Submitted by DAVID  COMISSIONG, Citizen of Barbados
So, the highly anticipated Super Bowl 2019 championship game is over, and New England Patriots quarterback, Tom Brady, is being widely hailed as a “hero” for winning an unprecedented 6th Super Bowl title. But, as far as I am concerned, the real  hero of Super Bowl 2019 is not Tom Brady. Rather, it is Barbados’ cultural Ambassador, Robyn “Rihanna” Fenty !
Rihanna is “the” Super Bowl hero simply because it was her highly  principled and courageous stance of standing in solidarity with black activist footballer, Colin Kaepernick, and rejecting the National Football League’s offer to be the featured performer at the highly prestigious Super Bowl half time show that will be forever remembered as the distinguishing heroic act of Super Bowl 2019 !
Let us recall that during the 2016 to 2017 American Football season, Colin Kaepernick — the black quarterback of the San Francisco 49’ers football team — took to protesting against systemic US anti-Black racism in general and white racist Police killings of African-Americans in particular, by publicly kneeling (rather than standing at attention) during the playing of the US national anthem.
At the time, Kaepernick explained his stance as follows:-
“I am not going to stand up to show pride in a flag for a country that oppresses black people and people of colour. To me, this is bigger than football……..There are bodies in the street and people getting paid leave and getting away with murder.”
Needless-to-say, Colin Kaepernick was punished by the powers that be for his bold, principled, and positively disruptive gesture of protest. Not only did United States President Donald Trump publicly call for him to be fired, but not one single National Football League (NFL) club would hire the highly talented Kaepernick for the 2018 to 2019 football season !
It is against this background that our Rihanna stepped forward and stood up for Colin Kaepernick and– by extension for the cause of Black freedom and justice that Kaepernick so superbly represents and symbolizes.
In turning down the NFL’s offer to perform at the Super Bowl half time show, Rihanna was turning down an opportunity to perform before a massive global audience of in excess of 100 Million persons, as well as turning down the opportunity to benefit from a host of future lucrative Super Bowl related commercial endorsements.
But, just as Colin Kaepernick was clear that some things are “bigger than football”, Rihanna was demonstrating that she too was clear that some things are bigger than entertainment spectacles and financial benefits !
And so, we Barbadians would be failing in our duty if we do not publicly acknowledge and record that our Rihanna performed a truly significant and heroic act when she stood up  not merely for Colin Kaepernick, but for all people of colour, and for the sacred principles of freedom and justice.

201 responses to “RIHANNA’S HEROIC ACT”

1. CARDI B DID THE SAME.

“Add Cardi B to the list of performers who turned down an offer from the NFL to perform during the Super Bowl LIII halftime show in a sign of support for Colin Kaepernick. ”

““My husband, he loves football. His kids play football. It’s really hard for him. … He really wants to go to the Super Bowl, but he can’t go to the Super Bowl, because he’s got to stand for something. You have to sacrifice that.

I got to sacrifice a lot of money to perform. But there’s a man who sacrificed his job for us, so we got to stand behind him.”

2. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Many black stars did the same and washed out the faux show they wanted to play using black people…, no self respecting black person wants to be NFLs puppet, it is time black people stand up to that level of racist tyranny in the US.

….take note it is only black performers and entertainers keep these shows rocking and billions of dollars flowing…

3. I see Commie Sing Song bills himself as “citizen of Barbados “. Parasite is a
    more apt description, along with racist rabble rouser, enemy of the State, and all round nobody.
    WARU, the NFL is dying, and should be put out of its misery, which will mean its black stars will be able to seek other career paths rather than be made millionaires for their whingeing.

4. What is the Barbados/CARICOM position on the Superbowl?

5. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

@Forty-Five..they got the natural talent to make themselves millionaires anywhere and any day of the year..they don’t need a fella, only their natural gifts..

….Jay-Z made himself a billionaire from the trunk of his car…when P-Diddy or whatever he calls himself now became a billionaire….white America was shocked, they cussed, the racists are still picking up their jaws off the floor…they never saw it coming…

6. Here is a real star, Gladys Knight

7. The “dumbest man on TV”, Don Lemon interviewed Gladys Knight and tried to make her reconsider singing it before she sung it!!!

Imagine, “the dumbest man on TV” wasting his time …. kind of like DC!!

8. WARU

Black people have always stood collectively for social justice, but what we really need is economic-empowerment …
    We have to think like the Jew, East Indian and Chinese, and focus more on being the employer rather than the employee …

9. John

You sound ridiculous … your bias is quite obvious …

10. Rihanna is a complete airhead.

Can you imagine an idiot foreigner coming to Barbados, taking up residence and then criticizing cricket fans?

A complete Jenny Ass!!

11. John

I love Don Lemon …think he is one of the great things on TV today … more power to you Don Lemon …😃😃😃😃😃😃

12. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

STEUPSEEE!!!

And here de ole man was among the many bajans praying dat I would NEVER SEE OR HEAR THIS BOTTOM FEEDER AND MIA’S SPECIAL ROOL OF TOILET PAPER EVER AGAIN!

Steupsee!

Note carefully how he scvunt CANNOT REVERT TO HIS SUBSTANTIVE ROLE AS AMBASSADOR AND TSLK ABOUT THE SINGLE GREATEST ISSUE in CARICOM right now!

But his perfect pooch sucking lips can seek out Rihanna’s ass (figuratively speaking) to try to get mileage from

Going get de grandson to mek up someting bout dis for wunna.

De grandson get a promotion at de bank and he been busy so he ent available for dese tings as quick as before

13. John

Rihanna, has the right as an American to protest against the social injustices … so what difference does it make whether or not she is a foreigner or a native American …this does not Trump her constitutional rights … and right to social-protest …?

14. Did Commisiong utter the words Freedom and justice
    Lawd have merci wuh loss muh belly
    This man is what can be called a two faced mule
    Trying to piggy back on Rhianna stance to give america another kick in the ass
    Look.bro what you should be using your time and principles when speaking of freedom and justice is sending messages to your buddy and comrade Maduro telling him about his despicable treatment of the Venezuelan people and his inhumanity towards their freedoms and justice to the point where Maduro has now set up roadblocks which will deny humanitarian aid for the Venezuelan people
    Kapernick and Rhianna has all the freedoms reason why both can state opinions for or against any issue
    Any interest by Commisiong of what is said in america should be taken with a grain of salt as all knows he is notorious for bashing america every move while propping up commuinist theories and idealogies
    Commisiong you humbug you need to go away as in Venezuela

15. Lexicon
    February 7, 2019 6:08 AM

John
    Rihanna, has the right as an American to protest against the social injustices … so what difference does it make whether or not she is a foreigner or a native American …this does not Trump her constitutional rights … and right to social-protest …?

I agree, if she wants to be an airhead she can be an airhead!!

Land of the free and the home of the brave!!

16. DC better watch himself …. Mia’s bite is rumored to be worse than her bark!!

17. Rihanna, has the right as an American to protest against the social injustices …(Quote)

And there I was thinking Rihanna was a Barbadian.

18. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

..”and focus more on being the employer rather than the employee …”

tell that to Mia and all the other black, dependant governments in the Caribbean..

Rotherley losing that private contract and cannot pay their workers..prompting layoffs…is a prime example of the idiocy of governments unable to promote generation of multiple black businesses by elevating their own people…..don’t know why the hell Steinbok is even still on the island..

19. Hal Austin
    February 7, 2019 6:35 AM

Rihanna, has the right as an American to protest against the social injustices …(Quote)
    And there I was thinking Rihanna was a Barbadian.

Guess Rihanna isn’t the only airhead!!

20. Hal Austin

Rihanna’s right

The 14th Amendment: all person Born or NATURALIZED in the United States and Subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of United States and the state wherein they reside …no states shall make or enforce any law which abridged the privileges or immunities of the citizen of the United States, and the state wherein they reside…

John, can you hazard a guess as to what is behind this Amendment?

21. Hal Austin

In America even an illegal immigrant is entitled to due process before deportation …for less more Rihanna…

22. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Comissiong would do well to also focus on the decades of disenfranchisement of the majority black population in Barbados by both black governments and their bribe masters in the minority community…that has brought the island’s economy to it’s knees…..which is equally as destructive as the US racism and systemic imprisonment and murders of black people…..where is his voice on that…

23. Don’t get it twisted there is only one typology of racism.

We sent you something else two days ago

24. John

Before the Individual Rights were added to the Constitution ( and I am assuming you know what Individual Rights are?) the state of Georgia had a law on the books barring all black people for end in the state of Georgia … sounds unbelievable, but it is a history fact and the reason behind the 14 Amendment…

25. Entering that state sorry

26. WARU

What kind of Racism?

1) Environmental Racism
    2) Geographical Racism
    3) Statistical Racism
    4) Colorism …Racism based on skin color …

27. “Guess Rihanna isn’t the only airhead!!.”

You are correct, because Donald J. Trump is an airhead too……………. and he is president of the USA.

Trump is leading by example.

I guess you knew exactly what you meant when you wrote “Land of the free and the home of the brave!!”

28. WARU 06 53

Lord have mercy. You have now put the cat amongst the pigeons.
    Somehow the bajan mindset cant stand those comparisons

29. John

Sir. Arthur Lewis said that in the 1960s as a Professor at Stanford University …. he experienced geographical racism … they would not allow him to rent in quite a few white suburbian areas in the 1960s based on his skin colour…

30. Freedom of speech does not guarantee that everybody must agree … or even respond … or listen!!

31. @Pacha

Found it, next rotation.

32. @John

Could it be the willingness to share an opinion on something she feels passionate gives an insight to how she has been able to build a global brand? Good for though. Don’t forget Trump had no issue with referring to developing black governed countries as shithole.

33. Gladys Knight is Georgia born, decades of stardom!!!

What could an airhead Bajan have to say to her?

Incidentally, Kapernick and LA have their problems so he’s going back to ….

34. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Leximoron

Since you back to your America rant and geographical racism, could you share whether it was geographical racism that caused you neighbours in Murica to be so radical to burn down your house just to get you off the Parent teachers Association?

Or was it “environmental racism” when the staff at the hospital demanded your firing, in solidarity with the patient whose life support machine you had unplugged to plug in your smartphone?

If the report contents that were shared here several moons back is correct, the body of that complaint said something like

” We the staff of Bellevue, having previously expressed our concern that patient 123432 Leximoron was admitted here as staff, because of being superannuated to that position, be it known that Leximoron does be doing “shy$e” all over de place and this is an “environmental” hazard…”

Please to stop boring us bout America,

we got enough problems with Venezuela and Commie Sing a Song far less for us to try to recite every one of their Amendments

35. David
    Yes, but everybody in Barbados looks at Rihanna in the same ways. Nobody even seems to understand the vicious environments she continualy must navigate, including Comissiong. We have a too simplistic view.

36. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@John February 7, 2019 5:59 AM “Rihanna is a complete…”

John. Ya don’t have to let your jralousy and envy show so.

Rihanna is black, female, young, bright, beautiful and rich.

I bet that you possess none of those excellent qualities.

Big up my sweet girl Rihanna.

We love her.

37. She is not Black! She is Barbadian she has a Flag and Constitution making her a Noun and seen in Law, ‘black” born or imported dont have such,She has a voice, Status Rules, American so-called black has no seat in the UN, Barbados does,We are Moors! Now you think these lawyers would put things so People, Our People can well know what is what! Many tricks in this English we speak and write that trap us each day after the public fool system keep us all at bay with the help of Lawyers ,

38. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@pieceuhderockyeahright February 7, 2019 6:07 AM “…he CANNOT REVERT TO HIS SUBSTANTIVE ROLE AS AMBASSADOR AND TSLK ABOUT THE SINGLE GREATEST ISSUE in CARICOM right now!”

Good morning guys: A little something for Piece and for Hal

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/238372/caricom-agrees-venezuela-solution
    CARICOM agrees on Venezuela solution

CARICOM, along with the governments of Mexico and Uruguay have agreed that the most appropriate way to address the complex situation that prevails in Venezuela is through dialogue for a negotiation, from a position of respect for International Law and Human Rights.

“The historical stance of our countries is and will always be to privilege diplomacy over other alternatives, as it is the only way to achieve sustainable, legitimate and effective peace and stability.

“Therefore, we propose the Montevideo Mechanism, based on our legitimate interest and willingness to assist the Venezuelan people and the actors involved find a solution to their differences. This initiative is offered to the Venezuelan actors as a peaceful and democratic alternative that privileges dialogue and peace, with the aim to create all necessary conditions for an inclusive, comprehensive and lasting solution,” according to a Press statement released this evening.

This Mechanism, it added, is aimed at avoiding conflict and violence and is guided by the principles of non-intervention, legal equality of the States, peaceful solution of the controversies, respect for human rights and self-determination.

A four-phased process was proposed including a dialogue phase, creating conditions for direct contacts among those involved, a negotiation phase, a commitments phase and an implementation phase.

“The subscribers of this statement agree that the complexity of the circumstances should not be a reason to dismiss the diplomatic channels for dispute settlement, and reiterate our decision to help restore the tranquility of the Venezuelan people, through dialogue and peace, reducing tensions between political forces and avoid the threat or use of force,” states the release.

It adds: “This Mechanism is our proposal to guarantee a peaceful and democratic solution that prevents an escalation of violence. In the event that the parties decide to communicate, we would invite Rebeca Grynspan, former Vice-President of Costa Rica and current Ibero-American Secretary General, Enrique Iglesias and Bernardo Sepúlveda, ex Foreign Ministers of Uruguay and Mexico, and Sir David Simmons, former Chief Justice of Barbados, as a high representative of CARICOM, personalities of recognised international experience and moral quality, to accompany this Mechanism”

39. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

When the two of you (Piece & Hal) Donald Trump and Justin Trudeau have a better plan, kindly let the rest of us know.

40. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Well we dun know which of the BU BORG is on duty when the following statement can be posted as “food for thought” or good for though.

They said and I quote

“…Could it be the willingness to share an opinion on something she feels passionate gives an insight to how she has been able to build a global brand?…”

You cant be serious?

The Rihanna Fenty Phenomenon was NOT CREATED BY RIHANNA she is a crafted product of JayZ

The “global brand” of which you speak did not arise through her so let us not rewrite history to validate the inane title to this article

Hers is a matter of solidarity with the football player and ent vo nuffin to do wid what you call “building a global brand…”

Looka I gone doah cause this title, UNLIKE THOSE OF JEFF CUMBERBATCH IS PURE SHY$E!!!

I have another item here is suspense and would be grateful if you could retrieve it.

Thank you

41. Piece

Quite right

We’re too simplistic, too simple-minded

42. Lol follow the shiny object Coomiesonh quit trying to distract stick on Venezuela we don’t need the sheeple going off on tangent. Write about the mess there and how your socialist friends have screwed that country up and how many people Caricom are going to take in to help

43. John

Freedom of speech does not guarantee anyone will listen

Of course it doesn’t … that is why so much Cops are on the unemployment-line because they thought it did not mattered …

44. John

In America freedom of Speech doesn’t matter because you can invoke your Fifth Amendment right at anytime again self -incrimination ….

45. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

You simple Simon are really simple.

David Commie Sing a Song IS NOT the Montevideo Mechanism!!!

You have no idea as to who the players were who proposed the Mechanism but suddenly, BECAUSE COMMIE SING A SONG is part of the attendee list, HE IS THE PROPOSER.

That, dufus, is like saying the negroes who served the food at the Signing of the Declaration of Independence were responsible for its content.

You have no effing reasoning skills at all.

You come to this blog with a fire rage because de ole man mentioned your outlandish idea od cutting off the balls of all men AS A SOLUTION FOR VIOLENCE.

No one told you this BUT IT IS THE IDEA OF A PERSON WHO HATES MEN!

If I had proposed seeing up all pokies of women as a solution for lesbianism all badword would have broken loose

You are indeed a Simple Simon

Here are the key points here sheep.

1.this title is eye candy

2.the definition of heroic reads, in part, “…supremely noble or self-sacrificing…”

What de ef is supremely noble about this solidarity?

You need to stop sucking d*** figuratively

3.this article is consistent with the paucity of character of David Commissiong

4.you show how disingenuous you are to conflate this non topic by the obsequious Ambassador with the Montevideo Mechanism.

You are a simpleton by name and by nature and I am an ole man who still has the balls to tell you so

46. Crafted or not many have been given a similar script and failed to execute. Rihanna say what you had delivered prerequisites for being successful in a cutthroat business. Obviously she benefited from the stars being lined up, this is life. One grabs the opportunity when it presents.

47. Rihanna has contributed millions to the IRA therefore she has a right to determine how her tax dollars are spent or not spent.

48. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with two items here thank you

49. Gabriel
    February 7, 2019 9:04 AM

Rihanna has contributed millions to the IRA therefore she has a right to determine how her tax dollars are spent or not spent.

Tax dollars don’t run the NFL, private enterprise does!!!

Non point!!!

That’s why Kapernick and others have a problem.

They are going to work and protesting on the premises at events staged by the owners of the teams!!!

Any airhead union agitator knows to go outside and protest!!

Stay inside and charges of sabotage can be levied!!

Besides, only a complete airhead earning millions of dollars in a business run by its owners would waste time protesting!!