Barbadians have a strong interest in what unravels in the United States. We may debate why this is the case- an abundance of US news feeds streaming into our homes via FLOW, DIGICEL and Internet devices 24b hours a day, family members living in the USA, we travel there to further our studies and on recreation the list is long.

The BU household also has a keen interest in the outcome of the midterms later tonight, it will be a referendum on Trump’s tenure for sure.

US 1US2

Source: Two Charts Show Trump’s Job Gains Are Just A Continuation From Obama’s Presidency

649 responses to “2018 US Midterm Elections”

1. Trump was on about voter fraud from the beginning.

Looks like this is a standard Democrat tactic from a ways back and they are good at it.

Remember Kennedy’s election, 1960!!

It was stolen “fair and square” … from Nixon!!

It was alleged JFK’s dad Joe got Sam Giancana to fix the election so JFK won.

Joe made his fortune from bootlegging and insider trading on Wall Street.

FDR set him to straighten out Wall Street after the crash …. set a thief to catch a thief.

The Kennedy/Democrat link was there from early.

JFK and his brother then turned on the mob once JFK won.

It is said the mob killed JFK for double crossing them!!

Sure Republicans have their dirty linen but Democrat dirty linen is far more glamorous!!

https://www.businessinsider.com/frank-sinatra-the-kennedys-and-the-chicago-mob-2013-11

2. Remember the Bush election and ‘chads’?

What is it about Florida?

Democrats Republicans doesn’t matter.

3. NorthernObserver Avatar

And not the whole of Florida, it is Broward County which is regularly involved in their election issues.

4. This empty platitude is not enough, not when they still benefit from the slave trade.

“Prince Charles says Britain’s role in slave trade was an atrocity
    Heir to throne is in Ghana, from where many Africans were shipped on UK boats

Kevin Rawlinson and agency

Mon 5 Nov 2018 19.11 GMT Last modified on Mon 5 Nov 2018 20.25 GMT
    Shares
    Prince Charles is on the second leg of a tour of three African nations.

Britain’s involvement in the transatlantic slave trade was an appalling atrocity that has left an “indelible stain” on the world, Prince Charles has acknowledged.

The heir to the UK’s throne made the comments in a speech in Ghana, from where many Africans were shipped away to a life of slavery, most across the Atlantic, on ships from Britain and other nations.

Charles said the “profound injustice” of that legacy could never be forgotten, adding: “At Osu Castle on Saturday, it was especially important to me, as indeed it was on my first visit there 41 years ago, that I should acknowledge the most painful chapter of Ghana’s relations with the nations of Europe, including the United Kingdom.

“The appalling atrocity of the slave trade, and the unimaginable suffering it caused, left an indelible stain on the history of our world.”

Charles had visited Christiansborg Castle in Osu, which originally operated as a Danish slave trade fort and from where it is estimated more than 1.5 million Africans were forced into slavery.

The castle later became the seat of the Ghanaian government after the country’s independence from Britain in 1957.

Britain had been involved in the transatlantic slave trade for more than 200 years by the time it abolished the trade in 1807, although the full abolition of slavery did not follow for another generation.

Advertisement

The British taxpayer paid out large sums in compensation to former slave owners, though none was handed to the people who had been enslaved. Many of them were even forced to work on for years without pay after slavery.

When will Britain face up to its crimes against humanity?

“While Britain can be proud that it later led the way in the abolition of this shameful trade, we have a shared responsibility to ensure that the abject horror of slavery is never forgotten,” Charles told his audience in Ghana.

Charles’ intervention was a significant step towards officially acknowledging the damage the UK helped to cause during the period, with the royal family having faced repeated calls from some quarters to apologise for the country’s part in it.

The prince and his wife, Camilla, are on the second leg of a tour of three African nations, having already visited Gambia, which he congratulated for turning its back on autocratic rule and returning to the Commonwealth, before he heads to Nigeria on Tuesday.

In his speech in Accra, Charles, who was approved as successor to his 92-year-old mother, Queen Elizabeth, as head of the Commonwealth earlier this year, spoke of the role the loose alliance of 53 member states could play in tackling climate change, a key campaigning issue of the prince.

“In such an uncertain and changing world, none of us can know what kind of a planet our grandchildren, and great-grandchildren, will inhabit, but the Commonwealth … offers us a vital mechanism to help ensure that it is not poisoned and polluted and that its vitality is not compromised,” he said.”

5. John

I think the Democrats and their supporters took issue with the way in which Jeff sessions handled cases involving black people…as far as I could remember …but I am not quite sure if he was characterized as a bigoted…

However, John, here is the question I have for you though: since America is regarded as a Melting Pot or a Salad Bowl … why isn’t it that Trump’s cabinet does not reflect this reality?

Nonetheless, why is that this country which was inhabited by the Native Indians prior to the European Expansion … does not have any of the Native American Languages as a National Language?

6. Britain’s involvement in the transatlantic slave trade was an appalling atrocity that has left an “indelible stain” on the world, Prince Charles has acknowledged.

PC like he ain’t know he history.

England abolished the slave Trade it came and found and ultimately abolished slavery that had existed for millennia..

Britain’s impact worldwide for good is unmatched.

… it does have its blemishes however!!

7. Nonetheless, why is that this country which was inhabited by the Native Indians prior to the European Expansion … does not have any of the Native American Languages as a National Language?

How many Australians speak Aborigine … or Bajans Taino?

8. I think the Democrats and their supporters took issue with the way in which Jeff sessions handled cases involving black people…as far as I could remember …but I am not quite sure if he was characterized as a bigoted…

Bigot, racist, mysoginist … same thing … by objective definition people who don’t agree with the subjective opinions of PLT or his collective.

9. However, John, here is the question I have for you though: since America is regarded as a Melting Pot or a Salad Bowl … why isn’t it that Trump’s cabinet does not reflect this reality?

How do you feel about merit based promotions?

10. John

How many Australians speak aborigine…?

That statement in of itself proved my point John … because had the Australians of European descent saw any value in the Aborigine Language … is would have been one of the national languages of Australia…

11. John

“How do feel about merit based promotions”

Promotion based nepotism, and favoritism breeds incompetency, but promotion based on a merit system produces the right kind individuals with the right knid skills to do the job more effectively…

12. there goes affirmative action. We used to have a hiring system of four lists white male, indigenous peoples female and visible minorities and they would choose from one list then another with no regard for total ranking. Made for a lot of weak people getting hired and some really good candidates getting passed over.

13. David, NO

The reason I think is this!!

“Each state elects two senators, while seats in the House of Representatives are apportioned by state according to population, with each state receiving a minimum of one representative.”

States with higher population are equal in the Senate but not in the Congress hence the lament of the Democrats on popular vote!!

Simpletons who don’t understand how the Unites States of America was formed and can’t reason it out for themselves follow suit.

States that are more equal (California, Texas, Florida, New York) in the Congress are prizes to be won at any cost!!

Same logic for the election of the President.

The Democrats need Texas and Florida at any cost, California and New York just aren’t doing it for them!!

So, they are extending themselves beyond normalcy to get those two and so risking exposure.

If Trump excises voter fraud and ballot box tampering we may see a true result which given observable Democrat actions may favour the Republicans … … and if he also exposes the press as an arm of the Democrat party (or vice versa) … could be the difference is …. bigly

America is properly called the United States of America and by definition, not the United Peoples of America!!

The Senate is the equalizer, hence the wailing and gnashing of teeth this time around when the Democrats best laid plans in Texas and Florida did not produce the results!!!!

Looks like they may now risk exposure!!

https://www.ehdp.com/vitalnet/reps.htm

https://www.newsmax.com/newsfront/ballot-box-provisional-ballots-election-fraud/2018/11/08/id/890031/

https://thehill.com/homenews/administration/415861-trump-says-law-enforcement-is-examining-possible-election-fraud-in

14. Lexicon
    November 9, 2018 7:30 AM

John
    “How do feel about merit based promotions”
    Promotion based nepotism, and favoritism breeds incompetency, but promotion based on a merit system produces the right kind individuals with the right knid skills to do the job more effectively…

As far as University entry is concerned, the group which bears the most discrimination in America is the Asians.

They are the smartest.

15. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

The elections being over so too is the so called “pre-election quiet period” so this news can be released: POTUS has been subpoenaed…🤔…

OK thats fake for now 🤣…but it sure seems like real news!

So no wonder POTUS wants his man in charge to get the details of exactly what Mueller has in his tool kit… lets get ready for this knock-out Thriller in DC !

Oh …why the the idea of the subpoena …that’s based on the interesting analysis of a former federal prosecutor and Senate/WH aide writing in Politico some weeks back. He perceives that Mueller has launched his final request for a POTUS interview before the grand jury….he makes a compelling argument.

*He notes that a little noticed court filing was made around August 15 when Mueller prosecutors submitted a sealed grand jury case in US federal district court.

*Then very swiftly the judge hearing the case issued his ruling.

*And very promptly thereafter that ruling was appealed

The speed of those actions were stunning for the DC court system and was noticeable enough to him….but then…

*The party appealing requested an en banc hearing..that is, he wanted ALL the appellate judges to hear the matter not the regular three judge panel.

Why and who would demand that for a standard case … thus likely this was a most important matter of the highest order he surmised.

And then he noticed that a judge appointed by Trump and who had worked with McGahn in the WH counsel’s office as a deputy counsel had RECUSED himself from this sealed matter.

Voila…his deduction: Subpoena fire from the old war horse Muelller.

The spectacle continues…

16. The center section of this shield has six symbols for “the Countries from which these States have been peopled”: the rose (England), thistle (Scotland), harp (Ireland), fleur-de-lis (France), lion (Holland), and an imperial eagle (Germany).

That’s who founded America.

That’s who came and found the land inhabited by Native Peoples.

That’s who settled the country.

“Linked together around the shield are 13 smaller shields, each with the initials for one of the “thirteen independent States of America.” ”

The 13 states have their own identity.

https://www.greatseal.com/mottoes/unum.html

17. … and those people were driven there by religious persecution … the will of God.

And that’s why White Supremacy is such a bib deal!!

It is an attempt to undermine Christianity and … reality.

18. @Dee Word

What can the Democrats do until investiture in January?

19. @John

You point is taken, however, opens the door for political rhetoric f the election is close. Let us see if there is evidence. The ballot is confusing but both parties signed off on it.

20. It is an attempt to undermine Christianity and … reality.

.. and that’s why Trump won!!

21. David
    November 9, 2018 8:15 AM

You point is taken, however, opens the door for political rhetoric f the election is close. Let us see if there is evidence. The ballot is confusing but both parties signed off on it

++++++++++++++++++

Not the Democrats!!!!

They still believe Trump is illegitimate!!

22. @John
    You point is taken, however, opens the door for political rhetoric

Reality is reality!!

Rhetoric is rhetoric!!

23. Reality TRUMPS Rhetoric!!

No pun intended!!

24. John

“It is an attempt to undermine Christianity and reality and that is why Trump won”

Nonesense John

Trump, won because the American people were sick and tired of the gridlock in Washington …and wanted an unorthodox candidate…

25. Relax John, Trump is a man, with all the imperfections to go along with it.

26. Trump, won because the American people were sick and tired of the gridlock in Washington …and wanted an unorthodox candidate…

Why do you think there was gridlock in Washington?

27. John

So you are saying that there weren’t any gridlock in Washington during Obama’s tenure?

28. I am just asking why?

29. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David Mr Blogmaster, there is nothing special needed to be done by the Dems during this so called lame duck closing of the 115th Congress. Beyond the expected jostling for leadership (the attacks on Pelosi as new speaker in particular) it will be all about what REPUBLICANS do to shore up, complete or otherwise manage affairs to save any embarrasments (and here I think partucularly of Nunes).

I am bemused by your note to @John tho. What point exactly is taken?

It can’t be this nonsense of ballot fraud surely. That is a canard…no actually an absolute falsehood…as projected by POTUS. Obviously there are cases of fraud but absolutey not to any widespread level that can affect a presidential ir senate election.

Moreover, the fraud that has been exposed over the years has been from both parties…as you alluded to…so its disingenuous BS for anyone (Dem or Repub) to get on any soap box on that issue.

The Dems have had issues with their get out vote programs and accusations (as above) of dead folks voting and so on….but realistically can a few zombies put a POTUS in office.

Now on the other hand Repub are much smarter…they work to do unbelievable gerrymandering to get amazing districts of red republicans to ensure their representatives win.

Yes its also true that any one congressional district cant elect a POTUS but savvy republicans know that entrenched republican majorities means CONTROL of the state house (and ideally congress where they can CONTROL the laws) and do like that guy Kobach and suppress voting with these ridiculous claims of widespread voting fraud!

So help me understand exactly what is his point!

30. @lexicon
    but I am not quite sure if he was characterized as a bigoted…

++++++++++++
    How do you define “bigoted”? Coretta Scott King and many others thought that he was.
    A little research would be useful

https://www.documentcloud.org/documents/3259988-Scott-King-1986-Letter-and-Testimony-Signed.html

31. John and GP embrace the culture of white standing on neck of black brown man with many oppression

32. John
    November 9, 2018 9:29 AM

I am just asking why?

++++++++++++++++++

The answer is the same answer you will get when you ask “why is there gridlock in the Judicial System in Barbados”?

33. here is the logic of an idiot

I am bemused by your note to @John tho. What point exactly is taken?

It can’t be this nonsense of ballot fraud surely. That is a canard…no actually an absolute falsehood…as projected by POTUS. Obviously there are cases of fraud but absolutey not to any widespread level that can affect a presidential ir senate election.

Moreover, the fraud that has been exposed over the years has been from both parties…as you alluded to…so its disingenuous BS for anyone (Dem or Repub) to get on any soap box on that issue.

==========================================
    hear the jackass

Obviously there are cases of fraud but absolutey not to any widespread level that can affect a presidential ir senate election.

SO HOW IS IT THAT TRUMP COLLUDED WITH THE RUSSIANS TO WIN THE 2016 ELECTION?

SO WHY THE UNNECESSARY PROBE BY THE WICKED MUELLER?

34. THE MORON REMINDS ME OF THE SAYING IN Romans 1:22

Professing themselves to be wise, they became fools,

35. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Dr. GP

My dear learnéd fellow myope

De ole man sold 3 months ago? mdntiondd that AFTER THE MIDTERMS THAT THE REAL EXPOSURES WOULD COME TO THD FORE.

I also thought that the racist bigot would have won the election given the “America is for Americans” that is rampant and the sentiment that he was and continued to promote but…and I saw the lines…that sentiment is alive and well, it is just that most of the people who live it, get tired standing in the lines, but they are there still there.

Fortunately they are old school and they also have a useful? aversion to mail in ballots.

It was close though.

Now the Impeachment Process begins and let us Welcome President Pence.

Barring of course another orchestrated? vice president airplane skidding off the runway

And lest we forget “…
    Oct 27, 2016 · Donald Trump’s running mate Mike Pence said Friday he is “fine” following his plane skidding off the runway at LaGuardia Airport on Thursday night, adding there were about “10 seconds of uncertainty…”

Three scenarios that POTUS WILL RELY ON TO STAVE OFF HIS IMPEACHMENT ARE

1.War with some inferior, warfare incapable nation…

2.A failed incident targeting himself or a successful one targeting a relative or friend or substantial person in the Republican party

3.A contrived national security or financial incident which requires his presence for an extended period

4.A proxy war that, because of its geographical or geopolitical elements will need some hands on requirements from POTUS.

And yes, while my posit seems to be of a Tom Clancy type disposition, you must remember that Trunk runs his presidency from a chair in front of a television set, watching reruns of Mission Impossible.

The real president is his advisers and their puppet masters

I’m sorry if I dont fall in the mould of ascribing proactive intellect to Trunk himself, he is quite a simpleton himself.

The real manipulators are off stage pulling his strings AND THEY ARE THE SHADOW GOVERNMENT TO FEAR.

But bo not take de ole man’s words on this, look at Mike Pence.

Do you or have you ever seen Mike Pence in anything controversial AT ALL?

All he does is clap for the POTUS DUFUS and grin sheepishly

Nothing else.

36. US soundtrack
    black culture vs white culture

soon I will be done with troubles of world
    i’m going home to live
    there’ll be no more shooting and killing

37. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here thank you

38. https://www.thegatewaypundit.com/2018/11/rubio-sounds-the-alarm-broward-county-election-officials-trying-to-steal-election-produce-thousands-of-ballots-43-hrs-after-polls-closed/
    Broward County Election Officials Trying to Steal Election – Produce Thousands of Ballots 43 Hrs After Polls Closed

39. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Mr Dr GP, I try (futilely 😉 ) not to respond to your absolute bunkcum retorts…they are often so laffable that I effect one of your falling off the chair routines with uncontrollable laff spasms !

And alas your 10:06 took the cake.

Oh deeply biased acolyte…the Russian impact on the US elections is 1) a NATIONAL SECURITY issue 2) It was very widespread according to ALL the evidence from Facebook and the other social media sites 3) so it is obviously more insidious than the stupid claims by Klobach et al and cannot be compared to his nonsense of paltry incidences 4) The ONLY people who do not understand that impact of all that on the elections are sycophants like YOU.

No reasonable (Dem or Repub) has every said that there is evidence of POTUS colluding in any way directly with Vladimir to ‘stuff’ ballot boxes, change votes or any such thing to successfully sway the elections.

THOSE are FACTS!

So are you so disturbed and a rabidly pissed partisan that you COMPLETELY dismiss the sensible men and women of the US senate Intel Committee (with majority Republicans) who said in part that:

++ … the Kremlin directed Russia’s meddling, interfering specifically to hurt Hillary Clinton … and help Trump

++ *…”Our investigation thoroughly reviewed all aspects of the January 2017 ICA, which assessed that Russian President Vladimir Putin ordered an influence campaign to target our presidential election and to destabilize our democratic institutions. As numerous intelligence and national security officials in the Trump administration have since unanimously re-affirmed, the ICA findings were ACCURATE and ON POINT.”

++ …when the Intelligence Committee said that “Russia interfered in the 2016 US presidential election to help elect Donald Trump” that the assessment was “WELL SUPPORTED AND THE TRADE CRAFT WAS STRONG’.

Bro you can curse me as much as you like but that does not change the FACTS….your president is a LIAR and you and his acolytes here SUPPORT obfuscation, disinformation and more fibs with personal attacks and utter bunkcum!

The PROBE is NOT wicked nor unnecessary unless you are a Russia citizen or lacking an once of basic commonsense and integrity!

What are you such a laff line lark and easily dismissed BSer on these issues!

Alas…Anyhow I gone. Bye bye!

40. Steupse!.

41. Dribbler
    You must skip reading the BS the Goady Parasite David allows to spout his bile.His language is the language of one who is bi-polar..somedays worse than others.Skip his garbage.Most of us prefer when he is in his true element of Medicine and Pharmacology.

42. No reasonable (Dem or Repub) has every said that there is evidence of POTUS colluding in any way directly with Vladimir to ‘stuff’ ballot boxes, change votes or any such thing to successfully sway the elections.

THOSE are FACTS!

INDEED THERE WAS NO COLLUSION
    THERE IS NO EVIDENCE!
    IT AINT THERE……..SO IT CANT REACT

THE COLLUSION THAT HAS BEEN SHOWN CONCLUSIVELY IS THAT HILARY COLLUDED LOL

THE CAPERS BY BRENNAN COMEY WITH SHITBAMA AND LYNCH IN DE BACKGROUND ARE KNOWN

WHILE RODENT-STEIN CONTINUES TO COVER IT UP

HILARIOUS

NOW THEY TRYING TO STEAL ELECTIONS IN FLORIDA

BUT GOD WILL BRING ALL EVIL WORKS INTO JUDGEMENT! AH LIE?

THIS IS ONLY ENTERTAINMENT FOR ME
    I DONT CARE WHAT HAPPENS IN THE USA OR EVEN IN BARBADOS

FOR HERE I HAVE NO ABIDING CITY, I SEEK ONE TO COME

MY CITIZENSHIP IS IN HEAVEN FROM WHENCE I SEEK MY SAVIOR

IN THE INTERIM I WILL BE MOCKING IN THE RUM SHOP

43. John

There is also gridlock in the judicial system of America and many of non-bailable accused after being tried and convicted, are released for time serviced … and this is in complete violation of the Sixth Amendment … which guarantees every accused a right to a speedy public trial…

44. ANGEL GABRIEL

IS YOUR GOADIE A DIRECT OR AN INDIRECT ONE
    COUGH AND THAT WILL TELL YOU ……LOL

His language is the language of one who is bi-polar..somedays worse than others.
    SO YOU ARE ANOTHER BU PSEUDO PSYCHOLOGIST NOW? MURDAH

WHICH END OF THE POLE AM I TODAY DUMMY?

MURDAH I FALL OF MA CHAIR LARFING

45. John

What a lot of uninform people do not understand is the fact that the US Supreme Court isn’t always the final arbiter of the Law with governs the United States of America … because of the overwhelming number of cases that come before the US Supreme Court … which the court is unable to hear … these cases are then sent to the US Circuit Court of appeal for the final determination…

46. MR DEE WORD

RE your president is a LIAR and you and his acolytes here SUPPORT obfuscation, disinformation and more fibs with personal attacks and utter bunkcum!

FIRST MY PRESIDENT IS THE LORD JESUS CHRIST

BUT WOULD YOU SAY THAT TRUMP IS A BETTER OR WORSE LIAR THAN SHITBAMA THE FAILURE WHO GIVE UP 5 TERRORISTS FOR A TRAITOR AND DESERTER

WOULD YOU SAT THAT COMEY BRENNAN LOIS LERNER MCCABE RODENT-STEIN ET AL WERE GOOD AT obfuscation, disinformation and fibs

WHY IS IT THAT YOU SIDE WITH THESE CROOKS
    IS IT BECAUSE YOU ARE OF THIS ILK TOO?

WITH REGARD TO THE ATTEMPTED ELECTION THIEFING IN FLORIDA DONT YOU THINK THAT THERE SHOULD BE AN” EMERGENCY POST MORTEM?” LIKE THE ONE YOU ADVOCATED FOR THE DEAD YUTE IN ST LUCY?

47. Not in the least bit surprised.

http://www.nydailynews.com/opinion/ny-edit-our-illegal-ag-20181108-story.html#nt=oft-Single%20Chain~Flex%20Feature~left-chain~whitaker-532p~~1~yes-art~curated~curatedpage

“almost certainly invalid
    By DAILY NEWS EDITORIAL BOARD
    NOV 08, 2018 | 5:25 PM

Our illegal AG: Matthew Whitaker’s appointment is almost certainly invalid
    No good. (Charlie Neibergall / AP)

Plot twist: The appointment by President Trump of Mueller investigation foe Matthew Whitaker as acting attorney general, filling the shoes of ousted Jeff Sessions, is probably illegal and unconstitutional, rendering his every order invalid.

So say leading legal lights across the political spectrum, from former Obama Acting Solicitor General Neal Katyal to George Conway (who happens to be married to Trump adviser Kellyanne Conway) to top George W. Bush aide John Yoo.

To serve, a principal officer — which is what the head of the Justice Department is by any definition — must first get advise and consent of the Senate. That’s well established legal precedent drawn from a plain reading of the words of the government’s founding document.

Of course in a pinch, before the Senate gives its okay, someone else in the Senate-confirmed DOJ chain of command can step up and fill a leadership gap. But that’s not what Whitaker is; he was Sessions’ chief of staff, not next in line and Senate-approved.

If Trump wants to argue otherwise, let him make the case to the Supreme Court. See if he can convince five men who purport to revere the original meaning of the Constitution to jump through the logical hoops necessary to flagrantly disregard its plain intent.”

48. Gabriel,

That is the best way to deal with it. I scroll past so I only see it in passing. There’s only so much of that one can take. Some people here are allowing the doctor to raise their blood pressure. I thought doctors were supposed to do the opposite.

Sad.

49. RE Some people here are allowing the doctor to raise their blood pressure. I thought doctors were supposed to do the opposite.

ACTUALLY DEAR DONNA THERE ARE TIMES WHEN DOCTORS DO RAISE PATIENTS BLOOD PRESSURE

AS A PERSON WHO KNOWS EVERYTHING I THOUGHT YOU KNEW DAT LOL