STAFF APPRAISAL

30. Over the last decade, Barbados economy has experienced very low growth, and fiscal and external imbalances have gradually led to an unsustainable situation, with very high debt, and very low reserves. These challenges must be addressed by a combination of fiscal consolidation, measures to boost growth, and debt restructuring. The authorities’ Economic Reform and Transformation program seeks to address these long- standing structural imbalances and implement an aggressive front-loaded and comprehensive reform agenda – extracted from p.18 of the IMF Report 2018

The 77 page IMF package detailing the REQUEST FOR AN EXTENDED ARRANGEMENT UNDER THE EXTENDED FUND FACILITY; STAFF REPORT; STAFF SUPPLEMENT; AND STATEMENT BY THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR FOR BARBADOS was posted to the International Monetary Fund website on October 4, 2018. It is no surprise the traditional media has not seen the value in unpacking the details of the arrangement secreted in the voluminous and technically worded documents.

What has been widely communicated is that in record time the new Mottley government has been able to secure the approval of SDR 208 million or USD290 million. The government’s PR has been quick to point out that the draw down from the IMF represents 220% of Barbados’ IMF quota and is a ‘homegrown’ program.

Key elements of the program are:

1. Fiscal adjustment: increase primary surplus to achieve 6% by 2019/20
  2. Reform state owned enterprises (SOEs): reduce transfers to SOEs by 2%
  3. Structural reforms to support growth: improve business facilitation
  4. Debt restructuring: debt is deemed unsustainable and government has aggressively moved to administer ‘haircuts’ to bond holders

In the background section of the document (p.7) the IMF delivers a negative synopsis of the performance of the Barbados economy post the 2008 global financial crisis. One of the program objectives of interest to the blogmaster is item 8, p.9: “Increased investment demand can restore growth and increase its potential. Restored credibility in the macroeconomic framework is expected to increase investment. Higher net FDI inflows will contribute to improving the stock of capital and, through this channel, actual and potential growth could reach close to 2 percent by the end of the program“.

Other key deliverables of the IMF program:

• Fiscal discipline will help address external imbalances and rebuild international reserves.
  • Fiscal reforms over the program period aim to address structural weaknesses in Barbados’ fiscal framework.
  • Streamlining, restructuring, and privatizing SOEs will substantially reduce transfers to public institutions
  • Vulnerable groups will be protected by strengthening social safety nets
  • The authorities remain strongly committed to the exchange rate peg, which has been in place since 1975 and has provided a key anchor for macroeconomic policies.
  • The program will lay out a roadmap for normalization of monetary policy.
  • The CBB Act will be amended, with the help of IMF TA, to strengthen the autonomy of the CBB and the limitation on CBB financing of the government, among other enhancements
  • The authorities have made progress in identifying debt restructuring parameters that would provide debt relief without jeopardizing financial stability.
  • Significant progress has also been made in discussions with domestic and external creditors.
  • Debt management capacity will be strengthened.
  • To promote long term and potential growth, labor, product and service markets will be liberalized
  • The authorities intend to establish an Economic Program Oversight Committee (EPOC) to strengthen societal ownership and build public support for the measures in the program.
  • Data inadequacies continue to hamper understanding of key macroeconomic aggregates.

The part of an IMF agreement that raises the most concern are the condition or in the case of Barbados what are the targets we will have to meet to be able to draw down on the SDRs approved.

Quantitative performance criteria:

• Floor on the central government primary balance (excluding repayment of central government arrears)
  • Ceiling on the stock of Net Domestic Assets of the CBB
  • Floor on the Net International Reserves of the CBB
  • Non-accumulation of central government external arrears (excluding arrears resulting from nonpayment of debt service for which the government is pursuing a debt restructuring).
  • Ceiling on grants and transfers to public institutions
  • Ceiling on the stock of public debt

Indicative targets:

• Ceiling on the stock of central government domestic arrears
  • Floor on CG social spending Structural benchmarks

Structural benchmarks

• These will focus on SOE reforms, growth and business climate, CBB autonomy, tax policy and revenue administration, public sector reform, and public financial management (Table 2 MEFP). The structural benchmarks will be critical to underpin the adjustment effort.

The average citizen will not read the IMF report and others will ‘scan’ to satisfy a mild curiosity.  It is obvious to the blogmaster after reading the report that there are significant changes still to come that will drastically affect Barbadians from all walks of life. As a people are we ready to be that chanage?

Link to Barbados : Request for an Extended Arrangement Under the Extended Fund Facility-Press Release; Staff Report; Staff Supplement; and Statement by the Executive Director for Barbados

468 responses to “IMF Program Unpacked – Our Way of Life Will Change, FOREVER”

1. So there…that should fresh EVERYONE’S memories.

2. For Hal Austin

favela=A Brazilian shanty town.

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David October 10, 2018 1:07 PM
    “Interesting difference of opinion between Mascoll and Stephens. The buzz on the ground supports Stephens.”

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Despite what the supercilious and shallow Hal Austin thinks of the UWI-graduate, Stephens is standing on solid intellectual ground because his reasoning is based on ‘Commonsense’ and the long-ago-predicted economic realities facing Barbados today.

If maintaining a peg which fixes the value of the Bajan Mickey mouse dollar to the US$ was the sine qua non for attracting foreign direct investment (FDI) how come the Hyatt Hotel is still only a figment of Maloney’s imagination?

If the recovery of the Bajan economy is predicated on the successful implementation of the BERT plan to generate growth shouldn’t the local journalists be making serious enquiries about the status of Hyatt hotel and the Four Seasons project now transformed to the ‘All Season’ blight on the tourism belt?
    Why can’t some of SOL’s windfall be invested to resuscitate this tourism wraith?

Why is the current BLP administration so mum on these two projects compared to when it was waiting in the electoral wings of constant criticism?

4. @Vincent,

Deliberately over-valuing a property is not only fraud, it is a method of money laundering.

5. All we need now is Enuff in Wonderland 68 to sort it all out for us..lol

6. WARU

Good post @ 1;37 p.m. will be back on that soon

7. So…who is the head of FTC these days ..since the Mia government got elected.

“If Government’s intention is in fact to take the step of legislating its way so as to ensure that the transfer of the BNTCL to this particular company is done, then Government has to be mindful of the Opposition’s position” that there must be “a Barbados which is characterized by fairness in the marketplace”.

Minister of Commerce and Industry Donville Inniss was quoted earlier this month as saying efforts were under way to salvage the BNTCL sale.”

8. Ah was trying to see if Simpson even once mentioned the SOL sale, he did not…. these billion dollar sales sometimes take 18 months and up to 2 years or longer to finalize…the articles I posted on FTC and the oil terminal were as recent as Dec 2017…not even a year yet..hint, hint.

9. @Vincent Codrington October 10, 2018 1:33 PM ” It is speculative financing. They are using the new financial engineering contrivances. The real estate bubble in Barbados will soon burst .”

As well it must.

Surely nobody believes that their homes are worth the government assessed value. I certain do not. I certainly never did. But it suited sellers and real estate agents to pretend that it was/is so. And some of those sellers and real estate agents became rich, and almost certainly stashed their money in foreign bank accounts.

And then we ask how did we get here? We are being disingenuous.

We know exactly how we got here.

10. If you attack the perception that Barbados has been a successful model island up to about 2006/7 you deflate the psyche of a proud people and leave us exposed!(Quote)

The biggest threat to the environment in Barbados is the internal combustion engine. What is this government going to do about the congested roads? How about a policy of one car per household?

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Quote:
    Mascoll remains one of our outstanding public economists; Stephens is right on this issue, by default, but he is not a bright economist. He is popular because he is often (too often?)used by the economically illiterate media. They need to get new ideas and new forms of analyses. Unquote

Aren’t you the UK-based pantomath with many years of experience in the field of financial journalism on Fleet Street and Canary Wharf to boot?

So why don’t you step up to the plate and put your ‘economical’ brains where your superfluous mouth is?

Of course the Bajan policy-makers would be only to keen to have to listen to you (in your true Statler and Waldorf style) after convincing them to open 18 Post Office banks in ‘economically’ Lilliputian Barbados in an age when financial technologies are taking over the entire electronic world of banking.

Why do you think the Bajan government defaulted on its foreign debt obligations? Because they took to heart your refrain of recommendation that keeping a safe buffer of foreign reserves for rainy days and to protect the currency peg is not necessary and it was okay to gamble while flying on the seat of the country’s forex earning pants.

12. For years we believed the foolishness pushed by car manufacturers and dealers that we needed a new car every 3 years. We failed to develop a decent public transportation system. We the “ordinary poor people” of Barbados made car dealers rich, rich, rich.

And how our “new” cars are on the landfill.

And our billions of hard earned dollars are in the hands of other people.

February will be 20 years that I have DELIBERATELY not owned a car.

I have no regrets.

Recently at UWI a youngster challenged Owen “a little car in every garage” Arthur about car ownership vis bicycle ownership (and I would add here decent public transportation) Arthur said he had no intention of giving up his car.

Maybe he won’t.

Maybe he doesn’t have to.

Maybe at his age/state of health he can’t, even if he wanted to.

But many people will have to.

Welcome to where the political/economic elite??? have led us.

13. @Hal spot on sir and I’d like to add

There should have been a halt in car imports for the remainder of the year
    During that time the schedule for payment of duties on cars should have been revised to increase exponentially with the forex value of the car, with no upper limit. This would have sent a clear message.

14. I didn’t comment before because I had to work.

I expect to continue working until i drop dead.

Like my parents before me.

Like my grandparents before me.

Like my great grand parents before me.

Simple Simon who does not give a sh!te ’bout “B” nor “D”

I have to go back to work now.

15. Redguard,

You have to remember the grip the car dealers have on the two dominant political parties and on our politicians. Barbados is a failed state.

16. So not at all surprising that barbados would end up in international law courts
    Rather than default maybe barbados should have opt out on bankruptcy and let the international court devey up what was left of the skeleton
    It is very hard to see any meaningful recovery coming out of Bert
    Bert is simply another way of spinning wheels in the mud

17. Hal

I am well aware and actually it is worst than just the car dealers, remember most Barbadians get loans to pay for their cars. A car whose real value is way less than the duties they pay on it. Barbadians are effectively getting loans to pay taxes on cars. I gave the example of the young lady who bought a Swift that cost more than she makes in a year (madness)

Touching car imports would set off a cascade effect from Car dealer, to bank/credit union to insurance company and BRA. Massive job losses and reductions in revenues would occur.

We should have done like Bermuda and instituted the one car per household rule

Now we are at a point were it is either commonsense restrictions on car imports or go back to donkey carts and bicycles when the dollar devalues

18. “However, in a statement today, the Kyffin Simpson-led Sol group remained adamant that the multi-million dollar deal would be of benefit to the entire country, and it would not place Sol’s competitors at a disadvantage.”

Like if he could tell Parkland Canada what to do once they bought SOL and have 75% controlling interest…..steupppsss!!

Simpson played possum and vey deceitful because he could with the dumb Fruendel government.. right up until they got kicked out of parliament and he could not hold off the sale anymore..

What a wonderful job the electorate did on all of their dirty plans…including the Simpson plan that the dummy Fruendel and DLP knew nothing about.

19. Redguard,
    Two points. Bajans know everything about everything. And, if a Barbadian who happens to be living overseas makes any suggestions then all hell breaks loose. I was talking to an outstanding Barbadian today and asked if he has been approached to be a consultant to this government – just for his ideas. He said no. I know they know about his ability and know how to contact him. .

20. Has anyone done the math yet…PLT can help you.

….buy the oil terminal for 100 million measly bajan dollars..

…because that is what a stupid government deserves.

never tell the desperate and foolish government you are selling SOL as soon as you acquire the crown jewel oil terminal, why sell gas stations without an oil terminal..

…then sell SOL to Parkland Canada for 1. 21 BILLION US dollars

…bingo…Parkland got an oil terminal for free and Simpson looks good cause he got it for a song…and now he is a real, real billionaire off the backs of the people, including two dotish governments who waste taxpayers money on useless Mercedes from Simpson Motors not suitable for the island’s roads and selling inferior quality vehicles to bajans for decades….not a bad gig if ya can get it…

I know I like to make things up to keep things interesting…but I did not make this up..do the math yaselves.

All of that started with one little gas station at the bottom of Hindsbury Road…and Barrow lending Simpson taxpayers money for his start up shrimp trawler…money no one knows if it was ever repaid to the treasury or people..

21. I know I like to make things up to keep things interesting…but I did not make this up..do the math yaselves(Quote)

Out of the mouths of babes.

22. I did not make up the crap Ha, Ha Austin the FRAUD did either…

23. Sol got the last laugh ..

24. “I know I like to make things up to keep things interesting………..”

Hmmmmm……

So, then we can reasonably conclude dat de relative dat got dem 10 CAPE subjects is made up stuff too?

Hahahahaha……

25. Art…no it’s not..I always tell people what I make up…would you lie on your relative’s abilities…don’t answer that..I have seen you with Gonzalves of St. Vincent and how you suck up….and what is so anomalous about getting 10 Cape subjects…and since ya asking, that same relative with 10 CAPES moved on to a top UNI…graduated and is now a force to be reckoned with, thanks for asking.

..one kid in Guyana or Trinidad just got about 18 CxCs..the kids from the islands ace CAPE and CXC all the time…ya better crawl back in ya hole.

Wait Hal…whatever became of you telling Natalie to contact you so you can help her win the 2018 Election, now that one I did not make up, it is recorded on BU for prosperity..lol

26. Wait Hal…whatever became of you telling Natalie to contact you so you can help her win the 2018 Election, now that one I did not make up, it is recorded on BU for prosperity..lol (Quote)

Trying to slip out a lie again. Typical. No I offered my services to Natalee.

27. “Sol got the last laugh ..”

SOL was ALWAYS going to get the last laugh off stupid Fruendolittle and DLP ministers, although he knew they would tief the money from the sale of the oil terminal anyway, what Simpson offered and Sinckler the decimal challenged fool accepted fo that deal was AND STILL IS an insult to the people on the island…..he just ain’t got the oil terminal yet..is all.

28. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

We have played this recording before on BU. For those of you who were hip back in the late sixties and seventies you would have heard of this group. The message is in the music and it is very simple to comprehend. There is an interesting interview on RT that follows this video.

29. I know I like to make things up to keep things interesting…but I did not make this up..do the math yaselves(Quote)

Stick to the story, the fabrications. Don’t change the subject.

30. “No I offered my services to Natalee.”

So which one is the prostitute, what services, you offered me services too as a journalist and you turned out to be a fraud..

… Natalie was too street smart to take ya up on ya “services”..whatever that is..am sure she sees a fraud for a John without even meeting them..so why did she need your services again, while running as a candidate in A GENERAL ELECTION.

31. I am woman enough to say what I make up and it hurrts no one…are you willing to tell the forum what you make up…or take responsibility for you actions and stop thinking it will go away and I will stop calling you out on it.. as a FRAUD..remember YOUR EMAIL….that you still do not want to take responsibility for…that FT knows exist….cause I brought those emails and your lies to their attention…that is the story..

32. Anyway…the real story is how Fruendell and his gang got made fools of by Simpson…that is what should peak Marisopa’s interest…not that Simpson got any last laugh…the last laugh would have been if he got the oil terminal fo nothing as was the plan…..he was planning to sell SOL anyway..with or without the terminal.

33. What is bothering me is that Simpson knew what he was going to get for the sale of SOL..he knew the island is in dire straits and need a serious infusion of cash to settle debts…even though he also knew that the government ministers for both political parties are corrupt thieves because he has dealt with them fo decades…but to offer 100 million dollar for the terminal when he knew he was selling SOL for over 1 billion US dollars….that is some wicked shit..there is nothing he can do to explain that one away..

34. “would you lie on your relative’s abilities…..”

My friend, you lie “ALL de time.”

And you mentioning people told you Rolerick Hinds was the duly elected representative for St. Thomas immediately comes to mind……among other things.

Passing over 12 CXCs isn’t anything rare and is often achieved by Guyanese students. In 2016 Guyanese Fatima Karim gained 20 CXCs with 19 grade 1’s and 1 grade 2.

And since you mentioned St. Vincent……….. last year, Girls’ High School student Ianà Y. R. Fergusson, passed 19 CXC subjects, with 18 grade 1’s and 1 grade 2.

CXC, Ministry of Education and the press in those countries love to publish those achievements.

A CAPE subject is equivalent to an GCE “A” level, and similarly, takes approximately 2 years to complete.

Having gained 10 CAPE subjects (in 2 years) is an excellent achievement, which would have obviously been highlighted by the learning institution, education ministry, CXC and the press.

Perhaps you may want to guide me to information to verify your “claim,” because I en see nutten ‘bout dat nuh where atall.

But I’ll leave it to BU to conclude if you’re lying or not.

Maybe you should join me and crawl back into the hole…….it would give you an opportunity to take some time off from BU…….and stop yuh from telling suh much lies.

Fret ‘bout dat now…..yuh know yuh chan help um.

Hahahahahaha

35. When I was growing up I always heard Barbados punching above its weight. I was proud to hear that we were one of the most developed Caribbean country and our standard of living was on par with many developed countries of this world. I was not aware that this so-called development was financed primarily by borrowed money from England in particular,Canada and the United States of America to a lesser extent. Those three countries England in particular rewarded Barbados for the traitorous role we played during the slave trade (Willie Lynch). I likened this to individuals who want to live an affluent lifestyle. The fancy houses, pretty motor vehicles,nice clothing,oversees trips to exotic countries and dining in nice restaurants are in essence financed by borrowed money. These individuals get mortgages as well as personal loans to finance this affluent lifestyle.
    That is Barbados.It has now reach the stage where the loans for our so-called development have reach a point where we have extreme difficulty in repaying.
    I have read and analyzed the IMF report. I am not going to get into any partisan political argument,but as a Barbadian with a family living here, I am very concern for the future of my country. I do not hold out much hope that Barbados will ever recover from the measures the IMF will and are imposing on us. Greece and Argentina are two recent case studies of the mess that an IMF programme have left behind. I have little faith in the IMF programme for Barbados

36. “Having gained 10 CAPE subjects (in 2 years) is an excellent achievement, which would have obviously been highlighted by the learning institution, education ministry, CXC and the press.

Perhaps you may want to guide me to information to verify your “claim,” because I en see nutten ‘bout dat nuh where atall.”

Artax..and who are you that I have to verify anything…I made that comment during a blog that was going back in 2013…5 years ago…I was living in Canada at the time, the relative I spoke about is now 2? years old…you kept that in you head like that idiot ya are..lol……. like it will make some difference…you have NOTHING TO GAIN…move the hell on and mind ya business…just be glad that someone actually have the level of intelligence needed to get 10 CAPE SUBJECTS..

Now..if ya really want info…go to the ministry and ask them…ya nuisance.

BTW…all scholarships/exhibitions…are highlighted…IN THE PRESS…every damn year…lol

37. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar
    sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore)

(quoe) but to offer 100 million dollar for the terminal when he knew he was selling SOL for over 1 billion US dollars….that is some wicked shit..there is nothing he can do to explain that one away. (quote)

There is nationalism and capitalism. Thus nationalist and capitalist. Dont get the two confused.They may/can coexist in some person(s) but not in all. If the pursuit of money or ROI is the heart of a capitalist/capitalism then selling out your countrymen or country maybe just par for any course. As i said before don’t get your ISMs and ISTs confused.

38. Nuisance Ha, Ha does not depend on Barbados for his livelihood, UK should send his ass back to Barbados, he is too comfortable.

I do not rely on Barbados for anything..

Artax ..is acting like he don’t but we know differently, he wants to be up in people’s business, while Barbados sinks and carries him with it..

Seriously though…both governments brought this on the people, it was bound to happen, they are too immersed in fake titles and false status…and never used the common sense they were supposed to be born with to lift their people out of dependency, they never made the effort, it was always about them and big house, big car, tiefin nuff money, selling out when there was no need to, offshore bank accounts, taking nuff bribes, big shopping trips, now they afraid to go US…lol…

… so no one can blame UK, US, Canada or even Simpson and the other minority crooks…blame all the idiots in parliament who exist to be house negros with fake titles..and nuff money

39. Sol got the last laugh.
    Later you would figure that one out

40. sir fuzzy…I am not mixing up anything, there is crookery and deceit and tricks and scams…all four apply in the attempt to get the oil terminal fo a mere 100 million dollars…it might sound cool to you and you want to put a pretty name or two on it, but at the end of the day it is still:

crookery
    deceit
    tricks
    scams.

I believe Jeff was chair at FTC at the time…him and his team must be commended for not allowing Simpson to just waltz away with the oil terminal..let’s see what Mia and her gang does…they had a lot of talk as Opposition, but now they are government..lol

ah thought Enuff 68 would have come out by now..lol.

41. Really Mariposa…must everything be political…the damn case is still tied up in the Supreme Court..if I sold a company for 1.2 billion…that IS my last laugh….you think Mia has to go pleading now to sell the oil terminal..I already thought of that..

All she gotta do…is sell it to RUBIS..

42. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar
    sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore)

i said that all in jest. from your writng u are not confused. I was just saying that one cannot serve 2 master. Your may find it very difficult to be a national and at the same time be a capitalist. SOL has no explaining to do. There have shown their true colour there are Capitalist first and foremost. Any thing else is the fad or fashion of the moment.

We need that our new administration also see the mirage from the water. We get taken along for rides into nowhere cause we just trust our leaders way to much; l and think that God must has elected them.

We fool ourselves because it way easier than fooling another.

43. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ Negroman,

Excellent summary. Barbados is a metaphor of a “pusherman” who pushes drugs into a community for a couple of dollars in order to develop a market. Once that pusherman has generated a sizeable market the price of that contraband will become extortionate. Especially once the market becomes addicted to the illegal high. So the community ends up selling their personal possessions and finally their bodies – that’s if it is still marketable.

When Owen’s BLP mob and the DLP, under Thompson and Stuart’s cronies , were looting the wealth of the nation that would’ve been the time for Bajans to have rallied against either of the incumbent parties. Did Barbadians really have it so good that they were blinded to the acute corrupt practises of the Bees and the Dees and the damage that was been orchestrated against the country by both governments and the citizens of Barbados.

The moral of the story is relatively simple; a country is always better of developing at a sustainable level rather then running up expensive debts in order to “grow” its economy. Better to be a tortoise than a hare.

The acceptance of this IMF loan will incur more debt to the nation and it will not bring prosperity to the country. We would have been better of taking stock and developing a long term indigenous plan. But as a nation that “punches above its weight” my solution would have been considered backward.

44. Truth will set you Free Avatar
    Truth will set you Free

@ Dishonest Bajans
    There have been an increasing number of complaints filed about property frauds involving personnel from the courts, staff from the Registry and officials of the legal fraternity.
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Hmm Caribbean Politicians seems to be a Regional criminal gang if tricksters.

45. Truth will set you Free Avatar
    Truth will set you Free

@ Dishonest Bajans
    There have been an increasing number of complaints filed about property frauds involving personnel from the courts, staff from the Registry and officials of the legal fraternity.
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Hmm Caribbean Politicians seems to be a Regional criminal gang of tricksters

Now you got Dale Marshall controlling the Barbados Judiciary.

46. I saw on FB where someone mentioned that Mia was the ‘smartest politician in the world.’

That is what has us in ruin “We elect a second rate politician as leader and then proclaim him/her the smartest person in the world”

The silly politician believes the lie and then scamsters and businessmen make a fool of them.

Am I getting this right “something was sold for US $50M in 2018, by the smartest man in the world and then a man who was less smart sells it for US 1.2 B??

Ouch

——————————————-If a man weighs just 20 lbs and you tell him he is punching above his weight, is that a compliment or just a benevolent pat on the head?

Don’t believe the hype

—————————————————————-Mia has to love the ‘opposition”. Now she can talk about choking social media because a wolf in sheep clothing brought that stinking carcass into the room.

———————————- Saw some not so positive statements about Caswell. I think Caswell mad a misstep, but now he knows the difference between Caswell Franklyn citizen and Caswell Franklyn politician.

Still a top dog in my book.

47. I saw on FB where someone mentioned that Mia was the ‘smartest politician in the world.’

That is what has us in ruin “We elect a second rate politician as leader and then proclaim him/her the smartest person in the world”

The silly politician believes the lie and then scamsters and businessmen make a fool of them.

Am I getting this right “something was sold for US $50M in 2018, by the smartest man in the world and then a man who was less smart sells it for US 1.2 B??

Ouch

——————————————-If a man weighs just 20 lbs and you tell him he is punching above his weight, is that a compliment or just a benevolent pat on the head?

Don’t believe the hype

—————————————————————-Mia has to love the ‘opposition”. Now she can talk about choking social media because a wolf in sheep clothing brought that stinking carcass into the room.

———————————- Saw some not so positive statements about Caswell. I think Caswell mad a misstep, but now he knows the difference between Caswell Franklyn citizen and Caswell Franklyn politician.

Still a top dog in my book.

48. Northern Observer Avatar
    Northern Observer

@WW&C
    Do you really think Rubis will #updeting if SOL isn’t playing?
    It wasn’t the price per say, rather the non-competitive nature of certain clauses…and yes they had value. Any buyer had a GoB desperate for Fx over a barrel. Don’t mind ac will tell yah how much BNTCL was losing.
    Simpson keeps a quarter, but he will sell. That likely depends on a number of factors we can only guess at.
    A two generation multi billionaire, and we have some asking why Buhbaydus can’t produce a Butch Stewart? Simpson makes Stewart look like a dwarf.

49. Was just about to manhandle the blogmaster for blocking me, when I realized I did not know my own name 🙂

50. Truth will set you Free Avatar
    Truth will set you Free

@ Hal

Now you will understand why Barbados is a failed island not a single leader of Industry or Innovationlocally, regionally or abroad.

UWI honours outstanding graduates

Three former Prime Ministers of Barbados were among 70 of the University of the West Indies’ (UWI) most outstanding alumni who were presented with awards in a ceremony in the Quadrangle at the Cave Hill Campus today.

Owen Arthur, Freundel Stuart and the late David Thompson were recognised as the university celebrates its 70th anniversary.

Chief Justice Sir Marston Gibson was also among the distinguished Caribbean people who attended the various campuses from the 1960s to the 2000s.

Former prime minister of St Lucia, Dr Kenny Anthony, who spoke on behalf of honourees, reminded the leaders who were present they had a heavy responsibility to craft a Caribbean that future students of the university would see as an example of what is possible.

Other Barbadians who were recognised include Governor of the Central Bank Cleviston Haynes, former governor Dr Marion Williams, former and present general secretaries of the Barbados Workers Union Sir Roy Trotman and Toni Moore and former Bishop of Barbados Dr John Holder.

Barbados’ first female postmaster general Margaret Ashby was honoured posthumously.

From the rest of the Caribbean, Prime Minister of St Kitts and Nevis Dr Timothy Harris and his predecessor Dr Denzil Douglas; Premier of St Kitts Vance Amory; Grenada’s Prime Minister Keith Mitchell and Justice Adrian Saunders, president of the Caribbean Court of Justice, and President of Trinidad and Tobago Paula Mae Weekes were also recognised. (GC/SAT

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/203266/uwi-honours-outstanding-graduates