Chris Rogers (l) Walter Prescod (c) Charles Herbert (r)

The news that approximately 3 million dollars worth of illegal drugs was discovered on a boat owned by Goddards Enterprises – a successful and respected international company domiciled in Barbados – continues to be the talk of the town. A few high profile names are reported to be assisting the police force read Charles Herbert the Chairman of Goddards Enterprises and Chris Rogers a non executive member who were reported to be on the boat when the interdiction was made by Barbados Customs Officers.

Information coming from the police about the progress of investigation has been slow as one would expect when prominent individuals are involved. Then add high profile lawyer Andrew Pilgrim to the mix. The blogmaster joins many expressing an interest in who will be charged and incarcerated for the crime. The tangential story is that there is an intense lobby with the charge in government to legalize marijuana for medicinal purposes.

The blogmaster ask commenters to be smart when posting comments. On behalf of the BU household we appeal to all those out there to continue to tip off the authorities so that we can arrest the scourge of drugs, guns and other illegal activity pouring into our little island. Feel free to email BU also with tips by completing the Contact List that will be forwarded confidentially to the blogmaster.

BU’s Featured image is Charles Herbert, Chairman of Goddards (l) and Chris Rogers, non executive board member (r).

778 responses to “Goddard’s Yacht Ecstasy Busted!”

1. Just a short while ago Joseph Atherly, the leader of the opposition asked, ” why no high profiled individuals have been charged.” This is in relations to the guns that the dumb ass schmucks are using on the streets. We all know why. To all you Bajans who seem to have a problems with WhiteHill, let’s see if these guys are gonna be treated like your sons. Let’s see if the prosecutors are gonna object to bail given the seriousness and amount involved like they do when some idiot steals a tin of corned beef. Let’s see if they will be charged at all.

2. @whiteHill

The fact a boat owned by Goddards was intercepted signals progress right?

Sorry, yacht!

3. Whitehill,

The real corruption in Barbados does not involve money or property, it is really corruption of the mind. It is called learning by rote – or brainwashing. Fools learn narratives like circus animals then regurgitate them and feel they have accomplished something. Think of monkeys and organ-grinders. For the more sophisticated, think of Plato’s allegory.

4. I also thought that it was progress when that white man was arrested for shooting his son. Hell, he was even allowed to fly out of the island on a private jet supposedly for medical treatment. Can you imagined Cristy-Cuffy letting you do that?

5. Well that was progress, we just need to find a way to get the wheel over the hump.

6. Whitehill,

You are spot on. The Norwegian left the island to go to the US for non-life threatening medical attention. And the Guyana-born DPP intervened and dropped the case. As to the magistrate, Miss Huffy, I think she has serious problems.

7. What the blogmaster hopes this case does is to provoke a wider discussion as to why local authorities have not been able to apprehend those in the shadows through the years who are responsible for importing the guns and drugs into the island. Clearly the pushers being arrested are not responsible for the financing of the illegal trade. Also we have to turn our gaze to the authority figures who look the other way.

8. @Hall A, Hell I’m living back here now after some time away, see and experience it every time i leave my house. You have no idea the many times i put off taking care of some business because it depresses me to have to engage those who think they are so RH smart. Have you ever experienced a whole island suffering from the Stockholm syndrome?

9. Magistrate Huffy as you called her is just another angry belligerent black woman who hates black men, her kind can be found throughout the public service, Unfortunately, the men in Barbados are such spineless pooch sniffers, they don’t know when they are being screwed. Matter of fact, I do believe the men know they are being screwed, but because of some ingrained need to sniff some woman’s ass they will accept any shit.

10. David glad you woke up after my intervention you seemed to have tñ come to the realization that it does Barbados no good to hide the faces of these criminals from public scrutiny
    Barbados has been under attack for years by the drug world and unmasking them when the opportunity arises will make for a better barbados
    Makes no good in attackkng the messenger while giving the criminal a pass
    Hopefully you would post my two earlier previous comments
    We cannot afford to live in two barbados anymore one for the rich and one for the poor
    It a price too hard to pay

11. It is a very fishy expedition so to speak. No fish instead $3M in drugs on a yacht. There was a tip to the police. 2 high profile persons from the white minority arrested. A 3rd person who appears to be the fall guy. Due to the quantity of drugs it makes one wonder why bail was granted. It may have been a small concession but overall it appears that since this made it to this new domain that the police commissioner’s hands are no longer tied.
    Questions: what was the purpose of the expedition? How often does the yacht go on expedition? The mere fact that a tip off was given makes it appear that this was not the first occurrance but more importantly someone out there has credible information. Who?

12. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I do not have the facts and I am not suggesting that anyone on that boat is guilty. That is not my role; I will leave that up to the courts if the matter ever gets there.

My concern is similar to that of Bishop Atherley. Why are no big-ups ever brought before the courts for drugs? As far as I know, drug dealing is a cash business. These little poor boys and girls, that are continually being brought before the courts, do not have the wherewithal to purchase large quantities of drugs for retail. The importers of drugs must be persons who have access to large quantities of cash and I daresay large quantities of foreign exchange. Wholesale suppliers of drugs would have no interest in being paid in Barbados dollars.

I have always felt that the real importers of illegal drugs are not the ones being prosecuted. We’ll see where this case takes us.

By the way, I am not hearing any praise for our honest, hardworking customs officers. Come on, don’t be stingy with your praise; you are certainly not with your condemnation even in times when such is not warranted.

Good job Customs!

13. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

I prefer do the math..

3 million dollars worth of marijuana, cocaine, guns etc every 2 weeks for 40 years because Barbados police only arrest and prosecute black people and the whites, indians, syrians who have a well established drug, money laundering and gun running cartel running through the Caribbean are left alone because they bribe the same foolish ministers, port workers etc while DPPs and police turn a blind eye…..for decades.

6 million a month ×12 = 72 million a month x 40 years =$2,880,000,000.00

Mia’s quicksand has reached her knees…they traffic guns and drugs and still rob the treasury and pension fund.

MoneyB…how come you are not here doing the math…we know how you love $$$$$…

14. William Skinner Avatar

The mills of god grinds slowly but they grind exceedingly small, he sits and with patience and doth grinds all…………

15. @Senator Caswell

Your comment follows the blogmaster’s asking the same question. The question asked of customs officers is always about the bad apples in the barrel. You can easily ask them why have they not been able to do what happened yesterday more often.

16. @Heather

We don’t know what happened on that boat but the prominent businessmen who are mentioned will have to explain how all those bags were loaded on the boat and not a boy noticed. Where were the packages loaded? No doubt the Captain will have to detail where the boat was berthed in St. Vincent etc.

17. Hal Austin’s response to a drug bust is that corruption is ALL Barbadians learn by rote and they are monkeys.

I knew sooner or later he would have said something insulting like that, and not one contributor will call him out for that insult.

18. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Wuh I remember when Bushman and others wanted to make Herbert prime minister, despite warnings from us that the unions stay away from these people and not allowed themselves to be used…I was even wondering ehy Mia was seen supporting Herbert’s march.

When people are so ambitious and greedy as to want to exclude the majority population from prospering….you do not admire them…you follow and monitor them to see what else they are doing because those practices and those behaviors mean they are up to no good.

The police got drones…monitor these people…instead of lifting the drone ban.

19. Mr. Franklyn, Until these interdictions and arrests are done more frequently with similar individuals of this class, then praise and adulation. You, Joseph Athterly and the rest of black Bajans knew for a very long time; these punk ass illiterate fools lack the logistical wherewithal to land drugs and guns of this magnitude in Barbados.

20. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

A few weeks back de ole msn was saying to a blogger that irrespective of the statistics about crime interdiction Barbados was not seeing any major big boys getting locked up.

The DEA has been watching these fellers move their yachts in and out of Carlisle bay and Port St Charles for years.

It is known who all 18 are.

The thing that we can expect is the infighting that will follow cause a few fellows talked and these guys got given up.

De ole man expects there to be repercussions at a high level with some bloodletting among the 18.

Because these external fellers don’t play like de 18 bajans lol boys.

What caused this was the economic situation in Barbados at this time

The killings on the street are for turf but den kill the wrong body and de fellers asked for vengeance and dem ent get satisfaction.

So what de middle guys do is say “we going get back at dem weself”

It is alright when de niggers killing one annuder BUT NOW WE REALLY GITS A PROBLEM

One of Two things has to happen.

One already has.

All de 18 going meet to discuss dese happenings and agree on what retribution are to be made.

If those agreements are not carried out in a week then the real drug lords going enter this shyte and all dem fellers who been hiding bout here as bogolords going see who the real kingpins are.

But Doan mind de ole man I jes read de Godfather by Mario Puzo and am having a Vito Corleone moment

Watch the local officials scampering heheheheh

Journalist should monitor the meetings at the U.S. embassy and the movements of ***

21. All eyes will be watching. I have always wondered why ONLY black folks go to jail. Am I to believe that criminal behaviour is only exhibited in blacks. Dont whites and Syrians and Indians have delinquent children I am amazed. If this is swept under the carpet it would be a sad day in Barbados. Young blacks in this country know that certain people can do crime and get away with it.

22. This is another caution that we are not seized with all the facts at this point. Hoping the blogmaster does not have to close this blog.

23. Isn’t it ironic that the name of the yacht is ” Ecstasy”

24. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Waiting to see who it gets pinned on..this paper said a massive investigation launched….it’s only massive if it croosses borders and agencies.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/07/24/major-seizure/

” $3 million worth of illegal drugs found aboard the yacht Ecstasy, which is owned by Goddard Enterprises Limited.

Official sources this afternoon told Barbados TODAY the yacht returned to Barbados from Grenada over the weekend with its captain Chris Rogers, a non-executive director with Goddard’s Enterprises, and chairman of that company and head of the Barbados Private Sector Association, Charles Herbert, among those aboard the luxury vessel.

Acting on a tip-off, the yacht was searched by customs officials yesterday and the contraband subsequently discovered.
    It is understood that both Herbert and Rogers have spent the last 24 hours between District A and Oistins police stations assisting members of the Drug Squad with their probe. Herbert slept at District ‘A’ Police Station last night.”

25. I wonder if anyone would have motive to FRAME these, or one of these guys. Oh yes, I can think of a few people. Shows how vindictive some people are.

26. It would be of interest if this govt would use its PR campagain machine to denounce this criminal activity associated to these prominent business owners .
    It would at least send a message that barbados national interest supersedes all other interest those involved would be charged as by law and the days of doing business as usual are long gone
    Mia the eyes of the Carribbean are watching you
    You were handed a mandate for change by the people of barbados on may 24th use it wisely
    The perception being your hands are tied to scruillous characters
    Here is an opportunity to untie and prove all wrong
    We will watch and see… right now the tea leaves are reading”doubtful”

27. The more you post the more you expose your ignorance. How can the government speak to this matter if it is before the court?

28. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lol…we wait and watch.

Customs does deserve praise for ACTING on the information received, now maybe they will start checking/searching ALL yachts, including ports charles and ferdinand…on the regular and…as a rule.

29. Well Well, gosh you are naïve.

30. Caswell has commented on the several ports and how they are manned by customs on other blogs . We have to factor that Barbados like many of the islands in the Caribbean has a porous coastline.

31. Some have been critical of known Dons in the Barbados space invited to the opening of parliament…

32. Piece,

The DEA and ATF have agents based in Barbados. They would have likely tracked the yacht by satellite before informing the Bajans who had no alternative but to act, given the source. This operational fact has nothing to do with guilt or innocence.

33. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Maybe if the exgovernment had done what their exyardfowl is now advising Mia to do….there would have been no 30-0….why did exyardfowl not give her political masters that advice when they had the power to break up that cartel…

Like myself am sure thousands of others heard Dumbville’s voice note yesterday…we know his voice and I see no reason why ND would fake his voice saying with CONVICTION…”lock them to fcuk up” as it relates to Herbert et al…

…so the question is…why did Dumbville et al not “lock thrm to fcuk up” when they had 10 years of power and opportunity to do so….I mean it will play well with the electorate if the police and DPP finally do their jobs…the government can take the credit…wont that be nice ..lol

34. David the more you attack me the more of your ugliness comes through and it does you no good
    I rather be ignorant than be seen as a bona fide hypocrite whose agenda are alligned with practices that are the destruction of barbados hence your forward movement to protect.
    Earlier today i mention the name Charles Herbert and reference the fact that he had sent threatening letter to PM Stuart which was revealed by Stuart and you took the post down
    Now after such intervention by U which can be been see as demostration to “coverup” dastardly corrupt acts
    Then you got the nerve to call me ignorant
    Physician heal thyself

Where there is smoke there will be fire
    Now David “fire off “and call me ignorant jac.a.ss

35. Isnt this the same govt who recently stated thst Droans would be given a pass for bajans to access
    Now people putting it all together one would understand where all this madness is coming from and whose interest is being met by this govt.

36. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lol…too much excitement for my heart, gotta take it easy today..lol, lol

37. You David and blp yardfowls for ten years had no fear in associating David Thompson to theft of Clico money
    Now that Mottley is alleged to associates herself with known drug lords and it is talked about and mentioned on BU you have the nerve to call me ignorant
    Wuh duh even the man Herbert is known to be a loyalist of the blp which now will put further into focus the source of blp campagain funding and the gift that keeps on giving

38. 6 million a month ×12 = 72 million a month x 40 years =$2,880,000,000.00

Mia’s quicksand has reached her knees…they traffic guns and drugs and still rob the treasury and pension fund.

MoneyB…how come you are not here doing the math…we know how you love $$$$$…

Hmmm,. Sumting happened on the way to heaven and this is where we are at now? it is what it is.

39. David maybe u need a refreshing course in Integrity before you start with your asinie attacks on any one
    Also noteworthy is where the boat was coming fron
    This guy Ralp Gonsalves have been critical of past govt for not opening up its borders and allowing all and sundry to move at free will
    Bingo! Now we all know why

40. David, who are the “known Dons in the Barbados space invited to the opening of parliament…” ? Who invited them?

41. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Mr Hal Austin.

Hal

You said and I quote “…The DEA and ATF have agents based in Barbados. They would have likely tracked the yacht by satellite before informing the Bajans who had no alternative but to act, given the source.

This operational fact has nothing to do with guilt or innocence…”

I am going to share some things with you which you and others DO NOT KNOW or may SELECTIVELY not notice.

Barbados has been on the grid for DEA investigations for over 40 years.

Back in the 70’s. From then till now there are a slew of programs and joint exercises ghat they share SKME INFORMATION AND HIDE OTHERS.

This sting was NOT externally orchestrated but I will say no more on that part lest…

This is an internal internecine confabulation that does not have any DEA DNA.

I will tell you this though. They are looking at this closely because all these millions CANNOT BE SWEPT AWAY UNDER THE CURTAIN WITH THE USUAL IMPUNITY AND IMMUNITY.

Someone has to go down for this one way or the other whether Dale Teets Marshall & Edmund Hinkson have to oversee the accustomed scenario where the millions of dollars DISAPPEAR from the lockups AND THE CASE IS SUBSEQUENTLY DISMISSED or the cartel sends in their Equalizer and he exacted payment for inventory lists because of infighting

DEA signatures are different

Mottley gots to make this one count or all de IMF money catsptaddle

WUNNA now understand all of the news media blackout cause dem Doan know what to say or do.

Well done wunna zealous Customs Team albeit that wunna boss and Numpty Dumpth must be shitting bricks.

42. I don’t know what to think. $3,000,000.00 is a lot of money. Maybe not for those in the drug trade, but for us plebs its sure more than what “lotto” paying the holder of a winner’s ticket.

My “spidey sense” tells me that some one was willing to lose/invest $3M in order to put some white Barbadians into the national spotlight for this nefarious behaviour. This whole affair will do damage to the Goddard group of companies and the personal reputations of the individuals involved.

I am looking past the individuals and their behaviour. I am focussing on the corporate activity that will engulf the Goddards Group. This maybe more into this than $3M busted in drug trafficking . This maybe a prelude to a some corporate gymnastics?

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Crusoe July 25, 2018 6:25 AM

We can clearly see you have a helicopter view of this ‘planted’ matter.

The ‘big-up’ parties involved were too easily and carelessly exposed for such a risky undertaking. There is more to it than meets the naïve eyes.
    As the old wise people would say: ‘There must be more in the drug mortar than just the ‘access-to-forex’ pestle’.

The political phantom hands of Kingpin Sinclair must be hovering somewhere.

Right, Man Friday?

44. Yes SirFuzzy in some jurisdictions the traditional media could be relied on to unravel this matter. In Barbados we are not so lucky.

By the way, what ever happened to the Esuf matter charged with a container of drugs? He can be spotted about Barbados with his playboy self.

45. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Mariposa

You are overeaching with the drones thingy.

They only hzve a 1/2 hour life at max capacity though the mods can get more time.

This was a local issue however you have all reason to smile because this is going to make Mottley stand up and be counted as it relates to the way she handles this.

All of them are going batshit crazy.

The dealers ent got product.

The drug importers get catch in a TOT FOR TAT GAME.

Local white fellers in gaol WHICH IS A NO NO.

PEOPLE CALLING HER FOR FAVOURS.

SHE IS UNDER SCRUTINY BY THE IFI COMMUNITY.

And her government is being monitored by the DEA.

50 days into her administration

Whuloss man she in dog bad word!!!

46. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with a recent item to Hal Austin thank you

47. We do not have a ‘good’ media because of cowardice. What is the total annual advertising spend by Goddard’s Enterprises with the Nation, or the Advocate, or Barbados Today?
    Why is the attorney general still silent on this matter? He can speak without interfering with the investigation; why is he not? Has the drug squad searched the homes and offices of the suspects? Have they seized their mobile phones, computers and fax machines? What about their close associates? What about their bank accounts and other investments? Lifestyles, spending habits, etc? Their travel documents? Associates in Grenada, St Vincent and other small islands?
    Speak to the Yanks. They will tell you what is going on. Years ago I was shifting on the Sunday Times and working on the arrest of a leading Brit entertainer in Japan. Scotland Yard would not say anything; I rang the FBI and they gave me the story. Worth a try.

48. A legal defense team will be working hard to prove that their clients had no knowledge of this drug smuggling “episode”.

Can’t wait to hear the ” spin or truth ” which could include ” we were set up “.

49. Can someone tell me if Charles Herbert is the actuary who was involved in the Barbados Mutual?

50. Understand the boat, yacht …. actually former inter island schooner … was undergoing repairs and the captain and crew flew down to collect it.

Here are some photos of the schooner.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/41449910@N00/sets/72057594072789902/