Chris Rogers (l) Walter Prescod (c) Charles Herbert (r)

The news that approximately 3 million dollars worth of illegal drugs was discovered on a boat owned by Goddards Enterprises – a successful and respected international company domiciled in Barbados – continues to be the talk of the town. A few high profile names are reported to be assisting the police force read Charles Herbert the Chairman of Goddards Enterprises and Chris Rogers a non executive member who were reported to be on the boat when the interdiction was made by Barbados Customs Officers.

Information coming from the police about the progress of investigation has been slow as one would expect when prominent individuals are involved. Then add high profile lawyer Andrew Pilgrim to the mix. The blogmaster joins many expressing an interest in who will be charged and incarcerated for the crime. The tangential story is that there is an intense lobby with the charge in government to legalize marijuana for medicinal purposes.

The blogmaster ask commenters to be smart when posting comments. On behalf of the BU household we appeal to all those out there to continue to tip off the authorities so that we can arrest the scourge of drugs, guns and other illegal activity pouring into our little island. Feel free to email BU also with tips by completing the Contact List that will be forwarded confidentially to the blogmaster.

Thank you for your response. ✨

BU’s Featured image is Charles Herbert, Chairman of Goddards (l) and Chris Rogers, non executive board member (r).

778 responses to “Goddard’s Yacht Ecstasy Busted!”

1. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“The drug importers get catch in a TOT FOR TAT GAME.”

Gsng war..lol

2. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Yeah…great excuse now come with a better one…liesalot.

Has anyone figured out yet that other law enforcement could have been monitoring these inter island activities…and have surveillance.

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Mariposa July 25, 2018 7:10 AM
    “David the more you attack me the more of your ugliness comes through and it does you no good
    I rather be ignorant than be seen as a bona fide hypocrite whose agenda are alligned with practices that are the destruction of barbados hence your forward movement to protect.”

So the Blogmaster is now a “bona fide hypocrite”?

Oh Dear, Ms Many Pokeys, what an Oxymoron of pure originality!

Did you make it up while looking into the mirror this morning to ‘refresh’ your ugly face?

A clear ‘black and white’ case of the dirty pot calling the ‘hot’ kettle ugly.

What a ‘pious fraud’ you have become, as of late!

4. @Hants

The spin has already started, by the end of this saga “Shizaru” of “Do no evil” will be added to the image of the “Three wise monkeys”.

5. @David BU, the case you reference, charges were finally drooped. As stated in the media, the police were unable to tie the container of drugs to the individual.

6. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

They can try to spin as much as they want, if outside agencies alerted the customs, they had to choice but to detain and search, if the same agencies alerted the police…they have no choice but to arrest and charge…they cannot tell these agencies..”but dey white, we don’t arrest white people” that will never go down well with internatioanl policing agencies..

Is it true they have been charged??

7. Mia has been busy closing all the dlp holes in govt that she suspect would undermine her policies
    Wuh loss God dont like ugly
    The hands of God watching over this nation (truth be told) making it impossible for this govt to plug these deceptive holes.
    Today reading Mia lecturing workers at GAIA on how to improve service in the meanwhile the high seas remain open for the high and might to commit criminal activity and not a nay Word

8. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

Bizzy Williams is another major player

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hal Austin July 25, 2018 8:30 AM
    “Can someone tell me if Charles Herbert is the actuary who was involved in the Barbados Mutual?”

Yes he is! And???

At least he was never connected to the CLICO debacle like many walking around Bim and living large instead of singing like a canary from HM Sing-Sing.

10. You are all very slow wits! How stupid do you believe that Charles H is???? There is absolutely NO WAY that he would knowingly get on a boat with drugs, NONE! I very much doubt that he would employ this as a business stratagem regardless of circumstances and if he found out that managers or others were playing such games he would solve the problem by purposely exposing them or if required removing himself from the organisation. This gent is a Bdos Scholar and comes from a family that has always had money but who never rested on their laurels but WORKED hard unlike many Bajans who have an allergy to work but not other 4 letter words.
    Naturally, he and all others must be fully and professionally investigated which is to be expected as normal procedure, but wunna dont get your hopes up that you finally landed a Big fish or whale!
    Hint to the wise, this is either a set up / framing or the drug guys paid for the drugs to be placed on board OR they have a courier (S) in the crew.
    Regret having to BURST your BUBBLE!

11. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Burst bubble my asd….MoneyB I understand they have been or are being charged this morning….spin that one…lol

12. Haven’t read or heard of any charges as yet, but what is quite obvious is the pussy footing by the police and media; had these people been a few nappy head fishermen, Vincy or GT men…I wonder if the cops here employed the pesticide and plastic bag lie detector test on these white men.

13. @John July 25, 2018 8:32 AM
    The Ecstasy is not a schooner, but a ketch (the aft mast is shorter that the fore mast, in a schooner the aft mast is the taller one). She is 66′ in length and was built in Barbados as a yacht; ie. she was always a pleasure craft, never in commercial service. She was the last large traditional wooden sailboat ever built in Barbados.
    You can usually find the vessel moored in the outer basin of the Careenage on the Wharf Rd. side. Goddards Enterprises Ltd owns the vessel and uses her for corporate entertainment: they usually take her out on Thursday afternoons at 3 pm for a 3hr sail up the west coast and back to town. There are generally about 30+ people aboard, many or most of them tourists.

14. I prefer not to cast aspersions on who or why regarding this latest episode of drugs finding its way on this island. What I have concerns are the way poor people are charged and imprisoned for million dollar drug deals knowing that they can’t even muster a Grantley to buy food. The turf is getting greedier and wheeling and dealing will be to betray for a few dollars. I now ask, how come massive containers consigned to someone with millions of contraband goods and yet no one is arrested. How come all these guns and drugs coming into the island and not a money person ain’t get arrested. Cameras cannot see the wrongs that going on at our Ports of Entry. It is the honest people given the approval to check and inform regardless of colour, sex, wealth or political affiliations. Let the courts get down to business and remove the guilty from poisoning our youths.

15. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

I would not pay attention to anything liesalot or MoneyB says….we await information from the police…to see if an arrest (s) and charges really materialize.

16. @MoneyBrain July 25, 2018 9:03 AM
    It is rare that I am in agreement with you, but you are correct in respect to Charles Herbert. He has no incentive to smuggle drugs. He is already rich as Croesus from selling the actuarial firm that he founded, the Barbados arm of the multinational Eckler. He also runs a profitable farm that sells tens of thousands of heads of lettuce each week in addition to being Chairman of GEL.

17. We have White people involved here that is like waving a red flag in front a bull for some her

18. This time different than with that incident with young Bjerkham.

Tyronne ‘typee’ Griffith at the helm this time and not ‘I will bug your phone’ Dottin who was Mia hand picked commissioner and blue eye boy.Just give me the word MAM and I am at your service.

No matter how many calls are placed to Mia, once no road blocks are placed in the Commissioner of Police Griffith’s way –
    I expect to see things progressing.I would suggest that they leak to reliable media organisations if road blocks are being put in place.

It cannot continue to be business as usual.

Finally I wonder if it was Freundel Stuart found on that pleasure yacht instead of Charles Herbert – I wonder if we would have heard what a decent man Stuart is – and how he was never in any trouble – and how hard he worked for the lil house he got etc

But the spin start for Herbert .

Nah boy – not Charles – Man he is an island scholar – you don’t know.Ha ha ha ha

19. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

We also cannot ignore the fact that REAL multi billionaires of all stripes have been known to traffic guns, drugs and ecstasy. ..lol

20. Hint to the wise, this is either a set up / framing or the drug guys paid for the drugs to be placed on board OR they have a courier (S) in the crew.

I am there too!!

I am leaning more towards a political motive.

My guess is the Ecstasy dates from the days when the Goddards owned hotels and were a major player in the Tourist sector of Barbados.

Like all vessels of that vintage, all wood construction, it needs constant maintenance.

Those skills are no longer in Barbados.

Everybody nowadays works in fibre glass.

A wooden sailing ship these days would be an antique requiring specialized maintenance skills.

Time will tell what’s what.

I was in the same form as Charles Herbert from Lower First at HC right through to sixth form.

No way he is knowingly involved in anything nefarious … absolutely none!!

21. Mia isvwell known to be gallivanting wuth these big wigs abd any excuses coming out of those quarters would be pointed in her and the blp direction
    Birds of feathers flock together
    Lock them up
    Barbados integrity and character should not be placed on the drug market because in favour of political interest
    We await Mia response in the
    name of national interest in similar vein as what she posed when s.hht was flowing on the streets
    Also remembering that the s.h. t and stench that leads to guts and gore on barbados streeet from drug activity would in the long run lead to the further decay of barbados social demise

22. RICH WHITE BAJANS DO NOT COMMIT CRIMES. RICH WHITE BAJANS DO NOT SMOKE WEED OR SNORT COKE,

RICH WHITE BAJANS ARE PERFECT HUMAN BEINGS AS CLEAN AS THE DRIVEN SNOW.

23. David
    July 25, 2018 9:25 AM

We have White people involved here that is like waving a red flag in front a bull for some her

My guess is Charles Herbert is of mixed ancestry … as we all are in Barbados!!

Even the Goddard family itself has in its fair share of colour!!

My guess is this is all politics!!

24. horace rollins Avatar
    horace rollins

we are being rather premature here. lets wait to see how the investigation pans out.

25. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Ok…so we will give liesalot that….it is clear Herbert is not as white as he has been projecting, just look at his face..and I dont know enough about the Goddards to say they are infused with a healthy dose of Black….but if that is the case…is it not the trend in Barbados to lock up their Black asses and charge them fir any and everything….if the police and office of the DPP has enough evidence to do so…ah mean, why change that practice now…ehhh???..lol

26. @John July 25, 2018 9:29 AM
    Jesus! Hell has truly frozen over today. I am agreeing with not only Money Brain but John. John!
    Some people might find it useful to note that Charles Herbert is one of the prime movers behind the Integrity Group of Barbados (IGB). IGB has been prominent is criticizing the refusal of the DLP to proclaim the anti corruption legislation that they passed in 2012 as well as critiquing the currently proposed BLP Integrity legislation and calling for Freedom of Information legislation. If Herbert is forced out of IGB it will definitely weaken the organization.

27. @John said “Like all vessels of that vintage, all wood construction, it needs constant maintenance.”
    You are right. It is not that the skills to do the maintenance are all that difficult to come by, but that Barbados lacks the infrastructure & equipment to lift a 66′ vessel out of the water to attend to her bottom. This is why they have to take the vessel down to the Grenadines at least once per year.

28. What we see playing out with this matter is the high distrust by John Public and the Justice system where the man at the bottom always do the time, never the ones who finance the criminal activity. Unfortunately for Herbert et al he finds himself in a bad spot IF he is innocent. Based on all interactions with the man and his family there is nothing to suggest he would harm his reputation over 3 million dollars.

29. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

It’s also useful to know that a cartel of nonblacks took over the drug trade on the island from the late 70s…..from certain people….many are saying that is how all these nonblacks cockroaches in the shadows who believe themselves to be the one and only government and owners of Barbados… made their money…from the late 70s…until today.

30. All past govt prevetion efforts to close doors that would be easy for illegal activity to enter our ports was baulked at cry down by the blp yardfowls and endorse by govt
    Now we know why
    Hence no technological eyeballs at port . they said was too intrusive
    Hence no finger printing. Too intrusive
    Now we know why
    The writing on the wall is as clear as daylight
    Lock them up
    All the excuses in the world would not erase what took place on the high seas and who were involved

31. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Peter Lawrence
    @ money Brain
    @ John the Quaker

Sometimes I wonder what variant of crack some of wunna does be smoking

As long as de body white all uh wunna does come and say dat dem ent shoot dem son rather dem son ent get kill during a domestic dispute while being shot at.

Now one uh wunna saying dat ammm de feller is filthy rich so he ent need no money.

Ammmmm leh de ole man help wunna here …”…Despite his humble origins, Pablo Escobar became the leader of the Medellín cartel, which was responsible for 80% of the global cocaine market.

“El Patron” brought in an estimated $420 million a week in revenue, making him one of the wealthiest drug lords ever.

While verifying Escobar’s wealth is impossible because of the nature of drug money, estimates run as high as $30 billion…”

He Escobar was rich and not in any need of money wasn’t He?

But den again de secret compartment in de vessel which was ammmmm inserted during repairs was dat where de drugsvwas found or in de pocket of de crew member who is s “drug Lord?

Steupseee

But carry on smartly

32. Very fishy business indeed !

33. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with a recent submission to Peter Lawrence Thompson, Money brain and John the Quaker

34. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

“What the blogmaster hopes this case does is to provoke a wider discussion as to why local authorities have not been able to apprehend those in the shadows through the years who are responsible for importing the guns and drugs into the island”…

And why David Mr Blogmaster do you perceive this case in particular would offer dat?

Frankly, what it should tease out are the types threads weaved by @SirFuz and@Pieces vis what is the corporate fall out for the Goddards chairman and other executive and what exactly does this tipoff and then actual execution of official action portend for the push back or ‘warning’ to the current govt.?

I am unable to see what Bajans will discuss (beyond innuendo) that has not already made the rounds for years…come on now…as has been said here times over: Mark Stokes is still missing n presumed long dead and all linked to drug smuggling and other illicit activities of those in VERY high places; the Pele case still remains unsolved to this day…again drug smuggling and illicit sctivities of those in VERY high places…. yes this will resonate widely due to social media but in real, practical terms…what really to say other than regular ole talk particularly when no one will likely be convicted of anything!!!

@MB & @PLT…all well said. A court success against the chairman seems a long shot UNLESS and ONLY if new evidence is offered directly linking his presence and the knowing loading of said drugs.

In sum, the ability of the lawyers to refute beyond reasonable doubt that Mr Chairman had absolutely no knowledge of the presence of the drugs seems a quite plausible evidentiary row to how!

That said gentlemen, hubris is an ‘itch’ sometimes …there is this thing called a double bluff!….thus “why would he knowingly place himself there” becomes a powerful defense and in the hands of an arrogant , sociopathic person an equally powerful tool to be on site for a first hand look! (Too much Lee Childs, Baldacci and Patterson in my life obviously 🤣).

Anyhow, the games have began so may the best at gamesmanship win this tournament!

35. NorthernObserver Avatar

@john
    I was told similarly. Since the dry dock in Barbados closed, this boat has its periodic maintainence performed in the “islands”. The crew flew down to return the boat after maintainence work was done. I am also told this boat rarely ventures beyond Barbados waters. I know in the 70’s this vessel used to take hotel guests on trips down the West coast. And Rogers late father was one of the Captains.
    Those aboard have to answer for the cargo.
    It would be an ideal mule for drugs, because it is moored in Carlisle Bay, and isn’t very secure. What I knew in the 70’s wasn’t any luxury vessel, but a bare bones boat. Once moored, anybody could retrieve the cargo, whether it belonged to those on board at the time of seizure or not.

36. Listen to all the whites and ‘near whites’ on this site putting up a defence for this man.

Doesn’t it remind you of the mother of the ‘shotta’ who always says ‘- my son is a good boy,he never in nuffin so – you could ask anybody’

Steupes.

37. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

At least one photo which has been leaked and is circulating on social media shows at least 29 separate packages containing the drugs (it seems to be a Police photo taken for evidential purposes). http://wunnuh.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/07/Ecstasy.jpg.jpg

38. For John and. and PL and MB
    their excuses is the equivalent as looking for a port for any storm
    These owners messed up big time and should be called into account

39. I am certainly not suggesting that white and light skin people are not involved in illegal activities, indeed I am quite sure that some are. In a country where only 5% are white or close to white, it is obvious that only a few criminals are going to be white.
    If someone can tell me that Charles has had a tragic brain injury, gone over to the dark side with drugs etc then maybe I could be convinced but I would require loads of evidence. Let me state clearly had John or Peter L Thomson been placed in this exact situation I would state exactly what I have on behalf of Charles H. In this particular situation has nothing to do with race in reality. PLT will say we seldom agree but I would say that he is of the very highest principles, ethics etc until I have tons of proof to the contrary. We are just old HC bros that like to argue but PLT is more serious and erudite.

40. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

The packages of weed are securely wrapped in waterproof plastic and tape. Anyone with an IQ bigger than their hat size would have put them overboard with a buoy and a tracking beacon so that they could fetch them later. Every yacht heading to port from overseas has to clear customs… if the owners of the drugs were aboard the vessel surely they would have protected their investment with the simplest of precautionary measures.

41. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ T. Inniss

Once again, in spite of the fact dat you is in DEM camp, what you are saying is spot on.

Had there been a BLP appointed Commissioner of police this matter would have been dismissed notwithstanding the picture of the evidence that Peter Lawrence Thompson has supplied.

Now leh we get serious though.

THAT look like the quantity of drugs a crewmember could put in he pocket?

THAT was secreted in that vessel in a place that was not in plain sight.

One wonders if Peter Lawrence Thompson could get similar pictures of the crew and the guests on this vessel that is not a schooler but a sketch or whatever name he is calling it.

42. Mariposa, did I not state that it has to be fully and professionally investigated? Should excellent evidence be found DNA, fingerprints on the packages, odd financial transactions etc then lock up the guilty!
    For the record I know why Pele’s murder was not solved, Stokes body was found on Furgusson’s schooner in the deep freeze (my uncle was a part owner of that vessel)—very well politically connected guilty people, who were not white, BUT that should not be relevant. The guilty should be in prison regardless.

43. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Why does this HAVE to be a colour issue? As one blogger asked if it was our former PM who had been invited to wash away some of his worries by ‘flying down de islands and come back pon de yacht we just repaired’ would the situation be any different… a legal argument of the layman’s logic: wrong place, wrong time!

The scenario is a major embarrassment and could imperil the future business or social ambitions of those involved but on its face how can the bold face names simply be guilty of drug smuggling just because they are prominent businessmen.

As said…let the investigators bring the evidence and then indict who are in the cross-hairs…being White or rich sure don’t make you innocent or otherwise!

But then again, exactly how many Bajan whites in Dodd’s again 😁.

BTW David Mr Blogmaster, I believe you also linked a mention of legalization of cannabis to this bust…so was that a case that the conglomorate that is Goddards were getting ahead of that legislation? So then they were trying to avoid paying the legal taxes on the importation of this large shipment maybe! 🤣

All this really would be truly hilarious if not so serious a fundamenta scrouge on Bajan life.

I gone, gone.

44. May I remind those looking for an out..that 3 million dollars in marijuana will fill a large room…lol

3 million is not 2 packages that can be secreted away in a hole…ya cannot miss the loading and off loading 3 million dollars worth of marijuana..no one can.

45. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

“Stokes body was found on Furgusson’s schooner in the deep freeze “….OH.

Thnx for sharing. I did not come across that factoid previously. Always thought his remains were just dumped at sea and never found.

I will not at this point ask you any more questions cause I really don’t recall any police matter being ventilated publicly re the discovery of a body on the ice fishing boat of a Barrow acolyte and former Min of Govt.

Maybe his body was caught up with the fishes hauled up in those big nets…what a thing, nuh

Now, I gone, gone, gone. Lata!

46. “Stokes body was found on Furgusson’s schooner in the deep freeze (my uncle was a part owner of that vessel)—very well politically connected guilty people, who were not white”

So MoneyB..why are you only now telling us this now that something has happened?

Don’t know how anyone can leave boats unsecured in this time in the Careenage when everyone knows Gunner’s boar got stolen in Consett Bay and he never got it back…steuppss..

besides, the boat came from St. Vincent..loaded for bear and nough money to be made off the weed….the boat did not leave Carlisle Bay or Careenage..

47. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Mariposa July 25, 2018 10:18 AM
    I am not making excuses for Charles Herbert or anyone else. I am saying that this does not pass the smell test… there is very clearly more in the mortar than the pestle. I am interested in ferreting out the truth, not making excuses. Many will tell me to let the wheels of the law enforcement system turn, but I have no faith in the law enforcement system because I believe it is racist (against Black People), corrupt, and frequently incompetent.

So let us form hypotheses about what happened here:
    1. Herbert and or Rogers came down with a terminal case of greed and stupidity. Herbert is a multi millionaire who has no need of the paltry couple of million which would be the most optimistic outcome of this venture. I don’t know Rogers’ financial status. So for Herbert the upside is to add an inconsequential amount to his fortune, the downside is personal, professional, and social ruin. He is an actuary… his livelihood is figuring out the odds on things and he is very good at this, but under the effects of this infection of stupid his calculating powers were completely disabled.
    2. The third crew member who has not been named (to my knowledge) cooked up a drug smuggling scheme thinking erroneously that because bigup people owned the vessel it would not be searched. This theory is not credible either because such naivete is extreme.
    3. The drugs were put aboard the vessel by persons unknown with the intention of simply boarding the vessel in the Careenage to retrieve the packages. The smuggler would have known that there was a high probability that the shipment would be intercepted but they just did not care. Boarding the vessel at night when it is docked to retrieve the packages would be trivially easy.
    4. The drugs were put aboard the vessel by persons unknown with the intention that they be found by law enforcement and all persons aboard would fall under a deep shadow of suspicion. They did not leave discovery to chance but tipped off law enforcement to ensure apprehension.

Are there other scenarios that seem likely?

48. when everyone knows Gunner’s BOAT got stolen in Consett Bay and he never got it back…steuppss..

That is no hearsay…Gunner was god father to one of my children.

49. There are lots of other scenarios to be exhausted…what I see are smooth surfaces on the packages which should reveal real good fingerprints, but drug lords do not touch their shipment when it’s enroute, their help do though…unless they have a moment of giddiness, arrogance and madness..lol.

50. Mere speculation on my part, the same as by many on this blog but does anyone on here really think that Messrs Herbert and Rogers would knowingly expose themselves to the risk of being present with the movement of $3M in drugs? Even the jackasses recently sent packing would not be so daft. If $3M in drugs are being moved from one place to another, you pay someone to take that risk and you have a subordinate or paid operative expose themselves to the risk of being caught. I am aware that the introduction of the color card makes the whole episode more salacious BUT, let us not allow the frothing at our mouths interfere with our logical progression of thought.

Conspiracy theory: Maybe the tip came from a disgruntled person who engineered the shipment in order to distract the public, police, and AG from pursuing nefarious activities engaged in by a previous admi…and to get payback for big business having changed allegiance.