Government Ministers can corrupt a national economy by giving no-bid (or no-tendering) contracts in exchange for bribes.  The participating businesses are normally the least competent in the country, who can only survive by paying bribes to shield them from fair competition.  Their incompetence is normally revealed in the substandard goods and services they provide.

The substandard goods normally require excessive and costly maintenance and premature replacement.  The same protected businesses are normally contracted to provide those additional services.  The public is forced to pay for the bribes, and the excessive maintenance and replacement costs, through increased taxes – craftly taken.

The advice of no-bid consultants tends to be abysmally substandard, resulting in costly consequences for the Government.  The Ministers dare not accuse the no-bid consultants of gross incompetence, since that risks exposing the no-bid contracts to scrutiny.  It is much cleaner politically to simply increase taxes on citizens to pay for the no-bid consultants’ costly mistakes.

In Barbados, both political administrations have accused the other of awarding no-bid contracts to their supporters.  However, what occurred during the last decade should never be repeated.  A first-hand typical example in one economic sub-sector should suffice.

A Consulting Engineer’s curriculum vitae (CV) currently has a functional life of 5 years.  That means that if the Engineers cannot prove that they have worked on similar projects during the past 5 years, then they are disqualified from tendering on those types of projects.

Under the last DLP administration, there were several projects in my field that I would normally have submitted a tender.  However, tendering seemed to have been abolished.  My qualifications and experience are internationally competitive, and I was able to find sufficient work around the Caribbean.  However, what was merely inconvenient for me was disastrous for others.

As the 5-year CV deadline was approaching, I was contacted by several Engineers who needed to participate in some work in order to keep their CVs alive.  I helped as many as I was able, but tragically, I could not help them all.

I literally begged three Ministers of Government to allow tendering to resume in Barbados, and was told that a ‘berry’ could be found for me.  I explained that I did not want any ‘berry’.  I just wanted all Engineers to be given the same opportunity to tender fairly.  I received no ‘berry’ and no tenders were allowed for about 7 years.

To disqualify Barbadian Engineers from tendering for 5 years is wicked.  To extend that to 7 years, thus damaging the competitiveness of Barbadian Engineers, is to cross a boundary into an evil that we have hitherto not known in Barbados.

I have been informed that members of other professions had similar complaints of the last DLP administration, with all work being given to the politically favoured through no-bid contracts.  Many good companies were severely harmed, and became significantly less competitive, due to the DLP’s unconscionable behaviour during that time.

Before DLP candidates even think about making any public comment on any issue in Barbados, they first need to repent of the wickedness and be exorcised of the evil that they embraced, to our harm, during their last time in Government.  Nothing less should do.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

151 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – Repent”

1. Lorenzo yardfowl…was the debt removed…no??? which means Mia Borrows will still be BORROWING right through the next 4 years 5 months…..ah know it takes only crumbs to appease yardfowls and make them feel special and proud…but at least have some self respect…ya will die in debt..

2. Lorenzo. Does a fisherman or a butcher ever say their products stink
    In this case the butcher IMF and the fisherman govt are in bed together
    It would hard to perceive one telling different stories about the catch of the day
    The IMF writes the menu and and Greenidge and govt sells the rotten goods to the public
    The IMF praises govt for putting a stranglehold on the public to pay the rich wealthy financial institutions
    You lorenzo the duffus claps loud and hard of govt and IMF policies while everyhousehold in barbados suffer
    Wuh kind of RH are you

3. Now talking pig sh.it about teaching people two languages in the same nonsensical manner talking about paying workers with junk bonds

4. Mia said that the layoffs would be around 1500hundred and now today the mouthpiece Greenidge sings another tune
    By the the time IMF and govt finished with barbados nobody would be working and the whole country would be starking mad

5. “You lorenzo the duffus claps loud and hard of govt and IMF policies while everyhousehold in barbados suffer
    Wuh kind of RH are you”

Seems like the yardfowls who are too far gone will NEVER LEARN.

There is nothing to be proud of being in debt and BORROWING every week…had both DBLP not been so CORRUPT for so many DECADES…the island COULD NEVER be in such a predicament of borrowing to SURVIVE while people STARVE with their CHILDREN and are UNABLE to send them to school..

Lorenzo and Enuff yardfowls should ask the Mia government to return all the stolen loot they hid away in offshore accounts for DECADES…. money and land THEY ALL STOLE FROM THE PEOPLE ….return it to help jump start the economy and reduce the BORROWING SPREE THAT MIA IS CURRENTLY ON….

.,…while they at it, also have the DLP thieves, the LAWYER THIEVES and the MINORITY THIEVES also return what they stole over the decades…. from the island.

6. A Happy Good morning to all…
    I am a man who is on the borderline of being a Christian and an atheist, but it is such a beautiful morning that I must give thanks to our Lord and Savior.

I am willing to bet that most of you believe that there is a great divide between atheism and Christianity, but in my case I may switch from one to the other several times during the day… Just call me confused

*******—————my contribution——————————*****

I am here struggling to remember all of the thoughts of Chairman WARU on yardfowls
    I think I will have to make notes. Some gems are not being recorded for posterity..

…….yardfowls are ALWAYS THE LAST TO KNOW..
    …..yardfowls who are too far gone will NEVER LEARN.
    ,,,,,,ah know it takes only crumbs to appease yardfowls and make them feel special and proud

The best was when one person remarked that he was ‘sitting on the fence’ and watching what going on in the yard. and the response was “that is what yardfowls do”, they sit on the fence’ and watching what going on in the yard

I need to document the “thoughts of chairman WARU”, BU authority on yardfowls.
    🙂
    Perhaps I should interview her
    Why do you think Enuff is a yardfowl?
    Do you think he earns his keep?
    Is Mariposa more effective than Enuff
    Who is the biggest yardfowl on BU?
    Any free range chickens here?
    Looking at my questions, do you think I am a better journalist than Haha? 🙂

A Happy Good morning to all. It is a beautiful day.

7. Oh heck, I promised myself I would never use that word again. 100 line “range restricted chickens”

8. TheoGarts

What is it that you do not understand about Christianity? And what is it that makes you switch back and forth from these two ideologies? I can tell from experience that without the in dwelling Spirit of God … that it is practically impossible to arrive at a true understanding of who God is.

9. TheoGazerts

And I think that you are more of an agnostic than an atheist … because an atheistic worldview is an absolute one … meaning that you are convinced beyond doubt that the concept of a supernatural dictator is a figment of the imagination … in other words … empirical evidence hasn’t give way to reality of a supernatural arbiter who exercises oversight … over the universe and the affairs of man …

10. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Mariposa
    @ WARU

THE two of you need to comprehend the role of the two pooch lickers whose names de ole man refuses to call.

They have been sent to dissuade both of you from your anti Mugabe Mottley campaign

Do not pause but WARU, whereas Mariposa is campaigning to reinstate the DLP, might de ole man suggest that you assist the incoming Third Party Movement??

This duo WHOSE NAME DE OLE MAN REFUSES TO CALL, because they both are non entities, have been sent with one purpose

To run interference against people who will not drink the Mugabe Coolaid

They understand that Mugabe’s government and governance IS FAILING and they have been sent with the tantric chant of the fallen ones WHICH WOUKD ENSLAVE MERE MORTALS were there not saints and angels of light appointed to preserve the believers in the Christ

Ignore them

Ignore them and watch as they come with their impotent dribble and try all sorts of things to engage

11. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Grenville Phillips You cocontinue to show yourself to be the absolute worse political aspirant there has ever been, to mount a Third Party Movement

For besides 1. Muzzling your team members 2. And launching multiple articles simultaneously NONE OF WHICH YOU REVERT TO NURTURE you 3. Continue to congratulate Mugabe Mottley and demons from the DLP as well and 4. Choose all the donkey topics you can.

Here is a suggestion which you will not take

LAUNCH A PETITION.ORG campaign

Let me explain the idea to you rufus that you continue to be.

I offer no apology to you for this disdain that I accord you publicly BECAUSE YOU ARE YOUR OWN WORSE ENEMY.

Launch this online petition at petition.org which specifically asks We the Bajan People to come and sign it and give their support against the Plan by The Mugabe Government to cut off all cases older than 10 years.

MAKE SURE THAT YOU DO NOT REGISTER THEIR EMAIL ADDRESSES and if they provide it, that it is optional, DO YOU UNDERSTAND WHY YOU MUST NOT INSIST ON THEIR EMAIL ADDRESSES? (Like Heather Cole?)

12. @PUDRYR

You are aware a third party movement will gain traction only if the third parties are credible in the eyes of the electorate?

13. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I look at this in the perspective of options really.

And how people are “encouraged ” to see those options

Let me explain

The Barbados Labour Party did not “win” this election inasmuch as the Democratic Labour Party convincingly LOST IT

Exposing their incompetence to the suffering populace only hastened their departure from the scene.

There are only 3 things that a third party Movement needs to do to win a General Election in Barbados in 2023.

THEY MUST SHOW THAT “MIA DOES NOT CARE” and that her tenure of 5 years was one of unfairness and dismissals, breaking and rewriting the laws and the quashing of alternative opinion.

That is extremely easy to do BECAUSE, BY HER DAILY ACTIONS, HER RECORD IS SELF EVIDENT!!!

THE THIRD PARTY MOVEMENT needs to bring options to the table EVEN NOW WHILE MUGABE IS IN POWER.

it has to show people that it is capable of delivering EVDN WHILE MUGABE IS AT THE REINS.

And that is one of the easiest things to do aided as one is by social media.

And it has to promote people of integrity and MAKE SURE THAT THEIR MESSAGE IS HEARD.

As people look carefully at this blog Honourable Blogmaster one of the things they are seeing is that, irrespective of the bias your household has for the Mugabe regime, you are afraid.

You and all citizens are afraid of the rule of thugs and criminals who Mugabe is copying to assist her regime

But the thing about that action by her us that IF SHE ESTABLISHES THIS, she will become a casualty of that structure!

Two smart rats cannot live in one hole.

And ALL THESE SANCTIMONIOUS PEOPLE who always talking bout Barbados is a Christian nation need to get up off their asses and open their mouths against this shit while they can.

INCLUDING YOU, cause Mugabe is plotting to eradicate all these blogs

And all these survey documents and pdfs from the GIS websites are designed to put keylooging software on viewer machines

But you dun know that dont you?

And now you start to see why these impotent half assed comments by your bloggers about pup is really waste foopism WHEN THAT BIGGER PROBLEM LOOMS

14. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item for you thank you

15. @PUDRYR

What viable options can a third party movement deliver when underlying all the policies of the political parties is an objective to fund consumer conspicuous consumption?

16. PIECE
    THERE IS MUCH MERIT IN YOUR SUGGESTIONS SIR……..MUCH MERIT!
    IT IS TRUTE YOU AH TELL.

17. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Any Third Party Movement coming to the fore MUST BRING ONE SINGLE THING TO THE COUNTRY!!!!

Every candidate IN ADDITION TO THE MANDATORY REQUIREMENT OF BEING MEN &WOMEN OR MORALS must show that they are bringing something to the table.

Let me explain this to you in terms that you and other readers will understand Honourable Blogmaster

Here is what My God has shown me

There are men and women of all ages and colours and races who love Barbados
    They are being told “DO NOT FEAR, BECAUSE I THE LORD YOUR GOD WILL STRENGTHEN YOUR RIGHT HAND”
    The campaign that will be run on is a simple one.

Worship, Faith & Truth

We worship the One Living God through whom we live and breathe and have our being.

Our Faith in Him gives Us all the Tools our nation needs to overcome all these trivial problems

We will accord, and afford, ALL MEN, IRRESPECTIVE OF THEIR “STANDING” IN SOCIETY, the dispensation of TRUTH.

And men like Jeff Cumberbatch, and Caswell Franklyn and Leigh Trotman and women who de ole man ent going mention here cause…

These will be the sort of agents that the Third Party Movement will search out and appoint and all the posturers and slothful people will be shifted BECAUSE THEY ARE KILLING OUR COUNTRY.

Every ingrunt Law Mia Mugabe passes between now and 2023 WILL BE REPEALED
    THE PARTY WILL COME TO THE STAGE WITH A PORTFOLIO OF FUNCTIONING AND DIVERSE ASSETS THAT SHOW ITS TRACK RECORD
    ITS CANDIDATES WILL TAKE $19.66 CENTS for the first 6 months of their appointment to the House of Assembly and Senate when appointed as the government of Barbados

The rest of their collective salaries will be distributed to those civil society organisations which have been in existence for > 5 Years and which (1) feed the less fortunate and/or (2) cater to the needy.

The “Power of Recall” shall be implemented immediately upon being given the mandate by the people
    The Manifesto of the Third Part Movement will be published in 2020, 3 years prior to the Election and a mini series of actions will be implemented by the Party, during the following 3 years, to SHOW BAJANS CONCLUSIVELY, THAT IT WILL BE DONE, ACCORDING TO HIS WILL!

18. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster de ole man has responded to your query thank you

19. Word on the ground. The fish at Greame Hall sanctuary has died/dying because if the daily deluge of toxins which have been deposited into the swamp from the sewer plant
    Where are the socalled enviromentalist like Kammie Holder and all the other enviromentalist mouths who had invaded the island three years ago
    Where are all them at a crucial time when Gods protectors of the enviroment are being killed through no fault of their own

20. Piece @ 6:03 a.m.

Your comments above are spot on.

I agree that :

A) That the DLP lost the election rather than the BLP won it.

I believe that the DLP contributed to this by some of their ministers actions – the lack of communication from the prime minister as well as other ministers some of whom had some achievements under their belt like Richad Sealy in Tourism, Stephen lashley in Culture, Donville in Health, Jones in the area of the increase in new schools, Sinckler in what he was facing and how he was able to keep the ship afloat and the behavioural changes he needed from the populace which required effective communication ,etc etc.

However ministers such as Estwick, Lowe, Michael Lashley in the second term – added to the negative narrative out there to an already struggling DLP.

However with time – honest analysis will show that The Nation Newspaper and VOB under Ellis and his moderators and News Manager – all worked with diligence in ensuring that the government was changed by promoting every issue whether big or small as a crisis – AND NOW WE ARE WITNESSING THAT THE SAID VERY ISSUES THAT WERE MAJOR BEFORE 24th MAY ARE NO LONGER HIGHLIGHTED ALL DAY – EVERY DAY – ON THE VOB NEWS WITH STETSON BABB, OR ON THE VOB CALL IN SHOWS,AND ESPECIALLY ON THE NATION’S FRONT PAGES.

David Thompson during his short reign – decided to limit his party’s business transactions with that newspaper and their nasty hidden agenda was eventually exposed by Roy Morris when he left that newspaper.

God doesn’t sleep – what goes around comes around.

Many persons for a number of ears before the last elections – were manipulated by that Media Group Nation & VOB as well as by the paid BLP Plants on Social media orchestrated of course by Charles Jong (now a paid gov’t employe – well,well), they were also manipulated by the Unions working together with the Private sector, by certain lecturers up at Cave Hill e.g. Tennyson Joseph,George Belle. While at the same time the government was being undermined by SOME of the very public servants who are now feeling the pinch of the shoe.

The people were short- changed, fed propaganda, whipped up in a frenzied state of frustration and sold a defective bill of sale – while at the same time all the defects in the item (Mottley) that was for sale – was hidden and presented as shining and bright.

People it seems are now having Buyer’s remorse.

2) The suggestions for the 3rd parties are also very useful – and my only advice for these 3rd parties – is don’t wait for things to fall in your lap – but go out there and get to know the people you want to “SERVE” – AND DETAIL YOUR PHILOSOPHY AND PLAN.

For me right now I am more interested in honest information, honest analysis, workable solutions for this country – and less of the political Fluff.

Right now it is about exposing a sinister agenda that is afoot and calling right – right, and wrong – wrong.

Barbados is at a Tipping Point right now.

21. re honest analysis will show that The Nation Newspaper and VOB under Ellis and his moderators and News Manager – all worked with diligence in ensuring that the government was changed by promoting every issue whether big or small as a crisis – AND NOW WE ARE WITNESSING THAT THE SAID VERY ISSUES THAT WERE MAJOR BEFORE 24th MAY ARE NO LONGER HIGHLIGHTED ALL DAY – EVERY DAY – ON THE VOB NEWS WITH STETSON BABB, OR ON THE VOB CALL IN SHOWS,AND ESPECIALLY ON THE NATION’S FRONT PAGES.

IS NOT ALL THIS THE SAME THAT HAS HAPPENED TO THE TRUMP ADMINISTRATION IN THE USA………..BUT HE WAS ABLE TO CUT TAXES ….REDUCE STIFFLING REGULATIONS…….AND IMPROVE THE ECONOMY

THE DLP DID THE REVERSE AND ADVERSELY SO ah lie?
    AND THE BLP IS JUST AS BAD AND WILL BE WORSE WHETHER THE LOCAL FAKE NEWS ARE IN COLLUSION WITH HER OR NOT.

SOON BARBADOS WILL BE GOING TO FRANCE…..JUST AS FRANCE IS GOING CURRENTLY. ah lie?

22. Sorry to burst the bubble but govt already has an iron clad mechanism which has locked down and locked out all arguments against its policies
    Hence we have the IMF already taking control and the media doing the bidding of that organization with articles that only make their policies seem necessary for barbados recovery
    At this point it really doesnt matter which govt wins unless their is an opposing voice that can take the fight to the IMF and wins a fight which would mean cutting ties from that institution and relying on our policies for survival

23. Georgie Porgie

Trump, also said that he would erase the national debt in 8 years. And when he said that the national debt was $19 trillion dollars … it has since risen to $21.7 trillion dollars GP … so your boy is doing an excellent job …

24. Social partners have now decided to meet after the first IMF initial report – but notice they didn’t think it was urgent to have such a meeting after the botched rollout of BERT and the continued chaos and hardship of the lay offs in the public service.

Remember Toni Moore, Akanni Mcdowell and Charles Herbert telling the public that the last government would not meet with them – which was refuted by P.M. Stuart ?

Remember Charles Herbert telling Prime Minister on the Thursday – that he Stuart had to meet with the Lion and the Lambs (Business & Unions) by the next Monday morning or else – there will be SOCIAL UNREST ?

And dat had to do wid the NISRL Tax that the businesses had to pay upfront and not hide – and not something as serious as poor people – sometimes both husband and wife being sent home without the financial pay out – yuh hear

Well you would think that with every single Union in Barbados crying out about the offensive and high handed way these lay-offs have been done -that Akanni,Toni Moore,Mary Redman,Rosalind Smith,Pedro Shepherd – would all be marching for the breach of all conventions and lies being told by Mia about employees going home with their packages.

Not so ! Instead the maguffies have been making token comments about their concerns about the lay offs while the spirited representations have been left to the juniors in the Union like Wayne Walrond, Delcia Burke -nupw; Paul -BWU; the new kid on the block Edwin O’neal Sugar workers Assoc and then The Real Deal Himself – Caswell.

So what do we have :

Mia is carrying out her Agenda and Not the Agenda of Barbados;

The Media is covering for her and facilitating her pushing her Agenda through,they’re not giving any critical analysis to what she is doing – AND THE PEOPLE ARE LEFT IN THE DARK;

The Unions bar one have sold out the workers;

The private sector have paid the pipers and are now calling for the tunes they want played;

The IMF laughing because they got us by the short and curly

And I suppose all is well in the kingdom right ?

Ah well. Sigh .

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

@TI
    It took Barbadians many years and numerous downgrades BEFORE they marched. They SHOULD have been marching YEARS BEFORE. What makes you think the ethos of Barbadians has changed?

26. NorthernObserver Avatar

What is most interesting to me, is the IMPORTANCE placed by those with a political axe to grind, on that peaceful little March. Obviously, it had a LASTING effect on many, as they raise it constantly.

27. NorthernObserver

The problem with most Barbadians is the fact that they do not know our understand the value of their liberties. Even when their liberties are threatened they still cannot find the courage and will to stand up in the face of this adversity …

28. Lexicon

One of the good things about living in America is the fact that it teaches you how to value your rights … and the importance of exercising them when others try to undermine them … some here have endeavoured to decry the effectiveness of the union … but if it is one thing the union has taught me after three- decades of membership is the importance of social- protest …

29. Only those who are discerning would understand what went down there with that so called ‘peaceful little march’.

So to the discerning – Remain Vigilant.

If the Unions felt it was so important to march because the NISRL was moved from 2 % to 10 % – then.cuhdear – how come something that is even more egregious – that is – the sending home of staff without any notice to their Unions which is standard employment practice – and the breach of agreement to send home workers with their moneys in their hand on the same day – as well as to honour the last in first out principle as agreed – and finally the decision to pay workers some outstanding money by way of government bonds – how come that did not result in an island wide shut down huh ?

Yuh mean the Union sit down and take dat blow in duh stomach without a whimper ?

.Something like that which directly affects the future of the members of their Unions who have been paying their dues ?

But they march because of an 8 % increase in NISRL. ? .Man gimme a break .

Remember Akanni,Toni Moore,Mary Redman and those Unionists said the last government was dis respecting them ?

So wuh yuh call this ?

Acting Gen. Secretary of the NUPW – Delcia Burke said – ” about 290 workers from Central Government and the Civil Service were terminated yesterday” ( ie 16th November 2018)

SHE CONTINUED TO LAMENT THE FACT THAT THE UNION WAS NOT BEING FULLY INFORMED OF THE DEPARTMENTS BEING AFFECTED BY THE CUTS.

“We have not been given any real concrete information.We have been trying to get details and information and we really have not received anything.”

WE HAVE TO WAIT UNTIL PEOPLE (WORKERS) COME TO US,BURKE SAID.

R- E – S- P – E – C – T.

All we want is a little respect.

Now dat is something to march for no ?

Similar comments from Edwin O’neale – staff Association for Sugar Workers

But the Unions don’t see the need to march now – instead like Caswell Franklyn said – they want to roll over on the back and let Mia tickle their bellies.HAHAHAHA.

30. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

I wonder if the female empress has been made aware of the outcome of the social unrest that hit France over the last weekend. As a result of four weeks of mass demonstrations laced with violence that severely damaged the french economy. Macron has finally caved in to the voice of the street.

Here are the salient points that have come out of his capitulation:

– declared an ‘social and economic state of emergency’
    – Addressing the nation this evening he promised minimum wage increases
    – He also vowed to crack down on tax evasion and state bureaucracy

This comes after weeks of violent protests by members of the Yellow Vest movement ”

Is there a lesson that Bajans could learn from their french counterparts?

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-6478853/Macron-pleads-union-leaders-bid-placate-Yellow-Vest-protesters.html#comments

31. Talking Loud

Strange coincidence.I was thinking only this afternoon that there are lessons to be learnt by Mia – from the French unrest,as well as the Brexit fiasco.

On the matter of France – what comes across clearly is that voters can love you today and reject you tomorrow – so never get so emboldened by the media hype.

Macron was the voters darling in 2016 (or was it 2015 ?) – yet the people quickly soured on him as they felt he was pushing his agenda rather than listening to them.

In Barbados on 25th May when bajans woke up to the shock that they had given all 30 seats to one party – reality started to sink in. As time progressed and they saw Mia boldly doing ALL THE THINGS SHE CRITICISED THE LAST GOVERNMENT FOR – and lying at a the drop of a hat – while at the same time seeking to milk this ‘woe is me – I get a bad deal and its all their fault – whatever I have to do.’ sad song – THEY KNEW THE GOT TEK..

People have slowly but surely soured on Mia as well – the full extent will only be known when an opportunity arises.

32. NorthernObserver Avatar

discerning? as in ‘insightful’? or as in dis-earning?
    do you think the Unions were marching against a rise in NSRL, or was that increase the apex of other taxes, while they had not got a raise for their dues payers in umpteen years? And while GoB expenses were ballooning outta control, they weren’t getting a piece?
    do you think the business community was marching against a few point rise in the NSRL, or against an administration who had the mathematical skills of a first form student, and couldn’t come close to balancing a RH budget, even as the debt growth spiraled upward. And who has dis-earned multiple credit downgrades.

You think the ethos has changed, or like before, Barbadians going to do nothing and watch, and give them a chance?

33. I would not know where to start to rebunk all that was just said.

So I will let my post speak for itself.

34. Sorry should read * debunk * and not rebunk.

35. NorthernObserver Avatar

Alright den….but TI, doan waste time worrying about lessons which apply to MAM. She is just like FJS, she will do whatever the hell she wants. You think we call them the DBLP for sport?

36. They are not 2 sides of the same coin, although I will not stand and defend any except to point out flawed reasoning where I see it.

37. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ T. Inniss

You seriously did not wrote

And I quote “…some of whom had some achievements under their belt like

Richard Sealy in Tourism, (Free Willy of de Visa Card expenditure of $15k to de thang in de Pine?)
    Stephen lashley in Culture, (lil Caesar and de world bank money)
    Donville in Health, (pornville in ankle bracelet in Miami)
    Jones in the area of the increase in new schools, (schools like de one in Casa Grande dat de CEO get lock up)
    Sinckler in what he was facing and how he was able to keep the ship afloat…? (When you say ship afloat are you referring to launch afloat in Port St Charles or de shite that he was floating as a homegrown economic programme dat give de cuntry 23 downgrades?

When you and Mariposa compare your notes do not either of you throttle the other and rein in the nex body by saying “down write dat” or “doan mention dem name?”

38. Piece sometimes u talk nuff shite compare what notes i am a spokesperson for myself.

39. Massy Stores is positioning itself to cash in when Florida-headquartered Ross University, moves to Barbados in a month.

The Trinidad-based conglomerate has taken over the Fresh Market supermarket, just a year after it opened at the Villages at Coverley, Christ Church.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/12/10/massy-expecting-ross-moves-to-coverley/

40. We could write a new verse starting with ” Barbados really fuh cup.”

41. @Hants

It is unfortunate one of the local operators did not have what it took to win the supermarket concession at Coverley.

42. @ T. Inniss

You did not have to cite coincidences using France and the UK, when we had a perfect example right here in Barbados.

In 2008 Barbadians loved the DLP and in 2018 they rejected the DLP to the extent that Bajans did not give DEM one seat in parliament.

Many of us here believe the political philosophies of the DLP and BLP are similar. The evidence is there.
    Your response to NorthernObserver that they are not 2 sides of the same coin confirms you are a DLP lapdog. You and Fractured BLP come with the same type of silly criticisms.

43. It is unfortunate one of the local operators did not have what it took to win the supermarket concession at Coverley.
    Perhaps if you speculated on ‘what it took to win the concession’ your question would be answered…

What has been the wont of people of the ilk who made these decisions …when it comes to disposing of Local assets…?

Did Bushie not spend MUCH time explaining that, rather than empower typical locals (read Black), they were disposed to giving deals and bargains to Trickidadians, Canadians …anyone else…
    Banks
    BS&T
    BL&P
    Bartel
    …better yet…
    Ask MoneyBrain about his father’s thinking…..

44. I recently heard a well respected American historian lamenting the fact that with the ascent of Donald Trump into the Whitehouse – his brand of politics has so tarnished the political landscape, that what is emerging is a disregard for positive traditions and conventions – a disregard for political truth.

The historian compared past U.S Presidents like Lincoln, then the notorious Nixon and down to the modern day ones like the late George Herbert Bush,Obama,Ronald Regan etc and noted with despair how these Presidents who would have made certain pronouncements whether with sincerity or not – were made to pay in some way for these mis- statements .Like for example, George Herbert Bush :’ Read my lips no more taxes”,

However with this new type of politics – there seem to be no regard for truth by both Trump and the Republican elected officials.Trump seemed to have mastered this telling of untruths to an art – with no sense of shame.

Closer to home we are witnessing a most disgraceful mirroring of Trump’s political playbook by Mottley – with her bold faced lying to the Barbadian electorate – One after the other,after the other the lies come – and on serious issues as well.

Even while she was Opposition Leader Mia came in the House of Assembly and lied – saying that Sinckler had defaulted on the Credit Suisse loan.Chris asked her to produce the evidence – she had nothing to produce – so he produced the evidence in the next sitting showing the loan had been paid.No apology from Mia,she just moved on to the next lie.

Then again as Opposition leader she accused Dennis Lowe of having a fake degree from a University overseas – again she was asked to produce her evidence – she could not so Lowe produced his and asked her to show whether she in fact had a legal certificate – not a sound from her on that anymore.

Owen told us how as Leader of Opposition she met with her parliamentary group and agreed to support the change to BRA – because it was started when they ( the BLP) was in office.However when she got to the house she proceeded to move against the bill and instructed the other opposition MPs to do the same.Owen refused and later resigned.

Doesn’t that remind you of Trump’s accusation before he became President, that Barak Obama was not born in America but in Kenya – and when asked to produce evidence – he kept promising and promising – Until Obama decided to shut down that lie by producing the original birth certificate.

Now Mia is Prime minister and the lies continue – whether it is that a Cabinet of 17 ministers means that (and I quote) “some ministers don’t even see 10 files a day”. So that they don’t even have a half day job – But she however decides to have 26 or more ministers and when challenged she laughed I the face of the stooge who asked the question and said – ‘many hands make light work’. In other words ‘yuh fool stop asking me foolish questions – I am P.M. now.

She also decried the use of Permanent Secretaries – but she is now using them also.

She lied and told the Nation – all public servants will be going home with their severance package – until it was discovered that they were not .

She lied and told the Opposition leader – Bishop Joseph Atherley – that he will get a meeting with White Oaks – to find out what that company are the terms for hiring White Oaks – but nothing further on that.

She lied about the reason for the termination of public servants and the method to be used;

She lied about how she will deal with the affected businesses on the South Coast Sewage matter;

She lied about never printing money if she got into Parliament and when she got in that was the first order of business for her;

She criticised Freundel Stuart in 2013 for his overseas travel saying:” Stuart should limit his travel and right size his 17 member cabinet – yet every week she is on a plane going some where overseas – usually on trips that should rightfully be attended by the line minister.

WHEN THE LACK OF POLITICAL TRUTH INDUCES NO FEAR OF PUSH BACK OR NO TWINGE OF SHAME – WE ARE IN THE RIGHT STATE FOR A DICTATORSHIP.

WHEN THE MEDIA,THE UNIONS,THE INFLUENTIAL BUSINESS SECTOR,THE ACADEMICS AT THE UNIVERSITY – HAVE ALL BEEN CO-OPTED, WHEN THERE IS NO ELECTED OPPOSITION MEMBERS/PARTY – THEN WE ARE SITTING DUCKS FOR A MEGLOMANIC TO ENTER THE DANCE AND DO DIXIE.

45. In every democracy/capitalist society there is the ruling class we have to rail against to ensure justice is delivered. It is a battle that will continue until the end times.

46. The photo in this article shows shelves of produce that are as well stocked as those in the best Canadian Supermarkets,

I hope those sweet peppers are grown in Barbados.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/221935/post-nsrl-price-concerns

47. BAJAN GROWN!

With Barbados on the verge of launching a legitimate marijuana industry, prominent former politician and community activist Hamilton Lashley is calling for the policy to favour Rastafarians and small farmers.

Following Prime Minister Mia Mottley’s announcement on Friday that a legal framework to legitimize medical cannabis was taking shape and could be in force by Christmas, Lashley said the Rastafarian community, as well those that have long touted the medicinal value of cannabis, are in danger of being cut out of a potential financial windfall by wealthy landowners.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/12/10/weed-n-reap/

48. @ T. Inniss

A brilliant post. Where are the press and blogs? We were promised here on BU that after six months we would get , or be entitled to, a proper analysis of the new government. So far it has not happened.
    BERT is economic kindergarten stuff, which was delivered by three technocrats by powerpoint (the prime minister introduced the meeting and ran away because she had another meeting. What could have been more important?) Not a single elected official was in attendance. Since then we have not had a well-written and detailed plan. Just waffle.
    Sadly, for a people who claim t be so well educated, not a single word of protest; our great university has not held any seminars or teach-ins on BERT; our great newspapers have largely ignored the subject, unless it is a picture opportunity for our Chinese-managed prime minister.
    All the chairman of BU has to do is commission someone like yourself to write a analytical essay and get other contributors to critique it. Easy. It will be a great contribution to public education. But is that what the public wants?
    On BU we prefer to shout and scream nonsense, led by the chairman, because that is our way, what I call a cultural tradition. Just read and analyse the contributors made by our keyboard warriors and tell me what you think.

49. You were a media person? Why do the analysis amid the noise of the Christmas season?

50. Yes T. Inniss excellent post bringing home the pivitol point of a woman fueled by deceptive practices
    Unfortunately when the Intelluctual among the masses awakes from their slumber it would be too late