Text file (PDF): CLICK HERE

Why You Should Watch the Quarterly Economic Review

Created 30 Jul, 2018

Every quarter, the Central Bank of Barbados publishes its review of Barbados’ economic performance. The video review, delivered by the Governor, is livestreamed on the Bank’s website and YouTube channel, and also posted in its entirety – about 10 minutes – on its Facebook page. These reviews provide insight into how the economy is faring, so if you haven’t been watching them, you should be. Here’s when they take place and what you should be listening out for.

The review is usually released about a month after the end of the previous quarter and covers Barbados’ economic performance so far in the calendar year. This means that while the review at the end of the first quarter will look at January to March only, the one at the end of the second quarter will cover the first six months of the year, and the one at the end of the third quarter looks at the period January to September. The year’s first review, the one that is usually held in January, actually reports on Barbados’ economic performance for the entire previous year.

In the review, the Governor shares key statistics – indicators – that reveal the health of Barbados’ economy. He usually gives an update on economic growth – the increase in GDP (Gross Domestic Product), or put another way, in how much the value of the goods and services Barbados’ produces has increased by, relative to the same time the previous year – as well as on the debt to GDP ratio, which compares how much Barbados owes to the value of what it produces.

The Governor also speaks about the fiscal deficit – how much more the Government is spending

than it is earning (If the Government is earning more than it is spending, that would be called a fiscal surplus). The fiscal deficit is tracked through the fiscal year, so if the Governor mentions “an overall reduction in the fiscal deficit from the previous year”, he is not referring to the calendar year, but rather to the 12 months starting from April and ending at the end of March, since Barbados’ fiscal year is April 1 to March 31.

The quarterly review usually includes other important indicators such as unemployment, the level of international reserves, and the retail price index – how much prices have increased over the past 12 months – as well as an overview of how tourism, one of our biggest sectors, is performing. It typically ends with a forecast for how much the economy is projected to grow as well as the Central Bank’s prescription for what action is needed to strengthen it.

The Central Bank of Barbados’ quarterly economic review provides timely, credible information, and now that you know the areas that help to tell the story of Barbados’ economy, you can keep abreast of how it is performing and of how you can to help improve it.

The next Central Bank of Barbados quarterly economic review will be published Thursday, August 2, 2018 at 11:00 a.m. Watch it live on the Central Bank of Barbados’ website, www.centralbank.org.bb

224 responses to “Governor Cleviston Haynes Delivers Q2′ 2018 Economic Review”

1. Sound bite of the press conference so far from the Governor- dent stock has become unsustainable.

#whatasurprise

2. Another sound bite – the economic strategy has changed, the new government does not have the appetite to sell assets, prefer leasing arrangements.

3. Lease agreements. Which will create another govt department for more money to be funneled and shoveled underground
    Wuhlosss

4. NorthernObserver Avatar

No time to listen and cannot find a print version…but how can January-June be a quarter?

5. NorthernObserver Avatar

ok my fault i didn’t read the explanation

6. Not much has changed. One cannot point to the increase in forex because this is as a result of the default.

7. BEAUTIFUL BEIGE Avatar
    BEAUTIFUL BEIGE

ISN’T IT TIME THAT BU AND THE MAJORITY OF ITS CONTRIBUTORS DO WHAT THE WORD OF GOD SAYS AND BE SUBMISSIVE TO OUR GOVERNMENT?????

THIS IS WHAT MINISTER OF CREATIVE ECONOMY, CULTURE AND SPORTS JOHN KING HAS TO SAY ON THE SUBJECT.

TAKE A PAGE OUT OF HIS BOOK.

https://www.barbadosadvocate.com/news/break-cycle

HIGH LIGHTS FROM THE ABOVE ARTICLE.

BREAK THE CYCLE

Thu, 08/02/2018 – 12:00am

IN 2018 the conversation among black Barbadians must shift from slavery to what they are doing to themselves to remain enslaved in some aspects of their lives.

According to the Minister of Creative Economy, Culture and Sports John King, the time has come for this conversation to take place.

Speaking yesterday during the annual Emancipation Day walk, King said he is mindful that it is going to make many uncomfortable, nevertheless, it must be done.

He said that while Emancipation Day celebrations are held annually, there are some serious cracks in how “we deal with one another”.

“It is a conversation that we need to have. If we don’t have that conversation, events like these are just going to be nice events to come out and parade. But we need to have a conversation that gives us a little bit more, in terms of real meat and bones problems that we face as a race, and as a people.

“Until we have those conversations, the significance of what is happening here is still going to be kind of minuscule towards the bigger picture. I mean, don’t get me wrong, these celebrations are necessary, and these celebrations are important, but if you are looking at what we are doing to ourselves, and what we continue to do to ourselves as a people, then we have a long way to go,” he said.

“Even the concept of politics and how we try to vilify each other based on political parties or based on religion or based on the fact that you went to Harrison College and I went to Princess Margaret, or based on the fact that you live in the heights and terraces and I live in a village. If we are not prepared to have these conversations, then I would say that all of this is going to be just style and fashion. I guess it is politically incorrect for me to start these conversations, but it needs to be done,” he added.

8. David
    It actually declined because, if not for the suspension, that $33M would have been a no no.

9. Yes correct in real terms.

We need to move!

10. Our latest lottery winners (£57.9m) plan to buy a holiday home in Barbados. Maybe Virgin will fly them down for nothing.

11. Would have been nice to see figures on the DEBT DEFAULT, what’s actually due and when for say the next 20 years, both forgien and domestic. This would show more clearly how desperate the present situation is and give some idea how long and painful any recovery may take.

Wily feels the domestic debt holders are going to suffer BIG TIME, while the international debt holders have More clout and will suffer significantly less. Also any restructuring will have to place confidence back into the internation lenders such that any future/further default actions they are more or less protected. Any hope for a Barbados recovery lies in the ability of the country to tap international lenders and investors.

12. @David

Please post a link to the pdf report.

13. One line of the pdf report, last charge of debt, has a line under “other” in eexcess of 2 billion dollars, Wily would like to know what’s in the OTHER category. 2 million is significant in the overall 16 billion. Is other the debts held by SOE’s ?

14. Tourist arrival numbers up 3.4% is meaningless, let Wily explain. One tourist arriving for one day is one arrival. One tourist arriving for two weeks is one arrival. Tell me the difference in $ spent, your right the $ spent by the two week tourist is significantly more than the one day tourist. Throwing out increased arrival numbers is ridiculous, it’s like comparing apples to oranges. What’s more significant is the long term stay visitors and even then you have to be careful making comparisons in the percentages. The real bottom line is tourism revenues, did they go up or down.

15. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

A comprehensive ad expository report on where we are and how we intend to move forward. I think the Governor has done a good job. He has grown in confidence and is very effective in the refreshing interactive format.

16. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

” comprehensive AND expository” not AD.

17. Here is a link to former governor podcast page:

http://delisleworrell.com/Videos

18. @Bernard

Agree with your comment. We are left to wonder if the former government had the cajones to fire Worrell earlier how it may have affected policy.

19. Already barbadians are seeing the writing on thr wall and have started to pull back on spending .hence flat vat revenue collection.
    Not good for the govt high expectation of improved revenue
    Now with the increased taxes the country would be heading for a deep recession which will create job losses over a period of time

20. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ David BU at 6:04 PM

The past is the past. We only have the present . Let us deal with what is before us.

This Governor understands how to connect the dots between Public debt, fiscal deficits,taxation, public expenditure and a dynamic tax base.
    He also understands and avoids responses to political questions. Something which public servants need to learn.

21. At the end of June, Government’s liability to creditors stood at 155% of GDP. This large stock of indebtedness has contributed to the deterioration in the sovereign credit rating and the ultimate decision of Government to pursue a comprehensive debt restructuring. This decision reflects Government’s effort to lower its interest burden, reduce gross financing requirements, create fiscal space and ultimately reduce and stabilise the debt ratio.

22. Financing and Debt
    The decision to suspend debt service payments reduced the borrowing requirements during the quarter. Financing from foreign project flows was still insufficient to offset foreign amortisation payments on multilateral borrowing, even though outflows were smaller than originally envisaged.

23. The economy remains vulnerable to external oil price shocks and no significant improvement in growth for 2018 is anticipated. The current forecast is for a decline in economic activity of 0.5%. However, implementation of some of the private and public sector projects in the pipeline is expected to raise confidence and contribute to an improved outlook for growth.
    In addition, accelerated growth requires continuous improvements in business facilitation, enabling speedier decision-making and creating new opportunities for an injection of foreign investment flows to support the balance of payments.

24. Finally, enhancing the outlook for the Barbadian economy requires a stronger policy framework together with the commitment of all stakeholders. The Bank considers the continued role of the Social Partnership as vital to the recovery effort as all sectors work to raise national productivity levels and enhance national competitiveness.

25. Notwithstanding the ongoing collaborative approach to GDP estimation taken by the BSS and the CBB, including the annual reconciliation of both GDP series, the conventional practice internationally is that the official statistical agency produces estimates of both nominal and real GDP. Therefore, following an extensive consultative process, the BSS has enhanced its approach to the estimation of GDP, which includes, inter alia, the production of annual estimates of real GDP. In particular, the revision of the methodology for estimating real GDP included updating the base year for prices to 2010, to better reflect the pricing structure of the current economy.
    The revised real GDP figures prepared by the BSS for the period 2006 to 2017 are to be official estimates of real GDP for Barbados. As a result, the real GDP data previously produced by the CBB will be discontinued in its current form. During its quarterly report on economic performance, the CBB will provide “provisional” estimates and indicators of sectoral economic activity, pending the release by the BSS of more detailed real GDP estimates.

26. @David August 2, 2018 6:38 PM

Wily is concerned with this GDP announcement, is government moving so that it’s numbers are not being questioned by CBB. Government statistics department is well known for massaging the numbers to better fit the government propaganda, is this a deliberate attempt for more politically correct information flow.

You can/should view CBB reports and analysis like that provided by the Auditor General audits. GOB is already financial starving the AG with the obvious goal to prevent bad publicity reporting, is this the latest attempt to muzzle CBB.

FOOD FOR THOUGHT

27. The govt understands . No doubt a . However reality always delivers a curb ball
    Economies falter when unforseen circumstances occur
    I remember when past govt had to deal with the Ebola crisis a step far removed from initial economic planning which cost millions of dollars
    Nothing wrong with an economist input based on numbers but realities of the unknown can deal a harsh blow to the best of economic planning
    That be as it may. I took away from the governor that outside the IMF planned policies this govt does not have a well thought out planned to create growth improvethe deficit than previous govt .right now govt is sitting in limbo along with the country awaiting for the other IMF shoe to fall
    Hence people would cut back on spending and vat revenue would continue to fall. Not good

28. @Wily

You may recall a few years ago former Governor Worrell conducted his (CBoB) own analysis to validate the unemployment number produced by the BSS. It makes sense the agency (BSS) with legal responsibility for the stats prepare the national reports.

29. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ David BU 7 :14 PM

National Accounting for the most part is an estimate based on the latest methodology to do so. The more technically qualified to do this is the BSS not the CBB. The politician can only affect the integrity of these figures if the technocrats allow him to do so. It is a matter of professional integrity.

But do bear in mind that GDP is an indicator. Consistency in computational methods is the key.

30. That is understood Sir.

31. @ maripiss

Would u please stop with ur foolishness

The first half of this year is all on the dlp
    The blp programs will start taking effect from the 3rd quarter and will need sometime to get the car to stop then into reverse

The cut back in spending and lack of vat was because of the nsrl

Stop looking fir something to start blaming the government for
    U are making urself look more stupid

32. Would be interested in hearing more about the proposed lease agreements and which entities

The vat revenue would continue to tumbled as people struggle to pay increased.taxation
    One way or other peoples pockets would not be able to handle household expenditure and helping to pay off govt debt something got to give

John bug off yuh hear

33. With the removal of NSRL and increase for public workers, even with the water tax etc, there is more money in pockets and there will be more spending. With the xmas season in the 4th quarter VAT will increase.

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bernard Codrington August 2, 2018 4:53 PM
    “A comprehensive ad expository report on where we are and how we intend to move forward. I think the Governor has done a good job. He has grown in confidence and is very effective in the refreshing interactive format.”

What do you mean by “a good job”?

Hiding the truth containing the serum of the bitter pills Bajan have to swallow as prescribed by Dr. IMF?

The Bajan economy is now too much dependent on vital care in the intensive care unit for critically sick economies.
    The visit to the specialist Dr. IMF should have been taken long time ago when the fiscal cancer had started to spread but still at an early stage and with a much better prognosis of recovery from an early round of financial radiation treatment.

How can this less ‘animatedly robotic’ governor talk about eliminating that nauseatingly talked about old bug-bear called (IN)efficiency in the public sector but still asserting that there will be no layoffs?

Any IMF-demanded divestment programme must involve, initially, and by consequence of privatization a significant loss of politically-ordained but financially parasitic placements for party supporters.

Why hire 5 hands to do a job when 3 or even 2 with the aid of ICT can do a much more efficient job?
    Can Barbados continue to carry financially the likes of a bankrupt CBC and TB without a massive loss of heads from top to bottom or via the inevitable divestment route?

Public transportation is more than just a public good. It is a vitally important artery transporting the blood of the working people to the various cells making the body of the economy. How can a country which likes to brag about being a model for third world socio-economic development allow its public transportation to sink to such a pitifully parlous state?

How can you get an economy to grow and to fire on more than one cylinder when over 70, 000 persons of working age are ‘lying voluntarily idle’ on the blocks or actively participating in the ‘untaxed’ underground economy?

With such a significantly large figure of the un(der)employed in Barbados then whose unemployment figure should we accept as closer to reality?

The government’s propagandistically massaged figure always hovering around that magical 10% or Walter Blackman’s guesstimate of 40%?

Isn’t such a mortifyingly frightening seething situation ripe for a social explosion not seen in Bim for a long, long time?

How can you have a situation where a significant portion of one of your most precious resources, your arable land, lies in bush and providing rent-free housing to the ever expanding vermin and pest population while your potable water resources become evermore vulnerable to contamination from an import-based conspicuous consumption throw-away-everything lifestyle?

35. @Miller

The Governor is not a policymaker. Until the Minister of Finance of which he is a creature is more detailed about what happens to rationalization of the SOEs and must hedge his comments. We all know those SOEs sold to private sector will result in job losses.

We wait for phase 2.

36. William Skinner Avatar

There was nothing new in the Governor’s report. The economy will remain in the doldrums until a new course is taken and there is none at the moment. We go to the IMF for the third time and hope for the best afterwards. We have been here before and we will be again. We all know what doing the same thing over and over and expecting a different result is called.

37. @William

There is the element of mismanagement through the years but the problem starts with the individuals, we are living above our means. Do we blame ourselves, those that lead us or all the above?

38. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ William Skinner

You said and I quote “…There was nothing new in the Governor’s report. The economy will remain in the doldrums until a new course is taken and there is none at the moment. We go to the IMF for the third time and hope for the best afterwards. We have been here before and we will be again. We all know what doing the same thing over and over and expecting a different result is called…”

Please explain what you mean by a new course.

As for me I am of the opinion that you are speaking of the aggressive diversification of the economy but I don’t mean to second guess you.

Please advise

39. @Wiliam,

I won’t dignify the governor’s report with any kind of analysis. All I will say is that it is now ten years and over two months this government has had to work out an alternative economic policy to the incompetent DLP government. Yet, despite coming to power in a blaze of PR publicity, no doubt organised by the Chinese man, there is a deafening silence. It has lost its mojo.
    Now they are carrying out a survey to get ideas.
    Barbados is a failed state.

40. The day Mia made the insidious decision to default on debt literally defined Barbados as a failed state
    What Mia did was to throw barbados creditworthiness in a catastrphic state of decimation not ever done before and closed the lid of trustworthiness tossing it into a whirlpool of debt defiance in the eyes of the international loan agencies
    In the governors report it is dumbfounding not to hear this govt remedial plans for creating growth which would at least decrease some of the harshest IMF policies which will impact the nation
    It was also interesting to hear the govenor revealed that debt incurred by certain govt owned enterprises were unsustainable .Nothing new however standing in the way to unload these debt ridden enterprises was the opposition leader whose voice is not silence as the realities of these challenges stare her in the face with little or no options

41. Mariposa,

You got it right. Defaulting on our debt was the official moment we became a failed state. Where is all the PR now, two months in from May 24? What about the dodgy contracts and dubious hiring practices?

42. Not at all surprised by the silence.Rather to kerp silent and hid than to have the face the questions of unkept promises
    Even the Unions have gone into a retreat of silence after throwing their members overboard
    Now what more can be expected of a govt who promised so much more and as shown by the govt report has nothing positive to give
    Oh NSRL which was a petproject to be removed has been but the alternatives given was that of a might wave that washed ashore destroying all in its way
    At least the NSRL would have saved some forex from leaving the country

43. Barbados became a failed state on the day that David Thompson decided that his integrity could be brought by CLICO.
    Wunna may have missed the downhill ride, but the events that followed only represent the iceberg tearing into the hull of the Bajan Titanic.
    No amount of talk, whacking, bickering or cussing will repair the gaping holes that have been punched into the hull under the idiotic captaincy of the Froon and his crew of morons.
    ONLY ‘sack cloth and ashes’ could have effected repairs…

Putting Mia’s band of musicians to now strike up a band on the deck only creates a sober requiem.

Our ass is grass.

Having sat down for the past fifteen years and TOLERATED the shiite…as if it was not our business;
    having sat like idiots while our savings at CLICO were brazenly raided by lepers ….
    while baloney and sandals discombobulated our treasury…
    while Massy and Emera repossessed our assets
    while the Canadian and Trickidadian banks applied the screw into out posteriors…
    and now, (like the brass bowls that we are) looking on in bemusement as ‘ResLife’ is created to suck the bones left of CLICO…

What the Hell…
    There is no question that we deserve our impending fate…

44. If the DLP had remained in power and not defaulted or gone to the IMF the country would have been completely broke.

NSRL would not have been able to save any FOREX from leaving the country. We would have been out of FOREX.

This government has been in power two months. By the final report for this year you all will be seeing the positive results.

45. The forex graph in the central bank report shows the continuous decline in the last ten years.

46. John 2,

It is broke.