Dr. Hugh Sealy’s comments carried by the Nation newspaper make for compulsory reading. It is important because he is one of the few technocrats available who worked on the South Coast Sewage plant project team at start up- a plant that is failing and as a result leaking raw sewage on the popular strip frequented by tourists and locals alike from Hastings to Worthing.

The question BU has for our government of 8 years:-

1. Why was a primary treatment process considered as a “treatment” method for the South Coast plant? Why did the government not see the immediate need on assuming office to integrate a secondary and even tertiary treatment process? Didn’t they tout a waste management plan?
  2. Will the Board of the Barbados Water Authority resign after supporting then general manager Dr John Mwansa’s claim in December 2016 that the manhole covers were being removed and that there was no sewage leaking into the street and sea – read Nation report BWA denial .

Already political forces have capitalized on the issue, see embedded video. It will be an interesting general election to observe how Estwick, Lowe, Boyce et al deal with this matter of effluent leaking on the South Coast road and sea. Do not forget the stench!

178 responses to “South Coast Sewage Stink Makes for Political Capital”

1. Barbados faces a dystopian future.

To the last tourist in Barbados: Do not forget to turn off the switch in the power plant, since the locals cannot afford electricity anymore.

2. Political mud slinging ! blp gangstas out in full force

3. ac December 12, 2017 at 8:06 PM #

“Political mud slinging! blp gangstas out in full force…”

Wuh you digging…….yuh hypocrite????

I recall you and the other DLP yard-fowls that frequent this forum, ENDORSING similar types of videos, posters, newspaper and radio ads produced by and for the DLP for the 2013 elections, including……….

…………“Photoshopped” images of Owen Arthur dressed in army fatigues similarly to Castro and saluting, with a caption describing him as a dictator……….

…………the “old pensioner woman” in the Transport Board bus skit implying a vote for the BLP means privatization of the TB and pensioners would be required to pay bus fare……….

………….and posters informing Bajans that, if elected, the BLP would pass laws to legalize same sex marriages………

………….all of which sent subliminal messages to Barbadians NOT to vote for the BLP……….

……………IMMEDIATELY COMES TO MIND.

Once these types of scenarios originate with the DLP, to you, it’s not “political mudslinging.”

ac……. I WILL ALWAYS EXPOSE YOU for the hypocritical DLP yard-fowl, jackass you are.

4. Welcome to “turd world” Barbados where a cabal of useless “big guts” miscreants masquerading as a govt, are presiding over the deterioration of the once “gem” of the Carribean.
    Seasons Greetings.

5. ORDER OUT OF CHAOS
    What IF all this fiasco is just theatrical? I wonder.
    Recently, the narrative was drought with an onslaught of water woes especially in rural areas, then the installing of “new” water metres which by the way have been banned from certain countries including Canada and Australia because of health hazards. then garbage collection problems, lack of trucks etc., strikes… then sub-contracting waste haulage, the Cahill debacle, now its sewerage

When the UN by its AGENDA 21 and the PARRIS AGREEMENT, notable mechanisms seem to be at work.

Here are excerpts as per water and waste management …..
    Water resources assessment…
    18.28. The Conference secretariat has estimated the average total annual cost (1993-2000) of
    implementing the activities of this programme to be about $355 million, including about $145 million from the international community on grant or concessional terms.

https://sustainabledevelopment.un.org/content/documents/Agenda21.pdf

SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT
    Agenda 21 – Chapter 21
    ENVIRONMENTALLY SOUND MANAGEMENT OF SOLID WASTES AND
    SEWAGE-RELATED ISSUES

The Conference secretariat suggests that industrialized countries should consider investing in waste minimization the equivalent of about 1 per cent of the expenditures on solid wastes and sewage disposal. At current levels, this would amount to about $6.5 billion annually, including about $1.8 billion related to minimizing municipal solid wastes.

Promoting environmentally sound waste disposal and treatment…..
    Safe waste disposal programmes are relevant to both developed and developing countries. In
    developed countries the focus is on improving facilities to meet higher environmental quality criteria, while in developing countries considerable investment is required to build new treatment facilities.

21.34. The Conference secretariat has estimated the average total annual cost (1993-2000) of
    implementing the activities of this programme in developing countries to be about $15 billion,
    including about $3.4 billion from the international community on grant or concessional terms.

THE PARRIS AGREEMENT
    https://unfccc.int/files/essential_background/convention/application/pdf/english_paris_agreement.pdf

LEADERS MUST UNDERSTAND WHAT THEY ARE BEING SIGNATORIES TO…. Remember, the country has to respect THEIR protocol, sometimes it just cant be about the money, the US has just backtracked from the Parris Agreement, whos next?.

6. Why do we have a Minister of the Environment.Why is Health and Tourism mentioned but not Environment.Why is this inefficient and ineffective fool being protected.Why do we have such a Ministry.Its counter productive for crissake.This DLP is a sick bunch of JA’sses.

7. The integrity of the ad is comprise when it fails to show that a health crisis has resulted because of govt in action to resolve the sewage problem and as a result the community health was severly impacted leaving death and mayhem in its wake
    More or less the attention and focus which the ad has taken does not leave an earth shattering moment in the mind of the viewer.
    The missing link is a health crisis affecting a the country or the small community in order for this ad to be successful in pulling the heart strings and making govt having to take full responsibility for being incompetent.

8. “Integrity of the ad,” shiite……..

The intended purpose of the video complements tourists expressing their concerns on forum such as Trip Advisor……..

…….. and business owners continuing to highlight the health hazards and loss of business as a result, which are associated with this inept DLP administration’s inaction and lack of urgent response to this issue…….

A combination of which would “leave an earth shattering moment in the mind of the viewer” that “government has to take full responsibility for being incompetent.”

An uncreative, myopic DLP yard-fowl would obviously be unable to identify and understand this fact.

9. Another catastrophe in the making is MOULD. No one seem to be paying attention, its all over the place, even on the foliage and trees., power wash it , bleach it and its back soon after. in old buildings with a/c you can smell it, coral rendered buildings, on coral products finishes on homes, on roofs, even on cars….I noticed something peculiar where a house, was covered by it except the areas under the window sill, could it be falling from the sky?

Urgent investigation is required by the Ministry of Health.

10. Artax

We have to admit now that the dems have truly messed up our country.

11. What we have not discussed fully is that the Bridgetown Sewage Plant is under threat as well. Let us hope that the temporary redirecting of waste from the South does not act as a tipping point.

12. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Mold is deadly and should not be allowed to grow anywhere.

There is no scam or lie or tricks this government can come with that the electorate, except their dumb yardfowls, will fall for again…out with them all….all.

13. The old saying was “SHIT FLOWS DOWNHILL”, well in BARBADOS it frequently FLOWS from politicians mouths as well.

These South Coast issues have been festering for three years in a system that is barely 15 years old, WTF.

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Wily Coyote December 13, 2017 at 5:49 AM
    “These South Coast issues have been festering for three years in a system that is barely 15 years old, WTF.”

WC (No pun intended in the use of your initials), the disastrous ramifications of the buildup of this crap have been drawn to the attention of the authorities, both technical and political, for a long time now.

But what did one get other than the usual political grandstanding and circus performance in the form of a swimming competition to see who can swallow the greatest amount of shit while continuing to play a shooting game of Russian roulette in true Buffalo Bill Cody style with the health of the nation.

So now the shit has hit the tourism fan which is the only economic game in town the too many frowzy cooks in charge are running around like headless chickens trying to suppress the stench emanating from the years of their incompetence and willful neglect.

15. How long has Bushie been telling wunna that the wages of sin is shiite…… and then death?

There ARE consequences for things like CLICO, 3S, Greenland, VECO, Barrack, CAHILL, The Sugar debacle at Andrews, the BWA bribery building, ministers openly seen to be spending MUCH more than they earn….

The consequences are normally typified as the shit hitting the fan… however in our unique case, we have the Bajan fans of brass bowlery hitting the shit – up and down the South Coast – where all the expensive properties are …

Wait…..wunna did not EXPECT that we would pay for the lotta shiite that WE have been ACCEPTING from these politicians…?

Wunna thought that BBE would wink and let it pass…?

By NOT rising up AGAINST the blatant wickedness of the government, the injustice of the Courts, the pissy, lukewarm silence of the Church, and the compliance of the Press, WE BRASS BOWL BAJANS have been complicit in the shit…..

….now we must walk in it; drive in it, eat in it….. and eventually die in it.

As to getting ourselves out of the deep shit well that we have dug for ourselves….
    It is hard enough for INTELLIGENT, upright, honest peoples to keep their heads above water in this difficult world.
    The chances of brass bowl idiots – who were foolish enough to dig themselves into a deep shit-hole from an enviable position on a hill – finding enough WISDOM, strength and resolve to WORK themselves back to level ground ….are about the same as Stinkliar coming up with a short, medium, intermediate or long term fiscal plan that works…….

ZERO.

16. Dr. Hugh Sealy’s comments carried by the Nation newspaper makes for compulsory reading. It is important because he is one of the few technocrats available who worked on the South Coast Sewage plant project team at start up- a plant that is failing and as a result leaking raw sewage on the popular strip frequented by tourists and locals alike from Hastings to Worthing.

He was also responsible for Greenland!!

17. WTF the barbadian people were told there were getting a reliable Sewer system but got a pit Toilet instead.
    Also it seems that the whole system has been compromised and parts to fit can not be found that are compatible to the older model
    Also a real concern stems from salt water interaction with the underground pipes which has damaged and eroded some of the pipes and which for the most part cannot be repaired but must be replaced.
    Oh what tangled web we weave. When we practice to deceive

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac December 13, 2017 at 9:13 AM

Karma is a bitch, just like you, isn’t she ac?

It seems everything is collapsing under the watch of your damned lying party.
    You need to invite back Rev. Bonke to pray for your party with that Durant-the ‘Not under my watch devil’- as his assistant.

From the destruction of the economy with over 20 downgrades to selling off at knockdown prices the country’s economically-strategic assets and investments (DLP brand of Privatization) to the overflowing Pit Toilet on the South Coast to be renamed the Boyce & Sealy Low(e)down Lido- the cesspool of swimming for liars and scumbags.

What’s next for collapsing under the weight of your DLP incompetence? The crumbling Transport Board or an outbreak of cholera?

19. The end results shows a lack of good goverence over the years and poor vision by politicians whose only interest was self and a need to win an election at any cost.
    The blp yardfowls seem to believe that the opposition role in 14year goverence should be exempt by way of entitlement and like Pontius pilate have clean hands

20. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Something got to be wrong with the shite hole heads of wunna AC die hard DLP lap dogs, tho tho. Even if the BLP built an inadequate sewage system, wuh gaw blimah, the DLP made it worse when the cunt for a Prime Minister, a Johnny come again for a Finance Minister, a thieving, wicked, money grabbing fraud like the Environmental Minister decided that such a plant was not worth spending money on, but a David Thompson Memorial, an S-Class Mercedes Benz, and all the other nonsense money got spend on was far more worth it. Everything that could go wrong in Barbados gone wrong under these pretensive, lying posers and all you cunt ACs can do is seek to defend shite by looking to cast blame, which is the only thing that the DLP seems good at doing. Look, if Mottley was worth her pound of salt, she would investigate all wunna, but she can’t because she wearing the other crooked ass shoe. No justice for the outlaws.

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac December 13, 2017 at 9:53 AM

We warned you many moons ago that this Privatization thingie will one day come back to bite you in the backside.

We can also conclude that you would also want to blame the BLP for forcing the sale of the Hilton at a knockdown price because they were preaching privatization to the people and the DLP was just carrying through with this promise.

Why don’t you tell us who will be receiving the finder’s fees for this DLP style ‘Divestment’ transaction?

Mia would be a real johnny from St. John if she does not get to the bottom of this underhand deal because some of the money will be used to build up the DLP war chest to fight her ascension to the political throne .in the upcoming mother of all political battles.

It’s a pity you will not be able to use the poor old pensioner on the Transport Board bus as your poster icon to fool the idiots again.
    But you can always get a drag queen to show who would be next PM should the people not return the deceitful lying party to power.

22. ac December 13, 2017 at 9:13 AM #
    WTF the barbadian people were told there were getting a reliable Sewer system but got a pit Toilet instead.

they were also told they were getting a sanitary landfill at Greenland and $50 million later all they had was a hole in the ground …. admittedly with some potential to add to the water resources like it was intended to!!

23. Ok SSS.thanks for your two cents worth of dribble
    Btw what happen to your boyfriend piece yuh de cock.
    Looking forward to yuh next posters

24. Right John a million dollar hole in the ground and now a million dollar Pit toilet .wuh loss muh belly

25. Today’s Nation newspaper makes for good reading as it addresses the ongoing challenge on the south Coast. Note in the editorial minister of health Boyce is quoted to admitting that the government should have been proactive in its maintainance program of the plant. Yet we have the yardfowls who would argue a position that the government has to appetite to pursue.

#JA

26. Good point SSS
    ‘winning an election’ is now always winning…
    There are too many cases of election ‘winners’ turning out to be BIG losers…
    …Trump
    …Jack Warner
    …Froon

One wonders how long now, before the political jackasses realise that they are out of their league…

Not preaching….. But Isaiah speaks of a time coming (and clearly not far off…) when..

” the people will be oppressed, Each one by another, and each one by his neighbor; The youth will storm against the elder And the brass bowls against the honorable.

When a man lays hold of his brother in his father’s house, saying, “You have a cloak, you shall be our ruler, And these ruins will be under your charge,”

He will protest on that day, saying, “I will not be your healer, For in my house there is neither bread nor cloak; You should not appoint me ruler of the people.

27. Bronte

You like you back reading your Bible!!!

28. AND QUOTING IT OUT OF CONTEXT
    IT IS TAUGHT THAT WHEN YOU CITE A TEXT OUT OF CONTEXT YOU CAN MAKE IT A PRETEXT

29. John Boyce is correct. Govt should have been proactive having a more comprehensive approach abandoning old procedures that lend nothing to resolution and in its place being more practical seeking at the earliest time outside technical support to get a comprehesive examination of the plant and give recomendations with regards to its limit to handle larger volumes of sewage especially knowing that the area had maximized in populatation and industrial growth

30. Sunshine Sunny Shine December 13, 2017 at 10:37 AM #

“Everything that could go wrong in Barbados gone wrong under these pretensive, lying posers and all you cunt ACs can do is seek to defend shite by looking to cast blame, which is the only thing that the DLP seems good at doing.”

@ SSS

Ac has been attempting (UNSUCCESSFULLY) to cast the blame on the BLP for the South Coast Sewage plant, when the RECORDS INDICATE it was the then Erskine Sandiford led DLP administration that CONCEPTUALIZED the project and sought financing from the Inter-American Development Bank in 1992.

But ac is REFUSING to ACCEPT this fact and for reasons of political expediency, being the DLP lap-dog ass licker she is, she has been posting UNTRUTHS to mislead and distract BU.

No matter how hard the DLP yard-fowl tries……. she CANNOT CHANGE the TRUTH.

31. @ David

Dr. Hugh Sealy’s comments basically implied that the plant’s problem was a lack of maintenance.

32. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@the Cunt AC

You very thirsty for Posters. If only Mia Mottley was an honest politician I could concentrate my time and energy on the bunch of cunts pretending to be leaders. But, no, dumping this frying pan of half bake muffoons, for the other half baked burn burns, makes no sense. By the way, you will soon be out of the money, you got any plans on how you will keep your head above the garbage? And, christ, girl no one uses curlers anymore..Shite..

33. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim.

What these Dems didn’t teef they have managed to destroy.

Now Bajans will stand idly by and watch them teef a whole hotel in plain sight.

Too late for prosecution, time for public gallows.

We are a joke of a people.

There was never any chance of economic recovery under Fumble’s Fools but not even the most sceptical among us expected this level of devastation to our economy, our international reputation, our public finances, our infrastructure, our tourist industry nor our publicly-owned assets.

Gallows.

34. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

A real destructive gang of demons in that parliament, everything they touched turned to SHIT…literally. ..if that is not some blighted curse following them all…from with the fraud David Thompson, Leroy Leper and their CLICO theft, with Fruendel, Sinckler and Inniss et al instituting a criminal cover up…….

………NOTHING has gone right from the beginning, only more thefts, bribes, scams, corruption and mediocrity followed the government from 2008.

35. @ David who wrote ” minister of health Boyce is quoted to admitting that the government should have been proactive in its maintainance program of the plant .”

That is pure witlessness, indifference and laziness.

Barbados has intelligent qualified people at every level but too many do not do their jobs.

Nobody will resign. Nobody will get fired.

These same lazy witless Bajans would emigrate to Canada or the UK and be among the best employees.

Now you know why Grenville Phillips is pushing for ” ISO 9001 ” implementation.

Routine monitoring and maintenance would be mandated.

36. What is the BCCI and BPSA doing? Only in Barbados we can have shit literally on the streets caused by poor management by those responsible which is emanating a shitty stench and not have riots in the land!

37. Jesus Christ SSS i do not rice at you or any body ABC orD win or lose not going take any thing out of my pocket
    What de f..k is youproblem

38. @Hants do you REALLY believe that folks like Hugh Sealy who as I recall is a graduate of your alma mater and was either a national scholar or close thereto and completed studies internationally and others who implemented the sewerage system do NOT know or expected to implement quality management systems for maintenance etc.

We really need to stop talking about ISO 9000 as if it’s some new fangled do-daddle that will save Bdos.

Grenville’s entire ethos makes perfect sense but it is like saying the WI need bowlers who can execute and batsmen who can bat long and also score runs quickly as needed.

Duhhhh! Simplistic and lacking the details on achieving the objectives.

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David December 13, 2017 at 11:37 AM #
    “Today’s Nation newspaper makes for good reading as it addresses the ongoing challenge on the south Coast. Note in the editorial minister of health Boyce is quoted to admitting that the government should have been proactive in its maintainance program of the plant. Yet we have the yardfowls who would argue a position that the government has to appetite to pursue.”

The deeply’ garrulous’ Boyce along with the authorities at both the MoH and BWA were made aware of the simmering problems being manifested by the regular bouts of ‘acting up’ by the South Coast sewage system. Yet they refused to ‘manage’ the problem confronting them with the inevitable consequences being witnessed today.

Yet this old jackass found it fitting to turn himself into a circus clown by swimming in shit to make it look like people were being unjustly critical of his inept administration only to find himself floating in deeper shit today.

The business people on the South Coast need to do their own marching but with their withdrawal of their culinary fares until this shitty sewage problem is brought under control.

How can restaurants and other outlets sell food and drink in an environment where the whiff of piss is the cocktail of the evening and the aroma of shit is a side dish?

Isn’t this totally against basic health and safety standards expected of a tourism-dependent destination?

Why would decent people want to come to Barbados only to be subjected to a menu of shit and piss every where they go to dine on the South Coast.

Why can’t some temporary relief be granted to those victims of DLP incompetence by immediately engaging the services of sewage handlers to remove some of the buildup in the system in order to reduce the pressure on the manholes?

40. @ dedribbler,

” minister of health Boyce is quoted to admitting that the government should have been proactive in its maintainance program of the plant ”

Hugh Sealy and others may have done a great job but it seems others lost the Monitoring and Maintenance manuals.

Why don’t you ask John Boyce wha happen ?

41. @Hants

Poor management, lack of resources and and a growing leadership vacuum.

42. @ David ,

Let’s hope they learn from this.

43. Chickens coming home to Roost Avatar
    Chickens coming home to Roost

Taken from Trip Advisor

Kaylovesbarbados · 14 November 2017, 17:20 Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom · 28 forum posts
    #21 of 215 ·
    We are currently staying at Coral Sands and I couldn’t believe it when we walked out of the Hotel to this mess,we are regular visitors to the island but this is our first stay at this area,to say I was shocked is a understatement, raw sewage in the street is something you may expect in a third world country not Barbados.There is 11 of us and 4 first timers to the island,they are not impressed and then to add to that we were all evacuated out of the sea because the swamp waters had been let out.

I think these are very serious issues that need to be addressed very quickly or people will not return.

44. Barbados for the last several years have become known as the shitty Capital of the Caribbean.

45. @ Chickens coming home to Roost

To quote the resident DLP yard-fowl’s response to another Trip Advisor comment:

“ac December 12, 2017 at 1:26 PM #: The letter on trip advisor contents were a mischievous and blatant attempt to destroy the blood line of Barbados economy.”

Be very careful posting comments from Trip Advisor to this forum…….. lest the resident DLP yard-fowl labels you as a BLP operative.

Hahahahahahaha!!!!!!

46. We have a man who has responsibility for the environment and we have not heard a word from him on this raw sewage situation….unbelievable. Prime reason why that ministry is not needed.

We have a PM who is seemingly away and not a word from him.

We have a minister of health and not a word from him.

So who the hell is in charge of Barbados?

The so called pitbull has been silent for months and he has now awoken and declares that the BLP is playing politics…………the only response we would get, right?

I reminded my spouse this morning of a sick incident that occured in the latter stages of the BLP’s administration………….some sick idiot went into the morgue and raped a corpse……the dems made a song and a dance about that …..the one from St Philip North went to the morgue and offered to represent the family of the dead lady…………tell me again that that was not playing politics in an unfortunate situation. I still wonder if he actually helped the family………

47. Artax

There was another message going around from a posting on Trip Advisor as well…….highlighting the amount of garbage strewn all over Barbados.

Yesterday we saw the feature with garbage strewn all over St Peter and St Lucy.

Look how low we have sunk……….thanks dlp! (scarcasm)

48. Underworld Whistleblower Avatar
    Underworld Whistleblower

This is what you get when people are more interested in thieving and kickbacks than managing.

Dirty Politicians, Dirty Police, Dirty Lawyers all form parts of the shitty cesspool Barbados is currently.

49. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Dont mind ac yardfowl…those tourists negatively impacted by stench and shittty sewage water will post to TripAdvisor…..these dangerous, unhealthy and unsanitary government practices will not be kept a secret by tourists, not when common sense dictates that there should have been proper checks and maintenance of the sewage systems in the last 10 years……

….not when common sense dictates that instead of wasting money on a useless independence celebration and burying a pitchfork on the Garrison…that money should have gone to repairing the present or building a new sewage plant…they have had 2 years.

Get used to more TripAdvisor posts warning people about the dangers of the south coast. ..I too had to warn family members coming in for the holidays to avoid the coast road between Worthing and Hastings just as I avoided it and at all cost….should anyone of them get sick because of government neglect of the sewage plant, I would spend every day on BU and every social media forum exposing it.

So I dont know what nonsense the idiot yardfowl is talking.

50. MMMMM you would spend everyday on BU would ya