The blogmaster has participated in three general elections in the decade since Barbados Underground (BU) was established. There was the memorable 2008 general election when a young David Thompson wrestled the government from a tired Owen Arthur. In 2013 Freundel Stuart was given a second chance to be his own man after taking over from David Thompson who died in office on 23 October 2010. And in 2018 Barbados recorded its first female prime minister. Mia Mottley’s Barbados Labour Party (BLP) won 30-0 on the 24 May 2018.

The blogmaster supported the David Thompson campaign in 2008, disliked the slothful leadership of Stuart in 2013 and by default was left with limited options after a Democratic Labour Party (DLP) vandalized the Barbados brand in 2018.

A recurring message has been peddled by the duopoly in the three general elections. That of alleged corruption by elected officials.

In 2008:-

• VECO and the Dodds prison
  • CLICO $75,000 cheque paid to Owen Arthur
  • 3S and Operation Freeflow flyover project
  • Hardwood Housing Factory Inc
  • etc

In 2013:-

• CLICO Forensic report
  • CAHILL Scam
  • Pierhead Marina Project
  • Cost=U-Less
  • etc

In 2018:

• CLICO (again)
  • Corruption by Members of Parliament
  • National Housing PAC report
  • Maloney (Rock Hard Cement)
  • etc

Both political parties have been successful in bamboozling a gullible public in the three election cycles mentioned by promising that on winning the government corruptors will be ‘hanged, drawn and quartered’. The inability of the duopoly to deliver on the promise exposes the message from the duopoly for what it is, an electioneering scam.

A disappointment for many – and a significant contributor to the current state – has been the extent to which the traditional media has contributed to the hoodwinking of the public.  By usurping its role as a guardian of our democracy to deliver on its mandate to fairly and accurately report the news- the democracy we aspire to have remains elusive. As a consequence of the vacuum created, we have seen the rise of citizen journalism taking advantage of the emergence of social media platforms in a technological driven world. The blogmaster’s observation contrasts starkly with a recent Barbados Today Editorial summarized in the following extract:

The role of the media, whether print, electronic or broadcast is to educate and inform and to present factual news and balanced opinions without the suggestion of partisanship or personal bias. The media sometimes fail on this score because mortal men and women are the media, and subject to personal foibles, corporate dictates and political linkages. They can – by their deliberate spin – influence public opinion to a significant degree.

But, thankfully, in most instances and in the case of Barbados specifically, the media operate within the realm of an educated public which easily discerns where unvarnished news starts and stops and where spin begins. We hold absolutely no brief for anyone, inclusive of politicians or political parties. But as a member of the media fraternity who, too, can be accused rightfully or wrongfully of not always carrying out that which it now trumpets, we feel it incumbent upon us to call a spade a spade and to address a particularly troubling scenario.

Barbados Today 27 August 2018

Although early in tenure the Mia Mottley government has been following the corruption script albeit with greater stridency, or so it seems.  The recent arrest by US authorities of a former high profile minister has dovetailed government’s public consultation by the Committee on Integrity In Public Life Bill.  The two events have magically served to pump up the corruption talk volume in the public domain. The blogmaster remains cynical that Barbados will be able to implement a transparency framework to efficiently hold officials ‘feet to the fire’. Our inability to manage key functions in the country like public transportation, NIS fund, waste management to name three support the view.

One of the reasons first offered by the former government for not implementing Integrity and Freedom of Information legislation promised in 2008 was the cost to operationalize. It has not gone unnoticed by the blogmaster that Sir David Simmons in his recent contribution to the Committee on the Integrity in Public Life Bill matter-of-factly indicated that the Bill as proposed will be ineffective unless related laws are enacted. He cited the need for a code of conduct to manage breaches, proper regulation of campaign financing and a few others.

The blogmaster is of the view Barbadians do not have the capacity to fairly assess the mirror image late Errol Barrow prophetically shared in 1986. The fact we have sunk billions of dollars in education since he delivered the Mirror Image speech serves as an indictment on our leadership and people.

Where do we go from here amidst the chaos and the lack of a realization by the majority of citizens that we need to achieve a new normal? The jury remains out 104 days into the Mia Mottley government.

A mantra of Prime Minister Mia Mottley is that many hands make light work. Unfortunately Barbados at this critical juncture in history – despite crumbling economic and social structures – is at its most politically polarized state ever. A condition that will make the task of rebuilding all the more challenging.

We live in hope!

120 responses to “Corruption Dry Talk”

1. “We live in hope” – hear hear, but not much.

2. William Skinner Avatar

What was the scam in Cahill ? It was a mangled effort but where was the corruption ?
    On Hard Rock.What I read or understood was an entity breaking the law by establishing a building without proper or no permission by town planning. Does that rise to corruption. Are the squatters in St. Philip and the Belle corrupt or just breaking the law ? Is driving without the road tax and insurance corruption or just breaking the law?
    Similarly with the fly over project was there any evidence of corruption
    The problem with Sir David is that he went public about corruption on a call in program, and was never asked: Why you (Sir David) never talked about corruption while you were the top judicial official ? Are you ( Sir David) prepared to go before a parliamentary committee and expose this corruption. In some countries he could not make a statement like that and just walk away .
    As I have often said the problem is who will guard the guards. We have public hearings on the Integrity Bill . Just check and see who controlling the hearings: the same people who bring the Bill. They are from the same pool. It’s a joke. MPs declared their assets but only one citizen, a cabinet secretary, knows .
    We are now into street slogans and fancy PR stunts. A country is broke but can support almost an entire parliament of ministers. But then again many hands make light work. The salaries of five ministers could save at least thirty or forty workers and their families from the breadline. But who really cares. Same old BLPDLP skullduggery.

3. First of all this govt now having two ministers embroiled in illegal accusations / estate transactions.
    This govt if wants to be taken seriously on the issue of integrity the PM must address the issue of removing one of the members namely Dale Marshall from the committee as the continuing drumbeat across social media of his presence sitting on the Integrity committee would cast a dark shadow and doubt making the committee look like a dog and pony show.

4. No need to overanalyse William. The Cahill and Hardwood NOT Hard Rock issues were used on the political platform to fuel the corruption debate. The objective of this blog is to focus on how the integrity/corruption debate through the years has been crafted to manipulate the minds of a susceptible public.

5. William Skinner Avatar

I meant Rock Hard Cement building in the environs of The Harbour Road. My apologies.

6. Thanks for reminding the blog about Mark Maloney and the 1 billion in contracts received by his group of companies.

7. Dentistry Whisperer (M. Pharm. D) LinkedIN Avatar
    Dentistry Whisperer (M. Pharm. D) LinkedIN

Brasstacks (VOB) numbers have taken a hit. From 33,000 to 19,500 in 60 days. Williams is considering other alternatives. Please ad-hear to anonymity. Sanka Price may get the pink slip.Haynes Darlington.   

8. There is only very SLIGHT to NIL HOPE for Barbados.

It will all spin on whether Mia is able to admit that, having no LEC, she is NOT a lawyer – and hence free to operate OUTSIDE of that dastardly fraternity that is dedicated ONLY to self aggrandisement, and which has demonstrated a TOTAL incompetence to manage institutions or organisations in the interest of the public.

As long as lawyers continue to exercise DOMINATING influence on this society – IT IS DOOMED.

Local lawyers should be relegated to the role of low level FUNCTIONARIES who are assigned to formalise the legislation of SOUND, INTELLIGENT policies, which are conceptualised by HONEST, COMPETENT leaders (who by DEFINITION will not be Bajan lawyers) – note the judgement of the CCJ to NOT have a single one on board, despite Barbados having STARTED the court.
    Those other islands have eyes to see….
    We are unrepentant brass bowls….

Wunna could talk as much shiite as wunna want to….
    That is the bottom line.

9. So what’s the news with Caswell.

Made any public appearances lately or said any deep words?

10. Now that all eyes are opened to how corruption is formulated and which is engineered from / at tge highest level including ir judicial system
    All and sundry should at least appreciate that on those times when Mia was called for not having an LEC to practice law
    The bottom line was not about focusing in her abilty but the level corruption that would have been interjected at the highest level passing through the judicial system which afforded her the passing grade
    It makes for wonder hiw many working in the judicial system are really qualified
    There should be criteria that anyone wanting to practice or work in the judicial system at the highest level show publicly all necessary qualifications to do so

11. Caswell is busy calling out Guyson Mayers on the order of “lack of integrity”
    In the meanwhile he sits among his peers as a member of the Integrity Committee members who are accused of illegal activity and says nothing
    What bold face up in your face hypocrisy

12. Bush Tea,

so because there are no Bim judges on the CCJ that is a reflection of the system of justice in Bim?

there are no Guyanese or Dominican Judges either. is that because of their judicial system?

does the privy council have a caribbean lawyer sitting on it?

Despite the DLP crap talk about MAM no having a LEC it has been settled that MAM is qualified and certified to practice as an attorney at law in Barbados. that was nonsense and is still nonsense.

v few practising lawyers make good managers, my mentor used to tell me. so the trick is to hire a v good paralegal or solicitor to manage the practice.

our problem is our processes. we have allowed them to be compromised and we do little research into the aetiology of issues therefore we solve for the wrong problems and matters continue as before.

13. Also was the Atwell estate “justifably ” handed over by “legal” process to George Payne….Correct!

14. bu says JOIN IN THE DISCUSSION, YOU NEVER KNOW HOW EXPRESSING YOUR VIEW MAY MAKE A DIFFERENCE.
    then when a man opines …you get bu saying “No need to overanalyse William”

hilarious hypocrisy!
    on bu your analysis must conform uh lie?

listen to this shite now

There is only very SLIGHT to NIL HOPE for Barbados.

It will all spin on whether Mia is able to admit that, having no LEC, she is NOT a lawyer –

HOW ON EARTH CAN HOPE FOR BARBADOS DEPEND ON MIA OR WHETHER SHE HAS A LEC OR IF SHE IS A LAWYER?

BARBADOS HAS TO LOOK HIGHER FOR ITS HOPE

THAT IS OUR PROBLEM WE ARE LOOKING IN THE WRONG DIRECTION FOR OUR HOPE

FIRST OF ALL WE NEED TO ACKNOWLEDGE THAT “Through the Lord’s mercies we are not consumed, because His compassions fail not.” Lamentations 3:22.

FOR ME, AS AN ABYSMAL FAILURE………..MY HOPE IS IN THE LORD

To them God willed to make known what are the riches of the glory of this mystery among the Gentiles: which is Christ in you, the hope of glory.” Colossians 1:27.

“Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who according to His abundant mercy has begotten us again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, to an inheritance incorruptible and undefiled and that does not fade away, reserved in heaven for you, who are kept by the power of God through faith for salvation ready to be revealed in the last time.” 1 Peter 1:3-5.

“Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.” Hebrews 11:1.

“Now may the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, that you may abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” Romans 15:13.

“For we through the Spirit eagerly wait for the hope of righteousness by faith.” Galatians 5:5.

“For we were saved in this hope, but hope that is seen is not hope; for why does one still hope for what he sees? But if we hope for what we do not see, we eagerly wait for it with perseverance.” Romans 8:24-25.

“Now hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out in our hearts by the Holy Spirit who was given to us.” Romans 5:5.

“For the law made nothing perfect; on the other hand, there is the bringing in of a better hope, through which we draw near to God.” Hebrews 7:19.

“Blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord, and whose hope is the Lord. For he shall be like a tree planted by the waters, which spreads out its roots by the river, and will not fear when heat comes: but its leaf will be green, and will not be anxious in the year of drought, nor will cease from yielding fruit.” Jeremiah 17:7-8.

“But when the kindness and the love of God our Savior toward man appeared, not by works of righteousness which we have done, but according to His mercy He saved us, through the washing of regeneration and renewing of the Holy Spirit, whom He poured out on us abundantly through Jesus Christ our Savior, that having been justified by His grace we should become heirs according to the hope of eternal life.” Titus 3:4-7.

I GONE
    WUNNAH MAY NOW CUSS ME AND CARRY ON WITH YOUR RUBBISH TALK AS WUNNAH THINK THAT WUNNAH ARE CHANGING OR CAN CHANGE ANYTHING AS WUNNAH ENGAGE IN WHAT IS ESSENTIALLY DELUSIONS OF GRANDEUR

15. @ James Greene August 29, 2018 8:06 AM

Bush Tea,

so because there are no Bim judges on the CCJ that is a reflection of the system of justice in Bim?

there are no Guyanese or Dominican Judges either. is that because of their judicial system?

does the privy council have a caribbean lawyer sitting on it?

CLEARLY YOU HAVE EXPOSED THE FLAWED LOGIC AND NON SEQUITURS BY HE WHO THINKS HE KNOWS EVA TING BOUT EVA TING

HE ALWAYS REMINDS ME OF Romans 1:22…………“Professing themselves to be wise, they became fools,”

16. @William

Did you interpret the comment to not over analyze as an attempt to dissuade you from posting a comment?

17. wHAT WILLIAM THINKS HERE IS IRRELEVANT

QUESTION IS WHAT OTHERS MIGHT THINK
    WILLIAM IS NOT THE ONLY PERSON IN DE RUM SHOP

HOW CAN HIS ANALYSIS OR OPINION BE OVER -ANALYSIS?
    YOUR COMMENT GIVES THE WRONG IDEA

YOU ARE NOT A SCHOOL TEACHER WHO KNOWS IT ALL CORRECTING A STUDENT

18. @ James Greene
    Bushie normally tries to avoid petty arguments for argument sake,
    however since you are ‘green’ to BU exceptions can be made…

Try reading again…..
    “….note the judgement of the CCJ to NOT have a single one on board, despite Barbados having STARTED the court.”

Read it slowly…
    …DESPITE BARBADOS HAVING STARTED THE COURT.

Did Guyana start the CCJ?
    Was a Caribbean country a founder member of the Privy Council?

After building your straw man, you go on to make the substantive point that is being made in Bushie’s submission – that Lawyers are POOR managers…..
    In fact, their idea of ‘success’ is that THEY end up as millionaires….

You are being petty….. but it is a slow morning, and you DID succeed in exposing the BU ‘scholar’ jackass who ask “How can Bajan hope depend on Mia….?
    steupsss…
    Throughout history, the fate of a country has been largely in the hands of its leader…

#whatamoron

19. RE Throughout history, the fate of a country has been largely in the hands of its leader…

ACTUALLY THE FATE OF COUNTRIES ARE ultimately IN THE HANDS OF GOD……WHO DIRECTS THE AFFAIRS OF MEN AND NATIONS AS CLEARLY TAUGHT AND PREDICTED IN DANIEL CHAPTERS 2, 7, 9 AND 10 for a start

babylon-> medes & persians=> greeks=> romans=> revived roman empire=> reign of Christ now imminent

THE ABOVE IS HISTORY. THESE PREDICTIONS ALL CAME TO PASS EXCEPT FOR THE LAST WHICH IS FUTURE

Bajan hope CANNOT depend on Mia! SHE IS ALREADY INDICATING THAT SHE WILL FAIL

20. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster, two points from your essay.

You quoted “[The media] can – by their deliberate spin – influence public opinion to a significant degree. But, thankfully, in most instances and in the case of Barbados specifically, the media operate within the realm of an educated public which easily discerns where unvarnished news starts and stops and where spin begins.”

That is pure blather from the editorial writer, or rather let me say pure blather up until maybe 10 years ago. Bajans were ‘hoodwinked’ as well as could be over the years by the spin disseminated in the press by the authorities…not sure about that easy discernment!

We can go all the way back to stories like the Harp gun as an example of initial spin that to your point certainly bamboozled the public…of course the truth of that was published years later.

A perfect example of modern day ‘spin is how the papers of record on the island are handling the Goddards yacht drug case…according to social media reports there are scant print media stories of the former chairman’s weekly interaction with the law nor the type of active updated reporting on this massive Bajan incident. That type of commission by omission is SPIN too.

Consider that a historian researching our ‘paper of record’ on this case years from now will see the initial report filed but then to find nary a followup on the weekly bail mandated police visits and related public curiosity he or she could perceive that Bajans were blasse on this case….SPIN!….. Thankfully there is that citizenship journalism to which you refer and immediately that researcher troves your BU site then he discovers the true temperature of the time.

All that to say the established media most definitely still play their games!

And 2 : “The blogmaster is of the view Barbadians do not have the capacity to fairly assess the mirror image late Errol Barrow prophetically shared in 1986. The fact we have sunk billions of dollars in education since he delivered the Mirror Image speech serves as an indictment on our leadership and people.”

That too I respectfully say is wonderful intellectual blather….OF COURSE we have the capacity to understand, assess our mirror image….from what I see we LOVE the reflection cast from that mirror….but continually pretend it’s some sort of bad refraction via some foreign object…NO..we know and assess exactly our true refelction!

“Now what has bothered me in this society is that every time after elections, people expect certain things to take place. And although the law says that he that giveth is as much guilty of bribery and corruption under the Corrupt Practices Act as he that receiveth, we know that even on polling day, people were given envelopes with $100 bills in them….So what kind of mirror image would you have of yourself? If there are corrupt ministers in Barbados tonight, you have made them corrupt.”

You really believe we can’t properly assess our image!

“I’m gonna make a change,
    For once I’m my life
    It’s gonna feel real good,
    Gonna make a difference
    Gonna make it right”

“What kind of mirror image do you have of yourself? When a government steals from people in the way of consumption taxes and takes that money and spends it on their own high lifestyles, and unnecessary buildings, then that government not only has contempt for you, but what is most unfortunate, you have contempt for yourself, because you allow them to do it.”

“I’m starting with the man in the mirror
    I’m asking him to change his ways
    And no message could have been any clearer
    If you want to make the world a better place
    (If you want to make the world a better place)
    Take a look at yourself, and then make a change”

Channnngge…fade to oblivion!

21. Bush Tea,

in its appellate jurisdiction, guyana and barbados were the first to join the CCJ for their court of last resort.

do your research before you post misleading info

22. de pedantic,

I too am very surprised that there is no reporting on the Charles Herbert affair. What I can tell you is that it is not good journalism, since if he breaches his bail conditions he will be sent to prison (or should). Maybe, the blackout is political – or even financial. Maybe advertisers are threatening publications.

23. NEBUCHADNEZZAR DARIUS ALEXANDER THE GREAT THE CAESARS WERE GREATER LEADERS OVER WIDER EXPANSES OF THE EARTH THAN MIA IS, AND EVER WILL BE……….AND THEY AND THEIR DOMINIONS ALL COLLAPSED AS PREDICTED

BARROW SET UP A PARTY AND FOR A WHILE DID A LOT FOR BARBADOS……………HIS PARTY HAS COLLAPSED AND HIS VISION AND IDEALS ARE NO MORE

TOM ADAMS ACCOMPLISHED MUCH AND SO DID ARTHUR IN THE OPINION OF MANY
    NOW WE HAVE MIA, WHO THOUGH HAVING MORE MINISTERS AND DEPUTY MINISTERS IS WASTING MONEY IN SALARIES AND SPINNING TOP IN MUD

SHOW US HOW MIA IS OUR HOPE.
    BARBADOS NEEDS A HIGHER HOPE. THIS CAN NOT BE REFUTED!

24. RE A perfect example of modern day ‘spin is how the papers of record on the island are handling the Goddards yacht drug case…according to social media reports there are scant print media stories of the former chairman’s weekly interaction with the law nor the type of active updated reporting on this massive Bajan incident. That type of commission by omission is SPIN too.

DO YOU REALLY THINK THAT THIS IS ALL THE PRESS HAS TO DO? TELL US IF HERBERT REPORTS TO THE POLICE STATION WEEKLY?
    DOES BU SEND A REPORTER / SPY TO THE POLICE STATION TO SEE IF HE DOES?

25. What the hell do you know about God GP?
    …when you cannot even explain a SIMPLE question about how this GOD is a ‘trinity’….

Don’t you get it?
    Is a fellow can’t explain decimals, THEN he cannot solve National balance of payment deficits.
    If someone cannot explain quadratic equations, DO NOT ask him about calculus
    If you cannot explain how God could be a ‘trinity’ when Jesus died for three days – chances are that you DO NOT KNOW that God’s position on the fate of countries…. get it?

Your simple minded analysis – which leads you to support Trump – is just as misguided as your religion – which leads you to be bombastic, insulting and hateful.

Bushie would think that, in the circumstances, someone with your alleged level of intelligence would undertake a DEEP review of your beliefs and attitudes …and reflectively consider a major re-evaluation of basics.

God gives us FREE REIGN to make choices in our lives. These choices include the choice of leaders, philosophies, attitudes, and beliefs.
    Who we choose as a leader;
    How we choose to live our lives
    Where we choose to live
    These factors ALL influence our outcomes.

Only a jackass sits at home watching TV and says ‘why bother? God has ordained it all’…
    Get a whacker and come out and help clean up the damn place – yuh lazy moron.

26. Mr Green
    Do YOUR research…
    Who in their right mind would select a judge from Guyana under the last recent governments and judicial systems that existed there…?
    Their judiciary even made Barbados look good in comparison…..

27. James Greene,

I am not sure how long you have been reading BU, but Bush Tea so-called is an idiot who thinks getting cheap laughs equates to serious discussion. Just read his posts and form an opinion of him.

28. Hal is probably still livid about the cheap laugh that Bushie got when a little parro robbed him of his wife’s hard earned money while he was trying to buy an underhand time-share deal in Barbados….

If THAT was not bad enough, he used his REAL name and detailed the embarrassment on BU ….
    Shiite…
    His poor wife must still be ashamed to be married to such a brilliant journalist… imagine the looks when she visits friends….

Meanwhile, Bushie (the idiot) sells time shares… drives big rides …. and have lots of laughs on BU….
    Something is not working out quite right….

But then again, Hal was a bumbling, low-IQ, moron from school days…. and it seems to have gotten worse in the cold of London….

29. I rest my case.

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Mariposa August 29, 2018 7:50 AM
    “Now that all eyes are opened to how corruption is formulated and which is engineered from / at tge highest level including ir judicial system
    All and sundry should at least appreciate that on those times when Mia was called for not having an LEC to practice law
    The bottom line was not about focusing in her abilty but the level corruption that would have been interjected at the highest level passing through the judicial system which afforded her the passing grade..”

What a crowning damnation on EWB, the so-called founding father of the political party you will blindly support until ‘death-do-you-part’ and that icon of a national hero carrying the title “Father of Bajan Independence”!

Are you aware that it was EWB who ‘testified’ to the competence and decency of the then young Ms Mottley to practise Law in Barbados?

Do you appreciate that it was during a DLP-administration this openly-conducted act of judicial corruption occurred?

Why don’t you just dismount your hobbyhorse of hypocrisy by stop beating a dead-horse to further death?

The same way that Greenverbs Parris the ‘untouchable’ leper and ‘duppy-face’ Michael Carry-way-a-ton are reflections of the mettle of Fumble Stuart and his leadership skills so too is PM Mottley a creature of EWB.

If only you had prosecuted the case against the Speaker Carry-away-a-ton for robbing a disabled pensioner with the same vigour you are currently inveighing against Payne & Marshall there would have been great probability that the overly greedy Pornville Inniss would have listened to you and not find himself today getting ready to ‘don’ the garments for an extended visit to Sing Sing.

Let Karma take her course. Maybe MAM is having her own “Come to Jesus” epiphany and unlike the ineffectual dethroned King Fumble would actually and effectively let “heads roll” in remembrance of those who helped plot to facilitate her own 2010 internal coup d’état.

31. @ Tea
    August 29, 2018 9:19 AM
    What the hell do you know about God GP? A LOT!

RE when you cannot even explain a SIMPLE question about how this GOD is a ‘trinity’….
    YOU HAVE BEEN HARPING ON THAT FOR YEARS AS YOU SEEK TO REINVENT THE WHEEL.
    THE EARLY CHURCH MADE THEIR DETERMINATIONS ABOUT THE TRINITY SINCE ABOUT 325 AD. AND I PREFER THEIR OPINION TO THAT OF A BIBLE ILLITERATE OR A SON OF SATAN

RE Don’t you get it?
    If you cannot explain how God could be a ‘trinity’ when Jesus died for three days – chances are that you DO NOT KNOW that God’s position on the fate of countries…. get it?
    THE BIBLE IS VERY CLEAR ON BOTH THE TRINITY AND ON THE FATE OF COUNTRIES. I AM GUIDED THEREBY.

RE Your simple minded analysis – which leads you to support Trump – is just as misguided as your religion – which leads you to be bombastic, insulting and hateful.
    I CAN SUPPORT TRUMP BECAUSE IT IS CLEAR THAT BOTH THE ELECTORATE AND GOD SUPPORTED HIM BASED ON THE TRUTH OF ROMANS 13:1 & DANIEL 2:21-22

RE Bushie would think
    THINK? WHAT WITH?

RE that, in the circumstances, someone with your alleged level of intelligence would undertake a DEEP review of your beliefs and attitudes …and reflectively consider a major re-evaluation of basics.
    BOTH BUSHIE AND THE DEVIL WILL OPINE THUS. BUT NEITHER OF YOU TWO GUIDE MY BELIEFS. I BELIEVE THE BIBLE, AND TRY AS BEST AS I CAN TO BE GUIDED THEREBY

RE God gives us FREE REIGN to make choices in our lives. These choices include the choice of leaders, philosophies, attitudes, and beliefs.Who we choose as a leader;How we choose to live our lives Where we choose to live These factors ALL influence our outcomes.
    ALL TRUE HE GIVES US FREE REIGN TO FOLLOW THE DEVIL TOO AS YOU HAVE CLEARLY DONE
    MY BIBLE TEACHES THAT GOD RULES IN THE AFFAIRS OF MEN IN THE FINAL ANALYSIS

RE Only a jackass sits at home watching TV and says ‘why bother? God has ordained it all’…
    GOD HAS INDEED ORDAINED IT ALL. I HAVE LEARNED TO LET GO AND LET GOD. TRY IT. IT WORKS!

RE Get a whacker and come out and help clean up the damn place –YOU HAVE A WHACKER, DON’T YOU? WHY HAVE YOU NOT CLEANED UP THE PLACE?

RE . yuh lazy moron. EVEN THOSE WHO HATED ME MOST SAID “GP IS A WORKER NOT A SHIRKER
    THE FACT THAT YOU THINK DIFFERENTLY WITHOUT KNOWING ME TELLS ME THAT YOU ARE SATAN INCARNATE—HE IS KNOWN TO BE THE ACCUSER OF THE BRETHREN

32. IF MIA IS OUR HOPE WHY DONT WE PRAY TO MIA ?

IF MIA IS OUR HOPE WE SHOULD CHANGE THE NATIONAL ANTHEM AND STOP SINGING “THE LORD HAS BEEN THE PEOPLE’S GUIDE FOR PAST 300 YEARS

33. @ GP
    What mindless, empty answers….
    Bushie ask that question of you for the same reason we ask Stinkliar about decimals….
    It goes to the basic qualification wunna have to pontificate.

@ Hal
    You have no case.
    You mean that you plead guilty….as charged.

34. @Dee Word

Agree with a lot of what is detailed in your prolix comment. Made all the more worrying if you scan the Bajan Facebook media to read the high marks given to the BT Editorial where the extract was taken.

35. Bushie swinging the wacker cudgel left right and centre.
    GP get some side blows ‘ bout he size,what Kerry call a few hundred pounds ‘o blubber pun he sofa with a remote and popcorn….
    Hal suffering the customary lunacy fits associated with the Windrush fellows who Tresa say get out never mind how long you bin here.
    William can’t get past scoring 149/6000 in his first and onliest outing in the hustings and continue to tek a 6 fuh a 9.

36. Miller Mia character is only one part of being qualified suffice it to say EWB spoke to her character
    However the bottom line is the focus on how she got the required past to be certified without her having to take the necessary examination to be certified
    The attempt by the blp to run cover
    for these blatant corruption and then calls for Transparency smacks of bold face hypocrisy

37. @ David
    What is happening with the Goddards’ drug case is EXACTLY in line with normal practice.
    After the unavoidable initial exposure (mainly led by social media and the need for the established press to try to PULL BACK on some overblown accusations), issues related to Bajan high society ALWAYS enter a dark period – lasting many YEARS until it is mostly forgotten, and until power brokers move on…. only to come up in court to be quietly dismissed …. or often to never see the light of day again….

What became of
    The Rodney Wilkinson case?
    The container of drugs case consigned to the son of a big shot?
    The murder of Mrs Smith? – visited and threatened by (not one , but two) lawyers shortly before disappearing?
    etc…

It is now social media’s role to change this situation by setting a new agenda.
    Let us stop complaining about the old press….
    We CANNOT expect the establishment to rat on itself…..

38. Wilkinson matter is in abeyance. His lawyer Jamaican Marlon Gordon has his own issues with the court which Wilkinson can milk to further frustrate the process. The next hurdle in the Herbert et al matter is October read next Court date. Do not agree that this matter will fade.

39. The Esuf matter was retired. There is another one. The Rh system is sick.

40. @Hal,

thanks Hal. these guys post a lot of misleading facts, in fact untrue facts, then come to some conclusion based on those facts and expect to be taken seriously.

if the facts are faulty then so are the conclusions.

Bush Tea is contorting himself so much that he can stand in the shadow of a corkscrew and leave no image of himself.

except for you, William and a few other i will not read no other posts. it is quite frustrating to be discussing serious matters and people are not bothering to be honest

41. Guyana has had a justice on the CCJ. Desiree Bernard now retired. No Barbadian has ever been a judge on that Court.

42. that is correct. so if we follow the argument either the CCJ realised after 2005 that Guyana’s justice system is faulty or it doesnt matter from where the Judges derive.

43. James Greene,

As I have said, Bajans like reassuring myths, it makes them feel good about themselves. So, they avoid hurtful facts: nonsense about Barrow being the father of independence,, even though the facts are in the Library of Congress, the Public Record Office in the Kew, and should be in the Barbados archives, although I doubt it. What do our so-called historians do?
    They talk about ‘free’ education, but refuse to read the minutes and other official documents of the 1961 government; we have the mess that is the criminal justice system, yet they talk about the rule of law. I can go on, but they find it reassuring.

44. NorthernObserver Avatar

https://www.iadb.org/en/news/idb-announces-settlement-connection-prohibited-practices

The Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) today announced the debarment of GL Systems LLC (“GL Systems”), an American company, for four years in connection with allegations of prohibited practices in three IDB-financed activities: (i) the Program for the Modernization of Customs, Excise and VAT Areas in Barbados, (ii) the Barbados Competitiveness Program, and (iii) an IDB corporate procurement contract.

This is the IDB’s first debarment resulting from a Negotiated Resolution Agreement (“Settlement Agreement”), which was negotiated and entered into by the IDB’s Office of Institutional Integrity (“OII”), in accordance with the IDB Group’s Sanctions Procedures. GL Systems entered into the Settlement Agreement on behalf of itself and the custom software product lines of the business formerly known as GreenLine Systems, Inc. and A-T Solutions, Inc.

The Settlement Agreement provides for a reduced period of debarment in light of GL Systems’ cooperation, including an internal investigation conducted on its behalf. Under the terms of the Settlement Agreement, GL Systems commits to retain an independent third-party consultant in order to analyze its compliance program and identify any gaps with internationally recognized standards, and to address any existing deficiency. The debarment may be extended to seven years if GL Systems fails to comply with this commitment or other terms of the settlement.

The debarment of GL Systems qualifies for cross-debarment by other multilateral development banks (MDBs) under the Agreement for Mutual Enforcement of Debarment Decisions that was signed on April 9, 2010.

45. @Northern Observer

Thanks, do we know what the prohibitive practices are all about?

46. Some shiite must be wrong with these ex-Cawmere, Bajan-English bastards (LOL)….
    Green introduces the question of Guyanese on the CCJ ….after Bushie makes the BASIC point that it is indicative of the quality of our lawyers, that, EVEN THOUGH we were in the forefront of starting the CCJ, NARY A Bajan lawyer have even been selected.

Cud shiite man!!!
    How is this complicated..?

Guyanese jurists never entered the discussion – no one was speaking about the quality of Guyanese jurists…. or Dominica’s…

Green talks crap about the Privy Council, Guyanese and Dominican judges ….is subsequently shown to be wrong, and now accuses Bushie of diverting the discussion…

As Bushie’s sane English mentor would have exclaimed…. “buggers !!!’

You and Hal are well suited to freeze in England.

47. Using simple logic an application to the CCJ by a Barbadian judge will see the resume being scrutinized as far as quality decisions are concerned. Given the performance of the local judiciary validated by the current AG Marshall admission that it is about to crash under its weight , one expects Applicants from Barbados will have to entertain a belly searching interview to climb onto the CCJ bench.

48. Bush Tea,

Do not try to convince James. He/she is a very proud Barbadian lawyer, very proud of his/her Supreme Court, local legal fraternity, the local legal system, the local art of craftsmanship and work ethic. This “pride” instead of “industry” is pulling down Bim since the last two decades.

However, James made a good point. James mentioned Dominica, Guyana and Barbados not sitting on the bench in Trixiland. But wait … aren´t these the three jurisdictions so very famous for the art of backlogging in the Caribbean (ref: CJ´s speech on the last judicial day? You see, at least the judicial committee selecting the judges of the CCJ is not made up of fools.

As you see, some Caribbean lawyers see things as they are – at least when assisted by British and Dutch expertise.

49. This may be off topic but I was just informed that over the past ten days, BUTCH STEWART has placed boulders on the beach at Harewoods, blocking locals from swimming there. Has this been reported in the two dailies or the online newspapers? Was it reported in the news? Strange goings on in Bim. Is this placement of boulders on the beach legal?

50. NorthernObserver Avatar

No idea.
    Interesting that certain bodies First debarment, First declination, include Barbados? Somebody has pissed off somebody real good.