The expression used at caption has found its way into the local vernacular to describe not merely the repetition of a number or series of numbers in the dividend such as when 1/3 or 1/7 is converted to decimal form but, less accurately, the too frequent re-emergence of a person or issue. Concerning the latter, I have remarked in this space on more occasions than a few, on the apparent local propensity to raise and re-circulate some matters of public discourse without ever coming to a definitive resolution of them one way or another. As a columnist, I am certainly not complaining since it provides some ready weekly fodder, but it is scarcely effective.

The list is indeed a long one -the policy of the imposition of the death penalty; the decriminalization of homosexual acts between consenting adults; the reform of our defamation laws; the establishment of a freedom of information culture and a condign statute; improved regulation of the privately owned public transportation sector; public and private sector integrity; a Contractor-General; the modern relevance of an Upper House of Parliament; and, finally, today’s topic, the inutility of the common entrance exam, more popularly known as the Eleven-plus or, even more officially and loftily, as the Barbados Secondary School Entrance Examination [BSEE].

Truth to tell, this issue is not as yet entered firmly into the current national discourse, but I read a newspaper report last week, in which my Cave Hill Campus colleague, Professor Joel Warrican, Director of the School of Education, lists this examination first among those conditions that “inhibit the fight of our young citizens to strengthen the resilience of the regional citizenry”. In the report, Professor Warrican appears to be more concerned with the “large proportion of students who do not meet the expected standards and the consequent stratification of the secondary school system created by the manner in which the results of the Common Entrance Examination are used to allocate students to schools, leading to “the marginalization of students who are allocated to ‘bad’ (sic) schools”.

I suppose that the first question that would be asked of the professor is the basis on which a school is to be assessed as “bad”, an adjective that is scarcely ever heard in popular local parlance. I am prepared to concede, however, that there exists in that argot the notion of “good” schools, so it seems conceivable that there must also be, comparatively, some not-so-good and even some bad ones, although it is unclear on what basis these designations are to be made.

As one who believes, errantly or otherwise, that I owe the nature of my current existence largely to my result in the Common Entrance Examination in the late 1960’s, I am naturally inclined to the view that it is the fairest system of transferring youngsters to secondary school, especially given the horror stories recounted of what obtained before, where it was not unknown for some to pass the examination only to fail the subsequent “interview” that was totally unrelated to the child’s academic prowess, but merely to his or her social standing and material comforts. Given my condition at eleven, it is at least doubtful whether I could have passed the interview component, never mind my performance in the academic aspect, hence the existence of my current bias.

Of course, one supposes that the nature and content of the examination itself could be adjusted; for instance, transfer from primary to secondary school might be effected at a later age and the element of continuous assessment by coursework constituting one aspect of the final mark, as now obtains in the regional secondary schools and UWI examinations clearly has a role to play. Concomitantly, the question begs asking, is assessment on the basis of prowess in English language and mathematics only a useful indicator of ability to cope academically at the secondary level?

The truth remains however, that the concept of examination remains the most common mode of determining progress at most levels of education. The first year student in the Bachelor of Laws programme at UWI cannot progress to the second year without having achieved success by examination in a sufficient number of his or her Part One courses, similarly to progress to the third year, and to the first and second years at Law School respectively. One would also have to pass examinations to become a certified butcher, baker or candlestick maker, so the notion of progress by examination is not inherently noisome.

The true problem with the BSEE is not the examination itself, rather it is what populism makes of it. The students who gain top placement in the BSEE are more lauded and feted initially and for a longer period by a fawning press than those who acquire terminal degrees in subjects of national development value. They inevitably become the darlings of their teachers and the parents bask vicariously in the achievement of their offspring, at least until a new cadre replaces the “top ten” the following year.

There is, strangely enough, no similar press follow-up for the BSEE high achiever unless she or she goes on to be a success otherwise. Indeed, the examination itself is made into a national spectacle with televised and newspaper interviews and parents and their young charges after the event, gifts of examination materials, complete with the obligatory news coverage by the ubiquitous politician; and special events put on by local restaurants for those who can afford it. And the outcomes of the BSEE persevere well into adulthood here where many individuals are often described by reference to their secondary school rather than to their tertiary affiliation.

In any ensuing public discourse on this matter, the onus is clearly on those who would seek to replace the BSEE with another form of transfer to propose it and to justify its existence in what is claimed to be a meritocratic polity. Given the current state of affairs, any system that is less objective than an examination arguably runs the risk of being categorized as discriminatory to some among us as the pernicious old “interview”

411 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – A Recurring Decimal”

1. Artax

A teacher is never a giver of the truth, he is a guide, and pointer to the truth brother …

2. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Enuff in Wonderland…look the jackass right in ya mirror…this is your comment that I responded to reminding you that ya talking crap when it comes to the demographics of ZONING.in US….

“Enuff January 13, 2019 10:59 AM

Artax
    The mix is healthy for our society now and in the future. I don’t like the homogenisation of our classes based on location, which unfortunately in some instances will also be along socio-economic status. I note that we are trumpeting Singapore and Finland, but ignore “zoning” in America and the UK and its impacts. I agree 200% with Jeff.”

3. Enuff

Intelligent people ignore ( I am ignoring you); weak people revenge( what did I do to hurt your feelings darling?

4. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

ah can’t wait foR them to put shackles AND CHAINS on ya dumb asses AGAIN…..lol

5. “Caribs and Arawaks surely discovered these islands but they made that discovery to their tribes only…not so! …Thus it’s quite fair for the next set of people who then spread news of the islands far and wide to a much larger audience to claim ‘discovery’ too.”

dPd

I never mentioned the Spaniards discovered the Caribbean…..I purposely used the word “entered.”

Several indigenous groups of people originating from North, South and Central America inhabited these islands. There were the Paleo Indians who arrived in the region around 5,000 BC; the Meso Indians from South America, who first settled in Trinidad, Cuba and Hispaniola; and the Neo Indians who were collectively known as the Saladoid people.

History from the European perspective taught us to believe that only two main groups of indigenous people inhabited the Caribbean……the “Arawaks” and “Caribs.”

These natives were Saladoid people and the names Arawak and Caribs were given to them by the Spaniards. The names they had originally given themselves were Tainos (Arawaks) and Kalina or Kalinago (Caribs).

The Spaniards propagated the myth that Caribs were hostile, warlike and cannibalistic…….something many of us believe to this day.

The idea of Carib cannibalism was advanced by the early Spanish explorers who, by using this allegation, sought to justify their inhumane slaughter of many of the local inhabitants. This idea was propagated further by historians who wrote their histories based on these same biased stereotypes of the first European explorers.

To this end the 1946 writings of the historian German is a typical example of this popular, misconceived characterisation. He wrote:

“These Caribees had ideas of their own. In their wars, an enemy who fell in battle was meat for their ladder. From their cabins, human legs hung like smoked hams.” (German Arciniegas Caribbean. Sea of the New World. Ian Randle. Kingston. 2004)

6. WARU
    Mi dear don’t just cut and paste my contribution. Until you understand what I wrote, you will continue to look like an idiot. It is you Artax referred to as Ivy League educated?🤔

7. Artax

In a history class here many years ago, a professor tried to convinced the class that Nelson Mandela was non-violent … until I showed him evidence that Nelson Mandela was the first person to introduced violent tactics in African National Congress ANC….
    After that the professor pulled me in a corner and told me stop embrassing him in front the class … now the moral of that story is, I never accept anything at face-value …I have always challenged what I have be taught, read and have been told ….

8. “What puzzled me most about hypocrites like you is the fact that you are adamant about your account of Caribbean History, even though you cannot furnish any evidence to substantiate its authenticity, but yet you are quick to discount the narrative of the Bible upon face-value.”

Mr. Lexicon

What have you been smoking this morning?

It seems as though you CREATE situations to attack me.

When have I ever been quick “to discount the narrative of the Bible upon face-value,”….

…….. when as a “Bible illiterate,” I DON’T ENGAGE IN ANY BIBLICAL DISCUSSION OR ARGUMENT IN THIS FORUM?

“And what method did you employed to determining whether or not Dr. Rodney Worrell and Dr. Debbie MCcollin information were authentic, or did you just accepted it at face-value because the both of them had a PhD behind their names?”

Mr. Lexicon

Funny enough, you RECOMMENDED I READ “the book called Capitalism and Slavery by the late Dr. Eric Williams of Trinidad and Tobago ……Charcoal and Cinnamon by Claudette Williams … Dr. Arthur Lewis book, The Theory of Economic Growth … he made some very interested points regarding the impacted of our enslavement and how it affected our material growth as a people…”

And likewise, “what method did you employ to determine whether or not Dr. Eric Williams, Dr. Arthur Lewis and Claudette. Williams information was authentic, or did you just accepted it at face-value because the both of them had a PhD behind their names?

Could you “furnish any evidence to substantiate its authenticity?”

Yuh see why I duz have to call you an idiot.

9. Artax
    That is their MO, talk shite, get call out and to save face contradict and shift.🤣🤣

10. Artax

I am the one asking the question Sir, so after you have given me your answer I will be more than happy to give you that evidence.

What is with all these personal insults Sir? Such is uncharacteristic of a man who calls himself educated …

11. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“It is you Artax referred to as Ivy League educated?”

Maybe you did..but I NEVER had a conversation with Artax about where I was educated ..back in 2013 or so…I was asked on BU and DID say….but Artax is making up his own shit with total glee.

…and all I told you is …..you were mixing apples and oranges, re UK and US school zoning…..

….yall making the education system in Barbados ..which we all know is DEEPLY FLAWED…look worse and worse…people from certain places who read BU…are in SHOCK…so KEEP it up..

it look good pun wunnah….

who am I to deter wunnah..lol

12. Artax

Enuff, reminds me of a little sheshe girl …who is holding on to your pant leg for dear life… as bajan wah say..

13. Schools are not zoned in England and Wales. Schools recruit from their catchment areas, based on a number of criteria.

14. Artax

I am going to teach both you and Enuff a little something about emotional responsibility, and how to maintain yall masculine core when under pressure …it is the essence of maturity…

15. Mr. Lexicon

I’m going to be honest with you.

I do not believe you challenged that professor (maybe to fight), because I do not believe you received tertiary level education.

Your comprehension skills and sense of reasoning are extremely poor, your vocabulary is atrocious and your attention span is limited.

16. WARU

I have never heard about zoning in America … i think there a few guidelines a parent has to follow if he or she wishes they child to be schooled in the suburbs if he or she lives in the city and vice versa…

17. Artax

So you were a fly on the wall …got yah brother …please carry on …do you work ? Do you have a job?

18. Artax

My vocabulary is atrocious …I got tah laugh at that one lol…your little insults can’t move brother so try another tactic…

19. WARU
    The most popular alternative on BU (possibly Bdos) to the 11+ seems to be the allocation of students based on “their catchment area” (to use Hal’s term) or zoning. The Finnish system is primarily zone-based. My point was that in promoting the near to home approach, the debate should not only focus on those countries where it is successful. Yuh onstand now? Did I promote zoning? Grade 0/10!

20. Artax

Seriously …how old are you? Haft of the time I don’t know if I am talking to a young boy or an old man … but fah real now you sound quite immature friend … pull yourself to together and act like man with some maturity..

21. “That is their MO, talk shite, get call out and to save face contradict and shift.”

Enuff

Exactly……and it’s dishonesty!!!!! They never admit when they’re wrong.

But I’ve never admitted in this forum to lying or making up stuff just to make things interesting.

You friend suggested the UK “STARTED” the trend of “stealing other people’s land and force their philosophy AND practices of racism and criminality on natives……”

………and the “UK caught on and took it WORLDWIDE…PARTICULARLY into North America and the CARIBBEAN….”

Then she conveniently shifted the “argument” to Portugal and Africa…….completely ignoring her initial statement about the UK enslaving natives in the Caribbean and stealing their lands, which was untrue.

Take Lexicon for example……the jumped in “talking” about slavery and capitalism, when the initial discussion was about the indigenous people the Europeans found living in the Caribbean.

Enuff, you mentioned something about the American education system, which he attributed to me. Despite my repeated attempts to caution him I was not the author of the said comment and he should desist from directing responses to me, rather than yielding……..he continued with his nonsense.

Secondly, he “manufactures evidence” (perhaps he learnt it from his days romping behind District A)…….he accuses contributors of writing things they have not written……and then respond.

For example, I have never engaged in any argument or discussion on BU about the Bible……yet he accused me of being “quick to discount the narrative of the Bible upon face-value.”

There mere fact he responds to the beginning or end of a contribution, without reading it in its entirety and understanding what points are being expressed, is proof of one who lacks comprehension skills.

Do you notice how he would spend an entire day using multiple contributions to respond to ONE point? That’s limited attention span.

If in a simple forum such as BU, he is unable to identify who wrote what…… read and understand the context in which their contributions were written…………and direct his responses accordingly……I’m at a loss how he could develop a research paper……which includes obtaining information from different sources, quoting the sources of information and compiling the information.

Enuff………enough of this…….. the tread has been hijacked enough already.

Hahahahaha!!!

22. Artax

Why do you get unglued so easily? Artax it is not that serious brother… listen! I am
    going to leave you my number …we need to talk …I am concerned about your emotional state brother…

23. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“Did I promote zoning? ”

ya still mixed apples with oranges though..

when comparing countries …always look at population size and area size..ah don’t have to tell ya the bigger the country the bigger the problems…

in Barbados’ case..they create their own problems because they hate change and upgrades..

24. Artax

This cat is losing it …he going of the deep end …the latter part of his statement ought to concern us all …

25. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

And somehow the ministry of miseducation will never look at continuous assessment because it will devolve into who know who, who is family to who, who went to school with who, who went to a good slave school, who int nobody, who int family to nobody, who come from chapman lane and Orleans and Greenfield, who got straight hair and good hair and knotty hair..and fair skin, who too black…..

…and pure backward, dumb shit…

yall are lost, there is no hope for future generations on the island unless and until you miseducated lot leave this earth..

oh ya thought I did not know..lol

26. WARU
    Hush! If I am not promoting zoning how can I be comparing apples with oranges? You’re the same one that cuss me stink a week or so ago when I talked about population size and access to power. In fact, I am well conscience of the matter of population size and is exactly one if the reasons why I don’t subscribe to zoning. The bigger country the bigger the priblem? Lmao! Bdos 166 sq.m; Finland 130,666 sq.m.; and Singapore 379 sq.m. Which country is experiencing the biggest problem with their educational system and hoq does that country rank in terms of size when compared to the others? 10points. #butiamnoivyleaguegraduate🤣🤣🤣

27. Artax

You are an idiot … and whose rule is it that you cannot respond to multiple points from several persons throughout the day .. that has very little to do with limited attention span and more to do with responding to issues that I am knowledgeable about.

28. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Enuff…you know what an educator said about your posts, that they are still to see one that actually makes sense..

and ya keep proving them right.

I have been promoting CONTINUOUS ASSESSMENT…for years..because it WORKS..11 plus is crap..yall are yet to design ya own education system.

ya stuck on this showing up zoning and want people to look at US and UK zoning methods..WHY??

the only issue I have with US …is that the education system in the Southern US and am sure Detroit… is vastly different to what can be found in NYC and some other states…where the people are so miseducated…many of them still do not know slavery was abolished..and that they should never entertain racist practices against themselves…

but the same can be said for even Barbados and some other Caribbean islands …right?

so keep grading yaself…lol

29. Zoning as it stands will be a problem for Barbados given the concentration of industries and poor transportation. Transportation issue can be fixed with the right will, the other…

30. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

The thing is, most people know that zoning and anything to do with consistency..timely transportation etc. ..is a problem in Barbados…which they will try even harder now, not to fix…

…if they want to eliminate heavy costs and all the misery associated with transportation and long commutes for children …start continuous assessments …which are tried and true..but that maybe too easy..

31. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

wait…is the DLP stupidity of taxpayer funded bus fare for schools kids still going on…while telling them it’s free, which was just not true ….

…..if so.more the reason to start..continuous assessments..since yall living on all manner of HEAVY loans/debt…

32. Children in st James is the west zone. Christ church the south zone waru’s ilk the twilight zone

33. Lexicon…..you is nuff sport….., hear?

Yuh see wuh I tell yuh…….you lack comprehension skills…..you read……yet you do not understand.

I NEVER mentioned anything about you “responding to MULTIPLE points from SEVERAL persons throughout the day…..”

I mentioned you spend an entire day using multiple CONTRIBUTIONS to respond to ONE point. Therein lies the DIFFERENCE.

Case in point…….between 8:55 AM and 1:03 PM, it took you 5 hours, 8 minutes……. and 18 meandering contributions of shiite “talk” to “say” I’m an idiot, when you could done so using 1.

Rather than read a contribution in its entirety and respond accordingly, it takes you 15 contributions to respond, because you apparently respond to each paragraph…..most times with irrelevant nonsense.

Limited attention span and lack of comprehension skills

And you’re annoyed when 45Govt refers to you as “Leximoron” and PUDRYR calls you “Lexicvnt?”

I prefer to be a bit more civil and call you an idiot.

34. David BU

What Barbados needs is a fleet of buses for the purpose of providing a dedicated school bus service.

And this could have been achieved years ago when the TB bought the first set of Mercedes Marcopolo GV and CAIO Alpha buses in 1997 and 1998…….because many of the bus they retired to Mangrove were still operational.

TB could have selected an adequate amount from among the “best” of the retired fleet and use them for the school bus service. The “school buses” would be used twice per day, five days per week…..and maintenance and repairs undertaken on Saturday and Sundays.

Full maintenance and repairs could be undertaken during the schools’ vacation period, especially “the long vacation.”

35. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Lawson we can only try ya hear, can’t make anyone do anything….but we can laugh real hard at the cockups they are determined to play out, just like DLP…

then it looks like someone sprinkled crazy dust on the blog, when am the one supposed to be crazy AND unstable..lol

36. Artax

Putting someone down with name calling reveals your own low self-esteem … so you are now party to this mindset … aren’t you shame of yourself?

37. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Even on Facebook…the MISEDUCATION in Barbados is being SHOWN UP..and it is indeed very ugly….AND EXTREMELY DISTURBING…

NONE OF YOU CAN BLAME UK, US OR CANADA FOR ANY OF THIS..

https://shar.es/aaVUte?fbclid=IwAR3toEZVKW9jtXnzQMy8j7QSZB4G5SiD-gPRoPcv_X7If80N1AJctzoG4Vs

This comment is associated with the above article, then yall want to tell me I do not know what I am speaking about…chaa!!!!

“Ray FitzPatrick Any wonder??? Look how that woman black. Let’s be honest, she is getting less regard from the government and her fellow (yes I said FELLOW) black Bajans who thinks that her type is not deserving of such worth. Plain talk this.
    There is pervasive self hate in the Caribbean and Bajans are all the more afflicted.”

38. Artax

When have I gotten annoyed when 45govt and PUDRYR displayed their levels of immaturity before the Bajan public?
    They failing endeavour to denigrate me reflects more on their emotional irresponsibility than on me … because emotionally responsibility people do not lash out they ignore …

39. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

BTW…kudos to QC and the ministry of miseducation if they too played a role in getting rid of Ms. Cossey whom they knew spent at least 16 years at that school teaching young black boys…HOW TO HATE THEMSELVES…crushing their self confidence…

40. WARU
    And I know a simoleton that says you’re an ass. So what? I am not bothered by the comments of people that associate with you–as the saying goes fowls of a feather flock together. At least I know the difference between a candidate and an MP. Isn’t continuous assessment based on zoning (catchment area) as you move on to another school in your area/zone/catchment? WDF I reading? This is the same woman who espoused few hours ago the need to assess matters within the context of demographics, then outlined issues expected with continuous assessment in the B’dian context (correctly so) but still advocating CA notwithstanding the credible issues she herself identified. Are you really and Ivy Leaguer?😂😂😂 #butmypostsmakenosense

41. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

But my posts got power…read the above…

42. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Ya see the difference now, I don’t just point out.

yall dont do zoning, ya don’t do assessments…what do you do for taxpayer’s money..

do you see ME in charge of anything in Barbados, ah don’t even own a candidate..

43. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

And I still can’t get an answer.

44. 🖐🏾🤣🤣

45. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

lol….glad ya having fun.

46. Enuff

The snowflakes are going to melt again or go batshit crazy……….another upgrade…..yip pee!!!!!!!!

47. WARU
    That genocide removal of Native Americans to the Dakotas was don’t by an act signed into law by the bigoted President Andrew Jackson called the Indian Removal Act of the early 1800s.

48. WARU

If think that is bad check out the Chinese Exclusion Act ….

49. WARU

How about the Japanese
    Internment Camps of the 1940s? … also bear in mind that Japan, Italy and Germany were the enemies irrespective of Pearl Harbor … also noted that the Japanese-American received their reparation in the 1990s … where is our reparation for our enslavement?