I am scheduled to be deployed to Haiti shortly to assist them in their recovery efforts.  However, the recent social unrest, which resulted in deaths, property damage and flights into Haiti being suspended, may put those plans in jeopardy.  With the Government awaiting the IMF’s directives, Haiti’s experience is relevant to Barbados at this time.

The IMF directed the Haitian government to implement severe austerity, which included an almost doubling of fuel prices.  When the fuel increases were announced, the people rioted.  It should be remembered that the IMF also directed the Guyana’s government to double the income taxes on the Guyanese.

Having had over 10 deployments to Haiti following the earthquake in 2010, including during their elections, I do not think that the increase in fuel prices is the root cause of this crisis.  They know that sacrifices have to be made to improve their economy, and they have made them in the past.  However, after suffering for so long, the Haitian people hate being tricked.

Their political candidates promised to address mismanagement and corruption if they were elected.  The people expected improvements in government efficiency, and arrests of those accused of corruption, before being targeted for austerity.  However, to have austerity forced on them, without the promised efficiency and arrests, appeared to be too much for the people to bear from a Government that promised to be different.

As we canvassed during the recent elections, people wanted to know what Solutions Barbados would do about the gross corruption in which both established political parties have repeatedly accused the other of engaging.  We promised the most effective policy to address corruption.  Both payers and receivers of bribes would have to pay a fine of 10 times the value of the bribe, and whistle-blowers would be rewarded with the full value of the bribe.

Surprisingly, most people were not satisfied with this response.  They wanted the guilty politicians imprisoned.  However, our policy was not to imprison non-violent offenders, but to fine them.  So while we understood what the people wanted, and could have positioned ourselves to benefit from the 26% swing away from the DLP, we were unwilling to damage our reputations by promising what we were unwilling to deliver.

We promised Barbadians prosperity without austerity because it was possible – and it still is.  We promised to improve efficiency and reduce wastage in the public sector, by implementing the customer-focused international quality management standard, ISO 9001, because we could.  We promised to effectively address corruption in the most effective manner possible because we could.  However, the people wanted ‘blood’, and those skilled in political public relations gave them exactly what they were accustomed to receiving from politicians – empty promises.

It is very easy to simply ask people what they want, and then promise them what they have asked for with no intention of ever fulfilling those promises.  Any Solutions Barbados candidate who engaged in that sort of behaviour would likely be voted out of the party at our next meeting.

The public were led to believe that savings from the proper management of the public service would fund their expensive manifesto promises, and not increased taxes.  The public were also led to believe that the arrest and imprisonment of corrupt politicians would immediate follow the general election.  If the BLP and DLP are indeed the same political party, governed by the same prime directive to protect each other from scrutiny, then no arrests should be expected.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and the founder of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

97 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – Empty Promises”

1. The Haitians are a beleaguered people. They have suffered so much. We should remember the IMF wrote off 268 million in 2010.

This is a country that represents an iconic symbol in the history of the region. PM Mia Mottley opening our borders to them and signing on to the Protocol for Contingent Rights is politically and morally the right thing to do. If as human beings we see no value in assisting our fellow man, we may as well pack it in. Clearly inflows of Haitians will be monitored and adjustments taken as necessary but a couple hundred Haitians entering Barbados will not cause the country to grind to a halt.

2. Unrest over fuel prices sparks political crisis in Haiti

© Hector Retamal, AFP | Burned-out cars are seen near a market in Delmas, a commune of Port-au-Prince, on July 8.

Latest update : 2018-07-09
    Deadly protests forced Haiti’s government to halt plans to raise fuel prices over the weekend. But despite the reversal, protesters have called for a two-day general strike starting Monday and are demanding the resignation of President Jovenel Moise.

The government’s plans ignited a powder keg of long-simmering resentments. Within hours of its July 6 announcement that gasoline prices would rise by 38 percent, diesel by 47 percent and kerosene by 51 percent starting almost immediately, mass protests had erupted that eventually left at least four dead, including the bodyguard of an opposition politician.

Burning tyres blocked major roads into the capital Port au Prince while groups of armed men took control of several intersections, trying to extort money from drivers and pedestrians. Rioters targeted shops and hotels in some of the capital’s wealthier districts and airlines briefly cancelled all flights to the main island, where burned-out cars littered the streets.

http://www.france24.com/en/20180709-haiti-protests-deadly-unrest-fuel-prices-subsidies-political-crisis-moise-lafontant

3. William Skinner Avatar

@ Grenville

” If the BLP and DLP are indeed the same political party, governed by the same prime directive to protect each other from scrutiny, then no arrests should be expected.”

They are my brother…..they are the same party . No ifs buts or maybe……..

4. Had a listen to Attorney General introducing the IL in parliament yesterday, have to admit he sounded the part breathing fire and disgust at supposedly corrupt activities by members of the former government. Forgive the cynicism of the blogmaster when we say let us wait to see if he delivers. O what a wonderful day that will/would be.

5. If Marshall takes the same empty headed approach as Adriel Nitwit, pretending he has no powers to uphold the law and start an investigation and imprison those exministers and their co-conspirators who stole billions from treasury and pension fund…he is guaranteeing Mia a one term government.

Grenville…..it would have been better to lock up corrupt ministers and their friends, from you entered the word CAN”T..the electorate knew you were not serious…and as long as you continue with the word CAN’T..ya will not get near that parliament …the laws are there to. lock up corrupt politicians as well.

…..if the political thieves and their friends stole 2 billion dollars of the people’s money and you fine them 2 billion X10…exactly when were you hoping to collect that amount and pay it out from your Brents College to the whistleblowers…ya really CAN’T be serious.

Mia CAN’T very well promise on a political platform to go after those she said she knew were corrupt and practiced malfeasance in office, tell the electorate to “watch much nuh” and once elected don’t think that the electorate isn’t watching her for tricks, lies and broken promises…

Just like the Haitian people, everyone else has had enough of lying, dishonest politicians who seek to trick the people and protect each other from prison…while continuing the robberies and theft of public funds and ripping off the elderly and their beneficiaries their land.

The Haitian government rolled back the fuel hike…they realized they are playing with fire..this is a new generation of Haitians in a new area, so they can continue to disenfranchise and gaslight, they are the ones have to deal with and put out all those fires…it is time these governments realize that the people will not take anymore of their viciousness and lies.

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Mr Phillips

You have been asked by a few here to supply the name of the accountant who endorsed your panacea for Barbados ailments AND YOU HAVE NOT

I AM GOING TO ASK YOU TO DO ONE SINGLE THING FOR ME.

PROVIDE A SINGLE FREESTANDING SOLUTION FOR ANY SINGLE PROBLEM IN BARBADOS.

GIVE THE BLUEPRINT AND START IT MR PHILLIPS

IF WHAT YOU ARE PURPORTJNG IS TRUE your concept will work

If not you are the same as the BDLP and are blowing cold air up our pooches

“By their works… “

7. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

This is the excuse from the “watch muh nuh” brigade. ..re the “error” in the fines..

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/07/10/it-was-a-mistake/

These are the drafters of the Integrity Legislation..I don’t know whether to laugh or cry,

“We did not wish to waste any further time in getting this legislation through the necessary steps in this House,” Abrahams said while pointing to an earlier assurance by Attorney General Dale Marshall that the error would be corrected.

Abrahams, who was part of the drafting team comprising Sir David Simmons, QC, as advisor; Leslie Haynes, QC; Dale Marshall, QC; Ralph Thorne, QC; Edmond Hinkson and Stuart Mottley, assured Opposition Leader Joseph Atherley, who had queried the change in fines, “there is no subterfuge [or] no deception [and that] the law will go back to what it was when it was drafted.

“The heavy fines will stay in. And those who run afoul of this legislation will be prosecuted as intended to the fullest extent of the law,” he said.

Further explaining the CPC’s thinking behind the changes made, Abrahams said, “legislation has to be harmonious. Fines must bear some sort of relation to other offences”.”

8. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Next question….when will AG Marshall, the Chief Justice and the Registrar along with the bar association and disciplinary committee do something about Leslie Haynes who has personal injury cases lingering unnecessarily in the Supreme Court for as long as 15 years for CGI Insurance, all without closure, effectively causing backlogs in the Civil Court, destroying lives, causing the injured to suffer physically and financially and abusing the elderly consistently…while disrupting the court process deliberately.

How many more times must this be exposed before something is done about those cases which helped to render the court process useless…and which should have been settled one way or the next and claimants timely compensated.

9. William Skinner Avatar

Some questions: Will this legislation have the power to deal with corruption, that happened before or are we to assume that only the last administration had corrupt persons ?
    Or to put it another way : If a person of the current administration was found to be involved in corrupt practices in a previous BLP administration, would they now be allowed to go unpunished because there was no integrity legislation before ?
    Are we to assume that all the Auditor General reports that have been “hinting” (new buzz word) at corruption for the last 30 years mean nothing under this new legislation ?
    Are we ever going to know publicly what are the assets of MPs and others that this legislation apparently covers ?
    Are we to really believe that the drafters of a piece of legislation comprising an advisor, who was a former Chief Justice did not know the difference between $500, 000 and $ 20, 000.?
    To the leader of the opposition: Are you prepared to give the names of the criminals who underwriting politicians and into controlling “turf”, to the relevant authorities so that they can be dealt with ?
    Are you willing to name the MPs who are known to be dealing with the criminal element ?
    Why are you refusing to share this information with the public ?

10. @William

A reasonable inquiry. You should note that a public servant who transgresses the financial rules of government does not necessarily translate to a criminal act.

11. PUDRYR

To be fair to Mr. Phillips II, he does not have to reveal the name of the accountant.

All he has to do is present the accountant’s analysis…..

…….which he continues in finding all types of excuses to prevent him from doing so.

Mr. Phillips II reminded us on SEVERAL occasions that Solutions Barbados’ economic policies were on their website and available to public scrutiny for three years. They were sent to the BES and ICAB for “rigorous scrutiny.

Yet, only ONE individual from ICAB has so far endorsed these proposals.

What about the BES and an analysis from at least one of their member economist?

12. This is a concern that will continue, it has become a credibility and reputational issue. It has to be addressed if Solutions Barbados is to separate from the pack.

13. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ William Skinner

It is obvious from your questions that you are not seeking any pick under the Mia Mottley Cares Administration.

For had you been doing such suck poochism it would not have been that you would have been asking these questions which tend to highlight the dishonesty of the persons whose name you referenced above.

This is not about deterrence this is about ENABLEMENT and rewards for the big teifs and keeping the small fry quiet.

And where is the Leader of the Opposition Mia’s man Reverend Joseph Atherley on This?

He bless his soul has his lips applied to the pooch of his master or in this case mistress.

I will await what Senator Caswell Franklyn has to say on this travesty

14. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

To use your words “… it has become a credibility and reputational issue…”

Yes it has but not ONLY FOR SOLUTIONS BARBADOS

But you may not be inclined to say the same thing about the Star Chamber of the Barbados Labour Party and their lack of credibility and diminution of reputational currency

15. Georgie Porgie Avatar

re where is the Leader of the Opposition Mia’s man Reverend Joseph Atherley on This?
    MAYBE HE IS PRAYING………CAUSE HE CANT DO NUTTIN ELSE ah lie?

16. Atherly called out the govt as tricksters ! manipulators !and engineers of deceptive practices
    He all but pointed his finger in their direction as recipients of bribes from illegal sources noting that the underground world of the drug world has been active participants in the last election
    Which made me wonder if he was associating the drug king maker who was given an invite to Parliament during the swearing in ceremony

17. Freedom Crier Avatar

Mr. Phillips on a Different Note… Please when Possible can you in your association with the Haitian Government present the following that could be a School project that would benefit the Country of Haiti in their Reforestation efforts…The Barren Land can once again be Covered in Trees especially in remote areas that are not easily accessed these Seed Bombs may be Dropped by Small Air Craft and Mother Nature will take care of the Rest.

Drop a Seed bomb to Fight Deforestation

Children like nature and they want to do their best to protect it. Now, children can have a cool weapon to fight desertification to save the environment: seed bombs.

Using native plant seed balls is a great way to reseed the landscape while teaching kids the importance of native plants and the environment. What is a Native Plant Seed Ball? A seed ball is a marble sized ball made of clay, earth and seeds which is used to replant areas where the natural flora has been destroyed. Also, referred to as seed bombs for guerrilla gardening, who first developed how to make seed balls is a bit of a mystery. Some say it originated in Japan while others claim Greece, but the important thing is that the native plant seed ball has now been used around the world to reseed land that has been abused by man or by Mother Nature herself.

Before the development of the native plant seed ball, reseeding some natural areas was difficult. The traditional method of broadcasting seed comes with several major drawbacks. The seed is sown on top of the soil where it may be baked dry by the sun, blown away by the wind, washed away by heavy rains, or nibbled away by birds or other small wildlife. Very little is left to germinate and grow.

Making seed balls addresses all of these problems. These clay balls protect the seed from the heat of the sun. They’re heavy enough to be unaffected by the wind or heavy rains and the hard clay casing deters animal nibblers as well. Before we talk about how to make seed balls, let’s see how they work. Why Seed Balls Work In dry areas, the shape of the ball actually gives enough shade to conserve moisture. The seeds begin to germinate and the ball breaks apart. The small pile of crumbles provides the start for the root system, but is still heavy enough to anchor the emerging seeds to the ground.

The small leaves of the new plants provide enough shade for the soil to conserve more moisture. The plants then mature and produce their own seeds and provide shelter once the second generation seeds fall to the ground. The seeding and regrowth continues until complete plant cover is achieved. Making seed balls gives nature the extra boost it needs to make things right.

How to Make Seed Balls Learning how to make seed balls is a great activity for kids. It’s fun, easy to do and can be easily adapted to the environmental needs of the community. The seed ball recipe can be altered simply by changing the seeds. Want to plant wildflowers along a rural highway? How to make flower seed balls is no different than how to make a native plant seed ball. Change the seeds to bird seed and you’ve got the ingredients for a bird food garden in the suburbs. Turn a vacant city lot into a wonderland of grasses, cosmos and zinnias. Let your kid’s imaginations run wild. Making seed balls is a terrific way to spend a rainy afternoon at the kitchen table or out in the garage.

The seed ball recipe is easy to follow and, for older children, doesn’t require intense adult supervision. Why not gather the ingredients ahead of time so they’re ready for that rainy day!

Seed Ball Recipe 2 parts potting soil 5 parts pottery clay mix from your local art store 1-2 parts water 1-2 parts seeds of your choice Large tub to mix ingredients Large box to dry and store seed balls Directions: Mix the soil, clay and 1 part water thoroughly. There should be no lumps. Slowly add more water until the mixture is the consistency of the toy store molding clay that comes in a can. Add seeds. Keep kneading the dough until the seeds are well mixed in. Add more water if necessary. Take small bits of the clay mixture and roll into ball about one inch in diameter. The balls should hold together easily. If they’re crumbly, add more water. Dry seed balls for 24-48 hours in a shady place before sowing or storing. They store best in a cardboard box. Do not use plastic bags. The last step in how to make flower seed balls is sowing them. Yes, you can place them carefully over the area to be planted or you can gently toss them one at a time, which is a lot more fun. Don’t bury them and don’t water them. You’ve done your job, now sit back and leave the rest to Mother Nature.

https://goodvertising.site/thailand-make-seed-bombs-fight-deforestation/

Read more at Gardening Know How: Seed Ball Recipe – How To Make Seed Balls With Kids https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/special/children/making-seed-balls.htm

18. It is your rabid partisan nonsense that will be the death of us all. The political class has members from BOTH sides. Only when one party prosecutes fellow MPs will these silly accusations be taken seriously by the independent minded.

19. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Though a bit slow in response Atherley did respond to the “error”..

,…seeing who the drafters of the Integrity Legislation are, no one should be surprised that the goal posts keeps moving…..what we need to see is a retroactive year rolled back a whole lot further than 5 years..

…Leslie Haynes as a director of Clico was directly involved in the scam to rob policyholders….so why is he drafting Integrity Legislation when Mia said she would go after the Clico crooks.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/07/10/government-has-moved-the-integrity-goalpost-complains-atherley/

“Opposition Leader Bishop Joseph Atherley has questioned some aspects of the Integrity in Public Life Bill, which he says has changed considerably since it was initially proposed by the then Opposition Barbados Labour Party (BLP).

Speaking during debate on the measure in the House of Assembly today, Atherley explained, “When this party was in Opposition, it sent out a draft bill for public scrutiny and comment, and that document called for heavy fines of up to $500,000 and/or five years in jail, along with $250,000 on summary conviction and/or two years for those who ran afoul of the anit-corruption legislation or were seen to facilitate corrupt practices.

“But now it is here before Parliament, those fines have been reduced to $20,000 and $10,000, and I echo the fears of John Public which might believe that we are not entirely serious about this,” Artherley said, while cautioning the Mia Mottley led BLP administration that “you cannot provide legislation outlining breaches and then mete out fines that constitute no more than a slap on the wrist”.

He was also concerned about the fact that Attorney General and Member of Parliament for St Joseph Dale Marshall did not spell out why there was such a significant reduction in the penalties.”

20. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Freedom Crier July 11, 2018 8:01 AM

very interesting idea with respect to the seed bombs
    most sense presented here on this blog

SIR CAN YOU GET SOME APPROPRIATE SEED BOMBS FOR THE BLP AND BU BRIMBLERS WHO DWELL HERE DAILY WITH THEIR DRIVEL?

ALTHOUGH AS IN THE PARABLE OF THE SOWER AND THE SEED, THE PROBLEM IS NOT WITH THE SOWER OR HIS SEED, THE PROBLEM IS AS IT ALWAYS IS………..WITH THE SOIL!

21. Piece

I want to personally thank you for your valiant effort in highlighting to us – not only here on Underground,but to wider Bdos, why we need to be vigilant with this new govt and not be lulled into a false sense of complacency as some here would have us do – when they push this 100 day honeymoon shite talk.

I sincerely believe that it is your work (and the supporting efforts of others), on unmasking the deception by Mia and her team – on the quiet reduction of the fine from half million to a mere ten thousand with regards to the Integrity legislation.

I don’t know about you piece but sometimes one can’t help getting the feeling that on here in this BU site – its as though you operating in Afganisthan – with a lot of snipers hiding behind a BLP flag and taking shots at you (plural you) who have volunteered to highlight wrong doing where ever it can be found.So you drop yuh bombs and yuh hit your targets and as they say the rest is history.

I believe that because you and many others were relentless in your efforts to expose the mafia operating in this govt that we got the response that we are seeing in Barbados Today edition this morning.

To think that Wilfred Abraham would get in the House of Assembly and blame the Chief Parlimentary Counsel saying she changed the fee penalty from 500,000 to 10,0000 to align with other penalties, and implying the govt (with all these lawyers in it) didn’t realise the change and that’s why they went ahead with the bill – is scandalous.Civil servants be prepared for more of the same – the ‘dog eat my lunch’ excuses – and you the dog will get the lashes.

I have noted that serious matters discussed here on BU are finding their way in the right places and that’s why I urge Hal,G.P. yourself and others to say vigiliant.

The fatted calf is being sliced as I write and being put on platters – so don’t expect to hear certain voices who were loud and voceiferous before the elections whose main role then, was to manipulate and seek to influence the gullible.

History will not judge some people kindly.I hope they remember there is no atone -ing in HELL.

22. What is the ambassador Comissiong voice on Haiti and the violence which had erupted
    One would think that as ambassador to Caricom nations his voice would be one of consultation and influence
    One which would have required the Caricom heads of govt to send rapid response in aiding the people of Haiti

23. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Inniss what an awesome post above…was that written in your state of deep meditation when u figuratively floated above your mortal self and looked astutely on life round and about you!

A state that perhaps you were unable to achieve in recent years past. 😂

Be careful what u wish for!

The reason that @Pieces is so universally loved and reviled by operatives not dissimilar to you is that he does go after malfesance wherever it operates. So one hates him today but can love him tomorrow!

Thus when u say : ” I believe that because you and many others were relentless in your efforts to expose the mafia operating in this govt …” Do recall he wonderfully (and spectacularly) prosecuted “Not One Seat For Dem”.

He was right then and surely is no less accurate in his concerns now.

No one needs DLP syncophants or those who present as such to highlight that for them…but thanks nonetheless for showing that you do know when ‘a mafia’ is operating.😂

24. What is sickening me about all of this is the garment of self righteousness that these BLP politicians wrapping themselves in:

Hear Sonia Browne m.p.St Phillip North – women must not have to get down on their knees to get a house – well HELLO – haven’t you heard the calypso – wuk fuh wuk – who you think they were singing about – perhaps you should ask your parliamentary colleague Glyne Clarke if he knows who de body is.

While you at it – ask Mia if she knows about any wuk- for wuk incidents.MP Sonia Browne and remember to come down hard on ANYONE seeking to induce and involve school girls in this type of wuk for wuk ventures.

We dun know that Michael Lashley name get called in that type of thing too (and I am sure there were others) – but first seek to clear your nostrils before you go digging in others’

Secondly I have noted that A.G. Dale Marshall is telling us that M.P.s only have to declare their assets when they enter and when they leave – So wait you think we stupid huh. So yuh rob,steal and cheat for 4 and a half years and then coming up to the 5 years you do what you have to do and wipe your slate clean.

As with other countries Declaration of assets should be done every year.

I see Artherley is also concerned about Politicians using drug lords to finance their campaigns and bring out the vote.What say you P.M. Mottley on this? Everyone was shocked to see Bounty ‘the big drug lord’ and others walking up the steps of parliament with ‘official invites’.Who invited them Ms Mottley? huh?

Finally to tell you how Dale Marshall and that set just playing with voters emotions – he said in parliament that he will be getting help to ‘ferret out the incidence of corruption in Barbados’ – ‘that which we know about BUT FOR WHICH WE HAVE NO PROOF’ Really my man!

I hope they ferret out how you a poor boy from Salters,St George could by the end of the first term – end up with your own private yacht.And they could also ferret out how much money you and George payne getting from that Al Barack settlement – and why are you sharing in it.

Find out if there are any business ventures between Dean Straker and Mia motley and how were they arrived at.Don’t stop there- also start asking questions about JOSE Y JOSE and Mia business ventures.I will stop here for now.

So if the last set tief.Charge them and convict when you find the evidence but don’t let this be a witch hunt – Go after the BIG TIEFS IN THE BLP ALSO.

25. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

I am so loving this, don’t know where to start.

26. T. Inniss dont be fooled or misled by Piece rabblel rousing with govt
    He would be remembered for his Stoopid cartoons and Logo of Not one seat
    In my mind he is reacting like a woman scorned and hell having no fury
    It might be that the seat he was expecting to sit on as a reward from govt was pulled from right under his backside
    Now he is working feverishly to get revenge
    Recently i described piece as a shark and not wanting to swim in the deep waters which he patrols

27. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Ah hope the “watch muh nuh” brigade don’t think they will bribe Vivek into shutting up now as am sure is HIS intent…..right Enuff…….they had no right getting into bed with him and the Bayleys and helped them for over 2 decades to destroy the lives and the financial well-being of their own people who were too vulnerable to fight back, had no clue of the extent of the corruption of Vivek and his parliamentary gang and how they engineered and helped each other destroy the Supreme Court…because they are all greedy and corrupt…

…..the minute they pull anything, I will know and be sure to be my nice self and share with everyone….right Enuff.

28. Living in Blissful Ignorance Avatar
    Living in Blissful Ignorance

@ T Innis

You are correct to give Kudos to Pieceundertherock.

The BLP like the DLP think Bajans are fools and they did fooled them by empty promises and rhetoric.

Look all they have brought back known crooks including Noel Lynch and George Payne.

The changing of fines to $10,000 is no accident.

Bar all the shit talking from Dale Marshall not one DLP will be locked up during this 5 years.

They may be brought before the Court as a Public Relationship stunt but no one will be locked up it is business as usual tricking the gullible Barbados Public.

David Commissong has shown his true colours and he is no different a bullshitter and opportunist and I say this as one of his friends and someone who has received legal representation from his Law firm close to Harrison College

29. Where was Piece voice during the election campagain to point out the deception Mia and her goons were participating
    How did Piece never remind all and sundry as to hid concerns regarding Mia indiscretions during her tenure as a blp minister in the 14year reign of goverence as well as the blp ministers past record ofcorrupt partices
    Holy Cow now he has a damascus moment
    Well not buying nothing he writes most of what even if true can be ascribed to self serving motivation towards himself.

#####:.. Hypocrite

30. Once again T. Inniss is displaying his “jackassery” for all on BU to see, bringing a cahobbalah pot of tired, warmed over accusations the DEMS used during the 2008, 2013 and 2018 election campaigns.

Sensible Barbadians would ask why did the DEMS did not prosecute former BLP ministers for corruption when they had 10 years to do so, rather than come to the public spewing the same shiite over and over again, although it was REJECTED by the electorate.

But as I mentioned previously, both BLP and DLP administrations have proven government is a continuum, because the DEMS continued where the BEES left off in 2008.

We are now hearing people asking how Sinckler, a poor boy from Goodland who did brek is shiite and running from de bailiffs managed to amass suh much money to own a yacht.

“Wuk fuh wuk” was newly applied to Michael Lashley.

The importer of those controversial chicken wings, without health requirements was Donville Inniss.

If it is illegal for politicians to enter business partnerships with other individuals or have individuals “front” for them, then ALL politicians are guilty, because many business arrangements can be identified among thethe ranks of the DLP.

Mr. Inniss you need to stop this childish yardfowl nonsense and come up with more creative methods of criticizing the present administration. People tired of the warm over soup.

For your information, the election campaign is over.

Rather than hypocritically thanking PUDRYR, perhaps you should take a leaf from his book, research facts and present your case, rather than resorting to the same tired campaign rhetoric.

It seems as though you have not as yet realized the 30-0 was a rejection of that shiite political rhetoric that you so often present to this forum.

Nuhbody en want to hear dah now.

Grow up, my friend, you did not take long to prove that you’re a lil boy wearing long pants.

31. You should enlighten David Durant, Guy Hewitt, Donville Inniss who has his lunch time lecture canceled, Leroy McClean et al. Douse the fires from within!

32. Rather than mention, in innuendo or otherwise, about former DLP ministers engaged in corruption, what the BLP and its yardfowl supporters need to do is investigate, compile the evidence necessary to lock up some people….

…..or shut to hell up.

On the other hand, the DEMS and their yardfowls need to understand that the election campaign is over.

They need to reorganize the party and look for new rhetorical political propaganda, because the old shiite just en cutting it anymore.

33. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

There are certainly some lessons to be learnt from following the traditional austerity approach to malfunctioning economies. But there is always a tendency to default to official remedies even though they do not address the malady. Is this because there is no other ? Some people like to appear to be doing something even though they know it to be ineffectual. Is this where we are now?
    I sincerely hope not.

34. Any more feedback for Solutions Barbados? Until the DLP gets its act together read rise from the dead it does not deserve comment. This should happen next month? Let us hope we do not see a continuation of the recycling we have seen with the BLP.

35. “Any more feedback for Solutions Barbados?”

Not if we continue to allow the DLP operatives to “hijack” the articles and control the forum to push their propaganda.

36. They can only hijack if others respond to the nonsense.

37. The DLP should choose 30 new candidates and rebuild the party.

They should minimize their commentary on the governance of the BLP for the next 6 months to a year.

Mia said ” watch muh ” so be nice to your Prime Minister and ” watch she “.

38. Not only did the blp recycle them used ole tires but had the gall to include outsiders without a shred of transparency at taxpayers expense
    Wuh muh now !
    Lol

39. @Hants

It is amazing how the DLP is allowing an incompetent person to destroy the party. The system needs a strong Opposition, at the moment it will have to be from the people- perhaps as it should be.

40. Solutions Barbados is not an unusal political party. It would make a great conglomerate with its many successful businesses.

41. Waiting to hear dirty Ambassdor Commisiong make a statement on the Haitian crisis and how it relates to our open borders for the Haitain people if they seek asylum in barbados
    Let’s see how all the long talk about Haitian inclusion in Caricom makes sense now that the economic stranglehold by the IMF have them resorting to violence

42. ” not your usual political party “

43. @ David,

I don’t want to discourage the DLP supporters from blogging but they would be more effective if they wait and let the BLP make mistakes.

44. @Hants

Nothing wrong with the DLP people blogging but their comments should be informed by events of the 24 May 2018. With zero political stock the focus has to be on resuscitation, transformation etc of the party.

45. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE Some people like to appear to be doing something even though they know it to be ineffectual. Is this where we are now?

IS THIS NOT WHAT IS HAPPENING DAILY AS WE ADD TO “THE BODY OF WORK ON BU?”

46. Dentistry Whisperer (M. Pharm. D) LinkedIN Avatar
    Dentistry Whisperer (M. Pharm. D) LinkedIN

How can you increase your GDP by Bashment, and sweet Soca. Trinidad and Jamaica has products to sell to North America. If Jamaican can sell ready to eat akee and saltfish, why cannot Barbados sell pudding and souse. Jamaica also sell their Julie mangoes in North America. When I listen to sweet soca I do not send you money.

47. The DLP is a tainted blighted Party and should exit the Political scene. Their philosophy is not one that Barbadians should embrace. They have failed consistently and Barbadians have to stop giving them a try and a lot nonsense that Bajans do. They seem only in existence to destroy Barbados . What they were over the last two terms can only be termed as systematic destruction of Barbados. And the electorate although slow to act, acted decisively. The DLP must stop presenting themselves to the Electorate. They were so bad that they won no seats and the people wanted the Opposition Benches to be free of the DLP too .
    What did the DLP do in 1971, 72, 73.74,75-76, 1986; 87;88;89,91,92,93-94; 2008,2009,2010;2011,2012,2013,2014,2015,2016,2017-18 ?

Sabotaged Barbados’s Development

DEMS NOW; DEMS NEVER EVER AGAIN

48. DLP WOULD YOU JUST LEAVE THE RH PLACE and stop humbugging the people of BARBADOS.
    Stop the foolishness
    Stop confusing the electorate by having them think that Errol Barrow is still alive somewherexxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx