by Peter Thompson – submitted as a letter to the editor of the Nation newspaper and circulated on social media.
Nelson statue defaced on the eve of Independence Day.

THE LAST SUNDAY SUN Editorial, No Good Reason To Deface Statue, is a lost opportunity for Nation Publishing to contribute positively to a conversation among Barbadians about the history and future together of those who are categorised as black or white. Make no mistake: this controversy is about nothing less.

It is not sufficient for our premier national newspaper to hide behind what reads like a schoolmarm’s condemnation of the bad behaviour of splashing paint on the statue. This is not about the paint; it is not even about the statue. This is about who we are as a people.

The perpetrator is not from among the elite, but their misspellings aside, the handwritten placard they left is perfectly eloquent: “This RACIST white supremacist who would rather die than see black people free stands proudly in our nation’s capital NELSON MUST GO!! Fear not Barbados the people have spoken. Politicians have failed us. HAPPY INDEPENCE (sic).”

I was born to privilege and I have led a privileged life: Harrison College education, a postgraduate degree, a Canadian passport as well as a Bajan one. It humbles and shames me that it was left to a person with none of my advantages in life to speak this truth to power. I hope that they read this so that I can express my gratitude. Thank you.

Talk about race

We have been trying to talk about this since before Independence. The Mighty Gabby sang about the pain that it causes more than 30 years ago. What will it take for us to have an honest conversation about history and race in Barbados? This perpetrator splashed some non-toxic, environmentally-friendly paint that caused no permanent damage at all and took less than three hours to clean off. Are we waiting until some impassioned fool imitates the Irish who took high explosives to their statue of Nelson?

Your editorial complains about “distortions previously fed to us that [. . .] generate extreme feelings among some sections of our people”. Someone who didn’t know better might conclude that the placard contained distortions – it does not.

Yes, there are distortions circulating on social media and Nation Publishing should have set the record straight: no, Nelson did not own slaves or engage personally in the slave trade; yes, the statue was erected to celebrate Nelson’s victory at Trafalgar by racists who believed in white supremacy; no, Trevor Marshall’s assertion that “all researchers today regard Horatio Nelson as one the main factors why the British slave trade was not abolished in 1790, but in 1807 after his death in 1805” is not supported by the evidence; yes, Nelson was a racist believer in white supremacy, as were the vast majority of his British contemporaries, even among those supporting Emancipation.

We have witnessed an outpouring on social media seasoned with anger and pain. The largest ingredient was the lack of knowledge and understanding of our history. Among the conversations that I engaged in there were a few which gave me great hope – where I interacted with white Bajans who started out vehemently opposed to moving the statue and making comments that veered into overt racism, but after a dialogue agreed that the statue was in the wrong place, was offensive to their fellow Bajans, and should probably be relocated to the museum with appropriate interpretive signage to explain the context of its existence.

I think it is the duty of Nation Publishing to pay attention to this national conversation beyond a facile condemnation of defacing the statue. We need you to bring professional journalism to the critical issues that are being discussed. Examine the issues; talk to the experts; analyse the pros and cons.

This is a matter for public education, but it will not be solved by staging an opinion poll or a popularity contest. These are issues of right and wrong that strike at the core of who we are as a people, as a nation.

We need you to take a stand. Please lend your authority to the cries to do what is right and relocate the statue of Nelson to a more appropriate venue.

467 responses to “Gratitude to Nelson ‘artist’”

1. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Oh you noticed Theophilis…if it were left to me, I would starve the bitches, they would have to run and go into the real world and look for real work, but Black Bajans have to pay to learn.

You dont know how these cretins were on BU wishing trump to succeed so they could ride the wave of enslavement, hatred and racism practices against the majority population on the island..they were salivating with expectation.

That is why the orange dog turd trump has to be made a prime example of in the US….to keep those minority cockroaches on the island in their place.

I would still starve them though, they are evil and carry too much hatred and disdain for Black people in Barbados, without whom, they will all die.

2. Question… On the matter of the 40-year tax giveaway to Sandals, do you think perhaps that in addition we should have brought Stewart into the Cabinet of Barbados like Trump has done in the USA? …or at the very least installed him on the Central Bank Board and/or the NIS board?
    Please discuss….

No!!!

How was the fishing yesterday?

Catch anything?

What are the fisher folk saying at the moment about their catches?

Would be interesting to know if the Super Moon affects catches.

3. Take nought!!
    What scholar what??!!

4. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_most-listened-to_radio_programs

The total listenership for terrestrial radio as of January 2017 was 256 million,[3] up from 230 million in 2005.[4] Sirius XM Radio has a base of 30.6 million subscribers as of 2016.[5] American Top 40 attracts over 20 million listeners per week.[6] Rush Limbaugh’s show has been the number one commercial talk show since at least 1987 when record keeping began

5. You mean you ent catch nuffin?

6. I isn’t no fisherman but I was the first to catch a fish in the group I was wiff in BC

7. BushTea, well stated. A lot of Johns elect a lot of thrump cards every election cycle.

I have to surmise however that as much as the john’s extend their influence and pull the strings away in order to manipulate the asses arrayed before them that those being manipulated must be given credit for attracting/fooling/beguiling the johns in the first place.

Politics like prostitution offers something beneficial for both criminal parties.

@John. Limbaugh is right on several fronts. . We all did see this (Flynn conviction) coming. Ross showed piss poor journalism standards. And the key one that there will be no collusion proven between the president himself and Russia. Yet, Limbaugh also omitted several other interesting truths.

Why would a US flag officer of such repute be lying to the FBI in such a manner in the first place?

Why would a former 4 star General work for a foreign country (Turkey) and at the same time so blatantly interweave that work with his political activities at the presidential level LIE about it in disclosure forms and NOT expect blowback?

Why would his then deputy ALSO lie about other matters before a Senate committee.

Why would the candidate’s son lie about the tone and texture of a meeting which seemed a very reasonable attempt to get dirt on his opponent? Why not just be transparent.

Lying is a political staple but so widespread in this one group….at this one tjme…and you, Limbaugh at al say there is nothing here.

The media lies are exposed almost IMMEDIATELY and the truth shown. This team’s take awhile but the truth will be shown …Mueller guarantees that.

Incidentally, it has been shown – unfortunately never in Bim – that you may slip by the original crime but the perjury will often get you convicted.

Just remember I Lewis Libby of VP Cheney/Valerie Palme infamy. And perhaps the most egregious instance (the prosecution) when the former dep Joint Chief Gen Cartwright was convicted of perjury to the FBI.

8. Didn’t Trump fire him within 25 days of employing him because he lied to Pence?

He worked for Obama all the time with no problem, no complaint truthfulness, no nuffin!!

9. @T Gazerts
    What amazes me is that many of the links provided by Bajans in Barbados and a few outside are often to rabid white (right) wing sites..
    ++++++++++
    I have been making that point for some time……

10. actually
    he
    did
    miserably

11. if you right you white lol sarg

12. run them ragged john

keep the haters talking shite

bird brain aking questions about flyn telling lies

why did shitbama lie about if you like ya dr you can keep ya dr
    why did shitbama lie about saving money on health insurance

why did hilary lie repeatedly about so many things
    why did comey lie and change the words and not do his job
    why did lynch call a crime a matter
    why did hilary’s aides lie
    why did wasserrman shultz lie
    why did the IT MAN put hilary’s server in a server

why why why

if um fair for the goose why aint it fair for the gander

why cant we be fair and balanced here

bare mock sport in de rum shop

13. John, being evil means that something else has to be good. So I presume that PLT’s suggestion of evil intent suggests his side is good and you and the Limbaughs of the world are not.

And you see it just the opposite.

Thankful it only takes simple rationale analysis to show the level of evil intent in this case. Just a cursory review of the available FACTS and pooffff your evil is exposed.

He was fired from his job under Obama….with cause. Trump was warned not to employ him again at the highest levels of government.

He was fired by Trump ONLY because it became publicly known he had lied. Trump and his WH counsel were aware of the lies from the then AG way back in Jan. So he wss NOT fired simply for lying to the VP otherwise he would have served about 7-10 days as NSA, far less NEVER appointed.

John this is simple discernment. You are lying and thus evil on this matter just as Trump did when he said Flynn never discussed sanctions when he KNEW that to be false.

That canard about lying to Pence was classic spin (or false news) but it fools no one who wants to be good on this issue. But evil suits you well tho.

14. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Pence is a fraud and knew what was going on, he pretended he was lied to so as to keep filth off himself, he is racist dog turd, just like trump, Flynn will talk, he has no choice..Pence also needs a pair of tight handcuffs.

15. He was fired by Trump ONLY because it became publicly known he had lied

If the public knows he is a liar, what is the big deal about him lying to the FBI?

7 million bucks and all they can do is to confirm he is a liar, something Trump found out ages ago!!

16. Sargeant December 10, 2017 at 12:03 PM #
    @T Gazerts
    What amazes me is that many of the links provided by Bajans in Barbados and a few outside are often to rabid white (right) wing sites..
    ++++++++++
    I have been making that point for some time……

If the two of you would use your combined heads you would see that if Limbaugh is the most listened to station in America …. well … I’ll let you figure it out.

Just doesn’t seem worth the effort to point out the obvious!!!

What the heck!!

If you want to understand what is going on you listen to the most listened to radio station …. DUUH!!

It is independently audited and Limbaugh is shown to be right 99.8% of the time when I first started listening although it has been downgraded to 99.7% recently.

The other choice is read a newspaper or watch CNN or whatever … who the polls say that less than a third of America believe tell the truth.

So what will it be, listen to someone who is right 99.7% of the time or follow the media which is reckoned to be fake by more than two thirds of America!!!

Wo am I to dispute what more than two thirds of America say?

I is only a Bajan trying to separate the wheat from the chaff and finding from experience that I get all wheat from Limbaugh and all chaff elsewhere like CNN or whatever.

Every so often a reporter has to resign because he has spent his time harassing women when he should be reporting or sent on leave because he got caught lying.

I mean, there is no choice to make …. I go with the real McCoy.

I want wheat, and nuff of it!!

The chaff and ongoing soap opera of who white guy is interfering wiff who white woman isn’t no use to me!!

17. John, being evil means that something else has to be good. So I presume that PLT’s suggestion of evil intent suggests his side is good and you and the Limbaughs of the world are not.

Does this even matter?

18. John you prove the thesis clearly that the world of Trump zealots is compromised of absolutely imbalanced, unjust folk. ..

Said other way, Lies, Damn Lies and Statistics. Both seem to be your strong suit to beguile and mislead.😂

Dear John, of course “the public knows he is a liar” as they know the same about Trump. But I know you cant be so iggrunt to really suggest that perjury – which carry hefty fines and legnthy periods of incarceration – is OK.

Lying under oath is a CRIME. Enough of that folly.

On your other folly. Of course Limbaugh is a ratings giant…but that has nothing to do with his being an oracle of truth….Go behind the stats, dear John.

A whopping 70% – 85% think the media make up stories about Trump. Ok, wow.

Take it a step further, about 80% say Trump is honest REALLY, double wow.

Just one snap shot poll from Quinnipiac’s latest but those numbers have been consistent almost from day one.

BUT, dear John, those are the same folks who bolster Limbaugh alleged 99% aporoval ratings….all folks identified as REPUBLICAN.

So the wows, become…oh, bumbaclot, you is a Johnny or what, steuuepse!

…spread Trump’s whopping positives across all voters and ONLY 37% say he is honest, for example.

SMH! What misleading folly.

19. king.htm?utm_campaign=ci2&utm_medium=manual&utm_source=Boomtrain&bt_alias=eyJ1c2VySWQiOiAiMDUyZWZjY2ItNzc4ZS00Y2I3LTljMzMtZDQyNTZhZGJkZDhmIn0%3D

20. DPD

Just deal with the facts, Rush Limbaugh is right 99.7% of the time so he is the most listened to person in America.

The rest always quote him.

… and they do so because he is invariable right.

I only started listening to him late this year and I realized everything he said he backed up with facts and was indeed invariable correct!!

The man doesn’t even have a college degree and he runs rings around the established media!!

It is laughable, an “uneducated” man being able to show up “highly educated jokers”.

https://townhall.com/columnists/johnhawkins/2013/06/01/the-20-greatest-quotations-from-rush-limbaugh-n1610797

Here are some of Rush Limbaugh’s greatest quotes according to this site..

With which one can you find a fault?

Take them one by one and show me whichever one you are able to criticize!!

Look at this one for example.

17) “In a country of children where the option is Santa Claus or work, what wins?”

BT would feel proud to call this his own!!!

This is sheer genius!!!

Try this one

10) “The way to improve our schools is not more money, but the reintroduction of moral and spiritual values, as well as the four ‘R’s: reading, ‘riting, ‘rithmatic, and Rush.”

21. Interesting comment John, it supports the point that ‘uneducated’ BU commenters should be able to run rings around a Barbados scholar?

#lol

22. Well, look what is happening to PLT!!!

He has quit the field!!

23. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

PLT is in a very stimulating debate on Facebook.

The more we learn..

All the world’s languages traced back to single African mother tongue!

Scientists say they have traced the world’s 6,000 modern languages from English to Mandarin back to a single “mother tongue,” an ancestral language spoken in Africa 50,000 to 70,000 years ago.

New research, published in the journal Science, suggests this single ancient language resulted in human civilization — a Diaspora — as well as advances in art and hunting tool technology, and laid the groundwork for all the world’s cultures.

The research, by Quentin Atkinson from the University of Auckland in New Zealand, also found that speech evolved far earlier than previously thought. And the findings implied, though did not prove, that modern language originated only once, an issue of controversy among linguists, according to the New York Times.

Before Atkinson came up with the evidence for a single African origin of language, some scientists had argued that language evolved independently in different parts of the world.
    Atkinson found that,” Atkinson said, the Wall Street Journal reported.

Atkinson traced the number distinct sounds, or phonemes — consonants, vowels and tones — in 504 world languages, finding compelling evidence that they can be traced back to a long-forgotten dialect spoken by our Stone Age ancestors, according to the Daily Mail.
    Atkinson also hypothesized that languages with the most sounds would be the oldest, while those spoken by smaller breakaway groups would utilize fewer sounds as variation and complexity diminished.

The study found that some of the click-using languages of Africa have more than 100 phonemes, or sounds, whereas Hawaiian, toward the far end of the human migration route out of Africa, has only 13, the Times reported. English has about 45 phonemes.
    The phoneme pattern mirrors the pattern of human genetic diversity as humans spread across the globe from sub-Saharan Africa around 70,000 years ago.

24. Scientists say they have traced the world’s 6,000 modern languages from English to Mandarin back to a single “mother tongue,” an ancestral language spoken in Africa 50,000 to 70,000 years ago

Did the researchers interview any of the speakers of this ancestral language?

25. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Why dont you ask them….their names and where they work is in the article.

I always do my own personal research.

26. Interesting comment John, it supports the point that ‘uneducated’ BU commenters should be able to run rings around a Barbados scholar?

#lol

LIST THE ‘‘uneducated’ BU commenters that are able to run rings around a Barbados scholar?
    LIST THEm

is talking shite the same as running rings around a Barbados scholar’

27. Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service December 11, 2017 at 3:52 PM #
    Why dont you ask them….their names and where they work is in the article.
    I always do my own personal research.

You mean having read the article in doing your own personal research you came across no mention by the scientists as to whether they had interviewed any of the speakers of the ancestral language?

Ok, I’ll take that as a no, the scientists did not actually interview any of the speakers of the ancestral language.

28. Atkinson traced the number distinct sounds, or phonemes — consonants, vowels and tones — in 504 world languages, finding compelling evidence that they can be traced back to a long-forgotten dialect spoken by our Stone Age ancestors, according to the Daily Mail.

Aaaaah, I see now, they could not interview any of the speakers of ancestral language because they had forgotten how to speak it!!

Kind of like “the dog ate the homework”!!

29. Trump just signed an executive order for NASA to restart the Space program by sending astronauts to the Moon and ultimately to Mars, first order of business look for the women who accused Trump of sexually harassing them.

30. What’s so special about Barbados scholars posting on BU? Wuh if they and their boosters didn’t advertise the fact that they were Barbados Scholars no one would be the wiser, “self praise ain nuh praise”.

It reminds me of how the prestigious Harvard debate team got bested by a bunch of people serving maximum sentences in the pen.

https://www.theguardian.com/education/2015/oct/07/harvards-prestigious-debate-team-loses-to-new-york-prison-inmates

31. @Sargeant

Are you anti Trump or just a plain old Democrat!

32. @David
    Are you anti Trump or just a plain old Democrat!
    None of the above, just an unheralded joke writer.

33. No you are not!

You have to admit though Trump has a way of flushing the drains.

34. RE What’s so special about Barbados scholars posting on BU? Wuh if they and their boosters didn’t advertise the fact that they were Barbados Scholars no one would be the wiser, “self praise ain nuh praise”.

DAT “self praise ain nuh praise”. IS ESSENTIALLY BAJAN BULLSHIT

NOT A THING IS SPECIAL BOUT BARBADOS SCHOLARS POSTING ON BU
    BUT IT IS NONSENSE WHEN DUMMIES—-WHO ARE CLEARLY OUT OF THEIR LEAGUE TRY TO CONTRADICT THEM IN THEIR AREAS OF EXPERTISE

SENSIBLE BARBADOS SCHOLARS HAVE LEARNED THAT IT IS POINTLESS TO REGULARLY TRY TO CAST THEIR PEARL TO THE SWINE HERE

MAY I NOW ASK WHAT IS SPECIAL ABOUT DUMMIES TALKING SHITE ON BU
    WHAT IS TO BE GAINED OR LEARNED

35. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

You can take it how you like…they did their research, I did mine, so either you do your research or ask them what you want to know.

36. @John at 8:51 AM #
    “Well, look what is happening to PLT!!!
    He has quit the field!!”

It seems like John missed the punishment he is accustomed to suffering at my hands. A friend let me know that he was whining for me to humiliate him some more. That is not healthy John.

Anyone who uses Rush Limbaugh as an authority has admitted that they are a racist a**hole.

Anyone with any sense at all understands the reason that Trump was elected… in a nutshell “Economic Anxiety Didn’t Make People Vote Trump, Racism Did”
    https://www.thenation.com/article/economic-anxiety-didnt-make-people-vote-trump-racism-did/

The hard statistical data prove this beyond any shred of doubt.

37. So relax in the secure knowledge GP & John, that you have many millions of other racist scum who agree with you about Trump.

38. LORD THOMPSON
    YE OF THE PRIVILIGED CLASS
    ANSWER ONE QUESTION MY LEIGE

WAS IT RACISM WHEN THE WHITE PEOPLE VOTED FOR SHITTYBAMA FOR PRESIDENT TWICE
    YOU DO REALIZE THAT HE WAS NOT VOTED IN BY BLACKS
    CLEARLY THERE AR NOT ENOUGH BLACKS TO DO THAT ah lie

i get lots of pro trump stuff in my inbox daily
    you will notice that i dont rush and put it on BU
    YOU SEE I AM NOT HERE TO INFLUENCE OPINION
    I AM HER TO TALK SHITE LIKE THE REST OF BU BULLSHITTERS

I HAVE WORKED HARD AT CONDESCENDING SO TO DO
    RETIREMENT IS BORING YOU SEE
    AND BU BULLSHITTING IS SURE HILARIOUS
    I SUSPECT THAT JOHN FEELS THE SAME
    HE IS VERY FREQUENTLY THESE DAYS
    NOW GO AND SUCK SOME EGGS

39. THE WHITE PEOPLE VOTED THE BULING SHITBAMA TWICE
    THEN THE SAME WHITE PEOPLE VOTED FOR TRUMP
    AND ALL A WUNNA TALKING SHITE
    EVERY DAY THE SAME SHITE

THE WHITE PEOPLE CHOSE TO NO LONGER HOLD ON TO CLINTON CORRUPTION..THATS ALL

WHEN THE WHITE PEOPLE VOTED FOR BULLING SHITYBAMA WUNNA NIGGERS REJOICED
    WOW THERE IS A NIGGER IN THE WHITE HOUSE

WHEN THE SAME WHITE PEOPLE VOTED FOR TRUMP ALL HELL BREK LOOSE

PERSONALLY I THINK TRUMP IS AN ASS TO THROW HIS PEARLS TO THE SWINE

IF I HAD MY OWN JET I WOULD BE JETTING AROUND NOT SUBJECTING MYSELF TO ABUSE FROM ALL AND SUNDRY

I WONT BE SUBJECTING MY WIFE AND CHILDREN TO THE VULGAR GAZE OF THE SCOFFING MULTITUDE, I WOULD ENJOY MY WEALTH AND LET THE NATION GO TO HELL AND THE ONE WORLD ORDER AS IT SOON WILL GO VERY SOON

40. @Georgie Porgie at 10:13 AM
    “PERSONALLY I THINK TRUMP IS AN ASS”

Well, let it never be said that we cannot find things to agree about.

41. YOU WILL NOTE THAT I QUALIFIED MY STATEMENT

IT IS THE SAME REASON WHY I WOULD NEVER CAST MY PEARLS TO THE BAJAN PUBLIC FOR PUBLIC OFFICE

42. Well, I never thought of that one, it is the same white racists that voted Obama in not once but twice!!!

So they can’t be racists if they voted for a “black” man twice!!!!

It is so simple.

Guess a Barbados Scholar can’t comprehend something as simple as that!!!!

I am humbled!!

So if they aren’t racists and aren’t white supremacists having twice voted for Obama, then they must be Christian!!

They are not bigots or misogynists either … they voted for Obama twice.

Guess we are left with Christian as the only expletive that any logical person could use to describe Trump’s voter base.

Which means the Democrats would appear to have a real serious problem.

They encourage immigration to change the demographics and gain voters.

They are against the wall and want more Mexicans …. but last time I checked, Mexicans are mostly Christian!!

Too much faith in Fake Social Media!!

And it isn’t to say Trump did not tell you so …. look at his handle …. The Real Donald Trump

All that happened was that Trump figured out the Democrat majority was purely imaginary, a figment of the imagination of Social Media.

So he pushed the real side of himself and his programs and people responded.

43. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Yall dumb asses…George Bush and his gang of idiots ruined the US economy, Obama was their last hope to save US from economic suicide with the trillion dollar debt Bush and his nuisances accumulated.and the expensive fraudulent wars they started..

…….the white racists in the US would have voted in mickey mouse if they thought it would help them…they did not do Obama any favors, he and his wife are 2 genuises, they needed him more than he needed them or the presidency. .,they were both millionaires BEFORE they entered the white house.

The Obama administration worked admirably and saved the US economy, …

but now under racists, rapists, child predators and an uneducated ass like trump….the poverty levels are starting to go through the roof…

Yall are some dumb ass scholars….and liars too.

44. It seems like John missed the punishment he is accustomed to suffering at my hands. A friend let me know that he was whining for me to humiliate him some more. That is not healthy John.

Not as unhealthy as spending time talking to 83 million fake accounts on social media as it has been reported you have been spending alot of time doing since you quit the field here!!

If you are at home with your imaginary friends you should go back and enjoy their company!!!

…. and ponder on the deeper question … why did the same racist, white supremacist, bigoted, misogynistic people vote for Obama …. not once … but twice!!!

This has just been tabled and I am fascinated at its simplicity!!!

45. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Simplicity is hanging ya hopes as descendants of deported from UK prisoners and thieves who were sent to penal colonies in the Caribbean, Canada, US and Australia etc….to serve out prison terms.who became indentured servants and relabeled as such……and now hanging all your hopes on racism and slavery being repackaged by an illiterate racist and criminal in the white house to benefit yall lazy asses in Barbados…

But ya hopes have been dashed…it will NEVER happen, will never succeed….that battle is long lost….find another way to survive, try hard, but ya can guarantee yall asses are now doomed to become extinct.

46. What defective scholarship mixed with fundamentals truths…axioms the smart folks called them here peeviously…

Truth…An avowed racist/white supremacist would never vote for a Black man thus none of Trump’s racist base voted for Obama twice or once.

The defective fallacious folly is to assert that … “So if they aren’t racists and aren’t white supremacists having twice voted for Obama, then they must be Christian”

And then to further conclude that “Guess we are left with Christian as the only expletive that any logical person could use to describe Trump’s voter base.”

NO. Folly. Lots of other descriptors too. Because you profess a belief in Christ that does not make you a Christian other than by name only.

FACT…Obama was elected with the support of millions of non racists white folks and 90% plus of the Black voting public.

And on the other hand, do you actually UNDERSTAND that MORE people voted against Trump than FOR him? Lots of non racist white folks were included in the 2.9 million more votes for Clinton.

You are a mathematician so you must understand factual numbers rather than BS, correct.

47. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

And they call themselves scholars…steuppsss.

48. Trumpery
    noun plural -eries

foolish talk or actions
    a useless or worthless article; trinket

adjective
    3. useless or worthless
    Collins English Dictionary. Copyright © HarperCollins Publishers
    Word origin of ‘trumpery’
    C15: from Old French tromperie deceit, from tromper to cheat

’nuff said

49. @Georgie Porgie at 10:13 AM

I’ll make this easy for you to understand.

Popular vote 2008
    Obama Democratic 69,456,897
    McCain Republican 59,934,814

Popular vote 2012
    Obama Democratic 58,720,700
    Romney Republican 56,145,950

Popular vote 2016
    Clinton Democratic 65,853,625
    Trump Republican 62,985,106

So your illusion that Obama voters switched en mass to Trump is just that, an illusion. The Trump vote is simply the 60 million strong traditional Republican vote plus a percentage of those who have previously stayed away from the polls because they had not found a candidate racist enough for them to vote for.

You’re welcome.