Submitted by Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right

How Dictatorships Commence – a Case Study

A few days ago Grenville Philips, the erstwhile leader of Solutions Barbados posted a link to this Hitlerian Bill at

https://www.barbadosparliament.com/bills/details/284

It is an 83? Page document that de ole man just decided to read cause well I ent got muffin to do…

It is an interesting document and even it its introduction is a Freudian slip I.e. its reference to a “regime”. But as I continued to read as I HOPE WUNNA WILL, I found, there, hidden away from the eyes of the average bajan SHEEPLE, our local equivalent of Hitler’s Enabling Act of 1933!

It took de ole man a like time to find the text of that 1933 Enabling Act in English but here is the short version for those of you “who give a badword”

…The Enabling Act 1933 gave Adolph Hitler plenary powers. It followed on the heels of the Reichstag Fire Decree, which abolished most civil liberties and transferred state powers to the Reich government. The combined effect of the two laws was to transform Hitler’s government into a legal dictatorship.

The formal name of the Enabling Act was Gesetz zur Behebung der Not von Volk und Reich (“Law to Remedy the Distress of People and Reich“)…”

So us bajan sheeple continue merrily along, blindly drinking the coolaid under “Mia Cares” REGIME lulled by our cuhdear statement “Give She 100 days Cause She Only Just Start” 

You dead right “she only jet start”

So de ole man will do the following provide a passage from the pernicious Enabling Act of 1933 which can be seen at http://www.worldfuturefund.org/Reports/Eact/enablingact.html and also mention its counterpart Act, Decree of the Reich President for the Protection of the People and State of 28 to underscore the direction that we are going in IF MIA’s 2018 BILL IS PASSED

“The Reichstag has enacted the following law, which is hereby proclaimed with the assent of the Reichsrat, it having been established that the requirements for a constitutional amendment have been fulfilled:”

Does this easy-peasy “Constitutional Amendment exercise” sounds familiar to wanna sheeple? Bless wanna cool-aid drinking, happy go lucky spirits.

“…Article 4 The Enabling Act 1933

Reich treaties with foreign states that affect matters of Reich legislation shall not require the approval of the bodies concerned with legislation. The Reich Government shall issue the regulations required for the execution of such treaties…”

And then the corresponding Article from Mottley’s Bill of Despot Rights.

“……Article 4.2 of the Despot Rights Bill 2018

“…In the exercise of its functions under this Act, the Commission may not be subject to the direction or control of any person or authority.

As well as “…Article 6.1 of said Despot Rights Bill 2018

“…The Commission may enter into such written agreements,

arrangements or memoranda of understanding with a law enforcement agency, including a foreign law enforcement agency, as the Commission considers necessary or desirable for the discharge or performance of its functions.

Like a Triple Canopy “Law Enforcement Agency” but I digress..

“…Article 1 of the Decree of the Reich President for the Protection of the People and State of 28, 1933 which reads …§ 1

“Articles 114, 115, 117, 118, 123, 124, and 153 of the Constitution of the German Reich are suspended until further notice. Thus, restrictions on personal liberty, on the right of free expression of opinion, including freedom of the press, on the right of assembly and the right of association, and violations of the privacy of postal, telegraphic, and telephonic communications, and warrants for house searches, orders for confiscations as well as restrictions on property are permissible beyond the legal limits otherwise prescribed.”

But then let us read “Article 15.1 of the 2018 Chill sorry Bill …An investigative officer has, in carrying out his functions, the powers of a constable to arrest any person whom he reasonably suspects has committed an offence punishable by imprisonment under this Act or under any other

enactment that assigns responsibility for investigations to the Commission. 2018 Bill Part II?

And article 17.1 of said Chill Bill sorry …the judge may issue a warrant authorising an investigative officer to enter and

search the premises for the material and to seize and retain any material, that, in the opinion of the investigative officer, is of the kind described in paragraphs (b) and (c).

SO LEH WE SAY DAT De Honourable Blogmaster got a server, or a laptop, or a smart phone or anything that de investigating office, in his opinion, want to put he hands pun, poor David BU ass is grass CAUSE DE 2018 Integrity in Public Life say so.

So let us move to  “…Article 16.1 of said Despot Rights Bill 2018 OR what is being called the Integrity in Public Life Bill 2018 WHEN READ CAREFULLY SHOWS THAT IT HAS OUSTED THE CONSTITUTION OF BARBADOS

Among many of its clauses which abrogate the rights of Bajan citizens and residents it reads “…An investigative officer may apply to a judge in Chambers for an order, to be called a production order, requiring a specified person to give the officer access to material specified in the application; or produce the material specified in the application for the officer to take away, within 7 days from the date on which the order is made or such other period as the judge determines would be appropriate in the circumstances.

Further affront to the constitution is enshrined in “…The Commission may, if it thinks fit, receive oral or written evidence, but it is not bound by the rules of evidence in the Evidence Act, Cap. 121, and it may take into account opinion evidence and such facts as it considers relevant and

material.

What the France is “opinion evidence”? You mean that if Waveney Bannister feel that in his opinion that Andrew Pilgrim should get lock up, OR PUDRYR, get set up by Senator Williams or he son or any such madness that “opinion evidence” going be the undoing of either party?

But let us read a little further 

”…An investigative officer has the function of carrying out investigations in relation to ANY MATTER, WHETHER OR NOT INVOLVING AN ALLEGED OFFENCE, in respect of which the Commission exercises functions under this Act or ANY OTHER ENACTMENT …”

I don really believe that the Honorable Blogmaster going publish this document but if he does, And does not truncate it cause it exceeds the word limit like George Brathwaite’s articles,  we can expect fellows like Enuff, ONE OF THE MANY EMISSARIES of the saviour and champion of “ye isle of Barbadoes”, will come here to talk bout how dis is a paranoid interpretation of this Travesty

Watch how they continue obfuscating this serious matter with their equivalencies about how the campaign promise of a $500K fine FOR CORRUPTION, get whittle down to a measly $10K 

But remember that “Mia Cares”.

But what is worse is that petty men like Bishop Atherley and other principled fellers like Edmund and Ralph WILL REMAIN QUIET and knock pun de table in the HoA when de bill get laid, much like how, at the signing of The Enabling Act of 1933,  “non-Nazi members, surrounded and threatened by members of SA and Schutzstaffel or the SS…” kept quiet

AND SO, IT BEGINS!!!

318 responses to “See How “Mia Cares” with her Hitler Styled Bill for “Integrity in Public Life 2018…”

1. If this is only for those public officials outlined by PLT, why only a $10k fine and not the $500k as campaigned on. It is rumored that several individuals in the past administration walked away with millions. So, is this measly amount justified or is this just a ruse.

2. In the UK, which is not Barbados, parliament can and does set fixed or mandatory sentences ie some life sentences (see Power of Criminal Courts (Sentencing) Act 2000. Of course, they are disliked by judges because it means sentencing is taken out of their hands once the person is convicted for the statutory offence. Judges think as long as they have heard the evidence they should be allowed to decide the sentence.
    In the vast majority of cases, parliament sets the minimum and maximum length of a sentence and the magistrates/judges make that decision – this is important, in our system the courts interpret the legislation, not determine it..
    As I have said, parliament still has a right to sit in judgement over someone who has committed contempt of parliament. They also have powers to sentence MPs for other offences, but tradition determines the separations of powers.

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Jeff Cumberbatch July 1, 2018 1:18 PM

What we would appreciate more so is your ‘learned’ opinion on how this proposed Integrity legislation sits in relation to the existing piece of ‘Money Laundering’ legislation.

Do you perceive any duplication or clash of objectives?

Can both be used to catch and corral (and hogtie within all corners of the law) the white-collar crooks holding public office along with their ‘associates’ and cronies in private businesses?

Vagrants with drug addiction problems sometimes find themselves charged for stealing and also for being in possession of apparatus deemed usable in or for the facilitation of illicit drug activities using different pieces of criminal legislation. So why not the white-collar deviants?

4. David
    The bill speaks to a fine and or imprisonment, and there is also mandatory imprisonment at para.57. Through one side of the mouth the fines are too small, and through the next the powers to investigate are Hitlerian. I don’t know the reason for the change from $500,000 to $20,000. Could it be about fairness and proportionality? I await the explanation.

5. @enuff

One would have thought the consideration of fairness would have been concerned when it was proposed on the political platform a short few weeks ago?

A case of promise and bait?

6. Bait and switch…which should not get those types of practitioners of deception reelected.

7. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Freedom Crier July 1, 2018 1:59 PM

I am a great fan of Franz Fanon’s work… it’s delightful to se you quoting from it. He was, of course, a Marxist as well as a Pan-Africanist, but I’m glad you can see how brilliant he was.

8. “Through one side of the mouth the fines are too small, and through the next the powers to investigate are Hitlerian.”

I don’t see the contradiction that you see. In fact as stated, you have frightened me even more.

Who will be fined? And why such small, fines. To steal a rock cake in Barbados brings down the full weight of the law, even prison time. But those involved in possibly multi-million deals, get a $20,000 dollar fine.

I think the measly fine encourages corruption.

It seem as if the Hitlerian aspect can also be applied to the common man. Can someone tell me that that the man in the street will in never be caught up by these laws? I see a lot of hand waving “abracadabra” but I am not satisfied with some of the explanations.

And even if they can never apply to the common man, why “talk so tough” and at the penalty is a mere of slap on the wrist; they walk away with their corrupted fees minus $20K.

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Enuff July 1, 2018 3:28 PM

Come on, Enuff, you can do a much better job of defending than offering that powder-puff reply!

There are clear precedents and sound guidelines already enshrined on the Statute book as provided in the “Money Laundering and Financing of Terrorism (Prevention and Control) Act” of 2000.

Wouldn’t you consider corruption by public officials and their associates to be an act of financial terrorism against the abused taxpayers of Barbados?

So why not the following penalties contained in Section 20 of the existing Money Laundering legislation as guidelines to reflect the seriousness of the offence of robbing the poor people of Barbados blind?

At least they are not receiving the treatment often recommended by Pachamama for such crimes against the people.

Sec. 20:
    (1) A person who engages in money laundering is guilty of an offence.
    (2) Any person who attempts, or who aids, abets, counsels or procures, the commission of, or who conspires to commit, the offence of, money laundering is guilty of an offence.

(3) A person guilty of an offence under subsection (1) is liable (a) on summary conviction, to a fine of $200 000 or to imprisonment for 5 years or to both; and (b) on conviction on indictment, to a fine of $2 000 000 or imprisonment for 25 years or to both.

10. @Miller

Are you aware of anybody convicted under the money laundering legislation you are waving and said penalties applied?

11. Freedom Crier Avatar

@ peterlawrencethompson July 1, 2018 4:01 PM

Truth Exist in all things Wherever we find it Embrace it. Even Liars speak the truth some of the time otherwise we would not entertain their voices…We need to be Discerning at all times.

“A man in search of truth has no peculiar system to sustain, nor peculiar dogma to defend or theory to uphold; he embraces all truth, and that truth, like the sun in the firmament, shines forth and spreads its effulgent rays over all creation, and if men will divest themselves of bias and prejudice, and prayerfully and conscientiously search after truth, they will find it wherever they turn their attention.”

“The honest investigator must be prepared to follow wherever the search of truth may lead. Truth is often found in the most unexpected places. He must, with fearless and open mind ‘insist that facts are far more important than any cherished, mistaken beliefs.”

https://i.pinimg.com/736x/77/69/a0/7769a08ee7296e48c830715c2f3e8fbf.jpg

12. PeterLawrence Thompson,

I am afraid I missed something. Plse remind me where it was said that Fanon was a Pan-Africanist? Was it pre Algeria? Was his work with Sartre Pan-Africanism or anti-colonialism or Marxism? Was Negritude Pan–Africanism? Are you calling anti-colonialism Pan-Africanism or is this just Googling? In the 1960s all politically active black people paid homage to Fanon, in particular his monumental The Wretched of the Earth, but nothing in the book or his subsequent works addressed Pan-Africanism..

13. *at the end the penalty

14. Mia’s first mistake is a costly one, bait and switch is a conman’s game, the people already lost billions because of greedy corrupt politicians, ministers and minority business people, she was the head one expounding on the auditor general’s report, 40 million missing from NHC alone, cannot be accounted for…not even a coat of paint or a power wash hose was put on the building in Country Road by the two incompetents Kellman and Lashley in 10 years, the building looks filthy, tacky and dilapidated… but money is missing from the NHC..

As Mia exposed…over a billion dollars in taxpayer funded contracts to Maloney & Crooks, hundreds of millions more from the people’s pension fund to Cow, Bizzy & Crooks…none of it can properly be accounted for and we have not yet mentioned the 4 Season property and the missing 60 million dollars…..or the Bjerkham & Crooks scams in conjunction with ministers and other politicians to rob the people.

and this is Enuff’s weak excuse for backtracking on a 500,000 fine for corruption among politicians, ministers and the business sector that robs the people., oh really?

15. miller
    Wuh I defending? I said I don’t know. Now you posts the money laundering fines, fairness and proportionality is thrown out the window.

Bait and switch indeed. lol

16. @enuff

Guess it is the naive among us who do not appreciate that this is what politicians do the world over.

17. And I don’t support fines, I feel it should be straight lock up. But that’s just me.

18. Why all of a sudden or should I say lately everything is being linked to Hitler, a man who died some 73 years ago.

We have the crazy far left in the USA that are screaming every day…..Hitler, Hitler, Hitler…..nazi, nazi, nazi……….now we have Piece of the Rock whom we all respect screaming ….Hitler, Hitler, Hitler.

CudGod, people give the PM a break…….give her the deserved honeymoon, she inherited a royal mess…………were we screaming bloody murder when Froons refused to have the Act proclaimed.

If there was a mistake in the $500,000 to $10,000……..let us debate it but cut out the Hitler talk….it will only divide this country. In any case people are smiling once again! When my siblings and I were growing up and we were bickering…….my parents would say…..let peace rain in this house.

Please Piece……give Mia some space and let peace reign in Barbados! She loves Barbados and means well!

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David July 1, 2018 4:31 PM

There was a very good ‘test’ case in the making but since some of those involved were members of the political class the usual game of cover-up was played.

How else would you describe a transaction for $3.3 million being ‘styled’ as legal fees in order to bilk policyholders but after passing through the Thompie laundry machine was washed lily white in the blood money of a gratuity due to Greenverbs; a thread from which the BRA has not received even to cover a dirty darn in the country’s fiscal black hole.

20. Is the BLP government going to order a judicial review of the Clico scandal?

21. When you add up the over:

1 billion dollars ….in questionable contracts

40 million missing from NHC

????…hundreds of millions missing from Pension fund

60 million from the sale of 4 seasons property

7 million short to the treasury because of the 5 million dollar sale of Blue Horizon

???? millions in the Coverly scams….
    and the list is endless

So tell us again why a 500,000 fine for theft, fraud and corruption is not fair and proportional..

22. Oh yeah…and Mia told the electorate pre May 24th that she was going after the clico thieves…..watch muh,…she said..

Prodigal..what honeymoon what.

23. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

One section reads “…An investigative officer has the function of carrying out investigations in relation to any matter, whether or not involving an alleged offence, in respect of which the Commission exercises functions under this Act or any other enactment…”
    “Wunna understands what that means?

You see the powers of the Commission to seize what it wills and to commit for incarceration on an officer’s suspicion…”
    “…officer has the function of carrying out investigations in relation to any matter, whether or not involving an alleged offence,..”
    This is the regulations of a police state!!!

Whether or not involving an alleged offence?”
    You kidding my ole ass?
    Why would a commission be allowed that type of power?

@FC, you need ro read the section with more care.There must be a trial before any penalty is inflicted on an individual and the mere suspicion of an officer will not suffice. Whether or not the investigation involves an alleged offense, it must be one over which the Commission has jurisdiction, either under the Integrity Act itself or any other law.

24. Soon enough we will see how mechant the deceit was…

25. Y’all are too funny. Keep it up. I’ll exit stage left though.

26. Give me a break . Mia means well to who .
    Her first order of business was to transfer millions of the treasury money to the wealthy without full transparency. Not even a listing of the names she gave all that taxpayers money to .. any body who needs locking up is she

27. Freedom Crier Avatar

Remember the Contentious Police (Amendment) Bill…
    This law is Tantamount to Martial law.
    That is What the Populace Should Fear Most…
    Look South to Venezuela!

When you give Government too much Power they tend to Abuse it.

And in this Case merely talking back to the Police is caused for Arrest, Jail and a Fine…

First of all it is going to cost Thousands of Dollars to Prove your Innocence.

They are no Burden of Proof by the Police.

There is no Warrant Necessary to come into your home and Search your home and if you object the penalties are the same as above.

Any Government as Presently in Barbados with this New Law wanting to Wheel such Power over its Citizens have Nefarious Intentions!
    the Greater Issue Here Is A Police State …

Silence is Consent!!

https://i.imgur.com/NnCeixW.png

28. And to hear the blp yardfowls talking about Clico an insurance company which was up and running when the blp was in office is laughable especially when connecting a dead man to stolen money a man who cannot defend any accusation levelled against self
    But let me tell you this the blp needs a bush bathe because in the 2006 auditor generals report under their watch whuch Mottley was a member a reporting of hundreds of millions of dollars went unaccounted money that is now partof the debt
    So much money stolen or missing back then by the blp and its band of loyalist that it makes dog stomach sick to hear how the blp can start a campagain of finger pointing without first pointing at themselves
    The 2006 auditor general report makes for accountable reading for those who want to know the truth

#:::::##::::###:BEES BE GONE

29. Freedom Crier Avatar

“It is a very Worrying development they appear to have the power if you or I “might” commit a crime.
    For God’s sake anyone “might” do anything and may the Saints Forfend if we have an Unscrupulous Policeman, Police Chief or Attorney General.”

What has Barbados come to?

Now it’s the Integrity in Public Life Bill?

“An investigative officer has the function of carrying out investigations in relation to any matter, whether or not involving an alleged offence, in respect of which the Commission exercises functions under this Act or any other enactment…”
    “Wunna understands what that means?

You see the powers of the Commission to seize what it wills and to commit for incarceration on an officer’s suspicion…”
    “…officer has the function of carrying out investigations in relation to any matter, whether or not involving an alleged offence,..”

This is the regulations of a police state!!!

Do you have Thousands of Dollars to Prove your Innocence and Years to Spend in a Dragged out Judicial System.

Makes Reason Stare Frankly!

https://i.pinimg.com/736x/58/56/b2/5856b20dd8c40414ab50831061d17bb6–law-and-order-conservative-politics.jpg

30. Hmmm, “something happened on the way to heaven and we are where we are now.” It is what it is but it can sure be better than what it is.

31. if all and sundry wants to read about thiefing and lack of transparency and unaccountable or misinformation which happened under the blp…… moneies lost stolen missing…..accounting books not brought up for good record keeping..and proper transparency read this 2006 report
    a starting point as to how barbados got into the economic mess

https://www.barbadosparliament.com/uploads/document/ef42b6ac614ccf3a259ec88a3d04061b.pdf

32. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Hal Austin July 1, 2018 4:50 PM

The Negritude formulated by Senghor and Cesaire and elaborated by Fanon is an aspect of Pan Africanism. I referred to it as Pan Africanism because that is better known in Barbados than Negritude.

33. Enuff ran away, now exyardfowl is waxing nonsense about 2006 when we want to hear where all the money disappeared to from 2008-2018.

yall are really cursed and blighted, the ultimate in lost consciousness.

34. The May 24th REDWASH sure has dems going crazy as hell…….not only are they going crazy, they are angry as hell.

I was in a small supermarket last week and a guy popped his head in and ranted something at the employees who seem to know him…….one asked ….wait is wrong with him today? Another answered…….he is mad because Germany lost and he is still mad that all of the dems lost.

30-0 in wunnah tail…….Mariposa! Stop moping……..whoo hoo!

35. Tired of Politricks and Endemic Corruption Avatar
    Tired of Politricks and Endemic Corruption

The problem in Barbados is blindness to reality.

If the BLP stole hundreds of millions in their 1994 to 2008 reign and DLP did the same in 2008 to 2018 isn’t this part of the existing national debt cumulative.

There can be no excuses if this is the case and all guilty individuals pay the price.

This bullshit of making excuses because of partisanship is ignorance and backwardness.

If I thief a million $ from an account and you thief a million $ from the same account, that is 2 million $ stolen irregardless of who stole first or second.

Both of us would be equally culpable for the stolen money.

No wonder Politicians of both Political parties continue to laugh at the masses behind close doors whilst living high on the hog from ill-gotten tax payers monies.

Bajans would rather see their neighbors suffer and whisper when one of their own fall for petty crime while the big legal Politicians criminals continue to give them a past.

That is why they deserve to suffer and continue to pay high dracion taxes.

36. Debt does not disappear no matter in how or what form it came about
    But what matters are those who made gain in illegal form or fashion
    What matters are those who themselves made gain in illegal fashion and were never got caught or brought for accountability now can sit in high judgement and become judge jury and executioner to point accusing finger and form laws
    What a joke
    Dont get here and try to tell that the devil is now in charge and have a moral authority to clean house
    Hell no that is bold faced hypocrisy from the pit of hell
    Instead tell me that the Devil has started to clean his own house then i would listen

37. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Barbados can use Guy Hewitt’s clarity of thought, mental strength and intellect in a leadership role…the people and island would be much better off for it.

And he knows how to stand up to and expose evil.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/172520/dlp-lost

DLP ‘lost its way’
    JOHN SEALY, johnsealy@nationnews.com

“And for it to be resurrected from the political ashes, the party must bury some of its old leadership baggage.

That was the frank assessment from outgoing High Commissioner to the United Kingdom, Reverend Guy Hewitt, as he addressed the annual general meeting of the DLP’s United Kingdom branch in London on Sunday.

He attributed the May 24 defeat to a “most egregious, homophobic, boarding (sic) on misogynistic, election campaign, [that] created a serious and fatal disconnect between the Government and the governed”.

The Anglican cleric also took a swipe at the leadership.

“Political leadership is not about a title or a designation. It’s about impact, influence, inspiration and integrity. Impact involves getting results, influence is about creating and spreading a vision, inspiration is to get others to follow you, and integrity is the means to ensure that what is done, happens in a just and compassionate manner.

“If and when a political leader senses that he has run his course, he has a duty and responsibility to share that well in advance with those he leads, and where necessary, make way . . . ,” he added.

But Hewitt said the party hierarchy and candidates had to take some responsibility “for their failure to act when they should have known better”.

38. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“Both of us would be equally culpable for the stolen money.”

The reality with that pearl is ….DLP did nothing to address all the theft and corruption they knew, accuse and still talk about post 2008 under Arthur’s leadership..after they were elected in 2008

..what they did instead was….wuh if you could tief from the people, we could tief more.and we can be even more corrupt too……..something the Mia government has no choice but to now address.

And if Mia reguses to address these clear thefts from the people by the recent ex government and their co-conspirators, she too should be severely punished at the polls in 2023.

It all has to be kept in context….anything prior to 2008 is now moot unless another government….completely different to the current, is elected in 2023 and will go after those who stole pre 2008…by now 24 years later, statute of limitations would have kicked in….or unless by then most if not all of them have died.

It does not go…if they don’t lock up the recently elected ones who have parliamentary priveleges currently for tiefing pre 2008, they can’t lock up the recently stripped government ministers who have no parliamentary priveleges and can damn well be locked up…because it is too recent for any statue of limitations to kick in….

Try to keep things in reality.

39. Nothing is moot when it comes to the taxpayers money ..money that goes unaccountable without transparency lost stolen or by whatever means disappears is added to the debt. A debt which is brought forward and placed in the hands if taxpayers to pay
    Only a brain dead donkey like Well Well would talk bull shit about moot
    Even though the culprit was not caught or brought to full judgement. The record stands as proof or evidence that these deeds were committed and such as the case their level of integrity has no credibility

40. Nothing is moot when it comes to the taxpayers money ..money that goes unaccountable without transparency lost stolen or by whatever means disappears is added to the debt. A debt which is brought forward and placed in the hands if taxpayers to pay
    Only a brain dead donkey like Well Well would talk bull shit about moot
    Even though the culprit was not caught or brought to full judgement. The record stands as proof or evidence that these deeds were committed and such as the case their level of integrity has no credibility

41. Guy Hewitt walked and talked in Ch Ch South constituency on behalf of the candidacy of John Boyce for the DLP in 2007/8. Mr Hewitt was then a curate in the Anglican Church at Ch Ch Parish Church in the incumbency of the Rev Austin Carrington of like political faith.Brothers in the pulpit and in the hustings.Hewitt spoke for the defeat of the BLP incumbent Mr Jerome Walcott.
    Fast forward to May 2018.Mr Jerome Walcott is the Minister of Foreign Affairs.Guy wants to remain at the Court of St James.No need to think of what comes next.
    Mr Hewitt spoke in support of Rev John Rogers nomination for Bishop of Barbados.He spoke also of the reasons why the DLP was so badly defeated at the recent poll.Both comments are well reasoned and received by many.Mr Hewitt should make a choice as to which god he is serving.It cannot be both.Render unto Caesar etc etc

42. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“Even though the culprit was not caught or brought to full judgement. ”

And whose fault is that?

yall had 10 years AND the POWER to bring BLP thieves to justice and ya did nothing because ya are even more corrupt, yall stole more and caused more damage to the people who elected you, hence the reason both blighted political parties were so articulate in accusing each other of corruption and made themselves world famous for corruption. …

Now that blight No.1 DLP is no more ……Mia has the power to bring all the thieves to justice.

43. Peter,

Fanon did not elaborate on Negritude. He was peripheral. He was more connected with Sartre’s group. But as a black Frenchman and given his connection with Aime Cesaire, he got co-opted. Eventually Senghor became the high priest of Negritude. Plse remind me of any of Fanon’s works on Negritude?

During the 1960s student movement (I was there) lots of conflicting ideologies got mixed up, from Soviet St ate Capitalism (the Communist Party of Great Britain), to Maoist groups to Trotskyist groups, many of which did not even speak to each other.
    Then there were the socialist of various kinds, from the right-wing of the Labour Party to the Trotskyite Social Workers Party. Also out of the movement came a lot of single issue groups: the new wave of feminism (Australian, US and French, all of which were different, and the black womanist movement), foodists, gay rights, the new wave lesbian movement. It was a time when the Frankfurt movement was also revived, the New Left was founded (after October 1968, when Soviet tanks rolled in to Prague) and the critical legal movement was founded. It was also a time when so-called victimology, the right-wing answer to critical legal thought, was created. We still get simpletons talking about the victims of crime. Many of these groups re still alive today with many of their adherents not knowing the origins of the groups they support.
    The black groups were just the same; one good that came out of the black organisations of those times, in a battle against police oppression, was the legal advice movement, led in the main by the late great Rudi Narayan, a Guyanese. Sadly, history does not hold any sympathies for those who fall out of vogue, but black British history owes Rudi a place at the top table.
    @Peter, what I am trying to say is that those of us who read Wretched of the Earth, and Return to My Native Lane, did not see Fanon as an interpreter of Negritude.
    In fact, like the US black power movement, the Negritude movement broke away from black radical politics. In the US Ron Karenga led one movement, and in Paris Senghor led the other. So we now have a generation of Kwanzaa worshippers wearing their Dashikis. Elombe Mottley used to sell dashikis in the 1960s.
    When I tell people now I am not a culturalist, it goes back to those days. I am so sorry that the late Leroy Harewood is no longer with us. He was the brightest Barbadian of his generation and could talk for king and country about the nuances of these movements.
    But for those who Google and come on BU speaking with authority. Stop it. Talk to people who were there. All you are doing is reding badly written essays by ill-informed post-graduates who themselves did not understand the subjects.

44. Tired of Politricks and Endemic Corruption Avatar
    Tired of Politricks and Endemic Corruption

@ Hal Austin

I believe most commenters does not give a shit to whom Fanon or Canon is and the ideology.

You are hijacking Pieceundertherock Post with irrelevant bullshit.

@ Well Well I will become impressed when All Politicians are prosecuted for all thiefing and corrupt acts in the last 25 years irregardless of BLP or DLP.

As a tax payer the debt currently killing the island and threatening devaluation and worse have been spawned by both.

I will however predicted that no one will be prosecuted after all the smoke and mirrors whilst the same old corrupt bribing and kickbacks practice will continue behind closed doors and private meetings away from prying eyes.

45. Hal Austin July 2, 2018 8:48 AM
    Reread Black Skin, White Masks. There is much in it which is a philosophical discourse on negritude.

46. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Tired…but we will know, even the people of St. John, their eyes eventually opened…

You have to start the prosecutions of lawyers and politicians somewhere, so work with what is rght in front of you in that way it will act as a deterrent in the future…..for those ministers and politicians who conspire with their minority co-conspirators in the business community in seeking to steal from their own people.

47. Hal Austin July 2, 2018 8:48 AM
    In Black Skin, White Masks Fanon is critical of Diop, Senghor and Cesaire to a lesser extent. This work moved beyond the alleged fetishization of Blackness toward a more Pan-African perspective rooted in history (unsurprising fora Marxist).

48. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Good read….Black Skin White Mask, very popular in the early 70s.

49. Hal Austin July 2, 2018 8:48 AM
    PS Return to My Native Land is by Cesaire, not Fanon.

50. @Freedom Crier
    @Peter Lawrence Thompson

That quote in the meme is not Fanon. It is a made up meme that people circulate.