”

Could you share the source that lead to this comment. I do not wish to piggyback on your statement as my opinion may drastically depart from yours,

23. William Skinner Avatar

@ OG
    Headline : “Senator : Documents not Lost.”

Note that she never said : some.

Source : Nation news Thursday, 27 June 2024

24. @William

There is another interpretation that can be applied to the article, i.e. particular documents thought to be lost have been recovered.It does not mean documents were not destroyed.

Senator: Documents not lost

DOCUMENTS that were thought lost in the recent fire at the Department of Archives have been recovered and restored.

That was the word from Minister in the Prime Minister’s Office with responsibility for Culture, Senator Dr Shantal Munro-Knight, during a walkthrough of an offsite facility on Monday.

She credited the salvaging efforts by the teams assembled to restore several pages of historic records damaged in Block D during the June 17 fire. She said the teams of over 20 people were doing everything “they possibly can” to salvage and repair the material.

“I am really grateful to the team and [Ann Bancroft] for being able to recover the documents. As you can see, this is meticulous work as it relates to how you open up the documents and treat them and these folks are working around the clock to make it happen,” Munro-Knight said.

Support

She said the outpouring of support from the public did not come as a surprise since Barbadians were more knowledgeable and interested in learning more about their history.

“If you look at the amount of visitors that the Archives Department was having this year alone, we understood that there was a renewed interest post-COVID by Barbadians to understand and connect, so it is not necessarily surprising, but we are definitely grateful for it,” she stated.

The minister said there were daily debriefing meetings and gave the assurance that whatever materials or equipment needs would be addressed by the Government given the importance of the records to the country.

“This is a whole of Government approach, and we’re 100 per cent committed to seeing the effort, where there’s a possibility for restoration, that it happens.”

Head of conservation and collection care at the Barbados Museum, Ann Bancroft, said the salvage teams were recovering hundreds of volumes on a daily basis at the Department of Archives’ site, which was now secured.

She pointed out that it was a national response which was supported by national repositories and sister institutions which were “rallying around our comrades at the Archives”.

“This is a lot of work going forward. This is not a sprint . . . this is a marathon . . . . While we can’t control what happened, we can control how we respond to it and everything that can be done, I really feel is being done,” Bancroft noted.

Heritage consultant at the Department of Archives, Anisha Wood, gave an insight into the process that includes, but is not limited to, air drying the objects using various techniques before they are digitised.

(BGIS/BW)

25. William
    You keep missing a BASIC point that Pacha has been trying to make to you now for some time…
    The challenge of true leadership is NOT for the ‘mantle of leadership’ to be HANDED to the appropriate persons by some elected political class.
    It is for such TRUE LEADERS to stand up and TAKE CONTROL by the strength of their character and by their commitment to COMMUNITY SERVICE.

So your rant about what teachers ‘were allowed to do / NOT do’ … or were ‘forced to do against their better judgement’ is EXACTLY what Bushie is talking about.

If THOUSANDS of such professionals are incapable of IMPOSING their professional judgement on a pack of shiite politicians – (many of whom the SAME teachers KNOW to be scamps and failures) then who do you want Bushie to cuss….? Observing?

Lotta shiite!!
    How can you have committed your whole life and career to a cause – only to COLLECTIVELY allow an OBVIOUS idiot to arrive from nowhere ….and DooShiite?

Toothless Unions are an embarrassment…..

26. @Bush Tea

It is you missing the point. The teaching profession has become a default calling for many as a means to pay their bills.

27. From what I see of the images the block that was lost appears to be the one that contained among other documents original wills dating back to the 17th and 18th centuries.

Most if not all of the wills were copied into the Will and Deed books/volumes which are housed in the block directly opposite.

However, some of those books have decayed and are closed.

Sometimes over the 30 years I have researched there I might be looking for a will in a volume that is closed.

I can ask to see the original will.

I always marvel at the fact that I am holding a document written by a person 300+ years ago and wonder what it would be like to meet them.

I dread to think what happened to the original wills.

If those original wills that have survived in some cases 300+ years were lost it makes me wonder if the author of the National Anthem was joking when he wrote “Strict guardians of our heritage”!!

If he was, we have watched the “firm craftsmen of our fate” at work.

I shake my head!!

Unbelievable.

28. Hi John,
    I saw a John Knox on TV and he was not the John Knox that I remembered.

Given that it has been decades, my memory may be at fault. However, I would suggest that you investigate the number of folks with the name John Knox in Barbados.

Hopefully, you can soon access all documents and report back here. Please bear in mind that the absence of a second John Knox may mean that the necessary and relevant documents were destroyed.

29. Can’t believe such valuable documents were stored in vulnerable areas.

30. When one thinks of the number of decaying heritage structures on the island such as the The Empire, the old Bridgetown hospital buildings, and all the rest. Added to this the wholesale neglect of Barbados built environment. Now we are led to believe that these chimps have the capacity to make good what has been damaged.

Head of conservation and collection is an oxymoron in a country that does not have a tradition for the upkeep of the country’s built environment.

31. nuh big ting.

32. One Airport. One Hospital.

33. William Skinner Avatar

@ Bush Tea
    We merely put in an historical context the professional hurdles the teaching profession has had to overcome. Today, we are confronted by a deep generational crisis. As a result of the new technologies , the disconnect is real. As correct as you and @Pacha are , the real reality is that leadership has been evolving and obviously, we are uncertain as to how and when this leadership will present itself.
    We assure you that we are us dumfounded by the limited progress we have made since Independence, as both you and @Pacha are, but we suspect that the system is decaying and such decay will be absolute. However, we simply cannot carry people screaming and kicking to the river of leadership. The real noise is deafening but we apparently do not want to or cannot hear it. As Bob Marley said there is a natural mystic blowing through the air/if you listen carefully you will hear………..

34. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Bushie June 27, 2024 at 8:22 A.M. ” it is no wonder that the schoolboys now generally look like a bunch of stray animals with their unkempt hair.”

I wonder if bald head Bushie is not envious of the hirsute school boys?

35. @Simple
    Bushie is really done with such useless petty arguments…
    However, as it is you… 🙂

The issue is about PRIDE IN SELF, COMMUNITY and COUNTRY, and in the CREATOR.
    … not about hair.

Any country that creates an educational environment where their children can model the dress codes of gangsters and bad-boys ..MUST have in some goat….

Even when all school children were forced to groom themselves in keeping with traditional standards, teachers had challenges with discipline, and we had too many youth with gang oriented tendencies.

Only jokers who have no children of their own could fail to grasp the consequences of allowing such anti-social leeway at such impressionable ages….

But shiite Cuhdear, If a cuntry is happy to sell off its assets to foreigners, and then to suffer the indignity of begging them for an ease with prices, interest rates and utility bills…
    Bushie should not be surprised that they would literally HAND their children over to the blocks and the gangs….

It is as if those ‘educational decisions’ were made by the gang leaders….

Brass will be brass!

36. @ William
    You and David need to realize that what we now have in place is a true shiite system.

We all know that teachers have a hard time.
    We all know that many teachers are just there for the salary,
    We know that the ‘leaders’ just happen to be political lackies

So when Bushie speaks about a ‘SOLUTION’, it naturally REQUIRES fundamental transformation at all levels.
    It is therefore not at all about re-orientating the existing teachers to suddenly change what they have done for decades, ..or for the MoE to suddenly become effective and relevant.

In fact, Bushie is really outlining how the (soon) coming NEW dispensation will be configured – of course, without the satanic curse that currently binds our BB society.

We are now effectively on the ‘Titanic’, – in the period AFTER the iceberg strike…
    Time for ‘solutions’ has therefore passed, and the issue now is really about lifeboats and survival…

Bushie just likes to highlight how PROPER operations are executed on a ‘REAL-REAL’ ship – whose guide is the CREATOR… LOL

37. @Bush Tea

When you have brass you bring out the Brasso!

There is hope after all.

38. Wow! I’m glad none of you are in any policymaking position. Sus Croist!!

39. “Wow! I’m glad none of you are in any policymaking position.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    LOL @ Enuff
    No need to spell that out Boss…

We can see the kind of persons you prefer as ‘policy-makers’ from the government’s selection of ministers – especially the ‘senior’ ones…

BTW is the Health ‘senior minister’ retired? …or just can’t be bothered?

Are we EVER going to get the promised ‘report’ on the steal houses – or on the now HOPE-LESS mess in Housing?

Presumably the foul-mouthed tyre-slasher has been assigned overseas …where his gutter language may be seen as ‘quaint dialect’? – brilliant move…!!

When is Wilfred going to be promoted to ‘senior’? has he not messed up enough key areas yet to qualify?

What a place!
    No wonder basic BU common sense would be policy-making ‘persona-non-grata’ …

40. Unkempt hair by black youth is a protest of the Eurocentric hairstyle that were forced on us and a reach back to Africa
    Youth In Barbados is copying the black conscious youth moment that is taking over the USA and world

Tattoos and piercings were once said to be associated to gangsters. Today they are readily accepted

41. I am somewhat surprised that you are one of those who wait on reports. I will assume that you read and have complete faith in those reports.

42. @ John2
    …again – only because it is you….. 🙂

The issue is about PRIDE IN SELF, COMMUNITY and COUNTRY, and in the CREATOR.

If, for you, copying other disadvantaged groups, and adopting Parro-like codes of dress creates self-pride, community pride, and reflects the pursuit of PERFECTION ( ie pride in the CREATOR)….

Then Bushie stands corrected, and in awe of your personal and innovative standards.

Admittedly, it largely depends on one’s INTERNAL consciousness, and on their own MIRROR-IMAGE.

You may however, wish to consult with authorities to reflect on the RESULTS that we have derived so far from our new school standards of deportment.

43. Strays. Gangsters parros

Some people in other races wear their hair unkept

Some people in other races are in gangs

Some people in other races are parro

This is the most albinocentric shite I ever hear coming from you
    Aimed at black boy taking pride in the natural hair the creator give them and identifying back to they African roots

I am referring to the hair not to the pants hanging off the butt

44. There you go again! It depends on the report and the issue at hand.

45. Black is in fashion
    People like the way they Flex

46. William Skinner Avatar

@ Bush Tea
    We don’t disagree that its a “shite system” but the question remains : how can we radically change the system ? We can reference Kenya or consumers elsewhere protesting against the price of bread being increased by a penny but they are not Bajans. And that is the problem.
    We don’t think that saying it a million times would make it go away magically. Change always has a lot to do with the psychological make up of whoever we’re trying to change.
    We are very conservative by nature and the evidence is more than clear that we dislike and reject those who want radical change. Unless we recognise this simple fact we are going to frustrate ourselves.
    Even on BU, we see how some people are not even prepared to be intellectually honest because they have no intentions of opposing their party. Outside of 1937, in the pre-independence era , we have not seen any real rebellion or protest that was exclusively for the common good.

47. I gun soon pull de trigger Avatar
    I gun soon pull de trigger

Could someone compile a list of words that are off limit to me. I write what I want, when I want, if I want as I want but some words seem to trigger a response….
    Oops, I think trigger may be a bad word

trigger words ==> triggered response ===Triggered reply to the the response ==> triggered response to the triggered reply.
    Oh shoot, I am caught in a circle. What triggered it?