One immediate consequence of the annihilation of the Democratic Labour Party in the last general election in May has been to create a vacuum in the populist democratic discourse that requires for its optimal existence the publication of an alternative view to the official dogma.

I am already aware that there exists what I called in a recent column, “a semblance of opposition” in the form of a Leader of the Opposition in the Lower House, and his two Senatorial appointments in the Upper Chamber but, apart from one member of this grouping, who I know for certain will not allow anyone to think for him on any issue, this opposition does not appear to enjoy as yet a sufficient degree of distance from the governing administration to be regarded as a consistent source of alternative views.

In any case, I am speaking of a more radical (in the true sense of that word) alternative point of view; one bred out of the instinctual populist analysis that would take each official political assertion with a grain of salt and synthesize it for accordance with what the commentator considers best for the country.

Granted, these are early days yet, and the governing Barbados Labour Party administration is still in its “honeymoon” period, and thereby entitled to some concession from the citizenry in respect of any errors of judgment that it may commit.

What ought not to happen, however, in a democracy is that this sentiment should result in any alternative view being considered as heretic and its proponent being instinctively deemed a pariah whose views do not deserve a hearing.

Already, I can sense that there are those who are uncomfortable with any criticism of this administration and more so, if that critique comes from a member of, or one considered to be a supporter of the outgone Democratic Labour Party [DLP] administration. Frequently, on the various social media, one encounters the expression of sentiments that suggest that any view critical of an initiative by the current administration is to be abhorred on the basis that on May 25 of this year, the electorate determined that there should be no opposition to the BLP government and moreover, that the DLP should have no further say in the affairs of state.

The first of these propositions runs counter to our traditional understanding of the democratic praxis and, as recent events have demonstrated, the framers of our Constitution never contemplated the occurrence of such a scenario. That it has eventuated may be owed to factors not immediately relevant to this discussion, but it is at least doubtful whether the result of the election unequivocally indicated the preference of the populace for a one-party state, where “no [other]damn dog barks”.

While the latter contention may be electorally true, at least at a parliamentary level, that rejection should be perceived rather as one qua DLP parliamentarian/candidate and not qua Barbadian citizen, so that even a member of that party that was rejected by his or her constituency should still retain the civic entitlement to air publicly his or her views on the prudential administration of the state. It would be unnecessarily churlish, un-Barbadian and undemocratic to believe otherwise.

In this connection, our Constitution does not expressly guarantee the right to freedom of political expression, as does section 4(e) of the Trinidad & Tobago Republican Constitution 1976 that declares the existence of the right “to join political parties and to express political views”. Rather, ours contents itself with a general right of freedom of expression which would doubtless also include the freedom to air political views, both in the narrower and broader senses of the word “political”.

Nonetheless, this freedom of expression is not unrestricted and is expressly made subject in section 21 (2)(a) to any law “that is reasonably required for the purpose of protecting the reputations, rights and freedoms of other persons…” There are some other express restrictions besides but it is principally upon the law that seeks to protect the reputations of other persons that I should wish to focus my essay.

There is a quaint myth among some Barbadians that our defamation laws are incontrovertibly “archaic”. This perception or rather misperception is owed to the fact that the type of imputations that pass unsanctioned in the US for example would cause the publisher to be mulct in substantial damages in this jurisdiction. In fine, this is owed to the fact that we do not enjoy the public figure defence that obtains in some jurisdictions there. According to this, the constitutional guarantees of freedom of speech and of the press required a rule that prohibits a public official from recovering damages for a defamatory falsehood relating to his or her official conduct unless the claimant proves that the statement was made with actual malice, that is with knowledge that it was knowingly false or made with reckless disregard as to its falsity.

No such defence is expressly provided in our Defamation Act 1996, although that is not the fault of the drafters of that Act, since, even in the state of New York, the defence is a judicial, and not a statutory creation. It may thus be argued that given the form and nature of our constitutional right to free expression, one that pays due regard to the reputations of others, it should hamstring any similar judicial initiative here.

Owing to the need to meet an arranged deadline, I must end here for today. Next week, I propose to continue this discussion on the extent of our freedom of speech and its effect on our defamation laws and to introduce discussion of freedom of information that, I will submit, is a necessary corollary to an enhanced freedom of democratic expression.

109 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – Enhancing the Freedom of Democratic Expression”

1. It is good to watch the side issues.
    It’s funny how one actuary becomes ‘rich as shite’ and another had to run ” back to Trump land”

Last year I had to tell a Trini that actuarial science was not my expertise and I was prepared to give him WB name. The Trini was vying for a contract which involved a lot of actuarial work.

2. @ James Greene

Over the last 10 years the voters of Barbados lived with DLP Gangrene ,and removed it , don’t worry Mr. Greene the voters are getting antibiotics, to used at the first sign of any Sore

3. Pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar
    Pieceuhderockyeahright

@ James Greene

You said and i quote “…where is the illegality or even impropriety in any outgoing govt renewing a contract 1 year or 1 day prior to leaving office?”

And then you go on to reason quite uncharacteristically “…what are we saying that the person being contracted is ineffective, crooked or that the minister is?…”

No what we the people are saying to these 5 year tenure-ships by these unscrupulous ministers and their SOE proxies is that Mia Mottley, now tht she is in power with her 30-0 majority SHOULD MAKE IT A LAW AND REGULATION that “no contract shall be extended to any party BEYOND THE LIFETIME OF THE ADMINISTRATION THAT APPOINTED IT because what this does is that it binds an incoming administration to the whims and fancies of a previous administration and the idiocy of sycophancy.

Note that i did not mention incompetence.

Additionally IF THE MOTTLEY ADMINISTRATION IS SERIOUS ABOUT A NEW COVENANT it should create a tool which permits the real time evaluation of all these employees so that it would be easy to assess their contributions and so that we do not have A Minister of Wuk Ups -like employee like Short Me Crutch Lil Hitler Lashley languishing in the hallways of government and drawing a salary every 26th of the month, WHILE DOING NOTHING for the salary

4. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ the Honourable BLogmaster

Your assistance please with an item to Mr. James Greene

5. To repeat a comment posted last week by the blogmaster- all contracts issued by central government and SOEs should be managed centrally and approved based on a rigid criteria that is transparent and relevant allocation criteria.

6. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

i completely disagree with the employment of the word “entitlement” in this bit. that word suggests a right. and there is no right to errors committed by a govt in this so called honeymoon period. replace the phrase “thereby entitled to” with “enjoy” and it would be correct generally. i say generally because there is nothing to suggest that citizens forgive or ought to forgive the mistakes a govt makes at the outset of its term in office

@ Mr Greene, It is the reality however. How much do you think those”errors”identified will count for in 2023?

7. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

*@Jeff

This is an fyi, comment from a T&T group chat.

Thank you, David.

8. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

and above all the private sector is not an arm of govt and govt should not be catering to them to the exclusion of the larger public. Bim public sector depends too much on govt for their well being. the private sector must spend more of its capital and grow Bim. go into TT, Guy, Ja and buy their businesses or set up businesses etc

Well said!

9. @Jeff

i dont know. it really depends. some errors count other dont.

i was merely pointing out the use or misuse of the word “entitlement’ in this context.

the govt is on high right now and are being given a pass for the moment but eventually the chickens will come home to roost or roast as a good friend often says

10. @PUDRYR
    permits the real time evaluation of all these employees so that it would be easy to assess their contributions and so that we do not have A Minister of Wuk Ups -like employee like Short Me Crutch Lil Hitler Lashley languishing in the hallways of government and drawing a salary every 26th of the month,
    ++++++++++++++++
    You made a good point and then stepped all over your argument, evaluation of proxies, consultants and contractors is one thing but who will be evaluating the Ministers in a “buddy-buddy” environment? Even if a PM is strong enough to do this (if they have a large majority) he/she must still avoid the pitfalls within the Party that may develop as a result. Remember Owen fired Payne who then undertook a vow of silence for a few years although he eventually teamed up with Owen to oust Mia (but that’s ancient history).

11. Not to forget Ronald Toppin who also took a vow of silence why he resigned as minister in charge of the FSC. Guess what, both Payne and Toppin are back!

12. @PUDRYR

“No what we the people are saying to these 5 year tenure-ships by these unscrupulous ministers and their SOE proxies is that Mia Mottley, now tht she is in power with her 30-0 majority SHOULD MAKE IT A LAW AND REGULATION that “no contract shall be extended to any party BEYOND THE LIFETIME OF THE ADMINISTRATION THAT APPOINTED IT because what this does is that it binds an incoming administration to the whims and fancies of a previous administration and the idiocy of sycophancy.”

I dont understand that statement. you ought to explain what you mean

13. See no problem with past govt renew said contracts
    I think it was a smart move of closing a gap that if left open present govt would have had an opportunity to plug with their own croonies. I suspect with that opportunity taken out of the hand of present govt it irks them in more ways than one

14. Your hignorance knoweth no bounds.

Who pays, the taxpayers because they have to go anyway.

15. There are opinions, then there are lies and hypocrisy. You can’t support one perspective pre 24 May and on the 26 May say that same perspective is wrong; or stay silent before 24 May, then after vociferously oppose every action of the new government and claim to be apolitical. It comes across as hypocritical and fraudulent. They are some like Piece who can call MAM Mugabe, he did it prior to the 24th while at the same time predicting “not one effin seat”. He maybe a conspiracy theorist but not a hypocrite. Two months in and the government has not renege on any promises yet; but what can we genuinely prosecute the government on–White Oaks, Jong Mascoll, Rawdon, Billlie…..? I here the constant harping about appointments; I would like those that have a problem to tell us what one Company Secretary at a Board made over the last 10 years? We heard of one lawyer that submitted a bill for $5.8M, that is FIVE times the additional cost of the Cabinet. Guyson Mayers got $300,000 (20,000 per month) and we never heard TInniss et al on BU condemning that decision. Were you unaware of BU then or did not have internet or mobile data? Anyone can tell BU what Guyson Mayers achieved/produced? I tell wunna all yuh gotta come real good to dislodge the BLP, they will not be perfect but if my reading of the tea leaves is correct many of its MPs are determined to build a legacy. Watch dem!

16. “I think it was a smart move of closing a gap that if left open present govt would have had an opportunity to plug with their own croonies.”
    ++++++++++++

Hmmmmmm……..very interesting….

Are you implying the former DLP administration took the “opportunity to plug with their own cronies”……

………by renewing their contracts for periods which would essentially span the duration of this BLP administration’s tenure?

And…….you’re suggesting the DEMS ensuring a new administration is “saddled” with the burden of these cronies….. at the expense of taxpayers……

……….is a smart move?

It continues to harrow me with fear and wonder.

17. Did you read what Donville said about the contracts renewal and the lies being told
    I guess those lies must be told and accepted by all and sundry

Btw David your distractions have no bounds..just lean in a little closer and listen to the sound of your voice condemning past govt for renewing contracts while giving a pass to the milliom dollar contracts to Wild Oaks and all of Mia Croonies all without transparency

18. it would be great if the present Govt could examine all the infelicities that occurred under the DLP from 1998 to 2018 and let the chips fall where they lay.

19. William Skinner Avatar

” There are opinions, then there are lies and hypocrisy.”

I did not know that !

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Mariposa July 29, 2018 4:04 PM
    “See no problem with past govt renew said contracts
    I think it was a smart move of closing a gap that if left open present govt would have had an opportunity to plug with their own croonies. I suspect with that opportunity taken out of the hand of present govt it irks them in more ways than one..”

Smart one there, Mary the many pussy harlot of a BU yard fowl.

But you are missing one clitoral sensation to convince us Johns to buy your dry hole full of trickery and deceit.

The new BLP administration is not faced with any Hobson’s choice of a one-tricked pony.

How about sending them packing by breaching their ‘sweet life-extended’ contracts with the offer of consideration being the standard 3 months pay-out and with IOUs promising to pay sometime in the future the balance similar to the ordinary citizens expecting tax refunds and other amounts due from government for the compulsory acquisition of properties belonging to law-abiding and politically-neutral citizens?

If the DLP-appointed parties to these contract of services are unhappy with that proposal for settlement in respect of breach of contract well let them follow Freundel Stuart’s ‘prime ministerial’ advice and get a lawyer like he gave to the now ‘dumb’founded Speaker Michael Carry-away-a-ton.

Then you will see how fast or slow the wheels of justice turn in blighted Bim.
    Who shall forget how fast the axe of the Law fell on poor Dr. Deliar Worrell when he wanted to keep his pick as the head honcho at the Central Bank in order to fire 4,500 public sector workers.

Maybe the CJ will pay special interest with diligently due care to these emergency cases of breach of contract while CoP Dottin had to await his day in court; just like the alleged drug runner Herbert or the alleged gun dealer Annell are awaiting.

Capiche?

21. It would be good if present govt lay claim to all their infelicities during their 14 year period
    I belive their is plenty mote still lingering in their eyes from 1994 – 2008
    The people gave present govt a goverence through the lens of transparency and accountability and so far what all have seen is a darkened room filled with smoke and mirrors

Yes Artax the move on past govt to plug the holes was smart
    For what it is worth it immediately capsized any plans similar to those now exececuted by present govt to decapitate the remain corpse of the dlp targeting all dlp employees
    So yes i am punch drunk with happiness that dlp took a step in a direction to place balance where necessary to protect the integrity of a democratic system
    Had it not done so. Mia and her band of rogues would have a field day in completing the Mugabee touch

22. Enuff
    I support your views 100%.I have assessed TInniss and Jamesgreene.Two azzoles!

23. it seems to me that the BLP employ a lot of bloggers. it made me wonder if during their campaign whether the BLP had a working relationship with Cambridge Analytica, SCL or one of the many companies working under them.

the online content, vitriol and blogging remind me of how the campaigns in Grenada, Antigua, Dominica were ran.

Cambridge Analytica, SCL etc is known for contracting with a political party and if victorious having a point person permanently installed as an employee of said govt

24. Gabriel. I have assessed between you and the sewer system which stinks more and have come to the conclusion your mouth via your language stinks 100% more than the sewer system
    Seems that since your govt retain power after ten years in the wilderness you blp yardfowls cannot contain your daily contamination of filthy language on BU
    I guess David finds it acceptable

25. James Greene. Dont worry your head about the blp yardfowls in due time drip by drip all their shady dealings will be exposed as certain as day becomes night
    Mottley right now has a lot of “figuring” her advisors and campagain managers did not envision a Charles Herbert effect

26. “For what it is worth it immediately capsized any plans similar to those now exececuted by present govt to decapitate the remain corpse of the dlp targeting all dlp employees….”

So……if the move was so smart, where did it leave DLP cronies such as Lanette Napoleon-Young, Sandra Forde and Doug Hoyte…..who all accepted their “separation packages?”

And what about the remaining cronies at UDC, RDC and NCF?

Additionally, I think you’re attempting to absolve the DLP of failing to investigate the corruption they accused the BLP of perpetrating during their 14 year tenure.

I recall Thompson saying he would order a forensic audit of Hardwood Housing’s financial records. But it was never done.

It’s all political games. Politicians from both BLP and DLP will continue to accuse each other of corruption, while in opposition…….

……..as well as during the first few months of assuming office, while holding news conferences and finding all types of opportunities to level innuendo driven claims of corruption.

Then it “dies a sudden death,” only to be resurrected during political campaigns or when it is politically expedient.

27. Those contracts were extended on pure malice. It is patently obvious. What other reason would a government renew contracts of Derek Alleyne, Cranston Browne, Sandra Forde (all former DLP candidates or party officers) prior to their expiration? Imagine Derek Alleyne talking about going in the gutter and now the PM is his line minister.🤣🤣 What employment contracts were renewed by the BLP just before elections to plant their operatives as alluded to by another “damascenic” newcomer?

28. Since you admit that both parties plug holes why then does it irks the blp yardfowls when past govt does the same
    As i alluded in my past comments what govt did was a certainty that now seems in perfect tuning to protect the democractic process especially from a sinster form of dictatorial warfare that permeates the air under present govt

29. Is this real or are we in the twilight zone.

30. James Greene

Can you expand some more on your post @ 5:35 re the use of Cambridge analytica in other Caribbean countries and;

more importantly having one of their employees usually placed in the govt after the campaign is over.So that may very well be our boy Charles Jong.And imagine he is also employed by the Dominica govt and this media won’t even do investigative reporting on this.

If this is indeed the case I tell you we are in shark infested waters.

Look at the 3 countries you name and all of them have Hartley Henry as their political consultant and in the case of Grenada – keith mitchell worked closely with Lucille Moe – Mia’s bosom buddy and now minister of information.What a laugh .

Just the right position to be able to send out alternative facts I suppose.

Boy oh boy !

31. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

David July 29, 2018 12:47 PM

“@watchman

Where is your nemesis Walter these days?”

watchman July 29, 2018 1:17 PM

“@David/Bu

Walter must have taken the advise of Piece, a watchman, and gone back to Trump land”

Watchman,
    First of all, taking advice from proven vile, condemned, modern-day bushwhackers, on any matter, is tantamount to taking advice from Cammie or Peter on how to make love to a woman. You will end up feeling “deflated” on one hand, or confused as to whether to come or go, on the other.

You really do not want to hear this, but I am going to impose it upon your ears as a sentence for disturbing my peace.

I developed a “global” appetite and outlook from the days of my youth. I studied hard and long, and “worked my fingers to the bone” to craft marketable skills in a competitive, first world environment. The professional credentials and consulting actuarial skills I bring to the table are in short supply globally, so I can and do leave and arrive in Barbados on relatively short notice.

Given the state of the Barbadian economy, and the effect of high prices and taxes on the purchasing power of the Barbadian dollar at this time, I can really appreciate having the opportunity and ability to work for US dollars. I haven’t even mentioned the IMF, and the uncertainty and austerity that will follow its final arrangement with the Mottley administration.

On the other hand, the economy of the USA is registering low unemployment. Consumer confidence is up. The specialized “combo” pension plans which I spend most of my professional life designing are popular and in great demand in the USA..Business is on the upswing.

If you were in my shoes, where would you cast your net? Before deciding, would you wait for advice from silly, sinful, short-sighted jenny asses?

32. Yes David the whole of barbados is in the twilight zone given the events that happened a few days ago and Mottley incessant practice of pulling the wolves over the eyes of a nation
    Yes barbados has reached a place called the twilight zone
    The spin.the PR machinery that makes one head turn in 😱 and the high level of high taxation that makes the average barbadian take flight
    Have you ever seen any thing so daunting to the spirit
    Yet you come here day after day with a bowl filled with distractions as if to say nothing else matters
    Maybe it is all because of your level to entertain and approve certain practices from a privilege sector of society that in some small but significant way we all have reached the twilight zone

33. NorthernObserver Avatar

@WB
    hope you continue to do well.

34. Walter
    I agree with you to look for work where you are likely to get it without the political yardfowls of the DLP which you do foolishly support giving you the impression you can offer yourself as a candiadtein Election 18.You read the tea leaves and said correctly..not now,not ever,wunna ent ready.Btw,what about that stats exam you missed on the Hill?

35. James Greene

Ironically, there was a rumour that the DLP employed the services of Cambridge Analytical SCL during the 2013 general election campaign.

But your observations give credence

36. ……. Pop pop to..to my mantra that there aren’t any philosophical and ideological differences between the BLP and DLP.

37. *******…….. to my mantra that there aren’t any philosophical and ideological differences between the BLP and DLP.

38. Good to see you are alive and kicking Walter.

39. @ Walter Blackman

Thanks for the love letter, and your noted professional upswing, Gabriel think it is the tea leaves, the watchman is happy for you Bro ,due to our talk in my backyard, you do know the watchman is not short-sighted

40. “As I alluded in my past comments what govt did was a certainty that now seems in perfect tuning to protect the democractic (democratic) process especially from a sinster (sinister) form of dictatorial warfare that permeates the air under present govt….”

Hmmmmmm………

Could you please EXPLAIN to BU how an administration, in it’s dying days……..renewing the contracts of its political cronies BEFORE the original contracts EXPIRED…….

……..be viewed as PROTECTING the “democratic process?”

41. Walter

I noticed that Ian Carrington is the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Finance.

You would have been my choice for Director of the NIS.

42. Walter M Blackman Avatar
    Walter M Blackman

TheOGazerts July 29, 2018 1:52 PM

“It is good to watch the side issues.
    It’s funny how one actuary becomes ‘rich as shite’ and another had to run ” back to Trump land”

TheOGazerts,
    Barbados, our idyllic island home, will continue to vomit up its shocking contrasts.

It is only after listening to people on BU describing how “bright” a certain white man is to have completed a degree in actuarial science, then to have gone on to complete the tough actuarial professional exams, then to have gone on to develop a multi-million dollar actuarial company in Barbados, that I found myself making some comparisons. We both demonstrated at the university and professional exams level that we possess the intellectual capacity needed to become fully qualified pension actuaries. However, the demonstration of brain power is where the similarity abruptly ends.

Now for the contrast. He is a bright, rich, white man. I am simply a black man.

In Barbados, this is a huge, huge deal and it naturally and invariably translates into a situation where a universe of opportunities are opened to him, whilst all doors are closed to me.

So whereas someone can boast on this white man’s behalf, that he made millions from selling an actuarial company which he developed in Barbados (not sure if this is correct), I am left to inform BU readers that I was awarded an OAS Fellowship to study actuarial science at the masters degree level with the expressed intention of providing actuarial services to the National Insurance Scheme of Barbados. Alas, I completed my studies but, on my return to Barbados, was never allowed to work at the NIS.

I applied for the vacant position of Supervisor of Insurance, which was advertised by the Erskine Sandiford administration. After a series of interviews, the final two candidates were Walter Blackman and Joycelyn Hinds. I attended the final interview and have heard nothing since. I discovered later that Wismar Greaves was placed in the post. Could it be that this was the point at which CLICO was being prepared for its “great” journey?
    Attempts to work at ICB amounted to a mere exercise in futility.

More recently, the Government of Barbados, for the first time, advertised the position of CEO of the Financial Services Commission. I knew something was afoot so I made sure that I applied. As expected, I never even got an acknowledgement. However, Sir Frank Alleyne told Barbadians that the FSC had searched the whole world and could find no one but Mr, Randy Graham to fill the position.

What has allowed me to remain mentally strong and steadfast is my firm belief that no one selected Walter Blackman to “unfair” or destroy. This “square pegs in round holes” problem is systemic and thousands of progressive-minded Barbadians, if given the chance, can easily recount incidents of being similarly “unfaired” and discriminated against.

There is some purpose to this madness.

Back in the early to mid-1980’s, a grand designer decided to “corner” and control government’s financial services market. Individuals were handpicked to head major government revenue agencies and to follow certain career tracks (e.g. Supervisor of Insurance, NIS dept, PS/Director of Finance).
    For example, Sabina Walcott was made Commissioner of Inland revenue. Grantley Smith was Director of NIS, before moving on to the PS/Director of Finance role. William Layne was Financial Controller of NIS, Supervisor of Insurance, and then PS/Director of Finance. Ian Carrington was Supervisor of Insurance, Director of NIS, and has now moved into a PS/Director of finance role.
    Any person or agency wishing to investigate the nature and state of the government’s finances from 1985-2015 is well-advised to start by questioning and interviewing these four individuals along with Erskine Griffith, a former PS/Director of finance, who was ultimately “rewarded” with a minister of agriculture’s salary. . These persons were in the best position to know how come government’s financial rules could be violated so easily, and how come the problems raised by the Auditor General for so long could be so contemptuously disregarded with no repercussions or consequences.

With respect to the FSC, every Barbadian watched in disbelief as the organization did little or nothing to protect the rights and benefits of CLICO’s policyholders, or to punish the guilty persons responsible for the scandalous raid on the insurance company. However, when it was discovered that the Judicial Manager was about to publish a report which proved beyond the shadow of a doubt that David Thompson initiated the steps which led to the CLICO raid, the FSC sprang into action and tried to block the publication of the report. Was this the reason why the nephew of David Thompson was put in the CEO post? Was it sheer coincidence that he left the post after all attempts to block the publication of the JM report failed?

We castigate, shun, and in some cases, jail uneducated black Barbadians for their acts of ignorance. At the other extreme, we block well-educated black Barbadians.from taking up positions commensurate with their experience and training, and from participating meaningfully in public life. Participation in public life is now being characterized by corruption, malfeasance, and deceit. Instinct tells me that a social backlash cannot be very far away.. . ,

43. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

NorthernObserver July 29, 2018 8:24 PM

“@WB
    hope you continue to do well.”

NorthernObserver,
    Thanks. I wish the same for you and your household.

44. This is some heavy tongue lashing Walter, the blogmaster feels your pain. You made a mistake throwing your lot with the DLP. One has to be pragmatic?

45. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Gabriel July 29, 2018 8:39 PM

“Walter
    .Btw,what about that stats exam you missed on the Hill?”

Gabriel,
    I completed every course the university required of me and graduated from “the hill” with a B.Sc (Upper 2nd class honours) in Public Administration.
    You being such a good house slave, why don’t you remove your lips from Rawdon Adam ‘s backside and ask him how many stats courses he failed?

46. […] Blackman responded to BU commenter TheOGazerts on the observation that Barbadians are engaged in the Charles Herbert, a rich Bajan Actuary that contrast starkly with […]

47. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

David July 29, 2018 10:16 PM

“Good to see you are alive and kicking Walter.”

David July 30, 2018 2:09 AM

“This is some heavy tongue lashing Walter, the blogmaster feels your pain. You made a mistake throwing your lot with the DLP. One has to be pragmatic?”

Thanks.
    I want you to take a few minutes and feel the pain of the many silent Barbadians who have been deprived and cheated by a very unjust system.
    We all make mistakes. The trick is to learn from them.

I am one of those people who joined the DLP out of appreciation for what Errol Barrow had achieved.The actions of Erskine Sandiford, David Thompson, Freundel Stuart, Chris Sinckler, and others have now moved the DLP closer to the brink of extinction. There is a very high probability that large sums of taxpayers’ money were misappropriated and stolen outright during 2008-2018. I would not vote for any person who was a member of the government during this period, .We need to identify and imprison the guilty politicians and public officials from this period, and then identify, try, and imprison those guilty of corruption from 1980 -2007. Nothing less will suffice. As a country, we have the ability to do this without much difficulty and expense.

In the final analysis, I still consider myself to be extremely lucky that no one can point a finger at me, or call my name in connection with stealing the hard earned money of Barbadian workers. The politicians have destroyed our country. No one can predict when, and how, the masses will decide it is payback time. I sincerely hope that I am around to witness the “clean up campaign” when it starts.

48. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Artax July 30, 2018 1:36 AM

“Walter

I noticed that Ian Carrington is the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Finance.

You would have been my choice for Director of the NIS.”

Artax,
    We have now reached the stage where one has to be extremely careful about which government department one works in. Ian Carrington has been NIS Director for years and is ultimately responsible for many of the chronic problems plaguing that department. The politicians have gobbled up 75% of the cash in the NIS Fund and with baby boomers retiring every day, a serious cash flow problem looms in the short to medium term. Going forward, Carrington will feel no heat. Most likely, his successor will.

So as far as the job of NIS Director is concerned, I gleefully say “No thanks”. I do appreciate the sentiment you are trying to convey and feel quite honoured that you have so much confidence in my ability.

49. Walter
    You are nothing but a coward.With all that ‘learning’,all that chat,you do not have the passion to change anything.At the first criticism you back off into a shell and spew a few insults.In other words Walter you will always be an employee.Bare talk.No risk taker.No commitment,no burning inner hunger to make a difference.Gaul blineuh.It is wunna so that foes let down the Team Change.Run yuh do and do coward.You en no different to Sandy and Stuart.I still think Thompson would have made a difference to politics Barbados if he had lived.

50. Errata
    Wunna so that does let down etc
    Yuh so and so coward.