How many more must die?

Is the crime situation out of control?

Two more murders in Marley Vale, St. Phillip less than 30 days after Prime Minister Freundel Stuart assured the country in a statement on the 10 August 2017 that โ€œwe have to strengthen our policing and our courts have to send very strong signals that as the guardians of the values of our society they are not going to tolerate this kind of behaviourโ€.

The number of murders for 2017 has surpassed 2016 with four months to go.

Barbados is small country under siege!

Do we, civil society, have a comprehensive plan to attack the problem of rising gun violence in Barbados?

The leader of one of Barbados’ newest political parties issued a statement late yesterday evening.

261 responses to “Barbados Integrity Movement (BIM): More Shootings in the ‘Underworld’ (Contains Graphic Images)”

1. barbados heading to all inclusives aka sandals if this keeps up. WW I dont care what color the perps are hang them . Hants what is the break down of those 26 murders racially.that you are talking about.

2. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

Lawson….ya dont care now ya realize the gravity of the situation…lol……

but what we need to see is at least 5 ministers, 5 politicians, 40 whites, 60 indians, 30 syrians and 8 lebanese in handcuffs in Barbados….all at once……ready to be transported somewhere off the island fir good…… to free up the majority population from that decades old seige and stranglehold they have on the island……..

…you will see how quickly there will be a drop in gun running, drug trafficking and money laundering.

Instant clean up…..only the idiots in the depressed areas would need taking off the streets and their guns confiscated. …and that would be the easy part.

3. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

And they should take all the dumb blacks who work for, enable and protect them, away in handcuffs as well, particularly the spokespersons for the well known minority gun runners, drug dealers and money launderers Angela and Carson Yardfowls…those two should be locked away for good.

4. SHADOW ATTORNEY GENERAL Dale Marshall says Barbados violent crime has reached crisis proportions and the Barbados Defence Force should be used to augment the manpower resources of the Royal Barbados Police Force.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/100093/marshall-calls-tougher-stance-crime

5. We do not need the defence force, what we need are more UNIFORMED police men and woman.

6. Wa-Dat

Another youth get shot

7. @ Hal Austin,

The BDF will be used as back up fire power. Not as investigating policemen or detectives.

The police need to be conducting raids and they can’t wait 6 months for Policemen to be trained.

8. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ Pachamama,

What say you? Below are the words of the SHADOW ATTORNEY GENERAL Dale Marshall:

“It might be tempting for some to reduce this to a political issue, but we cannot play politics with crime. This is not an issue that can wait until after the next election. It has to be tackled today.”

9. Hants,
    Policing civilians is a job for the police, not paramilitary police or the military. Recruit more police; we have lots of unemployed people. Take the so-called prosecutors out of the courts; hire private chauffeurs to ferry the big wigs around; get rid of the silly detectives in their baseball caps assembling on Roebuck Street hassling every woman that passes by. Put them in uniforms and out patrolling the villages and traditional communities. Introduce more technology.

10. Hal

Do you not understand that the RBPF has had a big problem recruiting able bodied young men? There is no shortage of female applicants but the men are not applying.

The unemployed young men are not interested in policing. Many do not meet the educational standards and many of them fail the drug tests.

Stay in your ivory tower, you dont understand what is going on in Barbados.

11. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I must agree with Hal for the most part. When I was a younger man, I was trained as a soldier. During that training, I was taught that the soldiers are only ordered out of their barracks, in aid of the civil power, when there is a state of emergency.

Calling out the military in these circumstances means that law and order has complete down and the police are unable to handle the situation. Soldiers are not police and should not be on the streets doing police work.

12. @Caswell

What happens in the US? Don’t they call out the National Guard to assit at the discretion of the mayor/goVernor?

13. I may have over reacted because I live in Canada.

Again. IN TORONTO ( population over 2.8 million )

โ€œThere have been 26 recorded homicides in 2017 as of July 23โ€

There have been 26 recorded homicides in BARBADOS so far 2017,

I doan have to read an spell fuh wunna.

14. Exactly David. These fellas gin talk to their Aunt Masie tek a bullet. U have to come down wid full force to send a message about who is in control so dat Ms Braffit can go about her bidness widout fear.
    I was in the company of an MP last Sat night and we were surprised when he stated that he worries when he turns into his driveway pun a night that well equiped gents might be waiting.

15. Hants, tell them that if this get way the people will be the victims. Sort it out asap.

16. It is quite evident that law and order has brokened down in Barbados and the police seem not to know what to do to stem this gun violence.

Just look at the picture in today’s paper and see if that engenders confidence that those in authority know what next to do…………they all look like broken men.

Should we continue to let the BDF stay at headquarters and get fat while the police is under siege, seemingly afraid and the leaders do not know what to do.

If the police know who are the big gun dealers and drug dealers and are are afraid to touch them let the BDF go and get them!

17. If the last 5 murders were tourists what would the AG instruct the Police do ?

18. Imagine an email was sent to the talk show stating that we are at just two murders above last year so what is the panic. We can only weep for our country.

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son August 30, 2017 at 5:39 PM
    โ€œIf the police know who are the big gun dealers and drug dealers and are are afraid to touch them let the BDF go and get them!โ€

And do what with whose permission? Fumble’s?

Is he the same law-abiding person who advised the speaker, a similar white-collar law breaker, not to settle his professional and ethical commitments and adhere to his moral responsibility but to get a lawyer?

The BDF is not allowed by the Constitution to conduct such law enforcement activities.

Those same people (โ€œthe big gun dealers and drug dealersโ€) are the financial backers of the political class in their battles to wage electoral mock war and who are protected from criminal prosecution just like Greenverbs, Bjerkoffham the child killer and that baloney fella the Maloney clan who believe the laws of Barbados do not apply to them.

20. Take down those pictures and have a little respect for the deceased friends and family in this time of grief. You soon start posting child porn, just like the Nation newspaper. Black men why are you killing each other. Stop it please….. Stop comparing murder numbers to last year only. It would be better to post 10-15 years of data so we could try to establish a trend.

21. @ Talking Loud Saying Nothing

We suspect we can all agree on the subject

However, on the predicate, ourselves and Dale Marshall may disagree

22. Why dont you tell Michael Carrington to have some respect for Barbadians and resign!

23. Always being political.

24. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

So it has now become official. Stuart and his rump of a party have lost their mandate to govern. Their impotency in the face of the explosion of gun crime on the island is revealing. Not a peep; not a single word.

Why the silence? Well this should be evident to all. A tab has been kept on all those crooked politicians who participated in cooperating with the Mr Bigs (home and foreign). These Mr Bigs have built up a weighty dossier which could incriminate the vast majority of our politicians. This is why we have this wall of silence. We have a government that is working under duress who are doing the bidding for this rampant and ever confident criminal fraternity, as highlighted by Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. August 30, 2017 at 3:14 PM.

We have one solution to this problem left at our disposal. We need the masses, the trade unions and our precious army to unite. The Barbados army has to assert itself and must rid Barbados of those malicious individuals and groups who have been holding the country to ransom. The Judas’s who sold out Barbados must be brought to justice.

25. Just being honest!

All is connected. Many like you see things in a vacuum.

26. When the going gets tough,the tough get going.Neither Froon nor Nitwit are tough.Dont expect miracles from clowns.Barbados has had tough,determined leadership in the past.We know what would have happened in those days.You would awaken to a decision from the top.The sight of Big Grant and Conliffe alone would make a fellow lose control of his functions.Today every policeman want to be an attorney at law.They have lost their focus.

27. Unpopular decisions have to be made.The blocks must tumble.All unemployed youth will have to report to the National Youth Service,the Defence Force organized Boot Camp or the Industrial School at Dodds.In all cases a serious dose of discipline will be the order of the day.Discipline must be the game changer.Parents will have a choice.Either voluntarily have your charges introduced to the NYS or they will be involuntarily taken to Boot Camp and then if acceptable the NYS,if unacceptable Dodds and trained to be a useful citizen with a certified skill.

28. Don’t attack the hard working police they are doing an incredibly good job locking up the cold blooded young murderers. It was music to the ear to hear police nabbed the failed mass murderers who shot through Kadooment Day crowds. Give the police props in less than a month the killers are in prison. More resources to hunt down Silver Hill and Marley Vale assassins are freed up. Law and order hasn’t broken down the community is horrified callous teenage killers with guns roam among us. Support the police report suspicious activity wherever you see it keep an eye on the spliff smoking thugs with or without hoodies with pants hanging from their stinking backsides. Its not profiling the gunmen all fit that description when seen on tv handcuffed escorted to the courts. They all resemble brothers from the same tribe of murderers. The AG’s drivel of giving 17 year old criminals a second chance is as ignorant as WW 400 posts per day. No one reads her bullshit apart from yardfowl David. Bring back the noose. Have a referendum if need be the USA executes murderers everyday why cant we.

29. We have a serious problem with these young men.

I was appalled to see their dont carish attitude on full display on DLPTV tonight as they being taken to court today. They were laughing and raising their handcuffed hands to those who came to see them.

Who raised these animals? SMH……….

30. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I was not trained as a soldier in the US and I can’t speak to that with any authority. If the Government thinks that there is a need for more manpower on the street but it does not want to increase the total compliment of the BDF and the Police Force, they should reduce the size or eliminate the BDF and recruit and train the former soldiers as police officers.

Soldiers are not trained to be civilian policemen

31. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

From what I understand, some male MPs would not be opposed to a well equipped fellow.

32. Welcome Derek aka waiting aka Commentator aka yardfowl

33. I am surprised they haven’t set up a Commission of enquiry to find a solution to the gun and drug problems in Barbados.

Blacks killing blacks is not a problem unless they are from the Port george hites or shady lane.

34. I waiting to see how the politicians exploit the situation.

35. Dale Marshall

4 hrs ยท

The Prime Minister of Barbados declined comment last night at Marley Vale in the wake of the brazen murder of two Barbadian young men. He could muster no words for the people of Barbados, or for the grieving relatives of the deceased.

However, he could craft a very nicely worded letter to the President of the United States expressing his sorrow at the death of American citizens as the result of hurricane Harvey and speak glowingly of the valiant efforts of the American government to help the affected people put their lives back together.

Maybe he just forgot who he works for….

Bravo Prime Minister!

Barbados is behind you!!

So far behind you that we are out of sight and consideration!!

36. @the Blogmaster, Hal creates an overwrought rhetoric re the BDF and policing. He knows his remarks are wildly exaggerated as few democratically run countries with a well established rule of law use their military for civilian law enforcement. That’s generally ultra vires the constitution.

Clearly the govt has followed some prevailing laws over the many years when using the BDF to assist with patrols at Crop Over. Reasonably the same regs can be used now.

The soldiers would assist police officers with dragnets for the drugs & weapons….in simple terms these men & women can be deputised to effect citizens’ arrest if necessary but that would absolutely NOT be their role …And certainly not any investigative tasks either.

They would act as perimeter control and protect the police on their flanks, so to speak, as the officers ‘run bord’ the heights and hoods.

In reality military-police collaboration have been on-going at other very special times (besides crop over) for years…recall the brouhaha when Tom called out soldiers after the big fire!

None of that impinges on the soldiers role as trained fighters and certainly does not start us down some slippery slope to ruinous military take-over.

To your well made point the US has very clear rules between military and civilian interface … all governed by an act called Posse Comitatus as I recall.

The National Guard will (CAN) only be used for strict matters of crowd control/management in times of emergency powers like that caused by this massive hurricane Harvey, a terror threat or any other major threat/civil unrest so designated as a state emergency by the governor (not mayors).

This is a serious terror threat to our nation…so why are we so over wrought if this failing govt acts decisively for a change and empower their trained soldiers to back-stop the aggressive tactics needed from the RBPF.

I am truly confused by the commentaries…. absent the cheap political BS.

37. Caswell,
    You are right. An island the size of Barbados, with no borders, does not need a standing army. Re-train the soldiers as police; it will take no more than six weeks to train competent soldiers. We have police-military patrols, usually uniformed officers and armed soldiers. A few years ago I saw one such patrol in Worthing, a matured police sergeant and a soldier aged in the mid-20s. A the police officer spoke to two drunks in a way a mature person would, the young soldier was panting, and staring at the two elderly men. My wife and I just observed before walking on.
    The other indirect way in, the US post-Viet Nam model, is selling over-supplies of army equipment to the police, training them to use them, therefore bringing army methods to so-called SWATS and other snatch squads.
    Simply, keep the military out of civilian policing. We need a police service that is equipped to deal with any break down in law and order.
    In terms of drug and gun smuggling, strengthen the Coastguard to patrol our waters 24 hours a day.

38. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Fruendel is a complete idiot.

Derek…the wanna be redneck…the police also need to break down your doors and those of your neighbors to find all the drugs, guns, heroin and lately meth and GHB date rape drugs yall been distributing on the island for the last 40 years…importing by the containers.

….the heroin and meth yall use among yourselves in the clubs and in ya houses in the gated communities,n the ports charles and ferdinands yachts and in the condos, the sandy lane area big houses and hotel…

….but the marijuana and cocaine drugs and guns yall distribute to the same uneducated, unemployed black teenagers in the poverty stricken areas to do your dirty work…….they are your patsys and scape goats to make you that money so your lazy ass dont have to work, just collect money off the misery and death of others….while you go off on your yachts to snort more cocaine, use heroin and meth,

All your yachts, houses and business places need to be watched 24/ 7……

,,….every container yall ship in and out of the island should be stripped….yall had a long run of gun and drug trafficking and money laundering, time to come down on you like a ton of bricks.

…yall doors need kicking in to find all the kilos of drugs and caches guns….. yall been unleashing on the island for decades….

…every party yall host on the island should be raided, every house searched often…yall bring out kilos to stick up ya stink noses and believe ya untouchable and above the law, ya believe black police cannot enter and search ya houses, that needs to change quickly, yall want sending to prison by the dozens….because you are the ones funding the gun and drug culture among the youth in the depressed areas…

…now ya got to watch your own asses every day….because I will keep posting it until the police understand it’s people like you are the problem on the island, the distributors, cut off your supplies and the youth will not have product or guns.

Don’t read this….someone will still tell ya about it.

39. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

……but the marijuana and cocaine drugs and guns yall distribute to the same uneducated, miseducated, unemployed black teenagers in the poverty stricken areas to do your dirty workโ€ฆ…

…..they are your patsys and scape goats to make you that money so your lazy ass dont have to work, just collect money off the misery and death of othersโ€ฆ.while you go off on your yachts to snort more cocaine, use heroin and meth….while these same young black men go to prison.

All your yachts, houses and business places need to be watched 24/ 7โ€ฆโ€ฆ

40. Surely the fact that Hal agrees with him should be like a ‘word to the wise’ for Caswell….
    Just because you got kicked out of the BDF is no good reason to be ‘anti-BDF’.

Why should a country under pressure not utilise all the resources at its disposal to address urgent problems? Even citizens can be deputised and deployed to support law and order – far less a well trained and equipped defence force.

Don’t make a fool of yourself Caswell … minding a joker….

@ WW&C
    The fact that all these HUGE drug hauls end up with NOBODY being charged and tried, should tell us that our authorities MUST be involved.
    There is NO WAY that a container of drugs can be seized and there be no paperwork linked to its existence…. and no way that mid level public servants are NOT ALSO complicit….

NO WAY!!!

…so involving a strong and INDEPENDENT body like the BDF may bring a completely NEW focus on the problems that we face….

It is not hard to see why some of us may want to resist this move….

41. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

They really should utilize the BDF….even if it’s only for intelligence gathering.

If the lame brained dummy for an attorney general understands what intelligence gathering means and how it could be used to bring down gun runners, money launderers and drug dealers.

Bushman…., they have to do something about the minorities on the island re the guns, drugs and money laundering, they have always been the main distributors, since the first trini syrian restaurant ehich now has 16 branches and the first syrian cloth store on swan street, which is a fire hazard staple……

…..and because of the bribery factor to customs officers, ministers, police, the DPP deceased and many others who fraudulently take taxpayer’s money every month while pretending to uphold the law, while also taking bribe money from minority gun runners, drug dealers anc money launderers to do the opposite….something has to be done.

Or…….all the bribetakers will find their names being fodder everywhere.., as they deserve because of their greed.

42. Bushie

We once had a Spanish teacher who when we tried to get our horrible oral past him he would say ………………………

Sounds pretty knea, pretty knea, but WRONG!

We were still having a rollicking laughter from the joke the children who wanted somebody who was ‘rich’ to teach them, played on you!

But in all seriousness, have you not recognized that the more force the police use the more they will have to. Where does this end?

A country at war with itself? And in that war should the real enemy be able to hide under the state’s petticoat?

You are now joining the long list of people saying that trained killers, the BDF, should be involved in law enforcement.

You may make the rejoinder that the BDF soldiers are not real military men/women in trute.

And although you concede that they are not trained to do the job of policing, you and the country are so desperate that you would welcome it anyhow.

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea August 31, 2017 at 7:34 AM
    โ€œโ€ฆso involving a strong and INDEPENDENT body like the BDF may bring a completely NEW focus on the problems that we faceโ€ฆ.
    It is not hard to see why some of us may want to resist this moveโ€ฆ.โ€

Come on Bushman, don’t be a hairy jackass ridden by a bevy of BBBB’s!

How can the BDF be an โ€œINDEPENDENT bodyโ€ when the likes of your buddy Froon would be responsible for issuing the ultimate orders of State-sponsored mayhem execution?

What you ought to listen is that little voice in your cranium box which is echoing your BBEโ€™s son words of wisdom:
    โ€œHe that is without sin among you, let him first cast a stone at her.โ€

The man in charge of the ship of State has no such credibility as to even look upon a pebble far less pick it up to throw at any ghetto criminal or even chase the wicked and financial transgressors from the house of your BBE.

What the same ultimate boss of the BDF needs to do is to obey the law and stop keeping โ€˜friendsโ€™ with bold-faced white collar criminals and protecting from the same long arm of the law on which you now want to pontificate. And donโ€™t tell us any brass-bowl shite about Mia and her BLP hypocrites!

Why canโ€™t the same BDF go after the so-called untouchables like Greenverbs and the baloney fella who think breaking the law without being handcuffed is a board game with zero-sum outcome as long as the ruling politicians are the pawns.

This is just a classic case of โ€˜reaping what you sowโ€™. You definitely know it by another axiom of Karma being a bitch to BBBBโ€™s.

Let the same BDF clean up and spruce the island and then some of the same gunmen on the blocks might just join them (with pay) in their efforts to make Barbados โ€˜greatly attractive againโ€™.

44. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

You constantly pontificate on matters that are far outside your scope of knowledge and experience. I usually find your interventions funny. This one is no different. Soldiers are intended to be used when the civil power has lost control of the situation and at that point, there would be state of emergency declared and the soldiers called out to assist the civil power.

I don’t know if the police are so overwhelmed that they can’t handle the situation and there is a need for a state of emergency.

Over the years, the people of Barbados have been desensitised to routinely having soldiers on the street. That my dear Bushie is the thin edge of the wedge. I will continue reading your comments for the humour but certainly not the content since you frequently make it up if you don’t know what you are talking about.

Oh by the way, can you produce the proof that I was “kicked out” of the BDF.

45. This is how they do it in Ontario.

Driftwood Crips gang targeted in Toronto Police raids UPDATED: THURSDAY, JUNE 15, 2017 06:13 PM EDT

“While police revealed few details of the massive gang sweep, Chief Mark Saunders said more than 800 officers from 20 forces executed 77 search warrants in Kingston, London, Sudbury, Niagara Region and other locations.”

“While the Driftwood Crips once operated in only a small area in Toronto, Saunders reported that Project Kronic has shown that the organization has grown.

โ€œI think weโ€™ve made a very significant dent,โ€ in arresting the alleged gangโ€™s major players, Saunders said.”

46. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

First they gather intelligence by whatever means or forces necessary…even military…and then they surveill…until they can lock up all the culprits, no matter how long it takes…

.,..that is how modern jurisdictions do it, they dont care who you think you are, they will come after you until they get you.

The problem on the island, unlike other jurisdictions who learned their lessons decades ago…is bribery.

The police need to be more focused and direct, break down the doors in the gated communities, heights, terraces, raid ports charles, ferdinand, sandy lane and search every yacht around the island…every month if they have to…these people have actually been getting away with terror and murder for decades.

47. Not sure if now is the time for Barbados Tourism Minister Richard Sealy to be shouting a message that Barbados is a paradise. Yes it is but will such a message resonate t this time? Doubt it!

48. for many years I have told my friends barbados is paradise I cant any more I tell them be careful it is not safe like it used to be, its not clean like it used to be, the people arent as friendly as they used to be and dont swim at worthing