Why You 6 Must Cross the Floor

176 responses to “Why You 6 Must Cross the Floor”
-
Why these six?
-
INTERESTING PIECE
SEEMS THE WHEELS ARE COMING OFF -
This submission is highly speculative. There is nothing in the public space to support that the 6 MPs mentioned are unhappy.
-
MOST OF THE SHITE POSTED ON BU DAILY IS SPECULATIVE……..BUT NO ONE COMPLAINS. WE JUST ENDURE OR ENJOY MOCKING IT.
PIECE’S ARTICLE IS AT LEAST THOUGHT PROVOKING
-
🤣🤣🤣
-
#LoosenTheFoil
#TooMuchFoil
#TooMuchOilOnTheFoil
I luv ya bruddah -
The same Piece was savaging Ralph Thorne on another blog, now he is honourable. SMFH!🤣🤣
-
WTF!!!!!
Yuh mean you couldn’t find anything better to do than come up with this whole heap of speculative rubbish and conspiracy theory shyte?
De ole man must be one very bored individual.
-
It is obvious that the literary reading of some of us are as limited as that of Infants B at Eagle Hall Primary.
But are they not all “Honourable men” is a sarcasm from Julius Caesar that is used by Brutus to rile up the mob to rebellion in that renown play
But one would not expect a dufus in the legion of the Mugabe regime of Brown Shirts to know this
And this is the calibre of people who we have leading us.
Dufuses and despots
-
Piece
The Old Fogy, quoting characters from the western intellectual tradition to give the impression that he is smart …poor thing … the biggest misconception in a western education that if it is difficult it is deep …
-
But Robert Goren
De ole man gots to do too much teaching heah pun BU
Let us just for a moment suppose that the item blogged here is false.
Why choose these specific people.
Eddie, Ralph, Trevor and the others.
Why not Gline or Teets or Pain?
You following de ole man?
So why these specific 6 ? Why is Eddie featured so clearly as the dominant in the composite?
Why not Ralph? Why is he not featured in that role?
So who is going to be the first to fly the coup?
So just watch and see what us truth and what is speculation
-
@ Piece
You brought out the backwardness, idocy and exposed the gullible with their one track mind.
Good job.
-
INNOCENT 83 YEAR OLD MAN SHOT DEAD.
” Chaos broke out as City Christmas shoppers were sent scampering for their lives in bustling Marhill Street – in the shadow of Parliament and within earshot of the Home Affairs Minister – around 6:35 p.m. on Friday after a round of gunshots rang out in the area.
Those stray bullets found pensioner Oscar Hamblin – shot in the head while drinking a beer and liming with friends during a game of dominoes. A nearby doctor rushed to resuscitate Hamblin but he died on the scene.”
-
@RG
you obviously don’t know that PUDYR is the KING of the conspiracy theory?
When he first pronounced…not one RH seat for the DLP….it might have been stated tongue in cheek, but it caught traction and looka what happened?
So now, if ANYBODY crosses the floor, he will have “called it”.PUDYR also called for an “event”, was it Jan 1 or Jan 31?, anyways who knows, they maybe related.
-
So unfortunate, the man was killed by a stray bullet. The violence will get worse. We cannot continue to do the same thing and expect a different result. A few months ago everybody was afraid to us the cellphone in a vehicle, today we see open us of the Mobil device. We are not disciplined as a people read enforcing the laws. We can do better, it happened in the past.
-
@ NO
Do you believe PUDRYR mantra of “not one effing seat for dem” influenced Barbadians to vote out the DLP 30-0, or was the DLP’s demise a result of their doing, 23 credit rating downgrades, blatant corruption, a PM who preferred to remain silent on pertinent issues, but would talk down to people when he found the time to speak and a myriad of other issues?
Barbadians became fed up of the DLP and voted them out. PUDRYR’S “efforts” and the DLP’s defeat were coincidental.
Who among the discarded DLP candidates would the DEMS elected as their president other than Verla, especially when you compared her with the ones who came forward? Stephen Lashley, David Estwick, Donville Inniss and when all the others ran away? Another coincidence.
Tell me what is occurring in Barbados that can be compared with Zimbabwe under Mugabe?
-
To continue:
PUDRYR has been pushing the view that Mia is the only person with sense in the government, yet, he speculates about a breakaway group to for another party. To what end? Where is the traction to come? A case of more of the same?
-
backwardness, idocy and exposed the gullible with their one track mind.
Backwardness and idiocy is exposed when people with their one track mind think others would believe them when they say, under the cloak of anonymity to write shyte that they are so comfortable after attending university and earning in excess of BDS$260,000, when we have no way of verifying if it is true.
On BU anyone can say anything to just sound impressive, even Hal Austin.
-
@ David BU
BOTH DLP and BLP have the same political philosophies and ideologies. And argue this point on BU every day.
So we could of had Errol Mugabe, Tom Mugabe, Erskine Mugabe, Owen Mugabe, David Mugabe and Freundel Mugabe.
-
**** and we argue…..
-
It is a pity that an issue that is so serious should be treated so lightly. But, it is spot on. It is clear the prime minister has more confidence in her advisers and the so-called Social Partnership (Big Business) than she does in her elected colleagues. It is also clear she not only likes leading from the front (she speaks across all briefs) but, it appears, she has little respect for collective Cabinet decision making.
Conflicting ideologies apart, any self-respecting professional person in such a government would, over time, object to the way they are being treated by the prime minister, a woman who it is clear has no doubt about her own abilities. In time this coalition must fall apart and what may well trigger it is when it falls out of favour with the Barbadian public.
France is a good example of what could go wrong in these circumstances. Macron, young, bright and confident, came to power 18 months ago as the man to rescue the Republic, now every weekend in its major cities ordinary people are rebelling against everything he stands for.
The people voted in a BLP government by default; they rejected the incompetence of the DLP and got the BLP. It was a vote against, rather than a vote for. Nothing Mottley has done since May 24 has convinced thinking people that she has a different programme to the DLP.
It is the same mind-set, from the same social and cultural background and the same circulatory mediocrity. Barbados deserves better. As I have said on numerous occasions, it will end in tears.
Barbados is a failed state. -
RG
And now Piece trying to backtrack. 🤣🤣 -
Piece
We often talk about the impertinence of the youth in our society today, but you yourself have failed to come to terms with the fact the by your very diction with is often cloaked with personal attacks, that you are in a large part are contributing to this culture of disrespect.
Now how am I am as a younger man to show you reverence … which is rightfully due to you by the may fact of your chronology, when you get on the blog and behave as though you are a two year old who does not know better or is in want of the appropriate instructions …?
And lastly, Sir you are leaving a legacy of impertinence when you ought to be exemplary of which younger men liken to me ought to be follwing.
I am praying that God does a might work in you Sir, so that you can reach that place in your life where your grandson can upon you with a measure of respect, and not as some old demented fart who is partly ready to shed his earthly taberncle, on his way to meet the Devil…
-
Hal
She speaks across all briefs…so what? Any Prime Minister worth their epsom salts must be able to and should always paint a FULL picture of what her/his government is doing. Barbados is not the UK. The Ministers need to learn to do likewise. She seldom speaks in Parliament and the Ministers have all the opportunity there to big up their ministries, whatever is being debated. Please point out instances of conflicting ideologies and stop being a pick-a-noise specialist, who pretends to be yearning for a debate on the real issues. -
So what if Winston Churchill crossed the floor? What has that rabid racist got to do with anything going on in Barbados?
-
For a PhD, where is the sophistication of your argument?
-
In any case, did the six gentlemen in question ever indicate they wanted to cross the floor?
-
Hal Austin, I am not making an argument. I’m merely pointing out that there is no reason for the people of a Black sovereign state to reference the ideas or activities of Caucasian racists, especially those who had no regard for the wellbeing of Barbados during a period of social and economic chaos. What Winston Churchill did should not be assumed to represent a viable model for anything a Black Barbadian would wish to do.
-
@ Enuff
You must give Austin credit when he deserves it.
His comment that “Nothing Mottley has done since May 24 has convinced thinking people that she has a different programme to the DLP” is correct and sums this situation.
Since I returned to this island I have not seen any significant or fundamental differences between the policies of the previous DLP administration and the incumbent BLP administration.
People voted for change and to be honest, all we’re getting are generalised statements and political rhetoric (reminds me of Mariposa when she responds to a question).
But I am not prepared to take it to the extreme like Austin or PUDRYR.
I don’t believe that there is anything occurring in Barbados that could be compared with Zimbabwe under Mugabe.
-
And I am asking about the sophistication of your argument – or claim. How is reactionary black nationalism, a re-birth of 1960s nonsense, going to advance Barbados? Intellectual discourse involves referencing all ideas, even if only to dismiss them.
-
Amidst all the back slapping about reserves going “up” (nevertheless on borrowed money)
The social enviroment of this country is deteriorating at a rapid speed
Gun violence in barbados is at the same level as when Jamaica social enviroment started to implode
A disturbing silence across local media on this problem seems to have become a norm and the order of the day
So far for the year a total of 29 murders have been recorded
One can rest assured that it is not going to get better as self preservation becomes the rooted cause for survival (along the way) as govt policies chip away at certain standards of living barbadians have got accustomed to. -
@ Margaret Briton, PhD
Look out……
-
Mariposa
What was the total number of murders last year?RGoren
In time. -
Note worthy govt response to the growing epidemic of crime is to arm police to the “teeth”
Barbadians ought to be aware that this type of knee jerk response can also lead to more deaths by accidental firing because of stray bullets which can affect innocent lives
In a country of 275thousand people our lives soon will been caught up in a military style enviroment because of increasing crime while govt throws its hands in the air and depend on hastened decisions as a method of solutions -
Enuff you are part of the problem all ready and armed with your ignorant political firing power while ignoring the issue at hand an issue that affects everyone lives
Steupse.. -
Hal Austin, there is a type of Black person, who is so enamoured of the Caucasian paradigm that they cannot bear any thought which emerges from the history of ideas of the Black experience. To refer to my statements as “reactionary” and “rebirth of the 1960s nonsense” clearly identifies you as being ignorant of the cutting edge ideas that have been developed among Black academics, especially in African studies departments in both HBCU and HWCU universities. Quite simply, there are enough viable political positions taken by Black people in defence of democracy in the West that there is no need to reference any action taken by an open and rabid Caucasian racist as a model for political action in Barbados, a majority Black nation state. And no, intellectual discourse does not require a referencing of ALL ideas, because there are ideas that have been nurtured within the consciousness of those who make it their life’s work to exploit Black nation states and the people who inhabit them, and whose written-in-stone narratives about Black people are filled with tropes intended to normalize Black dispossession, both as ideology and economic fact. One needs to be able to identify such ideas and discard them, because they have no place in our discourse.
-
“Food for thought”
A person personal views on race should not detract from his or her courage, determination, and ability to inspire and motivate a people in the face of impending peril…
-
Lexicon, how can a racist, who openly articulated racist views, inspire Black people? Think about that for a minute. Are you inspired by the Klu Klux Klan, or by Donald Trump? Winston Churchill and Donald Trump hold the same ideological
positions concerning Black people. Would you quote David Duke or Donald Trump in order to motivate Black people? Why not quote instead any of the millions of Black intellectuals, political activists and social activists who had the interests of Black nation states deep at heart? Let us be more aware and discriminating as a people with regard to those with whom we align ourselves. Let us also be aware that racism is a mental pathology which is deeply ingrained within the psyches of those so afflicted. They are very much aware of what they say and the effect what the say will have on people. Let us also be aware. -
Statistics from the OSAC report for Barbados written on 4..26/17 it shows that in 2016
Murders 8
Kidnapping4
Sexual assault 64
Robberies 65
Shootings 19
Resedential burglaries 361
Drug related crime 563
Vehicle theft 37OSAC report 2017. Barbados
Murders 11
Kidnapping 4
Sexual assault 60
Robberies 84
Shootings 29
Residential burgalries 361
Drug related crime 567
Vehicle thefts 41Looking at our gun violence we have already reached or past the 29 number statistic for previous years
One can expect that before the year end more blood would be shed
This is not the time to be nudge by political grandstanding and appeasement giving appearances that all is well
A govt that said and made promises for better changes must be held accountable
Right now the smoke and mirror policies have run the course …and rightfully(so) relevant questions by the media should be asked and truthful answers by govt given -
So it is currently the same as last year, when you were silent? We had a problem then and we still have one now. It needs to be addressed. No politics here, just pointing out your kind.
-
@Margret Brito,
There are all kinds of black people, some enamoured of the white paradigm, such as that of higher education. And there are black people who live in the real world. As I am sure you are aware, there is revolutionary black nationalism, and there is reactionary black nationalism. That is the lesson of the 1960s Black Power movement and of African liberation.
You are right about my ignorance of the ideas that have developed among black academics, but not so the ideas of ordinary black people. I have been a witness to this development since the 1960s and remember well the rise of black studies in the US and Europe.
I am also aware of the contradiction in your argument: on the one hand there are enough ‘viable political positions’ taken by black people in defence of so-called democracy. That, I suggest, is political nonsense. The black struggle since emancipation has been one of liberation. Which democracy in the West has liberated black people, or even treated them with respect?. Trump’s US? Macron’s France? May’s UK?
Your rejection of challenging and debating with ALL ideas is reflective of a narrow educational culture which shows in the wider society. But you contradict yourself by admitting that one has to identify and discard irrelevant ideas. You must make up your mind what you mean.
In the 1990s, if you lived in black-dominated Rwanda, a brutal death would be a brutal death whether you were a Tutsi or Hutu, or is death at the hands of a black savage dictator more acceptable than death at the hands of a liberal Caucasian (presumably you mean white) person?
Remind me, what is the black economic discourse that you hinted at? Also elaborate on the ideology of black domination.
The bottom line is that we have had this nonsense played out for over fifty years and you are as much a victim of this ‘Africanity’ as the nationalists in their Dashikis and books preaching about the Supremacy of black religion.
Or, more at home, if you are hungry and living in dilapidated housing it does not matter if the government is the black DLP or the black BLP; poverty is poverty; missed opportunities are missed opportunities.
It is significant that over 50 years after constitutional independence we are still as a nation debating reparations and white oppression; at some point the debate must move on. Now that is a subject for a PhD thesis..
-
Margaret that PhD you have maddenning Hal.🤣🤣
-
Enuff there you go again showing your “excellent” ignorance in political stupidy
Why should it be the same and not less
What kind of expectations one should accept from this govt
Grandstanding and political exercise have run their course
Barbados is on a path to social economic ruination and all u can say is ” but what uh about Dem” -
Stupse! You’re accusing me of political stupidity while at the same time only NOW realising “Barbados is on a path to social economic ruination” although last year a similar number of shootings occurred. I dun! Dishonest af!
-
Margaret Brito PhD
I must say that I am rather impressed by your discourse here this morning, and often stress the fact that as an impressionable youth growing up in the Barbadian society during the early 1980s, our illustrious leader Errol Barrow once implored the young people of my generation to disregard what we were being taught in school regarding Christopher Columbus, and he made it emphatically clear that we were to only employ such information for the purpose of passing an exam. And I must say devoid of much ambiguity, that the force of his very words still resonates with me to this day …
-
@ Enuff
Mariposa is playing politics on this issue and implying that the policies of this administration is responsible for the assumed increase in gun related crimes, which is nonsense. The police statistics indicate that there has not been an increase in crime. And the stats she brought basically are in agreement with the police.
The argument would have been better presented is she had compared the crime over a period of time and under similar conditions and you will be able to establish a trend.
What was the crime rate before and during the 1993 structural adjustment program?
You will also learn that Barbados’ crime rate was at it’s ever recorded highest at a time the economy was blooming.
It has been established that causes of these incidences of shootings are
related to revenge, drugs and gangs. Yes, guns are involved in robberies, which isn’t anything new.Yesterday’s shooting death was not an intentional shoot or attempted robbery, the guy was unfortunate to be at the wrong place at the wrong time.
Those who are advising Mariposa on this issue are not giving her good advice and she needs to stop trying to politicize every issue and blaming the government for everything.
-
I have stumbled into an argument between the BLP Dumb and the DLP Dumber!
Let me help you two – we don’t give a bleep about party politics. Both parties need dunning to bleep up!
Call me DJ Dun the Party!
-
-
“Welcome to the new boss
Same as the old boss” -
Margaret Brito phD
Would you quote Donald Trump to motivate Black people? YES …
But only if he changes his views on race … I am not quite sure how religious you are, but I am cognizant of the fact that you have probably heard the biblical story of Paul the Apostle, and how he used to prosecuted Christians, but after he had changed his views on Christianity, he became a might witness for the Faith, and the same can be said of Donald Trump if he changes his views on race…?