Text file (PDF): CLICK HERE

Why You Should Watch the Quarterly Economic Review

Created 30 Jul, 2018

Every quarter, the Central Bank of Barbados publishes its review of Barbados’ economic performance. The video review, delivered by the Governor, is livestreamed on the Bank’s website and YouTube channel, and also posted in its entirety – about 10 minutes – on its Facebook page. These reviews provide insight into how the economy is faring, so if you haven’t been watching them, you should be. Here’s when they take place and what you should be listening out for.

The review is usually released about a month after the end of the previous quarter and covers Barbados’ economic performance so far in the calendar year. This means that while the review at the end of the first quarter will look at January to March only, the one at the end of the second quarter will cover the first six months of the year, and the one at the end of the third quarter looks at the period January to September. The year’s first review, the one that is usually held in January, actually reports on Barbados’ economic performance for the entire previous year.

In the review, the Governor shares key statistics – indicators – that reveal the health of Barbados’ economy. He usually gives an update on economic growth – the increase in GDP (Gross Domestic Product), or put another way, in how much the value of the goods and services Barbados’ produces has increased by, relative to the same time the previous year – as well as on the debt to GDP ratio, which compares how much Barbados owes to the value of what it produces.

The Governor also speaks about the fiscal deficit – how much more the Government is spending

than it is earning (If the Government is earning more than it is spending, that would be called a fiscal surplus). The fiscal deficit is tracked through the fiscal year, so if the Governor mentions “an overall reduction in the fiscal deficit from the previous year”, he is not referring to the calendar year, but rather to the 12 months starting from April and ending at the end of March, since Barbados’ fiscal year is April 1 to March 31.

The quarterly review usually includes other important indicators such as unemployment, the level of international reserves, and the retail price index – how much prices have increased over the past 12 months – as well as an overview of how tourism, one of our biggest sectors, is performing. It typically ends with a forecast for how much the economy is projected to grow as well as the Central Bank’s prescription for what action is needed to strengthen it.

The Central Bank of Barbados’ quarterly economic review provides timely, credible information, and now that you know the areas that help to tell the story of Barbados’ economy, you can keep abreast of how it is performing and of how you can to help improve it.

The next Central Bank of Barbados quarterly economic review will be published Thursday, August 2, 2018 at 11:00 a.m. Watch it live on the Central Bank of Barbados’ website, www.centralbank.org.bb

224 responses to “Governor Cleviston Haynes Delivers Q2′ 2018 Economic Review”

1. @ Hal

How long was it broke?

How would we be able to pay our bill without becoming a failed state/default?

2. John2,

Broke or insolvent. Cannot meet legitimate contracted debt.

3. The country default when other alternatives were available were unecessary. Barbados had seven weeks of revenue in which to pay bills
    The present govt stood bold faced in the way of putting roadblock as preventive political measures
    The proposed sale of the Hilton along with the proposed sale of the oil terminal also the Hyatt hotel project on bay street collectively would have generated much needed revenue to keep barbados afloat
    But No!in the opposition view nothing was good enough nothing was right enough by past govt.
    So what was the present govt /answer /alternative was to default and saddled barbadians and visitors alike with unbearable debt in the form of taxation using a version of smoke and mirror initiatives to fool the masses
    How could it be that the governor made mention of unsustainable govt enterprises
    How could it be that present govt because of political grandstanding did not have the vision to understand that imposing crticism to stop projects and sale of unsustainable govt enterprises (because of a yearning for quick power) the harm and danger barbados economy would further undergo
    Well barbados has reached a cross road of fiscal destruction purposed and pursue by radical discontent by the then opposition who at a time did not have the vision to understand that barbados economy was in need of quick resuscitation and past govt efforts were necessary to avoid a climatic self induced form of suicide

4. Tax cut in the US and economy growing at 4.1%!!

5. hal

answer the questions

@ john

That 4.1% in the USA was not caused by the tax cut alone.

Also that is just for one quarter. I rose over 4% under Obama for one quarter and there was no tax cut then!

6. I rose over 4% under Obama for one quarter and there was no tax cut then!

+++++++++++++++++++

http://fortune.com/2017/08/30/donald-trump-springfield-mo-3-gdp/

https://nypost.com/2017/03/30/gdp-growth-under-obama-was-worst-in-decades/

“Obama’s best year, as far as growing the economy, was 2015 when it grew 2.6 percent from 2014 — after growing 2.4 percent that year from 2013”

7. Could you please explain how “The proposed sale of the Hilton along with the proposed sale of the oil terminal also the Hyatt hotel project on bay street collectively would have generated much needed revenue to keep barbados afloat”….

…….. especially if one takes into consideration that these one-off sales would
    only temporarily boost the foreign reserves?

If your criticisms of this current BLP administration were well thought out and not politically motivated, you would have known that the sale of the oil terminal was delayed for two reasons,,:

(1) Rubis filed an injunction to prevent the sale of the oil terminal to SOL and

(2) the Fair Trading Commission ruled that the sale of the terminal to SOL would have created “unfair competition.”

8. I heard and read all of what you state
    However the past opposition voice in all of the above did not help
    So yes some blame can also be placed on their shoulders in that the opposition created at atmosphere of dissent to dismantle and frustrate past govt efforts in creating growth and financial equity to stop tge slide of revenue

9. Walter Blackman Avatar

Bush Tea August 3, 2018 8:04 AM

“Having sat down for the past fifteen years and TOLERATED the shiite…as if it was not our business;
    having sat like idiots while our savings at CLICO were brazenly raided by lepers ……”

Bush Tea,
    I understand the point you are making. However, it appears that you don’t really understand Bajans.

As a response to the CLICO raid, angry, blasphemous outbursts have been spewed from the safety of living rooms, millions of “prayer-meetings” have been held, and thousands of visits to the “obeah man or woman” have been made. All to no avail.

Then, one day, a stranger called Karma rode in to Barbados unannounced.
    Consequently, David Thompson “cock up and dead”, and after a half-decent amount of time had passed, the DPP followed suit.

Karma is the only “retribution game” in town, but it seems to be working too slowly.
    The million dollar question now is: How do we go about manufacturing an “energy boost” to administer to Karma so that it can speed up its work?

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David August 2, 2018 11:58 PM
    “The Governor is not a policymaker. Until the Minister of Finance of which he is a creature is more detailed about what happens to rationalization of the SOEs and must hedge his comments. We all know those SOEs sold to private sector will result in job losses.”

If he is not a policymaker he must be a policy ‘advisor’. He is clearly no longer a technocrat.

Didn’t his predecessor (his former boss for whom he did the dirty leg work) pronounce on policy directives while in office?

Wasn’t the sale of the BNTCL (and the Hilton hotel which will certainly be disposed of, officially and very shortly) supported and promoted by this very guv as a short-term way to boost the foreign reserves?

So what was his proposed Plan B now that the timelines for the forex inflows have long past the assets’ sell-by-dates? Drawdown of the SDR’s held with the IMF?

Same level of uncertainty surrounded the construction of the Hyatt hotel, yet, against a reasonably conservative level of commonsense, he was still counting his Hyatt foreign reserves boosting chickens before seeing where the FDI hens were laying their eggs.
    Whom was he trying to impress or appease then? His former boss the Stinkliar who was preparing his propaganda war chest for the last electoral battle?

As for the Bajan SOE’s future, he is in possession of a copy of the Robinson report and must have some provisional policy advisory position; just like the past guv who lost his pick as a result of advising his creator.

He has a position over the future of sugar (kill the sugar bill and get rid of the related SOE’s) so why not the same with the others recommended in the report?

What is so highly secretive about that report whose cost of production has been paid by the taxpayers that it cannot be made public in light of the current BLP administration’s electoral promise of transparency and integrity to advance good “(E)”-governance?

How can members of the public make meaningful recommendations as to the future of these SOE’s unless adequate and factual information on their operations and financial status is made readily available?

11. @ john

4.1% if for one quarter not one year.

12. @ john

Also tell us that with the USA tax cut comes with an increase in the deficit.

something Barbados cannot afford at this time!

13. Also that the USA tax cut was done in an growing and stable economy, as you mentioned, of over 2% per year under Obama.

14. Miller u are sounding like a disgruntled blp supporter

15. @Artax

Do we know what forex Hyatt would have generated?

16. https://www.nytimes.com/2018/01/17/technology/apple-tax-bill-repatriate-cash.html

Here is one of the results of the new tax code in the US

Wonder where overseas Apple had its billions stashed?

17. Lets see, 100’s of billions repatriated equivalent to 10’s of billions in taxes!!!

Means Tax revenue increases even though tax rates cut.

Wonder what that will do with the deficit?

18. john

read up on the deficit since the tax cut!

19. also for one quarter under Obama the economy grew at over 5% without any tax cut.

20. Hyatt

Compare to what is being generated by not having the Hyatt which is zero
    One would be rest assured that the project when it was completed would have revitalised dying bridgetown and baystreet since it purpose would have been a commercial hub. serving as a link for commerce in and out of barbados. Also serving another purpose for employment which would put money in the people pocket
    When one look back at the hammer and nail fight against the Hyatt and what present govt has introduced as alternatives by unbearable taxation
    It is very recognizable that the nation and people interest was never given first preference by the blp leader Mia Mottley as the governor reports reveals that present gov has placed barbados on a trajectory of pain and hardship in order to pay govt debt

21. David BU

I’m sure you’ll agree that a considerable amount of forex will be used over the duration of Hyatt’s construction, as it relates to, for example, the importation of construction and other materials that cannot be sourced locally.

It is only after Hyatt’s construction and known percentages of occupancy levels over a sustained period of time, during the “season” and “off season,”………that can make a determination of forex generated by the hotel.

John1 & John2

Why must we, especially John1, attempt to distract every shiite with references to Donald Trump and the USA?

22. Who can recall when Lara was riding the waves as the world’s greatest batsman on a visit to India arrived with the wrong (or no) visa and was not allowed in? India, the world’s leading cricketing nation, Lara, legend of legends, and the Indian authorities aid no.

23. Miller

Since you mentioned SOEs, could you or anyone in this forum “tell” me what the Commission for Pan African Affairs does other than organize the “Emancipation Walk?”

What projects or achievements does Dr. Deryck Murray have to show for being Director of that entity?

Free job…….free 💰…

24. David BU

While glancing through Lowdown Hoad’s column, I noticed he reads Barbados Underground. He made reference to a comment made by a contributor relative to Swayne and Grantley Adams.

25. mariposa

stop lying on the governor.

26. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Mariposa August 3, 2018 11:54 AM

Hyatt

“One would be rest assured that the project when it was completed would have revitalised dying bridgetown and baystreet since it purpose would have been a commercial hub. serving as a link for commerce in and out of barbados. Also serving another purpose for employment which would put money in the people pocket.When one look back at the hammer and nail fight against the Hyatt…..”

Mariposa,
    I would put my neck on the block and swear that an overwhelming majority of Barbadians would agree with you.

However, we all know that the level and nature of politics in Barbados can be described as puerile, underdeveloped, and vindictive at best. We also know that any project which is conceived with the expressed aim of genuinely benefiting Barbadians would naturally be opposed to by alarmists, non-conformists, socialists, communists, anti-nationalists, wannabe saboteurs, and naysayers who are all bent on turning the brilliant idea into a “hammer and nail fight”.

Given the fact that all of us know this, and given the sliminess of the political environment, do you think that one of us would be so stupid as to contemplate starting a project before dotting every ‘i” and crossing every “t”?

If we want to sit and fantasize about how heavenly things would have been about “this project when it was completed”, we eventually have to bring our reverie to an abrupt end by accepting the fact that the government failed to satisfy the basic regulatory requirements. needed to get the project started. In short, it left an “i” and a “t” missing, far less not dotting and crossing them. A project that is not cleared to start, should not expect to have a finish.

The failed “Hyatt” attempt brings out a glaring characteristic of the government which attempted it – mediocrity.

27. Do not have to lie. The proof is in the baked pudding made from a recipe of better by the present govt
    Only when all and sundry had a piece to taste on the 24th May the taste was bitter

28. You should take note that Maloney has agreed to complete the EIA without a whimper. All the DLP had to do was same, instead a whole country had to be dragged through a process of nothingness.

29. @Artax

Thanks, it is not the first time Lowdown has cited a comment or two posted in the rum shop.

#murder

30. William Skinner Avatar

@ pieceuhderockyeahright
    ” Please explain what you (I) mean by a new course”
    I have maintained that it is almost impossible to embark on a new economic model or course without reforming the education system. The question is: How do we break the persistent poverty that exists within these islands ? We cannot achieve high levels of employment because we are constantly unleashing unemployable people into the workforce.
    Sometime ago, I suggested a four day week for all public servants rather than mass lay offs. I also spoke about using our fishing industry to improve our diet and create sustainable employment for hundreds of the school leavers. They now come back talking about the “Blue Economy” and creating a whole ministry for it. Back in 1987, I suggested to the Task Force on Unemployment, that we abolish secondary schools; extend the stay at elementary level to 15 years old and replace all secondary schools with colleges throughout the country with the goal of equipping immediate communities and the country with a new type of worker, who will drive the economy in all areas.
    We need an economic policy based on the utilization of our human resource and not certification. Free education that grows non-productivity is a waste of money and resources as well as our human potential. A new economic model will have to be engineered in the same manner that relatively poor people have converted chattel houses to wall bungalows. You keep enough to house you but you concentrate your future earnings on buying cement rather than replacing rottened boards with new boards that will rot in a few years. That is why these two miserable parties have failed. Skillful political public relations, convinced the public , that we could enter an IMF program and all our problems will disappear. We tried that before and we are now worst off than we have ever been.
    All we are doing is replacing old boards with new boards rather than change our dwellings and be “in wall” forever.
    I hope this analogy comes close to what I am trying to say. We need thinkers and visionaries not economists. We need a national economic plan that will reduce imports and seek to have sustainable employment; we need an education system that is central to new goals, lifestyles and governance. In short , we need a social and economic policy for where we hope to be in the next quarter century and not the next five years. We need to convert from wood to wall using our ingenuity and not to be begging for economic lodging after fifty years of independence.
    Constantly warming over stale soup is the predicament of the decadent DLPBLP. That is why Hal has declared we are a failed state.

31. Northern Observer Avatar
    Northern Observer

Of course the developer has agreed, he knows the rules. But he was being allowed to skirt them. The question is why?
    What money/monies were contingent upon a start? Nothing nefarious, it could have been a flow which helped with FX.

32. @Northern Observer

A rhetorical question perhaps?

33. David Commissiong had a shopping list of legal actions lined up to ensure the Hyatt would never start. He boasted about them.The Environment study was merely one. Commie was rewarded after the red wash and to the surprise of no one said he would soften his stance on Hyatt. His crippling legal action on a project that would have assisted poor people with jobs and income was repugnant .

Were there penalties for economic crimes like in China and Russia he would be in jail for the rest of his life. Look what happen to the mighty rich whitey Charles Herbert. He never saw it coming. Its guaranteed Commissiong will get his Herbert moment sooner or later. Get the popcorn out.

34. “I heard and read all of what you state. However the past opposition voice in all of the above did not help. So yes some blame can also be placed on their shoulders in that the opposition created at atmosphere of dissent to dismantle and frustrate past govt efforts in creating growth and financial equity to stop the slide of revenue……”
    +++++++++++++++++++

You are not being fair or truthful.

In all “reasonable fairness,” how could you blame the former Opposition for “creating an atmosphere of dissent to dismantle and frustrate past govt efforts in creating growth and financial equity to stop the slide of revenue”…….as it relates to the issues you raised, when:

(1) it was David Commisiong who filed an injunction to delay Hyatt’s construction because the contractors did not undertake an EIA.

(2) as I mentioned previously, Rubis filing an injunction to challenge the former DLP administration’s decision to sell the BNTCL to Simpson’s St. Lucian registered SOL subsidiary……..

…….,.and the Fair Trading Commission’s review of the proposed sale and subsequently advising against the sale…..were responsible for the delays in selling BNTCL……

……….(unless you’re suggesting that the former Opposition INFLUENCED Mr. Cumberbatch and his Board’s decision).

(3) special interest groups from the tourism sector, ordinary Barbarians, as well as the former Opposition, raised concerns (and rightfully so), relative to the former DLP administration’s decision to sell Hilton at an amount “ridiculously below” its market value.

These are facts that can be verified.

However, your DLP administration “frustratedfforts in creating growth and financial equity to stop the slide of revenue,” by pursuing ill-advised economic policies, as articulated by……….

……..Dr. David Estwick who publicly stated his administration’s policies were responsible for Barbados’ dire economic circumstances…..and whose alternative economic policies were rejected by his colleagues…….

……..Dr. Delisle Worrell who stated that those policies failed to achieve the desired objectives……

……..the former DLP administration’s economic adviser, Dr. Frank Alleyne who voiced concerns similar to those of Estwick and Worrell……

…….the international rating agencies and financial institutions.

But you will put in your political spin….. trying to convince us that these individuals and entities were “in bed” with the former Opposition.

35. john2
    August 3, 2018 11:53 AM

also for one quarter under Obama the economy grew at over 5% without any tax cut.

++++++++++++++++++++++

Read up a bit more on this and see what you find.

36. … but I really don’t have much trust in these measures that constitute GDP.

O$A once spent $50 million in a hole at Greenland

Of course the GDP rose!!

37. “However, we all know that the level and nature of politics in Barbados can be described as puerile, underdeveloped, and vindictive at best. We also know that any project which is conceived with the expressed aim of genuinely benefiting Barbadians would naturally be opposed to by alarmists, non-conformists, socialists, communists, anti-nationalists, wannabe saboteurs, and naysayers who are all bent on turning the brilliant idea into a “hammer and nail fight”.”

You should stick to numbers!! Only someone devoid of any appreciation for architecture, townscape, character setting, scale and massing of buildings and how they relate to the existing and future context would support Hyatt in its current form.

38. @enuff

You note Akani is suing your friend?

39. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ William Skinner

Those words of yours “…. We need to convert from wood to wall using our ingenuity and not to be begging for economic lodging after fifty years of independence…” resonate with me.

The fact is that pound for pound while it can’t be gainsaid that our best classically qualified academics cannot hold the fort against their metropolitan counterparts, a careful analysis of our indigenous outputs cannot stand the scrutiny of any onlooker irrspective of how nationalistic one wants to be.

I too like many of the harbingers of doom and gloom here query what are the tangible outputs that Madamoiselle Prime Minister Mia Mottley will bring to the IMF table that will in addition to staving off the impending devaluation will so enveigle the IMF to beleive that we have the wherewithal to reboot the economy and repay their loans.

Let me put it this way.

If one were to go to Fund Access or Enterprise Growth Fund Limited one would, after all to the rig-ma-roll of bringing your grandmother’s balls, have to meet the pernicious loan repayment schedules that these two micro-enterprise institutions subject Bajans to.

Though not all Bajans just the ones that dont offer the wuk for wuk incentives. I do pray that MAM reviews ALL THESE ENTITIES and revamps them and giveds them particular performance targets WHICH IF TIMOTHY & HAMI DO NOT MEET she depletes their budgets and ultimately either replaces the non-performers OR CLOSES THEM DOWN.

But I digress Mr. Skinner.

I agree with you that our curriculum has to be redesigned & built for purpose and while the mechanics by which you wish to do so vary from my own, what i am concerned with is the timing and the deliverables

Mia ent got no 5 year plan and what you are taling aobut is 5 to 10 years and while you are dealing with remoulding the input I am dealing with impacting the GDP

So I would ask then what would you propose to do in this particular sphere?

So the way that i figure it

40. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Walter Blackman August 3 1:01PM
    “any project which is conceived ……would naturally be opposed to by alarmists, non-conformists……..”

Enuff August 3, 2018 4:30 PM

“You should stick to numbers!! Only someone devoid of any appreciation for architecture, townscape, character setting, scale and massing of buildings and how they relate to the existing and future context would support Hyatt in its current form.”

Enuff,
    I am sticking to my story, and I am going to double down by including the “project” of going to the IMF.
    Additionaly, I don’t mind sticking to numbers. I have been here spraining my brain to see what I can recommend that you stick to. I couldn’t find anything.
    Sorry.

41. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

*additionally

42. CIBC refunding 1.4 million credit card customers for years of improper fees ( only in Canada )

https://www.ctvnews.ca/business/cibc-refunding-1-4-million-credit-card-customers-for-years-of-improper-fees-1.4039864

43. Walter

Poor fella, feel free to cuss/insult me. Stupse.

44. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Enuff August 3, 2018 5:26 PM

“Walter

Poor fella, feel free to cuss/insult me. Stupse.”

Enuff,
    No. That is not it.

When “bullies” like you, who initiate insults, get INSULTED BACK, you fold up like an old Mexican rag doll.
    Start treating every blogger with respect!

45. Stupse. Yuh skin too thin. Unlike you I am not bothered by insults, especially when they come from the uninformed. An because I refuse to wipe your caiman tears, I am bully?

46. Walter Blackman agree with the dotting of the i’s & crossing of t’s. However one would have to be asleep not to recognize that a deliberate road block propelled by a persistent desire to stagnate and frustrate the project was not the driving force
    If you read the long list of do’s and dont’s attached to Commissiong demands it was evident that even if govt had done the EIA it would not have suffice Commisiong and it would be off to court again dragging govt at taxpayers cost with other demands that was on court file to be completed.
    The end game was to frustrate.