Submitted by Theo
Leaking manhole located at the exit of Chicken Barn as at 5PM on 04 January 2018.

Good evening.

I feel compelled to share this information with the folks on Barbados Underground.

Please go to the below link and download the document.

Digest it.

https://www.iadb.org/en/project/ba0036

One can form an intelligent opinion as to what is the real problem  with the South Coast Sewerage Project.

It’s  textbook case of absolute maladministration. Absolute poor management from the top down. With the structure of Bajan party-in-power politics, it mirrors exactly why Barbados is where it is today. Absolute lack of leadership.

Go to:

https://www.graemehall.com/press/

Please read through the wealth of documentation.

Reflect on the predictions made since 2008 as to what would happen.

Why has no one on your Blog connected the dots with this entity and the Government of Barbados?

Go to:

http://www.newswire.ca/news-releases/last-remaining-mangrove-wetland-in-barbados-disappearing-due-to-uncheckedpollution-and-government-inaction-539787381.html

Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary has an excellent website and for years they have been battling government to resolve the issues being confronted. NO Action.. Its now 10 years since they closed in December 2008 according to their press releases.

I’m not sure why government refused to let this investment flourish.  That’s another discussion to entertain.

Leaving politics out of the discussion this sanctuary could only have brought major benefits to Barbados.

Summary: From pg 31

B. Objectives

2.2 The primary objective of the project is to achieve a bacteriological standard for the near-shore waters on the south coast that corresponds to accepted international standards and at the same time to reduce the chemical contamination that affects the reefs, marine life and beaches. Specifically, the project would:

(a) prevent further contamination of the near-shore seawater and deterioration of coral reefs and other marine life;

(b) prevent further contamination of groundwater reserves in the project area; and

(c) improve sanitary conditions generally. The project would also contribute to improve the operation and maintenance of the existing Bridgetown sewerage system and the efficiency of the BWA in the commercial and financial management areas. All these elements, but particularly the restoration of water quality, would protect the tourism industry, a sector which is vital for the economic future of Barbados. The project would complement planned investment projects for solid waste management, sewerage on the west coast, and coastal conservation which are under study (see
paragraphs 1.33).

C. Project Description

2.3 The components of the public sewerage system for the south coast
would be as follows:

a. a collection svstem composed of approximately 40-44 km of PVC gravity sewers, 1.4 km of PVC pressure pipe; 0.5 km
polyethylene gravity pipe, and 20 km of pipes for service connections;

b. five lift stations at Aquatic Gap, Palm Beach, Deal Gardens, Welches and Hastings. These five stations would have submersible-type pumps;

c. gi force main 1- of approximately 4.1 km of ductile iron pipe, from the pumping station at Graeme Hall to Drill Hall;

d. B was the water treatment plant and main Dump: station of approximately 27,930 m3/day of peak hydraulic capacity which would include: (i) influent and effluent pumping stations; (ii) coarse, medium and fine screening; (iii) a screening
incinerator JJ/ and a grit chamber; and (iv) odor control units;

e. ocean outflow of approximately 1.1 km seaward from Needhams’s point. The outfall works would consist of: (i) a
steel pipeline with a cement mortar lining and coal tar enamel fiberglass mat protection plus a concrete weight coat on the
outside; and (ii) a diffuser section at the end of the outfall. f. installation of connections (in-house) to properties in the
service area. (converted from PDF)

T.M

104 responses to “Blame Government for South Coast Sewage Disaster”

1. “Mastor, who now resides in Canada,

hurriedly travelled to Barbados earlier this week after receiving a distress call from his 66-year-old mother who complained about the dire situation she was facing, including a pungent stench and periodic flooding of the property and the road leading to her home “

2. Who should we blame for the fact the system has been processing the sewage without the pumps necessary to perform screening, an important activity to avoid blockage in the system.

3. “Who should we blame for the fact the system has been processing the sewage without the pumps necessary to perform screening, an important activity to avoid blockage in the system.”

Isn’t the captain of the ship supposed to take responsibility/blame for the f*ckups made by incompetent or careless officers and crew members under his command?

4. Now we have Murray Chandler Sr and Jr accusing the BWA if not contracting their services to fix a problem which he identified as blocked lines between Graeme Hall Sanctuary and the CIBC Bank.

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David January 5, 2018 at 2:01 PM

Is Frances C. in anyway connected?
    If so they might be considered persona non grata in any business deals as far as DLP tribal politics is concerned.

They should have been given the opportunity to sort out the mess with the proviso they will be compensated only after the problem is fix within a stipulated time period. Can’t do any worse than the in-house clowns on parade.

6. If what the Chandlers are saying is correct then heads must roll. Is there another side to their story besides the fact they are known to be nononsense people?

7. NorthernObserver Avatar

mastor or mUstor?

8. @David
    Yours @10.51 am.

That was the proverbial canary in the coal mine, it was only a matter of time before multiple failures compromised the system.

Let’s look at the role of the BWA, this is an agency with a Board and senior managers responsible for the seamless operation of the entity but what do members of the Board do apart from collecting a monthly stipend for attending meetings? What was senior management doing to oversee the maintenance and smooth operation of the plant? This organization can’t even fix broken pipes in a timely manner so operation of a sewage system seems to be beyond their capabilities. If I was a betting man I would wager that the maintenance cycle established as part of the conditions for receipt of the loan was never followed after the monitoring period expired.

9. @Sargeant

Exactly!

We can blame who we want the fact that cannot be refuted is that the pumps required to ensure there is screening have been out of service of one year!!!!!!

One does not have to be an engineer to know the result.

10. The PR Roadshow from 2008 is coming to a ignominious end.

11. BarbadosToday

” Relief appears at hand for those affected by the ongoing sewage leaks on the south coast…”

12. What relief is that Hants?

13. Layman’s logic.

If a pump fails you repair or replace it.

If a pipe is blocked you clear the blockage.

If a sewer pipe is broken you repair or replace the section that is broken.

14. @ David, @ 2:40 the pretty spin doctor. lol

15. @ David,

I wonder if these maguffees at the BWA and in Government have routine maintenance done on their homes and vehicles.

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants January 5, 2018 at 5:39 PM

Even at this stage of the national disaster unfolding these people are still full of bullshit.
    Putting proposals to the same comatose Board which sanctioned the building of a white elephant over the necessary maintenance of a vital sewage plant?

What the hell does that incompetent Board know about solving the problem that was drawn to the attention of the BWA management many moons ago?
    Why not immediately implement the proposals and stop with the bullshit talk and time wasting?

All this shit is right up Fumble’s alley and playing into his hands to declare a state of emergency to extend his tenure in office in order to rub more shit and pepper in their faces.

Can’t the IMF put a stop to this madness or must Barbados be brought to its knees by the current useless administration in which no one has any confidence, especially Deliar Worrell?

17. The issue not about the ‘White Elephant’ it is about why did they not replace the two pumps which failed one year ago knowing what would result? Who made the decision at the BWA?

18. Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service January 5, 2018 at 12:21 PM #
    John Liesalot should have been able to prophesy the Brittosn Hill collapse when a whole apartment building fell into a cave then….

Did not need to ….. the Chief Town Planner forbad development on the cave in the 1960’s when I was a child!!

19. You cannot be lecturing in the church of Science and still preaching in the chapel for religious nutters too.

So I can chew gum and walk at the same time and you can’t.

Big deal, get used to it!!

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John January 5, 2018 at 6:35 PM

Since you can “chew gum and walk” then you can answer the question that was posed to your religious sidekick Dr. G P.

Why is there such a high rate of skin cancer among modern-day Jews living in Israel?

Why would your god want to bless them and keep them and then turn around and curse them with skin cancer for looking into His face?

Is it because they are occupying a land like their fellow white Australians to which they were never suited and never will be as long as the Sun shines?

21. The issue not about the ‘White Elephant’ it is about why did they not replace the two pumps which failed one year ago knowing what would result? Who made the decision at the BWA? (Quote)

An example of gross incompet ence at the technocratic and political level. A nation badly in need of rescuing, but with its head stuck right up its posterior. These are the products of Barrow’s so-called free education policy.
    When are we going to admit we are not as clever as we think we are?

22. Miller
    There are 40,000 jews in prison for murder,rape,incest,robbery,and every conceivable crime you can think of.If you listen to the two resident Barbados Scholars,you wouldn’t think a jew is capable of evil.What a wicked bunch of pretenders.These are the people who tell you forgive seventy times seven…..but steal all the Palestinian lands and kill all their menfolk womenfolk and children at will.

23. millertheanunnaki January 5, 2018 at 6:44 PM #
    @ John January 5, 2018 at 6:35 PM
    Since you can “chew gum and walk” then you can answer the question that was posed to your religious sidekick Dr. G P.
    Why is there such a high rate of skin cancer among modern-day Jews living in Israel?

Easy …. they forgot to put on their sunscreen when going outside to fight the various wars of survival they had to fight in the desert!!

24. Obesity rates in Israel are below the average for OECD nations, with an obesity rate of 14% for adults in 2009.[13] Socioeconomic status was one factor that impacted overweight and obesity percentages, particularly for women. Women in lower classes were four times as likely to be overweight or obese as women in upper classes. Only 20.2% of the entire population reported that they exercise for twenty minutes or more three times a week.[14]
    The frequency of exercise among the Jewish Israeli population was twice as high as that for the Arab population. Men and women of Jewish descent are less likely to be of an unhealthy weight then Arab men and women.[14]

The reason obesity is low in Israel and skin cancer is high is probably because most Israelis lead an active outdoor lifestyle.

It is called military service.

25. if the outdoor lifestyle is the reason for the hike in skin cancer I cannot understand why it isnt even higher in barbados,,,, It seems every bajan I meet.. claims to be outstanding in his field.

26. @Lawson#

You are lucky, neither Canada nor Scotland are cricketing nations. You should hear Bajans talking about cricket.. Every one an expert.

27. Hal I remember my first trip to the island the news would come on and it would be 55 minutes of cricket results and 5 minutes of local and world news just by osmosis you would have to become aware of some aspects of the game. Even I learned a few things like I was always cheering when a barbados player got a 100 runs till my father-inlaw explained it would be better if they weren’t bowling

28. @Lawson,
    Already you are an expert.

29. It is raining heavily in Barbados, the runoff of surface water will likely cause infiltration into the sewage system. The adverse weather conditions will not help the situation, one that is dire!

30. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“if the outdoor lifestyle is the reason for the hike in skin cancer I cannot understand why it isnt even higher in barbados…

Ah glad ya cant understand it….it’s the minority few whites or those with enough of the cancerous bloodlines numbering 7,500 on the island have high incidences of cancer all over their tails that they hide and try to cover up and scrub off.

…..and imagine the fake jews are always covered from head to toe in layers of musty smelling clothes in isnotrael, but the melanoma is dropping them like flies.

31. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

BTW….don’t look for any house negros to enlighten ya about the why, they dont know either, it’s a need to know and they are too treacherous, only certain black people are aware, I sure as hell wont tell ya though.

Stay there and rot from cancer…lol

32. Tell Duguid’s team that the rain and wind today is causing all his poster’s to fall off the BL&P poles in Rendezvous. They all bout in the gutter and side of the road. They want picking up before they block the drains.

33. well well
    why dont you find a Robins or Rubins and look up the aetiology of skin cancer instead of talking shite………or ask one of your numerous well educated relative scholars who know eva ting bout eva ting to inform you?

i wont give you the answer because it has been said that I ” contribute nothing, except for a bunch of PowerPoints copied from some shiite course – and easily sourced on the www, “

34. Good to see Barbados has improved it health security with the opening of the Best-Dos Santos Lab to test for complex viruses.

35. The Chief Medical Officer confirmed tonight that there is no information reaching his office to support the decision to close businesses on the South Coast.

36. NorthernObserver Avatar

“Good to see Barbados has improved it health security with the opening of the Best-Dos Santos Lab to test for complex viruses.”
    Hoping they can test for BBX (Brass Bowl CompleX)

37. HOW EXACTLY IS “HEALTH SECURITY” IMPROVED BY THE OPENING OF AN AMALGAMATED LAB?
    HAD THE PRIVILEGE OF WORKING WITH MR BEST (AND MR FLR FRANCIS) AT THE PUBLIC HEALTH LAB IN 1972 AND DR DASANTOS AT THE HOSPITAL LAB IN 1975- GOOD TRAINING IT WAS

38. Theophilius Gazerts 242 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 242

” wont give you the answer because it has been said that I contribute nothing, except for a bunch of PowerPoints copied from some shiite course – and easily sourced on the www, “

I does poke at John and thinks he contributes a lotta shite, but every now and then John delivers a solid contribution on a topic.

Even the Haha guy who I also poke at scores a home run every now and then.

Perhaps you should share the PowerPoints and forget the scriptures.

Seriously, if it is your area of expertise, you should share.

39. Theophilius Gazerts 242 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 242

my point is that people may criticize when they disagree with a post, but they don’t comment when they agree with or is learning from what is written.

40. @ Theo
    Boss… why you don’t let sleeping dogs sleep doh?
    Murda!!

41. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@millertheanunnaki January 5, 2018 at 6:44 PM “Is it because they are occupying a land like their fellow white Australians to which they were never suited and never will be as long as the Sun shines?”

Interbreed with the darker skinned Eastern Jews and Arabs. Problem solved.

A penis is a penis.

A vagina is a vagina.

Why suffer when there is a solution, at least for your children and grandchildren?

42. Fake Doctor

80-90 % of the problem is geography and the sun!!

Your solution will only address the other 10-20%.

Think it through before you make a perfect fool of yourself!!

43. “Māori won’t develop melanoma at the same rates that white-skinned people do so pigmentation in the skin does protect us in some way but it’s a fallacy to think that if you’ve got dark skin that you’ll never get melanoma because that just isn’t the case,” says Slay.

Those of Māori ethnicity are known to get more aggressive melanomas which often means their life expectancy is less than those people that are diagnosed earlier.

http://www.maoritelevision.com/news/education/maori-can-get-melanoma-too

44. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@John January 7, 2018 at 10:06 PM “80-90 % of the problem is geography and the sun!”

The problem is not geography and it is not the sun.

If the problem was geography and the sun then black and white Bajans living in Barbados would have identical skin cancer rates, we do not. White Bajans have significantly more skin cancer that black Bajans. Black and white Australians would have identical skin cancer rates. They do not. White Australians have significantly higher skin cancer rates that black Australians.

In any event none of us can change geography or the sun.

But we can make a rational reproductive decisions.

If you are white and live in a sunny place, why have children with another white person? You are only setting up your children for skin cancer.

You may not want to hear it but I’ll repeat. I’ll repeat.

A penis is a penis. A vagina is a vagina.

45. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@John January 7, 2018 at 10:15 PM “it’s a fallacy to think that if you’ve got dark skin that you’ll never get melanoma.”

I never said that dark skinned people never develop melanoma. I have personally know one black person who developed malignant melanoma and was dead before the age of 30.

I said that dark skinned people develop skin cancer at significantly lower rates that white people.

FACT.

Whether you like it or not.

46. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

But in my three score and nearly ten that is the only black person that I have know with any skin cancer.

47. How soon before we get a repeat in the New York Times of the headline of a column it ran on Aug.21,1974

BARBADOS NO BLASTED PARADISE NOW!
    Here is an excerpt:

“Once idealistic and even radical, the new black Establishment of administrators, judges and ministers, called the “Afro‐Saxons” by their detractors, has become increasingly conservative. They know where their bread is buttered, and they don’t seem to be in any mood to share the loaf.

The poor Barbadians used to be able to live off the land and the sea, but development has caused a painful inflation and destroyed a considerable amount of the natural environment that once provided the means of survival.

The young then, unemployed and bored, stare blankly at the passing traffic. They stand around or sit for hours, doing nothing because there is nothing to do. This practice is known in local jargon as “liming.” Even in paradise, the lime is a very bitter fruit”.

Afro-Saxons…… upgraded to Negrocrat.

48. Dr. Simple Simon January 7, 2018 at 10:21 PM #
    But in my three score and nearly ten that is the only black person that I have know with any skin cancer.

Did that person spend time above the Tropic of Cancer or below the Tropic of Capricorn?

I knew a single white person who died from melanoma.

I know of a few others, very few, who have spots removed as a precaution.

The person I knew who died of melanoma lived in Barbados as far as I know all his life.

At higher or lower latitudes not only can you be closer to the sun but during summer you can get an extra four to six hours of sunlight (UV) per day.

I used to play cricket till 9:30 pm in England when I was at university and it was light from early in the morning.

Days here and closer to the equator are of a pretty constant length, maybe a half hour in variation.