@Enuff
“Up to now you can’t say why the man is not deserving. In a small country how do you escape proximity to “power/decision-making”?”

Once I see you heading down this road, I know things bad.
No, No, No.
The onus is upon those conferring the honour to highlight the contributions, which are being recognized. Period.
Is Barbados, the country conferring the knighthood, doing so for work in Bermuda, Belize, Caymans, Turks and a little in Barbados too. Or for the leverage used in the BLP leadership battles.
Seems like another Marston Gibson were a Bajan leaves home and spends much of their career working elsewhere, only to return home and be knighted.
To me, if the PM had an ounce of moral decency, she would avoid selecting her father at all costs, especially in the first few opportunities she gets to bestow such an honour. What’s the rush? Is the man ill? – Northern Observer

To be honest the blogmaster does not pay too much attention to the New Year Honours list. The selection appears to be less than transparent and more importantly we are not enthused by a system that awards titles that is anchored to an irrelevant colonial past.

The New Year Honours List for 2019 released by the Government Information Service is as follows [blogmaster’s emphasis]:-

The Queen has been graciously pleased to approve the following awards in the 2019 New Year Honours:

KNIGHT BACHELOR (KtBach)

• Assad John HALOUTE for services to the hospitality industry and philanthropy

KNIGHT COMMANDER OF THE ORDER OF SAINT MICHAEL AND SAINT GEORGE (KCMG)

• Elliott Deighton MOTTLEY for services to the legal profession, diplomatic service and the community

ORDER OF THE BRITISH EMPIRE

COMMANDER OF THE ORDER OF THE BRITISH EMPIRE (CBE)

• Dr. Frances Louise CHANDLER, OBE for services to agriculture and sustainable development

OFFICER OF THE ORDER OF THE BRITISH EMPIRE (OBE)

• Ms. Cynthia Joan WILLIAMS for services to nursing and the community

MEMBER OF THE ORDER OF THE BRITISH EMPIRE (MBE)

• Reverend Hughson Carlos INNISS for services to youth empowerment and the fight against HIV/AIDS
  • John Wayne Anderson WATTS for services to environmental health

The decision to award Elliott Mottley a knighthood has attracted robust and muscular public comment across the length and breath of Barbados, notwithstanding the din generated by the holiday season. There is no need to be prolix with this matter. A repost of the blogmaster’s too brief comment to Northern Observer is enough.

Agree with this comment, the optics are bad and the brazenness of doing it in the first year of term is a foreboding act.

The opinion of the blogmaster is not meant to ignore Elliott’s Mottley’s contribution in his field of work. However, if the Prime Minister is serious about being a change agent she must avoid decisions that will distract and deepen citizen apathy. The herculean task to turn the country around is bigger than the aggrandisement of any family member. Even if that family member is her father. In fact some will suggest with good reason that the controversial waiver of the tax and penalties (NOT TAX DUE) in the amount of $1,051,872.28 to Elliott Mottley which came out of an audit of Mottley’s accounts is reward enough.

A word to the Prime Minister should be sufficient.

625 responses to “Prime Minister Mottley’s Father Awarded Knighthood”

1. “I was told they usually sit in the war room in Roebuck street – or in the Opposition office – before elections – and send out these projectiles.”

now they know that my projectiles carry warheads…

2. Sir SimpleSimon Avatar

@T.Inniss January 2, 2019 6:31 PM “I was told they usually sit in the war room in Roebuck street – or in the Opposition office – before elections – and send out these projectiles.”

Just like your DLP folks sit in the war room in George street or in the Opposition office (If ya had one) and send out these projectiles.

3. @ In the name of common sense:

Use some of that same not so common ‘common sense’ and haul your behind. No one invited you here. If you get ‘bad feels’, stop coming to this blog or you may pass out, hit your head and conk out. Silly person…….

4. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Whuloss boasie whey to begin? or is dat begun?

@ in de Name of Commun Sense.

De ole man ent got much edykashun en I would beg you tuh forgive de ole man.

Dere is some remarks dat I wud like tuh respond tuh

You sed and I quote or is that coat?

“…and in case pieceuhderock didn’t know, we are working toward regional integration, so services rendered to other Caribbean territories, are services rendered to Barbados)…”

My lady I did not know dat!

And hey I was, wid MY ingrunt self, totally unaware dat dese two peeple, Mugabe and she fader, was doing all uh disfor regional integration

I shud be ashamed uh meself.

Whu dat might mean then that they might have been central in CARICOM INTEGRATION INITIATIVES OVER DE YEARS

I SHOULD BE ASHAMED OF MYSELF

BUT AS TO THE SECOND PART OF YOUR QUESTION you asked “…why do you all hate Mia Mottley so viscerally?…”

You need to step the fvck back though and take a look at the proliferation of comments ACROSS THE ENTIRE BU WEBSITE.

Under all the bluster and jaw breaking language, you will notice a message of fear arising from the unilateral actions of Mia Mugabe as she changes the Constitution, refuses to Honour Bond Issues, defaults on sovereign debt, hires 27 ministers, ups her salaries, hires Jong the Spy who was banned from Grenada

He was banned, much like her father, the recent Knight was banned from Bermuda

Yes, these several endless infelicities would breed such abject disrespect or what you call “visceral hatred” a la Owen Arthur

Watch how this article is going to max 1500 entries

5. @Sir SimpleSimon, I always assumed you would be Dame SimpleSimon…yuh had an op – lol?

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here thank you

Ladies and gentlemen

This is a psychologist who has been engaged to disrupt your remarks about Mugabe

And if you notice ALL OF YOU HAVE BEEN DISTRACTED & DISRUPTED

All of you focused on yourselves and your language etc AND STOPPED TARGETING MUGABE

Which means their strategy worked

7. Sir SimpleSimon Avatar

@Bajan in NY January 2, 2019 9:53 PM

@Sir SimpleSimon, I always assumed you would be Dame SimpleSimon…yuh had an op – lol?

Yeah man!!! Lolll!!! Years ago. One no longer has to be binary. Good surgeons, good psychologists, and the cooperation of the state…

And you are good to go.

A happy new year to you.

8. Sir SimpleSimon Avatar

I knighted myself too.

No need to wait on any Queen.

When I can do it myself.

9. A BEACH BAR has taken over a significant section of the popular Batts Rock, but its French owner is denying it is barring Barbadians from the beach.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/228818/beach-blocked

Which Prime Minister said ” land should be put to its best use ” ?

10. @Hants

Didn’t we cover this on BU?

Batts Rock and Recolonization

11. @ David why is this news in today’s Nation ? I thought the BLP government ministers read BU.

12. @Hants

Hard ears they wont hear…

13. @In the name of common sense

Your January 2,2019 11:07 AM is spot on, “as to the vile manner” in which WARU T.Inniss Piece of slug Donna Mariposa post on BU

14. @ David,

In 2007 I spent half a day at Batts Rock .It was memorable and I saw the ruins of the Bearded Fig Tree Disco ( one of my old hang outs.

That day there were about fifty Bajans enjoying the beach and the sea.

Now Bajans have to navigate a path to the sea.

I give up. The youngsters will have to decide if they want to accept the continuing loss of beach recreation.

15. A Frenchman s’il vous plait?

As Pierre the elder once said “Mangez la merde”

16. “I am tiiired.”

yep..ya definitely ‘tiiired”….lol

17. “This is a psychologist who has been engaged to disrupt your remarks”

can’t be much of a psychologist if they only made things WORSE….and got Enuff in Wonderland stuttering…lol

and caused EARS ENUFF…to perk up in real, real INTEREST…

and got ******* shitting rreal, real bricks…cause they did not know that more people knew than they thought…wuhloss..lol

18. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ in the Name of Common Sense.

Lest you succeed with you mission and detract us from the goal here is and item regarding the murder of Rebecca Middleton in Bermuda when Sir Mugabe was Attorney General and delivered his stellar services.

The news item which you as an educated reader and writer reads

“…The incident is remembered as one of Bermuda’s darkest moments, and led to a drop in tourism due to negative publicity and boycotts by those who believed a gross miscarriage of justice had occurred.

To this day, Mr Middleton (the father of the murdered woman) believes that the powers that be in Bermuda were more concerned with protecting the island’s reputation than securing justice for his daughter. (DOES THAT INFORMATION BLANKET REMIND YOU OF ANYTHING??? LIKE THIS YOUR ATTEMPT TO HUSH UP THE BLOG ARTICLE???)

“Just about everything that could go downhill, did go downhill. The Attorney-General (Elliott Mottley) told me he hadn’t lost a case in 10 years and was going to get a conviction, and he ELLIOT MOTTLEY, left town two weeks before the trial.”

IS THAT GOOD ENOUGH FOR YOU TO SHOW YOU THE REGIONAL ACCOMPLISHMENTS OF THE BENIGHTED MOTTLEY??

Ecce Homo behold the man, father of the woman who put up his name for national honours, who in the face of such a heinous murder, gets out of Dodge City, at such a critical point

Yessiree, for according to you we writers do “viscerally hate de Mottleys for no reason at all” and all this publicly available dereliction of duty and moral turpitude present ample reasons why WE THE PEOPLE SHOULD GIVE MOTTLEY THE KNIHHT & MOTTLEY THE TYRANT OUR UNWAVERING SUPPORT

19. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ WARU

But they are a psychologist if they are able to drop one comment and get the blog to veer off from the bad optics of the Elliot Mottley knighthood to people establishing their linguistic credentials and subject verb agreement.

Most people can be goaded WARU.

You just need to know how to yank their chain.

If you do it with sheep all it does is baaaaaa

However if you do it with lions or dragons, they will maul you or breathe fire to consume you.

This article that the Honourable Blogmaster has posted is pure genius

Every single BLP minister has come to take a peek at it.

IT has their attention.

You need go understand this and what the opportunity presents as it relates to the Mottleyian NEPOTISM GENE and how to frame that appointment SO EARLY IN MIA MUGABE’S REGIME not so much as poorly thought out AS MUCH AS CRASSLY IMPLEMENTED

It shows to all bajans that Mugabe Mottley DOES NOT GIVE ONE FVCK ABOUT WHAT ANY OF WUNNA THINK

And this IS THE MOST FRIGHTFUL THJNG!!!

You are getting side tracked by Peter Harris matters

Even my Brother Hants tossed in Batts Rock and while it is understood that this is the focal point of the blog @today we have to understand attention span of 10 seconds.

Keep hitting hard, like T. Inniss is, focus on the optics.

The purpose is to get Mugabe’s own people to open their eyes and see the dictatorship and to stand up like men and women with balls.

This is what the sheeple need to see

20. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with a few items here for various people thank you

21. Barbadians have already seen the vulgar spectacle of the knighting of a mottley, can you imagine a mottley being knighted in Barbados

But more vulgar is the plan to use millions of taxpayers money to build a monument in Queens Park for Dieghton.

Taken from a face book page
    ………………..

All i can say is i’ll be dam

22. “You are getting side tracked by Peter Harris matters”

Not for a second…there is more GOING ON…THAN MEETS THE EYES…

23. I did not get distracted, Piece. I digressed as Mia often does in her speeches but what I admire about her is that she always returns to the exact point at which she left off.

I did the same.

How often do you wish me to say the same thing? I even posted it on another thread. But just to please you hers goes –

The haste with which this knighthood was offered and the haste with which it was accepted speak volumes about the PM and the Knight.of the Shitey table.

She seems more concerned that her father should get what she thinks he deserves than she is about the rest of us.

The message is clear and has been received by all those with common sense rather than common shite in their heads.

24. And for good measure – It makes me wonder if the picture with Donald Trump now occupies pride of place on her nightstand.

A truly crass and classless move.

And chilling!

25. @Mariposa,

The ethical confusion of the prime minister’s father’s knighthood is that two members of her family who deserve recognition are caught up in this general condemnation.
    Ernest Deighton Mottley, former Mayor of Bridgetown, and her paternal grandfather, was one of the most formidable architects of social policy in the post-slavery history of Barbados, who the trivia of party politics, the malice and envy of Errol Barrow and the intellectual weakness of our social historians have combined to reduce to the margins of our political history.
    He it was, not the nonsense of Barrow’s free education, who brought quality secondary education to the children of ordinary working men and women; he it was who fed the hungry through his free Queen’s Park kitchens; he it was who provided clothes and cash to the poverty-stricken.
    Also Elton Elombe Mottley, the prime minister’s uncle, is the most outstanding cultural historian and analyst of his generation and it is a blatant disgrace this economy-obsessed government has not found a place for as a consultant in the NCF – which he more than deserves.
    All this is overshadowed by an ethically bad decision to award her father a knighthood. When added to her choice of consultants and senators, it says a lot about the prime minister’s moral moorings.

26. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Yes chilling

But let de ole man quote from Plato’s Republic and provide and even more chilling prescience of this Tyranny in the Making

“…And therefore she Mugabe must look about her and see who is valiant, who is high-minded, who is wise, who is wealthy; happy man (and women with voices and opinions, like you Donna), (t)he(y) are the enemy of the Mugabe-ites all, and (they, the Mugabe-ites) must seek occasion against the outspoken dissenters whether you (dissenters) will or no, until she Mugabe has made a purgation of the state.

Yes, I (Plato) said, not the sort of purgation which the physicians make of the body; for they take away the worse and leave the better part, but she Mugabe WILL DO the reverse [which is to destroy the living healthy flesh and keep the necrosis AND THE CANCER ]…”

this is de ole man’s transliteration of The Republic…

27. “It makes me wonder if the picture with Donald Trump now occupies pride of place on her nightstand.”

They only know how to mimic and part racists ..THEY DO NOT HAVE AN original idea in their heads…outside of..”gimme de vote and watch me nuh”

28. They only know how to MIMIC and PARROT racists…..

29. “All this is overshadowed by an ethically bad decision to award her father a knighthood.”

It was a bad move, makes you wonder, exactly what was her hurry, so this year is Elliott, will Leslie Haynes be next year, which will really cement the SHITEHOOD label for those useless titles.

30. Donna..it is instructive that yardfowls still believe this is some win OR lose competition…they are STILL to process with their limited brain cells…that this is about doing the RIGHT THING..by the people who elected Mia and her lot…and who PAY THEIR SALARIES..

they still manage to show up the inadequacies in and embarrass the miseducatuion system..

#headsfilledwithSHITE

31. @Sir SimpleSimon January 2, 2019 10:24 PM

A happy new year to you.

Thank you Sir, much appreciated and heartily reciprocated to you and your family.
    Keep on posting as you are one of the few who do so without a political bias.

32. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Sir Simple Simon at 10 :26 PM

Which liniment you “knighted “yourself with? Ben Gays Balsam? Or Canadian Healing Oil? I did not know those alternative “knighthoods” still exist.

33. Donna

You see the number of posts this blog racked up.Close to 600 comments.

It is article like these which will keep Mottley and those around her – feet close to the fire.

These comments will not be allowed by Ellis and VOB or the call-in show – or as letters to the Editor in the Nation.

Peter Harris and Barbados Today – will always follow the money – hence the termination of Kaymar’s employment.

Lemme tell yuh – Mottley in for a big shock if she thinks people voted her party in because they were in love with her.

That last election was a vote against the Dems Government – and Freundel communication style – which for most persons did not satisfy their desire.

34. Watchman ya blind bat!

My post was as most people who can read would acknowledge, not my normal mode. I just could not resist the metaphor introduced by T. Inniss.

And because I still can’t resist – you have now exposed your posterior (otherwise known as ASS).

PS. Are your peeps going to look after the problem with the boulders or do you kiss ass for free??????????

Wuhlaus!

35. Watchman so blind he kisses ass cheek and think it is face.

36. T. Inniss,

I voted because the people (not myself) could not continue being ignored, disrespected, ridiculed and threatened by the last administration – not to mention the out of control corruption. The biggest insult was when Fumbles thought that he could fool us that all was well. That took the cake!

I voted in the hope that the expected 30-0 drubbing would send a message to Mia and Co. that a similar fate of ignominy would befall them if they didn’t repent and change course.

Alas it appears to have sent a message to them. But the WRONG ONE! She has taken it as carte blanche to do whatsoever she pleases and slap us in the face with a KNIGHT’S GAUNTLET!

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/160814/dem-gone

Now look at that SAD SACK FACE! That’s one for the history books. Will hers be next???

37. @pieceuhderockyeahright who wrote ‘ Even my Brother Hants tossed in Batts Rock “.

no comment.

38. @ Brother Hants

If you were to toss in a Fleur de ole man might have been an easier target but… in all seriousness this specific item is going to go to 1500 UNLESS THE HONOURABEL BLOGMASTER Breaks it in 2.

But he will not do that because (a) it will pause the momentum of the article and (b) it would only appear as if he is supporting the Mugabe thrust WHICH HE IS NOT

@ Sargeant

De ole man will revert to your comments about the Libel Talk presently but rest assured that THAT WILL NOT BE EFFECTIVELY PURSUED BECAUSE IT WILL CEMENT THE MATTER OF MUGABE BEING A DESPOT

She cannot touch Barbados Underground UNLESS SHE WANTS WAR, FIRE & FURY heheheheheheheh

39. Sir SimpleSimon Avatar

@January 3, 20198:19 AM “in the face of such a heinous murder”

I am always hearing the term heinous murder, but nobody has ever explained to me what is a non-heinous murder.

Can someone please explain, just in case i am ever asked to work on a jury.

40. @ Donna

Yes Donna, the problems of boulders in a watercourse were created by people vilely like you .

41. Sir SimpleSimon Avatar

I doubt very much that this knighthood was about Sir Elliott who looked pretty frail the last time I saw him (on TV). Perhaps it is about Lady Amor, because after all Barbados has NEVER honoured any of its women who like Amor, who like my mother, and probably yours too, have essentially spent most of their lives being excellent wives and mothers.

In Barbados no political party, NONE acts as thought it believes that being an excellent wife, and being an excellent mother is important work. Work which has tremendous social and economic value.

I mean looka, we have set up statues everywhere to MEN, especially to political men, but do any of us even know the names of the MOTHERS who raised these eminent men?

For example look at the Wikipedia entry for Frank Walcott “Frank Walcott was born in Saint Peter, and his policeman father died when Walcott was very young.” From this we don’t even know if this eminent man was even born of a woman. Yet since his father died when he was very young, his MOTHER very likely raised them. How come then she is treated as a nonentity? A person unworthy of even being NAMED?

So if this award it to the eventually widowed Lady Amor [women typically outlive their husbands] for her contribution to raising our Prime Minister I have no problem with it.

Raising a prime Minister must be a pretty difficult job. I haven’t managed to raise one yet, although I am still working on it.

But on the whole we Bajans [heck, the rest of the world too] must do more to honour the excellent work that MOTHERS do.

MOTHERS don’t only give birth, a little thing which typically takes only a few hours. MOTHERS reproduce the society.

42. @ Simple Simo,

The rest of the world? Evidence. In the UK we have organisations such as Wages for Housework, in which a Barbadian was/is prominent. And the contribution of homemakers is recognised in law. Half the marital assets must go to the wife in a divorce. And, in a now famous divorce case, in cases where the husband is wealthy and makes most of his money post-divorce, he still has to provide for his ex-wife, even if she re-marries. Further, pensions in divorce is a specialism in pensions law.
    Barbados, that democratic Republic with a foreign Monarch, is not the world.

43. Thanks for the confirmation my brother. The confirmation that Sylvan Greenidge and Rovell Morris has been relieved of their jobs at the Grantley Adams International Airport. Their contracts we’re cancelled.

The only sin committed by these two gentleman, whose work at the Airport has been stellar, is that, in the case of Mr. Greenidge, he deared to resign from the BLP because of the direction it is heading and in the case of Mr. Morris, he is the son of former DLP minister, Mr. Bobby Morris.

Really now, is this way Barbados wants to take it’s politics? That whenever a government changes political knives are sent out to chop down persons who do not share the incoming government’s political point of view. Maloney enjoyed work under the DLP and now the BLP. Is it only because he is white?

If this is the BLP’s style then my heart bleeds for Barbados because the country is far too small to engage in that kind of political canabolism.

I am informed that the common courtesy was not even extended to Mr. Morris to be taken home by the company’s messenger after the keys to the company vehicle he drove was taken from him.

Who remembered the lot of talk and empty promises made in the Covernant of Hope? The BLP’s promise in their 2018 Manifesto of building a new Barbados.

What is the real state of affairs at the Airport? We heard that the Airport is being leased to a foreign entity. Now we are seeing efforts to suggest that the government is restructuring this operation that already makes millions of dollars in after tax profits. Thanks to the works of these two gentlemen and their former colleagues.

A job to continue building an efficient Airport was too good for these two black working class Barbadians but Maloney, COW, Simpson and the rest of the white shadows will continue to reap the economic benefits of this country.

One recalls the so-called bitter hostility that appeared between mia and Maloney, but that has now quickly become a marriage of convenience.

Well if Barbadians can’t see where their country is heading then God help them.

Taken from a fb page

44. Is Maloney white? He appears to be brown-skinned to me, with a Southern European complexion. In the old language, he can pass -and he obviously does. He won’t get away as white in the old South Africa.

45. Sir SimpleSimon Avatar

Dear Hal: Thanks for keeping me up to date on all things U.K.

46. Sir SimpleSimon Avatar

But believe me neither Barbados nor the rest of the world is where the U.K is at when it comes to recognising the WORK that MOTHERS do.

47. @Simple Simon,

I left out a very important part in the divorce matrix: where there are children under the age of majority, in the case of a divorce, the family home goes to the wife.
    Oh, and one advantage of colonialism (not that I am recommending it) is that legislation passed in the mother country eventually has to be applied in the colony, unless there is internal self-government.

48. Sir SimpleSimon Avatar

@Hal Austin January 3, 2019 3:25 PM “Is Maloney white?”

Nevev met him, but have met his brother who worked as a teller at CIBC on Broad Street about 20 years ago. If they share the same parents, and by appearance they do, Maloney is what is called “white Bajan”

However I don’t know how he defines himself on the census form. I’ve worked as a census taker, but not in his neighbourhood, but in the neighbourhoods where I worked I met both “black” and “white” Bajans who defined themselves as “mixed”

49. Sir SimpleSimon Avatar

Hal, maybe this current government led by a female prime Minister will find more tangible ways to honour the child rearing /reproducing the society work which is still principally done by women. Women just like your mother and mine. Women just like our sisters and daughters.