Submitted by nineofnine

WHY CRYPTOCURRENCY?

The question to ask, does it meet the criteria for currency value and worth? As it stands, the pillars of currency must have as principles, three intrinsic values

1. Function ….as a medium of exchange throughout the economic landscape.
2. Carries value and vault potential or Store of Value.
3. Possesses units of value.

The intrinsic value and medium of exchange must have the potential and attributes to endure time and space and must stand strong throughout economic activity. Its value and vault potential lies in the ability to facilitate quantifiable amounts in safe, accessible storage over extended periods of time and ability to trade and invest.  As far as unit of value/account is concerned, it must carry transactional ability to be applied to all areas of financial and economic sectors.

Where FIAT CURRENCIES capabilities carry the medium of exchange and units of value (1 & 3), it is devoid of STORE OF VALUE (SoV) (2), … because of its LOW stock to flow ratio. That is, the amount of money that is in circulation (stock) and (Flow) which eludes to the production of NEW or the future printing of its currency units. What this all means is, that fiat money can be easily printed at whims fancy and with that, comes a LOW stock of flow and LOW value or the creation of “easy money”.

On the other hand, CRYPTOCURRENCIES, having all characteristics and value attributes of “HARD MONEY” carries a HIGH VALUE.

Why… ?

1. It is a medium of exchange. It has the ability to be exchanged in secured peer to peer encrypted channels devoid of Governmental/Institutional regulation which might change to satisfy consumer trust. Monitored and transactionally balanced and recorded by Blockchains, a public validating ledger of records undertaken by those referred to as MINERS.

1. CRYPTOCURRENCIES carries a high STOCK TO FLOW ratio as it cannot produce units as easily as Fiat currencies.. Its storage is facilitated outside normal channels in encrypted form. Access is through fortified gateways as some would determine “uncompromisable VAULTS”
  2. Built on the premise of building units-blocks to garner ONE unit of currency making it harder to produce, hence creating its HIGH VALUE and WORTH.
    The RARER the asset, the more “high-value” it carries.

MASS PRODUCTION of any currency ultimately devalues its worth. History showed that the ancient system that used seashells was replaced because of demands of the industrial age by MINTED METALS, then came GOLD to to back FIAT cash, now to CRYPTOCURRENCIES that is revolutionizing the financial and economic space. Large Corporate entities are now investing in Crypto and in their portfolios, even Governments are moving in similar direction incorporating “the new digital age”.

Gold has a high store of value but it flow side cannot exceed 2.6% of store, creating a “hardness” or supply, which really is due to hoarding supply and maintaining value.
“cash for gold exercise stores up the supply of gold”.

ENTER THE BITCON (leader in cryptocurrencies).
Bitcoin the “hardest” asset to secure to date presents real value per coin. As at August 2018 its worth stands $9000+ falling from a previous high of $16000.+ late 2017. Will it rebound?

Gold per standard unit (oz), $1200+. Cryptos’ inability to be mass produced creates a fixed supply, halving its ratio  ever four years unlike Gold.

As more and more “Stakeholders” of economies garner momentum on investments and startup enterprises, mutual funds, pension funds, 401ks, IRA markets and other large financial markets etc. becomes target sectors for advancement of Crupyo.

Crypto is set to take strong root and presence in economic affairs and its landscape. Of note: ICE (Intercontinental Exchange), which owns The NEW YORK STOCK EXCHANGE (NYSE) announced a planned launch of an open and regulated Global ecosystem platform for digital assets. Likewise Germany is on a similar note to establish a multilateral trading platform for cryptocurrencies.

WooCommerce, facilitators of one third of all e-Commerce stores has integrated an e-Payments plugin by Coinbase for an digital epayments cart/checkout.

IS THIS THE TIME TO SERIOUSLY CONSIDER CRYPTO?
Indices/indicators are looking positive for growth.  Note that any investment carries risks of lost or gain. http://newdigitaleconomies.com

105 responses to “The Digital Age, Cryptocurrencies”

1. Don’t understand it, wouldn’t touch it. Mind you with the so-called quantitative easing practiced by Britain, Europe, and the US, confidence in any currency requires an enormous suspension of disbelief. If private citizens or commercial entities indulged in any of that sort of thing they would be incarcerated in moments. Crookery.

2. All currencies are shiite…. just a means to an end of facilitating trade.
    ……bits of paper and other ‘things’ that purport to have value.
    However, any currency that is ONLY available to the Bushman when the electricity, telecom system and network are working is NOT for Bushie….
    …or wake up some morning and find that the ‘SYSTEM UNAVAILABLE…” and then some Russian hacker buying up the world with Bushie’s blenders…?

AT ALL!!!

…and besides, how would the Bushman keep his wealth secret from Pieceuhderock and dem fellas who know this computer thing tall…?

Lotta shiite….

It is already bad enuff having to go to the bank every damn month to withdraw yuh money and count it … to make sure it still there..

3. @Bush Tea

You are stuck in the past?

What is a currency?

Whiter crypto or fiat as nineonine writes, both are mediums of exchange. It is only a matter of time before cryptocurrency is declared legal tender.

4. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Cryptocurrencies are prone to fraud, scams & old fashioned theft despite the supposedly “uncompromisable VAULTS.” More than US$ 1 billion was stolen in the first half of this year and the loss rate is accelerating.
    https://www.cnbc.com/2018/06/07/1-point-1b-in-cryptocurrency-was-stolen-this-year-and-it-was-easy-to-do.html

5. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Cryptocurrency mining uses vast quantities of energy. Bitcoin mining alone consumes 0.5% of ALL the world’s electrical energy, which makes it a huge contributor to pollution and global climate change because much of that energy is produced from burning fossil fuels. https://qz.com/1281850/bitcoins-energy-consumption-is-as-much-a-year-as-all-of-ireland-says-the-first-peer-reviewed-study-on-the-subject/

6. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

This article is gobbledegook trying to sound sophisticated. If you cannot explain something so that an average 12 year old can understand it, then you do not understand it yourself. Here is what you need to know in plain English.
    *Cryptocurrencies are highly speculative investments that bet on the disintegration of traditional fiat money infrastructure over time. This will not happen very quickly and you will need to be very patient.
    *Cryptocurrencies will not come into wide acceptance as currencies until their value is stable: ie until they cease to be useful as investments, because the point of an investment is for its value to rise, not remain stable.
    *Do not buy cryptocurrency unless you are acquiring it for its entertainment value just as you might buy a lottery ticket. There is a significant probability that you will lose all or most of the money you spend on cryptocurrency.
    *A significant number of cryptocurrencies are entirely fraudulent ponzi schemes to separate you from your money. A very incomplete short list of these frauds includes: OneCoin, Plexcoin, Bitconnect, Centratech, Pincoin and iFan.

7. LOL @ PLT
    Surely EVERYONE is aware these points that you make…..
    So there must be more to it…

If Bushie cannot ‘jingle’ it in the pants pocket …. it aint money.
    Sorry David – Bushie OLD fashioned as shiite…

8. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

The values stated for Bitcoin in the article are in error. In August 2018 the value of Bitcoin fluctuated between US$6,146 and US$7,023. At no point did it reach US$9,000. Today it is trading around US$7,000.

9. see below links worth reading – Martin Armstrong’s take on Crypto currencies
    https://www.armstrongeconomics.com/world-news/cryptocurrency/cryptocurrency-scam/

Also on the broader emerging market debt crisis that is now engulfing the world & that Barbados is caught up in
    https://www.armstrongeconomics.com/international-news/emerging-markets/dont-cry-for-me-argentina-its-a-global-debt-crisis/

10. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Bush Tea September 5, 2018 8:17 AM
    Everyone should be aware of the obvious things I pointed out, but apparently not nineofnine.
    I am NEW fashioned as shiite… I touch actual physical money so rarely that that I forget whose face is on it. I buy everything I need with mMoney or my debit card, and I pay all my bills online. The last time I darkened the door of a bank is when I opened my account in April 2017. But cryptocurrency is useless to me.

11. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@nineofnine
    “ENTER THE BITCON (leader in cryptocurrencies).”
    ++++++++++++++++++
    The typo in this part of your article gets closest to the truth. “BITCON” indeed.

12. @ David BU at 6 :59 AM

I think the nays have it. And I join them.

Crypto- currency is a fiat currency. Fiat = Let there be. Its acceptance depends on endorsement by Governments.
    I agree with PLT that the author clearly does not understand the concept hence he has difficulties in explaining it in simple terms. I suggest that he starts by explain the Blockchain technology on which cryptocurrencies are based.

It invites all the downside risks so cleverly and clearly stated by PLT and Bush Tea. It is another Ponzi scheme in the making.

13. “It is only a matter of time before cryptocurrency is declared legal tender.”

Wanna bet David?

14. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@45govt September 5, 2018 8:51 AM
    You and David are both right… and wrong. You are right that Bitcoin or Ethereum will not ever be accorded the status of legal tender by any bona fide government. David is right that it is inevitable that at some point legal tender will be based on the Blockchain technology that is the core of cryptocurrency. You should welcome this because it is the best way for fiat currency to escape from the political manipulations that you hate so vehemently.

15. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar
    sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore)

@pLT

If Barbados adopted a CCurrency will this address our forex issues? What will this adoption automatically do for Barbados and its need for FOREX in order to achieve growth?

16. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

“There is just no way a single currency for the entire world will ever work because not everyone has a current account and trade surplus. Someone must have a deficit” \

I read that in a the link provided by @Eric. That is so sad; they must be a country(s) that must run deficit for the systen to blance. Therefole the moel ays there are winners and losers; but who decides this?

17. @ sirfuzzy at 9:03 AM

The cryptocurrency puts the the seller and buyer of internationally exchanged goods and services directly in contact. There should not be a need for a reserve currency like US $ and Euro. It is a kind of barter system. But you must have a good or service that is trade-able.

There is no direct causal link between Forex reserves and growth. Foreign direct investment leads to growth by expanding the productive base of the country . Some maybe for export ,others for local consumption but it increases employment ,income and profits. Hence growth.

Growth can also be caused by local investment of capital and loan capital/borrowing. The need for foreign reserves will depend on the foreign inputs that will be required and how soon the new locally financed firms earn foreign exchange through exports of goods and services. There usually is a gestation period during which there would be a dip in the countriy’s foreign reserves. But growth there will be in output and employment.

That is why I insist that fundamental analyses should be carried out before off the cuff /shelf prescriptions be imposed.

In our case according to Miller A,we used the foreign exchange for conspicuous consumption of foreign goods. Me don’t know Ask Bushie.

18. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@sirfuzzy asked
    “If Barbados adopted a CCurrency will this address our forex issues?
    +++++++
    No it will not. Our inability to earn as much forex as we wish to spend is a structural issue in our economy. Basing our fiat currency on blockchain technology is an adjustment of monetary policy which does little to transform our economy, it simply makes it harder for politicians to print money and thereby conceal the economic problem temporarily.

19. The adoption of crypto currency will have nothing to do with address foreign exchange requirements. It will be a matter of going with the flow. This is how we roll.

20. @ David BU
    I think the algorithm is over correcting…guessing wrong tenses and spelling etc. It is evident in other submissions. Sorry to complain.

21. @ PLT at 9 : 45 AM

You are quite right. I think some people think it would get around money laundering surveillance. It will not. Blockchain was developed in governments research labs.

@ David BU

We should only go with the flow when it is to Barbados’ advantage. Barbadians are not lemmings. We lead. Because it is new does not make it good.

22. Blockchain technology is supposed to make transactions un-eraseable. That should make for a good audit trail.

23. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

The adoption of crypto currency will have nothing to do with address foreign exchange requirements. It will be a matter of going with
    the flow. This is how we roll.

Hmmm, but twith the last few administration in charge we have being ROLLING BACKWARDS. I dont know if we want to roll any more. Find another word that only has positive connotations.

24. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

Blockchain technology is supposed to make transactions un-eraseable. That should make for a good audit trail.

But if u as to look the other way or not look where they an be found, what happens then. The Auditor Gen reports often indicated data or doc were not available etc. Honestly i dont think it that they are not around but just not in the places he looked or was advised to looked.
    Will BL technology make finding them easier or finding them harder? Remember taller fences usually encourage longer ladders.

25. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

Blockchain technology is supposed to make transactions un-eraseable. That should make for a good audit trail.

But if u asked “to look the other way” or “not look where they are to be found”, what happens then?

The Auditor Gen reports often indicated data or documents were not available etc. Will this be the case with “BC tech”?

Honestly i think that they are around but just not in the places the Auditor Gen looked or was advised to look.

Will BC technology make finding them easier or finding them harder?

Remember taller fences usually encourage longer ladders to be made.

26. For 2 days in 2003 I enjoyed food cooked on the Barbecue grill.

Blackout Hits Ontario and Seven US States

Then, at 4:11 p.m. on a muggy August Thursday, a faster-than-you-can-blink reversal in the flow of current, suddenly sucking away a city’s worth of power from the eastern half of the continent. Computerized safety systems kicked in and 100 generating stations across Ontario and seven U.S. states were knocked off-line like tumbling dominoes. The lights went out, air conditioners stopped humming, television and radio stations fell silent, subways, streetcars, and elevators shuddered to a halt. Fifty million people looked at their watches, flipped suddenly useless power switches, and began a long, hot wait for someone to restore the natural order.

December 2013
    “Five days after a major ice storm crippled energy grids across Eastern Canada, fewer than 50,000 customers remained without power in Toronto on Boxing Day as work crews began arduous, door-to-door repairs.

Barbados “An we de hurricane come !”

27. @Vincent

There was a time when the currency we have come to love had to be backed by gold and other precious metals. Then it morphed to Fiat with all its warts. Who are we to prejudge where fiat will morph to crypto?

28. sirfuzzy at 10 :59 AM

I share your concerns.
    Generally the digital world tend to make things more difficult. On both sides of the Atlantic my credit card was declined. Like Bushie I had to resort to the currency that jingles in the pocket and a direct bartering process. Like PLT the debit card worked. I returned to Barbados and the credit card works.

I go into the local banks and the teller makes about ten key strokes and seem to wait 30 seconds before each key stroke goes through. The movement of queues are several times slower’. They charge for every transaction.

The short answer is that retrieving information for forensic purposes may not be any more efficient and may even be more easily and quickly corrupted.

Just my uneducated guess. I hope I am wrong.

29. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

“I think some people think it would get around money laundering surveillance” quote.

What is money laundering at its core? Don’t bank and finance house legally launder/wsh money, cause all money is clean unless declared as dirty?

Money has no value unless it enter a market place. Eventually the dirt money must come back into the “circle we call the economy”.

Do we think money laundering is bad because govts are not given notice of the amounts involved and thus cannot collect tax revenue on the transactions?

30. Hants at 11 : 10 AM

Yes. I remember those reports. The solution was to have a distributive system with nodules in order to obviate system wide break downs. Have they changed the system yet?
    There maybe lessons for us to learn from that experience.
    With a world wide cryptocurrency system, since governments are eliminated, the costs of correction will not be borne by the taxpayers. That maybe a blessing or curse.

31. @ David BU at 11:12 AM

You invited us to join the discussion and express our views. From whence comes this charge of prejudice?

32. @Vincent

The word used is ‘prejudge’.

33. @ David BU

You used the verb; I the the noun.

34. @Vincent

No pressure.

35. @ Vincent Codrington,

I don’t know if Ontario Hydro has changed the systems.Will have to check

Until I have no choice I will use cash to shop. I do pay bills online.

36. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

this may not be the best place to raise this idea but i will.

I am was thinking of a way to weed out the bad driving habits (and thus drivers) often seen in the PSV sector.
    Removing the bad driver and bad habits should reduce the backlog a the courts as fewer cases will be going thru the legal system.

Maybe we should make mandatory “PSV driver’s insurance”. Whereby a psv driver must purchase insurance from a legal insurance company for the duration of the PSV license that she/he is seeking. usually one year. I will let the insurance company decide on rates etc.

This insurance will provide part of the cover for the accidents or damages that follow that the driver of any psv is involved in during the period of coverage.

a) The PSV driver must present the BRA with his driver’s insurance docs before his psv license wil be renewed/issued

Now this should have the effect of allowing the private market regulating the psv market in a sense; it will remove the bad drivers as the insurance industry will surely increase the rates on problematic drivers or refuse cover.

If you are refused cover u cannot get the PSV drivers licence at BRA when due for renewal. Catch u without a valid PSV license straight to jail for x period of time; no questions asked.

The Insurance industry will be tasked with providing the police or Transport inspectors with a list of active and valid psv drivers so that efficient policing can be done when investigating driving infractions on the roads

PSV owners will be slow i think to allow illegal drivers to use their vehicles to hustle.

feedback welcomed.

37. First, thank you all for comments thus far.
    Though this is a relatively new construct and one that somewhat is being suppressed, (understandably), it stands that none of us can stop its roll in development of the Digital age.
    Whether one lacks the understanding, confidence, knowledge or skill, the movement is ongoing, we either sit back and watch as others take the lead and be ahead of the changing financial world or Barbados gets up and act formidably in this economic shift..

Addressing some comments:

@45 … “If private citizens or commercial entities indulged in any of that sort of thing they would be incarcerated in moments. Crookery.”
    Surely you are not aware of the vastness of progress thus far… when the CFA (Chartered Financial Analyst) INCLUDES CRYPTO in their exams….thats a giant leap, read between the lines.
    The Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) Program is a professional credential offered internationally by the American-based CFA Institute (formerly the Association for Investment Management and Research, or AIMR) to investment and financial professionals.
    COINCHECK.. yet another USA Trading Platform.
    Netherlands has it own first hightech Crypto ecosystem
    Accenture streamlines shipping using Blockchain
    Top 10 Crypto traders deals average 136000% returns.

start here with an history… https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IMJmd_tNhlM

38. @ Bushie

…”…and besides, how would the Bushman keep his wealth secret from Pieceuhderock and dem fellas who know this computer thing tall ..? Lotta shiite….”
    Mockery is sometimes a laugh, Financial matters will never be a mockery, to most it sustains life… (debatable)
    IF YOU ARE REFERRING TO TRADING, they are some prerequisites you will need, these are, a PLATFORM to trade, a TRADING ACCOUNT and a CRYPTO WALLET. With the crypto wallet, you will be given two (2) keys, a private key and a public key (some 24 characters long) and you enter your own personal password credentials…
    Piece invisible presence can’t decipher that.

@ peterlawrencethompson
    …” More than US$ 1 billion was stolen in the first half of this year and the loss rate is accelerating.”..
    Somewhat correct, WHY?
    Those coinbase entities have/had weak tier 1 structures, Those which have/had unsustainable IPO and ICO along with mining imbalances will inevitably collapse.
    You brought up the ENERGY factor, this is one of the reasons the development of light computing is ongoing.

…”This article is gobbledegook trying to sound sophisticated. If you cannot explain something so that an average 12 year old can understand it, then you do not understand it yourself. Here is what you need to know in plain English.”…

Your reverse psychology is noted, this time… you need to park yourself and seek out sound info..
    go here https://blockchainwhispers.com

Dec 2017..Bitcoin traded US$16000+ per coin, .. YOU GET TO $9000+ before the $7000 mark.. come come,
    a 2 year old will tell you this. Ego is shown by the repetitions of the pronoun I. Time to drop it… just observing.

39. @ SIRFUZZY

Forex, Deficits and balances.
    Forex strategically points to the USD.(ultimately). Adoption garners a cadre of opportunities.
    The local dollar can be pegged to Crypto and all transactions can be base on its ratio.
    The Country can become a hub for Cryptocurrencies, modelled after the offshore sector.
    Platforms for trading can be licensed and operated from here.
    Investments can follow suite.
    Jamaica moving towards establishing a Trading Platform, Venezuela peggs to its Crypto..
    Corporations investing in startups, IPOs AND ICOs and large financial markets.
    Managing Deficits and Balances are byproducts for management systems.

@ grammer critics

Why choose to sit on grammatical errors or tenses, Is this an exam exercise? It shows the level of intelligence or lack thereof, choosing to shoot the messenger and failure to grasp the idea(s) conveyed in the submission… for what?
    futile demeanor and misbehaviour of darkness in grown people.

@SIRFUZZY

BLOCKCHAIN is a PUBLIC LEDGER OF RECORDS, kept by a network of MINERS from across the globe, each transaction has an electronic signature not written in books or kept in file in one place. the network balances the legality and authenticity of all transactions. also no transactions can move forward unless specific keys are exchange using encrypted channels.

40. @ all

Next week, Barbados will be hosting a meeting on Cryptocurrencies at the Hilton, it will be a great opportunity for PM Mottley to show what viable solutions are there for Barbados moving into the Digital Age of technological resources, products and services.

http://newdigitaleconomies.com

41. PLT is right on the non money!! Cryptos are direct competition to currencies and guess who owns the currencies??? Government!! they dont want the competition and can legally enforce that desire. Secondly, the majority of people dabbling in Cryptos are trading but not paying Taxes resulting from trading, Govt are not going to tolerate that. Loads of said traders are Illegal Drug and money launderers. If you insist on getting involved then for most people it should be like $500 in 5 different types that you have researched thoroughly. Have fun but appreciate you may never see a penny again! One day the US / EU will intervene when least expected and confiscate $BNs.

42. Pump and dump is when you ‘big-up’ a stock, fools rush in to buy and the huckster dump his stock as the fools are running in.

When I read this article, I felt as if I was reading something that was written three years in the past and without the writer making use of google.
    Bitcoin price is wrong… for christ sake, google the price,
    “uncompromisable VAULTS” … what a joke. Hackers steal coins very day

Bitcoin as it is now, is a scam. A number of countries have place restrictions on the availability of bitcoin.

if you cannot afford to lose money, avoid bitcoin.

By the way Overstock (OSTK) tried a side play and its stock has been punished since January. Those options that Rawdon A got are now ‘useless’

43. MB is wrong on his politics but right on money.
    John is wrong on everything 🙂

44. Theo–you old rogue! haha The world would be a much better place for ALL if wunna woke up and made me BENEVOLENT Dictator! haha

45. @ TheOGazerts…
    Does Google create its own content other than stats and analyses? It mines data of others, it’s not the only source of data. Parents send their children to school to study age old books and celebrate their programming. gee, stress not yourself.

Please share HOW Bitcoin as it is now, is a scam and the evidence that hackers steal coins everyday as well as why cherry-picking is speculating?..

Its some Communist countries that are mostly apposing Cryptocurrencies, Russia just confiscated all Crypto ATM under the guise of inspection, while Korea is engineering Crypto in their economy with Government drafting legislation to legalize Crypto Trading

Like “white Collar Crime” ,these “hackers” might be the ones who control the data/records, duplicating old transactions and not outsiders per say…. that’s just my opinion..

Some stats on Bitcoin Lightning Network.. Bitcoin’s Lightning Network has now processed a total of 101.7 BTC. The network is bigger as ever and continuously growing, with now over 3350 nodes and over 12 000 channels. Over the last 30 days, Number of channels grew by 7%, capacity by 4% and the node count increased by more than 11%.

Understand what is the Bear Run and the Bull Run.and what precedes the Bull Run, then your investment stands a better chance to yield much fruit.

Of note: pump and dump…
    “when fools rush in” …..stocks gain, …..why dump?. Makes no sense.

46. Crypto is beyond my pay grade. However, I have a few very academically gifted nephews, who have graduated in recent years with MBA’s from Harvard, and two from Stanford. Having been on a financial carer path post undergrad, one would have thought former employers like Goldman, Black Rock and JPMorgan would have snatched them up. They tried, but they all ended up in some form of Blockchain, with one in Crypto. It was astonishing to me how many of the graduating classes, and many of these grads have several offers, opted for a Blockchain opportunity.
    Crypto may not be the answer in its current form, but after a few morphs and mergers, who knows. The big players are certainly investing heavily.

47. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@nineofnine September 5, 2018 5:07 PM
    “YOU GET TO $9000+ before the $7000 mark.. come come”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++
    You stated that “As at August 2018 its worth stands $9000+…” and I pointed out that you were completely wrong because in August 2018 the value of Bitcoin fluctuated between US$6,146 and US$7,023. Perhaps $9,000 is between $6,146 and $7,023 in your universe… come come.

48. @ MoneyB
    The world would be a much better place for ALL if wunna woke up and made me BENEVOLENT Dictator! haha
    ++++++++++++++++++++++=
    You could be made Dictator … BUT for the BENEVOLENCE, you would need a series of bush baths….

49. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@nineofnine September 5, 2018 5:07 PM
    “Those coinbase entities have/had weak tier 1 structures, Those which have/had unsustainable IPO and ICO along with mining imbalances will inevitably collapse.”
    Let us unpack this gobbledegook.

Coinbase, a company based in San Francisco, is a digital currency exchange that brokers exchanges of Bitcoin, Bitcoin Cash, Ethereum, Ethereum Classic and Litecoin with fiat currencies. The term “tier 1 structure” is jargon used in finance to describe subordinated capital in the form of Tier 1 (T1) and Tier 2 (T2) securities (if you want to learn more check out https://www.investireoggi.it/forums/attachments/fcn_2014_04_23-pdf.280995/). What you have written here nineofnine, “coinbase entities have/had weak tier 1 structures” is simply word salad with no meaning at all.

There have been many cryptocurrencies with unsustainable ICOs (Initial Coin Offerings). “Unsustainable” in this context simply means either that when they were offered to the public nobody bought them, or that shortly after they were offered the supply exceeded the demand and the price collapsed. There has never been a single cryptocurrency IPO (Initial Public Offering of stock on a stock exchange) anywhere in the world. A “mining imbalance” with respect to a cryptocurrency means that new coins are either to difficult to mine or too easy.

So nothing you have said here, nineofnine, addresses the vulnerability of established cryptocurrencies like bitcoin to fraud, hacking and theft. Bitcoin does not have “weak tier 1 structures” whatever those are… neither does it have a “mining imbalance” or an “unsustainable ICO.” Yet Tokyo-based Mt.Gox, the largest bitcoin exchange at the time, filed for bankruptcy in 2014 and said it lost 750,000 of its users’ bitcoins and 100,000 of the exchange’s own. This hack and theft amounts to about US$5,950,000,000 at today’s bitcoin value. US$6 billion is not small change.