Submitted by David Comissiong, Citizen of Barbados
SO  FAR as the Hyatt Hotel is concerned, I — David Andre Comissiong – – have no “olive branch” to offer to anyone!
I wish to state for the record that I have never said anything about offering the new Barbados Labour Party (BLP) government any so-called “olive branch” in relation to my case challenging the permission granted by former Prime Minister Freundel Stuart to Mr Mark Maloney’s company to construct a 15 story Hyatt Hotel on beachfront land at Bay Street.
The term “olive branch” — used in relation to the so-called Hyatt Hotel case — is entirely the concoction of the Barbados Today online newspaper: and I would appreciate it if that newspaper would adhere to basic journalistic ethics and refrain from putting words in my mouth.
Let me make my position very clear in relation to the so-called Hyatt Hotel case:-
In March 2017 I filed a Judicial Review application against the then Democratic Labour Party (DLP) Government, in which I requested a Judge of the Supreme Court to review the manner in which Mr Freundel Stuart, the Minister responsible for Town and Country Planning, had processed Mr Mark Maloney’s application for permission to construct a 15 story Hyatt Hotel on the Bay Street beachfront.
I maintained in my Judicial Review application that Mr Stuart had committed a breach of the Law of Barbados by failing to require Maloney’s company to carry out an Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA), and that , as a result, the grant of permission to build the hotel should be squashed.
Mr Stuart responded by questioning my right — as a Citizen of Barbados — to bring such a Judicial Review application against  the Government of Barbados.
And when the presiding Judge — Madam Justice Dr. Sonia Richards — ruled in my favour, Mr Stuart appealed to the Court of Appeal against the Judge’s ruling.
This is where the matter stood at the time of the change of government on the 24th of May 2018.
Now that we have a new Government, I have been questioned by the news media as to the fate of the Court case, and I have made my position absolutely clear :-

If the new BLP Government wishes to see the back of this Court Case that they have inherited from the previous DLP administration, they would have to do the following things:-
(1) Firstly, they would have to DISCONTINUE the Appeal that was lodged against Dr Richards’ ruling! (This is important because the Judge’s ruling confirmed that we, the Citizens of Barbados, DO have the right to challenge in a Court of Law nationally important decisions and actions of our Government that affect us — not in our personal capacities– but that affect us in our capacities as Citizens of the country.)
(2) Secondly, they would have to CONCEDE that former Prime Minister Freundel Stuart was WRONG in Law when he granted permission to construct a 15 story beachfront hotel without having carried out an EIA ( inclusive of the holding of Town Hall meetings) in respect of the proposed construction project..
(3) Thirdly — and most importantly — they would have to CANCEL the permission that was wrongly granted to Maloney’s company, and would also have to give an undertaking to require the staging of an EIA in the event that Maloney’s company makes a new application to construct the said Hyatt Hotel.
If the new BLP Government is prepared to carry out these actions, then I would have no need to continue the litigation against the Government, and the way would be clear for both sides to negotiate a discontinuance of the litigation.
How any of this can be construed as “offering an olive branch” is really beyond me!
Permit me to also state for the record that I am convinced that once Maloney’s application is subjected to an objective EIA that the findings of the EIA  WILL confirm that the construction of any such 15 story hotel is NOT permissible because:-
(1) It will do tremendous damage to the physical and architectural landscape of Bridgetown;
(2) It will cause Barbados to be stripped of its UNESCO World Heritage Site designation;
(3) It will create massive problems for the Bridgetown and South Coast sewage systems; and
(4) It will impinge severely on the Barbadian people’s access to and enjoyment of one of their most prized and favoured beaches.
In other words, the staging of an objective EIA will disqualify the proposed 15 story Hyatt Hotel.

220 responses to “David Comissiong Has No Olive Branch to Offer on the Hyatt Case!”

1. Freedom Crier Avatar

Trashing the People who Hire People and Expecting a Better Result when they do not Hire People. Only People of Means can Hire other Persons…

A Man of No Means Cannot Employ someone else.

When you Can Openly, Resolutely, and Continually without taking a Breath, Demonize Those who Employ people in Barbados you have Hurt Barbados.

David BU…If WWC has Proof of All She So Blatantly Accuses…beg her to turn it over to the Authorities.

Do Not Ever Misconstrue what I say as Disrespect… My Only Aim is to share Principles that teach others to Govern Themselves. That is where Freedom Lies in Self Governance.

My Intention is Always to Speak the Truth Without Equivocation.

I Believe in Free Market Capitalism that is the Opposite of Socialism where Everything and Everyone is Controlled by Government Intervention. That is the Opposite of Freedom, that is Tyranny!!

I do not Hate Commie Sing Song…I Hate the Ideology he Stands for.

If You See Any Dangers Approaching Would You Not Sound a Voice of Warning?

https://quotefancy.com/media/wallpaper/1600×900/31054-Milton-Friedman-Quote-Underlying-most-arguments-against-the-free.jpg

2. Frerfom Crier good comment.commie sing has his own agenda just like Chavez and Castro who both were able to manupilated the minds of all
    However we see thebend result of their version on thr Pied Piper song like wise all are seeing Mia version of manipulation of the masses

3. Then there are the:

Coverley scam

Grotto scam

Valery scam

same crooks……. inclusive of all the other scams in between..all at taxpayer’s and pensioners expense…hundreds of millions of dollars worth of losses to the people…scams abound..

Someone should ask the exminister Kellman why the land at Lancaster which was. earmarked for affordable housing to the majority population was sold to Haloute/Chefette…through a third party……to build another NCD restaurant selling greasy unhealthy foods…..

….and don’t tell me about generating jobs…cause they still pay slave wages…

Many questions to be answered about the people’s land and money..

4. And let’s not forget the Ionics Fresh Water scam..

…. same crooks, the contract from the previous government to Bizzy expired a year or so ago…and what did the brain power and common sense lacking jackasses in the exgovernment recently kicked out of parliament by the people do ………they re-upped the contract for another 15 years …if remember serves me.. at a cost of 25,000 per month to the taxpayers….despite not getting any benefits from that one-sided deal for the last 15 years, at least none that the people can see.

ya were dealing with sellouts and greedy dummies for leaders, who should be exported to the Middle East.

They should now be eager to go to ME since one of them was trying so desperately to get a 4 or 6 billion dollar loan from UAE….to do who knows what, probably to give away to minorities, but they would have all been handed overt UAE when they stole the people’s money….and could not pay it back .

So yardfowl….how are the negotiations on the Estwick billion dollar loan from UAE going now…lol.

5. Hal
    You mad? Two words–Administrative Law. Mia can only unilaterally withdraw the permission if the conditions have not been met within the prescribed time period. Given the delays caused by the court, it is safe to say the clock stopped. Furthermore, the EIA would address environmental matters; the bigger issues, however, are bigger than an EIA.

6. At least, though exposed Grenville is not one to give up Piece…and he talking out on what the Mia government he claims is backtracking on from their manifesto……corruption among their ministers…and their apparent, according to him, intent to protect past corruption in exministers from the now defunct DLP…this is a thing.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/06/27/on-their-sacred-honour/

“One of the most foreseen risks in politics is that politicians will break their solemn promises to the electorate on matters pertaining to corruption. One of the most common perceptions of politicians is that they will eventually receive bribes.

To address this risk and perception, Solutions Barbados designed, perhaps the most effective anti-corruption policy, and all Solutions Barbados candidates agreed to pay a penalty of $500,000 if they voted against it. This amount was chosen because contractors have admitted paying this bribe amount to politicians before they were convicted.”

I received some advice three years ago when I formed Solutions Barbados. I was informed that established parties in developing countries had one prime directive. It was not to look after the welfare of citizens. But rather, to protect all current and past politicians, from both established parties, from meaningful scrutiny. To ensure that no one would later develop a conscience, it was mandatory that everyone had to get their hands dirty.”

The Integrity in Public Life Bill has had its first reading in the House of Assembly. The corruption fine has been reduced from the promised “stiff” $500,000, to an affordable (on a minister’s salary) $10,000. So if a person accepts a $500,000 bribe, he can pay a paltry $ten,000 fine and get to keep $490,000. I do not think Barbadians voted for that level of accountability. It should be noted that there are a set of loopholes in the Bill to almost guarantee that that a conviction for bribery is impossible.”

7. Can Caswell confirm any of what Grenville posted to barbadostoday in his article.

8. Freedom Crier Avatar

I agree with you Mr. Phillips that they need to Change the 10.000 but I think they will Double it to 20.000 but it will only be for Show. KEEP THE PRESSURE ON.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/06/27/on-their-sacred-honour/

“When the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) provided their draft Integrity Bill on their website with stated fines of $500,000, I was surprised. When the BLP politicians spoke about the fines publicly, and promised in their manifesto, on their sacred honour, that they would punish corruption, hold ministers accountable and implement “stiff penalties” if elected, I was impressed. I determined that while hope for Barbadians was certain with a Solutions Barbados administration, it may just be possible with a BLP administration….

Had they signed a similar accountability contract to that of Solutions Barbados, then the total fine amount that would have been distributed to responsible registered charities across Barbados next month, would have been $15 million. Given that those honourable persons in Parliament have accepted their national responsibility to set good examples for our children to follow, I fully expect the bill to be suitably amended during the second reading by those who truly care.”

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/1e/fa/50/1efa506c295ceb84f23b7dc4135fba3e.jpg

9. Well well

Offences and penalties in respect of acts of corruption

a. A person who commits an act of corruption under section 51, 52 or 53 is guilty of an offence and is liable on conviction on indictment to a fine of $20 000 or to imprisonment for 5 years or to both;

b. on summary conviction to a fine of $10 000 or to imprisonment for 2 years or to both;

c. and to be disqualified from holding any public office for a period of 5 years from the date of conviction for the offence.

10. Thanks Enuff…I suspected it was already a law, but is it written in stone, can it not be amended to the 500,000 fine (and 25 year prison term, my words) that Grenville said Mia said she would upgrade in fine to punish corrupt ministers and their bribers, in her manifesto?

That is the issue he seems to be focused on, the back peddling from the election promise.

11. It has not even been debated yet, far less enacted as law. It is better read in its totality. What weight Grenville’s document would have had in law? lol

12. What is occurring with the breakaway group has destroyed the fledgling goodwill the party had developed.

13. Freedom Crier Avatar

It is Obvious they Could Not Stand the Test of Time… I was Surprised when Solutions Barbados had so many Candidates for the first time.

Not Everybody that says Me Too, Makes a Team and Every Team has a Leader …

It takes Time to find a Dedicated Group.

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/00/ab/7d/00ab7dae1407c25adfc40e603e9c4fa2.jpg

https://www.brainyquote.com/photos_tr/en/m/marktwain/169487/marktwain1.jpg

14. Enuff……Grenville was hardheaded and refused to listen to anyone, including Jeff whose counsel he should have seeked out…..hope he listens now though and has come to the realization that he does need to consult with a reputable attorney on some aspects of the law, particularly as it relates to the constitution..

15. And I don’t mean the constitution Grenville claim he crafted for his party members, that will just muddle everything.

16. oOh my God mother and daughter have made a video all about the scoundrel George Payne this duo have double tagged George Payne in video#2 where they gave all the sordid details of George Payne stealing family land
    Cant imagin howGeorge Payne can put his hand on the bible and swear to be a good and accountable representative of the people performing his duties as a minister
    George Payne you can run butbyou cant hide as social media has caught up with out and the backlash is not going to be pretty
    I dareDavid to go to Jackie Stewart page on face book and share on BU the nasty saga video of George Payne and his theifing ways
    What a national disgrace

17. exyardfowl..why didn’t you just post the video and stop being dramatic..steuppps

https://www.facebook.com/jackie.stewart.965/videos/811055439103997/?t=111

18. I don’t know what to say, hope they get it all sorted out soon, such an embarrassment for the island..

19. @Well, Well

Thank you for your summary… useful information on what’s been going on.. Very informative…

Blatant scams, bribery and endemic political corruption across the various projects you describe.. why is no one held accountable? These people saboteurs have to be brought to justice. If it does not happen, and very soon, it will be a sad indictment on the present government.

When political corruption goes unchecked (as in Barbados), it seeps into the fabric of society and the negative effects become widespread, as everything deteriorates. Witness the drag on the economy. Witness the downward slide of values.

Get some sensible planning legislation in place. Do not allow any more building on beachfront land. No Hyatt on that beach or any other beach. Think conservation, sustainability, what is right for the country.

20. Dexter…just the deterioration to the island’s infrastructure along with the rapid economic slide and difficulty to recover should have been red flags, but no one paid attention and those who were warning and warning about the signs, were ignored,,,,so now they have reached that place where they either clean up the corruption or slide even further.

This is the turning point.

21. Mia Amor Mottley is obliged as Prime Minister of Barbados to refer these women to the DPP and AG but hold your horses isn’t the AG and Payne partners in a law firm? I believe the mother or daughter called the AG’s name. Whatever the case the heart felt pleas of the women must be investigated and addressed as a matter of urgency. If their accusations are fake news expose them. If not let the law take its course.Madame Prime Minister you have a different albeit unplanned ‘mission critical ‘on your hands. Where is the main stream media on this developing political bombshell?

22. Two political scum bags. One being called a deputy PM and the other attorney general one dale Marshall Who is guarding the hen house this is video number 2 all sleazy and downright dirty
    GPayne yuh chickens have come home to roost. Yuh dirty ole crook

23. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Dunks Gripe and every one else

This is ONLY GOING TO BE A BIG THING if Madamoiselle Prime Minister Mottley DOES NOT kill it in utero.

By “kill it” we hopefully do not mean with any missing Remingtons but by using the simple options available to her.

The Pain in her side only recently acted as Deputy Prime Minister

And at this point of Barbados seeking $$ and IMF auxiliary fundsshe CANNOT HAVE A TEIFING DEPUTY ON HER TEAM.

@ Madamoiselle Prime Minister Mottley

De Ole Man advises you to have Pain tender his resignation in a publicity gimmick where you are there and he says something like he dies not want to tarnish the image of your government and that he resigns because of the matter NOT BECAUSE HE IS GUILTY BUT BECAUSE IT IS THE HONOURABLE THING TO DO.

GET RID OF HIM NOW OR IT IS GOING TO MAKE YOU LOOK LIKE FUMBLES AND CARRY A TON AWAY.

De Grandson going work pun it for you later this evening when he returns from a function a few miles away…

24. Then them two talking about corruption. The video shows who are the real corruptors Dale and George

25. @ David,

I expect pain will be added to BU Lawyers in the news if the women take the case to court and win.

Innocent until proven guilty ?

26. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Brother Hants

You are only being a gallows bait!

Imagine the Honourable Blogmaster adding Pain to the BU carousel!

Whuloss why that would mean denouncing *** heheheheh

27. @Hants

At this stage it is just an accusation, correct? As far as the blogmaster is aware the matter has not been pronounced on from an official source.

28. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Brother Hants

The Honourable Blogmaster is correct all this is just speculation.

If it is not true then it would possibly be a Machiavellian construct from the now defunct DLP or a well constructed plan by Eddie but even that is speculation

But if it is true then The new 30 day administration is faced with its Rubicon

De grandson done a Stoopid Cartoon bout it … to immortialize what becomes a veritable law of the Medes and another for the Persians

https://I.imgur.com/MeCvpVl.png

29. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

30. Piece……..it does not look like this one is going to go away…and it should not IF the information is accurate and particularly with an accusation of theft of land from the elderly which is a known practice among the more dishonest lawyers in Barbados, it has been going on for decades AND IT IS A CRIME..

The San Jose Charter on the Rights of the Elderly….sys it is a crime to abuse the elderly, stealing from the elderly is abuse, dragging them through the court system for any reason after they turn age 60 …IS ABUSE…there are no fine points of law that can be put on that to turn it on any parts of a hair, the charter of which the island is signatory to is very clear on that point..

….. they even stole land from those who went to Panama, who worked hard, returned to the island and combined their sources to buy properties, even the dumb ass governments, both of them, were involved in stealing land from their own people who worked so hard in Panama and were lucky to return to the island alive……thieving, disgusting, dishonest politicians cared nothing about that, they committed those crimes against their own people to please, appease and take bribes from the minority land thieves..

After decades of always jumping in front to be a part of stealing land from elderly black people, while looking down on them and calling them slaves, I am so happy to see the one Cow being made famous on the internet and world wide and being accused as being part of a plot to steal land from the elderly…..

……now all that bragging and boasting he did in the UK video claiming to be the richest man on the island owning the most land, will allow everyone in UK and Europe to understand how he was able to make that claim…the methods him and the thieves for attorneys applied and employed to get access to properties and land belonging o the elderly, sick, vulnerable, dying and dead, ripping off the beneficiaries of the Wills and Estates, calling the homes of the elderly to befriend them and get information on their properties and eventually access to their original Deeds which wee then seized, promptly forged using the Supreme Court and Land Registry and the names of strangers then attached to the forged Deeds or Wills, all the usual suspects whose names have been called in land theft for decades….used this well worn practice….ask Simmons and all his close fellow lawyers, QCs etc.

Should this turn out to be accurate and these females engage a UK attorney to press their case all the way to the CCJ level if it is not settled one way Orr the other, even more will come out…come out things, it is that time.

31. Y’all are easily convinced.

32. Another video of more allegations also questions by what God given authority does Dale marshall has a right to prosecute any one.
    Fraudlent allegations makes one question these two moral values Dale and George fits like hand in glove like foxes watching the hen housr

33. David Bu remember when allegations were levelled against David Thompson you were quick to post a picture of David Thompson on the lawyers in the News side bar
    Well Fake GEorge Payne and Dale Marshall is creating news maybe not the kind if news.that fits your agenda
    However as one who speaks about transparency thereforr in the public interest Dale and George is deserving of a photo op on the Lawyers in the News side bar

34. Enuff.. I presume you mean the latest video…cause ya cannot in good conscience mean what I posted when so much decades of proof abounds….victims or their beneficiaries still very much alive.

Anyway, we will know regarding these latest allegations because unless not settled satisfactorily and quietly, once a process has started it will become a matter of public record, as long as it is pursued.

35. Freedom Crier Avatar

WOW there is Nothing Fake about these Women’s Testimony…Passion All the Way, this is Not Going Away…Their Voices Will Be Heard.

https://asiapacificreport.nz/wp-content/uploads/2017/02/I-want-my-land-back-cartoon-680wide.png

36. yardfowls…did I not tell yall one of the corrupt governments was bound to destroy the other, even if the people had to do it themselves…well consider yall selves totally destroyed, wiped out, gone.

….yall should have exposed and locked up those ya accused of corruption and vote buying in BLP..when ya had the chance. and power to do so, but no, instead all the politrickans and ministers in the political cabal called themselves “the political class”…in other words… all yall committing crimes against the citizens and protecting each other from consequences and prosecution.

Grenville was not far off in his article about the advise he said was given to him about the political cabal within both governments protecting each other from scrutiny and their criminal practices

…, yall had 10 years, no excuse, instead yall played the corrupt game at the expense of the taxpayers and pensioners too…

now yall want a lawyers corner from the same blog all of you tried to shut down..lol…now really? what happened, yall ain’t the “political class” anymore?

……so boohooohooo

I tell ya what..get an IT person, with skills and pay them well, ya know how yall cheap and like the slavery system of not paying ya own people…let them create a blog and start talking all you know about the BLP ministers, ya blog will get famous in no time..

37. Could you believe these two governments who were always paid a salary by taxpayers for 52 years had the freaking nerve and unmitigated gall to class and label themselves a “political class” and practiced their version of apartheid against the majority black population…… that was the epitome of disrespect to the taxpayers who paid their salaries and they deserve all types of punishments for that nastiness..

Now one who no longer has standing not even as a dog catching political party, got the nerve and balls they never had to do the people’s work satisfactorily or competently to complain…lol…because their asses all got kicked to the curb.

38. Your hignorance knoweth no bounds.

David Thompson is in the Lawyers gallery because a forensic report clearly exposed him as complicit in the Clico matter.

#JA

39. That is your bias intrepretation. This George payne the alleged fraudster which you are protecting would allow the BU household to see how complict you are in witholding known alledge information about George Payne and Dale Marshall
    There are four videos circulating social media where the oldy who has been defrauded gives an emotional testimony as to how Fake George Payne and Dale Marshall sold their land
    Doesnt it even bother you David in the same manner as to how you took on the Carrington issue even after Carrington had honor the court order
    It is evident that your bias has overtaken your sense of reasoning after ten years of hotting and hollering about transparency

40. @pieceuhderockyeahright who wrote ” The Honourable Blogmaster is correct all this is just speculation.”

I agree…….but you cartoon intensifying de spekalation…heheheheh

41. Enuff my friend…… things are not looking so rosy at all, a drastic move is needed, the people don’t want anymore talk, they had 52 years of talk and losses…..demasiado.

42. @Hants

Such will be the case when one wants to define an opposition brand.

43. So what do we have here a blp administration with two top level ministers One attorney general dale marshall and the other Fake George Payne alledgely practicng as a qualified Solicitor without the proper certification as told by the daughter of the old lady who stated that when she questioned the proper authorities in the UK as to whether Payne was a certified Solicitor they said they had no documentation to prove he was
    Now this Payne has been rewarded the post of deputy PM

44. Mariposa,

There is a Bajan cultural tradition of make believe. I do not know if Payne is properly qualified, but that should be matter of public record. I do not know if Fred Gollop was properly qualified, but that too should be a matter of public record. Why do the Bajan media not investigate these matters?

45. The lady and daughter who has levelled these damming allegations have not hid their identity in their revelations
    So it would be very hard not to belive all they are saying about George Walton Payne and his fraudulent activities
    These women are now victims of known fraudulent activities formulated by lawyers who run for cover under the protection of parliamentary privilege
    Hopefully these women would pursue actions via the law courts to make these Fake and fradulent ministers pay for there misdeeds
    These two woman are seems not to be afraid of calling the names of George Walton Payne and Dale Marshall openly on social media
    Local media keeps eyes close since Mia placed a bullseye on their faces as a threat against them if and when they print any form of illegal allegations

46. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Mariposa

You said and I quote “…David Bu remember when allegations were levelled against David Thompson you were quick to post a picture of David Thompson on the lawyers in the News side bar..”

With all due respect to the Honourable Blogmaster AND HIS OBVIOUS LOYALTIES to a party that was a previous “opposition” heheheh you don’t seem to remember how the carousel of Lawyers in the News evolved.

There was a time afore times when all and sundry accusations against the brotherhood of Bloodsuckers Lawyers ( of whom The Luminary and about 125 more can be excluded) we rampant here.

And understandably so.

The Honourable Blogmaster in his wisdom and under advisement by his in house counsel decider to create this window and FILTER ITS WALL OF INFAMY? inhabitants to lawyers “in the news

George Payne IS NOT IN THE NEWS YET since Naked Departure nor Facebook is not the news.

@ Brother Hants

Heheheheh.

A careful examination of the grandson’s Stoopid Cartoon will realize that nothing that is even a remote accusation has been levelled at the honourable member of parliament and current representative for St Andrew

The Stupid Cartoon speaks more specifically to what “Watch Muh Now” will do, if & when, she is presented with her own “speaker of the house” Michael Carry-Way-a-Ton situation when her Deputy Prime Minister is put in prosecuted

My advice as self Appointed “Virtual Advocate & Leader of the Opposition of the Non-Existent Opposition of Barbados” is for that lady to put a paid advertisement in the Nation or Advocate or Barbados Today

But failing that take out an ad in a British Newspaper and sending that article to BU and see if George Linnaeus Banks’ local champion will let it be placed in the sacred carousel heheheh

If you reach out to de ole man I would love to help you with the newspaper article and ad heheheh

Watch muh now

47. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance again…

48. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Your assistance please with an item for Mariposa Honourable Blogmaster

49. exyardfowl…all Mia got to do is let Edmund Hinkson do the prosecuting..how bout that, you prefer that right..

50. Piece…it looks like the former “political class” disbanded and are no more..

… so ya have a now defunct former government and political party and a totally disintegrated “political class”..

I remember when air could not pass between them..lol

one the “political class”