The following captures are being widely distributed on social media. The blogmaster cannot confirm the authenticity.

Well, it seems like, total destruction the only solution
And there ain’t no use, no one can stop them now
Ain’t no use, nobody can stop them now

-Bob Marley

40 responses to “RAT PACK”

1. ” The blogmaster cannot confirm the authenticity.”

Tabloidism ?

2. @Hants

No.

3. Dem seem very proud about pumping sewerage in to the sea at different locations

4. What the screenshots reveal is that the DLP has another faction- Thorne faction against Tricia Watson? We can’t make this up.

5. One is left to wonder how many factions can be created from a 61-0, now one seat in Parliament Party with no money and no say!

You are right David, can’t make this s@#$ up!

Just observing

6. It will never mek sense to this writer the predetermination that everybody near the DLP should manifest a certain perceived logic, a narrow and conformative mindset.

The requirement for a single view which may seem best perceived, is to turn the endless ways of seeing the world on its head. Even as these same people who are now fighting amongst themselves are precisely the very ones otherwise called upon to mek ‘governance’ wuk by making the higher ups ‘accountable’.

That responsibility is serially outsourced from the centre. But whenever weeee see any semblance of it a whip is cracked forcing those who would seek to exit the petite bourgeoise intellectual plantation back where they are thought to belong – loyal yardfowls.

7. The DLP Scavenger Gang Warfare ain’t no joke
    Scavenger gang members typically are low achievers. Members had few common bonds, leadership changed frequently, and they engaged primarily in senseless, petty fights. Gangs are now calling themselves organizations for organized crime like the Mafia, but the DLP gang is a local, less organized group, whereas the BLP is an organized group.

8. Don’t give the Rat Pack a bad name. A name which is not consistent to the many times this worthy moniker has sought flight in literature, culture generally.

In Jazz and starting in the 1940’s or 1950’s and including the great Nat King Cole, playing the Las Vegas circuit. But continuing decades hence with other notables like Sammy Davis Jr; the mafia figure Frank Sinatra; and Dean Martin, the Pack of Rats was without peer.

Certainly, the Rat that is Thorne bears no artistic relationship whatsoever beyond the accident of an imposed White man’s name.

And the Pack which he tries to lead would hardly recognize themselves thusly.

9. Not a RAT fan Avatar

The DLP is a sorbid mess. Who would take these clown serious, politics in Bim is so poorakey every tom dick and harry looking to get on the gravy train. RAT is so weak on economics is frightening to think he expects to be taken serious. Tricia Watson, is the best thing in the DLP not.

10. Is Mia strong on economics? Speak up?
    Does Ralph has to be strong at economics? Would he be running a one-man ministry if he were to assume leadership?

I try to be funny, but even at my best I cannot equal the comedic output of some here.

Fellow will tell you that ‘politics in Barbados is poorakey’ and the leave out half of the poorakey’ politicians.

Mottley’s motley, mistake making, mediocre, mismanaging, messy menagerie of misfits needs to be booted.

11. Barbados’ peoples biggest disconnect is with it’s African Roots and Spirituality,
    which stems from it’s New World Colonial Slave Training Brainwashing.

Africans were conquered by the divide and rule doctrine, so I will quote the last African King, the Emperor of Ethiopia, Conquering Lion of the Tribe of Judah, His Imperial Majesty Haile Selassie I, King of Kings, Lord of Lords, Elect of God, regarding tribal strife in his acceptance speech on May 25, 1963 when he was selected as the first President of the OAU, the Organization for African Unity which was established with a permanent headquarters in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

“Above all, we must avoid the pitfalls of tribalism. If we are divided among ourselves on tribal lines, we open our doors to foreign intervention and its potentially harmful consequences.”

12. It was Ralph Thorne who acted as a vector for this DLP crisis by supporting the division of the powers of the Leader of the Opposition, within the party.

Maybe, just maybe, the two titular officials might have had him over a barrel, captured by the fear of either being so bent over or being left out in the political wilderness.

Well, seems like the cut and thrust of politics goes both ways.

Separately

Biden is out. Enter Hilary Clinton, stage right.

13. He’s endorsed Kamala Harris his VP.

Harris is maybe the most disliked VP ever.

Added, she’s far less than intelligent, has no political idea, her numbers were long in the tank, she’s failed at every assignment given and on and on.

She’s the epítome of identity politics. From which all types of political mongrels are imposed.

We’re certain that this is only the first salvo. That the real game as backed by the deep state to keep Trump out is yet to take flight.

One thing we know for sure is that the permanent government will kill Trump, like tried recently some believe, or rig the election to keep him out.

This is America 2024.

14. God smiled
    Kamala said the right thing and not the wrong thing about Israel and Palestine.
    The circumscribed Jews are worrying their genocide license might be revoked.

15. Dub

Well, she’s married to a Jew!

Really think such a political lightweight could challenge the tail which wags the American dog?

Not in a century of blue moons.

16. “Really think such a political lightweight could challenge the tail which wags the American dog?”

When whites kill people of colour only whites follow the white peoples script
    people of colour say it’s just the same old shit

Dem Can’t Stop We From Talk (Dubblestandart’s Kingston Riot riddim Remix)

17. Well Dub

Kamala Harris as AG in California, and unlike Whites killing Whites, was generally disliked by the community she now purports to come from.

For Afrikan-Americans she was widely known as a bitch of a prosecutor. A prosecutor who charged parents for the truancy of their children, for example. And the list is long of such excesses.

The classical house negro!

Her comments about Gaza came late in the genocide and were just purely political. For a woman around Genocide Joe all this time one would be foolhardy to see this as anything more than instrumentalism.

18. When Kamala Harris was running in the primaries circa 2019 she could not make any traction, did not win a single primary or gave a good showing, could not even get a few points in the national polls, even after she made comments about Joe Biden’s anti- busing past.

Being the Obama-ist candidate, she was Obama’s handpicked VP for Genocide Joe. For it was Obama, as party elder, who cleared the field in the primaries for Biden to receive the nomination as Bernie Sanders was duly sidelined once again.

What a cesspit!

This writer is unconvinced that Harris will be anywhere around the DLC nomination. It takes a little more than a propensity to be a factotum for the deep state. A little more!

19. Kamala Harris as AG in California, and unlike Whites killing Whites, was generally disliked by the community she now purports to come from.

Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Disliked but yet they made her senator

20. VP’s are supposed to be replacements.
    Biden should hand the reins over forthwith for a 3 months start in office.
    Meanwhile Israel is bombing Yemen.

21. No, not in the US system. They are attack dogs at one level. They are generally people who could hardly win an election in their own right. Centrally, they are mere place holders having no power or potential at all. VPs cannot even go to the bathroom without permission. Dick Cheney was the exception to these rules.

22. To become a US senator means a constituency, statewide, which transcends the Black communities alone.

Look at the Senate. You’ll see almost all caucasians. There’s a reason for that.

23. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

IN THE WORDS OF THE RUSSIAN PROVERB – “SOME FOLKS WOULD RATHER GET KISSED BY A LIE THAN TO BE CLOBBERED WITH THE TRUTH…”

As I stand on the precipice of my retirement years – I have learned that “COGNITIVE DISSONANCE” has now been side-swiped by the “MADNESS” of “CHRONIC DISTANCIATION PSYCHOSIS” – where countless numbers of “BLACK FOLKS” are now so “FAR REMOVED FROM THE PANOPTICON OF TRUTH” that it beggars belief, (choosing to glory in the “RELIGIOSITY” of “TRIBAL POLYTRICKS”) than to acknowledge the sheer, utter “MESS” that is so-called “HUMAN INGENUITY”!!!

I assert the argument that “POLIETICAL MACHINATIONS & SOCIO-ECONOMIC INTRIGUE CANNOT SAVE ANYONE” – not even those who “THINK” THEY LEAD, or are “SELECTED” into office by the “CRIMINAL UNDERBELLY, UNDERWORLD MACHINE”!!!

In the “IMMORTAL WORDS” of Scripture: #RealDifficultTimesDEADAhead

“Don’t be naïve. There are difficult times ahead. As the end approaches, people are going to be self-absorbed, money-hungry, self-promoting, stuck-up, profane, contemptuous of parents, crude, coarse, dog-eat-dog, unbending, slanderers, impulsively wild, savage, cynical, treacherous, ruthless, bloated windbags, addicted to lust, and allergic to God. They’ll make a show of religion, but behind the scenes they’re animals. Stay clear of these people…” (CITED FROM THE MESSAGE BIBLE)

AGAIN, YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED

24. The word Rat and Pac can easily be applied to Trump uttersnces
    A bold faced Liar is he
    Right after almost being taken out he goes to Michigan holds a Rally and tells the voters of Michigan how he will make Michigan great again
    How will he do it saying that he will bring the Motor industry back to Michigan
    That is a bold faced lie in part that big business would not let any politician spill there gravy train
    Where wages are low and govt long arms does not empty their pockets and Union’s are obsolete in poor countries
    His eyes are set on China however USA Big business have the backing of China to do as it pleases and they would not be leaving

25. William Skinner Avatar

We must say that it is quite interesting that a thread about the DLP of Barbados , has somehow morphed into the selection of a candidate for the USA elections .
    Getting back to the DLP; it is obvious that Ralph Thorne’s decision to challenge his twin, has added some color to the political scene .

His selection of Tricia Watson to the Senate , reminds us of how well Caswell Franklyn, captured the public’s imagination, when he was appointed by Atherley.
    On the other side the selection of Chad Blackman to the Senate and cabinet by Mia is of some interest.
    The Twin is busy. Laughable at times but busy.

26. Read the screen shots. Another DLP controversy

However, after reading some of the comments on the ‘PAC should pack’ thread, I’m both reluctant and scared to contribute to this topic, lest I’m accused of being a ‘spin bowler.’

Unfortunately, some people seem unable to discuss political issues with a level of ‘dispassionate objectivity.’
    Perhaps the reason why they have a particular penchant for categorising such discussions ‘into a BLP versus DLP scenario.’

There are some BU contributors who support the BLP or DLP, either openly or incognito (in disguise). Whichever method they choose, it is their CHOICE and constitutional right to do so. ‘Freedom of Association.’

However, the ‘incognito supporters’ seem to believe they are more deceptive and cleverer of the two.

And, it’s that particular group I fear the most.

They believe they have a ‘God given right’ to ‘get up every morning’ to find everything possible about whichever administration is ‘in power,’ to criticise, and DICTATE to people WHAT and WHEN they should criticise and HOW they should go about doing so.

That people are obligated to agree with them and adhere to the rules of their ‘official response template.’

But, on the other hand, any comment they interpret to be criticisms of or disadvantageous to the respective party they support, are often met with mixed emotions….. sadness and anger.
    You are deemed to be a supporter of the political party they oppose, if you either don’t join them in criticising it or present another perspective.

Those persons NEED to ACCEPT people respond to issues differently and how ‘they see fit.’

27. @William

The blogmaster was waiting to see who would make the observation.

Tricia Watson was an interesting and popular opinion by Thorne. She came with an earned reputation which Thorne obviously intended to exploit (generate goodwill). The fact she has visibly distanced herself from the puerile machinations in George Street suggests many things. You will not William they are others who prefer to be uncharacteristically quiet.

28. @Artax

Politics by definition is partisan. Suggestion is to keep it simple by sharing your perspective which others will agree or disagree.

29. William Skinner

You have always and will continue to atomize local or regional politics while ignoring all external forces, pretending they do not exit.

And regardless of circumstances such an irrational atomization will never cease in your mind.

This writer has never and shall never see any firewall between these forces. Training demands discovery of the critical connections.

All politics are not local. These forces interact, repel, inform, influence, etc each other. Has your Barbados not become a republic, of sorts? Where has that idea or ideal come from?

For it has been and shall continue to be impossible to really understand anything unless everything is.

Certainly, you can have nothing critical to say based on a bunkered mentality eschoned within a political economy always said to be otherwise opened.

30. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pachama
    When you can logically connect what is happening in the DLP to your international / global realm; please let me know.
    Any discussion about the Twin holds interest for us. However, ideologically and philosophically , we wrote off the Twin decades ago.
    But, as a Bajan, if there is good , we endorse it; if there is bad, we reject and criticize it.
    Nothing more to it , at all.

31. @William

It should be obvious by now the DLP does not have the capacity to navigate current challenges. Its goodwill in the eye of the public is not rock bottom. Even if a new leader like Tricia Watson were to emerge how would the old guard respond?

The same!

32. 🙂
    A very solid post by the ‘A guy’
    I will confess that (even) I who have no dog in this fight tend to lean to one side. Why?

The answer is obvious. The DLP is last season cast of characters. With two consecutive 30-0, they have been pushed off the center stage and written out of the play.

For me to discuss them would be to ignore this season cast of bad characters and focus on the cast of previous seasons. I have no intention of doing so.

I am following the current cast. I will not be commenting on the failures of the cast for past seasons. Almost irrelevant. The people voted on them twice. The people are already aware of their failure and threw them into the dustbin of our history.

I leave it to the historians to dissect what the DLP did; to rummage through the dustbin so as to hash and rehash the events of lost decade.

Let them attempt to ignore the gross incompetence of the current administration by reaching back in history and telling you what happened in 2012. These historians’ job is to distract you from the calamity going on right now in front of you; to blind you and at the same time pretend to be balance by taking you back to the lost decade.

I am here with one intention…. Keeping you focus on what is happening to you today. To include the DLP in this conversation is not balance for at this time they are irrelevant.

My focus is on now and who is on center stage. I make no pretence of false balance. That is the worse form of hypocrisy, pretending that equal weighting be assigned to these two parties.

Not me and that… Mia, here I come

33. It is sad that we have reached the stage where to point out a failure is to have a label attach to you.

One would think the the next step would be to investigate why we fail and then set out to remedy the situation. That is not the case, our remedy is to reach in the bag and pull out a B or D label.

Folks, please add a label for proud honest and patriotic Bajan to your bag.

34. William Skinner

Those connections are as plain as daylight. Only those so blinkered, pun intended, like you cannot see.

What is happening within the DLP is no different to what is happening within the Democratic Party in the USA, the Labour Party in the UK, the political party system in Germany and most European countries.

There is a crisis in governance under the Westminster system, it’s children.

There are very few exceptions to this rule. The rule being, which you have arrogantly never wanted to see because you blind yourself to this one Caribbesn nonsense as if the region is not a function of everything else happening in our world.

This is what the centre being not able to hold really means. It means that there shall be more and more political, economic and all other forms of instability in our world and old ways of thinking, like yours, will continue to fail to solve any of our problems.

But you, for a rasssoul old man, continue to refuse to see global trends and insist that Barbados, or the Caribbean, as a single data point, is expressive of some unique set of circumstances protected from the forces driving the rest of our world.

Case in point

Recently the labour Party under Starmer did a Mottley. He, with about 30 of the vote got over 400 seats in a Parliament of about 550. Jeremy Corbin, who was forced out a few years ago, like Owen, got about 36 percent in 2019 in a losing cause.

So we have a kakistocrat, in Starmer, getting less votes than a Corbin but rompping to a landslide. And Starmer’s Labour Party could not be more similar to the Conservatives, who they just defeated, than the DLP in Barbados is like the BLP.

How could it be possible for you to understand the true nature of duopoly politics unless they can be scientifically observed in different circumstances?

BTW, is Kamala Harris not a piece uh Jamaican?

35. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    We are sorry that you now only recognise that the Westminister system is collapsing. We know that it was never really a system It was and remains an imposition or extension of western capitalism and in racism. What has happened because of our historical journey , which really means slavery, is that we ended up with the system we inherited or was imposed on us from our slave masters.
    In the Caribbean, the majority remained Black and we ended up in the majority and subsequently our parliaments are essentially Black. But obviously it is an extension or imposition of history There were other minorities, outside of whites, to be found in most islands but scarcely any on our beloved Rock.
    We don’t care to act profound on matters , that a real educational system would have imparted to students before they left primary school.
    Please explain what the hell does Tricia Watson’s political relationship with Ralph Thorne , has to do with the coming elections in the USA or that recently held in England. Nothing you said is even remotely connected to what we asked of you.

36. We are sure that there is a Tricia Watson counter part somewhere in the other systems, whatever her situation is.

But there is no need for the atomization which you are always so want.

When large numbers or broad trends are compared and contrasted, as if populations, we look to general tendencies, not footnotes.

Such bits and pieces do not therefore enter these equations.

It was Pacha who was talking about, reading about, researching these phenomena about imperial or Western collapse long before you came to town. Before the Soviet Union collapsed!

That these forces are proving themselves right, and it’s not only Westminster, is something, if you’re are currently honest, you would know that Pacha has been on long before you, and most others.

Just like how Pacha was amongst the first in the world to recognize that fascism was the way your much beloved progressives were then best representative.

37. So Biden drop out of the race and passed the Baton to Kamla a woman of West Indian Heritage
    Time longer than twine
    Trump once call these small island countries shit holes
    Hoping that Kamal got enuff shit to throw in his sorry face

38. Re: DLP Rat Pack
    If you want to kill a rat you have to buy some cheese