We had the leaked BLP manifesto and last night we witnessed the political theatrics crescendoed with leader of the Barbados Labour Party Mia Mottley pulling the DLP Manifesto from a red bag- a bag that is gaining popularity on the campaign trail. A quick scan of the manifesto promises to revolutionize agriculture under the theme building a digital economy.

Click image to read DLP Manifesto

100 responses to “BLP Launches DLP Manifesto”

1. STOLEN PROPERTY ?

Just asking ?

2. Hants May 17, 2018 7:29 PM STOLEN PROPERTY ?
    Just asking ?

Well in Barbados a lot of things go running away, like the $10Million that went in Clico.

How about that?

3. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

A thief from a thief does make God laff.

4. David

A speaker, George Pilgrim, has described a set of circumstances which seem to suggest how and where the document would have been derived.

Pilgrim has given a number of examples which seem to suggest that the leaked document is not the final document and might have been a work in progress stolen from a computer.

He has also suggested that a cyber crime might have been committed by the person in possession of the document, a document purporting to be the DLP’s manifesto, in final draft.

All kinds of conclusions have been made here today on your BU. Including by you yourself. What sayeth thee!

Does this not suggest that a higher level of care should be taken with all information coming from belligerents.

5. Remember 1986 and a guy into graphic arts leaking the BLP manifesto to the Dems

6. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV (formerly CBC TV and Radio) Avatar
    Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV (formerly CBC TV and Radio)

What is the DLP worried about ?!?!?!? is it not DEM that said a manifesto is not a social contract????….Therefore the manifesto was garbage before it was even printed!!!!….But let us go further….do i need to go pass the cover of this document??? on the cover is an image of a child that whose facial expression could be interpreted “wuh foolishness the DEMS coming with now”….Anyhow, according
    to the few points that Mia read out, for the DEMS, unless the manifesto had promised the return of the Christ i don’t think the electorate would be swayed by their manifesto or ANY manifesto from ANY party in general….

7. NorthernObserver Avatar

The document isn’t loading as per normal….going to your iCloud account.

8. The manifesto is just for show anyway……….it is not a social contract according to the dems.

9. When are we going to compare and analyse the different manifestos? Abuse from the platform is good theatre; we can get cheap laughs from Kerrie Symmonds and Estwick ll day, but at some point we must come down to earth.
    Let us look at the policy proposals, even if they are not social contracts.

10. Fractured BLP Avatar

Well at Oistins last night

Mia was hit with another set of questions

That left many persons aghast

Cringing and saying oh what a turfing Mia Mottley !!!

11. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Brother Hants

Teifed or not teifed me grandson going have a field day with this one as soon as he get it later today heheheheh whuloss hold muh muh belly, I gine fall

12. Fractured,

I have a couple of questions too.

Do any of those seeking reelection own a condo on the Toronto Waterfront? If so, that would be nuff $$$$$$$$$$$$

Do any of those seeking reelection own, collectively or individually, a gated housing development tin Toronto?

Do any of the those seeking reelection own significant property in the UK?

13. Why you don’t answer questions from as far back as CLICO, Cahill, Cost U Less, Parris and the garbage trucks in the port? Henderson Williams and Needhams Point? Bushy Park, Grotto, Valery, Rock Hard cement etc?

14. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Fractured Fowl…so why is none of it in the newspapers/online or on facebook yet , if it was such a bombshell..lol

Ya remember the blowback from the last bombshell..which will take court appearances and hundred thousand dollar if not million dollar settlements to recover from..

15. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Close relative of mine just signed up to purchase property in Toronto, very expensive undertaking and their income is not any shabby 17,000 dollars a month…..the UK even more expensive…

How could exministers manage these foreign expenses on 17,000 dollar a month salaries?

Those are the real questions need asking.

16. The DLP has rejected the BLP manifesto pledge to reprofile the debt, did they say what they will be doing? Coming from Estwick. Will he curb his pitbill tendency now that we have learned his mother passed away?

17. We note the DLP camp has pulled the wire tapping card. When will they produce some proof?

18. David

How do you respond to the proof cited above, stated last night? Is that bar too low?

19. Will a future BLP government carry out an audit of assets of former DLP ministers, senior civil servants and close relatives? If so we want to know before May 24. Silence means no.

20. @Pacha

What proof are you referring?

21. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Hal Austin

You asked and the ole man quoteth “Will a future BLP government carry out an audit of assets of former DLP ministers, senior civil servants and close relatives? …”

Then you incredulously arrived at …” Silence means no…”

How did you get that done Mr Austin?

The logic of that your statement is incredible at best and I won’t use the bad word to say what it is at worst

What would be the rationale behind the incoming administration saying what it will have to do before it is the new administration?

Do you have any experience with the workings of international agencies and investor confidence?

Well de ole man will use this Biblical verse for you to orient your answer.

“Which of you having new wine putteth it into old vessels…”

Some here say that “since you have been in Englant for 40 YEARS, you are assuredly mad, AS ARE ALL LONG STAY BAJAN BRITISHERS”

Is that statement true, your silence means yes…see how that syllogism works in your case?

Steupseee

22. David

If you are building a document, a manifesto, and a copy is presented by somebody else but that copy, so made public, was not the final version, and you are also fairly certain that the limited number of people with access to such a document did not intentionally leak it, does this not present evidence that a cyber crime could have taken place.

It this not to be a consideration in a time of political hacking by political hacks?

That is the argument of the DLP. It may certainly not constitute proof, but there is no other evidence to the contrary. Certainly, the BLP will not attract more attention to this issue.

23. Many scenarios could have played out to have permitted the leak including cyberattack. Don’t buy the cyber talk because the perpetrator could have easily retrieved the final version.

24. David

Your expected opinion.

What if the perpetrator accessed the document before the final draft was decided, like the DLP is saying.

We could imagine that both parties, only recently, approved final drafts

Indeed, the BLP is in the same position

Strategic errors in their mini-manifesto seems to have made a rethink of the full manifesto unavoidable.

A position that sees them burnishing their final documents, to the last possible moment.

We think that both parties, may assemble information prior, but only get serious about a manifesto once the bell rings.

Indeed, the BLP seems late with their full manifesto because of ‘corrections’ still being made, at least over the last number of days.

25. @ David

“The DLP has rejected the BLP manifesto pledge to reprofile the debt, did they say what they will be doing?”

During CBC’s program on Wednesday night hosted by Peter Thorne, George Connolly said the DLP is also looking at reprofiling the debt.

26. We can expect all manner of desperate things from desperate morons over the next five days!

27. pieceuhderockyeahright May 18, 2018 9:59 AM

The reasoning is simple: in a political climate in which abuse of office is alleged, in which procurement has been allegedly used as a tool of corruption. If voters are to renew their confidence in the political system, which presumably is a democratic objective, then any incoming government must pledge to clear up any suspicions. Just look at the allegations surround Elliot Mottley and his tax rebate.
    If the incoming government refuses to say yes, then it implicitly suggests there is nothing wrong. If voters are happy with this, then so be it. As to the other part of your post, consider that treated with the contempt it deserves.

28. Why does this government defend its stewardship?

Like…….the sewage flowing on the South Coast for nearly one year now, what is the plan to solve the problem

Like……..the plan to buy garbage trucks so that the garbage piling up all over Barbados could be cleaned up. They inherited a SSA with 67 trucks in 2008.

Like………the lack of buses to transport poor black people whom they claim are whom they love. They inherited a Transport Board in 2008 with a fleet of over 200 buses, last count only 65 were working while people wait 3 to 4 hours for a bus.

Like……..how the QEH has gone down hill since 2008 with only emergency surgery available now, lack of basic supplies, non payment to suppliers who only supply what they in all good conscience cannot withhold

Like……..the bad state of all our roads

Like……..the state of the economy…….23 downgrades since 2008

Like……. the matter of corruption……

Does the DLP think that with such an abysmal record like this with every aspect of government in total chaos……..do they think they should really be re-elected?

Hell NO!

29. @Artax

You are correct, as discussed today on the talk show Estwick seems to be against it as well.

Clarity is required!

30. @Pacha

You used the word what is which accords to the explanation given. We don’t know do we.

31. Where is Michael Howard analysis of the incumbent manifesto. We the electorate would like to hear your assessment in order to place our X.

32. David

Yes, we don’t know for certain.

But how much more do we really know about anything unless we have hard evidence, or make judgments based on the little known.

Even when the DLP presents hard proofs, they are ignored by you.

How would you suppose the DLP manifesto came into the possession of the BLP’s leader? Nothing has thus far been said, as far as we know.

But several speakers on the DLP platform last night made estimates as to how a draft of their manifesto became public.

In the absence of contradictory claims, the political evidence tendered last night seems to be one plausible explanation.

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

David May 18, 2018 11:05 AM
    “@Artax
    You are correct, as discussed today on the talk show Estwick seems to be against it as well.
    Clarity is required!”

Isn’t the arrangement involving $ 5 billion loan from the UAE to pay off the existing national debt a form of ‘debt reprofiling’? Or should we play the game of semantics and refer to it as ‘debt restructuring’?

Now whose idea was that? Certainly not Stinkliar’s or Fumble would have readily gone along with it; Powerpoint presentation and all!

Estwick has lost all intellectual integrity and today is nothing more than a castrated pit-bull with a muzzle for a mask around his bloated face.

34. My POSTMAN IS COMPLAINING.

In all his 24 years of service to the communities in this constituency, he has never come across so many names affixed to addresses that are not valid and vows to return them.

Suspect?

The GENERAL POST OFFICE MUST COMPILE LISTS OF ALL RETURNED FICTICIOUS CAMPAIGN MAIL FROM EVERY CONSTITUENCY.

FORWARD these returned list to the Electoral and Boundaries Commission and to THE ROYAL BARBADOS POLICE FORCE.

The Electoral Boundaries Commission must publish these names.

The Chief Electoral Officer at EACH polling station must also have a relevant list of the names and addresses of these non delivered mail and notify the Police Officer stationed at the polling station SHOULD any person presenting themselves to vote using any name or address on the list. The Police must DOCUMENT and record their claim.

The COMMISSIONER OF POLICE must direct is officers accordingly.

SPECIAL NOTE:
    THE MAIL DOES NOT ORIGINATE FORM THE EBC.

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Tell me Why May 18, 2018 11:12 AM
    “Where is Michael Howard analysis of the incumbent manifesto. We the electorate would like to hear your assessment in order to place our X.”

Michael Howard is known for recommending (in previous articles) an IMF programme similar to what Owen Arthur has also proposed.

We shall see if he is prepared to comment on such a glaring omission from the DLP’s economic recovery programme.

36. @Pacha

What evidence? Not sure where you are going with this, all we have is an accusation. How Mottley got her hands on a version of the DLP’s manifesto is speculation.

37. Where do the major parties stand on the creation and/or expansion of not-for-profit and mutual organisations: cooperatives, credit unions, work-controlled companies, etc? Is the democratising of the economy a par t of their policies?
    If the claim is true that a future BLP government would go to the IMF, then the party must explain the conflicts between their proposed policies (extending the state pension, etc) and how these would conflict with the Washington Consensus, such as deregulation and privatisation?
    If the BLP plans, if elected, to created another tier of government, they have an obligation to the people to explain how that wold work and where it would fit within the existing system.
    What is the BLP’s position on the urgent need for a new Companies Act, give the scandal of Clico et al?

38. Where is Professor Howard’s analysis of the DLP’s “proposals” this morning?

He was out early last week having his say on the BLP’s!

39. There is the role of Glyne Murray as a public commentator with the objective to grease the airwaves with anti Mia views. Note the blogmaster is sharing observations.

40. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Nine of Nine

You said and the ole man quoteth “My POSTMAN IS COMPLAINING. In all his 24 years of service to the communities in this constituency, he has never come across so many names affixed to addresses that are not valid and vows to return them…”

There is a (little known?) practice that the United States embassies effect worldwide as part of their “ground-truthing” of immigration applications which relies on “access agents”

The very nature of information collection necessitates that all information that is gathered from the “marketplace” must be independently verified by one, or more than one, source.

The observation of your postman falls into such a category of ground truthing as does the long time practice of the US Embassy to have a specific Access Agent in every bank in a VISA applicant’s country who being on the US payroll, will independently confirm the fallacious bank account statements that persons provide to the embassy/Immigration agency.

In 2018, what you are hinting at SHOULD BE PART OF ANY SERIOUS Election List Validation process.

In fact de ole man would go further with regards to Voter and Good Democratic Governance practices but den it would only serve to **** and dat ent a good thing heheheheheh.

We are not ready Nine of Nine we are not ready.

This is one of the Miami Vice Johnson strategies which, in conjunction with the washpan of Caricom eligible residents names AND THE FALSE IDs the DLP will use to corrupt the General Elections in 7 days.

THis is why the whole EBC system HAS TO BE REVMPED and broug into the 21st century

41. David

The evidence are several errors and omissions between the version made public by Mottley as compared with the version made public by the DLP, one or two day after.

Their case is based, as we told your earlier, on these errors and omissions when comparing the two.

42. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

https://i.imgur.com/bjCDrAs.png

The above Manifesto is the correct publication of the Demonic Lying Party.

Many will ask where this copy was obtained.

The answer will amaze many of you.

Earlier this week, during an emergency meeting of the Demonic Lying Party at the George Street Auditorium, the overpriced food served by Dumbville’s caterering firm gave all the DLP attendees the bowels.

Unfortunately, there was no toilet paper available to wipe the running pooches of those people and Pigrim and WeJonesing suggested that the Manifesto be used to wipe dere pooches.

The shyte document blocked up the toilets and a plumber, a relative of Pigrim and We Jonesing, both men well versed in proctology, recommended a plumber for the job.

Said plumber retrieved one of the unused toilet rolls/manifests and it was he who exposed this shyte, figuratively and literally.

PS. both Pigrim and WeJonesing said that the toilet paper replacement/manifesto was the best tolet paper ever to have wiped their sensitive badwords

43. All we know is that the blp manifesto is grounded in unrealistic goals and pandering to its yardfowl supporters who by now have realised that Mia over bloated pork barrel would eventually bust at the seams

44. Piece,
    Both Manifesto have been placed on the table, for what they are worth, but you see what is happening of the ground need to be monitored, checked and prepared for any eventualities.

LISTS MUST BE CLEANSE.

…”Unfortunately, there was no toilet paper available to wipe the running pooches of those people and Pigrim and WeJonesing suggested that the Manifesto be used to wipe dere pooches”…WHAT A VERSE…bawling.

45. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Pacha; Did you or the DLP actually handle the version that MIA had and compare it with the real final version or are you taking the word of proven liars? (nb. All politicians are liars).

Do you realize that the comparison story must be a fake?

Have you actually seen the many errors and omissions, not just heard of them?

Have you considered what kind of brassbowl prints drafts on expensive glossy paper or important documents on plain cheap paper?

Do you know where the DLP manifesto was printed?

Would’nt Mia have been very strategic and machiavellian to engineer the printing of a stolen pdf document on expensive glossy paper rather than plain paper?

46. “All we know is that the blp manifesto is grounded in unrealistic goals and pandering to its yardfowl supporters who by now have realised that Mia over bloated pork barrel would eventually bust at the seams.”

Let’s be reasonable and rational in our thinking.

The DLP has been unable to accomplish or implement any of their policy proposals as outlined in their 2008 and 2013 election manifestos. You have often used the global financial crisis as one of the main factors that prevented them from achieving their goals.

And that was a poor excuse, because the policies that did not require any significant amount of financing, such as those related to good governance, were also not implemented.

However, since you, (ac/Angela Cox/Angela Skeete/Mariposa or whatever name you choose to use), are perhaps paid to defend the DLP in this forum, without the use of your usual political rhetoric, generalized statements and metaphors……..please answer the following questions:

(1). The “economic playing” is level for all political parties. Similar to the BLP, the DLP also made some grand promises in their recently released 2018 election manifesto. While the BLP’s spokesman on the economy outlined how their goals would be financed……the DLP has not.

Could you please “tell” this forum WHERE is the DLP going to get the money to finance their election promises?

(2). Under circumstances where the DEMS have been unable to accomplish or implement any of their policies as outlined in their 2008 & 2013 manifestos……do you think Barbadians would be unreasonable if they doubt the DEMS can fulfill their 2018 promises?

(3). The DLP has made some reference to “debt reprofiling (DP).” On Wednesday, May 16, 2018, during CBC’s program hosted by Peter Thorne, the DLP’s George Connolly said that the international rating agencies view DP as a country defaulting on its loan commitments. But as the decision developed further, he said his party was the first to tout the suggestion and has already begun the process of engaging the services of a firm to look at reprofiling the debt……. which would be done differently than how it is being suggested by the BLP.

Sincker also made references to DP as well. However, judging from Dr. David Estwick’s commence seems not to be in favour of DP…….but he has a history of publicly criticizing Sinckler and the DLP’s economic policies.

What is the DLP’s position on DP?

However, I do not expect you to answer these questions, because your and Fcuktured BLP’s role in this forum seem to be dedicated to spewing yard-fowl rhetoric, rather than “discussing” serious issues.

47. A lot of time has passed since the dems released their manifesto and not a word from Professor Michael Howard on the dems proposals.

Strange!!!

Or are there even any proposals of any worth?

Or is that since the dems did not keep the promises coming out of the 2008 and 2013 manifestos……there is no wisdom in commenting on the 2018 manifesto now!!!

48. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Having the grandson provide a Stoopid Cartoon to provide some comic relief to this “manifesto source” issue let de ole man speak a little to two issues here being debated.

(a) the sources of the Manifesto and

(b) the use of the manifesto

and implications per the combination(s) of these two matters

If the source of the manifesto is a legitimate one (and in this case legitimate CAN ONLY MEAN “not illegitimately obtained” ) then its use was politically impactful notwithstanding its moral implications.

In fact one MUST STATE emphatically that in either case its use was strategically useful since it disrupts what the DLP would have believed to have been their trump card to deliver.

The sources of the Manifesto are going to be mere speculation irrespective of who promotes them.

Suppose de ole man was to say that it is purported that the current lover of de Edykashun Minister was the source of the document and that he was given it during a heated argument when he was threatening to leave his lover?

Suppose de ole man was to say that the source of the manifesto came by way of an incursion on the computer of one of the DLP inner circle after said person went to the BLP’s website and downloaded a pdf file?

Many of wunna here would probably say that the ole man only talking foolishness but de ole man gives wunna dis article dat is teifed from the internet

It says “…HOW DOES SPYWARE GET ON MY COMPUTER?

Abusers can install spyware on your computer if they have physical or Internet access to your computer. Some abusers might hack into your computer from another location via the Internet.

Some might send spyware to you as an attached file that automatically installs itself when you open the email.

Others may email or instant message a greeting card, computer game, or other ploy to entice you or your children to open an attachment or click on a link. Once opened, the program automatically installs spyware on the victim’s computer, in stealth mode without notification or consent, and can then send electronic reports to the perpetrator via the Internet…”

De ole man says all of this just to say that UNLESS ONE OF US IS GOD, or we are the actual source of the file, we are delving in useless speculation.

Having said that I jes wants wunna to know that the grandson is finishing up pun de rest of de “correct Manifesto” and dat wunna gine gets it as soon as he send it to me heheheheheh

49. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ The Honorable Blogmaster Your assistance Please

50. Fractured BLP Avatar

Barbadians will find ” the TRUTH about Mia Mottley so unpalatable that it would not be easy to digest ”

Words of his Majesty King 👑 Freundel Jerome Stuart , May 2018