There has been much discussion over the past 5 days about the 30 – 0 victory of the Barbados Labour Party over the for Democratic Labour Party government and other newer political parties at the General Elections which were held on May 24, 2018. It was a historic and resounding victory for the Barbados Labour Party as they not only received the mandate to govern unopposed but the first female Prime Minister of Barbados, Ms. Mia Amor Mottley was elected.

With the decimation of the main opposition, most persons resorted to the Constitution for guidance. The founding fathers clearly did not anticipate that such a situation would occur. Hence, the Constitution does not provide any guidance on this issue. It only states that the democratic process to produce a government would consist of the winning party which obtains most seats and an Opposition which won the remaining seats and that both would constitute the government. No exceptions are mentioned. There being no opposition, only members of Parliament of the current Administration can sit in the lower House of Parliament.

Some may be of the view that this 30-0 win is a constraint on the democratic system as there are no longer any checks and balances on the system or transparency and that the Constitution should be amended to make provision for some semblance of an opposition as the new government will do as it pleases without oversight. Most importantly there is a worry about the preservation of democracy if the island is a 2-party system.

The Constitution does not advocate the use of Senators in lieu of there being no Opposition elected as part of government. The Prime Minister was therefore very gracious to seek to amend the Constitution to allow Members from the Democratic Labour Party which polled the second highest percentage of votes to be appointed to the Senate. Another alternative that could have been pursued was to simply increase the pool of independent senators. Whether one likes it or not, this may end up being the case because for the majority of the population the credibility of the Democratic Labour ceases to exist and the majority of the people may not even want them to walk up the steps of Parliament again.

One can be of a different view that a unique opportunity has presented itself making the 30-0 victory a blessing in disguise. With over 50 years of self-governance behind us and going as far as we can with a 2-party system, the time as come to go to the next level in democracy. That is to empower the people to fully participate in the governance of Barbados.

It was indeed heartening when for the first time in history of electoral politics in Barbados that a draft Manifesto was presented to the people by the Barbados Labor Party for their thoughts, discussion, comment and input. One wonders why this never occurred before. Perhaps at the beginning of our independence when the majority were only educated to 7th standard they needed the government alone to decide their needs and what was best for the country. However, after 50 years of independence and the majority having obtained secondary education and a thousands of university graduates, one wonders why a Manifesto coming from the people was not on the table until this election.

It would be a waste given the heightened political discussions that emanated throughout the island since the dissolution of Parliament on March 6th, 2018 for most people to revert to lives void of politician participation. Without an Opposition, the responsibility also falls on the electorate to maintain the democracy. It is for the good of the country as we seek to rebuild Barbados not only economically and socially but politically as well.

A 30-0 majority further provides the opportunity for greater input of Barbadians in the process of governance; whether it be in oversight, checks and balances, in decision making and by referendum and constituency councils. Members were selected for the constituency councils under the previous Administration, but they have failed to perform.

To this end the Government Information Service can be used as a tool to provide a body of knowledge to educate all citizens and residents, preparing them for active participation by providing the training for the empowerment of the people. The Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation and the Internet can be used as the medium to ensure that this becomes a reality.

One hopes that this 30-0 historic victory will signal the end of an era when the people only participated politically by casting ballots every five years and heralds the commencement of revolutionary changes as part of the rebuilding process making Barbados a participatory democracy. One can argue that with active continuous participation that not only will the people have a greater interest in their governance, participate more in the polls and reduce the numbers who do not vote but more importantly that we all can truly sing the part of the national anthem which states that we are “strict guardians of our heritage, firm craftsmen of our fate.”

300 responses to “A Heather Cole Column – Historic 30-0 Win for BLP: Constitutional Constraint or Opportunity?”

1. Is Mottley and the BLP being charitable by offering the DLP (others) two seats or does the Constitution demands it.

2. In the interest of transparency, the vacant seats provided for the opposition can be filled with representatives of the critical civic / private bodies which can be observers, offer views, professional advice or suggestions and act as a conduit for highlighting public calls and concerns. Further, all Parliamentary sessions must be televise in real time, with a network of media platforms as monitors and reporters of the peoples business.

3. Hamilton Hill Avatar

Without even being a troll if Facebook rantings offer an insight into the obviously warped think tank of the DLP denial readily comes to mind. The sense of entitlement they claimed was felt by PM Mottley, still flows through through their veins. That their base opted to take a pass on the election spoke volumes, and does not alter the fact that Barbados unceremoniously rejected today’s version of the DLP. What if they nominated the former Speaker and the former Minister of Housing? How would such not be an affront to Barbadians? I say let the social partnership that failed so miserably for the last ten years get a chance to redeem itself. To hell with the DLP. What the government should be doing is seizing their blasted passports.

4. @HH

Agree with you, there is a rabid commentary taking place post the 2018 Barbados General Election by DLP supporters. It says a lot that we prefer to avoid discussing the issues disappointment notwithstanding the fact your party lost.

5. Senate hearings are radio broadcast and streamed on the Internet not so?

6. Booby Morris the man who presided over the historic DLP defeat has advised his party not to accept the two seats.

7. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

The constitution demands an opposition, amending the constitution to offer a leaderless and decimated exgovernment 2 senate seats…is pure courtesy.

There has been never a better time in the island’s history or better opportunity…to finally dismantle and destroy permanently. ..the yardfowl philosophy, so destructive to the last 3 generations of unaware and vulnerable bajans….and wielded with delight and glee as a weapon against the people by both governments…. for 60 years.

8. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE there is a rabid commentary taking place post the 2018 Barbados General Election by DLP supporters. It says a lot that we prefer to avoid discussing the issues disappointment notwithstanding the fact your party lost.

WILL BARBADIANS WHO SUPPORT THE DLP NOW BEHAVE LIKE AMERICANS WHO HAVE EXIBITED TRUMP DERANGEMENT SYNDROME SINCE HIS EPIC DEFEAT OF HILARY IN 2016.

WILL ANYONE ADDRESS ANY OF THE ISSUES MENTIONED IN MS COLE’S ARTICLE, OR WILL WE GET THE USUAL DOSE OF DAILY DRIVEL IN RESPONSE……….AS USUAL?

9. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

From their actions on the 24th, the electorate has become cognizant and mature enough to understand and have paid a very steep price in 52 years to learn that you do not elect ministers because they can talk stupid, or because they wutless or because you like them…

…. you elect ministers based on their performance in the cabinet that benefits you who voted for them, no performance that benefits you the voter….kick them out, any election to parliament, must be performance based…

Yardfowls are a blight to society, time to rid the environment of them all.

10. Mia Mottley’s response is to change the constitution to accommodate the DLP.

Bobby Morris’ position is thank you but we would prefer to earn our seats.

Who is the adult and who is the child?

Not a good sign for the future.

11. The only opposition in the senate will come from “INDEPENDENT” senators appointed by ……!!

12. If presented, the DLP should accept the offer of two seats in the Senate as promised by the new PM. Why did the PM hint that the offer may not be accepted did she know something that we don’t? Did she have a back channel to Bobby Morris who said the DLP should refuse the offer? I’m sorry to say but this is an instant where Bobby has proved himself to be an idiot, the Party was soundly defeated and instead of participating in the Parliamentary democracy he would advise it to pout and remain on the sidelines.

These constitutional proposals are always murky, but it leads me to ask the question if the DLP nominates two senators and one or both prove to be lacking in the job who then can request their removal/replacement since there is no Opposition leader, would the PM say “you made your bed now lie on it”?

O ye of short memory the issue of corruption has always been just below the surface and the cast of characters accused of same are always those associated with the Gov’t/ Party in power. Just a few years ago it was VECO,3S, Hardwood etc…. now it’s the DLP’s turn. I seem to recall that OSA even promised to release an FBI report that followed 9/11 which allegedly had the names of Bajan civil servants and politicians with Bank deposits far in excess of what their salaries would support all that was what propelled the Thompson campaign to claim the higher ground on the promise of Integrity, transparency etc. and the inaction on that promise has led us to where we are today which is the BLP promising to do the same.
    Hope springs eternal……..

13. @John

By an independent GG of course!

14. Prime Minister Mottley did rub it in at the swearing in, words to the effect the people have spoken by the 30-0 result and she was being ‘generous (?)’ to amend the Constitution. A little politicking at an uncalled for time perhaps?

15. @Sargeant

The GG will have to appoint therefore she can fire/reappoint?

16. Georgie Porgie Avatar

THE GG IS NOT INDEPENDENT AT ALL.

I RECALL HER MOANING OUTSIDE SURFSIDE GYM IN 2001 IN BLP TIMES THAT SHE WAS NOT BEING ADVANCED, BECAUSE SHE WAS DLP

“BUT WHEN THE FULL NESS OF TIME WAS COME” (pleroma en chronos) SHE WAS ADVANCED!

17. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Dr Georgie Porgie

Because I know you to be a man of acute reasoning skills I KNOW THAT YOU ARE NOT SERIOUSLY ENTERTAINING THIS DRIVEL!

Where has this writer said anything here thst The Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch has not exhausted in his blog?

Seriously Doctor?

Let me tel a bite of this DRIVEL

She says and I quote “…To this end the Government Information Service can be used as a tool to provide a body of knowledge to educate all citizens and residents, preparing them for active participation by providing the training for the empowerment of the people…”

What the expletive real bad bajan cussword does that gibber mean ?

Let me take a spatula AND GLOVES and examine the faeces.

Read it closely Dr GP.

It mek sense to you?

But de ole man heah so i going entertain you for a few till i get sleepy again.

Imagine that GIS, the veritable Tyranosauras Rex of Broadcasting Agencies in Barbados is now being promoted to BAJANS as the tool “…preparing them for active participation by providing the training for the empowerment of the people…”

Dr GP now really preparing them for “..active participation…” what the bad word is that?

Quickly followed by “…providing the training for the empowerment of the people?”

Doctor are you for real?

Recently dem has been giving de ole man *** Which is the closest thing to a legal hallucinogen that is pun de shelf. Looka is mek de ole man ting regular bout “…and I John being in the spirit…”

Is you tekking some too?

Steupseee you now see why you friends dat you recommending to BU leaving AND NEVER RETURNING?

Cause dem seeing dem usually sharp critical thinking GP seduced by gunner and DRIVEL and promoting ingrunce

You hurt me wid dis one doc right in me sigmoid heheheheh dat is where some uh me problems emanating doc but be ole man still pressing on…

18. @David
    The GG is supposed to be apolitical, these are not a GG’s appointments but Party appointments, can the DLP “leadership” approach the GG and say we want to rescind the appointment of X or Y? Guess we will have to wait for the Constitutional amendment. I have mused before that the Gov’t may take the opportunity to make other constitutional changes why tinker with a single one?

19. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“THE GG IS NOT INDEPENDENT AT ALL.

I RECALL HER MOANING OUTSIDE SURFSIDE GYM IN 2001 IN BLP TIMES THAT SHE WAS NOT BEING ADVANCED, BECAUSE SHE WAS DLP”

Let me amend the above statement…I was trying to remember who had made the above comment….thanks GP.

Yardfowls are not only destructive and toxic to the social environment, they are also destructive to themselves when they become blind and rabid supporters of one or the other political party.

…in the case of Mason, her elevation should not have come about because of affiliation or part of some yardfowl brigade of a sitting government, given her decades of service to the country, it should have been a given, on her own merit and track record of being a public servant of good standing,

In addition, no political party or government had any right to impede her progress to elevation because she was not part of their yardfowl brigade or did not give judicial decisions that favored them or their friends.

20. @Sargeant

The bigger point you missed is that in the absence of an elected Opposition the GG is large and in charge.

21. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

It is a time, the best timev ever afforded the electorate for Constitutional changes and transformation, both varied and wide, Mia hinted as much on the 25th.

22. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Most Honourable pieceuhderockyeahright

I hope that you have not misunderstood me.

I was saying that no matter the content of a matter on BU, that in the desire for posters to avail themselves of the opportunity to participate and say their piece (pun and fun intended) that often, that they do not address or respond to the issues raised.

Consequently the blog is inundated with verbal diarrhoea.

However, it is often a source of amusement for an old, bored, retired man.

23. Hilary Clinton won the popular vote.James Comey’s action to re-open the Clinton File just a few days before the election and his failure to reveal the Russian interference in the election of which the FBI was aware,all came together to put in place the Trump fiasco that is now the wreck in the White House.Racism,xenophobia and lunacy now permeates the pysche of the once great US of A.

24. The DLP should take the offer and give the seats to 2 young democrats.They will learn a lot.

The DLP should focus on rebuilding the party after sending the former Ministers into ” retirement “.

They can oppose the government in the media and should create a shadow cabinet comprised of aspiring politicians.

25. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

“Booby Morris the man who presided over the historic DLP defeat has advised his party not to accept the two seats.”…Mr Blogmaster some things make great political sense that may not appear to be common sense; I offer Morris’s view as one such.

*Nothing those two DLP voices in Senate will be able to do to really to shift the collossus that is the BLP govt so practically why take these two spots.
    *The DLP have to work quite hard to rebuild their party but they have the on ground structure and experience to do it so it’s politically well argued that that’s where their focus should be in these next five years to reclaim their position as an alternative govt.
    *Conversely it can be argued that to cede the position of ‘official opposition’ is unwise but that’s a calculated strategic ploy that can be made based on foregoing point.

This is a tenuous and scary moment for the DLP. Whatever they do needs to be done with precision and be well thought out and they MUST jettison the principals most publicly associated with this debacle and bring forward their most inspiring youthful talent …obvious as the nose on our face of course but so too was their putrid operations leading up to the election debacle so lets see if sound political judgement can be effectively meshed with some good commonsense this time!!

26. Are they still doing stem cell research in Barbados? Is the BLP government going to clean up the swamp?

27. @Dee Word

One has to always assume that better days are ahead.

You agree to be part of the solution or step aside.

In one breath Morris cannot say that the DLP is the Opposition of based on numbers voted in the last general election and then refuse the opportunity to participate in the system of government, even with its warts.

28. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Please kindly note that I have no objection to Sandra’s elevation.

I appeared before her many times in several magistrate courts while giving evidence for the Crown, and also had dealings with her when she was Registrar, and as co spectators at cricket as members of the BCA.

I HAVE ALWAYS ADMIRED AND RESPECTED HER AND I AM HAPPY THAT SHE WAS ADVANCED, EVENTUALLY! As I said above “BUT WHEN THE FULL NESS OF TIME WAS COME” (pleroma en chronos) SHE WAS ADVANCED!

I SINCERELY SYMPATHISED WITH HER THAT SATURDAY MORNING OUTSIDE SURFSIDE GYM , AND AM GLAD THAT SHE WAS LATER PROMOTED TO JUDGE, SUPREME COURT JUDGE AND NOW GG. I THOROUGHLY ENJOY SEEING HER PRETTY FACE IN OUR ONLINE PAPERS, AS I SIT HERE IN FL.

MANY DESERVING FOLK IN BARBADOS DO NOT EVER GET THE PROMOTIONS THAT THEY DESERVE.

MANY FOLK IN LIFE DO NOT EVER GET THE PROMOTIONS THAT THEY DESERVE.

29. Bobby Morris is being disingenuous. He is adopting Hillary Clinton’s old trick of losing the College but winning the so-called popular vote. Ours is a first past the post system. The DLP lost comprehensively and should go away and tend to their wounds. It will take a generation to recover (unless the BLP performs as badly as some people think it will).

30. Here is a link to the Barbados Constitution, it makes for good reading from Sec 32:

http://www.oas.org/dil/the_constitution_of_barbados.pdf

31. Georgie Porgie May 29, 2018 9:28 AM

Unless you are Rawdon Adams.

32. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

GP…why don’t you just say your piece and leave other commenters alone and stop being a bore. ..the blogmaster knows how he wants his blog to respond to situations that can bring about positive change.

No one challenges your nonsense posts, they allow you to wear yourself out.

The sooner the yardfowl problem is taken care of….the sooner the cabinet can get to work without distractions about how many yardfowls they have to please, appease, elevate AND MISLEAD.

33. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Hal
    re Are they still doing stem cell research in Barbados?
    HOW DOES THIS QUESTION RELATE TO THE SUBJECT UNDER DISCUSSION?

Is the BLP government going to clean up the swamp?

Which swamp are you refering to? GOVERNMENT OR GRAHME HALL?

34. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

As much as I dislike the pretentious GG post, I dont think anyone begrudges Mason her elevation, she has always been true to her service to country through it all.

35. Freedom Crier Avatar

@ Heather…There is nothing wrong with winning 30-0 that is the Will of the people. There is no need to Change the Constitution, a Constitution does not need to change every time something happens.

We already have our Participatory Democracy, we elected people to represent us and now you want a Say and you did not Face the Poles. You were Free to do so. If they are a 160.000 registered voters and you want Participatory Democracy you are Advocating Mob Rule.

We have long ago moved away from that but you forget where the Power Truly Lies… it lies not in the Hands of the Politicians but in the hands of the people. We can Demonstrate, Protest and Speak Openly and Freely according to the same Constitution.
    PM MAM recognising that Power can easily be Abused has already revived the Social Partnership that the government will meet with on a Regular Basis to get their input. This partnership includes the Unions.

I share your concerns but not your Methodology and the PM has taken the Correct Steps to Mitigate our Fears. And in the words of Barack Obama , “Elections have Consequences”.

We as Voters should always look behind the Shin Teet and Vote for Substance and not Vote for a Chavez/Madora Ideology.

https://pics.me.me/have-the-last-few-months-helped-you-to-understand-why-30434427.png

36. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Gabriel May 29, 2018 9:16 AM

I WATCHED A DOCUMENTARY OF THE 1968 US ELECTIONS LAST NIGHT, AND WAS AMAZED THAT “the pysche of the once great US of A” WAS AS RABID AS IT IS TODAY.

37. Bobby Morris is being disingenuous. He is adopting Hillary Clinton’s old trick of losing the College but winning the so-called popular vote. Ours is a first past the post system. The DLP lost comprehensively and should go away and tend to their wounds. It will take a generation to recover (unless the BLP performs as badly as some people think it

If for the senate to exist there have to be opposition senators, the senate cannot exist.

If for the Government to exist there has to be a senate then the Government cannot exist!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Therefore Parliament cannot exist!!!!!!!!!!!

QED

Play it again Sam??????????????

38. A two party system cannot comprehend a one party state!!

39. Georgie Porgie,

I am talking about a new broom sweeping clean – new regulations from top to bottom. Sometimes we like to think in silos, but seeing the broader picture helps. Our total regulatory system needs an overhaul, including bogus Big Pharma and medical research firms, not only financial firms.

40. @ David BU

Lynette Eastmond, maintains that the INSTRUMENT is ALREADY contained in the Constitution to allow the Governor General of Barbados to carry out her functions, in the absence of a leader of the Opposition, to fill the two vacant spots in the Senate.

According to Eastmond, “Section 75 (a & b) of the Constitution deals with this eventuality. During any period in which there is a vacancy in the office of Leader of the Opposition, the Governor General is required to act in her discretion, in the exercise of any function in respect of which it is provided in the Constitution that the Governor-General must act in accordance with the advice of the Leader of the Opposition.

“Further, in circumstances where the Governor General is required to act on the recommendation of the Prime Minister after consultation with the Leader of the Opposition, the Governor-General will act on the recommendation of the Prime Minister alone,” it was explained.

Eastmond added, “Section 36 of the Constitution provides that the Senate must consist of twenty-one qualified persons. The Governor General must appoint 12 of these Senators acting in accordance with the advice of the Prime Minister. Two Senators are to be appointed by the Governor-General, acting in accordance with the advice of the Leader of the Opposition. [Barbados Advocate, May 29, 2018]

41. Two Senators are to be appointed by the Governor-General, acting in accordance with the advice of the Leader of the Opposition. [Barbados Advocate, May 29, 2018]

+++++++++++++++++++

So the GG has to advise herself who should be appointed and then appoint them.

If the GG decides not to follow her advice, then the Senate is short 2 and can’t exist because “Section 36 of the Constitution provides that the Senate must consist of twenty-one qualified persons” two of who are to be appointed by the GG acting on her advice to herself …. which she may not take.

Dis hey could be a kill cow!!

What remains of the fattened calf is for the moment just beyond reach.

42. Does Parliament change the constitution?

Does the senate ratify the change?

The constitution is written the way it has been for a purpose!!

No one party state!!

43. Can the GG say “Play it again Sam?”

44. @Artax

Prime Minister Mottley might have missed an opportunity to reform membership to the Senate. Give up five of her 12 to other stakeholders in civil society.

45. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

There is no leader of the opposition….and without one…it is a request to the GG from the new PM…to….

46. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Besides, I don’t see why a big production is being made of this, it never happened before but it is not brain surgery, select two nonpartisan individuals for service in the senate…it will be at taxpayer’s expense anyway.

Start cutting down on the yardfowl train.

47. This could be the shortest term in history …… another first for the new “PM”

48. @ David
    The Senate should be automatically populated with a majority that represents the leadership of the social partnership.(as proposed in BU’s 10 point plan)
    What is the point in having the SAME lower house arrangement replicated in the upper house?
    Right now the ONLY purpose of the senate is to give political losers a chance to enhance their pension.

49. “So the GG has to advise herself who should be appointed and then appoint them.”

John

You PURPOSELY ignored the first part of the comment re: “Eastmond added, “Section 36 of the Constitution provides that the Senate must consist of twenty-one qualified persons. The Governor General must appoint 12 of these Senators acting in accordance with the advice of the Prime Minister”………….

……………..to focus on the latter part and took it completely out of context…….. for the sole purpose of “creating a straw man to knock him down.”

My friend, what did you intend to achieve from this silly, childish at?