Prime Minister Freundel Stuart

In early 2015 Prime Minster Freundel Stuart announced that Barbados will switch from the monarchical system of government to republican status. It is December 2017- almost two years later- with a general election on the horizon and clearly Barbadians must conclude that this is another empty promise by a politician.

The appointment of Justice Sandra Mason makes the BU household question how can we hold our politicians accountable. How is it possible for a prime minister of Barbados to boldly state in 2015 that he will champion the transition to a republic and then do nothing to deliver and we ACCEPT it.

Why is there a rush to appoint a governor general if the plan is to ‘shift’ to republican status? The irony is that the political class [a collective] is expressing glee at what is being termed a popular choice for governor general. The BU household holds no brief for Sandra Mason, she appears to be a decent lady, however, the public should be expressing outrage at another broken promise, the media should be questioning and probing the political morality of the government. The Barbados Labour Party (BLP) should be asking why the hurry to appoint a governor general, a governor of the central bank and possibly a director of public prosecutions weeks before a general election. On the flipside, how many permanent secretaries are acting in the position and for how long therefore compromising their ability to execute?

It is morally wrong!

We know this Democratic Labour Party (DLP) does not practice political ethics in governance. Take the flagship example of Michael Carrington who as Speaker was found to be dishonest in his dealings with a septuagenarian wheelchair-bound client and the prime minister did nothing about it except to advise him to secure a lawyer. We can add another example of prime minister Freundel Stuart signing-off on the Cahill deal without admitting it publicly amidst the noise of the debate to the contrary.

Relevant links:

If the head is bad…

There will be no jumping for joy in the BU household with the appointment of Sandra Mason as governor general.

182 responses to “Why the Haste to Appoint a Governor General?”

1. Carrington drives a Mercedes Benz.Maybe that is what he did with money belonging to his client.Stupid JA’s show their classlessness all the time.Soon from now he won’t be able to put gas or diesel in it.

2. Gabriel

Did you know that Carrington also had some lucrative work from this said government of which he is a part? Talk about nepotism!

It is alleged that he charged the taxpayers 3/4 million for work to sell a building in the Newton estate……………..

Think these people leaving politics poor?………no way! Hope they have good health to enjoy their ill gotten gains!

3. Fumble Stuart is free to make all the appointments he likes.

Ronald Jones is free to name every shiiite after a dem.

Chris Stinkliar is free to appoint a governor of the Central Bank.

Chris Stinkliar is free to sell all of our assets after campaigning in 2013 on no privitisation. No sweat, promises mean nothing to this bunch of morons.

Let them do as they like but Fumble has run out of time and options………….

He has to allow for time to lay the Estimates………one week, a second week for debate in the House and a third week for debate in the Senate………

Parliament dissolves itself on March 6………….after that he has no cabinet so he is free to hold on to power all by himself.

Sooner rather than later, he HAS to go!

4. Fractured has the PM visited the the South Coast yet?This Is unacceptable with sewerage flowing on the streets and not a word from the leader of the country with people,s health at risk and you on here talking crap.What about the Environment Minister Dr Lowe,who instead of doing the job he is paid to do ,in the House talking about an LEC and the Drainage Minister Dr Estwick has he visited the area,as yet?You could really go and clean up the South Coast sewerage,instead of talking nonsense moron

5. Lorenzo

The Minister of Health said this week that the PM does not have to comment on everything……………unbelievable.

Remember that he did not comment or visit the people in St Andrew, St Joseph or St Lucy who were crying out for help with their water woes.

Talk about a heartless man!

6. Lorenzo asks ” has the PM visited the the South Coast yet ? ”

I hope not.

Nobody should wallow in human shit on the street except workers in HazMat suits who should be cleaning and sanitizing.

7. I would like to know what is the status in the DLP Cabinet when the PM can convene an emergency meeting regarding the South Coast Sewage Treatment crisis and invites everyone by the minister responsible for the BWA, Dr. David Estwick. We know Stuart was there. We know John Boyce was invited and there. We know Sealy was invited and there. We know Darcy Boyce was invited and there. We know GM of BWA was invited and there. We know Joy Ann Haigh of the BWA was invited and there. We know Patricia Inniss of the BWA was invited and there. WE KNOW DAVID ESTWICK WAS NOT INVITED AND WAS NOT THERE.

8. WE KNOW DAVID ESTWICK WAS NOT INVITED AND WAS NOT THERE.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    So…??

The shiite hound is a glutton for punishment.
    If he did not resign after being embarrassed with his economic proposal impasse, …and by Stinkliar’s ongoing treatment as MOA… then he fully deserves being treated now like the sardine tin retriever that he must be….

9. @ Bushie,

I was told by a Vet that the sardine tin retriever is least susceptible to disease. lol

10. Word on the ground in St Philip West is that Johnny M’Boy is coming on hard and could pull off an upset victory for Mia and the Stinging Bees.Estwick is considered a bluffer and a big failure.

11. @ Hants
    I was told by a Vet that the sardine tin retriever is least susceptible to disease. lol
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Would be …. probably why he keeps away from the South Coast now…

Did the Vet not also tell you that they are also least susceptible to getting respect..?

12. @ Bush Tea,

Didn’t need a vet to tell me that.

13. Dr. Simple "Riff-Raff" Simon Phd. Avatar
    Dr. Simple “Riff-Raff” Simon Phd.

@Tron December 30, 2017 at 9:03 AM “Babb-Agard ist just another Barbadian lawyer not meeting international standards. In an international law firm, you have a Ph.D. from a top university (testifying stamina) and a LL.M. from Cambridge, Harvard, Oxford, Yale etc pp. NONE of the civil servants in Barbados is good enough to serve the common good. All the more ambitious Barbadians already emigrated.”

So how do you propose to fix this perceived deficit?

Bring in someone with a Ph.D. from a top university and a LL.M. from Cambridge, Harvard, Oxford, Yale etc.?

14. Dr. Simple "Riff-Raff" Simon Phd. Avatar

@Tron December 30, 2017 at 9:28 AM “The daughter of working class people moving through the ranks and ending up in the highest office of the land speaks to the type of society we are.”

This statement reveals what is wrong with Barbados. It is only important that you have a very poor social background and some connections, not excellency and integrity.

Dear Tron: You do understand don’t you that as in ms. Mason’s case it is possible BOTH to be of working class background AND to have excellence and integrity.

15. Dr. Simple "Riff-Raff" Simon Phd. Avatar

@Tron December 30, 2017 at 9:28 AM “Barbadian society became a place where everybody is eager to suck the taxpayer, where everybody wants to be a servant instead of becoming an independent businessman….Barrows´s heirs are minions.”

Barrow was himself a public servant.

As was his daughter.

As is his son.

Public servants are necessary.

There is plenty of room in Barbados for those [like you?] who want to become independent business man and women.

16. Dr. Simple "Riff-Raff" Simon Phd. Avatar

@Sargeant December 30, 2017 at 10:12 AM “Hey de wimmen tekking over, female GG and female DPP wuh gwine happen if there is a female PM?”

All good things Sarge. All good things.

I looking forward to it.

You too?

17. Dr. Simple "Riff-Raff" Simon Phd. Avatar

@Fractured BLP December 30, 2017 at 10:25 AM “It’s Official. The Democratic Labour Party has set another record. The DLP was the first to appoint the first female Governor General of Barbados. The DLP was the first to appoint the first female Director of Public Prosecution of Barbados. The DLP was the first to appoint the second female Governor General of Barbados

As soon the PM appoints some woman to the honour of Mrs. Freundel Jerome Stuart, I will be voting “D” for sure.

18. Dr. Simple "Riff-Raff" Simon Phd. Avatar

Fractured BLP December 30, 2017 at 10:38 AM #
    The world’s greatest political party is accentuating the positives in Barbadian women.

Promoting them to top positions based on their HONESTY , INTEGRITY, HARDWORK and ETHICS .

Wha’ happen? De Dees can’t find any men with honesty, integrity, ethics and who are hard working?

19. Bushie

Your oft repeated homilies and doctrinal instructions to explain magical thinking will come to naught.

20. Good advertising Sargeant…… for the BLP. lol

“At Braddie’s Bar, one of the few traditional rum shops remaining in St. Lawrence gap near Dover, co-owners and business partners Santia Bradshaw and Jerry Baker are holding tight to Barbados history.

Although everyone has their favourite fish cake, I fell in deep-fried love at Braddie’s. It could be that I was entranced by the rum shop, where tourists and locals while away the time sipping spirits and playing pool. And it most definitely could have been the Creeper, a rum cocktail so named “because that’s how you feel a couple of hours after it creeps up on you,” says Bradshaw.

The bar first came into the family after her father, former Labour party MP Delisle Bradshaw — Braddie is his nickname — bought it when he retired. While he tended bar and talked politics out front, her mom was either in the back turning out world-class chicken wings and pork chops or singing karaoke, which she stills does to this day when the senior Bradshaws drop in for a visit.

Like her father, Santia is also a Labour party MP and a member of the official opposition, responsible for shadowing the business portfolio. Tourism is the linchpin of the indebted island’s economy, so much so that, if they have a bad tourism season, “it could be concerning for the island.”

She is the kind of person who, when you ask what’s in the fish cakes, takes you to the back of the shop where Baker is stirring a bowl of orange-hued batter.

“This is what the bar was like when my parents ran it,” says Bradshaw. “It was an extension of their home.”

She is passionate about keeping the rum shop alive, because she sees the way tourism has changed over the past 10 years, and knows visitors are looking for authentic experiences.

“We want to expose people to Barbadian culture, like taking you into the kitchen. It’s the experience you get in places like this that will make you come back.”

So when Baker picks up the bowl of fish cake batter and shows me exactly what goes in it — the chopped garlic, green pepper, marjoram, thyme and a little bit of grated cheddar cheese — I am taking detailed notes, because I have to have them again.

And when it is time to leave the island, after sampling many fish cakes and finding them wanting, Baker heads to the rum shop to cook up 20 for me. I get them all the way to Toronto, where, 24 hours later, I have a little piece of Barbados for lunch.

Kim Honey was hosted by Barbados Tourism Marketing, which didn’t review or approve this story.

21. https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/12/30/mottley-warns-time-is-running-out-on-dems/

Well well

Imagine this DESPOT of an individual is claiming time has ran for someone

When TIME has clearly RAN out for her

Please anyone

Tell what is Mia Aman Mottley views on the following:

Domestic violence against WOMEN ? She conveniently absented herself from Parliament on the day of the amendment to the Domestic Violence Act !
    Sexual harassment against WOMEN ? She again conveniently absented herself from Parliament on the day the Bill was debated !
    Women on International Day of the WOMAN ? If you are lucky to find such a speech/ comments by MAM do post them for all to read !

This old harangue needs to go and find the soul….,,,OSA says she has lost !

So too those who are banking on this worn our horse 🐴!

22. The next general elections are about decent women in public life .

Starting with Dame Sandra Prunella Agard

Mrs . Donna Babb – Agard

Look 👀 how classless – Mia Aman Mottley compares to the above !!!!

23. Worn out horse 🐴

24. @Hants
    I was going to comment on it but I gave it a pass. I’m going to drop in and see if the fishcakes are as good as advertised.

Will let you know when I do

25. Fractured

Some women rise to the top from the vertical position, others from the horizontal position.

26. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

@BU David:
    When last I checked the constitution of Barbados we have one elected government at a time. You obviously do not support the current government but it is the duly elected government.
    Relax, the people will decide when the time comes and you will have your opportunity to either spend 5 more years cussing Freundel or 5 years making excuses for Mottley and her group of misfits who are clearly promising more than they could deliver even in the best of times.

27. Waaaaaait??????????……………….

Wuh part dis DLP jackass yard-fowl now come from??

28. Hal Austin December 30, 2017 at 5:06 AM #
    The new governor general will now retire on full public service pension as a Appeal Court judge;

With some decisions outstanding!!

29. Maybe the idea is to prevent the CCJ from berating the Court of Appeal and by extension the GG

30. When asked what her first order of business would be on taking up the top post, Babb-Agard said she would work towards unclogging the backlog of cases.

Interesting first order of business given the GG appointment!!

31. @ John
    ….also, was she not a SENIOR part of the system that CAUSED the clogging in the first place?

Is she aware of Einstein’s precept?

No problem can be solved from the same level of consciousness that created it.

32. The appointment of Mason is to foster political capital with the female vote, we know this don’t we?

33. John December 31, 2017 at 9:07 AM #

The backlog is not the DP’s responsibility.

34. The backlog is not the D(P)P’s responsibility.
    True.
    In fact the DPP prevented it from being even more backlogged …by NOT bringing charges against KNOWN public criminals including lepers, Speakers, Drug importers etc…

35. I would have thought so too Hal, unless she really means she will not be asking for adjournments or delaying in her role in the prosecution of the cases she chooses to prosecute …. like before!!

I suspect the CJ has the judges moving and we may be in for pleasant surprises in 2018 … fingers and toes crossed … so she wants in on the wins and doesn’t want to be cast in the role to which BT refers.

36. John December 31, 2017 at 11:50 AM #

In the early 1970s the UK and Barbados had similar court systems. Then in 1971 the system was reformed, that was 46 years ago, almost as long as Barbados has been independent. It is not too late to reform our court system apart from building a great white elephant.
    We can do so by appointing a number of part-time judges, thereby getting through some of the back log of cases.
    @ John,
    A healthy and productive new year to you and yours.

37. @Bush Tea

The DPP’s office is a part of the problem.

38. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Of course the DPP’s office is part of the problem with cases lingering for 7 and 8 years with accuseds on remand without trial or bail, that deceased DPP was a criminal of the first order, all he did was waste the court’s and everyone’s time with delays and protected his criminal friends and bribers, his golfing partners, in the minority community. …..from the consequences of their criminal actions against the people and country,

….a totally, well known disgrace and blight on the judiciary.

As long as Babb-Agard knows that a repeat will not be tolerated, all she needs to do is the job taxpayer’s expect of her.

39. @Dr. Simple “Riff-Raff” Simon Phd. December 30, 2017 at 10:45 PM #

Why do we send black Barbadians with a scholarship rocket to the stars called Cambridge, Harvard, Oxford etc. and then the same people figure out after their return to the rock that all the promising public jobs are taken by those who worked on their party connections during their stay abroad when they represented Barbados internationally? OK, maybe go to the private sector …

Education does not pay out in Barbados. All you need are party connections. Ask those who order the festivity in the hotels BEFORE the job interviews for public posts because the job is already promised to them.

Riff-Raff, that is the worst form of a Banana republicanism. People in Barbados have two choices: 1) stay on the rock and abandon quality education or 2) emigrate. Barbados has a very serious problem to convince the brightest of their generation to return to the rock where they could serve the common good best. 99 % of the local public top-jobs are distributed not by merit but by nepotism.

I do not look at any Ph.D. or anything like that like an academic snob. I just use it as an example how the local system works against the talents.

40. People in Barbados have two choices: 1) stay on the rock and abandon quality education or 2) emigrate.

The third one is to figure out what they actually have and that is of value and go after it!!!

Is education the be all and end all of our existence?

It doesn’t matter where in the world you go, competition for jobs is extreme.

It doesn’t matter how much education you have.

Look around at the thousands of acres in bush.

Make it bloom as it once did!!!

We have the ability and technology to do it all we need is the will …. and we don’t need to go anywhere.

41. Thanks for your well wishes Hal and the same to you and your family.

42. @ John 5.38 pm
    That is the most incisive post that you have made for the whole year.
    It is deep.

Even the massive understatement at the end (…all we need is the will..) is loaded with meaning..

Unfortunately, such ‘will’ to do as you say …does not just fall from the sky.
    Such ‘will’ tends to come as a result of a personality that is self-aware, selfless, long-sighted and spiritually in tune with BBE.
    It is the very antithesis of the endemic brassbowlery which currently pervades the place.

Perhaps you may know of how such ‘will’ could be generated.

43. Perhaps you may know of how such ‘will’ could be generated.

You haven’t been paying attention in the past 4 years to what is happening on the land.

Go look in the ground provision section of the supermarket and you will find a bounty.

Take yams

I could buy yams in early 2014 from a few plantations.

In 2015, not one!!!

In 2016, not one!!!

Terrible drought.

I admit I did not try hard.

The weather changed during 2016, people read it from early and were planting yams from stores in May.

By the end of 2016 I saw acres of yams all over Barbados and lots of small farmers with them too.

In 2017, a bounty of yams year round!!

The will you want to generate is inside people already!!

…. and despite all the doom and gloom about the sugar, people were still planting in 2016 and 2017.

Some of the first crop I see now is like the old time days.

But, too much bush on too much land.

44. That is ‘necessity’ (- the mother of invention) John.
    ‘Will’ is proactive – not reactive.

45. Stayers are proactive.

They use opportunity to optimize output!!

Takes about a year to grow yams!!

In agriculture there is no choice but to be proactive.

46. John January 1, 2018 at 12:34 PM #

Hope you are well. How did breadfruit get to Barbados from the Pacific?

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John January 1, 2018 at 12:34 PM #
    “Takes about a year to grow yams!!
    In agriculture there is no choice but to be proactive.”

What kind of YAMS are those to take 52 weeks to mature? Quaker yams??

You ought to review that claim before answering Hal’s question about the breadfruit which came from St. Vincent and not directly from Tahiti.
    BTW John, please tell us how the Green Monkey came to Barbadoes.

48. How about asking from where the jackass came?

49. @John
    How about killing two birds with one stone? While you are researching the route of the breadfruit tree, how about telling us how the Baobab tree arrived in Queen’s Park? Is it true that a slave brought a seed from Africa and surreptitiously dropped it from his pocket in what is now known as Queen’s Park? Did a white planter steal one of the seeds and buried it at Warrens? What other hiding places can we find Baobab trees in Bim?

I am putting a new spin on the tourism efforts as in “Why go to Madagascar to see Baobabs when you can go to Bimshire and see a Baobab in the morning and swim with the turtles in the afternoon”

Happy year of the Dog (getting a jump on Chinese New Year)