Prime Minister Freundel Stuart

In early 2015 Prime Minster Freundel Stuart announced that Barbados will switch from the monarchical system of government to republican status. It is December 2017- almost two years later- with a general election on the horizon and clearly Barbadians must conclude that this is another empty promise by a politician.

The appointment of Justice Sandra Mason makes the BU household question how can we hold our politicians accountable. How is it possible for a prime minister of Barbados to boldly state in 2015 that he will champion the transition to a republic and then do nothing to deliver and we ACCEPT it.

Why is there a rush to appoint a governor general if the plan is to ‘shift’ to republican status? The irony is that the political class [a collective] is expressing glee at what is being termed a popular choice for governor general. The BU household holds no brief for Sandra Mason, she appears to be a decent lady, however, the public should be expressing outrage at another broken promise, the media should be questioning and probing the political morality of the government. The Barbados Labour Party (BLP) should be asking why the hurry to appoint a governor general, a governor of the central bank and possibly a director of public prosecutions weeks before a general election. On the flipside, how many permanent secretaries are acting in the position and for how long therefore compromising their ability to execute?

It is morally wrong!

We know this Democratic Labour Party (DLP) does not practice political ethics in governance. Take the flagship example of Michael Carrington who as Speaker was found to be dishonest in his dealings with a septuagenarian wheelchair-bound client and the prime minister did nothing about it except to advise him to secure a lawyer. We can add another example of prime minister Freundel Stuart signing-off on the Cahill deal without admitting it publicly amidst the noise of the debate to the contrary.

Relevant links:

If the head is bad…

There will be no jumping for joy in the BU household with the appointment of Sandra Mason as governor general.

182 responses to “Why the Haste to Appoint a Governor General?”

1. There is only one instrument which can act as a corrective

2. A case of the lawyer class leading the national discussion, just observe Mia profuse in her praise of the appointment.

3. Nothing done by this Democratic Labour Party administration of ineptitude should be surprising to anyone anymore. Have we not seen where one of its Ministers has misidentified human faeces as blood? As shitty a situation as Barbadians find themselves in, complaints will be met with consequences. Inhalation of excessive amounts of smoke from a barbecue grill apparently has engendered early dementia. As a lady reported ” I told you de chicken barn,you sure dis ent a chicken farm?

4. Toni Moore was quoted in the press recently making the point that if 20,000 Barbadians marching made no difference in the position of government what will?

5. Bushie warned wunna…. but wunna tek it fuh joke….

The construction of the DEVIL monument at the Garrison should have alerted Bajans to the fact that we have been taken over by Demons….
    The CORRECT action then should have been “SACK CLOTHES AND ASHES”.

Bushie DARES anyone else to come with a SENSIBLE reason for the construction of a pitchfork emerging from the ground, almost exactly between Government headquarters, Government House, Illaro Court, …and the shiite flowing down Hastings.
    ….PARTICULARLY by a government that is BROKE as shiite, and that has been unable, otherwise, to rub two pennies together – far less fix potholes, keep water running, …or stop shiite from overflowing in the streets.

We now have the VERY SAME demon running things bout here, that controls Trump; That led Hitler; that directed the idiot Pharaoh of Egypt while plague after plague tormented the brass bowl people….

This kinda shiite only ever ends one way….

6. The rush is all about perception. We the DLP have done things…PERCEPTION! The appointment od a female GG is also about the women’s vote.

7. Bushie

Is there not a law about killing people…………………with laughter!

But when the stiches dissipate you still have to explain how come this country, after 1966, some say before, was built on the pitch fork and it was only since its recent erection did damnation escalate, according to Bushie 3:16

Were not similar issues present around the early 1990’s under another idiot Sandiford?

Did OSA not make things worse by selling out the country under a perverse neoliberalism.

Have we generally not had periods of boom and bust about every 10 years or so for a century or more?

And although this time is markedly different, should we not have seen it coming?

We know you like to see these manifestations through a spiritual lens but should we not try to use a sharp object to remove the offending limb, first?

8. Okay……… “the rush is all about perception,” but does the DLP really believe the voters of this era are as gullible as the voters in by-gone eras?

9. There is some levity from this quarter this am. The author is trying to hold a politician’s feet to the fire for something he said at a constituency meeting. The bar has now been raised from the usual not keeping campaign promises to breaking promises made at branch meetings. (An aside a few years ago an Ontario Court ruled that a politician can’t be held responsible for promises made during a campaign and as part of his ruling said):

“Imposing a duty of care in the circumstances such as exist in the present case would have a chilling effect and would interfere with the concept of parliamentary sovereignty,” he said. “To allow claims for negligent representation to be made based on these would raise the spectre of unlimited liability to an indeterminate class”.

A recent US court ruling arrived at the same decision in an attempt to sue Trump.
    Now to Ms. Mason, if I can bastardise the phrase “love the sinner but hate the sin” seems there is much love for Ms. Mason but some are of the opinion that there was undue haste to the appointment. Who cares who is GG? It is a ceremonial post which is generally held by someone in the bosom of the party in power. I don’t know or care of Ms. Mason’s politics but I believe she will visit those future centenarians no matter which party governs this (not so) fair isle.

Here is the judgement if anyone cares to read it.

http://www.taxpayer.com/media/73.pdf

10. Listen to David Comissiong on Brasstacks today!

11. @ Pacha
    Were not similar issues present around the early 1990’s
    Yes.
    But there was a degree of counter-balance.

For example,
    …A Dipper would NEVER have allowed the building of that shiite on the Garrison.
    …Some sensible public servant would have blocked the idiots from selling BNB
    …A Winter Crawford would have spoken loudly against selling our birthrights…

Now all we have are a pack of brass bowls all scrambling to buy BMWs that they can’t even afford to fill with gas…..

As to your last point…. We are not smart enough now to understand that if even your own RIGHT HAND offends you, …the ‘sharp object’ needs to be applied…. far less a bunch of shiitehound politicians.

12. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

la guillotine…

13. Once again our great King 👑 Freundel Jerome Stuart have won the hearts of his die hard critics with the appointment of the esteemed female citizen in the person of Dame Sandra Prunella Mason to the post of Governor General of Barbados 🇧🇧.

Even the at most times , boisterous , Mia Amor Mottley – was one of the first out of the gates praising King Stuart on his most powerful appointment of GG.

Mind you this is the same MAM only a few days prior was pompasetting that she ain’t supporting no picks by King 👑 Stuart for the posts of GG, DPP or GOCB !

Well within 24 hrs we have the announcement of a new GG and GOCB !!!

MAM love ❤️ them both !!!

We in the Democratic Labour Party – will look forward to her ” support ” of the new DPP !

A DPP who will no doubt have to pronounce on MAM’s lack of a LEC !!!

Wuhloss !!!!!!

On the night of the upcoming General Elections – no doubt MAM will be congratulating King 👑 Stuart on a magnificent victory!

Dems now……Dems AGAIN !

14. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

You yardfowls will never learñ, yall are house negros and slaves for life.

15. @ Bushie who wrote “Bushie DARES anyone else to come with a SENSIBLE reason for the

construction of a pitchfork emerging from the ground,”

The Designer was trained at a New York University. She used her training to the best of her ability and quite conservatively.

The BROKEN TRIDENT is on the Barbados Flag so using it as part of the monument on the Garrison is reasonable given the youth and inexperience of the designer.

Bushie muh boi, I could write a lengthy “thesis” but you out me for the bullshit I would have to write.

The monument is ugly. The designer is pretty.

The devil is in the details.

16. RE There will be no jumping for joy in the BU household with the appointment of Sandra Mason as governor general.

SO WHAT? WHO CARES IF THERE IS jumping for joy in the BU household with the appointment of Sandra Mason as governor general?

IF THE BU HOUSEHOLD OR EVEN BU BRIMBLERS JUMP FOR JOY OR DONT JUMP OR IF THEY ARE UNABLE TO JUMP DOES IT CHANGE ANYTHING?

RE Why is there a rush to appoint a governor general if the plan is to ‘shift’ to republican status?
    MAYBE FUMBLE AND DEM CHANGE THEIR MIND…….OR UNLIKE TRUMP THEY ARE UNABLE TO, OR CHOSE NOT TO KEEP THEIR PROMISES.
    ANOTHER DAY……MORE MOCK SPORT IN THE RUM SHOP

THEY SHOULD HAVE MADE BUSHTEA THE GG OR THE PEDANTIC BUMBLING BRIMBLER

17. Fractured BLP…..King 👑 Freundel Jerome Stuart.

Royal Rumble…..Owen Arthur. Prime Minister for Life and Father of first world Barbados.

18. Good one Hants!

19. @ Bushie,

Studying Architecture is one of my hobbies. That is why I will cut the monument designer some slack. lol

https://www.architecturaldigest.com/gallery/best-of-frank-gehry-slideshow

20. @ David

David December 29, 2017 at 7:09 AM #
    A case of the lawyer class leading the national discussion, just observe Mia profuse in her praise of the appointment.

My dear friend , what did you really expect. BLPDLP=Same party

DUMP THEM !!!!

21. I know of one decision in the Court of Appeal where she ia part of the panel which is outstanding since July 2016.

How many other decisions await a decision?

Point is, she got work to do without confusing her head with this appointment!!

22. Breaking News

In 2013 it was Owen Arthur telling and writing to Freundel to tek Mia Mottley off his hands .

Now as 2017 draws to a close – George Payne was just seen leaving the Prime Minister’s residence where he hand delivered a letter to the Prime Minister asking that he take Mia Mottley into the DLP .

George contention is that MAM is pretending to be against the Dems but then hurriedly supports everything the Dems do .

George is furious that MAM declared to the world that she will oppose any and all appointments the Dems make as 2017 comes to a close !

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/11/28/not-so-fast-mia/

It is strongly believed that OSA encouraged George to visit Ilaro Court this morning – given the report and comments in the BT news story above .

The Bees 🐝 are once again ……FRACTURED!

Stay tuned as more details on this breaking story comes to hand.

23. Why don’t you address the fact Mia asked the prime minister to contact her 2 years ago to discuss issues associated with the breakdown of the South Coast sewage project?

#JA

24. @ Hants
    The monument is ugly. The designer is pretty.
    History is replete with this arrangement. Yet we never learn.

Is she not from Cawmere too…?
    Where strange and mysterious and events smells have since taken over?

25. Bushie

You like Thutmoses

How many more plagues should be expected?

26. What difference would it had made if Mia opposed the appointment of Sandra Mason?

The stubborn, arrogant, egotistical and sarcastic man we have as a PM would just have ignored her and in his true form he would have issued some sarcastic statement saying Mia is against the appointment of a woman.

She played her cards right. Don’t give the rear mouth dems any ammo.

Let them explain how they could enter into a contract with a local consortium registered in St Lucia, operating here, then mysteriously terminate the contract in favour of favorite white son and has now left the taxpayers to pick up an initial tab of 94 million and not a inch of concrete hasn’t been poured nor a brick laid.

Let the F’up dem explain that and who got all of this money. …crooks. We are going to lock wunnah up.

27. @ Fractured.

Don’t you realise that you are doing your party an injustice with stupid comments? Firstly, Can you state factually which residence the letter was delivered? Were you privileged to the contents of the letter? You cried wolf in 2013 and now you crying wolf in 2017. Will it make a substantial difference in 2018?

28. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Like his buddy Fruendel, Gollop is definitely a mediocre, 4th rate lawyer…why would anyone hire him to screw up their cases….he lost Agard’s case because accordng to the judge……”was suing the wrong parties, on the wrong form and in the wrong way.”

We can make a list of the useless 4th rate lawyers in Bim, most of whom are in parliament, many are outside of parliament…many of them QCs……, ALL useless and mediocre.

29. The BLP needs to let the public know if they intend to go to a Republic this time and I think they should. OSA allowed the dead king to intimidate him and the thing is OSA had a 2/3 majority and did not need the dead king to take it forward. Discuss it with him and do it.

If Fumble think that he is sticking it to Mia. Easy fix for Mia …… go to a Republican form of government and appoint a new President. Voila. …..break up dems. ….Mia wins again.

30. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

At least with a republic Barbados we wil hear no more from the fraudulent, pompus litte house negro shithound in the UK who likes sniffing the asses of the beasts of buckinham palace.

31. Agree with you, Well Well.

Hollow fancies himself as this big high priced lawyer. I had dealings with Gollop and was not impressed. Poor rate. Did he not lose the case with the bare foot priest on the same grounds? He sued the wrong people.

Poor rate 2×3 lawyer who came to fame and big money only since he is Fumble ‘s friend.

Ha ha ha. ……Mia wins again. I said Maria was misguided. She can now take down her sign on the building in Rendezvous. Ha ha ha. …….Maria lost!

32. Hal Gollop.

33. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lol…how the hell as a lawyer can you sue the wrong people..even paralegals know the fundamental rules of making sure the right people are sued.

34. These dems and their sycophants are intent on “ramming” up everything in the trough.

A dlp lawyer charged over 750 thousand dollars for work done with the Valery and Grotto projects.
    The 750 thousand was rejected.
    He revised the price down to 450 thousand, that was rejected.

He then settled for 50 thousand dollars.

Dems stealing from the taxpayers. No wonder the government is in so much trouble.

Now we understand why we are being taxed to death and can’t see where the money is going. . ..the morons are giving it away to their friends.

35. Why the haste, David? Just to stick it to Mia.

Freundel is a evil, sarcastic, condescending man. His hatred for us the people and anyone else who is not of his ilk knows no bounds.

Mia said at the Chamber luncheon that hoped that he would not appoint people to long term positions in the dying days of this administration and this is just what he has done.

Maybe the only quick decision he has made in 9 years.

36. @David

Could you or one of the legal luminaries that populate this place advise what type of form is required to file a lawsuit?

Asking for a friend

37. @Prodigal Son

Mia could have congratulated Justice Mason and at the same time reminded Barbadians that this is a government that promised the shift to a Republic.

38. 100 % sure that the next DPP will be just another low in the history of this country.

The former DPP had serious trouble with his young female officers for reasons the whole legal fraternity of this country knows – and NOTHING ever happened. We will soon see what kind of filou the next figure is.

39. Agree with you, David but you know had she said so, the CC’s and F’up dems of BU would have a lot to say.

So she avoided the lot of long talk.

Mia said that 2 years ago when she asked him to call her to discuss the sewage problems on the south coast, he said he doesn’t talk to women like Mia.

His face is such a turn off, I am sure many women would say a similar thing of him.

40. @Prodigal Son

Be nice now, ‘tis the season!

Sorry, seems to be an html failure.

41. Lol, David.

42. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“concern citizen
    December 29, 2017 at 4:04 pm
    is this the same hall gollop that was questioning Mia legal standing to practice law in Barbados. shame on you. may be you is the one want inveśigating. just asking.”

Now there is a thought..lol…. too many fraud lawyers in Barbados, too many walking around with QCs….they want exposing fully.

43. Now there is a thought..lol…. too many fraud lawyers in Barbados, too many walking around with QCs….they want exposing fully.

I like my status as a non practicing half a lawyer.

I can get away with paying no VAT perfectly legally and without having to make any fuss and commotion.

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

“In early 2015 Prime Minster Freundel Stuart announced that Barbados will switch from the monarchical system of government to republican status. It is December 2017- almost two years later- with a general election on the horizon and clearly Barbadians must conclude that this is another empty promise by a politician..”

It is highly probable that Lord Fumble would be making Republicanism into major platform drawing card in the upcoming general elections with the theme “If you want to make Barbados a republic of Christians and Not an island of gays and lesbians, then Vote DLP”.

And if he doesn’t then there is that inevitable opportunity coming up very soon when the country will have to choose between a saying of ‘HIS MAJESTY’ and ‘Mr. or Madam President’.

In any event, there will be a tidy sum involved in the re-branding exercise.
    Now that is where the choice between the circus devil of propaganda to impress the masses and the god of reality called foreign exchange must be made.

Will it be a simple matter of changing the Constitution and stationery to read HIS instead of HER?

Or will it be a more costly undertaking in order to find the devil in the detail by getting rid of everything ‘Royal’ especially the pips and crowns embedded in the regalia of ceremony and differentiation of status including’ Sir’, ‘Dame’ ‘QC’ and ‘KC’?

Whoever find themselves on the New Year’s honours list ought to count themselves lucky for being the last bunch of the Royal Mohicans.

Just let us hope that shallow Hal (not the other Austin) receives his just desserts for being the consummate asshole of legal incompetence and galloping black knight of political yardfowlism.

“The Only Thing That Is Constant Is Change -” ― Heraclitus

45. The Game of Thrones in Barbados does not surprise when the Leader of HM Opposition would so support a feckless government weeks before an election.

The duopoly is indeed, and has always been, a conspiracy against all the people

With the party supporters acting as handmaidens

This level of political debauchery has the usual cast of character – a PM who lacks scrotum; a Leader of the Opposition insistent on deballing men; and an incoming GG who has never distinguished herself except in loyalty to party.

46. So much for Hal Gollop boasting at Deighton Griffith School that he has a LEC.

Haha hahaha! !!!!!

47. This is tremendous comedy for the
    ending of the year . Intelligent people
    actually expecting anything different
    from the BLPDLP. LOL
    The greatest stench of sewage is to be
    found in Roebuck and George Streets.

48. Skinner,you can really hush doh.Out of 6000 voters only 149 voted for you in 1991. You en got no shame doh!You unnerstan dat under 3%?Can you get it into your head that in 2013,the majority of voting Bajans voted for both of those parties?

49. [117] In considering this matter, I have taken account also that the claimant has had a second bite at the proverbial cherry. She filed an amended FDCF, albeit without leave. I have heard no submissions on it but the record speaks for itself. That document was filed to remedy admitted defects in the FDCF. However, as Counsel for the defendants submitted, it maintains many of the flaws that characterised the original document. It remains the wrong mode of commencement; it does not set out a short description of the nature of the claim; it does not state in its body the capacity in which the defendants are sued; it contains the same internal headings that are apt to confuse; and it reproduces an incoherent paragraph already the subject of complaint. Additionally, it invites unguided references to the claimant’s affidavit for some of its intended contents.
    [118] It is therefore pointless for this Court to contemplate allowing the amended FDCF to stand. In any event, I could make no such determination without hearing the parties further but it seems to me that in light of what I have said about the references to the affidavit and the repeat of errors, the document cannot be maintained without some amendment. It would therefore be a waste of time and expense to leave it for further consideration. It was filed without leave and it ought to be struck out.
    [119] I have considered whether I should make a compendious order striking out the affidavit; staying the proceedings unless and until a CPR 21 order is obtained; and providing that the claim be struck out if the claimant failed to make the CPR 21 application and, if successful, file an amended claim form within specified times. In such an order, I would also have to make provision for the proceedings to continue as if they had been commenced by a Form 1.
    [120] I do not think that the interest of the administration of justice would be served by such an order. The FDCF requires a major overhaul to bring it into line with the requirements of the CPR. The breaches are substantial and substantial amendments are required to give it the form and substance necessary to make it legally acceptable. Conjoined with the requirement for the CPR 21 order, the taking of corrective measures by the claimant would be tantamount to starting over.
    [121] Striking out the claim would not deprive the claimant of her access to the Court or bestow any windfall on the defendants. The claimant may make a fresh start with these procedural flaws behind her. This seems to me to be more efficient than the untidy alternative considered above which would do nothing to discourage sloppiness or encourage careful adherence to the CPR.

50. DISPOSAL
    [122] For these reasons, therefore, I have determined that the applications of both defendants ought to succeed, and the FDCF, the claimant’s affidavit and the amended FDCF be struck out. I will make orders accordingly and hear the parties on the issue of costs.

OLSON DeC ALLEYNE JUDGE OF THE HIGH COURT