Mia Mottley, Leader of the Opposition Barbados Labour Party

The following is the Barbados Labour Party’s draft Integrity Commission Bill. We invite you, the members of the public, to comment on this Bill as we intend – after taking into account your suggestions – to have this enacted  as a priority if we are granted the privilege of being elected in the forthcoming general elections. Please note that all  comments and queries will be held in the strictest confidence. If you need clarification of any point, please leave an email and we will get back to you.

Thank you.

Read full draft of the document uploaded to BU database – HERE.

219 responses to “Barbados Labour Party PROMISES to ENACT Integrity Legislation from DAY 1 If Elected”

1. When we see it, we will believe.

But integrity legislation by itself will not be enough.

It must also have a right to recall, harsh punishments for official crimes etc

2. David

Interesting doc……will await its presentation to the house and its passage

Would like to see:

3-1 change clergy to NGO

50-1 needs changing as the suspect(s) could be the G-G,the PM or the LOTO….or all three.

3. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Mia would be extremely foolish not to want to leave a lasting legacy of undoing 50 years of crap practiced and perpetrated by both governments, they repeatedly disenfranchised their own people in favor of minorities…those crimes against the majority population have to be reversed.

Integrity legislation should go hand in hand with FOIA…..and both enforced.

Anti corruption legislation implemented and enforced is a must, she has a lot to prove to the people…or she will be hated more than the current government. .

4. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

With all that long convoluted information. ….it never said wgere Mia’s government will source these investigative officers from…Simmons shoukd have reminded her that 2 investigative officers were sourced from outside and only one was local….

Ya cant even get a local court marshall on the island to serve an ordinary summons…without them taking a bribe from those being sought, not to serve the summons….Leroy Parris was standing in the yard at St. Angela’s school, court marshalls had his home and business address and swore for weeks…they could not find him.

……., so where will these “honest” investigative officers be found. .until Mia can source unbiased and preferably outside investigative officers, who can be neutral and fair…..this will go nowhere.

Investigative officers
    18. (1) The Commission may designate a person employed under section 17(1) as an
    investigative officer and may issue to such officer a warrant card, which shall
    be prima facie evidence of the officer’s designation.
     An investigative officer has the function of carrying out
    investigations in relation to any matter, whether or not involving an
    alleged offence, in respect of which the Commission exercises
    functions under this Act or any other Act.
     An investigative officer has the powers described in Part IV but, for
    the avoidance of doubt, shall not be a member of the Police Force
    and shall not be subject to—
    o direction or control by the Commissioner of Police; or
    o the Police Regulations, Standing Orders or any disciplinary code
    made under the Police Act.”

5. Pie in the Sky 🌌 promises.

Mia Mottley in Parliament since 1994 – show what she said about Integrity Legislation…..before she now seeking to be PM ?

A position ( PM ) she is seeking but yet shows no INTEGRITY on :

• Violence against women !

• Sexual Harassment !

• Women’s Rights !

Who wunnah seeking to fool ?

Rational thinking Barbadians are more perceptive than you all want to admit .

MAM go back to life of harangue!!!

Barbados deserves better .

Have your band of miscreants troll – your ‘ virtues ‘ on BU daily won’t cut it !!

The general election campaign has not started yet !!!

6. MAM is one amazing character !!!

She claims to have such high INTEGRITY that she once boasted on the floor of Parliament that :

• The Law firm she works with has not PAID to the government the taxes due to it !

• She told Barbadians not to pay the Solid Waste Tax ( SWT ) !!

• She actually led a march against the SWT calling for it’s abolition !!

• She will appeal the NSRL !!!

Yet the same MAM laughs at the government for having no money ……but she bringing back government funded tertiary education….,..that requires millions of dollars 💵 !!

No wonder Sandra Husbands is not in sync with this ……MEGALOMANIAC !!!

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/11/02/blp-candidate-and-leader-out-of-sync-on-free-tertiary-education

MAM is devoid of INTEGRITY.

7. • repeal the NSRL

8. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Fractured….ya really working taself into a tizzy…lol

9. Clearly the BLP is being strategic in its release of the draft document for comment, they have commanded the news cycle for the weeks leading into Christmas when the cacophony of noise will start. At the same time the talk about LEC should be effectively squashed- even the Maureen Holder episode.

@Pacha

What else can we do except to hope these politicians deliver on promises made? Let us hope the next revelation is implementing the power to recall…

10. It is called ‘sending the fools further…’.

In this case, it is the election-cycle polishing of the Bajan brass bowls…
    …with the same shiite polish-cloth…. ‘Integrity legislation’,
    …this time wielded by the opposing demons.

Who the hell accepts promises of ‘laws against dishonesty’… made by known conmen?

BBBBBs !!!!

11. David

They are several countries which have enacted integrity legislation, like Trinidad we seem to recall, and corruption has still expanded at a galloping pace.

Remember, these are ‘fecking’ lawyers and politicians whose hoe-and-basket is about fooling people.

Not only that but they will get together with one another and laugh at us, the people who elected them.

We may very well have a really good integrity regime, on paper, and nothing at all changes. The senior civil servants are task masters at this as well.

That is why the people need a right to recall based on some number of signatures. And NOT dependent on any commission or other government body.

Anything other than that, these brassbowl bitches are going to fool us again, and again!

12. Agree with you Pacha, this same legislation died in Committee over 30 years ago. Let us hope we can ignite an interest for the people to demand the parties to include the power of recall in their manifestos!

#dejavu

13. Indeed, if FJS had any sense he would have tried to enact a ‘right to recall’ before he leaves office.

And back raise MAM

That may ensure his party regains offices at the soonest.

At least one more time! LOL

14. @Pacha

Do not underestimate Stuart and the DLP. They have tried this LEC thing to decapitate MAM, there will be a backup. Note all the while the country is not discussing the economy, the NIS, the failing education system, an unproductive public/civil service etc.

15. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Fruendel does not have that kind of sense, he thinks he will be reelected anyway…so him and his ministers can continue the same useless crap.

I have spent nearly an hour trying to figure out how Mia is going to do all Fractured says she will do once she is elected, from a cell in Dodds where Fractured said the DPP and attorney general will house her for impersonating an attorney and for fraud, still cant see how she will manage all of that from Dodds…

Am even more curious to see how the government will fit all that Fractured says Mia will do, onto the side of a Transport Board bus…like they did for election 2013…

They will have to be magicians…not politicians..lol

16. Fluff and fancifulness

The DLP has done a fantastic job of dulling the general electorate into a state of apathy. This proposed legislation won’t wake them up either.

Victory when the bell rings won’t be decided based on any promises of anything or any glossy manifesto…

The BLP should be well warned to bear that in mind.

Just observing

17. Fractured Dunce still waiting for the grand announcement on ms Mottley LEC crap to practice Law,seems like some lawyers the AG has also gone silent.what distraction you got next the Pegasus or the canouan tapes poor fella you running out of lies…………however soon you all will be figthting like crabs in a barrel to see who will replace Mara Thompson in St John,so you won,t have time to worry about Ms Mottley.I have heard several names mentioned so far including the GS,is this why he is so quiet?Tell us Fractured.

18. @Observing

And interesting comment.

19. Here is the Stuart strategy: announce he is not standing at the very last minute, retire from active politics and get a 100 per cent pension, return to private practice and on the lecture circuit, and build a mansion. And, maybe, get married.

20. The draft legislation is online and out for public consultation. I hope all the talkers who keep asking for a more participatory approach to governance will seize this opportunity. This is just the basic stuff. Wait on the progressive manifesto built on the principles set out in the Covenant of Hope. Look out for the drip, drip of policies. Isn’t this what the public keeps asking what the BLP gine do? No I am not an insider.😜🤣.

21. David

Yuh right

Nobody wants to talk about austerity politics

Except the BLP. until they get in

Austerity is a killer

These policies have killed 120K people in the last 8 years, in the UK alone.

22. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

People die under austerity, it is too harsh…and these fool ministers are still playing games.

23. @Pacha

Auterity might just be a function of rampant consumption behaviour. It always circleback to the people.

24. Heather November 18, 2017 at 2:20 PM #

15000 people a year, wow! That is mass murder.

25. That understanding unfairly blames ordinary people

But austerity is not only about consumption

It is more properly about the distribution of resources, like BNOC, to Kiffin Simpson

Or using NIS money to prop up the business elites.

Or propping up banks with printed/electronic CB money.

So eating nuff food and driving fancy cars is minor.

26. Hal
    A few things you don’t know.Inter alia Stuart is not one blessed with interactive skills.When challenged he withdraws into a sulk and stops talking.Secondly,he already
    Iives in a mansion in Marley Vale surrounded by a lot of guard wall.Granted it is within a normal St Philip neighbourhood,unlike Sinckler who moved from Deacons Farm to Rolling Hill ‘n Dales after 2 terms in office.As the Scots say,….’before you can say Robbie Burns’,… or as Sparrow sings….. ‘in less than no time’…..the man was living bigisass.Thirdly,he is not a known member of any of the social club like Toastmasters,Lions,Rotary which encourages constant public intercourse on topics and projects of interest to the country and its people.He is no Freemason but maybe belong to The Oddfellows or the Rosicrucians.As to getting married,that is a question mark.After all Paris de Leper and his crooked companion in siphoning off funds held in trust,Dewpriest,they both got hitched late in life.

27. A 25 year plan plan is required that has the buy in of the public with reviews continuously with a big review after 5 years when a new govt is elected with the understanding of sticking to its theme.

28. Vincent Haynes

What is buy in from the public?

29. enuff

Skippah…..de plan must be of the public for the public in order for it to move forward……capiche.

30. You ain’t answer me, what is public buy in? How is it defined, measured etc etc?

31. @ David , ” ENACT INTEGRITY LEGISLATION FROM DAY 1 IF ELECTED ”

When does day 1 start ? The first session of parliament or am maybe unh…….

32. ” The BLP’s trio of Dale Marshall, Ralph Thorne and Wilfred Abrahams shared sections of the document during a press conference at the office of the Leader of the Opposition.

The bill, which was drafted with counsel from Sir David Simmons; Leslie Haynes, QC; Gregory Nicholls and Stewart Mottley, “

33. enuff

Sigh…..you develop a plan in conjunction with the majority of the people for a 25 year period in the first instance….with me so far…….the majority will then ensure it reaches fruition…..capiche.

The larger point being made is that no plan should be dictated to the people.

34. @David,

Will you ” purge ” the Lawyers in the news blog before the elections or just in the nick of time?

35. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Same bunch of lowlifes who created the destruction of the supreme court, continue to abuse it everytime, no deviation and they expect the electorate, the public who has been victimized by them all at one time or another over the last 3 decades…… will take any one of them ..or any bill they draft seriously…..really. .

36. @Pacha

Why are you disassociating rampant consumption from ordinary people? How does one separate selling BNTCL from consumption behaviour? There is a relationship no?

37. NorthernObserver Avatar

I didn’t get very far….
    ““assets of a person” means all property including any right or interest in property and money held by the person in the Islands or elsewhere;
    so I scrolled down to “P” quickly
    “property” includes money and all property, real or personal and things in action;

This already has in so many loopholes, to render it meaningless.
    A day when I have had more than a few rums, I will read it.

38. Recall during the 2008 election campaign the DLP went the length and breadth of Barbados telling Barbadians about cost over-runs, corruption and the BLP squandered “tax payers’ money.” David Thompson also PROMISED, if elected, the DLP would implement Integrity Legislation IMMEDIATELY.

The following excerpt was taken from page 48 of the DLP’s 2008 election manifesto:

IMMEDIATELY INTRODUCE integrity legislation requiring:

• a declaration of assets by public officials,
    • a Code of Conduct for Ministers,
    • a new Freedom of Information law,
    • amendments to the Defamation laws and
    • new constitutional provisions to rationalise the powers of the Prime Minister.

In August 2008, an article in the Barbados Advocate reported that: “The drafting of integrity legislation and the Freedom of Information (FOI) Act 2008 were expected to be concluded in less than two months and soon after brought before Parliament.”

That newspaper also quoted the Chairman of the Advisory Board on Governance, Senator Orlando Marville as saying drafting of integrity legislation was at an advanced stage, and though its completion would probably take a few months………… and STRESSED, “I think the present Government is serious about this transparency.”

It is now nearing the end of the DLP’s second term in office, and Barbadians are yet to see integrity legislation or FOI Act implemented. And Freundel Stuart said the “Prevention of Corruption Act of 1929” is adequate for these times.

Additionally, no DLP politician has declared their assets (and I doubt they would, especially taking into consideration the amount of wealth many of them have accumulated during the past 9 years).

And if DLP politicians signed a “Code of Conduct for Ministers,” surely Michael Carrington would have been forced to resign as Speaker.

Therefore, under these circumstances, I am forced to agree with Fcuktured BLP that the BLP promising to “enact integrity legislation from day 1, if elected,” is a “pie in the sky promise.”

The DLP tricked me in 2008………….. and I have to inform the BLP I will not fall for the same trick twice.

39. @Hants

Are you recommending a purge?

40. Dr. Simple Simon Phd Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd

Right. And then ENFORCE the law. Even if the body is a party elder or a lodge buddy, or even if wunna went to the same secondary school.

41. Another reason why I am wary of the BLP’s promises is that the DLP also promised to “clean up politics” in Barbados, as outlined on page 46 of their 2008 manifesto:

“There is therefore a need to clean up politics in Barbados. The Democratic Labour Party has SELECTED a team of CLEAN, caring, competent and committed politicians who have signed on to a code of conduct that promises Good Governance.”

How on earth could anyone call Michael Carrington a CLEAN, CARING politician or he signed a “code of conduct,” when he illegally with-held (a fancy term for stealing) over $200,000 from his former wheel chair bound, senior citizen client?

42. As Observing stated in an earlier comment, the apathy is real.

43. “Do not underestimate Stuart and the DLP. They have tried this LEC thing to decapitate MAM, there will be a backup.”

And they have Maureen Holder (and a few known DLP yard-fowls) using CBC’s “Talk yuh Talk” call-in-program to push the LEC issue and an anti Mia Mottley/BLP agenda.

44. Dr. Simple Simon Phd Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd

@Hal Austin November 18, 2017 at 5:17 PM “build a mansion. And, maybe, get married.”

Geeze hal, it makes no sense to build a mansion or to get married when one is 66 1/2 and the life expectancy of a Barbadian male is 75 years and 8 months.

Why do Bajan men keep saying/thinking/believing that there is plenty of life left when they are over 60?

And as history tells us the life expectancy of a Bajan Prime Minister is significantly less than that of the ordinary Bajan man in the street.

Barrow dead at 67
    Adams dead at 53
    St. John dead at 72
    Thompson dead at 48

Add those up, divide by 4, and it looks like on average Bajan Prime Ministers lives to be 60.

And even if we add in the current ages of Sandiford and Arthur the number only moves to an average of 64.8 years.

And even if we assume that both Sandiford and Arthur will live to be 90 that still brings the life exectancy of a Bajan Prime Minister to only 70, But maybe both those guys will live to be 100.

So if I was a 66 year old Bajan Prime Minister I would not be making any long term plans.

Building houses and marriages are best done before 40, better still before 30.

45. Dr. Simple Simon Phd Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd

@Artaxerxes November 18, 2017 at 9:30 PM “The DLP tricked me in 2008…and I have to inform the BLP I will not fall for the same trick twice.”

Didn’t trick me in 2008.

Won’t be tricking me in 2018.

Dr. Simple Simon Phd, neither “B” nor “D”

46. MAM ain’t tricking me NEITHER !!!

MAM was quick to disclose her assets on the floor of Parliament some years ago !

Yet the same MAM cannot produce all her academic qualifications in Parliament after challenging Dr. Lowe to do so on floor of Parliament.

And Dr. Lowe obliged . But not MAM !!!

But MAM has INTEGRITY !!!!

47. Dale Marshall really anxious to pass this law so that he and George Payne can get Mia Mottley locked up for impersonating an Attorney at Law !!!!

The BLP really……UNITED !!!!!

48. You should give it a rest with the lies.

49. @ David,

One of the drafters of the BLP Integrity legislation is in your blog Lawyers in the news so you

should remove his name in the nich of time. lol

50. @ David,

Fractured BLP is the DLP equivalent of RoyalRumble.