How many more must die?

Is the crime situation out of control?

Two more murders in Marley Vale, St. Phillip less than 30 days after Prime Minister Freundel Stuart assured the country in a statement on the 10 August 2017 that โ€œwe have to strengthen our policing and our courts have to send very strong signals that as the guardians of the values of our society they are not going to tolerate this kind of behaviourโ€.

The number of murders for 2017 has surpassed 2016 with four months to go.

Barbados is small country under siege!

Do we, civil society, have a comprehensive plan to attack the problem of rising gun violence in Barbados?

The leader of one of Barbados’ newest political parties issued a statement late yesterday evening.

261 responses to “Barbados Integrity Movement (BIM): More Shootings in the ‘Underworld’ (Contains Graphic Images)”

1. So why wunna joining with the rest of idiots and posting the pictures all over the place? Wunna only got respect for certain people?

Politicians make me sick!

2. Underworld??
    Underworld my ass, this is Barbados. There’s no effing underworld. Just ignorant black boys killing each other over shite. As long as they continued along that line, the police, preachers and politicians couldn’t care less.

We the real people of Barbados knows somebody or the other that got somebody or the other that doing shite, and we hoping for the sakes that they don’t get ef up in nuh crossfire. Underworld my ass!

3. David

The PM has no more control over what will continue to be higher levels of ‘crime and violence’, beyond the coming year or two.

But we should have some control over the currently limited ways in which ‘crime and violence’ are covered, especially in an election year.

We see no benefit to the country in the short or medium terms of allowing this issue to serve a narrow political purpose.

We see no developmental purpose for heralding a call for the local constabulary to up efforts to further criminalize a population in a possible response to political pressures, with BU’s encouragement.

By buying into that narrative without the wider contexts are sure to increase ‘crime and violence’ and makes the blood of the departed akin to sacrifices on a political alter, nothing more.

It characterizes, future violence as helpful in achieving political outcomes. The link between these two will change the nature of politics permanently.

These are different times. The promotion of any kind of violence, legal or otherwise, is likely to worsen the situation.

If we had to guess we would suggest that economic and not political reasons are behind the apparent rise in ‘crime and violence’.

If we are right, then the economic masters and not the political elites should be properly brought into the cross-hairs of BU’s ire and properly interrogated about how they cause crime and violence.

One of those ways is obviously the very corruption of politicians and the political system to serve narrow interests. These officials crimes and violence to the whole country have been going on forever.

4. @Pacha

You read BU’s plea to ALL stakeholders? Yes the prime minister’s empty statement was promoted, there is no harm to use a symptom to poke at the weakness of the walls of civil society.

5. It is not a matter of joining with idiots, it is about opening the eyes of many Barbadians who remain blissfully unaware of the level of violence in Barbados. BU as a rule avoid posting these images but the situation has become grim and requires a more direct approach to delivering the message.

6. MADNESS! MADNESS Protect our Borders

Well Well Finally David BU has climbed into the political sewage pit of promoting graphic images
    What an embarrassment

7. AS: Promotion from yardfowl to yard-ostrich.
    Perhaps the posting of these images will force us to see our true image when we look in the mirror. Usually, we see what is in the eye of Trinidad or Jamaica…..

8. Note the title of this blog i.e. (contains graphic images).

The same idiots who will criticize BU have no problem watching CNN and the bodies of Iraqi soldiers.

They will always focus on the side issues because it is political expedient.

9. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

Exposing the reality brings it home, the people could not have become so sensitized to violent deaths of their own people, lying on the streets to not start calling the names of everyone with illegal guns on the island, including the gun running distributors, drug traffickers and money launderers.

It’s already going around in certain circles that the dude missing from the UK is an organized murder, with the names of the known organized criminals in the minority community already being called.

The politicians and ministers who live to protect criminals for bribes are solely responsible for this carnage unfolding in Barbados.

10. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Dont except any other comment from Angela or Carson Yardfowls….

……they are both the spokepersons for the minority criminals who traffick in guns, drugs and money laundering in Barbados…and would protect these criminals with their useless lives.

11. WW if you are right about the uk fellow and he is not just staying at some chicks place you guys have a problem. Most people dont care if one race is killing each other but when they cross over and kill some of the untouchables that is a different case. Can you imagine in some people were shot liming at blakeys!! whoa lord. Time for some sensible people taking a grip on this situation. Holding people accountable doesnt mean you are acting like the white man you are doing your job. Hang a few people that will get their attention.

12. The acceptability of criminality has led to the reality gaining publicity.

These trees weren’t bent when they were small. We stood by and watched them grow. Weeds, thorns and all. Too late to save them now.

The only solution now would be the surgical use of a finely sharpened axe, the transplanting of decent seedlings to another pasture and the planting of new seeds all together in the care of decent gardeners.

Nothing will change til then.

Just Observing

โ€œIf you want to bring a fundamental change in people’s belief and behavior…you need to create a community around them, where those new beliefs can be practiced and expressed and nurtured.โ€

โ€• Malcolm Gladwell, The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference

P.S. Keep doing ya ting David.

13. The prime Minister is correct about one thing, there is an active underworld, what he did not mention is that it coexist with the poltical class and others in ‘civil society’. The time for engaging in poltical partisan claptrap is gone.

14. David, you are absolutely correct, it is high time to solve the ills for the good of the people.

15. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Exposing the reality brings it home, the people could not have become so DESENSITIZED to violent deaths of their own people,..like other jurisdictions have….or even like I have become to the sight of death and violence that it no longer moves me…..

“deยทsenยทsiยทtize
    dฤ“หˆsensษ™หŒtฤซz/Submit
    verb
    past tense: desensitized; past participle: desensitized
    make less sensitive.
    “creams to desensitize the skin at the site of the injection”
    make (someone) less likely to feel shock or distress at scenes of cruelty, violence, or suffering by overexposure to such images.
    “people who view such movies become desensitized to violence”
    free (someone) from a phobia or neurosis by gradually exposing the person to the thing that is feared.”

Lawson…ya got it this wrong, according to what is being circulated it is no crossover crime and certainly has nothing to do with the black majority population on the island……

…. BUT everything to do with the criminal minorites being protected by politicians and government ministers for decades, regardless what crimes they commit on the island….so how will you analyze that….Lawson….

what about hanging some whites and indians for the crimes they commit in Barbados.

Ya always eager to hang and imprison black people.

That is why everyone is waiting for thos particular outcome….see how it plays out now that the corrupt DPP is no longer around to cover up white and indian crimes.

This is one to watch Lawson, make sure ya got nuff, nuff popcorn.

16. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

A gotta add that there are those now so desensitized to violence and death that they are glad this happened…and hope because it has, that it will bring about changes in the damaged minds of the black slaves of parliament.

17. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Ah dont want anyone to say I am being discriminatory. ……. so…

….what about hanging and imprisoning some whites, syrians, lebanese and indians for the crimes they commit in Barbados…..and have for the last 40 years or more..

18. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

You should recall that the Attorney General, supported by Ronald Jones, made a bold public statement that these miscreants deserve a second chance. I suggest that those two nitwits chose the wrong time to give aid and comfort to the criminal element. These shooters are now emboldened by this Government policy that has assured them that they can kill and get away with it.

19. Mark Stokes … it started at the top!!

20. David please removed those comments attributed to WW&C made on August 30th 2017 at 6.50
    Such comments which places my name in connection to drug trafficking or closely insinuate me or name as knowing and protecting such criminality activity are slanderous and libelous
    Please note if those comments remain as said by the moniker WW&C i would be forced to have legal action taken against BU on my behalf.

21. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

For those who think this is some joke and can be blamed on the black population.

Police in Barbados search for garage boss
    โ€˜No leadsโ€™ as hunt enters second week
    Detectives in Lancashire are assisting local authorities

The chief of police in Barbados has taken a personal interest in the investigation to find a missing Fylde man who was staying on the Caribbean island.

READ MORE: Hunt for Lancashire man missing in Barbados We are aware of the situation and enquiries are ongoing with the police in Barbados. Detectives in Lancashire are assisting with efforts to find businessman Steven Weare, 49. He was last seen a week ago on the island, which he is understood to visit regularly.

Police said Mr Weare, from Kirkham, had been staying at Newcastle Plantation House, in the St John area on the east of the island. Officers in Barbados said they were giving the matter their โ€˜full attentionโ€™ โ€“ and the islandโ€™s police commissioner had visited asking about the investigation. Family members, who said last night they did not wish to comment on the matter, are being supported by officials from the Foreign and Commonwealth Office, as well as Lancashire Police officers.

In a public appeal for information, the Royal Barbados Police Force said Mr Weare, who is listed as a director of Fylde Motor Company, based on Preston Street, in Kirkham, was last seen in the car park of a Burger King restaurant on University Drive, in Black Rock, near to the capital Bridgetown in the St Michaelโ€™s region, on Wednesday.

The Gazette understands Mr Weareโ€™s family bought property in Barbados several years ago and he frequently flew to the popular tourist spot. It is believed he had been selling cars during his time in Barbados.

In their appeal, Barbados police, who said they were taking the matter extrememly seriously, said Mr Weare was driving a silver Mitsubishi Warrior pickup with the registration number J4000. He was wearing a white short-sleeved button-down linen shirt, royal blue chinos and a similar coloured pair of loafers.

A spokesman for the Foreign and Commonwealth Office said yesterday: โ€œOur staff are supporting the family of a British man who has been reported missing in Barbados. We are in contact with the local police.โ€ Acting Inspector Rodney Inniss, from the public relations department of the Royal Barbados Police Force, said the investigation was ongoing. He told The Gazette they were following up several lines of enquiry but were still appealing for anyone who saw anything or who knows anything about the disappearance to contact them. However he said, they had no major leads as the investigation enters its second week. Lancashire Police have been informed and an investigation is under way. A spokesman said: โ€œWe are aware of the situation and enquiries are ongoing with the police in Barbados.โ€

Read more at: http://www.blackpoolgazette.co.uk/news/crime/search-continues-for-fylde-man-missing-in-barbados-1-8727773

22. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Angela Yardfowl…is your real name Angela Skeete…a moniker cannot sue another moniker….for slander or anything else.

23. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

As a matter of fact…I said Angela and Carson Yardfowls are the spokespersons for the criminal minorities on the island….so if those are your names…, sue me…lol

I said what I meant and I meant what I said.

Who the cap fits let them rant and rave while wearing it.

24. Bajan Free Party/CUP-PCP.Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI Avatar
    Bajan Free Party/CUP-PCP.Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI

Stop loving crooks, put them where they need to be, the DLP and BLP are the true crime bosses, they have their goons on the streets killing people, It is their guns and drugs wrecking this Nation, Wake up to the real crooks, Remove both Parties to see the truth,

25. David

We have no problem with images regardless of how troubling

Our problem is causation. You should be properly blamed.

And we are saying that these hapless politicians are too often used as punching bags when in truth and fact they are also victims, sometimes of their own making.

But the people who bribe the politicians. Make them corrupt. Seem to be able to avoid criminal culpability.

We are saying that there is a direct connection between ‘crime and violence’ and official corruption, no matter the appearance of being benign.

We recently had a situation where we at BU suspected that a hotel was sold for far below market value to criminal stakeholders.

Are there any instincts within this society to investigate this transaction immediately? No.

And if these sorts of actions make the level of ‘crime and violence’ increase, are they not more threatening to the society than the end result.

26. Yeahโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ. and you want us to believe your name is actually Angela Skeete?????

27. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

Pacha…you are right, it is all definitely linked..the bribing of minister/politicians by criminal minorities and the gunrunning, drug trafficking, money laundering trades are directly linked to the black on black gun violence, deaths and criminality now prevailing in the society.

these criminal minorities and the blacks who work for them as well as the blacks in parliament who enable them must all be taken down to save the island.

there is no doubt about it, there is no other way.

28. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

we have to make this very clear…

these criminal minorities and the blacks who work for them as well as the blacks in parliament who enable AND PROTECT them must all be taken down to save the island…

finally after years of exposure on BU, other forums and because of recent events , the criminal minorities and their black enablers/protectors are getting the attention they deserve.

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David August 30, 2017 at 7:19 AM

What about the double standards preached by the same political class?

Should one forget the transgressions of the speaker and the failure of the authorities to practise what they preach?

What about the bold-faced lies told by the same primate inter pares of the political class including the failure to keep the promise made by the countryโ€™s Constitutionally-enshrined chief legal adviser to investigate and report on the allegations made by rotten-mouth Lowedown that the LoO is unqualified to practice law in Barbados and ought not be a member of that honourably august chamber because of this alleged act of fraud?

Should those involved in the recent spate of gun violence be advised to go and hire lawyers and use the alibi they were just putting into practice and not just imitating the gun play which took place with two members from the same political class in a dress rehearsal of the gunfight at the OK Corral on Palmetto Square with a raging pit-bull at one end and the cocky lawyer Smiley at the other?

How about the cover-up case involving the importation of condemned chicken wigs deemed unfit for human consumption and, more recently, the shipment of class โ€˜Aโ€™ contraband drugs at the port?

Until the authorities in Bim apply the law evenhandedly and stop with the hypocrisy of targeting only the boys from the ghetto and calling the unemployed liming on the ‘blocks’ criminal gangs Barbados will continue to be subsumed a reign of violence and terror.
    Barbados has been planting the seeds of social dissonance for some time now and especially over the last 10 years.

The saplings have matured and are now bearing fruit thanks to a more than generous share of fertilizer made of double standards, lies and corruption in the very corridors of law making and enforcement.

โ€œYou do not wake up one morning a bad person. It happens by a thousand tiny surrenders of self-respect to self-interest.โ€ ~Robert Brault.

30. @Pacha

On the issue of causation if the path has to be circuitious to reach the destination so be it.

31. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim.

David August 30, 2017 at 7:19 AM #
    The prime Minister is correct about one thing, there is an active underworld, what he did not mention is that it coexist with the poltical class and others in โ€˜civil societyโ€™. The time for engaging in poltical partisan claptrap is gone.

David, was he referring to one of his ministers who rides around in an armoured SUV with bodyguards provided by Bounty (to protect his campaign-funding investment)? The same Bounty who has been at war with Lord Evil for years and whose war just got his St. Philip soljas shot up?

We are a joke.

32. @Caswell

The analogy can be drawn to Trump and the moral equivalence he gave to the white supremacists and citizens that protested against a hate group in Charlottesville. The society has zero capacity to rehabilitate bad being nurtured in the ‘underworld’ because of the economic and immoral state we find ourselves.

33. What will happen next now that a British citizen has been reported missing is the tabloids will send their reporters to this destination seeking sensational stories. Should a link be made between the numerous murders, drugs and his disappearance, all hell will break loose. Headlines like “Paradise Lost” and “Gem of the Caribbean stolen by criminals” or even “Barbados – Sea, Sun and Sadistic Murder” will cause our authorities to take their heads out of their as*es as get into crisis mode. Thanks to our gangs and thugs, Barbados will get immense international advertising for free. Sweet!

34. Back to the question that has been asked numerous times ” How are these high powered weapons making their way into the Hands of the criminal element in the island?” Some person or persons with authority are complicit or turning a blind eye in the importation of this arsenal. We are not looking at the source of the problem we are looking at the result.

35. No Miller, the immoral and unethical act by Speaker Michael Carrington if not illegal will never be forgotten by BU. The politicians fail to grasp that ALL decisions we take help to mould the society.

36. Growth industries in Barbados. Funeral homes and Criminal law.

37. @Sargeant

The expose for those who were not aware by a former gang member should awaken the partisan ignorant you would think?

38. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Fearplay…that is the best thing that could have happened for the island, international attention focused on all classes of criminals who have been working hand in hand with the leaders for decades to keep the island and it`s people under seige.

39. If the politicians can flout the law and not be held accountable, the boys on the block just echoing what they are seeing daily by those we hold in high esteem.

40. Police did not reveal where the cocaine was found. ( WHY NOT ?????? )

POLICE ARE INVESTIGATING the seizure of 48 kilogrammes of cocaine worth over $2 million.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/100089/usd2m-cocaine-seized

41. Hopefully the Police are making absolutely sure that the CRIMINAL who imported the coke will be charged after the ” ongoing” investigation.

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ FearPlay August 30, 2017 at 9:07 AM
    If the jumped-up jackasses for Bajan politicians believe they can influence and control the UK tabloids by way of threats of denial of broadcast licence and advertising dollars as is done with the local media houses they will be in for a massive shock.

Any major adverse publicity which will impact negatively on the countryโ€™s only firing cylinder of economic activity- namely tourism with Britain being its major source market- will certainly ring the bell for the social and economic integrity of the former shining jewel in the British Crown.

Barbados needs a bit of naming and shaming in order for its citizens to come to grips with reality regarding the current state of political governance, economic management, public hygiene and health deterioration and the fast unfolding environmental degradation.

43. David

We will never be able to convince you that the corporate elites have more criminal culpability than transient politicians.

In our circumstances, business people represent our ‘deep state’. Part of it. Politicians will come and go but the corporate elites, the civil servants, unjust laws and so on remain to reek havoc on society.

You and our man Bushie are well known for praising or citing the mouthings of Herbert as if manna from heaven no matter how criminally racist he has been. Paying White secretaries and others around him vastly more than Black people.

Is the Bajan typology of racism not perfected by the likes of Charles Herbert. And is crypto-racism not a high crime. Ans is it not violent?

Have we not seen enough economic crimes by Herbert and ilk against the majority of Bajans for us to disregard anything he has to say unless admissions of guilt and repair.

This is a man who fought tooth and nail to deny the owners of an insurance company their right to be invited to their AGMs, to vote. Is this not worse than murder?

And if you agree, why does Charles Herbert command pride of place in your mind. He is just one example.

Seems we will never learn how the local baccra are prepared to use us for their purposes and then withdraw to the shadows of corporate ‘crime and violence’ until we will be needed again. Slaves, we are!

44. Thankfully no one was killed in this incident.

According to reports, the tranquillity of the coastal community was shattered by the sound of several rounds of high-calibre gunshots around 10 p.m.

When the gunfire ended, many people found their homes riddled with bullets, leaving them fearing for their lives.

A few of them yesterday requested anonymity out of concern for their safety

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants August 30, 2017 at 9:38 AM

Who do you think can find the forex to pay for or arrange the necessary โ€˜tradingโ€™ contacts to facilitate such a costly business transaction?

Certainly not the unemployed black boys on the blocks?

Think about condemned chicken wings cover-up and you would find an answer of the inevitable outcome of the case involving the imported โ€˜costlyโ€™ white lady.

46. YOUNG BLACK BAJANS GET SHOT TO DEATH.

When the gunfire ceased, Renaldo Gittens, 23, who just celebrated his birthday, and Reco Burgess, 21, both from East Point in the same parish, lay dead.

It was reported that Recoโ€™s brother Dwayne Burgess had suffered a similar fate two years ago.

Two sons murdered.

47. IN TORONTO ( population over 2.8 million )

“There have been 26 recorded homicides in 2017 as of July 23”

http://globalnews.ca/news/3620029/homicides-toronto-weekend-shootings/

48. @Caswell, yous is an unfortunate mischaracterization, as I see it, of the AG’s deliberately disingenuous comment. I completely agree that he ” chose the wrong time to [seemingly] give aid and comfort to the criminal element” but those remarks should in no way be construed as embolding the “miscreants” that “they can kill and get away”.

They will be caught eventually and face the full force of the law or in fact themselves killed.

But the simple fact is that many of these youths do need to be properly directed away from their endless cycle of violence…

But the most poignant statement of the decadence and corruption that gave birth to this type mayhem in Marley Vale was the two words said immediately after your post: Mark Stokes….

Folks will call that political tribalism and get into nasty fights rather than see it for what it truly presaged…

And so blithely we head back to school and miss the next pending explosion…

So I ask you Mr Franklyn & your fellow union leaders:

-Are principals & teachers prepared for gun/knife violence by students associated with the principals of these gangs?

-Do principals & Min of Ed officials have emergency/lock down plans in place to safeguard their constituents when mayhem erupts?

-Do the schools even do emergency drills for different scenarios -fire normally- like gun shots on premises?

-Are there CPR adept, a nurse or certified First Aid personnel in every school?

The situation in Barbados is dire….

We cannot focus or worry about inane and dishonest remarks from politicians, nor cry crocodile tears over the grusome deaths of our youths ….we have to deal squarely with the imminent explosions and prepare properly to react sensibly and where possible to prevent outbreaks in the schools certainly.

Those who dismiss the news of US or UK problems will do themselves a life saving service by reviewing their best standards for combatting/preventing school violence…

it WILL be painful to read of that here on BU… I hope for eternity that it does not come to pass but it’s difficult to conceive how it will not unless drastic steps are taken.

49. Oh dear, bad word choice there viz “principals of gangs”. No slighted reference to school principals intended!

50. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

..as long as that decades old relationship and marriage between slave ministers/politicians and minorities with the financial wealth needed to run guns, drugs and the available avenues to launder hundreds of millions of dollars is not broke permanently….the violence, robberies and deaths will continue unabated.

this is the right time to destroy that relationship and marriage.