Submitted by Margaret Brito PhD
“A melanated big cat, called a panther, is a solitary, fearsome creature.”
Let us welcome Margaret Brito to the BU family. Do not ever forget that the BU forum is about a melting pot of ideas, opinions- a forum where academics and ordinary share a single space.

โ€“ David, blogmaster

The image of the black panther is a symbol of Black power in the Caucasian paradigm. I use Thomas Kuhnโ€™s definition of paradigm developed in his essay โ€œThe Structure of Scientific Revolutionsโ€ยน published in 1962. In this essay, Kuhn, a Harvard scholar, defines a paradigm as a conceptual box which validates and legitimizes the ideas within it, and invalidates and renders invisible whatever is outside it.

A paradigm defines what is known and how it is known. It defines the relevance of what is known. A paradigm dictates what can be known and should be known, as well as that which is not known and should not be known. It dictates whatโ€™s included in oneโ€™s experience and whatโ€™s excluded. It defines how people should understand and respond to their experiences, both those which should be and are included, and those which should be and are excluded.

Full Article – The Black Panther: Symbol of Black Power in the Caucasian Paradigm

177 responses to “Black Panther: Symbol of Black Power in the Caucasian Paradigm”

1. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

For those who did not know, the Black Panthers of the 60s started the program to help feed those who fell on hard times in the US and needed a hand up…which of course was later stolen from them by the government, the group was then terrorized, demonized, imprisoned, the program misused and later relabeled the welfare program.

One Black Panther was recently released after serving 43 years in solitary confinement, the intent was to break the black spirit, there are still many more alive and imprisoned.

2. Cunning trick by the author to con Blogmaster into advertising her COMMERCIAL ENTERPRISE. Post should be immediately removed for commercial intent. If Blog is going down the Facebook route of advertising then it is no longer a personal opinion posting discussion entity.

3. @Wily

The blogmaster can post whatever content in our judgement. Thanks for your opinion though.

4. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar
    Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service

i was telling GP this last year, but naturally he wont listen. this is a lot of reading and naturally many people avoid reading and miss valuable information…..here is some valuable info.

Itโ€™s interesting that Kuhn himself recognized the role of textbooks in the perpetuation of popular, but inaccurate, ideas about science. Textbooks, he said, present a simplified narrative of the history of science, and do not give the true history of science.

` A third significant process in the paradigm was the privileging of the Caucasian and subordination of Black people through the creation of the socio-scientific myth of racism.

This process was executed by virtue of the creation of academies which promote the ideology of โ€œraceโ€ as well as the creation of such academic disciplines as anthropology and social science, which legitimized the fallacy to such an extent that โ€œraceโ€ is regarded as a normal, organic aspect of the human experience. However, a perusal of historical documents would reveal race to be a recent invention.

The subordination of Black people continues to be perpetuated through the creation of socio-economic stratification according to racial classification, the stratification of people according to the shade of their skin, the conferring of honorary Caucasian status on People of Color, the genocide of Black people and People of Color, and the ignoring and invalidation of the Black presence on the planet.

The fact is that ancient Black civilizations were more advanced than the present paradigm, and this is clearly demonstrated by the physical evidence left behind by those civilizations. `

` This alone is grounds for debunking the evolutionary theory with its split timeline, because the evidence suggests a devolution from the more advanced matriarchal Black civilizations to the less advanced patriarchal paradigm. One of the most advanced civilizations was Kemet, a technologically advanced civilization ruled by Black pharaoh queens for millennia.

This fact has been assiduously kept out of the Caucasian paradigm. `

5. Dear Wily Coyote, my purpose for submitting this post to Barbados Underground is to share the idea of the Caucasian paradigm, which I’m currently developing. This paradigm, as I said in the article, is in force planet-wide, and is very much in evidence in Barbados. My concern is that Black people spend so much time expressing resentment and pain about racist mistreatment, while understanding their condition through the ideological apparatus of the paradigm itself. Many Black people understand racism through the ideology of racism, and as such, will never defeat racism. The analogy I used in the article was someone trying to fight with a weapon which was designed to destroy them. The result is that person will be defeated every time they use the weapon. To truly defeat racism, we have to approach it from outside the Caucasian paradigm, by acquiring a thorough knowledge of the Black paradigms which predated it. The article is a film review of the Black Panther movie, which situates this cultural moment within the wider context of the symbolism of the black panther, which is more extensive than what I spoke of in the article. I’m of the opinion that the cause of our country’e economic problems is our complete indoctrination into the economic system of the Caucasian paradigm, a system which is designed to ensure that Black nation states remain poor and dependent upon Caucasian nations and aid organisations in perpetuity. I sought to introduce the concept of the Caucasian paradigm in the sphere of the arts in order to make deeper connections in the areas of politics and economics. My view is that the solution to our economic problems lies not in changing political parties, but in changing the paradigm itself. That was my purpose, not to advertise my publishing business, though my business and the philosophical ideas by which I live happen to be housed on the same blog. I did play around with the idea of separating them, but I feel my philosophical perspectives add context to my work, and so I keep them together.

6. Brito’s enlightened arguments are well-rooted in radical tranformation discourses

For example, how could we expect any real change when we insist on serving the god of others, see the world from a eurocemtric acili

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Pachamama March 8, 2018 at 10:26 AM #
    โ€œBritoโ€™s enlightened arguments are well-rooted in radical tranformation discourses
    For example, how could we expect any real change when we insist on serving the god of others, see the world from a eurocemtric aciliโ€ฆโ€

Bingo! Therein โ€˜liesโ€™ the heart of the challenge of black people ever emancipating themselves from mental slavery.

Until they come to a deep spiritual understanding of the true nature of the relationship between themselves and their Creator (as reflected in the colour of their skin) they will always be hewers of woods and drawers of water to other people including the Chinese who are about to colonize the Continent of Africa.

As the saying goes: If you want to hide anything of importance whether material or intellectual value from a Eurocentric brainwashed black person just hide it in a book except the KJV of plagiarized myths and blatant lies.

8. The Miller, correct
    We however have a critique of the film ‘Black Panther’. Even the etymology of ‘Black ‘ as a social construction = to follow

9. @Margaret

Thanks again for entering the Underground.

A provocative comment. Now to the how? It is instructive to know that the producer of the Black Panther currently garnering rave reviews by Blacks is Caucasian? How should we fix this โ€˜triviaโ€™ into the narrative to disrupt?

10. And there’s me thinking that it was just a really good movie!

11. David, this is an aspect of the Black Panther moment that many people seem to have overlooked, because folks are so overwhelmed by the feel good aspect of the film. There are many potential stories coming out of the Black Panther, the one about Mansa Mousa, and another one about African female warriors which is being discussed by Viola Davis and Danai Gurira who played the general of the Dora Milage. I would love to see Black millionaires put their money into these projects. The big picture is that Black people need to control our narratives on all levels. But we first need to know our narratives, and the deep philosophies they articulate. And there is no reason why the Americans should have all the fun. Why can’t Black people in the Caribbean invest in Black projects? Why do we think someone has to be filthy rich to be an investor? Why can’t we practice collective economic empowerment? It would be interesting to see maybe three or four experienced entrepreneurs get together and create an investment fund and mentor some upcoming entrepreneurs with good projects that would add value to the society, economic return on investment and more. I think it’s time we did away with the ideas of Sir Arthur Lewis and that generation of colonial-minded intellectuals who have led the Caribbean down a dead-end road of dependency. Up to now we’re still locked into that paradigm, and as a result, our situation is becoming worse and worse.

12. Pure make believe …. a product of Hollywood.

I stopped watching movies as I did in my youth years ago!!!

The last one I watched and enjoyed was Star Wars back in the 1970’s I think.

I prefer Documentaries or film material based on actual history that I can check.

I am looking forward to watching the Darkest Hour because I have read the history of the period extensively.

Saw Dunkirk on the plane a few months ago but was totally disappointed.

…… probably because I wasn’t using the earphones.

13. Malcolm J. Myers Avatar
    Malcolm J. Myers

Youโ€™re putting your money in, Dr. Brito?

14. What we really need to understand is what are Hollywood’s goals?

The movies it produces serve only to advance a narrative of make believe but with darker (no pun intended) motives.

15. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar

The big picture is that Black people need to control our narratives on all levels.

been saying this it seems like forever.

stop allowing white scam artists to decide your fate, determine your futures and that of your progeny….or rewrite your great African history…

…chase all the frauds out of your lives, take back your power and your ability to create and retain wealth.

16. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ David BU

An interesting opportunity to arrest the over-enthusiasm of persons to read more into this SCI- Fi film. I view the film as pure entertainment and nothing more. To use it to define our people is carrying a joke too far. We are quite capable of shifting our paradigms. I am sure Kuhn is a Caucasian ( whatever that is)’. And we are using his mode of thought. Am I missing something here?

17. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar

John Liesalot…..the movie is but a spinoff of reality, the same way you loved imitation of life or some such nonsense depicting black people as subservient, beaten down slaves…well this movie depicts the black race in their natural habitat as the warrors, kings, queens, prince and princesses their ancestors were..

ah know it galls your evil soul to even think of a black bajan in that positive light as opposed to the empty headed, brainwashed shell of a human being,to which you have become accustomed and much prefersee to make yourself feel superior…..but the genetic greatness of Caribben African descendants, lies just beneath the surface waiting to be released..

you will get to see its reemergence before you stop haunting this earth.

18. Dear Bernard Codrington, you are absolutely right. Thomas Kuhn is indeed a Caucasian, which is why I used his definition of a paradigm. It’s a definition of a Caucasian phenomenon by a Caucasian. As such, he explained it perfectly. With regard to what folks read into the film, different people saw different things. It also worked well as pure entertainment and nothing more.

19. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar

yes Bernard…you missed the part where Kuhn, if a white dude, is telling you, you have been misled. regarding science..as many of us already know.

you act as though it is the first time in 500 years that a fraud has been perpetrated on civilization….there is a history of fraudulent behavior practiced by the caucasiod group on everyone repeatedly and consistently within the last 500 years, so what makes you think they have suddenly been forthcoming, when they use the same structures at their disposal to benefit them only..

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John March 8, 2018 at 12:47 PM #
    โ€œWhat we really need to understand is what are Hollywoodโ€™s goals?
    The movies it produces serve only to advance a narrative of make believe but with darker (no pun intended) motives.โ€

Rather interesting comment coming from you, Sir John.

So what were the โ€œdarker motivesโ€ when you saw Noah, Moses, Pharaohs, Samson, Delilah Jezebel, Jesus and Cleopatra portrayed as pale skin Europeans?
    Do you think the D W Griffiths and MGMs of the world of Hollywood were portraying the Truth according to your book of stolen myths and legends?

21. So what were the โ€œdarker motivesโ€ when you saw Noah, Moses, Pharaohs, Samson, Delilah Jezebel, Jesus and Cleopatra portrayed as pale skin Europeans?
    Do you think the D W Griffiths and MGMs of the world of Hollywood were portraying the Truth according to your book of stolen myths and legends?

I would have watched all them when I was a child … and thought as a child!!

22. I did watch the recent remakes of Noah and Exodus, …. was it called Exodus, I forget.

I was looking for the bloopers I knew would be made in these attempts.

I found Noah’s robot helpers completely unbelievable.

The Hollywood interpretation of Noah I found to be rubbish.

I did enjoy Exodus or whatever the title of the movie was.

But I find Hollywood’s love affair with special effects and computer generated reality completely unattractive.

I guess they are trying to keep costs down by using virtual reality … for me, it sucks!!

23. So what were the โ€œdarker motivesโ€ when you saw Noah, Moses, Pharaohs, Samson, Delilah Jezebel, Jesus and Cleopatra portrayed as pale skin Europeans?

Obviously, the movies was pitched at an audience who at the time could afford to and routinely went to movies.

24. @Bernard

Have to give you credit for voicing a minority position. The BU household watched as well and the blogmaster sides with you. It was great to see the all black cast and appreciate the awareness it has brought. We should be hopeful that it galvanizes a generation that will endeavor to dismantle the traditional power structures in developed societies to unleash the distribution of wealth and power to see a more empowered minority.

25. Dear Robert J. Myers, I use the term Caucasian for a specific purpose. The term is not interchangeable with “white guy.” I don’t use the term “negroid” either. I use the term “Black” also for a specific purpose. Maybe in another forum I’ll break it down, but in a nutshell, I strive to get away from emotional, racially charged terms, and draw more on the etymology of the words. I also try to avoid speaking of Caucasians and speak instead of a Caucasian paradigm, which is an apparatus of mutually reinforcing systems. It’s my opinion that Caucasian people are as disadvantaged within the paradigm as Black people, though they’re told they’re privileged, and not all believe in its ideologies, though many obviously do. I personally, don’t use terms just because they’re trendy.

26. @Margaret
    โ€˜Robertโ€™ย™ is a well known BU spammer. Wait for 15 minutes minimum before responding to commenters until you become familiar with the riff raff.

27. If you would post intelligently to the forum instead of being a Johnny maybe your comments wouldnโ€™t be deleted.

#JA

28. “riff raff” is Bajan for poor people who behave badly / ent got no broughtupcy.

“wrasse whole idiots ” better describes some of the commenters on BU.

29. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

I started to commend your article earlier but the machine closed down.

I read your item/article twice.

Time, rather confinement, permits, rather demands, resting for longer periods.

During said “sedentary enforced moments” de ole man has a bucket list of things that one does – read, watch specific documentaries, plays, movies, discourse with wise men/women, and sometimes come to BU.

Your perspective was and is provocative but there are a few things that i will share with you for your consideration.

The first one is this plagiarism for your text that i have modified to give my perspective

“This is important. Black people [[DO NOT]] instinctively know, [[AND THE FEW THAT KNOW WILL ]]try to deny, that we do not belong to the Caucasian paradigm, but the paradigm continues to communicate the idea through its ideological and representational apparatuses that we are part of a global human family, the part which needs to be brought into modernity or excised, which can be achieved either through assimilation into the paradigm or genocide.”

The Fact is that what you are speaking to IS NOT AN EXPERIENCE THAT WHITES WILL ACKNOWLEDGE EVEN IF THEY UNDERSTOOD IT, which posturers like John do not, and which Blacks for the most part, DO NOT COMPREHEND!!

What is the principle behind the “Vibranium” Dr. Brito and in what would such a resource find a meaningful parallel for a people who are enslaved by said Caucasian Paradigm?

De ole man puts this to you that what you are proposing here and have written so intriguingly about CANNOT FIND ROOT in the minds of a people who though manacled have been brainwashed to believe that we are free

30. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Margaret Britto Phd

I shall try to continue on my thread with this link as i seek to promote my perspective on “Vibranium”

https://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/worlds-10-richest-black-billionaires-oprah-winfrey-michael-jordan-mo-ibrahim-patrice-motsepe-a7890686.html

Before it is said that de ole man begrudges the billionaires IN THE CASTLE OF MY SKIN let the ole man speak to what my limited understanding of “Vibranium” is and its context of said Caucasian Paradigm.

The “VI(BRAIN)ium” that the ole man would respectfully present to you for your active consideration might be partially visible at this link below

http://www.complex.com/pop-culture/2012/01/the-25-most-important-black-tech-pioneers/14

and the ability to create what will break that Caucasian Paradigm lies in our (in)ability to leverage the obvious competencies and capacities of the adept “billionaire Black Panthers” whom Forbes, leader among the upholders of the Cuacasian Paradigm withing the sphere of those of us panthers of the mind WHO HAVE A VIBRANIUM THAT THEY CANNOT TEIF AS EASILY AS THE CHINESE ARE TEIFING physical Africa.

But de ole man talking bout a Bridge Too Far for a people who are still enslaved and will always be Hewers of Wood and Drawers of Water

31. Don’t get too caught up in the emotiveness associated with the ‘New World’ dividing and demonising the human race.Anthropologists,basing their findings on supposed physiological attributes sub divided the human race into three groups….negroid,albinoid and mongoloid.Later albinoid became caucasoid.There are still those who cannot accept that albinoid and caucasoid are one and the same group.

32. The authors article brings to mind a documentary “The Modern Racist Paradigm” such that the term plagiarism comes to mind. Most posters to BU Blog this subject will be well over their heads, all they reference is slavery and the obvious black/white preconceived issues in the society(Barbados) in which they live. Bajan’s are not deep intellectual thinkers, they have extreme dificulty trying to manage a sewage system that the Romains mastered several thousand years ago.

This topic appears to outside the Blogmaster comfort zone and it’s obvious commercial intent to which even the author admitted.

33. Dear Piece Uh De Rock Yeh Right, It is my belief that Black people do intuit we are connected with the Motherland. I don’t think it’s intellectual, because on the level of the intellect, we are indoctrinated into the ideologies of the paradigm. It’s on an unconscious level. It’s true I don’t have direct access to people’s minds to see what’s going on in there, but I can see from their actions. For instance, when Black people take up a Caucasian religion, such as Christianity, we don’t practice it the way Caucasians do. Although Black people say they are Christians, what they practice is not Christianity.

There were people who in the mid-20th Century theorized creolization, which was said to be the meeting of different cultures on foreign soil, which produced a new creole kind of culture. So the religion practiced in the Caribbean was said to be a creole version of Christianity. But what Black people in the Caribbean actually practiced was aspects of African spirituality under the guise of the trappings of Christianity. Some people were conscious of doing this, some were not. It was not a meeting of cultures, it was warfare. I define culture in our era in Black nation states as the way in which individuals and communities struggle against the peculiar way war is waged against them, whether the warfare be military, economic, intellectual, etc. (In Barbados, the warfare is primarily economic).

Thus, the African aspect of our experience tends to be submerged because it’s always under attack. I think Black people are so steeped in the consciousness of Blackness, we don’t even realize we’re Black, and because we don’t have positive concepts and images of Blackness, we don’t know what they are when we see them, and positive concepts of Blackness look strange. Many folks try to pattern themselves on the Caucasian models disseminated by the paradigm and assimilate into a Caucasian way life, but only end up continuing to reproduce a kind of deformed Blackness (and deformed “whiteness”) in everything we do. That’s why I say it’s impossible for us to assimilate, no matter how hard we try. My observation is that we think we’re succeeding at becoming like Caucasians, but we’re not. I don’t think we can. I think if we spoke to each other across the various national boundaries, we might discover that. I feel the Black Panther movie communicated positive images of Blackness – the Caucasian paradigm’s version – and Black people planet-wide responded to it without fully understanding why. There was some serious subliminal stuff going on there.

With regard to vibranium, this is an idea developed in the graphic novel series. It’s an extra terrestrial substance that powers the whole country of Wakanda. Its real-life counterpart might be diamonds, or some such substance upon which an arbitrary value has been placed which justified the destruction of Africa and the taking of Black lives. I think it might also be the African land itself, which is resource-rich, and coveted by everybody.

I think you are right to say many Black folks cannot accept they perceive their experiences through a construct which is hostile to them and not in a normal, organic, value-free way. To accept that would present the necessity of giving up the falsehoods and re-formatting their minds. Some of the ideas into which people have been indoctrinated are so much a part of their being that to get rid of them might be like amputating limbs. I think it’s a waste of time trying to convince anybody of anything, and I don’t try to. But I do like to drop some seeds every now and then, and converse with people I can actually converse with.

34. Ah. Vibranium of the consiousness. Yes.

35. If even two of us could break through the ingrained distrust and put our ideas together, we could begin to defeat the death grip of the paradigm. If only…

36. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Piece…A for effort, the Doc might get one or two roots to take in the heads of the still uninitiated, we have been fighting a battle on here with the demon spirit John Liesalot et al, for a very long time, you and others much longer than I…but we have made some progress and much of the information will start going right over the heads of said demon spirits the higher our consciousness levels rise.

37. @Wily

Do you in your wildest imagination think a blogmaster can know all?

You would be surprised some of the people who post to BU, the only reason they dont engage in certain debate is that they would likely expose their identity.

#hushdo

38. I prefer this perspective.

youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=28sa2zGgmwE?rel=0&w=560&h=315

39. MB

Suggest you simply replace “Caucasian Paradigm” which you have to go to inordinate lengths to explain with “Christian Civilization”!!

That way we get a clearer understanding of what you are trying to say.

40. Here comes the รขย€ย˜Johnny รขย€ย˜.

41. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

christian civilzation is a fraud, has been for centuries….she is calling it as it is…..caucasian pardigm is the correct terminology…..not everything is about fake religion, which is part of the fraudulence perpetrated on the earth’s people.

Told ya much will go over many people’s heads..

42. christian civilzation is a fraud, has been for centuries

Its been around for 2 millennia !!!

Not bad for a fraud!!!

43. MB is simply using high falutin language to attack Christianity !!!!

Lots of people do it!!

Difficult to hide!!

44. Within 50 years, Africa will be the dominant Continent on the planet. Because of the awakening now in progress, a purging of all that does not resonate to the new frequencies upon that land will be removed.

For the experiences that they have gained BY EVIL INTENT throughout the centuries will be the reward for their new beginning. They shall rise to be the global exporter of newly discovered potent resource minerals that will be keys to the next stage of technological advancements, plus being the recipients of NEW and advanced technology, not in the sense of an assimilation of AI, as this is a subtle force working to undermine sound inherent black human potential
    Due to the authenticity of their history in which certain attributes, knowledge and capabilities is their birthright, these new frequencies upon their psyche and consciousness will again awaken them to the new reality, thus a new paradigm of actuality, this time voiding the residue of lessons learnt via psychological and biological warfare upon our chosen people.

Africa too will become the mecca of exports for pure unadulterated food and natural organic and holistic remedies not medicines. They will exponentially grown economically and the Governmental structures will be of a completely new order, setting the example for real governance worldwide.

As Africa was use as a laboratory against its own by other societies, a strong resistance against its perpetrators will result in an impenetrable protection of the entire continent not known presently.

Africa is on the rise AND UNITING..

Why did so many Heads of States visited the continent for Nelson Mandela much delayed funeral? Why does Prince Harry see Africa as a homeland? What is amiss?

As the movie 2012 hinted, the survivors of that global calamity and chaos charted a course to AFRICA…. A REVELATION TO THE WISE,

45. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Liesalot…frauds can last even longer, if allowed, or until nature takes its course and purge it.

46. John you asked what were Hollywood goals??? If you can’t see let me tell you. It promoted white superiority, white hypocrisy, whitewashing of people of colour and non white peoples. It perpetuated the myth the American Indians as Barbaric and cruel, it perpetuated the myth that Black people and Asian people as subservient and villains, it perpetuated the myth that the Biblical heroes were white as their portrayal of a man God called Jesus. It does and still do portray that anything non white was evil. Why do you think people from as far as China, Japan and many other cultures who have never seen or lived among Black people fear and discriminate against them when they meet them for the first time? Many black people who grew up under the Union Jack were and are still brainwashed by this systemic ideology. Many Black people in the Caribbean would never accept that they are of African ancestry and that they are black.

47. An excellent comment stripped of the hypocritical BS visited on the blog with monotonous regularity, obviously this is his reality.

48. The problem that is rapidly occurring on the continent of Africa and the Caribbean is the White Christian Evangelicals are moving in indoctrinating the population with their brand of Christianity. A very dangerous occurrence that will create further serious ideological mayhem amongst the population.

49. Island
    There is the spectacle that the besotted African anglicans are threatening to separate from the Canterbury overlordship owing to issues of samesex marriages and ordaining of homo bishops and priests.The other irony is the current archie of Cantabrigians is a former Friday based oil man.

50. …African based oilman