This is the first in a series of mini manifestos issued by the United Progressive Party as a part of our conversation with the nation of Barbados. After the delivery of the manifesto the Progressive Party and its candidates will make themselves available for further discussion. Given the constraints faced by Barbados the approach taken by the Progressive Party is to take a steady, measured path to A New Economy with a heavy reliance on the people of Barbados to adopt a new vision for progress…

Click image to read the Manifesto.

175 responses to “United Progressive Party (UPP) Mini Manifesto”

1. Final Draft of National Energy Policy for Barbados

PDF

Print

This Barbados National Energy Policy (BNEP) 2017-2037 Document is designed to ensure:

“Energy security and affordability through diversity and collaboration: Establishing and maintaining a sustainable energy sector for Barbados.”

The BNEP builds on efforts on previous projects and activities to establish a comprehensive policy in Barbados. The policy was developed using a collaborative approach which including several rounds of interviews and consultations throughout Barbados’ energy sector in 2016 and 2017.  The policy also benefitted from considering research and documented accounts of regional and international jurisdictions that have experienced challenges and opportunities.

The key approach used in developing BNEP was a Multi Criteria Approach, where the impacts of the policies chosen were considered from as wide raging a perspective as possible. This meant that the cross cutting nature of the sector was highlighted and issues related to finance, economics, natural environment, technology and society were considered in a consolidated manner.

BNEP as a policy that spans all the aspects of the energy sector, considers the energy industry in its broadest context. Examining aspects related to both renewable and fossil fuel based energy. However, it aims to provide a framework for moving the island from a fossil fuel based economy to one based principally on renewable energy sources. The rate at which this can be achieved still has a level of uncertainty, but there is no doubt that increased sustainability in terms of more dependence on renewable energy will be a boost to Barbados’ economic and environmental future. This BNEP provides direction for managing the transition and ensuring viability from all points of view along the way.

There is reason for optimism in Barbados’ attempts to embrace more renewable energy technology, as it builds on its reputation of being a leader in the Caribbean and the western hemisphere. The success of the solar water heating industry is a source of pride for the country, and the recent development of the local solar photovoltaic industry in Barbados is also encouraging. BNEP provides a basis for building on these successes while seeking to extend and expand the use of these and other renewable energy technologies such as wind and biofuels.

However, even as Barbados promotes development of renewable energy, there is ongoing exploration for fossil fuel resources offshore. Given the MCA, development of these resources can be reasonable if they can occur in a manner where the economic or social, benefits can compensate to a degree for any environmental degradation that may occur.

Recognising the importance of prudent use of resources in energy as a way to ensuring sustainability and a thriving economy, BNEP also highlights the importance of energy efficiency throughout the various sectors and subsectors in the industry.

Giving the foregoing, major sectors of the Energy Economy that were identified inter alia in completing BNEP were the following:

-        Oil and Gas Supply

-        Renewable Energy Supply

-        Energy Efficiency and Conservation

-        Electricity

-        Transportation

-        Environment

-        Human Resources

-        Health and Safety

-        Other Cross Sectors

-        Trade

-        Governance and Regulation

Download full Policy document here: icon Final Draft of National Energy Policy (3.5 MB)

2. Looking into the future, there’s nothing here that guarantees any sustainable or reliable energy source.

The thrust must incorporate the development of TOROIDAL FEILD mechanisms/generators or simply put….THE ENERGY that encompasses the TORUS also known as FREE ENERGY…generating energy WITHOUT combustion.

https://youtu.be/eWzxpgqqmI8

3. Surprised there is no feedback on the UPP’s mini manifesto, especially by those who are pushing the third party as the preferred choice.

4. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“They limit their wealth when business success is secured by family connections or
    government concessions rather than productivity.”

Does that mean the party will make sure that the decades old ugly practice by both governments to protect a tiny minority group in their monopolies of medium and large business ownerships that reduced the majority population to mere consumers, will end ……… and we will instead see a wide proliferation of majority black owned medium and large business instead, that over time can spread across the Caribbean…

“pro·lif·er·ate
    prəˈlifəˌrāt/Submit
    verb
    increase rapidly in numbers; multiply.”

…….that is what 3rd parties should be aiming for combined with showing the electorate how they will shut down government corruption that is currently tied to these minority business owners. …the two most destructive practices to Barbados, stagnating the country and people….keeping progress and productivity dormant and increased poverty alive on the island.

The manifesto is mini, not big on details particularly regarding how the party will address and dismantle corruption and deal with minority monopolies, their questionable business practices that hurt and injure the majority population and their criminal networks, that is not even mentioned….

……just a lot of bulleted inferences…which says very little.

If the 3rd parties do not have the strength or will or balls to address these 2 most destructive issues, minority monopolies and dismantling corruption… that has rendered the population helpless, they are wasting their time, the electorate is not interested and neither am I….everyone is fed up.

Grenville does not address what is most important at this time either, they all just mention corruption in passing…but not the minority monopolies or their criminal networks and theur decades old stranglehold on the island’s economy and business opportunities . ….they are not ready yet, neither of them, nor are they serious…or they would.

5. The UPP is essentially fighting for the same ‘middle ground’ as held by duopoly forces.

So is the SB

Is this not a season for a radical departure. If not now, when?

This is a central problem with elite forces in Barbados

Just more of the same, everywhere

Just different personalities promising to be better technicians of a system on its death’s bed.

6. @Pacha

Your comment is directed at William Skinner?

7. David

Well, if the cap fits.

But it tells us something about the political culture

The levels of inbreeding

The limits of imagination

A lack of courage by elite forces

To engage in machinations for a radical departure

Even when we have a sick, dying politics

8. @Pacha

Had the same conversation with Wendell Callender the leader of CAP on Facebook, there is no compelling argument that so far: has resonated. They all come over as disgruntled with the BLP especially.

9. @ David /Pacha
    There can be no deviation by the third parties because they are all coming from the same contaminated stock as the DEMONSTRATED shiite hounds in the BDLP.
    The only real difference is that they are saying that THEIR from of brass bowlery will be ‘better’ than that pushed by the DBLP because THEY are ‘less corrupt’.

The problem that we face is MUCH bigger than which shiite party we choose. Ours is a problem of righteousness …. and the fact that wunna continue to be blind and ignorant (…or just plain dismissive) of this REALITY, in NO WAY changes the outcomes.

Righteousness exaulteth a Nation, but brass bowlery is a REPROAGH (shame) unto a people…. no matter which set of brass bowls are put in charge….

10. Well Well @ Cut N Paste At Your Service Avatar
    Well Well @ Cut N Paste At Your Service

they are just doing their usual juvenile jostling and competing to one up and upstage each other that they learned in high school, they have nothing of substance, nothing with balls to offer to bring about change on steroids to benefit the majority.

each of them are seeking an opportunity to sink the people right back into the same tired old colonial bullshit template…they are all of limited intellect, no deviation or variation.

you have no Clement Payne`s willing to speak up or make any sacrifices….all wusses.

11. UUP’s policy proposals are much more comprehensive and reasonable than the simplistic policies Solutions Barbados is suggesting……….. and we are yet to hear from CAP other the shiite being spewed by Wendell Callender and Mark Adamson.

However, Pachamama’s comment, re: “Just different personalities promising to be better technicians of a system on its death’s bed,” is the political reality in Barbados.

David is also correct, re: “…………..there is no compelling argument that so far: has resonated. They all come over as disgruntled with the BLP especially.”

12. Well Well @ Cut N Paste At Your Service Avatar

Bushman….we did not sleep in the same bed last night, why are we saying the same thing…lol

everyone is seeing the situation for what it really is, the only people fooling themselves are the candidates and ministers in the upcoming election…they are certainly not fooling anyone else except their infected, rabid yardfowls.

13. Well Well @ Cut N Paste At Your Service Avatar

Reparations come in many forms.

Another form is getting rid of the old, tired, played out colonial westminister system, hundreds year old laws, customs and practices..

the british would tell the shithound politicians and government ministers the same thing….even the brits are tired of and from it.

14. Planning for the future can be tricky in the computer age whenMost People Don’t Even Realize What’s Coming.

15. “There are Departments where the need for client services has shrunk but yet they retain the same staff complement, while there are others from which more is demanded but remain understaffed and under resourced.” [Pages 5 & 6, UPP manifesto]

The allocation of personnel across the public sector is an excellent alternative to DLP’s retrenchment programme, which was a clear demonstration of a “political optical illusion,” because many statutory corporations have employed people since the retrenchment exercise in 2014.

It is against this background the UPP may experience difficulties with allocating personnel from those quasi government entities. If you check the Transport Board, for example, the staff complement post-retrenchment is similar to what existed pre-retrenchment. In other words, TB has been employing people, (especially from St. Philip North)……… hence, the “political optical illusion.”

Interestingly, according to today’s Weekend Nation, former Central Bank Governor, Dr. Delisle Worrell is suggesting government retrench 4,500 civil servants over the next 3 years and enter a five (5) IMF structural adjustment program.

16. @ David et al
    The UPP manifesto(mini) demonstrates that the party is rapidly moving forward. Changing a political culture is a difficult exercise especially when confronted by the BLPDLP , who have been in collective power for 63 years. You will note that the BLPDLP are down in White Hill pretending that they now have answers. So it is with every thing else. Here we have people who lambast the BLPDLP on a daily basis but are still refusing to get them out of office on the lukewarm argument that there will be no change under a new party. What the coming of a new party does, is cripple the continued dominance of the BLPDLP. In any rational thinking that will be the first order of business. Cripple the establishment to some real degree and this will bring in new thinkers especially those who are genuinely fed up with the BLPDLP.
    As one who returned from the front lines and was battered by the BLPDLP, I am speaking from doing and not talking. I dont think that anybody expected the NDP to be a radical departure from the BLPDLP but it attempted to at least change course. Twenty five years later, I feel more committed to this effort than ever because I have seen that nothing has changed for the better under the BLPDLP and that was the major reason, I threw my hat in the ring. I was absolutely correct in my judgement, that the BLPDLP will bring us near financial/economic ruin and the games we see as now being exposed in White Hill, Garbage, Corruption, all the declining social services are evidence that the additional twenty five years they have proven they are bankrupt.
    It is amazing , to say the very lease, and I am being extremely polite, that those who shout about all the problems our country have are prepared to prop up the BLPDLP, with the escapists argument that no other group can do better. This is where I differ from them because I am absolutely convinced that no other group can do worse !!!

17. Bushie

Bushie there are people in many other places seeking transformation, with various degrees of success. Nihilism cannot be our only option. Neither should dispensationalism.

David we agree. And have been arguing that third parties like CAP, SB, UPP et al have to find ways to create a seismic shift under the political turf where the duopoly lives.

If they can’t get the duopoly out of Barbados they should take Bim out of the duopoly.

We are not even convinced that there is a realization that third parties must attack and destroy the political superstructure on which the system rest

There will be no real choices unless we see courage and innovation from perceived outsiders. When they talk, walk and think like the duopoly, they are indeed the B’s/D’s masquerading as something else.

18. Well Well @ Cut N Paste At Your Service Avatar

` We are not even convinced that there is a realization that third parties must attack and destroy the political superstructure on which the system rest.“`

with steroids….show some balls and guts…..

…. no guts, no glory.

19. Skinner

You know very well that the NDP was Haynes’ personal property established to achieve, for ‘Richie the Great’, what he had longed for, unbridled political power, to be PM, but was tricked by Cammie and the DLP after the death of Barrow.

Admit that to the people!

You must also know that had the NDP won it would not have changed anything, at the centre.

At best, and history guides this thinking, the NDP would then displace one of the two established parties and the duopoly would have continued apace, like old man river.

In this respect the NDP is proof of the duopoly’s dominance of the political culture.

So people like you who seek to delay transformation until the right people are in office are essentially working to maintain the very duopoly you have come to criticize. Your argumentation represents a logical fallacy, well worn.

This writer was arguing against the duopoly long before you, and have practical political experiences in more than one country. So your claim to expertise cannot be thus aimed.

You have come to this well late!

20. Theophilius Gazerts Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts

The race is about to start .
    Ladies and gentlemen, we have the usual two horses race. My commentary ends here, for no matter which horse wins, Barbados loses. See you here next four years, where we will repeat this folly.

21. @ Pacha
    I can only speak for me. We all have our views and
    I have clearly expressed mine. We can carry on this
    for ever but the simple unvarnished truth remains
    in order to go forward there must be change and as long
    long as the hold of the BLPDLP remains the
    “duopoly” remains. You cannot bowl out a cricket
    team without getting a single wicket.
    So you and others can continue to believe in
    Pie in the sky Mumbo jumbo.

22. Skinner
    We have been having change all the time.

For example within the parties people were coming and going for 50 years promising things would be different

Times also change and different arguments have been

Still that change failed to transform the political culture

So we are here today

23. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

The cricket anologies are pure crap…you need ministers who will not settle into the same colonial bullshit morass, being ordered around by a bunch of minority misfits, taking bribes and not being proactive and intelligent as it relates to pushing more Black owned businesses to create more jobs, a wider tax net and cash flow…..that is real change…..not just changing faces.

What is so hard about that to understand….

24. Skinner
    If you cut down the tree all the coconuts will be yours

25. I really don’t care how many political parties join the race !

The winner will be whose acronym ends with the letter ” P” !

Yep 👍🏽, you have guessed right !

DLP DLP DLP DLP

That party of choice for all rational thinking Barbadians….!

26. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Fractured and Really Desperate.

27. WW&C…..

does Fcuktured BLP really believe if the electorate takes into consideration:

…………….. the inept DLP has ACCUMULATED DEBT to a state-owned agency (CBC), in the amount of $109,609, under circumstances where the minister RESPONSIBLE for CBC and PRESIDENT of the DLP is Freundel Stuart………………

……………..or the 21 consecutive credit rating downgrades (if one includes the downgrade issued by Caribbean Information and Credit Rating Services Limited (CariCRIS), on Tuesday, December 16, 2014)………

……………or that BOMBASTIC ABYSMAL FAILURE that likes to INSULT women and IMPERSONATES a minister of finance……………

…………..or after promising on page 47 of their 2008 manifesto that “a DLP administration will be accountable for its actions and policies and take the PUBLIC into its CONFIDENCE,” rather than address Barbadians on issues affecting Barbados, the members of this inept DLP administration prefer to talk political shiite at annual conferences and constituency branch meetings, among gullible DLP operatives and yard-fowls,

…………….the “PARTY of CHOICE for ALL RATIONAL THINKING Barbadians would be the DLP?

28. If you listen to Mia, you can telll that the BLP’s manifesto gine wipe out all these parties. Their policies lack breadth, depth and that “radical” oomph Pachama talks about. Not one of these parties has recognised the damn key to unlocking social and economic development in Barbados. Green economy, cultural industries, entrepreneurship, innovation, all require the key.

29. Does that yard-fowl believe ALL RATIONAL THINKING Barbadians feel PROUD or COMFORTABLE calling the dishonest Michael Carrington (LEC) “His Honour,”

…………..especially after it was revealed he ILLEGALLY WITH-HELD his former wheel chair bound senior citizen client of over $200,000 and refused to respond to several requests for payment…….

………… and recently, he faces another civil suit for DELIBERATELY WITH-HOLDING the funds of Ajax Construction?

Fcuktured BLP’s usual response would be Edmund Hinkson vs George Payne, but she also must consider Michael Carrington (LEC) vs Ajax Construction. Word on the street is more civil suits to come.

What about Hal Gollop (LEC) charging the BWA $1.5M or Richard Byer (LEC) charging Caves of Barbados $766,000 for providing a service another lawyer similarly provided for $19,000…………. dishonest Denis Lowe paid the dishonest Byer and terminated the services of Joy-ann Grant because she questioned the excessive fee? Talk about protecting their own.

Or paying Guyson Mayers (LEC) a consultancy fee of $300,000 to undertake a job that could have been adequately undertaken by the Director of the Financial Intelligence Unit?

30. Enuff

To my aged thinking….the introduction of the reverse mortgage mentioned by MAM is a winner for the BARP members vote all 20,000 odd of us.

Would you believe that their own Marshall told them about it years ago but….hard ears will not hear….hard ears will feel.

31. Reverse mortgage an easy get rich scheme for banks and financial institutions leaving nothing for your children or gran children to inherit

32. Hmmm.

….a person with no family and who would like to remain in the area in their own house that could do with a brightening up as well as do some travelling.

…..If my family want to inherit my hard earned property,either pay for its upkeep and my cruises or pay the bank its due on the reverse mortgage.

Wunnah to shortsighted…..Marshall’s idea had traction and would have helped you lot…..ah well….enjoy your retirement.

33. Wunna poor folks too like buying into schemes that benefit the rich i meaning the duffus tells me that he rather give the rich his hard working inheritence than his children.
    Boy the rich really like ignoramus like wunna. Sell wunna imitation garbage and wunna think it is the real thing

34. Duffus

What about the ones without family?

35. Theophilius Gazerts Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts

Not a big fan, but I hope you explore the reverse mortgages fully. It is one thing to be a pain on the internet, but take care to protect your future.

In the US, as you get older you discover that there are more and more schemes to separate you from your money. They catch smart people also.

Tread cautiously.

36. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Fractured BLP November 24, 2017 at 2:23 PM

“DLP DLP DLP DLP
    That party of choice for all rational thinking Barbadians….!”

Bullseye, Fractured!
    The only party capable of taking Barbados to full banana republic-hood with the watery pit toilet on the South Coast as its crowning glory.

After all, Bajans could only be a shitty barrel of piss-poor monkeys to return you incompetent lot to power after living the last 5 in pure misery.

BTW Broken DLP, since you are an ‘inside’ man why not tell the BU household what is the final decision of the FTC on the BNTCL sale to SOL.

Now that you are licking your chops for the ‘imaginary’ US $ 100 million (less finder’s fee, legal fees and all sorts of fancy offshore commissions) would the new Guv of the CB be restarting the printing press to pay off the massive local debts due to Simpson the Bajan funeral agency man to the dying lying party?

37. Duffus

….or those with rich families that not interested in the property.

Do you realise how much housing stock in BIM would be freed up……

38. Theophilius Gazerts Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts

If you built up a nest egg, you could also explore annuities.

Engage the Money Brain on these types of topic.

(Will now resume regular programming)

39. @ Vincent
    Why don’t you keep quiet nuh?
    You only making angela /ac (again?) look intelligent.

Your attitude of selling off FAMILY assets in the interest of your SELFISH consumption (reverse mortgages) is exactly what this shiite generation of Bajans have done to the assets accumulated by the hard work of our grand parents….and is why our donkeys are now headed for the grass.

Yuh muuchin!!

The WHOLE point of civilised society is to PASS ON SUCH ASSETS to future generations so that there is continuous IMPROVEMENT in social development. Your albino-centric selfishness and narrow-mindedness is EXACTLY the kinda shiite that has Bushie cussing like a pirate here on BU.
    The COMMUNITY MINDED way is to dedicate your life to leaving the family, the community, the country and the world a BETTER place than you found it – not to extract every last piece of blood that you can up to your last breath.

What housing stock freed up what?
    It will just be purchased cheaply by the damn tricki-fathers and put up for rent at rates that YOUR Bajan extended relatives CANNOT afford…. but miraculously, some retarded Trikidadian can…

Traitor!!!
    Those with no family…? like who….?
    Who the Hell do you think all those neighbours, workmates, drinking buddies etc are….?
    Steupsss.

Reverse mortgages are just the PRIVATE INDIVIDUAL’S way of screwing Barbados the way that Money B’s dad did in business.

40. Bushie

When you know nothing…….say nothing.

41. @ Vincent
    Bushie…When you know nothing…….say nothing.
    So by this you are asking the bushman to be much more expansive on the subject then…?

42. But the real fun begins when the occupant dies and the bank makes an offer to the family for them(family) to buy the property.
    Lo and behold the family is handed a payoff statement that most times is more than the property is worth.
    So yes these one armed bandits knows how to show up on poor people steps i doorsteps under the guise of help and security.
    The families refused the offer.The bank becomes receivership/beneficiary and family left without in as much being able to put up a fight
    But what the heck !

43. @ac November 24, 2017 at 10:26 PM #

What about the many cases in which the children have no time for the parent while they are alive, should the parents still be concerned about providing for them or enjoying the final years on earth in comfort?

44. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Speaking about selling off family assets, Jeff has made his decision, the players have to live with and abide by it…..

……a good move to prevent another monopoly from strangling opportunities for others on the island, get rid of ALL monopolies, encourage free enterprise.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/11/24/yes-and-no-2/

“Yes’ and ‘no’
    Regulator approves SOL merger with conditions

Added by Barbados Today on November 24, 2017.
    Saved under Business, Local News
    1Save
    It’s a yes, with conditions!

The Fair Trading Commission (FTC) has completed its review of the proposed US$100 million sale by the state-run Barbados National Oil Company Limited (BNOCL) of the Barbados National Terminal Company Limited (BNTCL) to the Kiffin Simpson-led SOL Group.

FTC Chairman Jeff Cumberbatch
    However, the two parties now have to meet to determine whether they can live with the FTC’s stipulations, including that there could be no 15-year moratorium on the construction of new terminal facilities.

The regulatory body has also rejected Sol’s call for a 32 per cent pre-sale increase in throughput fees at the Fairy Valley storage site, on the basis that it could impinge on the provisions of the Fair Competition Act, which prohibits post-merger increases in prices. With the controversial deal, there were also concerns that costs would likely be passed onto consumers and that SOL could end up with an energy monopoly.

“We are not fundamentally opposed to the deal, but it still must respect the laws of the land . . . [even] as we considered the national interest of Barbados,” said one well-placed source, who added that “the deal is obviously important to the country”.

However, he stressed that the deal, which was given the green light by the FTC’s board on Thursday, still could not go through until the prescribed conditions were met.”

45. Bushie

Please stop the sophistry.

46. Bushie et al

First things first….lets understand what the base is for the discussion.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

What is a Reverse Mortgage?

A reverse mortgage is a loan available to homeowners, 62 years or older, that allows them to convert part of the equity in their homes into cash.

The product was conceived as a means to help retirees with limited income use the accumulated wealth in their homes to cover basic monthly living expenses and pay for health care. However, there is no restriction how reverse mortgage proceeds can be used.

The loan is called a reverse mortgage because instead of making monthly payments to a lender, as with a traditional mortgage, the lender makes payments to the borrower.

The borrower is not required to pay back the loan until the home is sold or otherwise vacated. As long as the borrower lives in the home he or she is not required to make any monthly payments towards the loan balance. The borrower must remain current on property taxes, homeowners insurance and homeowners association dues (if applicable).

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=4&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwjwqeON5NnXAhWkkOAKHV_1ALIQFghUMAM&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.reversemortgage.org%2FAbout&usg=AOvVaw1c-vWAhYJJyWU-j5tk8OLK

47. Theophilius Gazerts Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts

@DAvid
    Is this legit?
    I used to access through wordpress.com, now being redirected to

https://barbadosunderground.net/

48. We are educated Bimmers capable of making choices.

One such choice must be the availability for senior citizens over the age of 60 to have a reverse mortgage.

As Bajan in NY alluded to….many seniors no longer see their kin who in many cases live overseas and have no intention of returning to the rock as they have made a comfortable life elsewhere and have no need for the hassle of owning property here.

Bimmers have died and left many properties all over the island withno one claiming it and its left to govt to find a mechanism to dispose of it.

Note…..credit unions,banks or any financial institution can enter into this operation.

49. Yes, we claimed this domain because some other person claimed the .com version years ago. The old url will still work.