May you live in interesting times’ is widely reported as being of ancient Chinese origin but is neither Chinese nor ancient, being recent and western. It certainly seems to have been intended to sound oriental, in the faux-Chinese ‘Confucius he say‘ style, but that’s as near to China as it actually gets. Confucius’s actual sayings are as elusive as those of his western counterpart Aesop – we have no written records from either of them. –The Phrase Finderphrases.org.uk

More than a handful of issues compound the popular public conversation in what has been a short but rather eventful 2019 so far for Barbados. And I am not even referring to the surprisingly unseasonal nature of the chilly nights in St George and elsewhere or that of the current cricketing exploits of the regional cricket team. Local public discourse ranges from the arrest and charging of a youth that, in popular parlance, has “not yet lost his mother’s features” accused of apparent serial murder to the forewarning of a prohibition on the local use of plastics and Styrofoam, with some exceptions, after April 1.

From two executives of a leading local insurance company being indicted for money laundering in the US, to the island’s authorities being plainly at a loss as to the optimal temporal solution to a crime wave involving unlicensed forearms, and being obliged to declare a weekend of national prayer in addition to the unprecedented and controversial appointment of a consultant to the Commissioner of Police, among other measures.

From a recent report of Transparency International that contrary to popular perception and public accusation, Barbados places as high as 25 on a list of 180 jurisdictions in descending order of the perceived level of public corruption and, for what it may be worth, ranks currently as perceptibly the least corrupt jurisdiction in the region, to the complex determination of the ideal policy stance to adopt in the ongoing Venezuelan todoment, having historically declared our foreign policy intent to be a lofty-sounding but geopolitically impracticable “friends of all and satellites of none”. While the second part of this dictum is eminently achievable, it is clearly more difficult to subscribe to the first in any scenario of international conflict except perhaps to sit on the fence. Is anyone, anywhere, at all times a friend of all?

So far as the US indictment of the insurance executives is concerned, many will naturally wonder how it is that an illegal transaction that had its origins in Barbados, (although, admittedly, its dénouement did take effect in the US), has seemingly had no criminal consequence here while the relevant parties have all been subjected to the US criminal jurisdiction. This lack of development is even more surprising given the clear extraterritorial reach of the local statute. According to section 7 of our Money Laundering and Financing of Terrorism (Prevention and Control) Act 2011-

Any act done by a person outside Barbados which would be an offence if done within Barbados, is an offence for the purpose of this Act.

Of course, I concede that the prosecution of a criminal offence is entirely a discretionary matter, based primarily on the relevant authority’s perception of the chances of securing a conviction. However, that very resolution is way above my pay grade. Readers should simply take note here that our law is not entirely deficient in this regard.

With respect to the weekend of prayer, given our predilection for the Biblical Judeo-Christian injunction and our traditional insistence on being termed a Christian society, there is little doubt that this notion will resonate with a sizeable majority of permit me to discount the potency of prayer or the mysteries that constructive thought, faith and positive belief may effect. At the same time, I consider that humanly to do nothing and expect prayer to solve miraculously a man-made problem such as a gun-crime wave smacks less of faith and more of superstition.

Not that there has been any paucity of suggestions as to how to cope with our current predicament. One former magistrate and MP has suggested a gun court, as was the case last century in Jamaica. Unfortunately, this turned out to be declared unconstitutional by the JCPC in one of the landmark cases of regional constitutional jurisprudence. There have also been the usual suggestions of violent retribution for offenders; hanging, whipping dismemberment and castration. The Commissioner of Police had suggested that there should be no bail granted for those charged with gun crimes, the former Minister with responsibility for the Police politely implored the perpetrators to put down their guns and the Prime Minister herself has warned them in the lingua franca, “Not ‘bout hey”. Most controversial from a partisan political angle, however, has been the nomination of a former Commissioner of Police, Mr Darwin Dottin, to be a consultant on crime, either to the Office of the Attorney General or, as it appears to have been popularly perceived, the Commissioner of Police.

If it is indeed the latter, this measure would be unexceptionable had the request for such assistance emanated from the Commissioner himself, but that does not appear to have been the case. We are therefore left , rightly or wrongly, with the impression that the current task is overmuch for the current High Command and that greater intellectual candlepower is required.

Indeed, it may be argued that the authorities are putting themselves out on a limb here, for nothing but unconditional success in curing the scourge will suffice cogently to justify this unprecedented initiative.

Unfortunately, the constraint of time today compels me to break of here and to continue this commentary next week, D.V.

To be continued…

127 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – “In interesting times” –a Sunday cook-up [I]”

1. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

This government and the GG acting as head of state and as representative of the UK crown are obviously all taking us for fools, may i remind them that many of us are not our ancestors neither are we our recent parents and grandparents…

https://www.whitehouse.gov/presidential-actions/executive-order-blocking-property-persons-involved-serious-human-rights-abuse-corruption/

2. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the LUMINARY Mr Jeff Cumberbatch

De ole man sees that you have come out gouging out eyes as opposed to “punching above your weight”

You left de ole man windless when you said and I quote

“…We are therefore left , rightly or wrongly, with the impression that the current task is IVERMUCH for the current High Command and that GREATER INTELLECTUAL CANDLEPOWER is required…”

Dear Luminary, you gine kill dem?

My man, you can expect all of the Mugabe Defense Force to descend pun dis article in de nex 24 hours and 300 comments

De ole ole man going get pick up soon but you certainly ent going get no pick under dis Mugabe Regime

The die is cast…we are to war…

3. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Jeff does not need to be TAINTED.

4. Lol least corrupt in the region …thats like telling the chicks I may have gonorrhea but at least I dont have aids.

5. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Good one Lawson..lol

6. The Bible says that in the last days perilous times shall come when man shall love himself more than God and serve the creature more than the Creator, but we are benumbered to the reality that these are the days of Elijah…

7. Benumbed sorry

8. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Professor Cumberbatch “our traditional insistence on being termed a Christian society…greater intellectual candlepower is required.”

Barbados has never been and is still not a Christian society. At the heart of Christianity are the two great commandments “love God, and love thy neighbour.” Maybe there are two or three old ladies in each village who have always followed these commands, but i see no evidence that these commandments have ever been followed by the political class or the capitalist class. In fact I would say that these commandments are contrary to the ethos of these two classes, which believe inn “love money” and “love power”. So God must have been making bare sport if he expected that the love him and love one another thingy would operated in Barbados. Not ’bout hay. Not when there is money and power to make love to.

And the other thing. Candlepower ain’t going to cut it with the guns and drugs and money and criminals. We need horse power.

Going to church now to pray for us sinners, of which I am the chief.

9. Good Question
    How does a crime committed on Barbados soil end up in the hands of theUSA justice system
    Good question
    Maybe the lumanaries in the blp brigade can answer that.
    As i am still awaiting the answer as to how a law was passed to give accreditation to Mia becoming a lawyer

As for pray as a healing mechansim for crime and violence on the land
    Barbadians are doing on this Sunday what they do best
    Practicing the art of manipulation right up in God’s face

10. Ah well – according to the resident foaming anti-royalist, it is all the Queen’s fault.,

11. So…. I take it that Jeff isn’t impressed by much that has been said and done so far. Neither am I. Except for the exploits of the young men of our cricket team, the year so far has been a bust.

Wait! There is one more thing, Jeff!

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/238233/disbarred

One down…. many more to go!

12. content://media/external/file/31905

13. Change always flows from the bottom up. We cannot sit on our butts and wait for a saviour. This is OUR fight! The queen took her money and ran ages ago. That is a done deal.

Change will come when WE demand it! Not with hot air but with actions designed to bring it about.

14. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

@Forty-Five…there is a time when the beast deserves blame, but this is not one of them, even I tend to not unfair criminals…lol

Besides you really want Prince Tampon to become king…lol

15. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Mariposa February 3, 2019 8:38 AM “How does a crime committed on Barbados soil end up in the hands of theUSA justice system.”

Because as the Americans allege the money was deposited in one of their banks. If the money had for example been spent on the accused’s constituents that Americans would not have arrested anybody.

Note to everybody: If you get hold of any bribe money right away spend it on your constituents.

Why the hell do you want to be saving money in American bank accounts for? You don’t think that there is not enough money in America already? You think that you will live for ever to spend the money? You don’t see that the children of the political class and the business are dying out before the parents? Spend any dishonest money right away on your constituents, and all will be well.

16. interesting submission given what this writer posted last week and the comments that flowed therefrom

17. I often wonder what was it that held our society in checkef when I was a little boy growing Barbados:pitching marbles; flying kites; setting bird traps; fishing at the pond in Hindsbury and Roebuck Street;hunting mangoes and cane during cane and mango seasons; play Red Light Green Light, road tennis, football; cricket; rugby; rounders; roller skating; hiding and seek; mommy and daddy; Cowboys and Indians, spending my school summer breaks at the browns beach; looking forward each year for police Christmas Party, and police tatto during Police week; the white people horse and dog shows at District A Police mounted Paddock; going to the Globe, Empire, Plaza, and Roxy cinemas every Saturday; beating up the country boys when they come to town dressed in ten difference colour and the celebrated bad boys …if not God who was it …? I remember a very very happy childhood …amess the few pedophiles …

18. @Simple Simon

Inniss has property in the US. This is a matter of public record.

19. Barbados was a beautiful place then … Bybecause I love the country people with their weird accents and backwardness …it was almost like a sense of innocence among the country people that we no long witness today…

20. @ WARU “Besides you really want Prince Tampon to become king…lol”

Yeah, I like his current wife, as opposed to the (admittedly mistreated) airhead Diana, and he is harmless. William seems OK, and the real disaster would have been Prince Moron, and his slapper. He seems to have inherited the brain-dead genes of his mother’s family, and honed them to perfection.

21. Most likely Inniss problems would be categorized as a conflict of interest by which he might have generated financial interest towards his firm by consultation.
    In like manner when Mia used her law firm to generate financial benefits in her representation of Four season s

22. Dean you are a man of the Law, Freedom can only be Maintained by a Righteous People with each man Governing himself. But we no longer teach Self-governance, we no longer teach Virtue and what is left is Fear of the Governments law to Ensure Compliance. But fear of the Law only works if you have a Surveillance State and neither you nor I want to live want to live under those conditions.

Here are some quotes from the Words of the ‘Original Law’ that may Shed Light on these Issues Presented for our Introspection…

Deut. 8: 20 & (Deut. 28: 62) because ye would not be obedient.
    Deut. 11: 28 curse, if ye will not obey the commandments.
    (Deut. 21: 18-21) rebellious son . . . will not obey the voice of his father.
    Josh. 5: 6 consumed, because they obeyed not.
    Judg. 2: 2 (Judg. 6: 10; Jer. 9: 13; Jer. 18: 10; Jer. 22: 21) ye have not obeyed my voice.
    1 Sam. 15: 23 (Jer. 8: 9) thou hast rejected the word of the Lord.
    1 Kgs. 13: 21 thou hast disobeyed the mouth of the Lord.
    Neh. 9: 26 they were disobedient, and rebelled against thee.
    Prov. 1: 24 I have called, and ye refused.
    Prov. 5: 13 have not obeyed the voice of my teachers.
    Isa. 24: 5 they have transgressed the laws.
    Isa. 42: 24 neither were they obedient unto his law.
    Jer. 3: 13 Only acknowledge . . . ye have not obeyed my voice.
    Jer. 11: 3 Cursed be the man that obeyeth not the words.
    Jer. 42: 21 declared it to you, but ye have not obeyed.
    Dan. 9: 14 our God is righteous in all his works . . . for we obeyed not.
    Hosea 4: 6 because thou hast rejected knowledge.
    Luke 6: 46 call . . . Lord, Lord, and do not the things which I say.
    Acts 7: 39 To whom our fathers would not obey.
    Acts 7: 53 have received the law . . . and have not kept it.
    Rom. 1: 30 (2 Tim. 3: 2) despiteful . . . disobedient to parents.
    Rom. 2: 8 contentious, and do not obey the truth.
    Rom. 10: 21 stretched forth my hands unto a disobedient . . . people.
    2 Cor. 10: 6 having in a readiness to revenge all disobedience.
    Eph. 2: 2 spirit that . . . worketh in the children of disobedience.
    Eph. 5: 6 (Col. 3: 6) wrath of God upon the children of disobedience.
    2 Thes. 1: 8 vengeance on them that . . . obey not the gospel.
    1 Tim. 1: 9 the law is . . . for the lawless and disobedient.
    Titus 3: 3 we ourselves also were sometimes foolish, disobedient.
    Heb. 2: 2 disobedience received a just recompence.

1 Pet. 4: 17 what shall the end be of them that obey not the gospel.

https://i.pinimg.com/564x/87/10/06/8710067bd1b2200d6c475477718efe7c.jpg

23. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Dean Jeff, to use the tone of blog techno-sage @Pieces: you does write real sweet tho!

So to repeat your words with some new emphasis …“Of course, I concede that the prosecution of a criminal offence is entirely a DISCRETIONARY matter, based primarily on the relevant authority’s perception of the chances of SECURING a conviction.”

If you were a naughty fellow I would totally take away from this sentence that if authorities are given a case file with valid provable evidence to secure a conviction then the decision not to prosecute is ENTIRELY DISCRETIONARY and has nothing to do with the law!

Thankfully, you are never naughty on these pages so all good!

24. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

Thankfully, you are never naughty on these pages so all good!

As they used to say in the Wild West…durn tootin! 🙂

25. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Mariposa, 😂😂😂 re : Most likely Inniss problems would be categorized as a conflict of interest by which he might have generated financial interest towards his firm by consultation.

Classic. Absolutely classic.

I suspect Madoff or the former Theranos CEO and surely the embattled Virginia govenor or any wildly corrupt executive /govt official could use you as a spokesperson.

…Conflict of interest, you say … oh lordie. Is that the what your guys called it ..wasn’t this guy a minister of govt at the time of this event, so were you conflicted on whether it should be a 10% or 25% interest per deal for his “firm”…🤣

Give a crook enough rope and voila they will hang themselves eventually… What classic BS, lies and decitefulness!

26. Jeff

with particular interest i read how you dealt with the issue of the ex COP being hired as a consultant.

last week you said there was no constitutional breach but this week you bifurcated the matter into an AG consultant and a COP consultant.

first off, did it state that correctly?

secondly, has you position evolved?

27. @Lexicon’
    “their weird accents and backwardness …it was almost like a sense of innocence among the country people that we no long witness today”

The above is nonsense. It is amusing how in an island as big as a chicken coop a distance of two or three miles becomes a backward region. Get a next job.

Barbados was never as big as people imagined it to be. Even now, we have folks who compares Barbados to the mighty USA.
    Funny, but the fools never compare Bridgetown to NYC or Speightstown to Chicago, Dallas or San Francisco. I guess there is a limit to their madness.

28. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

first off, did it state that correctly?

secondly, has you position evolved?

@ Mr Greene, I learnt during the week that the AG was not that clear as to the role assigned to Mr Dottin. Hence my bifurcation. My position remains that there is no constitutional implication, although it places the substantive COP in what Trinidadians call “a monkey pants”

29. This business of appointing for COP as a consultant makes for poor optics, again.

30. Now I wonder… who is “Prince Moron and his slapper”?

and unto whom shall we liken them –

President Moron and HIS slapper?

31. TheOGazerts

That means his comment re: “……..beating up the country boys when they come to town dressed in ten difference colour…”

…………could be described as idiotic?

32. “Most likely Inniss problems would be categorized as a conflict of interest by which he might have generated financial interest towards his firm by consultation.
    In like manner when Mia used her law firm to generate financial benefits in her representation of Four seasons..”

Is this appalling ignorance, a result of learning by rote, or relying on google too much?

33. Jeff

it is my understanding that the consultant is not the COP’s consultant but the Govt Consultant to the COP or as you put it the AG’s consultant.

i am of the opinion that this has to be the case as the constitution such as it is does not give the PM a unilateral right to do any hiring within the police force. however i am no Bim constitutional scholar. i am a trash collector

that notwithstanding it is noteworthy that the AG does know the role of his consultant. quite telling actually.

34. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Re: “…although it places the substantive COP in what Trinidadians call “a monkey pants”.

One thing we should fully appreciate (using the current US Intel leaders as an example) … the CoP should not allow himself to be forced to resign.

If the PM is playing that political game of frustrating the leader until he leaves then Mr Griffith should be steadfast as long as he has the best interest of the nation at hand.

Personally difficult tho it will be the CoP can manage the consultations from Dottin and gracefully sideline all that drama to carry on with his duties…if the AG doesn’t know the true role of the consultant then thats great…. makes it easier for CoP to listen, facilitate and sidetrack! 😂

35. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

We have seen a major incursion of Trinidadian businesses in Barbados since they took control of what was once our only bank: Barbados National Bank. The rise of Trinidadian businesses has accelerated over the years in all of our business sectors.

Barbados is supposedly ranked at no.25 on the corruption perception index list of 2018 whilst Trinidad is ranked at no.78. There is another lowly ranked country on the perception index list that our beloved Prime Minister appears to be making overtures to. She is asking for Jamaicans to come and invest in Barbados.

Should we be surprised that our nation has become a stream of corruption when our economy has become embedded into the Trinidadian economy. Would it not be better for us to foster economic ties with countries with a higher moral platform than our demonic and corrupt neighbours.

Perhaps JC could explain to me how Barbados remains so high up this perception list when we chose to continue to do business with mafia economies such as Trinidad and Jamaica?

36. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

i am of the opinion that this has to be the case as the constitution such as it is does not give the PM a unilateral right to do any hiring within the police force. however i am no Bim constitutional scholar. i am a trash collector

But a consultancy would not be a HIRING within the police force…the consultant would be an independent contractor and not an employee! I am a trash collector too…

37. @TLSN

The Trinidadians did not take the BNB. It was sold to them.

38. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

Perhaps JC could explain to me how Barbados remains so high up this perception list when we chose to continue to do business with mafia economies such as Trinidad and Jamaica?

@TLSN, If it were at all possible to explain perceptions….that is why they are generally inadmissible as evidence…

39. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“Yeah, I like his current wife”

you really like the dog looking types then, I will have to reacess you though..

you do realize that Diane and the Tampon ere related and so too as reported are Harry and Meghan…one happy family ..

40. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“Spend any dishonest money right away on your constituents, and all will be well.”

Amen…but ya ministers are too greedy, selfish and stupid to see that particular light.

41. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

@Forty-Five…wait until we shake your family tree and watch what falls out…lol

42. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Mr Greene if one creates an issue when there really is none, suggests its constitutional problems when there are none and then brings it all to a neatly packaged conclusion surely that’s great for debate here in BU but in reality there was never anything to get excited about.

You among others developed the strange concept that *the consultant iwas the COP’s consultant”. That would have been CLEARLY illegal and undoubtedly would not stand as it would have been challenged in court.

Thus to now opine that the consultant is the Govt Consultant is to finally come sround to what was ALWAYS the case. … we can debate the efficacy of a former flawed commissioner as the new crime consultant but why start by creating a non-issue!

Similarly @Mr Blogmaster, its a bit over the top to suggest that “This business of appointing for COP as a consultant makes for poor optics”.

The PM CANNOT legally create ANY consultant who can direct the CoP…She just CANNOT..we know that…but she can appoint any consultant she wants to advise her or her ministries…so truly the big deal is Mr Dottin’s antecedents and the bloated and unnecessary hefty payroll expenses of these many consultants.

But in the face of a burst of criminal activity so soon after her election the act of selecting a supposed crime czar to delve deeply into these issues and offer aggressive strategies is optically quite practical….lots of smoke and mirrors frankly but optically makes an ideal appearance !

43. ” Acting Commissioner of Police Tyrone Griffith has been appointed to the Post of Commissioner of Police.
    In a brief notice moments ago, Police Public Relations Officer acting Inspector Roland Cobbler said the appointment will take effect on Sunday, October 1.
    Griffith has been acting as the island’s top cop since June 2013, having taken over the role from Darwin Dottin who was sent on leave and only officially retired last year.”

Griffith has over 5 continuous years as de facto and in facto Commissioner of Police. He does not need a member of the geriatric brigade to help him.

There are enough competent police officers to “help” the Commissioner.

44. (1) PM Mottley to participate in international conference on Venezuela…
    (2) Give Uruguay meeting a chance to bring settlement to Venezuela crisis…
    Articles by Barbados Today
    Published on
    February 2, 2019

What will a Committee do, will they meet and discuss what to do with Grenada when Corde killed Bishop? And who was supporting Corde, was it not the same Communist Cuba? Did not the Cubans have Soldiers in Grenada? America saved our Asses then and we give them thanks by going to Uruguay?

They are no American Soldiers in Grenada now!

When America removed the Dictator Noriega from Panama, Grenada and Panama are still Sovereign. The People rule in both of these countries.

Our PM is alienating her traditional partners who have helped Barbados and a large portion of its citizens who reside in the US, Canada & Brittan by supporting an Ideology that has brought Misery and Ruin to or region.

A lot of people will be willing to help Barbados but are looking for Positive Signals. So far the PM is giving Negative Signals, not all Negative but mainly Negative.

This has Commie Sing Song’s Signature written all over it!

All these Committees that are going to Uruguay, their goal is to Slow Down or Stop the CHANGING of the Guard…Where were they when the Venezuelan people were under Real Pressure. Now that they are dying with no food to eat, no cooking gas, no electricity, no medicine, where nothing works …You now want to Talk? When you should have opened your Mouth you kept it Clam Shut!! Now things are Desperate you now want to let off a LOT of Hot Air?

What is going on with the Caribbean that their leaders have become so friendly with Communist Dictatorships? It may be desirable to be amicable to all but to Side with an Alien Ideology that has caused the demise of Millions worldwide instead of the Plight of the Venezuelan People, Boggles the mind.

Who is Pushing this Support for Maduro who is Crude Dictator. None other than the Ambassador of Communism in the Caribbean for CARICOM!!

PM Please Break with Commie Sing Song, he is Leading you Astray and Barbados down the Path to Hell.

This is indeed a Sad Day for Barbados and the Caribbean for its leaders to be Consorting with Staunch Socialist/Communist!!!

When are our Leaders going to talk Straight with us and say this is what you want for us…. you are already Showing your True Colours!!!

https://i.pinimg.com/564x/11/39/4c/11394cb08c106b1d52fd9eebf14a1a90.jpg

45. @Dee Word

Don’t be linear every time in thinking. Decisions taken by the government will translate in the society in many ways. Do not underestimate optics in commutation.

46. Jeff has cooked up a buffet of options this Sunday morn, perhaps another phrase that should be retired from the political jargon that Bajans are fond of is “friends of all satellites of none”. It sounds good in the uttering and makes for good copy but as been alluded to; at best it is pandering for the “otherness” as being different and at worse dishonest in its application. However, Barbados is a member of the group that purports to be “Non-aligned Countries” and it is notable that among its founding members was Cuba under Fidel’s leadership, the roster of its current membership reads like a “Who’s Who” of third world nations. The movement’s goals were laudable but given the original leadership it was bound to crash on the rocks of geopolitics.

We know that politicians speak through both sides of their mouths and Barrow was no exception in this instance.

47. Pedantic

what nonsense are you spouting? no one knew the role of the consultant or how he was hired when it was first announced. he was called the consultant to the CoP, which hints if not suggest that he will speak and liaise at that level. MAM never said he was the Govt consultant.

it is only when the story developed we put into focus what is his likely title and role. it has now some to light that the AG doesnt even know his own consultant’s role. if you knew by the get go well bully for you.

that being the case i speculated that he could not have been hired by the PM for the commissioner as she cannot unilaterally do that and that is the constitutional question i posed to Jeff, which he has answered in a roundabout fashion.

so what crap are you spouting mate. i must reiterate i am no constitutional scholar but even trash collector know a ting or two

the Barbados Today editorial examined the issue and posited that-

Since Barbados’ constitution and the Police Act place no legal obligation on a sitting commissioner to listen to a single word emanating from the mouth of a paid civilian consultant or indeed even to accommodate his presence, and since taxpayers might be paying for yet another of these several consultants, Government needs to spell out what are the “skills” Mr Dottin will be offering that sitting Commissioner of Police Tyrone Griffith does not possess that has led to this unprecedented political move in the Royal Barbados Police Force.

48. Today’s Sunday Sun article about A.G. Dale Marshall considering giving Dottin a pay out has left me confounded.

Yuh mean just so ?

Yuh mean yuh ain’t got no regard for the people who yuh send home and for some – who are still waiting on their payout?

Yuh mean this big foot move to get some money for Dottin for helping yuh spy on Owen,and Thompson and others phone – not giving yuh any pause ?

Well,well,well.

More to come.

Mottley like Trump does not understand this thing called ‘ unseemly,unacceptable behaviour’ – she ain’t care a thing about Optics – of course now that she is in the driver’s seat.

It was bad optics when the prime minister’s car had to be changed and Freundel was the prime minister – but not now

It was bad optics of a big cabinet of 17 ministers – but not now that she has 28

It was bad optics for the suffering citizens to see P.M. Stuart going away on overseas trip – but not now Mia is flying out every week.

Optics, Optics, Optics – it just depend on who is looking at what/who

Wuhloss.

49. Good comment Inniss.

50. Big men and women who had nuff talk for freundel ain’t got a word to say now.

Their party in power and they don’t care de brassbowl wuh she do.

Excuses,justifications,lies, – anything so gwine play now.

Toni Moore and Akanni McDowall not asking to ‘UP DE TING’ NOW – THAT THEIR WORKERS GETTING THE BRUNT OF THIS MOTTLEY GOVT POLICIES.

More to come – stay tuned !